View Full Version : Best one hit wonders
Marked Man
13/03/2007, 4:42 PM
They made one single (or at least, one that anyone knows), they disappeared, they were great...
For me the best one hit wonders were Jilted John, with their self-titled single.
How about the rest of yiz?
Billsthoughts
13/03/2007, 4:46 PM
Louis Louis..The Kingsmen...
Discussion over.
SaucyJack
13/03/2007, 4:48 PM
the Knack "My Sharona"
White Town - Your Woman is by far and away the best one hit wonder of all time
13/03/2007, 5:38 PM
t_9MI2ymN6s
Risteard i was just thinking of spaceman when I read the thread title. Heres is a few that spring to mind:
Ice Ice Baby- Vanila Ice
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vp-is6S_b_g
Tubthumping - Chumbawamba
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lJIjdajBww
Jump around- House of Pain
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZZZADbubu0Y
White Town - Your Woman is by far and away the best one hit wonder of all time
good call
add
Spaceman - Babylon Zoo and
Brimful of Asha - Cornershop
to the list
13/03/2007, 10:25 PM
Splodginessabounds - Two Pints of Lager and A Packet of Crisps Please.
The Only Ones(I think?) Another Girl Another Planet
and, not sure if it was a hit or not, but "Punk Rock Girl" by the Dead Milkmen is a scream.
Oh, and I nearly forgot - probably my vote for the best one hit wonder, The Vapours - Turning Japanese
Marked Man
13/03/2007, 11:44 PM
Splodginessabounds - Two Pints of Lager and A Packet of Crisps Please.
Two absolute classics. And the former has a serious shot at best band name.
Quality song. Its been hearing every where lately as due to the vodafone ad.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3vd6lL_uec
Wolfie
14/03/2007, 8:31 AM
Can you Dig it? - The Mock Turtles
14/03/2007, 8:48 AM
Brimful of Asha - Cornershop
Cornershop had a few top Forty hits and several relatively successful albums so I don't think they qualify for this. Good call on the Mock Turtles Wolfie.
Powder - Afrodisiac (thats the way they spelled it)
Great tune. They disapeared when the singer got knocked up.
(Obviously the "Afrodisiac" worked)
Afrodisiac shrinkwrapped prepacked... (http://eil.com/shop/moreinfo.asp?catalogid=66676)
14/03/2007, 8:57 AM
fW_hSNHZiBc
p9YAKrgqtVw
14/03/2007, 9:27 AM
Cameo-Word Up
I like them alot but I doubt most other poeple have kept up with them.
Althea & Donna - Uptown Top Ranking
Trio - Da Da Da
Martha & the Muffins - Echo Beach
14/03/2007, 10:25 AM
Ray Parker Jr. - Ghostbusters
Giorgio moroder / phil oakey - Together in Electric Dreams
M/A/R/S - Pump Up the Volume
Black Box - Ride on Time
S-Express - Theme from S-Express
Tiffany - I think we're alone now
Smoke City - Underwater Love
You're missing a /R there BP.
There must be a few Northern Soul singles that made no impression first time round, but broke into the top 40 in the mid '70s.
14/03/2007, 11:59 AM
Blue Oyster Cult - Dont Fear the Reaper
Wolfie
14/03/2007, 1:35 PM
The Breeders - Cannonball
(Their one notable tune anyway)
Lev Yashin
14/03/2007, 3:22 PM
The Breeders - Cannonball
(Their one notable tune anyway)
i know someonw who would lynch you for saying they are one hit wonders!!!
musical youth--pass the dutchie...CHOON!!
Cornershop had a few top Forty hits and several relatively successful albums so I don't think they qualify for this.
fair enough, i didnt really follow their career... :o although does getting a single into the top 40 qualify it as a hit? Hits in my book are top10, maybe top20... i blame the thread starter for not being clear. ;)
14/03/2007, 3:51 PM
fW_hSNHZiBc
While Istanbul Not Constantinople, the follow up to Birdhouse In Your Soul (single of the year 1990), didn't chart in the UK it did chart pretty much everywhere else.
They Might be Giants have had several hits since including of course Boss Of Me from Malcolm in the Middle.
Pretty certain those Mmm-bop lads follow up single(s) charted as well.
Generally in this thread there seems to be a confusion as to the difference between a bone fide "one Hit wonder" (who only had one record chart in a top 30 or 40) and maybe a "one radio hit wonder" (someone who only had one hit that you remember because it's their only one that still gets the odd radio play)
Ray Parker Jr. - Ghostbusters Don't think this is RPJs only hit
Giorgio moroder / phil oakey - Together in Electric Dreams Not a one hit wonder
M/A/R/S - Pump Up the Volume Isn't M/A/R/R/S one of Bill Drummonds working monikers? If so -Not a one hit Wonder.
Black Box - Ride on Time Not a one hit wonder
S-Express - Theme from S-Express Not a one hit wonder
Tiffany - I think we're alone now Not a one hit wonder
Smoke City - Underwater Love Never heard of it or them :D Was it even a hit?
Lev Yashin
14/03/2007, 4:00 PM
While Istanbul Not Constantinople, the follow up to Birdhouse In Your Soul (single of the year 1990), didn't chart in the UK it did chart pretty much everywhere else.
They Might be Giants have had several hits since including of course Boss Of Me from Malcolm in the Middle.
Generally in this thread there seems to be a confusion as to the difference between a bone fide "one Hit wonder" (who only had one record chart in a top 30 or 40) and maybe a "one radio hit wonder" (someone who only had one hit that you remember because it's their only one that still gets the odd radio play)
Don't think this is RPJs only hit
Not a one hit wonder
Isn't M/A/R/R/S one of Bill Drummonds working monikers? If so -Not a one hit Wonder.
Not a one hit wonder
Never heard of it or them :D Was it even a hit?
you need to get out more!!!!
think that bottom ione was from an ad...cant think of which one though!!!
Wolfie
14/03/2007, 4:01 PM
I think the Mock Turtles "Can you Dig it" still fulfills the ever growing list of criteria for the thread.
Although can't say for sure that a follow up didn't hit top 40.
14/03/2007, 4:13 PM
I think the Mock Turtles "Can you Dig it" still fulfills the ever growing list of criteria for the thread.
Although can't say for sure that a follow up didn't hit top 40.
I'm sure I can.
I fcuking HATE the Mock Turtles and their horrible trippy dippy madchester bandwagon jumping wah-wah peddle overlaiden tripe of a nonsense.
Saw them at Feile 91 and only during them and perhaps Nancy Griffith did I truly understand why we weren't allowed bring in glass bottles.
Wolfie
14/03/2007, 4:21 PM
I'm sure I can.
I fcuking HATE the Mock Turtles and their horrible trippy dippy madchester bandwagon jumping wah-wah peddle overlaiden tripe of a nonsense.
Saw them at Feile 91 and only during them and perhaps Nancy Griffith did I truly understand why we weren't allowed bring in glass bottles.
Not a classic by any stretch of the imagination - but was catchy at the time in a throwaway kinda way.
I think the lead singer was Steve Coogan's brother.
Called it right though, Lionel - they did jump the Madchester Bandwagon and brought little or nothing to the party.
14/03/2007, 4:46 PM
Not a classic by any stretch of the imagination - but was catchy at the time in a throwaway kinda way.
Called it right though, Lionel - they did jump the Madchester Bandwagon and brought little or nothing to the party.
ah don't be minding me ...long day, bad humour:mad:
Cornershop and The Breeders as one-hit wonders!!! :eek: :eek:
Some hip-hoppery:
Sugar Hill Gang - Rapper's Delight
Morris Minor and the Majors - Stutter Rap
and a classic that I haven't seen yet, apologies if it's been said:
Mungo Jerry - In the Summertime.
Cornershop as one-hit wonders!!! :eek: :eek:
okay, okay, my bad, i get it. They were multi-hit wonders. :D
Deep Blue Something - Breakfast at Tiffanys (now someones probably gonna tell me they released 5 platinum selling albums... :D )
How Bizarre - cant remember who sang it, some NZ bloke i think. From the mid 90's.
14/03/2007, 5:08 PM
How Bizarre - cant remember who sang it, some NZ bloke i think. From the mid 90's.
O.M.D i think , Oh the hours i've spent wanting to know the rest but didnt know how to go about buying the rights,
14/03/2007, 5:09 PM
Don't think this is RPJs only hit
Not a one hit wonder
Isn't M/A/R/R/S one of Bill Drummonds working monikers? If so -Not a one hit Wonder.
Not a one hit wonder
Never heard of it or them :D Was it even a hit?
I believe most people here are going on the proviso that the songs stated are probably the only one by the band that the public at large are aware of not your music fans
14/03/2007, 5:23 PM
OMC - O_______ (something) Millionaires Club.
We need a ruling as to whether one-hit-wonder applies strictly to bands/artist who only ever had one song in the Top 400 (or whatever) or if we broaden it to people who only ever had one hit that anyone remembers but used their success to bounce 2 or 3 more completely dull songs into the charts (like Hanson - before they grew up - Right Said Fred, Chumbawamba etc).
Special mention should go to 'Spirit in the Sky' which was a one hit wonder 3 times over - Norman Greenbaum; Doctor and the Medics; and the Gareth Gates/Kumar family from the telly combo for Comic Relief a few years back (bit of a stretch I know:) but Gareth Gates would love to be classed as a one-hit wonder if it meant that anyone remembered who he was)
Marked Man
14/03/2007, 6:44 PM
When I started the thread, I was thinking of bands that had one hit (i.e. one top 40 charting tune), and either that was it, or there was maybe an accompanying album that few people bought.
I'm actually glad I didn't specify things any more clearly though, as I've been enjoying the different notions of what counts as a one-hit wonder.
Chumabwamba, for example. I've got 5 of their albums, three of which are from the mid/late eighties. OK, there were no hits off any of these, but still. they are more enduring than a typical one hit wonder.
Let a thousand flowers (or criteria for one-hit wonders) bloom.
Lev Yashin
14/03/2007, 7:15 PM
The scatman...think it was b scatman john?
no jokes about poo!
14/03/2007, 8:52 PM
OMC - O_______ (something) Millionaires Club.
We need a ruling as to whether one-hit-wonder applies strictly to bands/artist who only ever had one song in the Top 400 (or whatever) or if we broaden it to people who only ever had one hit that anyone remembers but used their success to bounce 2 or 3 more completely dull songs into the charts (like Hanson - before they grew up - Right Said Fred, Chumbawamba etc).
Special mention should go to 'Spirit in the Sky' which was a one hit wonder 3 times over - Norman Greenbaum; Doctor and the Medics; and the Gareth Gates/Kumar family from the telly combo for Comic Relief a few years back (bit of a stretch I know:) but Gareth Gates would love to be classed as a one-hit wonder if it meant that anyone remembered who he was)
Doctor & The Medics follow up single -the wonderful 'Burn' reached no.29 in the UK in august 1986. The LP Laughing At the Pieces - which contains 'Spirit in The Sky' and is if I may say so an absolute classic, reached no.7 in the UK album chart. Not sure on Irish chart positions as the irish charts didn't have much of a profile at the time -not to a 13 year old at any rate.
The scatman...think it was b scatman john? the follow up to that no.1 single reached no.5 in the singles chart. I think it was called 'Scatmans World' and frankly I'm starting to frighten myself now. :o
Paddyfield
14/03/2007, 10:20 PM
"Driving away from home" - It's Immaterial
"Brilliant Mind" - Furniture
"The Bridge" - Cactus World News
cheifo
14/03/2007, 11:32 PM
I seem to remember a song from a German band Propaganda, cant remember
name of song.Oh yeh and what about yer wan with her "99 Red Balloons" and that other crowd "You can dance if you want to but you leave your friends behind."
God my memory is dreadful, is their something I can eat?
15/03/2007, 12:38 AM
well theres somethin you can stop smokin!! :p
another one i just heard on the radio over here...
Len - Steal My Sunshine
brother and sister apparently... a bit too close in that video if you ask me.
http://www.cbc.ca/arts/images/mixtape2.jpg
Following up Lionel Ritchie's post at the top:
Chumbawamba had a follow up hit with 'Amnesia', I'm sure. With the immortal couplet "Do you suffer from long-term memory loss? / I don't remember".
Propaganda had at least two hits - 'Dr. Mabuse' and the wonderful 'Duel'.
Cameo had any number of hits other than 'Word Up' I think. 'Single Life' and the utterly brilliant 'Candy' spring to mind.
OMC is Otara Millionaires Club BTW.
And back on topic:
Fiddler's Dram - Day Trip To Bangor
MC Miker G & DJ Sven - Holiday Rap :D
Wolfie
15/03/2007, 8:33 AM
PM Dawn - Set adrift on Memory Bliss
True to my current form on this thread - not a clue if this geezer had hits with some other band or indeed as PM Dawn.
Anyone?
15/03/2007, 8:46 AM
Who did Sunshine on a rainy day? Zoe or something?
Dexy's would be classed as a one hit wonder in the US. But what do they know
I believe he still is Steve Coogan's brother.
Cornershop is an interesting one - most djs believing that the 'Norman Cook awful remix' is their only output ever. Way to destroy a song, jive bunny.
Roadend
15/03/2007, 9:42 AM
Captain Sensible - Happy talk ;)
MyTown
15/03/2007, 10:04 AM
Captain Sensible - Happy talk ;)
Have to disqualify this one. He had a few chart appearances as lead singer with punk rockers The Damned.
Mind you we could do with him for our next home game:(
He also had a couple more solo "hits"
MyTown
15/03/2007, 10:43 AM
Okay its give away my age time but who remembers
Northern Lights by Rennaisance?
Story of the Blues by Wah
Matchstalk Men by Brian & Michael
I shoulda known better by Jim Diamond (was he also Phd? - okay leave him out!)
Kayleigh by Marillion
I've never been to me by Charlene (I know, I know, pass the si*k bag)
My favourite is 'Airport' by the Motors. Coldplay's CLOCKS sounds like a sample of it. I also liked Echo Beach which got an honourable mention above.
Is it worth starting a new thread for Irish One Hit Wonders?
There were a few decent bands in the late 70s early 80s, before we got arrogant and prosperous and if we had an economy then, they could have been contenders....
15/03/2007, 10:45 AM
Africa by Toto?
I come from a land down under by Men at work
Safety Dance by ?
Kayleigh by Marillion
Marillion have been knocking around for years, with plenty of top forty hits.
Toto had 'Rosanna' too.
15/03/2007, 11:33 AM
Safety Dance by ?
Men Without Hats! Or as they're known today Men Without Jobs.