View Full Version : First Division Predictions

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

28/02/2007, 1:53 PM
lets follow waterford ramblers ill be buyin my season ticket tomorrow
its a disgrace that nobody has come in to replaace half the first team, the club needs money they threw everything at it last year and got notin, a gamble that they lost and now there strapped for cash, notin we can do about it were talkin two our three bad seasons

Recognise this post from the Cobh forum??

Oh Dear :o :D

28/02/2007, 1:54 PM
Does our signing Steve Feeney change anyone's minds?

28/02/2007, 1:55 PM

In a word....no....:)

28/02/2007, 1:57 PM

What's a Steve Feeny :confused: :p

stann
28/02/2007, 2:19 PM
Having been paying close attention to these matters until very recently, it is my carefully considered opinion that:

1. Dundalk
2. Harps
3. Athlone
4. Monaghan
5. Shels
6. Ramblers
7. Limerick
8. Kildare
9. Wexford Youths
10. Kilkenny

Will be the final day table.

Dundalk, Athlone and Mons have signed good players.
Harps have kept hold of good players.
Ramblers (despite what Don Ramo says), Shels (duh) and Kildare have lost good players.
No scratch side can walk into a league and do well first time out, sorry.
And Kilkenny are Kilkenny!
I may be talking through me arse though...

28/02/2007, 2:42 PM

If you can get him fit and keep him that way he'll be a great signing for ye.
He's stationed in Dundlak so Mons would suit him better than travelling
down to Athlone

28/02/2007, 3:44 PM
Lims lads...u will know what a Steve Feeney is when it hits ya in a few weeks! ;)

don ramo
28/02/2007, 4:52 PM
Recognise this post from the Cobh forum??

Oh Dear :o :D

dont think our team is as weak as first thought really, though given what players we lost we would proably win this year with last years squad, athlone i dont think will do that well (as they say what is it based on), shels have no squad might get some players in mid seaosn and make a push up the table but more than likely not, dundalk have the strongest squad without doubt and can only lose it themselfs really, harps may jump us depending on how the new players settle, but id say the top three will be the top three just maybe not that order, same goes for the bottom two

ya as i said its actually not as bad as i first thought that was only posted on "this" thread yesterday dont bother goin back months when i thought it was bad, waste of your time, i did make a mistake in judgein to early i can admit that,

oh and if the young people wont support the club, runin around our whichever (only up ta about 15 years old mess about and after taht its a place to meet up, better then hanging about street corners and the likes) thats where limerick went wrong a strict no children policy, so now there banning kids from ground good way to get to the community,
and that is what your complainin about so you have no defense

and finally from what i have heard our first game in the league will be ye lot in your place, jackman park is it, the fixture was reversded, from waht ive heard

28/02/2007, 7:11 PM
1.Dundalk
2.Athlone
3.Harps
4.37 Muppets
5.Shels
6.Monaghan
7.Cobh
8.Wexford
9.Kilkenny
10.Kildare

28/02/2007, 8:03 PM

I have reserved my predictions for the league and thank fully so,because this is a big loss to athlone and a big gain for mons.
He should fit into the team perfectly and will get the team passing and playing good football.

Kildare Lad
28/02/2007, 8:15 PM
1.Dundalk
2.Athlone
3.Harps
4.37 Muppets
5.Shels
6.Monaghan
7.Cobh
8.Wexford
9.Kilkenny
10.Kildare

Thanks for that.

Can I ask why?

fc hammer
28/02/2007, 9:49 PM
Thanks for that.

Can I ask why?

I would'nt take much notice of what Conor H has to say , he talks a lot of rubbish. All Limerick fans on here know what he really is ... a mupppet.

Neish
28/02/2007, 10:09 PM
IMO

1. Finn Harps
2. Dundalk
3. Athlone
4. Shels
5. Limerick 37
6. Cobh
7. Kildare
8. Monaghan
9. Kilkenny
10.Wexford

TheBoss
28/02/2007, 10:20 PM
1. Dundalk FC
2. Athlone Town AFC
3. Finn Harps FC
4. Monaghan United FC
5. Cobh Ramblers FC
6. Shelbourne FC
7. Limerick 37 FC
8. Kildare County FC
9. Kilkenny City FC
10.Wexford Youths FC

28/02/2007, 10:21 PM
Harps to win the 1st Div and only Dundalk looks realistic competition. i could be wrong but we have the strongest mid in the league and strong up front a few concerns at the back but we will score enough to cover us.

gk- Gallagher (best keeper in the 1st Div)
rb- Luca (not his best position but stil can do job)
cb- Deccy Boyle (pure quality)
cb- Simms (a bit raw but strong in the air)
lb- Minno (can be great)
rm- O'loughlin/Breen (either player would be welcomed in any squad)
cm- Sheilds (best mid in the 1st div imo)
cm- Funston (could be his best season since mohan left)
lm- Holmes (great player will score goals)
st- Parkhouse (if he looses some weight will be quality)
st- gethins (goal scoring record speaks for itself)

our back up is quality in Cullen, Cowan, Brolly, Peoples, Browne, Crossan, Mcgowan, Doherty, etc.
strong looking squad for 1st Div.

28/02/2007, 11:30 PM
4.37 Muppets

Another piece of sparkling wit from little Conor

Your mammy must be proud of you kid, tell her to give you a lollipop from me

28/02/2007, 11:32 PM
I would'nt take much notice of what Conor H has to say , he talks a lot of rubbish. All Limerick fans on here know what he really is ... a mupppet.

Post of the decade

Short, to the point and 100% accurate

28/02/2007, 11:37 PM
ya as i said its actually not as bad as i first thought that was only posted on "this" thread yesterday dont bother goin back months when i thought it was bad, waste of your time, i did make a mistake in judgein to early i can admit that,

That post I quoted was last month

So what your saying is things have gotten together well in the last month for your all conquering Cobh squad.

So they wouldn't have had much preperation........Funny that's a weakness you listed for Limerick :rolleyes:

oh and if the young people wont support the club, runin around our whichever (only up ta about 15 years old mess about and after taht its a place to meet up, better then hanging about street corners and the likes) thats where limerick went wrong a strict no children policy, so now there banning kids from ground good way to get to the community,
and that is what your complainin about so you have no defense

That bit in bold looks a bit stupid now doesn't it??

Just have a problem with little half-wits running around my ankles while I'm trying to watch a game.You don't? Fair Enough. Doesn't make you right though

and finally from what i have heard our first game in the league will be ye lot in your place, jackman park is it, the fixture was reversded, from waht ive heard

Turners Cross on the Friday :ball:

don ramo
01/03/2007, 12:34 AM
That post I quoted was last month

So what your saying is things have gotten together well in the last month for your all conquering Cobh squad.

So they wouldn't have had much preperation........Funny that's a weakness you listed for Limerick

That bit in bold looks a bit stupid now doesn't it??

Just have a problem with little half-wits running around my ankles while I'm trying to watch a game.You don't? Fair Enough. Doesn't make you right though

Turners Cross on the Friday

hmmm thats just thick we lost two frist team players you lost a whole club i see the similarities alright:confused:

as said where is the future support for your club and it must be great bein 4 foot tall not being able to see over them:D
some sad people in limerick if they dont want young supporters,
and growing up is a "fact" of life if you dont want support thats fine, another club will fail and another and another, i watched since i was young and most regular supporters my age were with me watchin it when i was young and the ones who werent are now bar stoolers only a small percentage will take interest at later stages, and its fact so it does make me right
but facts dont matter in limerick so lets hear you reply:cool:

01/03/2007, 7:10 AM
I'll be honest with you lads,I've no idea whatsoever.

01/03/2007, 7:54 AM
Thanks for that.

Can I ask why?

Because i think ye're the worst team in th 1st Divison.

Ignore the Limerick fans.WUM'S!

Mark Breen
01/03/2007, 8:05 AM
Things are looking even better for Shels,

We signed Longford captain Alan Murphy (Strong Center Half) and Mark Leech from Drogheda (On Loan)

I'm starting to think after a slow start we could well challange Finn Harps and Dundalk for the title, then again we could be **** considering i've never seen most of teh lad's we've signed.....

Only time will tell,

As for the Finn Harps fan who said they had the best midfield, i know which i'd prefer

Chambers, Crawford, Leech and Moore (If he stays)

oriel
01/03/2007, 8:55 AM
I cant understand the sudden confidence with harps fans, i`ve looked through their squad in detail and only minnock and gethins really stand out for me. Paddy power weren`t that impressed either when they released their prices last month, think they were 8/1. They`ll challenge for the top 3 and are a strong enough outfit but I think thats their limit, I`d say next year would be more realistic for them to come good.

ps whoever put kildare bottom, that was a bit harsh.

steno
01/03/2007, 9:01 AM

I'm sorry but there is no way we are worse than several teams in the division. Acting the WUM yourself calling Limerick37 37muppets if you ask me.

01/03/2007, 9:09 AM
I'm not as confident as some of the other Harps fans, noted pessimist that I am.

I think our signings are good (that said not all IL signings work out by any stretch of the imagination) and that we'll be a lot stronger than last year, and also that Hegarty has brought a lot of professionalism to the setup. However, there are other strong teams in the division and it certainly won't be easy, especially with the incredible amount of traveling we'll have to do. For me Dundalk are favourites given their form last year and a decent close season.

The first game will tell us a lot- I can't wait!

charliesboots
01/03/2007, 9:15 AM
Things are looking even better for Shels,

We signed Longford captain Alan Murphy (Strong Center Half) and Mark Leech from Drogheda (On Loan)

I'm starting to think after a slow start we could well challange Finn Harps and Dundalk for the title, then again we could be **** considering i've never seen most of teh lad's we've signed.....

Only time will tell,

As for the Finn Harps fan who said they had the best midfield, i know which i'd prefer

Chambers, Crawford, Leech and Moore (If he stays)

Murphy is a full back, Leech is a striker.

oriel
01/03/2007, 9:24 AM
I'm not as confident as some of the other Harps fans, noted pessimist that I am.

The first game will tell us a lot- I can't wait!

Finn Harps traditionally have a great support, especially if they get off to a good start, do you tink there will be a big crowd travelling to Oriel next thurs night, i`d say a lot of Dub based harps will go.

As always each team expects to start with a win, esp if its at home but i can see a 1-1 here.

This is our 2,000th league game, supposed to bit of celebrations planned for the night.

Mark Breen
01/03/2007, 10:12 AM
Murphy is a full back, Leech is a striker.

I though i seen Murphy playeing Centre Half for Longford on a couple of occasions, if not i stand corrected

As for leech, to be honest just assumed he was a centre mid, never really noticed him when we played against the drog's

feck it play him in midfield and i still think we've a stronger midfield than Finn Harps

charliesboots
01/03/2007, 10:20 AM
I though i seen Murphy playeing Centre Half for Longford on a couple of occasions, if not i stand corrected

As for leech, to be honest just assumed he was a centre mid, never really noticed him when we played against the drog's

feck it play him in midfield and i still think we've a stronger midfield than Finn Harps

Gonna be a nightmare for Shels fans at the start of the season.

Lots of consulting the programme to see who number 8 is etc? V. funny all the same.

Mr_T
01/03/2007, 10:42 AM
People are writing off Shels way too soon, assuming they manage to fulfill the conditions of their license.

The appointment of Keeley was a masterstroke as their deal with Kilkenny & Co will ensable them to garauntee a decent budget by Div 1 standards, and they have appoointed a man who will certainly get the best out of it (by Div 1 standards).

The only factor against them is that they are very late in getting into the transfer market, but they already done some good business. Moore seems certain to leave but they'll still have a strong midfield pairing, and with rumoured signings of Ciaran Harte and Davitt Walsh (loan from Bohs) on the cards they could start the season with a very decent first 11, if lacking in any depth. If they keep in touch till the transfer window they will almost certainly bring in a lot of quality. Leech and Walsh are a great Div 1 strikeforce. They could also suffer a bit from being the so called big shots taken down a peg or two, with every team they meet motivated to put on over them, they'll get no easy games. Welcome to hell Shels.

Harps signings may not be household names in the LOI, but Tony Shields, with over 100 first team appearances for Peterborough before he was 21, was widely regarded as one of the best midifelders in the Irish League, despite the fact that he trained infrequently due to work commitments. He's now committed to Harps ahead of work and should do very well indeed in the Ericom First. Add that to Mickey Funston, Sean Holmes (a full NI senior cap who many Derry fans (and a Derry player or 2 I've spoken to) were sorely dissapointed to see leave), John O Loughlin, Barry Curran and Chris Breen and thats why Harps fans are confident in their midfield. Up front we have the proven threat of Gethins, Parkhouse who has EL experience and whose best days of his career came under Hegarty at Stute, and the defence has been boldtered by the return of Deckie Boyle (top player at this level) and Gordon Simms (highly rated in IL with a rake of NI U21 caps, if needing to recover some confidence) to join Minnock and Elokah Asokuh. We've also got what is certainly the best pair of Keepers in the Division with James Gallagher (a close season target of Drogheda) keeping Gavin Cullen on the bench. If Hegarty can motivate the way he did at Derry he has he players to do the business.

Dundalk are also very strong, their freindly win against Derry was no fluke from what I hear (even if the scoreline flattered) and they've a few decent signings added to an already strong team. They've the advantage of their pitch, and the whole Dundalk sense of injustice over last seasons IAG results to fire them up.

I think it will be very very tight between those three. Athlone have signed some good players but not enough to be champions, despite the stadium feel good factor (Harps stadium should go on site during this season). MOnaghan will surprise a few people I think. After that its much of a muchness.

Harps can do it, but at this stage my head has Dundalk favourites. The playoff will be interesting as that one of that very competitive top three will face what I would expect to be a quite weak Premier team. Longford look odds on for the drop while Bray seem to have nothing to crow about, Waterford are in at the deep end and I think based on their signings Galway will struggle. Sligo look to be on the slide already too. All of them could be taken by on of Div 1 top three.

Anyway, feck the head, my heart will be right with....

1. Finn Harps FC
2. Dundalk FC (to win playoff again, but this time when it means something, fate and all that)
3. Shelbourne FC
4. Athlone Town AFC
5. Monaghan United FC
6. Cobh Ramblers FC
7. Limerick 37 FC
8. Kildare County FC
9. Kilkenny City FC
10.Wexford Youths FC

01/03/2007, 10:43 AM

well hoss i cant wait 'til 16th March te we find out who has better mid ;) take it you aint seen Shields play before? and has Alan Moore not gone to Bohs on pay per play? I find it funny hows Shels fans come on saying how good they will be when:
1. they dont have a squad and
2. you dont know what positions the players ye have play
3. you dont know much about Div.1 (may need to get used to it :D )
i predict ye to have hatchet men smashin into tackles, keeper playin long ball up to 2 20stone 6'5" strikers and having shots well going by previous Keeley sides anyway :L

01/03/2007, 10:54 AM

Conor if we were WUMs we'd constantly go on about Galway being the most homoerotic club in Ireland (confetti throwing, the gayest flag in Irish football (http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/damo_design.jpg), etc.) but we don't. We leave the Galway boys celebrate the most pathetic promotion in Irish football history because, well your club has had very few high points Conor, and every dog needs to be let out in the sun for a while. I'm just praying that we get Galway in the cup so we can so you prancing about with the gayest flag in Irish football (http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/damo_design.jpg) fluttering in the background, whilst throwing confetti in the air, because we all need a laugh at times, and Lord knows GUFC have provided us with those throughout the years

DvB
01/03/2007, 10:59 AM
Based on my recently aquired knowledge of 'The Graveyard' and what little info i read here i'd base my best guess as this...

1-3
Dundalk
Finn Harps
Shelbourne

4-5
Athlone Town
Cobh Ramblers

6-10
Monaghan United
Limerick 37
Kildare County
Wexford Youths
Kilkenny City

Though i wouldnt be suprised to see 4 & 5 go either way, ie challenge the top 3 or get dragged into the general mire at the bottom!

Koh

01/03/2007, 11:02 AM
Crap, missing the point, nonsense, not true, makes no sense etc, etc...............

Just read about Dave Warren to Waaaaaaterford

Still he was just a waterboy :rolleyes:

Rams Mc 7
01/03/2007, 12:33 PM
1.shels
2.finn harps
3.dundalk
4.rams
5.athlone
6.lim
7.wexford

01/03/2007, 2:17 PM
Any Shels fans care to give us their predictions??

I will when we find out if we are in the division!

don ramo
01/03/2007, 2:21 PM
dont be stupid of course your in the division you dont have a premier license so you cant play there,

01/03/2007, 2:23 PM
Yeah, but if they don't meet certain conditions then it's time to apply to the LSL.

Battery Rover
01/03/2007, 2:36 PM
Lims lads...u will know what a Steve Feeney is when it hits ya in a few weeks! ;)

I think he is injured at the moment, hamstring gone again from what I heard but as Ash said excellent player WHEN he is fit.

01/03/2007, 2:56 PM

No, he's a full back. About 5 foot and a peanut :D Wasn't good enough at premier level last year but should do well in the 1st division.

Kildare Lad
01/03/2007, 4:11 PM
1.shels
2.finn harps
3.dundalk
4.rams
5.athlone
6.lim
7.wexford

you eh sorta left out 3 teams....:confused:

stann
01/03/2007, 5:31 PM
Harps signings may not be household names in the LOI, but Tony Shields, with over 100 first team appearances for Peterborough before he was 21, was widely regarded as one of the best midifelders in the Irish League, despite the fact that he trained infrequently due to work commitments. He's now committed to Harps ahead of work and should do very well indeed in the Ericom First.

Tony Shields is a space cadet though, at least he was while he was (briefly) down here. Lock him in a room on his own and he'd eventually beat himself up. Maybe he's calmed down a bit since, but he left here under a very, very big cloud let's say.
Otherwise I'd say you are on or near the mark with your overview Mr T, though I think Shels will struggle a bit more.

01/03/2007, 5:44 PM
Yeah, but if they don't meet certain conditions then it's time to apply to the LSL.

Do they have licenses for the LSL:confused: Could be off to the UCD Superleague yet...:p

Tis-smeee
01/03/2007, 5:48 PM
Shels fans (and I mean the 3 of them) are one loopy bunch of souls they will be nowhere near the top Dundalk will walk it .:)

Philly
01/03/2007, 6:11 PM
1.Dundalk
2.Athlone
3.Harps
4.37 Muppets
5.Shels
6.Monaghan
7.Cobh
8.Wexford
9.Kilkenny
10.Kildare
Jeeesh I could be in for a long season so..... :rolleyes:

02/03/2007, 10:09 AM
To be fair Conor, there had been 58 hassle-free posts (regarding the usual Limerick vs Galway crap) until you chipped in with this.

4.37 Muppets

Then you say this.......

If I remember correctly, you also contributed to a short-lived thread on ideas for names for the new Limerick club................your contribution was........let me recall it........."Vermin FC."

Think twice before calling others WUM I'd say.

JC_GUFC
02/03/2007, 11:23 AM
Odds now available again on Paddy Power after Shels squad has been announced.

It's difficult to see anyone other than Dundalk winning the league - so they're now 5/4 favourites. Harps are 4/1 second favourites with Shels at 5/1.

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_type&category=SOCCER&disp_cat_id=&ev_class_id=56&ev_type_id=818&ev_oc_grp_ids=1762&bir_index=

Dundalk 5 - 4
Finn Harps 4 - 1
Shelbourne 5 - 1
Athlone Town 13 - 2
Cobh Ramblers 8 - 1
Limerick 37 14 - 1
Kildare County 20 - 1
Monaghan United 22 - 1
Kilkenny City 40 - 1
Wexford Youths 40 - 1

MyTown
02/03/2007, 11:29 AM
Dundalk by a street & if Drogs get over their Setanta wobble it could be a Louth double.

Cobh best value at 8-1

Athlone, Harps & Mons in with a shout

02/03/2007, 12:24 PM
4-1 i'll have some of that. :D only thing is lack of pre-season games, other than that we should be able to do the bizz.

don ramo
02/03/2007, 3:06 PM
8-1 ill take a part eachway:eek:
14-1 l37 good odds for a new club