View Full Version : Club or Country?
22/03/2007, 4:05 PM
BL, I waved at a TV camera the other week in Dalymount. :o
I'd bet my house that you would too if they pointed one at you.
What a brilliant image, the most miserable fugger I know waving at a TV camera. :eek:
22/03/2007, 4:09 PM
delusional maybe?
Can you elaborate?
Am I delusional for thinking that club and national football do not compete against each other?
Or am I delusional for objecting to being termed an idiot?
What you consider my lack of true support for my club side, I can easily consider your lack of support from your national side.
charliesboots
22/03/2007, 4:18 PM
What you consider my lack of true support for my club side, I can easily consider your lack of support from your national side.
And I'd have no problem with that. I am a greater supporter of St Pats than I am of Ireland, there you go I said it myself.
In relation to delusion, my point is that you are perhaps deluding yourself (rather than being an idiot) that you are as much a Limerick fan as Limerick Fan A if you would pick an Ireland match over a Limerick match while Limerick Fan A would pick that same Limerick match over the Ireland one.
Besides, without club football, the National teams wouldn't exist (something both associations need to be reminded of occassionally).
Sadly, on this Island, North and South, that's not true. Both the IFA and the FAI can quite happily run their respective International teams without ever having to worry about the clubs in their respective jurisdictions. I would be a lot more inclined to support an Irish team made up of LOI players, regardless of how they might do (e.g, struggle to beat, say, San Marino:eek: )
I think the post refers to the fact that the National association is obligated to provide a senior national league in some form or other if it is to be allowed membership of fifa/uefa
Billy Lord
22/03/2007, 8:10 PM
BL, I waved at a TV camera the other week in Dalymount. :o
I'd bet my house that you would too if they pointed one at you.
Email me the deeds of your gaff NOW. I'd mouth obscenities and give the finger if someone waved a camera into the Rovers' crowd. We've a reputation to live up to, y'know.
Billy Lord
22/03/2007, 8:20 PM
But as you don't really support the national team, then you don't understand the feelings of those who do.
I guess my nationality is less important to me than my irrationality.
Midgit
22/03/2007, 10:15 PM
I would rather Ireland win world cup than Rovers win the League!
Straight out.:cool:
23/03/2007, 6:43 AM
I'd rather a Shels under 10's team beat someother under 10's team than to see Ireland win the world cup.
Actually come to think of it,i'd rather a Bohs/Rovers/Cork etc etc under 10's team beat another under 10's team than Ireland win the World cup.
Midgit
23/03/2007, 9:00 AM
You obvoiusly are and Englishman so!:rolleyes:
23/03/2007, 9:02 AM
You obvoiusly are and Englishman so!:rolleyes:
I'd rather Limerick beat Kildare County tonight than Oirland winning the world cup :ball:
Midgit
23/03/2007, 9:05 AM
Thats a whole lot different than seeing an U-10 team of a club you dont support win.
23/03/2007, 9:06 AM
Thats a whole lot different than seeing an U-10 team of a club you dont support win.
Just read that properly there
Ya the under ten things a bit odd alright :eek:
Erstwhile Bóz
23/03/2007, 9:41 AM
An all-Ireland team (with no involvement from the FAI or the IFA ;) ) would be a different kettle of fish.
23/03/2007, 12:04 PM
club absolutely and anybody who picks country first is either an idiot or not a true supporter of their club!!
Pats winning an FAI Cup would mean more to me as a fan than the national team winning Euro Champs and World Cup back to back. Problem is none of the above are likely to happen in my lifetime!!
thats simply not true:mad:
im one of the few that has went for country over club, for the simple reason my town hasnt an eircom league team, or anything that even resembles one,
but it has a team and yes i do go to the odd, very odd game, when i can
simple logic then would see me support my country
i dont support any british team, etc but I do like to attend the local teams of the area im living in at the moment, and do some coaching which i am at present with underage teams
but i do admire you all that do support your local teams, and wish my town had a team in the eircom league
Midgit
23/03/2007, 1:00 PM
I am of the same view.
23/03/2007, 1:08 PM
I am of the same view.
except you do have a senior club nearby.
adamcarr
02/09/2007, 3:09 PM
Just been directed to this thread.. how can anyone support a club over their country?
"I'd rather Rovers beat Bohs than Ireland winning the World Cup"
Sorry but I fear this is simply competition to see who can be the most super-dooper hardcore fan and take that poll with a pinch of salt. Never have I seen or heard such unpatriotism.
How can someone be patriotic to our national team when a strong contingent aren't even Irish born. Id have City beat UCD in a ****ty league cup game in Belfield over Ireland beating Slovakia. I'm not saying that I do not like our national team, I just don't respect some of the players in the squad.
02/09/2007, 3:12 PM
Yet another thread for Cupcakes to WUM in...why did I show them this:o.
soccerc
02/09/2007, 3:17 PM
How can someone be patriotic to our national team when a strong contingent aren't even Irish born.
Of the named squad below how many constitute a strong contingent who are not Irish born?
Club Caps Goals
Goalkeepers:
Nick Colgan Barnsley 9 0
Colin Doyle Birmingham City 1 0
Shay Given Newcastle United 80 0
Wayne Henderson Preston North End 6 0
Defenders:
Richard Dunne Manchester City 36 5
Steve Finnan Liverpool 47 1
Kevin Foley Wolverhampton Wanderers 0 0
Stephen Kelly Birmingham City 6 0
Paul McShane Sunderland 5 0
John O’Shea Manchester United 39 1
Midfielders:
Lee Carsley Everton 34 0
Jonathon Douglas Leeds United 7 0
Darron Gibson Manchester United 1 0
Stephen Hunt Reading 6 0
Stephen Ireland Manchester City 5 3
Kevin Kilbane Wigan Athletic 81 7
Aiden McGeady Celtic 11 0
Alan O’Brien Hibernian 5 0
Darren Potter Wolverhampton Wanderers 3 0
Andy Reid Charlton Athletic 23 4
Forwards
Kevin Doyle Reading 10 3
Robbie Keane Tottenham Hotspur 73 31
Andy Keogh Wolverhampton Wanderers 2 0
Shane Long Reading 5 3
Daryl Murphy Sunderland 3 0
02/09/2007, 3:25 PM
Sorry dont know who you are but how is this a WUM? I just do not for a second believe some of the views here. Say for example the rovers 1st Div win in 2005..would you saw that was better than an ireland win? I was there and while there was certainly celebration its nothing like ive seen for the likes of Ireland v England euro 88. So either the views are wrong of those writing them are a bit dull in their celebrationsThis is a WUM cos you're just not accepting other people's opinions on the poll result, saying they're just lying so they can look like great fans:rolleyes:. Of course Rovers win in 2005 was better, Sligo Rovers are my local team who play all year round. Ireland have a dope of a manager and a lot of over-rated and over paid players. Plus they also have some complete idiots following them[example being the person who had "Chelsea" wrote on an Ireland flag and displayed it at Croke Park].
I still support Ireland, I go to games, and I would love to see them win the WC but Rovers winning anything means a lot more to me and always will.
02/09/2007, 3:37 PM
I accept that thats what you believe. What Im saying is that i was there in 2005 and it was ok.. there were no grown men crying, peopl edancing and singing inthe street and unbridled joy. If you are honest you will admit that.No grown men crying? No, not that I saw anyway. Dancing or singing in the street? I'm sure some did out celebrating afterwards. Unbridled joy? Well I know it was one of my happiest of Rovers time, maybe you didn't feel "unbridled joy" but I certainly did.
02/09/2007, 3:39 PM
I accept that thats what you believe. What Im saying is that i was there in 2005 and it was ok.. there were no grown men crying, peopl edancing and singing inthe street and unbridled joy. If you are honest you will admit that.
So unless football is some over-the-top ostentatious catharsis of elation - the sporting equivalent of the reaction to Lady Diana's death in England - then it's just not real or important ? :confused:
So just because Irish people don't jump around wailing and slapping themselves on the head at funerals, like is the tradition in some Arab societies, that means they don't really give a feck about the person who's just died.....?
I used to think you were a WUM Fruitcakes. Now I just think you're a bit slow....
soccerc
02/09/2007, 3:52 PM
You've just proven my point. There was no examples of euphoria similar to the way there would be if Ireland won the world cup. Put it this way.. I saw England win the ashes and you could see it meant so much to those who were there they felt it a momentus occasion in theor lives not just their sporting lives (or in your case it would be your "rovers life").
I am not disputing this is what people believe.. I just remain to be convinced this is true based on any trophy presentation Ive seen in the LOI. If LOI fans are so over the top happy at winning leagues, cups and promotions they certainly do well hiding it.
Well you obvioulsy weren't in Lansdowne last December when Derry won the FAI Cup in a thrilling game. Derry fans were ecstatic while Pats supporters were emotionally shattered. Hate doing this but you are a fool
02/09/2007, 3:54 PM
You've just proven my point. There was no examples of euphoria similar to the way there would be if Ireland won the world cup. Put it this way.. I saw England win the ashes and you could see it meant so much to those who were there they felt it a momentus occasion in theor lives not just their sporting lives (or in your case it would be your "rovers life").
I am not disputing this is what people believe.. I just remain to be convinced this is true based on any trophy presentation Ive seen in the LOI. If LOI fans are so over the top happy at winning leagues, cups and promotions they certainly do well hiding it.You haven't proven any point. There would have been a lot more people happy with "England winning the ashes" than an EL team winning the league or cup. But that's purely based on numbers supporting it. By no means does it prove it meant more to them than a win for someone's EL team would.
02/09/2007, 3:55 PM
I used to think you were a WUM Fruitcakes. Now I just think you're a bit slow....
Could be both Steve, you cant rule that out just yet.
02/09/2007, 3:58 PM
When we won the league for the first time in 23 years in Kilkenny in 2001, there was so much euphoria you'd think the entire Bohs support were on E. (It was only three quarters!)
bohsmug
02/09/2007, 4:43 PM
This argument is up there with the strangest I've ever seen on here. The poster cupcakes just seems to live a very strange life. In every thread you say something along the lines of "come on you don't really believe....". It must be a very strange life to live when you think everybody lies about absolutely everything at any possible time.
When England won the ashes they were very happy. What in Gods name has that got to do with whether I support Bohs over Ireland?
The celebrations after our wins against pats,bohs and rovers over the last month that I have experienced have been far more euphoric and meaningful to the people watching then anything I've experienced supporting the Irish team.
02/09/2007, 5:28 PM
So just because Irish people don't jump around wailing and slapping themselves on the head at funerals, like is the tradition in some Arab societies, that means they don't really give a feck about the person who's just died.....?
Pretty poor comparison.
At least Cupcakes is comparing the same people. You're trying to compare different groups of people.
02/09/2007, 5:36 PM
how can anyone support a club over their country?
Never have I seen or heard such unpatriotism.
I could see the looks on their faces..it meant something. I have never seen that in the LOI
Have you ever thought that........maybe.........you aren't the biggest fan of eL football?
I voted for club over country.
adamcarr
02/09/2007, 5:46 PM
I am not disputing this is what people believe.. I just remain to be convinced this is true based on any trophy presentation Ive seen in the LOI. If LOI fans are so over the top happy at winning leagues, cups and promotions they certainly do well hiding it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CA9mezi6qYI
The place was like a morgue that night, the players didn't even care.
Im a very proud Irishman but I would still support my football club before Ireland and the FAI. Longford Town gives me far more enjoyment then Ireland ever will!
02/09/2007, 6:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CA9mezi6qYI
The place was like a morgue that night, the players didn't even care.
Unreal !! :ball:
02/09/2007, 6:04 PM
Longford Town getting 3 points next Friday night will certainly bring me a lot more joy then Ireland winning their 2 qualifiers, without doubt. Yes I like to see Ireland doing well, but it doesn't bother me if the lose.
Put it this way if Longford lose it bothers me for a week if Ireland lose it bothers me for a day. That is just the way it is for me Im not trying for one second to suggest Im a bigger then any other poster on this forum. I care about Ireland but its Longford first for me. I sense that maybe cupcakes wants to ambush every thread and shove his own opinions down our throats see also the thread regarding the wearing of club colours. Its peoples opinions you dont have to agree with them.
The Man Himself
02/09/2007, 6:17 PM
ireland would come first for me.
see a bit of proper football and to get away from the shyte the eircom has to offer.
half_full
02/09/2007, 6:26 PM
Longford Town getting 3 points next Friday night will certainly bring me a lot more joy then Ireland winning their 2 qualifiers, without doubt. Yes I like to see Ireland doing well, but it doesn't bother me if the lose.
Exactly my thoughts, except sub in the Blues for Longford Town:D
02/09/2007, 6:28 PM
ireland would come first for me.
see a bit of proper football and to get away from the shyte the eircom has to offer.
plank:rolleyes:
02/09/2007, 8:50 PM
plank:rolleyes:
A very thick and long one at that.
Fivesilver
02/09/2007, 9:04 PM
Cupcakes, obviously you've no memory of the extended lunacy that gripped Sligo after the FAI Cup win in 1994.
Some of my favourite memories: Fraser Brown with the tears rolling down his cheeks in front of the RTE cameras in 83; my mother, in her mid-50s, climbing the fence in Lansdowne and evading two stewards to join in the celebrations in 94; Johnny Chadda's "glittering morning star" speech - I pity people who have never followed a team closely enough to have savoured such euphoria.
02/09/2007, 10:24 PM
To all 26 people so far who voted for the 2nd option - Ha :D
02/09/2007, 10:47 PM
When is this Ireland v City competitive match?
Latest in a line of dopey pointless argument-for-the-sake-of-it threads.
02/09/2007, 11:00 PM
When is this Ireland v City competitive match?
It was on during the summer when they toured the country...
Oh sorry that was Sunderland. I find it hard to distinguish them.
02/09/2007, 11:20 PM
Pretty poor comparison.
At least Cupcakes is comparing the same people. You're trying to compare different groups of people.
It's common to use extreme examples to make a point Osarun..... :rolleyes:
Anyways - Fishcakes is self-evidently a WUMming moron.
03/09/2007, 2:35 AM
It's common to use extreme examples to make a point Osarun..... :rolleyes:
Anyways - Fishcakes is self-evidently a WUMming moron.
Disagree with the first, as I don't see the point you're trying to make. But my full and complete agreement on the second part is enough to let the matter rest there. (As long as you start spelling my name right;))
Bald Student
03/09/2007, 7:02 AM
How could I support Ireland? They don't even have corporate boxes in Lansdown, let alone table service.
Anyone who expects me to take a dump while not watching the telly is clearly not a real football fan.
03/09/2007, 9:18 AM
Disagree with the first, as I don't see the point you're trying to make.
My point was Pishcakes attempt to formulise celebration into some Bill Gates-style standard - 'Windows Euphoiria 1.0'.
Unless you're weeping for at least 3.5mins and hug a minimum of 4 unknown adults of the same gender whilst hopping around for a period of no less than 16 mins, then the event you are allegedly joyous about and celebrating obviously means little to you. Or at least not as much as it did to the text-book formulaic benchmark of those crazy Oirish men and women of Euro 88...
monutdfc
03/09/2007, 5:13 PM
Must be a whole 3 months since we had this one!
03/09/2007, 9:44 PM
My point was Pishcakes attempt to formulise celebration into some Bill Gates-style standard - 'Windows Euphoiria 1.0'.
Unless you're weeping for at least 3.5mins and hug a minimum of 4 unknown adults of the same gender whilst hopping around for a period of no less than 16 mins, then the event you are allegedly joyous about and celebrating obviously means little to you. Or at least not as much as it did to the text-book formulaic benchmark of those crazy Oirish men and women of Euro 88...
Any link to let Fairycakes download that? :p