View Full Version : Best one hit wonders

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Lev Yashin
15/03/2007, 12:26 PM
Enola Gay....cant think of the name of the band....i know it was the name of the first atomic bomb dropped....some 80's throwaway

Wolfie
15/03/2007, 12:27 PM
I believe he still is Steve Coogan's brother.

So you've not heard the terrible news?

15/03/2007, 12:31 PM
He also had a couple more solo "hits"

Glad It's All Over

15/03/2007, 12:35 PM
Enola Gay....cant think of the name of the band....i know it was the name of the first atomic bomb dropped....some 80's throwaway

OMD (Orchestral Manouvers in the Dark) had more hits than a porn site while the wifes away.

the excellent "Secrets" and the excreble "Seven Seas of Blue" come to mind. One of them also produced tesco-girl-pop-knacks Atomic Kitten

noby
15/03/2007, 12:38 PM
So you've not heard the terrible news?
Serious? Oops.

OMD - see also Joan of Arc, Maid of Orleans etc.

noby
15/03/2007, 12:39 PM
Glad It's All Over
So am I...

Wolfie
15/03/2007, 1:13 PM
Serious? Oops.

Na Noby - I presume Steve Coogans brother is very much alive :cool: :D

Lev Yashin
15/03/2007, 2:28 PM
OMD (Orchestral Manouvers in the Dark) had more hits than a porn site while the wifes away.

the excellent "Secrets" and the excreble "Seven Seas of Blue" come to mind. One of them also produced tesco-girl-pop-knacks Atomic Kitten

shocking on my part never realised it was O.M.D...i stand corrected and foolish

16/03/2007, 10:09 PM
Cameo had any number of hits other than 'Word Up' I think. 'Single Life' and the utterly brilliant 'Candy' spring to mind.
I can't rememer. I was -1 when Word Up came out but that was like their 7th album, IIRC, and they didn't have any success as big after. Maybe in America they did.

I have a Cameo "Hits" collection as I'd heard Candy and loved it. I knew about Word Up but I didn't know the name of the band. Anyway song number one was Word Up. And come to think of it a lot of the songs on the CD sound familiar but this is down to them being sampled in the hip-hop music I like.

17/03/2007, 11:25 PM
wheetus- teenage dirtbag

stann
18/03/2007, 3:39 AM
:D No.
Wheatus had another big hit with an Erasure cover. Respect, was it?

18/03/2007, 8:31 AM
:D No.
Wheatus had another big hit with an Erasure cover. Respect, was it?

True. True.

I remember a few years back the local rags here getting moist with excitement as they gave an improbable amount of coverage to an Aspersion Music Collective run gig in Dolans on the basis that the headline act had just scored major hits worldwide.

Every hairdresser in town had to work through the night to get people ready for the joy of standing in a room with a person who was genuinely famous.

The headline act were called Wheat* :D

(*NOT Wheatus.)

The-Beer-Baron
19/03/2007, 11:29 AM
The New Radicals- You Get What You Give

19/03/2007, 11:36 AM
"Come on Eileen" by Dexys Midnight Runners

19/03/2007, 11:54 AM
Oh yeh and what about yer wan with her "99 Red Balloons"
Nena; quality song actually. She was German, and 99 Red Balloons (or Neunundneunzig Luftballons) was about the only song which was known outside Germany. She's released about 20 albums, with another due this year, most of which have beeb moderate successes (top 30 in the German charts) and she's still knocking about too. Had a German number 1 hit in 2003. Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nena).

noby
19/03/2007, 4:30 PM
"Come on Eileen" by Dexys Midnight Runners
Grrr...
As I said earlier, in the US maybe. This side of the world - no. 'Come on Eileen' wasn't even their only (British) number one.

19/03/2007, 4:35 PM
Most people wouldnt be able to name another Dexys tune though

Marked Man
19/03/2007, 5:42 PM

Dunno about that. I'm no Dexy's fan, but I can think of 2 that I would have thought most would know: Geno, and Jackie Wilson Said (I'm in Heaven When You Smile).

stann
19/03/2007, 10:19 PM
Dead right. I can only hope that Terry and Gustavo are ripping the p!ss! :p

'There, There, My Dear' is another song many people will know, maybe without knowing the name though, and it was a top ten hit I'm sure.
And the Brushstrokes theme 'Because Of You' is yet another one, may have been a Kevin Rowland solo effort though, not sure about that.

Am just laughing about their famous TOTP appearance with 'Jackie Wilson Says', with the huge photo of Jocky Wilson behind the band. :D

19/03/2007, 10:29 PM
Europe - The Final Countdown

19/03/2007, 10:32 PM
you need to get out more!!!!
think that bottom ione was from an ad...cant think of which one though!!!

Levis I think. I have it on The Rebirth of Cool Volume 6

Flea
19/03/2007, 11:53 PM
spirit in the sky- doctor and the medics
girl like you- edwyn collins
500 miles- the proclaimers
tainted love- soft cell
whats up- 4 non blondes
video killed the radio star- buggles
maniac 2000- mark mccabe :p

noby
20/03/2007, 7:19 AM
People's lack of knowledge doesn't make it true.

Here's another one (hopefully):
Mika - Grace Kelly.

20/03/2007, 10:45 AM
girl like you- edwyn collins
tainted love- soft cell

I'm sure Collins and Soft Cell had other hits.
The Proclaimers definitely did anyway. They had Letter from America.

noby
20/03/2007, 10:57 AM
I don't recall Edwyn Collins having another hit. That reminds me:

Orange juice - Rip it up

20/03/2007, 11:02 AM
Chesney Hawkes - The One And Only.
Everytime the ad comes on for that DIY store, i think he's launching a comeback tour.

20/03/2007, 11:07 AM
Bran Van 3000 - Drinking in LA.

20/03/2007, 11:11 AM
Good one ifk.
Los Del Rio - Macarena

20/03/2007, 11:38 AM
Europe - The Final Countdown
...follow up 'Rock the Night' was no.15
the next single 'Carrie' was no.22

Those are UK chart positions and both those singles were top 10 here and everywhere else in mainland Europe.

Don't think they'd any chart luck in this part of the world thereafter. Proper order too.:cool:

Their brand of, in their words, "life affirming hard-rock" was odious at best ...but heh I did this to death on the Def Leppard (spits) thread.:D

20/03/2007, 11:44 AM
...follow up 'Rock the Night' was no.15
the next single 'Carrie' was no.22

Those are UK chart positions and both those singles were top 10 here and everywhere else in mainland Europe.

Don't think they'd any chart luck in this part of the world thereafter. Proper order too.:cool:

Their brand of, in their words, "life affirming hard-rock" was odious at best ...but heh I did this to death on the Def Leppard (spits) thread.:D

AFAIK their lead-singer, Joey Tempest, lives in Dublin. (Useless info I know but if any wants to stalk him ...)

Another one hit wonder is The Sugarhill Gang's - Rapper's Delight.

20/03/2007, 3:32 PM
Bran Van 3000 - Drinking in LA.
That was a brilliant song!

I Just looked it up on Youtube. The video gets me real nostalgic. I remember when that song came out. It's almost ten years ago now. Seriously, what happened to them? Wikipedia, for once, isn't much help/

20/03/2007, 4:03 PM
have a feelin that the gossip - standing in the way of control is gonna be one.

20/03/2007, 8:13 PM
Whigfield - Saturday Night? Seeing as the Macarena was mentioned earlier.

Did Rednex ever have a follow on to Cotton Eye Joe? Have a vague feeling there was a near-identical song which flopped, and there was also a song with a ridiculously long name too.

Tis-smeee
20/03/2007, 8:57 PM
Poppin an oak

20/03/2007, 10:05 PM
AFAIK their lead-singer, Joey Tempest, lives in Dublin. (Useless info I know but if any wants to stalk him ...)
. You mightn't recognise him. He went and ate all the pork pies.
Heard some time ago they're back together having decided it's safe to rear their heads again as grunge (which they claim buried them -ignoring the fact they stopped moving records some 4 years before grunge) has faded into the mists of time. :D

Whoopee-fcukin-do.:rolleyes:

stann
20/03/2007, 10:16 PM
tainted love- soft cell

Edwyn Collins / Orange Juice, same thing to me but on a technicality... :D

Proclaimers had Letter From America as said.

As for Soft Cell, lads this'll have to stop.
Other hits: "Bedsitter", "Soul Inside", "What", "Torch", "Down In The Subway" & "Say Hello, Wave Goodbye" off the top of me head. At least 7-hit wonders then.

ifk101, beat you to Rapper's Delight by 2 pages. :p

20/03/2007, 10:23 PM
Another one hit wonder is The Sugarhill Gang's - Rapper's Delight.

"Rapper's Delight" was a #36 hit on the US pop chart and a #4 hit on the US R&B chart in 1979 (see 1979 in music), though hip-hop was dismissed as a brief fad. The Sugarhill Gang never again topped the charts, though they had a few minor hits, such as "Apache", "Eighth Wonder", which was also performed on America's hit music show, Soul Train in 1981, "Rapper's Reprise [Jam Jam]", and "Showdown" (with the Furious Five).

21/03/2007, 12:15 AM
Theres quite a few bands floating around this thread that should be nowhere near a one hit wonders thread, tried to remember them all but the list just got too long. I'm sticking with my original pick of White Town - Your Woman, great video too

BoAS1cvQzwI

other notable mentions have to include, Monty Python - Always Look on the Bright Side of Life, Baz Luhrman - Everybody's Free (To Wear Sunscreen), Bobby McFerrin - Don't Worry, Be Happy, and Shampoo - Trouble

21/03/2007, 6:47 AM
Did Rednex ever have a follow on to Cotton Eye Joe? Have a vague feeling there was a near-identical song which flopped, and there was also a song with a ridiculously long name too.

Rednex are still "going strong". They have turned their attentions to Eurovision these days but I think it's fair to say that Cotton Eye Joe is the only hit they've had.

Another one hit wonder is Andreas Johnsen - Glorious. It was the theme music to Sky Sports' Super Sunday 6/7 years back.

21/03/2007, 11:56 AM
That reminds me of these one-hit wonders.
p6VzdtmrP6Y

Calcio Jack
22/03/2007, 9:22 AM
and a classic that I haven't seen yet, apologies if it's been said:
Mungo Jerry - In the Summertime.

Great song but just one a number of top 20 hits they had.... also remember it well that for about six weeks it was at number one (1971 I think) and it kept All Right Now by Free in second spot for all that time

my own favorite is

Eighteen with a bullet by Pete Wingfield

or for sheer kitcsh but brilliance, Kung Fu Fighting by Carl Douglas

noby
22/03/2007, 9:32 AM
Whale - Hobohumpinslobobabe (something like that anyway). Started humming it lastnight, and straight away thought of this thread. Yes, sad I know.

22/03/2007, 10:22 AM
That wasn't even Menswear's highest chart position.

I'll Manage Somehow (1995) - #49
Daydreamer (1995) - #14
Sleeping In (1995) - #24
Stardust (1995) - #16
Being Brave (1996) - #10
We Love You (1996) - #22

25/03/2007, 9:19 AM
Ray Parker Jr. - Ghostbusters
Giorgio moroder / phil oakey - Together in Electric Dreams
M/A/R/S - Pump Up the Volume
Black Box - Ride on Time
S-Express - Theme from S-Express
Tiffany - I think we're alone now
Smoke City - Underwater LoveBlack Box also charted with '' Fantasy'', '' Everybody, Everybody'' and '' Strike It Up so they don't count.

Ray Parker Junior charted several times as the lead singer of Raydio so I would also argue he doesn't count either.

My suggestion for One Hit Wonder... Kursaal Flyers and '' Little Does She Know''
and a classic that I haven't seen yet, apologies if it's been said:
Mungo Jerry - In the Summertime.

Great song but just one a number of top 20 hits they had.... also remember it well that for about six weeks it was at number one (1971 I think) and it kept All Right Now by Free in second spot for all that time

my own favorite is

Eighteen with a bullet by Pete Wingfield

or for sheer kitcsh but brilliance, Kung Fu Fighting by Carl DouglasMungo Jerry charted again with Baby Jump which also was a no 1 so that's out.
Pete Wingfield... Good Call. He was the record producer on Culture Club's hit's.

Carl Douglas charted twice more with ''Run Back'' in 1977 and '' Dance the Kung Fu'', follow up to the biggie, which I think excludes him.

By the way if you spend one week, in either the US or UK, at no. 100 you have had a chart hit.
They made one single (or at least, one that anyone knows), they disappeared, they were great...

For me the best one hit wonders were Jilted John, with their self-titled single.

How about the rest of yiz?Jilted John was a solo artist real name Graham Fellowes.

25/03/2007, 12:06 PM
Has anyone mentioned Extreme's More Than Words. I cant even think of another song of theirs.

25/03/2007, 2:44 PM
Has anyone mentioned Extreme's More Than Words. I cant even think of another song of theirs.

Unfortunately I can remember "Get the funk out".

Damn you MTV!

stann
25/03/2007, 8:14 PM
Jilted John was a solo artist real name Graham Fellowes.

AKA John Shuttleworth if anyone remembers, a 50-something anorak-clad journeyman musician travelling all over the North of England plying his trade with his trusty portable Yamaha. "Pigeons in flight... I wanna hold you tonight" :D

26/03/2007, 9:38 AM
By the way if you spend one week, in either the US or UK, at no. 100 you have had a chart hit.

Why just the UK and US?:confused:

Japan is twice the size of the UK. There's 80-odd million Germans.

...and at the other extreme -barely scraping the top 100 anywhere -especially AFTER having a hit in that territory strikes me as casting the widest possible net.

I'd draw the line at whatever number (30, 40 or 50) makes you a contender for that territorys version of TOTP. If you're follow up doesn't crack that -then it's flopped.

26/03/2007, 10:49 AM
Boo Radleys :Wake up Boo (I can't remember another hit from them).
The Passions: I'm in love with a German Film Star

noby
26/03/2007, 11:24 AM
Boo Radleys: C'mon Kids.
Lazarus, I hang suspended, and Wishing I was skinny should have been, if there was any justice in the world.