View Full Version : foot.ie on sunderland forum
Wolfie
25/04/2007, 3:15 PM
Lets not lose sight of the real issue here.
Which are better - cats or dogs?
25/04/2007, 3:33 PM
cats are evil and sly - they are like women.
Dogs are nice and friendly - they are like men.
25/04/2007, 3:37 PM
I don't really care how Willie Boland is doing at Hartlepool but there's a difference between a 31 year old in League 2 and the progress of the Irish players at Sunderland.
I'm not too pushed about Boland either, but I do still keep an eye on how Hartlepool are doing, I want to see as many Irish players as possible succeeding on any level.
I'd imagine there are some fans on this board who've never heard of Boland, and think anyone who does check up on him is only wasting their time.
25/04/2007, 3:47 PM
Saw Boland play for cardiff years ago.
Cats are better btw!
Saw Boland play for cardiff years ago.
Cats are better btw!
Than Willie Boland :eek: Harsh.
citizenerased
25/04/2007, 4:00 PM
lads ...patriotism is like being part of a family, you look out for one another...i hate liverpool but i love it when stevie finnan has a great game, makes me feel proud to be honest...same with any other irish player....what i despise is a fellow countryman shouting down his compatriot for an eglish team i.e liverpool fans calling keane a knacker when he was playing against him and calling gerard a legend...sickens me
25/04/2007, 4:03 PM
What about people who are not patriotic and don't believe in the concept of nationalism.
25/04/2007, 4:06 PM
Cats are better btw!
say it all really.....
Why is it that I find myself to be the most dis-similar to all the Shamrock Rovers fans on here?! Oh ya its cos I am edu-mu-cated ;)
Neil, dont get me started on those sorts!
monutdfc
25/04/2007, 4:14 PM
What about people who are not patriotic and don't believe in the concept of nationalism.
it's an accident of birth you know ;)
citizenerased
26/04/2007, 9:03 AM
Patriotism and nationalism comes from the same tree, they cannot exist independently of each other....not in this country anyway
26/04/2007, 10:16 AM
say it all really.....
Why is it that I find myself to be the most dis-similar to all the Shamrock Rovers fans on here?! Oh ya its cos I am edu-mu-cated ;)
Neil, dont get me started on those sorts!
Think you need to go back to oz. Loads of your sort there i.e. the edu-mu-cated:eek: :D
Paddy Garcia
29/04/2007, 4:09 PM
Did anyone else share my joy in Sunderland being well beaten on the weekend ?
Great news today. Congratulations to Nial, Roy and all the Irish players at Sunderland. ;)
29/04/2007, 5:04 PM
It was the same when Abramovich took Chelsea over. I didn't see any 20, 30, 40 year old's start supporting Chelsea then but you'll see plenty of kids supporting them.
I was in a pub in Drogheda one afternoon a couple of years ago watching Everton on the big screen wearing an Everton shirt and a bloke came up to me to tell me he was a big Chelsea fan too. I kid you not, the guy was in his fourties! :eek:
29/04/2007, 5:48 PM
I was in a pub in Drogheda one afternoon a couple of years ago watching Everton on the big screen wearing an Everton shirt and a bloke came up to me to tell me he was a big Chelsea fan too. I kid you not, the guy was in his fourties! :eek:
Chelsea had an excellent team in the 1970s and 1980s so there plenty people about who follow Chelsea who are over 12 years of age :) .
Paddy Garcia
30/04/2007, 8:04 AM
I am sure I read that Paul McGrath was one.
Couldn't trawl back through the pages to see if anyone else noticed this,
but most of the new Sunderland "fans" I've seen in work/around town etc
are the same people who suddenly developed an interest in playing cricket
a month or so ago.
Sunderland are a novelty that will wear off if they are struggling next year.
30/04/2007, 10:20 AM
I am sure I read that Paul McGrath was one.
Shur Paul McGrath isn't Irish ;)
citizenerased
30/04/2007, 10:58 AM
oooh controversial!!!!!!!!!!!!!
30/04/2007, 2:15 PM
Chelsea had an excellent team in the 1970s and 1980s so there plenty people about who follow Chelsea who are over 12 years of age :) .
I think the key word here is "too"
30/04/2007, 10:48 PM
I think the key word here is "too"
Well if it is I certaintly can't see it.
01/05/2007, 9:15 AM
Yes, but that's life. They're queueing up outside Top Shop to buy Kate Moss clothes :eek: today because there has been media hype about it. 75% of people are sheep and who go with the flow. Then there are the reactionaries who follow teams like Wednesday, QPR etc
The media governs many people's lives and they don't question the rubbish that is sometime spouted there. Children by and large hate to be different from their peers so if Chelsea/Sunderland etc are the in-teams, then they'll follow suit. Such is the human psyche.
co. down green
04/05/2007, 11:28 PM
I see the Kildare boys were over in Sunderland for a bit of training during the week
http://www.kildare-nationalist.ie/news/story.asp?j=25600&cat=sport
livehead1
04/05/2007, 11:48 PM
I see the Kildare boys were over in Sunderland for a bit of training during the week
outstanding and i'm sure they will be over to use it in the future given half a chance. in the last year or so i have noticed other sports becoming more interested in the potential ability of gaelic footballers. i have a friend who is at birmingham city and one playing aussie rules over there as a direct result of gaelic football in the UK
06/05/2007, 7:18 PM
Two complete pages in today's Sunday Indo devoted to Roy Keane. I knew Fanning was a Keane man but two whole pages :eek: to success with a Championship side which was relegated from the Premiership last season. He described Sunderland as "perrenial losers". Were these perrenial losers the same club Mick McCarthy got promoted as champions with record points the season before last (before he got them relegated again ;) ).
Kean'e done very well but Birmingham are going up as well and the third team relegated are also in the play-off positions. The big test comes next season and if he does well, will it be three or four pages Fannings' daddy's Indo?
Good luck to Wolves in the play-offs, failing which I'd like to see McShane's WBA winning it.
06/05/2007, 8:41 PM
Wolves for me, failing that probably WBA too.
Good point about Mick. Where was all the acclaim when Mick won the Championship and Stephen Elliott scored something like 18 goals in his first full season?
Billsthoughts
07/05/2007, 12:08 PM
the sunderland coverage is gettin a bit silly alright now. that flag in dame street is embarresing. I wonder what sunderland supporters feel about having their clubs identity being "greened"! would like west brom to go up for macshane to play in the premiership.
The Legend
07/05/2007, 3:42 PM
Although, I enjoy following the Keane story being a lifetime fan, I agree the above is completely embarrassing.. how fickle can people be!
07/05/2007, 4:40 PM
No matter what club Keane took charge of the interest would have been huge over here.
08/05/2007, 10:57 AM
Wolves hopes set high by Kightly
Mike Adamson at the Walkers Stadium
Monday May 7, 2007
The Guardian
When Mick McCarthy took over at Wolves 12 days before the start of the season, Championship survival was the mandate given to him by the board. With a bare squad of only 13 senior players at his disposal, even that looked an uphill task.
It is some achievement, then, that his rebuilt team finished the season in fifth place after their first league victory at Leicester in 19 visits. Their reward is a play-off semi-final with their Black Country rivals West Bromwich Albion, the first leg of which is at Molineux on Sunday.
Albion here we come" was the cry from their supporters at the final whistle and McCarthy is equally excited by the prospect. "It's been looking like it would go that way for a few weeks," he said. "With the results that we've had, it should be an interesting 10 days or so."
Such a fixture was a pipe dream when Wolves were 14th in December after a home defeat to Leicester. Their revival owes much to McCarthy's canny use of the transfer market in the following month, when he signed six players who featured yesterday. "Those who came in January made us a much better team," he said.
No one epitomises McCarthy's eye for a bargain more than Michael Kightly, who was signed for a nominal fee from Grays Athletic. He was a relentless threat drifting in off his right flank, creating several chances for others and himself. Wolves' main problem this season has been in front of goal - no team in the top half of the division has scored less - but 13 in their past five games shows their forwards are hitting form at the right moment.
They had to show courage as well as class here after Iain Hume volleyed the home team in front in the third minute. The equaliser arrived midway through the first half when George Olofinjana prodded home. Kightly gave Wolves a deserved lead when he beat Conrad Logan at the second attempt and the visitors' advantage was doubled as Gareth McAuley slid a low cross into his own net. Patrick Kisnorbo added to a dismal day for Leicester when he was sent off for a second bookable foul before Andy Keogh completed the rout by dinking a late penalty down the centre of the goal.
The result left Leicester's caretaker manager, Nigel Worthington, cutting a forlorn figure with an uncertain future. "I've always stated I'd like the chance [to take the job permanently] and now we wait to see what happens," he said without much conviction. Wolves are looking forward to the next few weeks with greater anticipation.
Man of the match Michael Kightly (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
Philly
08/05/2007, 11:01 AM
My brother actually plays for Kildare and yeah. they went over. They used their training facilities and caught the match. Quinn has also brought over a lot of a local school over, and he took training with them as far as a I know.
08/05/2007, 1:56 PM
the sunderland coverage is gettin a bit silly alright now. that flag in dame street is embarresing. I wonder what sunderland supporters feel about having their clubs identity being "greened"! would like west brom to go up for macshane to play in the premiership.
What flag on dame st?
Owlsfan dont buy the indo it's a west brit rag that hates the league here. Dion Fanning is a journalist?:D
08/05/2007, 8:06 PM
What flag on dame st?
Big huge one outside some pub. Sad.
zinedineontour
09/05/2007, 1:58 PM
Big huge one outside some pub. Sad.
Is that outside the Bank Pub on Dame St Charlie Chawkes pub ? Well if it is why the **** not hang it ? Hes pumped a load of money into the club so why not .. Many pubs ive been in are decorated with certain teams gear so why not .
09/05/2007, 2:07 PM
Is that outside the Bank Pub on Dame St Charlie Chawkes pub ? Well if it is why the **** not hang it ? Hes pumped a load of money into the club so why not .. Many pubs ive been in are decorated with certain teams gear so why not .
Cos its a fcuking disgrace to have an english club flag outside a bar on one of the main streets of the capital. I've seen english jersies behind the bar before and while I dont agree with it at least its not out on the street. Absolute joke but typical paddy sh1t.
09/05/2007, 2:10 PM
Good man NY hoop you tell him :D
charlie chawke is married to a woman from the ros so he must be doing something right :)
Billsthoughts
09/05/2007, 2:27 PM
Is that outside the Bank Pub on Dame St Charlie Chawkes pub ? Well if it is why the **** not hang it ?
I just dont see any connection between Dame Street and Sunderland FC. He should put it up in his house or in his pub if it means that much to him personally. When it is on a public street it implies there is some sort of connection between the people of Dublin and Sunderland that doesnt exist in reality.
zinedineontour
10/05/2007, 8:21 AM
Does not imply any connection only the man is trying to get people to notice the Sunderland name over here and if it has a few of you on here arguing about it, its already worked.
cavan_fan
10/05/2007, 9:40 AM
Cos its a fcuking disgrace to have an english club flag outside a bar on one of the main streets of the capital. I've seen english jersies behind the bar before and while I dont agree with it at least its not out on the street. Absolute joke but typical paddy sh1t.
Would it be so bad if it was a Barcleona flag or an Inter Milan one?
What about Irish pubs in London/New York etc with Irish/County flags?
I supect there are a fair few Chelsea flags in Russia/Portugal
Football is a world sport, its a bit sad when you try to restrict people's interest to their own country.
10/05/2007, 12:24 PM
Football is a world sport, its a bit sad when you try to restrict people's interest to their own country.
Not their interest, their allegiance.
10/05/2007, 1:51 PM
Would it be so bad if it was a Barcleona flag or an Inter Milan one?
What about Irish pubs in London/New York etc with Irish/County flags?
I supect there are a fair few Chelsea flags in Russia/Portugal
All nonsense. As I said previously it wouldnt be so bad if it was inside but to have out on one of the Irish capital's main streets is a joke.
Why would there be anything wrong about hanging Irish flags in any Irish pub no matter the location?
Having said that had a look last night on dame st and while it is big you would only notice it if you were looking for it. At a glance it looks like another red and white flag.
youngirish
10/05/2007, 1:55 PM
Sunderland flags on the main streets of Dublin? I never thought I'd see the day. What's going to be the next fad to follow when Keane parts ways with Sunderland? Ridiculous, there are some muppets we have to share our country with.
10/05/2007, 2:37 PM
Good man NY hoop you tell him :D
kingdom hoop
10/05/2007, 3:26 PM
Sunderland flags on the main streets of Dublin? I never thought I'd see the day. What's going to be the next fad to follow when Keane parts ways with Sunderland? Ridiculous, there are some muppets we have to share our country with.
To be fair the fact that Charlie Chawke owns the bar and a stake in Sunderland is a good explanation. Not justification mind.
cavan_fan
10/05/2007, 3:39 PM
So the scandal is that someone who part owns a club has a flag of that club outside his pub?
I'd ask again if Roman Abramovich had a Chelsea flag outside his business premises in Moscow would that be a disgrace.
I sense that the real issue here is that Sunderland are English and this is just a bit of anti English bashing. I guarantee that if an Irish consortium had bought Heerenven, appointed our most famous player as manager and been relatively succesful with some Irish players no-one would be so offended. In fact we'd think it all a bit cosmopolitan.
youngirish
10/05/2007, 4:20 PM
I sense that the real issue here is that Sunderland are English and this is just a bit of anti English bashing. I guarantee that if an Irish consortium had bought Heerenven, appointed our most famous player as manager and been relatively succesful with some Irish players no-one would be so offended. In fact we'd think it all a bit cosmopolitan.
It's a completely different situation IMO. I don't think we should be flying English flags on our main streets. Considering our history it's ridiculous and shows a level of ignorance that's painful to observe. I've no problems with the English today but I don't want their flags waving in O'Connell Street, Grafton Street, Dame Street etc.
Do you see German flags being displayed on the main streets of Paris or by the Israelis in Tel Aviv? No wonder foreigners think we are dumb.
Rant over.
Wolfie
10/05/2007, 4:31 PM
I'm sure there's some estalished Sunderland fans who are viewing this the other way around. They probably view the situation as the "greening" of their English club.
Theres already "SundIreland" scarves in existence. If its not happened already, we'll probably see some band wagon jumpers from Ireland travelling to home games dressed in Leprechaun suits.
The farcical elements of this aint all one way traffic.
zinedineontour
10/05/2007, 5:07 PM
I'm sure there's some estalished Sunderland fans who are viewing this the other way around. They probably view the situation as the "greening" of their English club.
Theres already "SundIreland" scarves in existence. If its not happened already, we'll probably see some band wagon jumpers from Ireland travelling to home games dressed in Leprechaun suits.
The farcical elements of this aint all one way traffic.
As a lifelong Sunderland fan its interesting in the last few games ive been over to in Sunderland the growing number of Irish on the flights. Mostly though from what ive seen they are groups of lads on stags who are just catching the game rather than new Sunderland supporters. If we can attract new supporters to the club why not ? Was the manu superstore in dublin not a bit more in your face than a little flag on dame st ? Down the line when Keane leaves many will lose interest but hopefully a lot will stick with the club and it can only help the club as a whole.
10/05/2007, 5:23 PM
It's a completely different situation IMO. I don't think we should be flying English flags on our main streets. Considering our history it's ridiculous and shows a level of ignorance that's painful to observe. I've no problems with the English today but I don't want their flags waving in O'Connell Street, Grafton Street, Dame Street etc.
Do you see German flags being displayed on the main streets of Paris or by the Israelis in Tel Aviv? No wonder foreigners think we are dumb.
Rant over.
Spot on. It's an absolute joke.
What I can guarantee you is that if Ireland were playing england in the very same bar you would have people booing their anthem, if it wasnt turned down, and foaming at the mouth about their supposed "hatred" of england. It's the laughable hypocrisy that gets me.
IKOH
Torn-Ado
10/05/2007, 11:17 PM
As a lifelong Sunderland fan its interesting in the last few games ive been over to in Sunderland the growing number of Irish on the flights. Mostly though from what ive seen they are groups of lads on stags who are just catching the game rather than new Sunderland supporters. If we can attract new supporters to the club why not ? Was the manu superstore in dublin not a bit more in your face than a little flag on dame st ? Down the line when Keane leaves many will lose interest but hopefully a lot will stick with the club and it can only help the club as a whole.
Stag parties in Sunderland? Voted one of the worst cities in Britain and the biggest city in Europe with out a cinema. IŽd imagine the craic is great.
Soper
10/05/2007, 11:31 PM
Stag parties in Sunderland? Voted one of the worst cities in Britain and the biggest city in Europe with out a cinema. IŽd imagine the craic is great.
Plenty of Irish people to laugh at, which makes up for the lack of Laurel and Hardy films.