View Full Version : Vs. Sligo Rovers

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

02/04/2007, 12:20 PM
a few stupid students walked bye us kissing creasts,hand jestures,shouting up at us.that nerd with his top off was:rolleyes:
How immature do you have to be to get riled up by something like that? Wouldn't expect anything more from a 15-year-old though, to be honest.

i was behind where one of these bottles were thrown...an empty, plastic 250ml bottle that wasnt thrown in malice or intended to harm....
While, as Aberdonian Stu and schumi have pointed out, the fact that there wasn't any harm intended is utterly irrelevant, yer man has actually acknowledged this point. He said he didn't mind the first one - he just tossed it back - but the second one was full, nearly hit him and was thrown by someone who'd been over looking to start trouble during half-time.

no it wasn't, i was in the front row right in front of him and there was a blue water bottle thrown, then a similar one which was half full was more lobbed than thrown
Well, I gave yer man a lift home after the match and he was quite adamant that it was a full Lucozade bottle which had been flung, not lobbed, at him. Given that he'd have more reason to be keeping an eye out on it than you, I'd go with his version of events.

And yes, the season long ban may be a bit harsh, but than I'd be much happier with my club's handling of the issue than yours. Why that scumbag with the Celtic top was allowed in the ground after trying to start trouble at half-time and then throwing a bottle is beyond me. Not to mention the fact that your head steward was very unhappy with the stewarding, and another chief steward apologised for the excessively rough handling yer man got from the stewards.

dublinred
02/04/2007, 12:24 PM
How was it thrown then? In a friendly manner? :rolleyes:

Over-reaction or what , i rember the bad old days when the trains used to stoned going into Connolly and there would be a mini riot in the station and fights on the way to the grounds in Dublin and to think people get upset about empty plastic bottles nowdays.:)

02/04/2007, 12:32 PM
I'm not interested in how bad things used to be Grandpa, the fact remains that throwing a bottle at someone is unacceptable and given that the same person tried to start a fight at half time, the stewarding in the Showgrounds is a joke. Stewards were more interested in trying to antagonise us than in doing anything about Sligo fans causing trouble.

02/04/2007, 1:05 PM
and to think people get upset about empty plastic bottles nowdays.:)
While not trying to take anything away from schumi's post, it was the full bottle which was causing particular anger, as previously noted.

kkontour
02/04/2007, 1:42 PM
While not trying to take anything away from schumi's post, it was the full bottle which was causing particular anger, as previously noted.

My apologies to Stu, I am not denying, as you states the SR Forum, but I honestly did not see the bottles being thrown, and I was sitting the entrace side of the singing Rovers fans. Your fellow was a muppett but SR "fan" who thre the bottle should be banned. What will happen now is fans will be segregated and we will have to sit in the red stand and away fans in the blue. I hate sitting over there!
Suppose if the football wasnt so poor, the iditos wouldnt get bored and start the trouble. Its the teams fault:D

Student Mullet
02/04/2007, 2:21 PM
a seasons ban from ye're home games...very harsh!I don't agree. If you travel to a game you have to bring a basic level of cop-on with you, which he didn't. There's no point in waiting for something more serious to happen before taking action.

Also, I don't think the ban will run out at the end of the season.

02/04/2007, 2:39 PM
just curious, do UCD fans follow UCD even after they leave college?

Aberdonian Stu
02/04/2007, 2:56 PM
Yes. Indeed some of us end up hanging around the college itself several years after we "leave" college.

I'm a firm believer in punishments that are harsh enough to act as deterrents so a season long ban isn't a big deal and he should know better afterwards.

Again how anyone can defend throwing a bottle just because it's not as bad as the 'good aul days' is beyond me.

bomber82290
02/04/2007, 5:56 PM
ucd fans broke 3 ground regulations in the first 5 mins they were there and they continued to abuse people for the rest of the game fulled by th e bag of cans they were drinking during the game.They have to remember were football fans not hooligans.

02/04/2007, 6:01 PM
ucd fans broke 3 ground regulations in the first 5 mins they were there and they continued to abuse people for the rest of the game fulled by th e bag of cans they were drinking during the game.They have to remember were football fans not hooligans.
Were you the steward with the cap by any chance?

02/04/2007, 6:02 PM
Which three would these be? Was one swearing? Please let it be ****ing swearing.

There was no bag of cans. One lad had a pair of cans, which were taken off him. That's it.

Student Mullet
02/04/2007, 6:04 PM
Which three would these be? Was one swearing? Please let it be ****ing swearing. Number 2 is presumably standing in a seated area.

02/04/2007, 6:08 PM
I'm sorry, you're talking nonsense.

One person had cans. They were taken off him. There was no bag of cans. None of the confiscated cans were in a bag. Also, he wasn't drinking in the first five minutes.

Continued to abuse people for the rest of the game? If you count "Paul Doolin, you're a ******, you're a ******", then yes, you may have a case. Otherwise, there was nothing more than you should really expect from football fans, despite the stewards' protestations to the contrary ("Won't somebody pleeeeease think of the children!")

Your last sentence doesn't make any sense, even with correct grammar.

What were these three regulations then?

02/04/2007, 6:08 PM

Oh dear. Sure myself and John83 don't drink and two of the others who do drink weren't drinking on the trip as a whole at all as they were driving home.

02/04/2007, 6:11 PM
There was no bag of cans. None of the confiscated cans were in a bag.
Actually, one of the more entertaining actions of the (plainly inept) stewards was to search Poor Student's bag for cans. They found a book on Roman history, and no cans.

02/04/2007, 6:13 PM
That's right!

Course, if they'd done their job properly at the turnstiles, the cans wouldn't have been an issue in the first place. My bag wasn't searched on the way in for one.

02/04/2007, 6:49 PM
How immature do you have to be to get riled up by something like that? Wouldn't expect anything more from a 15-year-old though, to be honest.

While, as Aberdonian Stu and schumi have pointed out, the fact that there wasn't any harm intended is utterly irrelevant, yer man has actually acknowledged this point. He said he didn't mind the first one - he just tossed it back - but the second one was full, nearly hit him and was thrown by someone who'd been over looking to start trouble during half-time.

Well, I gave yer man a lift home after the match and he was quite adamant that it was a full Lucozade bottle which had been flung, not lobbed, at him. Given that he'd have more reason to be keeping an eye out on it than you, I'd go with his version of events.

And yes, the season long ban may be a bit harsh, but than I'd be much happier with my club's handling of the issue than yours. Why that scumbag with the Celtic top was allowed in the ground after trying to start trouble at half-time and then throwing a bottle is beyond me. Not to mention the fact that your head steward was very unhappy with the stewarding, and another chief steward apologised for the excessively rough handling yer man got from the stewards.

im sorry lads but have to agree with all that pineapple said..
the full lucozade bottle was way over the line...

kkontour
02/04/2007, 7:14 PM
im sorry lads but have to agree with all that pineapple said..
the full lucozade bottle was way over the line...
33% further:D FACT

02/04/2007, 7:17 PM
Very good.

It seems that the Sligo mods don't like us very much. Anyway, the quest continues to get more than one Sligo fan admit that pathetic stewarding and a couple of their own fans were also at play yesterday.

Bald Student
02/04/2007, 7:27 PM
I think we're over reacting here.

1 or 2 UCD fans acted out of turn and have received the appropriate punishment. 1 or 2 Sligo fans acted out of turn and I presume Sligo will deal with the issue. I agree it soured the game a little but in the grand scheme of things taking off your shirt or throwing a plastic bottle aren't that big a deal.

02/04/2007, 8:14 PM
I presume Sligo will deal with the issue.I won't hold my breath on that one.

02/04/2007, 8:18 PM
I won't hold my breath on that one.

it wont be dealt with..i promise you that

02/04/2007, 8:20 PM
not a hope of anything happening, 100% certain of that! yer man was a bit of a muppet it has to be said, i dont condone the bottles being thrown, it was totally stupid and should never happen!! i was right in front of the fella wit his top off and he waas trying to get by the lady steward and shouting 'do you wanna go' at the rovers fan(s)

bomber82290
02/04/2007, 9:13 PM
A list of ground regulations are in the programme.
Drinking in the ground
Directing foul and abusive language at individuals
Failing to adhere to directions of a steward
These came out at the meeting afterwards.And ye are supposed to be the educated ones.

02/04/2007, 9:34 PM
In the first five minutes, you said? Don't think the above stand.

Ground regulation 8 says "Any person who fails to comply with the instructions from a steward may be ejected from the ground", which I presume is the reguation which you allege we broke. You can't actually break the above regulation, therefore we didn't break that either.

You don't refer to your lie that we had a bagful of cans either.

I assume you were one of the stewards then? How do you respond to the inept stewarding at the match? How are the stewards going to respons to the formal complaint made against three of them? How do the stewards justify standing and watching as yer man in the Celtic top deliberately started looking for trouble during half time?

Our club has acted appropriately and swiftly. I've yet to see any such action from Sligo, whose fans (with one or two exceptions) and stewards insist on taking the moral upper ground.

02/04/2007, 9:55 PM
I don't know if Sligo hire private stewards but they seemed to be volunteer fans. Some of them were as animated as your average fan on the touchline with matters regarding the field of play. Such recruitment policy lends to unobjective stewarding. The Carlisle in Bray suffers from the same problem.

bomber82290
02/04/2007, 10:02 PM
All are volunteers.Security people are on contract.Most of them have been F.A.I trained by mccluskey.6 UCD FANS CAUSED MORE TROUBLE THAN 250 DERRY FANS.A BIT OF MANNERS IS ALL THAT IS NEEDED.

02/04/2007, 10:04 PM
I don't know if Sligo hire private stewards but they seemed to be volunteer fans. Some of them were as animated as your average fan on the touchline with matters regarding the field of play. Such recruitment policy lends to unobjective stewarding. The Carlisle in Bray suffers from the same problem.

they are volunteers, id say we cant afford a private firm..

im 16 and they wanted me to steward at the derry match!even knowing my age!:eek: :rolleyes:

02/04/2007, 10:11 PM
All are volunteers.Security people are on contract.Most of them have been F.A.I trained by mccluskey.6 UCD FANS CAUSED MORE TROUBLE THAN 250 DERRY FANS.A BIT OF MANNERS IS ALL THAT IS NEEDED.
There were more than six of us.

Care to address my issues and stop dodging things?

Again, the one UCD fan who caused trouble has been dealt with. What are Sligo going to do about their trouble makers?

Bald Student
02/04/2007, 10:12 PM
Again, the one UCD fan who caused "trouble" has been dealt with. What are Sligo going to do about their trouble makers?A somewhat selective use of quotation marks.

02/04/2007, 10:13 PM

There was 8 UCD fans in the singing section and more UCD fans in the other stand. I was in the group of 8 and I didn't violate a single one of the rules you stated.

If the money isn't there the money isn't there but you're going to have poor stewarding. I'll repeat again, their sheer laziness and lethargy resulted in the second incident taking place. I don't condone his behaviour and he was rightly chastised. However, they knew it was coming and passed the buck onto the next steward and next steward until he was down the other end of the stand and trouble flared up.

red bellied
02/04/2007, 10:14 PM
The reaction on here by some is way over the top. One muppet takes off his shirt and makes threats at the Rovers singing section (laughable more than anything). Another idiot reacts and pegs a plastic bottle at him. Countless posts over nothing, really petty stuff.

Bring your own stewards next time if you feel the Rovers volunteers arent up to yer standards.

02/04/2007, 10:16 PM
A somewhat selective use of quotation marks.
You're right; good spot. Changed. Just looking for consistency and acknowledgement is all.

02/04/2007, 10:17 PM
Bring your own stewards next time if you feel the Rovers volunteers arent up to yer standards.

im not trying to be funny here right, serious question for the ucd lads... how many stewards at a game would ye have?

would 4 or 5 be enough?
or is it campus security?

02/04/2007, 10:17 PM

They're private. You can hire them if you like.

02/04/2007, 10:18 PM
im not trying to be funny here right, serious question for the ucd lads... how many stewards at a game would ye have?

would 4 or 5 be enough?
Never seen many more than the 4 or 5 you mention; more for games like Rovers and Bohs.

I've seen them at other events, so they'd be hired for the evening.

02/04/2007, 10:21 PM
would 4 or 5 be enough?

Have no clue to be honest but they're private, not campus security. When we play the likes of Bohs and Rovers there's usually a bigger presence and a Garda presence. I met one of them on the way into a match once, he couldn't find Belfield Park and I showed him the way. Chatting to him he told me that he didn't give a toss about the football. You need stewards who aren't really concerned with what's going on the park and have no leanings towards any sets of fans.

02/04/2007, 10:48 PM
I was right at the entrance to the Blue stand and from what I saw was a Sligo Rovers fan calling the UCD fan "four eyes" and other abusive terms and then seen an empty plastic bottle been thrown at the UCD fan. Then the UCD fan approached the two stewards at the entrance to the blue stand and they brought him over to the side and spoke to him and the other UCD fan with him(who was let go back to watch the game).

Some of the stewards in the Showgies leave a lot to be desired, really bad, just sit down and watch the game for free. Others then are grand and do their job.

bomber82290
03/04/2007, 4:18 PM
Two Of Your Supporters Caused Trouble At The Gate When They Wouldnt Pay The Entrance.cans Of Alcohol In A Bag Are Called A Bag Of Cans.there Was One Fan Thrown Out At Ireland Vs Slovakia Game Last Week Out Of 72,000 So Sounds About Right For Ucd.

03/04/2007, 4:38 PM
cans Of Alcohol In A Bag Are Called A Bag Of Cans.
Why thank you. I didn't know that.

We've noted that the cans weren't in a bag though. We've noted that three rules were not broken in the first five minutes of the game, as you claimed. I didn't see or hear of any trouble at the gate such as you mentioned.

Are you going to answer my questions on the standard of the Sligo stewarding?

Also, turn off the caps lock.

Two Of Your Supports Caused Trouble At The Gate When They Wouldnt Pay The Entrance.They were looking to pay student price but didn't have student ID and were just trying to talk the ticket woman into allowing them to pay student price. To call that trouble is completely over the top and reduces your credibility.

cans Of Alcohol In A Bag Are Called A Bag Of Cans.Only if there's nothing else in it. If I have two cans of beer in my bag along with books and other stuff it's hardly a bag of cans. Regardless, I don't think the two cans found in the ground (or at least the ones in our area) were in a bag.

there Was One Fan Thrown Out At Ireland Vs Slovakia Game Last Week Out Of 72,000 So Sounds About Right For Ucd.This doesn't make any sense, you should probably take your finger out of your nose.

schumi, can we lock this thread and/or throw the rubbish into rubbish?

Bald Student
03/04/2007, 4:54 PM
schumi, can we lock this thread and/or throw the rubbish into rubbish?Leave it open, I think it's fun.

03/04/2007, 4:59 PM
Leave it open, I think it's fun.
I agree, but I wonder what the more level headed punters like Student Mullet and Schumi think.

bomber82290
03/04/2007, 5:29 PM
Do the maths, you are the students. 1/72,000 at Croke Park versus 1/15 UCD fans get thrown out of football matches. If you come to games to cause trouble, don't bother. We don't need the money that much. Summerhill College students in Sligo have no ID cards but if you forget to bring yours and still want to get in at student rate, it is your mistake.

03/04/2007, 5:47 PM
do the maths you are the students 1/72,000 at croke park versus 1/15 ucd fans get thrown out of football matchs.If ye come to games to cause trouble dont bother.We dont need the money that much.Summerhill college students sligo have no id cards but you forget to bring yours and still want to get in at student rate your mistake.
I hope Summerhill College is ashamed of its English teachers.

Someone misbehaving doesn't mean the rest of us can't expect decent, nay even half-assed stewarding, or criticise opposition fans for hypocritically accepting the same behaviour from their own that they agree was wrong from one of ours.

03/04/2007, 5:57 PM
If I have two cans of beer in my bag along with books and other stuff .

why were you bringin books to a football match anyway? thats just wrong!

03/04/2007, 5:58 PM
Four hour bus journey there and back maybe?

03/04/2007, 6:19 PM

Do you have to pass some sort of basic intelligence exam to be a steward? (Seriously)

bomber82290
03/04/2007, 6:33 PM
No not in recent times.F.A.I trained stewards have to pass an exam on health and safety, crowd control ,fire safety(handling of flares),some first aid.Personality is something you learn yourself but you give what you receive.Cop-on is learnt by your mistakes of which i trust your man has learnt from his trip to the showgrounds.