View Full Version : First Division Predictions

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

23/04/2007, 12:49 PM
why what is happenin in july, ye lot keep sayin it, that only a hlaf way marker

We can strenghten our squad with a few players, two we have in mind in particular

23/04/2007, 12:52 PM
why what is happenin in july, ye lot keep sayin it, that only a hlaf way marker

Well u see we have no real squad yet. we rused together 18 odd players but only 7/8 are up to scratch. To have 12 points at this stage of the season is a welcome surprise. So there are one or two junior players who can come up to LOI first division standard we should be signing and in July (senior transfer window) we will be signing a striker to two.

23/04/2007, 1:02 PM
I must say I had a great time down at the game. The final whistle couldn't come quick enough to be honest. There was a lot of heart in mouth stuff in the second half but I thought we defended well and definitely derserved the win more than you did but it's true that we probably wouldn't have been too disappointed with the draw. You on some nice stuff for sale in the club shop, I particularly liked the Limerick 3:7 t-shirt.

P.S. Number 6 was Paul Marney by the way.

mickdlk
23/04/2007, 1:14 PM
Limerick fans we excellent, fair play, hope us go up.... in play off obviously after we come 1st...

Great night out in Limerick aswell

23/04/2007, 1:28 PM
There is no doubt that all these guises of Limerick Senior soccer are the one club, only one or two berudgers and non educated foreigners think otherwise.

While not considering myself a begrudger or a foreigner I should note that I think the above statement is completely false. This is a new club and anybody who believes otherwise is clinging to history for purposes I can't even fathom. Having just discovered this thread now this is my prediction (which may be edited to add some details later but for now will just be a list):

1. Dundalk
^
^big gap
^
^(2-6 could finish in any order)
2. Athlone Town
3. Cobh Ramblers
4. Limerick 37
5. Finn Harps
6. Shelbourne

7. Monaghan United
8. Kildare County
9. Wexford Youth
10.Kilkenny City

23/04/2007, 1:30 PM
While not considering myself a begrudger

In all fairness man your both a begrudger and all round awkward snarly b ollix of epic proportions ;)

Mr_T
23/04/2007, 2:49 PM
However, with Finn Harps obvious collapse (FH Fans - this must be down to player attitude, as you have a very good team)

A very insightful comment. Dundalk fans had the privlege of seeing us play the only decent bit of ball we played all season, the first 50 minutes in Oriel.

Finn Harps fans are a sad and most of all confused bunch at the minute - we got the manager we all wanted, got most of our transfer targets, and had what preseason looked a good, well balanced squad, if maybe lacking a backup centre half and striker.

We looked decent and played decent football preseason especially against Derry and Galway and for half a match against Dundalk looked like we might be serious title contenders. We got a man sent off and Dundalk took three points when we deserved (even according to most Dundalk fans) at least 1. And since then we have been pure $hite playing the worst kind of hoofball (the kind that not only ain't pretty but also ain't effective).

Ask a Harps fan what went wrong and few have any kind of answer at this stage. If this team starts to play we could still have a respectable end to the season, otherwise God knows!

23/04/2007, 7:34 PM
In all fairness man your both a begrudger and all round awkward snarly b ollix of epic proportions ;)

True true. However I'm also right. :)

oriel
23/04/2007, 10:02 PM
[QUOTE=Mr_T;671714]A very insightful comment. Dundalk fans had the privlege of seeing us play the only decent bit of ball we played all season, the first 50 minutes in Oriel.

Finn Harps fans are a sad and most of all confused bunch at the minute - we got the manager we all wanted, got most of our transfer targets, and had what preseason looked a good, well balanced squad, if maybe lacking a backup centre half and striker.

We looked decent and played decent football preseason especially against Derry and Galway and for half a match against Dundalk looked like we might be serious title contenders. We got a man sent off and Dundalk took three points when we deserved (even according to most Dundalk fans) at least 1. And since then we have been pure $hite playing the worst kind of hoofball (the kind that not only ain't pretty but also ain't effective).

MR T - I sincerely hope you do turn it around as this division is in danger of losing any competitive edge if we continue to pull away. The div needs a strong finn harps (+ athlone, limerick and cobh for that matter), all are more than capable of attracing decent crowds and all from football mad areas. I honestly thought harps would be our closest challengers followed by athlone, then cobh/limerick. Still time for harps to turn it around, but you need to sort it out and quick. The players you have are better than the last two results ? is it fitness issue do you think ?

I still say cobh are the best we have faced so far. (but i personally cant speak for limerick as i haven`t actually seen them play yet but heard from a few who have that they are also very decent)

Neish
23/04/2007, 10:11 PM
A very insightful comment. Dundalk fans had the privlege of seeing us play the only decent bit of ball we played all season, the first 50 minutes in Oriel.

Ask a Harps fan what went wrong and few have any kind of answer at this stage. If this team starts to play we could still have a respectable end to the season, otherwise God knows!

No heart or determination in much of the squad if you ask me.

24/04/2007, 7:45 AM
True true. However I'm also right. :)

Meh, much of a muchness. In an anal sense you are of course right but I can see where gael is coming from as well

24/04/2007, 4:50 PM
we badly need point(s) in Athlone (not an easy task) or our season will be a disaster. I apologise to all Cobh and Lim fans (both of whom i wrote off at the start of the season) as at the minute we are no-where near either of them.
As most people have said, we do have a very good squad but, its not much good having a good squad if they have no heart or drive.
so far crowds have been pretty good in Finn Park but unless things improve on the pitch we will loose some fans (especially ones with the usual excuse: "sure im a GAA fan" which, happens alot when the GAA team r goin well and Harps doin not so well)
Its depressin times in FP at present, hopefully Higsy will sort this out, sooner rather than later.

cestlavie
24/04/2007, 5:28 PM
Harps season has been a disaster, I read that there has been significant investment in the team this year. It must be the worst start Harps have made in their 1st Div history! The crowds will fall off, a really worrying time for Harps, hope they can survive but Higgsy has been shown up big time. Apart from all the spending he has brought back D Boyle, Is this the way forward for a once sleeping Giant?
Will the club have to offload players like last year?

cestlavie
24/04/2007, 5:42 PM

Just after seeing this Mr T

You got the manager you wanted who looked good under S Kenny but who is out of there depth, he may be good at shouting but can he coach or manage, clearly not. The Finn Harps board have to share alot of the blame as they clearly did not get fully behind their last manager (who done a good job considering what he had to work with and the financial constraints placed upon him) The players signed, who are they really?????? A last throw of the dice that has backfired big time The proud tradition of Harps has been damaged perhaps beyond repair.

Cats21
25/04/2007, 12:17 PM
Kilkenny are very disappointing this year and that Manager Brendan Rae is a joke, He is leaving good quailty lads on the bench and replacing them with waterford heads (surprise surprise), its frustrating watching him work. Kilkenny please wake up and smell the coffee.

monutdfc
25/04/2007, 12:18 PM
Is Harps' budget really in the order of 7k per week as quoted here recently?

25/04/2007, 12:27 PM
Sounds about right.

25/04/2007, 12:27 PM
Is Harps' budget really in the order of 7k per week as quoted here recently?

its quoted them figures around Donegal. Jaysus i hope not or we r fooked. the crowds as i said b4 are good but with recent results we will struggle to keep the numbers. then its tight pockets time :rolleyes:

monzo
25/04/2007, 7:27 PM
I heard on the terrace that that figure was the amount spent on one of the new players. Which frightens me, if it's anywhere near that figure.

harpskid
26/04/2007, 10:43 AM
7k is about right for our weekly budget . And where have the good crowds been at FP? Good they may be when compared to a few other First Division teams, but we'll soon collapse with them at their current rate - or God forbid lower :eek:.

There were about 600 at the last home game. I'd say of that 100 were season ticket holders which means only 500 paid in. Do the maths and it just doesn't add up.

We seriously HAVE to win in Athlone this week!

26/04/2007, 10:48 AM
Kilkenny are very disappointing this year

Harps' budget really in the order of 7k per week

Limericks isn't even half that

Surely you need about 1500 through the gate before you can even begin to justify that??

see's it
26/04/2007, 10:53 AM
i think limericks is 2500,what are the other clubs working with?

26/04/2007, 11:03 AM
i think limericks is 2500,what are the other clubs working with?

Heard rumour of 9k at Shels :eek:

Monaghan, Kildare, Kilkenny probably fairly similar to us

Athlone are spending at least twice what we are

Dundalk would definitely be up in the Shels/Harps bracket

Don't know about Cobh but I'd wager it's a fair wedge bigger than ours

harpskid
26/04/2007, 11:10 AM
Surely you need about 1500 through the gate before you can even begin to justify that??

That's my point exactly - people seem to think we've been getting good crowds, but we haven't been getting half enough people at games this year...

see's it
26/04/2007, 11:45 AM

will limericks wage budget increase mid season due to the good attendences at the games or will they wait until next season?

don ramo
26/04/2007, 4:10 PM

that a big negative there we slashed our wage bill massively since last year, its around the 2000 mark this year, we noticed no one plays as good when there gettin 300 euro extra a week they more tahn likely have more fun with it, so, im not in control but when they get to the prem then they can have a pay rise, it was around 5000 last year way to much,

27/04/2007, 8:46 AM
will limericks wage budget increase mid season due to the good attendences at the games or will they wait until next season?

AFAIK they are playing it by ear but if all keeps going well and we're in contention don't see why another 500 wouldn't be left go for two or three players especially given the circumstances of our start :ball:

mcgonigle
27/04/2007, 9:43 AM

Have to disagree with you there LTID, I cant quote you an official figure but I can pretty much guarantee that Dundalk are working on alot less than Shels if their at 9k and less than Harps at 7k. Think most would be surprised what Dundalk are working on, including myself.

27/04/2007, 12:07 PM
Have to disagree with you there LTID, I cant quote you an official figure but I can pretty much guarantee that Dundalk are working on alot less than Shels if their at 9k and less than Harps at 7k.

Fair enough I was only going on rumour

Still up with the higher payers I'd say though. You have some players that don't come cheap :ball:

mcgonigle
27/04/2007, 12:23 PM
Well as I said I cant guarantee 100% but im pretty sure, Im sure were workin on more than yourselves and KillKenny, Mons, Kildare etc. We have good crowds though each week so that would be the main reason

oriel
27/04/2007, 12:26 PM
Also quite a bit of money is now coming in each week on the pitch rental, its rented out most of the weekend and some nights until 10.30.

Its such a good surface, you actually forget its not real at times.

27/04/2007, 12:29 PM
It's a pleasure to watch football on it after some of the pitches we have had to endure on away trips.

cestlavie
29/04/2007, 11:55 PM
After Cobh sneaking the points today at Monaghan, its already down to a 2 perhaps a 3 horse race for the division. Dundalk, Cobh and Limerick

All the rest of the teams are playing catch up. Some are just happy to be in the League(Shelbourne/Wexford) and Shelbourne will probably get better

Harps have been a disgrace! Probably should have been bottom last night, What the hell is going on at Harps? Alot of talk about them before the seasons start and it was all hot air!

30/04/2007, 9:04 AM
After Cobh sneaking the points today at Monaghan, its already down to a 2 perhaps a 3 horse race for the division. Dundalk, Cobh and Limerick

It's a one horse race for the title, it's Dundalks

As for playoff positions Harps, Athlone and Shels will all get better

fbtn
30/04/2007, 9:56 AM

All the rest of the teams are playing catch up. Some are just happy to be in the League(Shelbourne/Wexford) and Shelbourne will probably get better

Harps have been a disgrace! Probably should have been bottom last night, What the hell is going on at Harps? Alot of talk about them before the seasons start and it was all hot air!

While it is hard to disagree with your sentiments, would you not be better off worrying about your own joke of a team.

"Alot of talk about them before the seasons start and it was all hot air!"

Said without a drop of irony - hows the treble coming along :rolleyes:

cestlavie
30/04/2007, 1:52 PM
Fair enough, we may not have started the brightest to date, but we will get better as the season goes on, u's can only get better. :rolleyes:

The North west needs big derby games for the interest of all :cool:

30/04/2007, 4:38 PM
Any Shels fan know the inside scoop on why Shelbourne faxed Limerick countless times (well about 8 times) to tell them the game, re-scheduled for Whitehall, was called off on Thursday and Friday? We were told it was due to the pitch being unplayable, but as anyone who was at the game will testify, it was one of the better playing surfaces I've seen this year. Just as well we showed up anyway, or else Shels would probably be claiming the 3 points of the FAI today

oriel
01/05/2007, 12:49 PM
jebus - good man i see you're a peep show fan (channel 4 variety) - superb comedy/drama show

dapman1
05/05/2007, 8:51 PM
Kildare have moved quietly into fourth place. Unbeaten in six, ye might want to look at those finishes again

05/05/2007, 8:55 PM
I reckon the top 3 will now start to pull away from the rest of the division

06/05/2007, 8:48 AM
Pld W D L F A Pts
Dundalk 9 6 3 0 19 6 21
Cobh Ramblers 9 6 1 2 11 4 19
Limerick 37 9 4 4 1 10 5 16
Kildare County 9 2 5 2 11 12 11
Athlone Town 9 3 2 4 13 15 11
Wexford Youths 9 2 4 3 9 15 10
Finn Harps 9 2 3 4 13 11 9
Shelbourne 9 1 5 3 8 11 8
Kilkenny City 9 2 2 5 8 17 8
Monaghan United 9 0 5 4 6 12 5

not really that much in it, the thing ive noticed about the 1st div is if you can put a run of 4 or 5 wins in a row together then your not far off. Results kinda went Harps way this weekend and IF we can beat Dundalk on friday then we could be in the top 5. (slowly, slowly, catchy monkey :D )