View Full Version : Caleb Folan

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

03/04/2011, 11:58 PM
That's the most I have ever watched of the MLS, HT now and bed time beckons.
Folan will do well there, he works hard, runs the channels as they say, has the skill on the ball and can shoot.
He probably can head as well but the Rapids haven't managed to float one ball over past the first man.

EastTerracer
03/04/2011, 11:59 PM
The goal is available at the link below ... but no guarantees it will work outside the US. Click on "GOAL:Folan's Fancy Footwork leads to goal(1:60)"

http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter/2011-04-03-colorado-rapids-v-dc-united-nid328378

04/04/2011, 12:01 AM
Casey was a surprise omission from the US World Cup squad. Granted they only have one proper striker, the mediocre Altidore, but he's a decent workmanlike forward in the Heskey mould.

04/04/2011, 12:02 AM
Goal available to view on mlssoccer.com here: http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter/2011-04-03-colorado-rapids-v-dc-united-nid328378
Click the "GOAL: Folan's fancy footwork leads to goal" link to view it
Nice finish too

<EDIT>

Beat me to the punch EastTerracer, the clip is available outside the US
The commentator seems to be pronouncing his name "Foe-Lawn"

EastTerracer
04/04/2011, 12:23 AM
I'm watching in Spanish and the commentators keep calling him Caleb Colman Folan! They did describe him as el Irlandese a couple of times as well.

His partner upfront, Conor Casey, has been injured and didn't look fit. He's gone off so Folan is definitely the focus of the attack now. Still 1-0 with half an hour left.

EastTerracer
04/04/2011, 12:46 AM
Another goal for Caleb to put the Rapids 3-1 up - a header this time. The goal is at the link below.

Goal 1: http://www.mlssoccer.com/videos?catid=114&id=13380

Goal 2: http://www.mlssoccer.com/videos?catid=114&id=13385

Folan subbed off with 3 minutes to go. Great start for him. Trap will presumably give him a call for the proposed US tour in June.

04/04/2011, 2:21 AM
Goal available to view on mlssoccer.com here: http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter/2011-04-03-colorado-rapids-v-dc-united-nid328378
Click the "GOAL: Folan's fancy footwork leads to goal" link to view it
Nice finish too

<EDIT>

Beat me to the punch EastTerracer, the clip is available outside the US
The commentator seems to be pronouncing his name "Foe-Lawn"

Great goal, I have to add that is excellent quality video, probably the best
I have ever seen, it seems very high resolution and clear.

04/04/2011, 9:09 AM
Nice headed goal for the second, although the keeper really should have saved it.

04/04/2011, 9:51 AM
Great start for him. Trap will presumably give him a call for the proposed US tour in June.Actually, when I said that I thought Folan would fade out of view from our point of view, I had forgotten about the US trip.

boovidge
04/04/2011, 12:31 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sr_7NgYU9I0

irishultra
04/04/2011, 12:56 PM
great move for him, dont know what money hes on but i presume good, is he a designated player or what?

EastTerracer
04/04/2011, 1:16 PM
great move for him, dont know what money hes on but i presume good, is he a designated player or what?

As far as I know Colorado do not have any designated players so I don't believe Folan is on mega-money. He probably wasn't on Premier League money at Hull so maybe the change isn't that significant for him.

irishultra
04/04/2011, 1:30 PM
yeah like i dont mean good as in he'll be rich but he'll be able to have a good life with decent money. give me the mls over some 2nd division team anyday for 3 times less money. if middlesboro offered me 20 grand and some1 like san jose earthquakes offered me 2 and a half grand a week, id take sj earthquakes easily...or mayb just spend a year with boro and then leave :)

boovidge
04/04/2011, 1:34 PM
if you were a middlesbrough player on 20 grand you wouldn't live in middlesbrough!

OMTY
04/04/2011, 2:17 PM
First post here lads, this is an interesting page though:

http://www.mlsplayers.org/files/august_12_2010_salary_information__alphabetical.pd f

Folan not there but interesting to see Chirs Birchall, formerly of Port Vale at $132,000pa minimum. Former Arsenal trainee Ryan Smith is on 125k pa over there.

Dubliner Danny Earls is earning 40k pa.

All this info comes from this site http://www.mlsplayers.org/salary_info.html, where they also show us that Ronnie O'Brien was on $240,000pa in 2008, the same season where Darren Huckerby was on $330,000.

So, try and extrapolate Folans salary from that!

Serb
04/04/2011, 10:29 PM

http://www.mlsplayers.org/files/august_12_2010_salary_information__alphabetical.pd f

Folan not there but interesting to see Chirs Birchall, formerly of Port Vale at $132,000pa minimum. Former Arsenal trainee Ryan Smith is on 125k pa over there.

All this info comes from this site http://www.mlsplayers.org/salary_info.html, where they also show us that Ronnie O'Brien was on $240,000pa in 2008, the same season where Darren Huckerby was on $330,000.

Cheers for that OMTY. I'd say Folan is on less than O'Brien personally. He had next to no profile going over there and O'Brien has been grafting away in the MLS for many years at this stage.

Interesting that Beckham is on $5.5 million... and 8¢. I also find it comical how the U.S. commentators were pronouncing Folan's name in the clips above: "And Foe-lahn takes the defender out of the play!"

04/04/2011, 11:05 PM
Americans tend to stress the second syllable in words. It always use to drive me mad how they'd pronounce Mahoney's name in Police Academy.

edit: just looked it up and apparently that's not true. I have lied to you all. But I still think I'm right for some reason.

AlaskaFox
05/04/2011, 8:40 AM
Caleb Foe-lawn!

05/04/2011, 8:45 AM

Darren Huckerby, by jaysus is that where he is gone?!? Now talk about a journeyman. He must hold the record for the no of times promoted and relegated.

SwanVsDalton
05/04/2011, 9:16 AM
Faux-Lawn. Isn't that what they call the pitch?! (cymbal splash)

Crosby87
05/04/2011, 11:50 AM
I like his neck tat. Boss. Better avoid those Denver clubs at 4AM though, ask the Broncos about that.

Junior
05/04/2011, 12:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sr_7NgYU9I0

Has Caleb attended the 'how to immerse yourself in the local language' seminar held by Steve McLaren recently?

05/04/2011, 10:20 PM
Ah Caleb, Ill always remember him for the hassle he caused the Italian back four that night in Bari.

05/04/2011, 10:27 PM
Has Caleb attended the 'how to immerse yourself in the local language' seminar held by Steve McLaren recently?

What do you mean? he didn't once use the word awesome.

irishultra
05/04/2011, 10:30 PM

he doesnt sound american 1 bit

Junior
07/04/2011, 11:50 AM
What do you mean? he didn't once use the word awesome.

I didnt say he was an A+ student.

Fixer82
07/04/2011, 1:42 PM
Nice footwork for first goal. Didn't know he had that in him. Fair play to him

mark12345
08/04/2011, 12:25 AM
Tell you what.......the lad can still put the ball in the net. He's back enjoying his football again and he looks very confident in front of goal. With the injury problems we're having with Doyle and Best he's right back in the running for a place in the squad for my money.

Colbert Report
08/04/2011, 2:22 AM
What's the deal with this guy, he just couldn't get a contract with any club in England or what? Surely he can't be on more money in the MLS than he would have been in League 1? Can someone shed some light on this please?

08/04/2011, 4:26 AM
What's the deal with this guy, he just couldn't get a contract with any club in England or what? Surely he can't be on more money in the MLS than he would have been in League 1? Can someone shed some light on this please?

sometimes a change in scenery is all someone wants or needs. Plus he's 28 so he is no spring chicken, he has a dodgy injury history so maybe there werent too many takers in the Championship. Most of all, Rapids coach Gary Smith - who likes his target men - really, really, really wanted to sign him - badly. By the way, Folan was signed to Colorado as a marquee player which means that he is on a decent wedge. Id reckon it would be probably more than his Hull contract was.

Tell you what.......the lad can still put the ball in the net. He's back enjoying his football again and he looks very confident in front of goal. With the injury problems we're having with Doyle and Best he's right back in the running for a place in the squad for my money.

i honestly think he is yesterdays man as far as the Irish team goes. Out of (Trap's) sight, out of mind. Unless he goes on a total domination of the MLS of course.

AlaskaFox
08/04/2011, 8:35 AM

Wouldn't you rather be the a big fish in a medium pond rather than a small one? He'll do well in the MLS, and win loads of plaudits. Not too many 28 year olds in the English third tier would be as popular for scoring a couple of goals.

AlaskaFox
08/04/2011, 8:35 AM
i honestly think he is yesterdays man as far as the Irish team goes. Out of (Trap's) sight, out of mind. Unless he goes on a total domination of the MLS of course.

He'll definitely be in the squad for the US Tour though, so that should net him a couple more caps.

Metrostars
08/04/2011, 6:31 PM
DP minimum is $450K so it would be south of that. I'd guess around $250K. The players union publishes salaries later in the year.

irishultra
08/04/2011, 6:54 PM

id defo play in mls over league 1

EastTerracer
09/04/2011, 2:33 AM
Folan replaced after 60 minutes tonight away to FC Dallas. Colorado losing 3-0 at the time.

He had very little service throughout and only had a yellow card and one shot narrowly wide to show for his efforts.

09/04/2011, 8:27 AM
If Best is out Folan could well sneak into contention again, especially if Doyle doesn't make it.

Noelys Guitar
16/04/2011, 12:28 AM
If Best is out Folan could well sneak into contention again, especially if Doyle doesn't make it.
Tardelli agrees Stuttgart http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0415/1224294788172.html. Makes sense. Folan suits the way we play and good to see him back playing for Colardo.

08/05/2011, 3:47 PM
Limped off with a groin strain after 30 minutes of their game with NE Revolution. Ended 0-0.

mark12345
09/05/2011, 12:55 PM
id defo play in mls over league 1

So would I. It's a lot better than Championship standard and having watched quite a bit of it I would suggest that the top teams in MLS are about five/six years away from bottom of Premier League standard. MLS is getting more popular all the time, although getting their top clubs access to the Libertadores Cup will help the league immeasurably.

09/05/2011, 9:20 PM
The players union in the MLS released the details of player salaries for this season: http://www.mlsplayers.org/salary_info.html
Caleb's the fourth highest paid player at the club (franchise?)

theworm2345
09/05/2011, 9:58 PM
So would I. It's a lot better than Championship standard and having watched quite a bit of it I would suggest that the top teams in MLS are about five/six years away from bottom of Premier League standard. MLS is getting more popular all the time, although getting their top clubs access to the Libertadores Cup will help the league immeasurably.
This post is ridiculous from top to bottom with your claim that its a lot better than Championship standard yet being five/six years from bottom of Premier League standards (which are both ridiculous in their own right even looking at the quantitative, empirical evidence not to mention qualitative evidence) standing out in this perceived wide gulf in class between the top of the Championship and bottom of the Premier League.

samhaydenjr
10/05/2011, 4:39 AM
DP minimum is $450K so it would be south of that. I'd guess around $250K. The players union publishes salaries later in the year.

Salaries are out - Folan's base salary is the very interesting figure of $199999.92 - it's like he was bought in a supermarket or a used car dealer - "hey guys, get a Premiership striker for under 200 grand a year" - were Colorado that close to the cap the they couldn't give him the eight cents so he could tell the folks back home that he's still earning 200k? Meanwhile, Folan's teammate, Dubliner Danny Earls is on 32k

AlaskaFox
10/05/2011, 8:09 AM
$199,000 is roughly £121,500, so Caleb isn't on a gigantic salary (relative to football wages, not my own alas) in the US. Just over 2,300 per week.

theworm2345
29/05/2011, 5:38 AM
Was looking to see if Craig Rocastle had joined up with the Grenada squad yet and found that Folan missed a penalty in the 90th minute tonight against Rocastle's Kansas City Wizards...the match ended 1-1.

Fixer82
29/05/2011, 9:16 AM
Salaries are out - Folan's base salary is the very interesting figure of $199999.92 - it's like he was bought in a supermarket or a used car dealer - "hey guys, get a Premiership striker for under 200 grand a year" - were Colorado that close to the cap the they couldn't give him the eight cents so he could tell the folks back home that he's still earning 200k? Meanwhile, Folan's teammate, Dubliner Danny Earls is on 32k

Could be a tax thing

29/05/2011, 9:16 AM
Hmm, fit enough to play in the MLS...

29/05/2011, 12:15 PM
The match report says
Striker Caleb Folan made a return to the side in the 73rd minute, however, after being out since May 7 with a groin injury.
Also says the Rapids are riddled with injuries and had to play the last 10 mins with 10 men after running out of subs.
Doesn't mention a missed penalty, but
'even had a last gasp opportunity go wide as Andre Akpan redirected Caleb Folan's shot, only to see it go wide'.

29/05/2011, 12:48 PM
Ah, Mr. Geysir, you foil me again...

You're very good at putting the second side to each story.

WexCar
14/08/2011, 4:30 PM
Scored for Colorado in their win over San Jose

http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2011/08/14/colorados-folan-honors-late-friend-after-game-tying-penalty

mark12345
15/08/2011, 3:23 PM
Scored against San Jose at the weekend and has hit four now I think for the season, which is not bad considering he was out for a month with injuries. Tell you what, I cannot for the life of me see why he is not included in the Ireland squad. We badly need his battering ram presence up front. I know he pulled out of the end of season games, but Trap doesn't rate him anymore???

Just look at the number of long balls we played against Croatia. Had Folan been there............