View Full Version : Vs. Sligo Rovers
31/03/2007, 9:15 AM
So I'm guessing you're about 12, yeah?
31/03/2007, 9:21 AM
Which would make Rogue Trader about ten...
31/03/2007, 10:18 AM
is salmon any good? not as good as turkey and ham
im so so funny
31/03/2007, 7:29 PM
Tony Mc is still out injured and Crowley is expected to start according to www.loi.ie (http://www.loi.ie), but I wouldn't take their word on it. Team I'd like to see:
------------Quigley------------
Mahon---McNally---Kenna---Gallagher
Bogdan--Crowley--McFaul---Doyler
----------------Finn---------------
---------------Sammo-------------
McMillan could start CB and push Kenna to LB. Conan and Paul Byrne will probably start at the expense of Bogdan and Crowley though.
31/03/2007, 8:09 PM
Hilarious. :rolleyes:
schumi - can we move the babies' "humour" to rubbish before we get sidetracked?
On the team, Tony's supposed to be back; bit of a blow if he isn't. Think after last week, we have to change things in the mid. Crowley wasn't even on the bench last week - is he injured? Brian King did very well in Drogheda and could well come in instead. Pete seems to like the combination of Byrne and Sammon (and if Byrne can get his confidence back, I'd agree), so I'd say that'd be the only likely change for tomorrow. Presumably McFaul or McMillan dropped to make way.
31/03/2007, 8:24 PM
Crowley wasn't even on the bench last week - is he injured?
He was suspended.
31/03/2007, 8:26 PM
He was suspended.
Only for the Shams game.
31/03/2007, 8:27 PM
Only for the Rovers game.
Stupid FAI.:rolleyes: http://www.eircomloi.ie/match_report_6.htm
31/03/2007, 8:32 PM
5:30 now?! Herald had the game down for tonight apparently. I love this league. :rolleyes:
Crowley played against Drogheda and didn't get booked, but he was suspended for Rovers, so I don't see how he would have been suspended against Cork.
31/03/2007, 8:37 PM
Sligo's site has 5pm. I'd trust them over the FAI.
31/03/2007, 8:38 PM
5:30 now?! Herald had the game down for tonight apparently. I love this league. :rolleyes:
Isn't 5:30 just pushing it a little without any floodlights?
31/03/2007, 8:41 PM
Isn't 5:30 just pushing it a little without any floodlights?
Not really- only if the weather is bad. It's still bright at 7.30 and it gets darker later in the further west you go.
31/03/2007, 8:56 PM
Sunset is 8pm in Dublin tomorrow. Sligo is not more than a handful of minutes behind (even at this latitude, there's a good distance between lines of longitude) - that means it'll be visibly darkening by 7. 5.30 is definately cutting it fine.
31/03/2007, 9:10 PM
Predictions lads? 1-0 to us with Alan Mahon scoring with a free kick.:cool:
31/03/2007, 9:11 PM
That part of Paddy Poewr is broken for some reason.
Just saved you a fiver, I reckon!
31/03/2007, 9:15 PM
That part of Paddy Poewr is broken for some reason.:confused:.
Mahon to score first and UCD win 1-0 is 175-1 odds.
31/03/2007, 9:19 PM
Yeah, but when I bet on it, it flicks back to Choise Aisien to score and Sligo to win 1-0, before saying that part of the website is broken or something.
31/03/2007, 9:19 PM
:confused:.
Mahon to score first and UCD win 1-0 is 175-1 odds.
Bloody rip-off. Mahon to score should be at least 300-1 on, so unless we're odds on favourites to win the ma... oh, hang on, never mind.
31/03/2007, 9:21 PM
Mahon 300-1 on to score?! :eek
It's working now. Though it's unable to tell me my potential winnings!
31/03/2007, 9:23 PM
You've seen those free kicks. And it's only Sligo.
31/03/2007, 9:24 PM
I refuse to believe those free kicks were anything other than a figment of my own imagination.
He's 16/1 to score, hilariously. Someone who's never scored against a league team in over 200 games!
31/03/2007, 9:26 PM
My winnings.:p
31/03/2007, 9:30 PM
Yeah, but when I bet on it, it flicks back to Choise Aisien to score and Sligo to win 1-0They're trying to give you a hint;). Don't come crying to PP when yer money is lost:D
31/03/2007, 9:31 PM
Not my money, as dmanetc pointed out. :)
31/03/2007, 9:35 PM
Yeah, but when I bet on it, it flicks back to Choise Aisien to score and Sligo to win 1-0, before saying that part of the website is broken or something.
there probably paying out on that already ya see!!
01/04/2007, 7:46 AM
It should be 300/1 to score not 300/1 ON . Alan is starring his own TV series next year... Can't Score Won't Score... oh hang on that's the whole team:D Tony Mac is due another goal soon, he gets about 1 in every 10 or so League games.
01/04/2007, 6:40 PM
well done lads, ye trie ye're best...fair play for comin and singing away! sucha muppet that got thrown out though! wat was he like! who was the man that was giving out to your own fans in the 2nd half? he brought a young fella out with him, is he some sort of leader or somethin or like a principal like person!?
01/04/2007, 8:14 PM
1 point out of 12 lads this season is already shaping up as a struggle...:(
01/04/2007, 8:49 PM
ye'll just struggle to score goals, ye wont concede many i dont think but its scoring them thats the real problem...two nice long range efforts that hit the post and crossbar but no clear cut chances created!
01/04/2007, 9:50 PM
but no clear cut chances created!
Exactly.
01/04/2007, 9:58 PM
well done lads, ye trie ye're best...fair play for comin and singing away! sucha muppet that got thrown out though! wat was he like! who was the man that was giving out to your own fans in the 2nd half? he brought a young fella out with him, is he some sort of leader or somethin or like a principal like person!?
A club official. He didn't give out to all of us, just your man.
Terribly irritating to come all the way down and see us lose to a late winner like that. Once again, I commend Alan Mahon, he will break his deadlock this season.
01/04/2007, 10:03 PM
A club official. He didn't give out to all of us, just your man.
Terribly irritating to come all the way down and see us lose to a late winner like that. Once again, I commend Alan Mahon, he will break his deadlock this season.
what was he giving oiut about? it wasnt the fella that was thorwn out...some other yonug lad! some strike from the number8 in the first half....if a team deserved to win it was rovers but that might be harsh on UCD, a draw wud have been fair enough
01/04/2007, 10:06 PM
what was he giving oiut about? it wasnt the fella that was thorwn out...some other yonug lad! some strike from the number8 in the first half....if a team deserved to win it was rovers but that might be harsh on UCD, a draw wud have been fair enough
We're losing these "draw would have been fair enough" games left, right and centre so I'll take an undeserved win next week if it's what required to get the three points.
He was asking the other fella if he was the culprit already being p1ssed off by then.
DonalE
01/04/2007, 10:13 PM
I have a picture of yer man with his top off standing in front of us all, what made him do that? He needs to work on his guns a bit before giving out tickets to the gun show like that :D
01/04/2007, 10:14 PM
I have a picture of yer man with his top off standing in front of us all, what made him do that?
Not too sure. Any of you lads know?
01/04/2007, 10:27 PM
Think it was intended as a bit of craic. He got two bottles thrown at him though, so he ended up getting removed from the ground as for inciting the home crowd (not that the home security did anything about the Rovers knacker in the Celtic jersey...)
Don't agree that Sligo "deserved" the win. It was a poor game from two poor sides. We hit the post twice, I think Matt Gregg made two good saves and that was it. It had draw written all over it, and Sligo were just the ones fortunate enough to nab a goal at the death.
First win in 12 years, I think. Enjoy it! We'll be back...
01/04/2007, 10:29 PM
the Rovers knacker in the Celtic jersey...)
Forgot about that wánker.. thanks for reminding me....he's a wnaker
01/04/2007, 10:34 PM
Forgot about that wánker.. thanks for reminding me....he's a wnaker
what he do?
That's the bottle green Celtic away jersey in the back row of the singing section to be precise.
By the way, the Sligo security saw the second incident, which resulted in his expulsion, coming a mile away in one of the greatest displays of ineptitude I've witnessed before my eyes. There was three stewards in front of us and one behind us. The three called the guy behind us to go after him. By the time he got round from the back to the front he decided he couldn't be bothered. All four of them made a vein attempt to summon the steward on the halfway line to no avail and they just stood stationary and watched from afar as trouble flared up again. Sheer laziness prevented any of them from moving to do anything. A comedy of errors.
Think it was intended as a bit of craic. He got two bottles thrown at him though, so he ended up getting removed from the ground as for inciting the home crowd (not that the home security did anything about the Rovers knacker in the Celtic jersey...)Don't know if he actually got removed? Think he was just told to stay over the other side...he was given that option anyway, although that was before the guard came so he may have kicked him out.
01/04/2007, 10:37 PM
what he do?
I was just sitting there at half time when all of a sudden he's there behind me threatning me...few of the lads told him to go back to where he was sitting before anything happened. he wasnt long backing off when he was threatned...bottler
although that was before the guard came so he may have kicked him out.
Ye he said it was the guard alright
01/04/2007, 10:40 PM
Don't know if he actually got removed? Think he was just told to stay over the other side
Got removed and banned from our home games for the season.
Serious questions being asked about the Sligo stewarding though - even the head steward said some of them were useless.
01/04/2007, 10:49 PM
Serious questions being asked about the Sligo stewarding though - even the head steward said some of them were useless.
One of them seemed to be employing Jedi mind tricks to control the kids beside us after their goal. Some stern staring and gesturing of the hand away from us. Not that it worked!
01/04/2007, 10:56 PM
And one of them seemed to be retarded (seriously...)
Aberdonian Stu
02/04/2007, 9:03 AM
I wasn't at the game but given the way these incidents are being described and the ease with which the participants in them did what they did it says a lot about the standard of stewarding in some grounds.
Away fans in particular should always be protected as they are at greater risk in any game and fans of either side (especially topless away ones!) should be prevented from causing trouble to people sitting peacefully.
02/04/2007, 9:08 AM
. He got two bottles thrown at him though
i was behind where one of these bottles were thrown...an empty, plastic 250ml bottle that wasnt thrown in malice or intended to harm....
Aberdonian Stu
02/04/2007, 9:15 AM
A thrown object of any kind is crossing the line, even if the person it's being thrown at has leapt across the line already!
02/04/2007, 9:30 AM
i was behind where one of these bottles were thrown...an empty, plastic 250ml bottle that wasnt thrown in malice or intended to harm....
A second bottle (a full Lucozade bottle) was thrown by the lad in the Celtic jersey with plenty of malice just after that.
02/04/2007, 10:01 AM
A second bottle (a full Lucozade bottle) was thrown by the lad in the Celtic jersey with plenty of malice just after that.
no it wasn't, i was in the front row right in front of him and there was a blue water bottle thrown, then a similar one which was half full was more lobbed than thrown, but whoever threw it obviosly shouldn't have done it, dont think any of the stewards saw him as the one closest to them had her back turned dealing with the gun show host!
a seasons ban from ye're home games...very harsh!
02/04/2007, 11:35 AM
i was behind where one of these bottles were thrown...an empty, plastic 250ml bottle that wasnt thrown in malice or intended to harm....How was it thrown then? In a friendly manner? :rolleyes: