Top 5
Dundalk
Harps
Athlone
Monaghan
Shelbourne

02/03/2007, 7:37 PM
I think he is injured at the moment, hamstring gone again from what I heard but as Ash said excellent player WHEN he is fit.

Been told that he will only b out for maybe first 3 games. Hope its true.

Needtoknow
02/03/2007, 11:32 PM
1. Dundalk
2. Shels
3. Limerick 37
4. Finn Harps
5. Cobh
6. Athlone
7. Kildare
8. Monaghan
9. Kilkenny
10.Wexford

03/03/2007, 4:03 PM
1. Dundalk
2. Shels
3. Limerick 37
4. Finn Harps
5. Cobh
6. Athlone
7. Kildare
8. Monaghan
9. Kilkenny
10.Wexford

:D hard to beat optimistic supporters. Harps 4th:eek: funny guy;)

08/03/2007, 5:34 PM
Jaysis the first got more replies than the premier :eek: - maybe it's because of the amount of moaning people are doing due to where their club is predicted :rolleyes:

1st Dundalk
2nd Finn Harps
3rd Shels
4th Cobh Ramblers
5th Limerick 37
6th Kildare County
7th Wexford Yuff
8th Athlone Town
9th Monaghan United
10th Kilkenny City

08/03/2007, 8:46 PM
:D hard to beat optimistic supporters. Harps 4th:eek: funny guy

Well, they're ahead of ye on goal difference right now ;)

1st Dundalk
2nd Finn Harps
3rd Cobh Ramblers
4th Shels
5th Athlone
6th Kildare County
7th Lim 37
8th Monaghan
9th Wexford
10th Kilkenny City

Should be as interesting this year as last (maybe more so)

Flawless
09/03/2007, 8:34 PM
Harps to win the 1st Div and only Dundalk looks realistic competition. i could be wrong but we have the strongest mid in the league and strong up front a few concerns at the back but we will score enough to cover us.

gk- Gallagher (best keeper in the 1st Div)
rb- Luca (not his best position but stil can do job)
cb- Deccy Boyle (pure quality)
cb- Simms (a bit raw but strong in the air)
lb- Minno (can be great)
rm- O'loughlin/Breen (either player would be welcomed in any squad)
cm- Sheilds (best mid in the 1st div imo)
cm- Funston (could be his best season since mohan left)
lm- Holmes (great player will score goals)
st- Parkhouse (if he looses some weight will be quality)
st- gethins (goal scoring record speaks for itself)

our back up is quality in Cullen, Cowan, Brolly, Peoples, Browne, Crossan, Mcgowan, Doherty, etc.
strong looking squad for 1st Div.

Silly Boy, goin on last night, Your Keeper is dodgy as ****, Asokuh wasnt at the races, and who the hell was ur No. 11, he was a git if i ever seen one, god, gethins is the only Quality player i saw in Harps Team last night, parkhouse loks like he could be half decent. but to say use have the strongest mid in the division is laughable....

fbtn
09/03/2007, 11:45 PM
Silly Boy, goin on last night, Your Keeper is dodgy as ****, Asokuh wasnt at the races, and who the hell was ur No. 11, he was a git if i ever seen one, god, gethins is the only Quality player i saw in Harps Team last night, parkhouse loks like he could be half decent. but to say use have the strongest mid in the division is laughable....

Where you at the game last night?

Shields hardly gave you a kick in the middle of the park. Best player on the 'pitch' by a mile.

Have to agree re: Gallagher though. Was well dodgy last night. Thought he could have done a lot more with the first and third. Normally a very very good keeper though.

Dundalk very fortunate to come away with the three points. Sending off changed the game. Never bothered us up until that.

All without two of our main players too. We won't be far away.

That pitch is awful. Ball bouncing everywhere. Great atmosphere and the Dundalk fans were very hospitable. First time I was there in ages without hassle.

Flawless
10/03/2007, 12:57 PM
Where you at the game last night?.

Yes I was.

Shields hardly gave you a kick in the middle of the park. Best player on the 'pitch' by a mile.

Were we watching the same game?, i'm not saying we were any great shakes, in fact we were pretyy brutal in the first half, but i don't think your midfield gave us much problems, even though Paul Marney was a bit all over the shop for us!

Have to agree re: Gallagher though. Was well dodgy last night. Thought he could have done a lot more with the first and third. Normally a very very good keeper though..

From what i saw of him last season he was half decent, certainly not one of the best, but was shocking on thursday!

Dundalk very fortunate to come away with the three points. Sending off changed the game. Never bothered us up until that.

Agree totally, we were very fortunate, But a lot had to do with our sloppy defending, but the wayward passes from our defence and midfield made your defence look miserly!

That pitch is awful. Ball bouncing everywhere. Great atmosphere and the Dundalk fans were very hospitable. First time I was there in ages without hassle

Its actually a great pitch, played on it many times, takes a little getting used to though,which mite give us an added edge in some home games this year, Glad to hear you were made feel welcome, have never seen any trouble at a Dundalk/Harps game before and hope i never do, Harps fans in general are a nice bunch, and i do believe that you will be there at the end of the season, but it will be behind us!!

Louth4sam
14/04/2007, 5:39 PM
1. Dundalk
2. Shels
3. Limerick 37
4. Finn Harps
5. Cobh
6. Athlone
7. Kildare
8. Monaghan
9. Kilkenny
10.Wexford

:D hard to beat optimistic supporters. Harps 4th:eek: funny guy;)

Not looking so funny now

fc hammer
15/04/2007, 11:33 PM
ya very funny thats a joke having harps 4th

Still a long way to go yet don't get carried away,with a bit of luck we'll be there come November.:ball:

15/04/2007, 11:58 PM
Dundalk 1st
Rams 2nd
Shels 3rd
limerick 4th

16/04/2007, 12:23 AM
after reading all these posts anybody want to change their mind,especially the way limerick, rams and wexford are doing the opposite of the what everybody said, and same goes for harps and shels?

Tazskool
17/04/2007, 9:57 AM
1. Athlone
2. Harps
3. Dundalk
4. Limerick
5. Wexford Youths
6. Monaghan
7. Ramblers
8. Kildare
9. Shels
10. Kilkenny

17/04/2007, 10:02 AM
1. Athlone
2. Harps
3. Dundalk
4. Limerick
5. Wexford Youths
6. Monaghan
7. Ramblers
8. Kildare
9. Shels
10. Kilkenny

don ramo
17/04/2007, 10:39 AM
1. Athlone
2. Harps
3. Dundalk
4. Limerick
5. Wexford Youths
6. Monaghan
7. Ramblers
8. Kildare
9. Shels
10. Kilkenny

:) :ball:

17/04/2007, 11:43 AM
Must say I was impressed by the Cobh defence on Sunday. If you can keep your back four fit along with the keeper then I can see you in the playoffs.

17/04/2007, 12:45 PM
tbh i do feel pretty embarresed by my valuation of certain Harps players :o too many under-performing. But on the same note, ive seen most of our games this season and, going by the teams we played, ive not been too impressed by any1 other than wexford :eek: but in sayin that i dont think youths will be near the play-offs at the end of the season. Limerick are not going to be promoted so i think most Limerick fans are gettin a bit ahead of themselves.
The quality in this league is brutal, to say the least and (no offence to Dundalk fans) if Dundalk are the best team in the Division then im sorry but we all should forget about prem football as no1 is anywhere near that level.

17/04/2007, 1:08 PM
going by the teams we played, ive not been too impressed by any1 other than wexford

Easily impressed in Donegal I assume :eek:

Limerick are not going to be promoted so i think most Limerick fans are gettin a bit ahead of themselves.

Show me one Limerick fan who said we're going to get promoted

After you find him or her, go have a good look around for the rest of your "most" :rolleyes:

The quality in this league is brutal, to say the least

Agreed, you almost sound surprised though :confused:

if Dundalk are the best team in the Division then im sorry but we all should forget about prem football as no1 is anywhere near that leve

Large part of the Premier is rubbish too remember

Are Dundalk much worse than Waterford, Longford, Galway, Bray??

No, they're not

oriel
17/04/2007, 1:09 PM
Oh its a poor standard no doubt about that, and this year with Rovers and Galway not there makes it less competitive. But you can only beat whats in front of you, a lot of teams just put up a defensive display and they gradually drag you down to their level if the game remains scoreless so what can you do but keep on winning and get the fxxx out of it. Just shows how bad we must have been 2002/03 - 2004 as we came nowhere near challenging.

Agree re Cobh defence though, rather than hoof it like most other teams would, they looked pretty decent at the back.

What finn harps have to seriously worry about is how they went from unlucky not to win in oriel on the opening day to all of sudden 9 points behind the same team..................

17/04/2007, 1:16 PM
Agree re Cobh defence though, rather than hoof it like most other teams would, they looked pretty decent at the back.

Limerick man for man have a far better backline than Cobh

don ramo
17/04/2007, 1:25 PM
Limerick man for man have a far better backline than Cobh

a bit early in the seaon yet to judge that we have had five clean sheets in row, our defence is more resiliant that last year, to early to get a good indicater but it only 6 games gone, id wait till half way at least to gudge us, our anyone we could all boast, i heard a lot last year from some fans sayin were goin up only for it all to fall apart in th last series of games,
need the keano mantality in a team your not up till your up

17/04/2007, 1:31 PM
i heard a lot last year from some fans sayin were goin up only for it all to fall apart in th last series of games,

9 minutes not bad young don :p

a bit early in the seaon yet to judge that we have had five clean sheets in row, our defence is more resiliant that last year, to early to get a good indicater but it only 6 games gone, id wait till half way at least to gudge us, our anyone we could all boast,

I meant on paper

Our defence is better

need the keano mantality in a team

A comment as predictable as it is :o

monutdfc
17/04/2007, 1:53 PM
There's always been a big gap between the first and the premier division. There are simply not enough premier quality player sin the league. Like any club, Dundalk will recruit if/when they get promoted.
Of the sides I've seen Dundalk are the best, but Shels are gelling well now and have a lot of quality but are short on experience. I stick with my 1-2 of 1. Dundalk 2. Shels.
I hate saying it, but hoofing from the back is the way to go in the First Division. With poor pitches and most teams playing a pressure game playing sideways or backwards passes is asking for trouble. Obviously, Cobh were playing on Dundalk's artificial surface last weekend so they could pass it about in a bit more safety.

don ramo
17/04/2007, 4:23 PM
our team are always good passers, the pitch at coleman park is been watered like there is no tomorrow recently, probably for the areas they resoded, but i remember last year dundalks manager even said there surface suits us better than themselfs, i wouldnt mind an artifical suface in our ground, and LTID your old head should know paper means notin, if that was the case we shouldnt bother playin and give it to dundalk, i wouldnt make a comment sayin our defence is better cause we could concede 6 goals there next week,

and if ye do ill mention it :D

and the keano comment should have been limerick FCs motto last year, they were headin up there mid season, there fans couldnt stop boasting about it, untill we beat them in coleman park (while they were top) to start a 7 game losing streak,

ahh fond memeories of season 2006,

whatever happened to them i wonder

17/04/2007, 4:53 PM
whatever happened to them i wonder

We reorganised ourselves so we don't end up threading water like a certain Queenstown club forever

don ramo
17/04/2007, 5:43 PM
look who got called in for back-up, sorry but how many clubs have limerick gone through since the citys inaugeral season way back in 1937, cobh have had one formed in 1922 and entered the league in 1985, limerick 37 entered the league in 2007, and already think there the best,

17/04/2007, 7:10 PM
look who got called in for back-up, sorry but how many clubs have limerick gone through since the citys inaugeral season way back in 1937, cobh have had one formed in 1922 and entered the league in 1985, limerick 37 entered the league in 2007, and already think there the best,

Well i wouldnt say we think we're the best but we have made a good start and we have huge potential but going back to that the number 37 tells you when senior soccer started and although Limerick AFC 1937 - 1977 became Limerick United '77 - 84 became Limerick City 84 - 92 became Limerick FC '92- 06 became Limerick 37. There is no doubt that all these guises of Limerick Senior soccer are the one club, only one or two berudgers and non educated foreigners think otherwise. We're boxing above our mantel right now and June cant come quickly enough :ball:

17/04/2007, 7:15 PM

And in those 75 years the only thing of note your club has done is to give Roy Keane a game and take one of the Westlife lads on loan for a bit. What a proud history....

don ramo
17/04/2007, 8:32 PM
Well i wouldnt say we think we're the best but we have made a good start and we have huge potential but going back to that the number 37 tells you when senior soccer started and although Limerick AFC 1937 - 1977 became Limerick United '77 - 84 became Limerick City 84 - 92 became Limerick FC '92- 06 became Limerick 37. There is no doubt that all these guises of Limerick Senior soccer are the one club, only one or two berudgers and non educated foreigners think otherwise. We're boxing above our mantel right now and June cant come quickly enough :ball:

danny drew owned limerick fc and nobody can remember him selling the rights of it to limerick 37 our any limerick based consortium, he still owns limerick fc, limerick 37 was founded in 2007 fact but im sure you will dispute it after all there are two of ye and one of me, limerick 37 have won noting ramblers have won notin since we entered the league we know that and dont act stupid about it, previous teams in limerick between them 6 i counted above, won the league twice the first division once two fai cups three league cup and a few munster senior cups, great for them, them not you,

limerick soccer whatever way the wind blows,

17/04/2007, 8:41 PM
danny drew owned limerick fc and nobody can remember him selling the rights of it to limerick 37 our any limerick based consortium, he still owns limerick fc, limerick 37 was founded in 2007 fact but im sure you will dispute it after all there are two of ye and one of me, limerick 37 have won noting ramblers have won notin since we entered the league we know that and dont act stupid about it, previous teams in limerick between them 6 i counted above, won the league twice the first division once two fai cups three league cup and a few munster senior cups, great for them, them not you,

limerick soccer whatever way the wind blows,

You talk as if I never went to Limerick FC games Don, with your them not you spiel. Anyway I'll be sure to look out for the Westlife appreciation wall when I'm next in your clubhouse, maybe you could ask Nicky for one of Westlife's platinum albums to hang in your club honours section?

don ramo
17/04/2007, 9:05 PM
ya no prob ill get him to sign one and ill mail it to ya

anyway back to the tread does anybody want to update there predictions, if not could a mod lock the thread, as it bacome a joke since the lim lads came on as usual, if they were able to stick to a point id be surprised

oriel
17/04/2007, 11:28 PM
Jebus -whats the mood in the camp leading up to the game against us on friday ? Will there be a big crowd ? After hammering athlone 6-2, we`ve put in two very lack lustre performances v mons + cobh, both 0-0. I`d say you have a decent chance of getting something out of this game, put it this way, on current form i`d certainly not be unhappy coming home with a point.

18/04/2007, 9:21 AM
Jebus -whats the mood in the camp leading up to the game against us on friday ? Will there be a big crowd ? After hammering athlone 6-2, we`ve put in two very lack lustre performances v mons + cobh, both 0-0. I`d say you have a decent chance of getting something out of this game, put it this way, on current form i`d certainly not be unhappy coming home with a point.

It was 1-1 in the Monaghan game. ;)

18/04/2007, 10:26 AM

I should say we are full of confidence, given the start we've had to the campaign, but to be honest, given the fact that you lot have made a better start, and that we never seem to get anything off you...ever, I'd say its more a cautious pessimism :o

Limerick crowds vary on what the weather is like, what the local paper has said about us that week, and whether or not Coronation Street is up to much that night, but there will be a minimum 1,000 Limerick supporters there anyway I reckon, hopefully a lot more than that

18/04/2007, 11:54 AM
and LTID your old head should know paper means notin,

The point I was making young don is that if your lot could hold Dundalk or anyone else for that matter scoreless then our lot should have no problem doing likewise if they play to their abilities

Big if I'll grant you........

whats the mood in the camp leading up to the game against us on friday ?

Dunno about the camp but my mood is one of pessimism which only a visit of Dundalk can bring. Even very good Limerick sides (and this one isn't very good) never beat Dundalk

Will there be a big crowd ?

Jebus' post above pretty much sums up the physche of our "sports mad" city

Having said that anything under a thousand and i'd be gutted

oriel
19/04/2007, 12:16 PM
Thanks LTID and Jesus for that - alays interesting to hear a view from away fans. Holiday, dont know why i said 0-0 v Mons, I was even at that 1-1 draw !

19/04/2007, 12:18 PM
Looking forward to the game tomorrow night! You able to go? Only found out this morning I would be able to and can't wait! :cool:

19/04/2007, 1:00 PM
Looking forward to the game tomorrow night! You able to go? Only found out this morning I would be able to and can't wait! :cool:

Person in "can't wait" to get to Limerick shocker :eek: :D

20/04/2007, 8:47 AM
Person in "can't wait" to get to Limerick shocker :eek: :D

I couldn't wait to get to Limerick for our game there this season either.
But then I had to ... cos we were in a car crash in Bird Hill :(

Missed the 1st half and the 2 goals ... but got there at half time and saw
the 2nd half.

oriel
20/04/2007, 8:58 PM
Dunno about the camp but my mood is one of pessimism which only a visit of Dundalk can bring. Even very good Limerick sides (and this one isn't very good) never beat Dundalk

LTID - Looks like our spell of doom continues over you................if its any consolation we haven`t beaten Rovers in over 10 years in a Lge game, the only win being a 4-0 Fai cup semi final in 2002, then again that was a bit tasty

What was the game like ? heard crowd was 1,500 ?

21/04/2007, 7:21 PM
1,514 was the official attendance. About 60-70 Dundalk fans I'd say.

bholg
21/04/2007, 9:16 PM
Where do you like - cuckcoo land?:rolleyes:

followed by:

Harps have the strongest first division team ever I would say. It is better than most premier division teams. They will walk it.

Why do people think Athlone will push for it? What is the basis for this?

As for Shels it would be a miracle if they don't finish bottom.

1st Harps
2nd Dundalk
3rd Monaghan

Tonights result:

KILDARE COUNTY 1-0 FINN HARPS

Yis had better hope kilkenny dont get a result tomorrow night!!!
dear o dear....

22/04/2007, 3:57 PM
What was the game like ? heard crowd was 1,500 ?

Was pretty entertaining stuff

Your goal was ridiculously poor from our point of view. Basically our left back tucked in to defend a free and our left winger never tracked back leaving your right winger a free run in to square it. Real schoolboy stuff.

Second half we had an awful lot of the ball and an awful lot of territory but never really looked like breaking you down. Could have punished us on the counter attack a couple of times but for some good saves by our keeper.

Having seen everyone bar Shels and Monaghan so far I reckon ye will waltz the division tbh. Some good players and very well drilled. For our part, depending on what happens in July we will be comfortably mid-table, possibly challenging for a play-off IMO.

Crowd as mentioned above was 1514 with about 70 impecably behaved but clearly drunk Dundalk fans :)

Any of ye know who your no.6 was the other night. Had the decency to clap the Limerick fans for there efforts at the end before heading over to the Dundalk crowd. Fairplay :ball:

don ramo
22/04/2007, 5:29 PM
im on target for the top two alright, good win over shel last night, ther'e a hard team to play against i hope they dont get anyone in the transfer window could make things difficult in the second half of the season,

oriel
22/04/2007, 8:48 PM
LTID - Thanks for your views there, as honest an account as are your posts ! I wouldn`t get too dispondent, there are still around 30 games left, this time last year we were mid table and seemingly going nowhere, so although we are 4 pts clear, its a very long ong way to go. However, with Finn Harps obvious collapse (FH Fans - this must be down to player attitude, as you have a very good team) and Shels now just a name, Athlone (Ash - its just hot and cold with you lot so far - when will the real athlone appear ?) - it leaves IMO Cobh and Lims our closest challengers, and remember its 3rd v 2nd for the play off final (v 11th in premier) this year so everything to play for.

ps dom ram - i told you cobh were the best team we played so far - our local rag said as much, your goals against will back this up - LTID - tighten up your defence and you`ll be top 3 no probs.

Not sure who our no 6 was in limerick, i`ll find out and let you know. PS re the drunken fans, maybe this was the shed bhoys on tours, they usually run buses to most away games, but maybe Liemrick was too far and they just made a bit of a day of it ? anyway glad they behaved.

mcgonigle
23/04/2007, 9:31 AM
Think the number 6 was paul marney the goal scorer, he was playing centre mid with williams and think he generally wears 8. I could be wrong though

pearse4t3
23/04/2007, 9:41 AM
Fair play to the Dundalk players for going towards the stand and applauding the Limerick supporters at the end-it was a nice touch. I taught the atmosphere was brilliant btw.....

23/04/2007, 10:45 AM
Fair play to the Dundalk players for going towards the stand and applauding the Limerick supporters at the end-it was a nice touch. I taught the atmosphere was brilliant btw.....

I'd echo that fair play to them

IMO Cobh and Lims our closest challengers, and remember its 3rd v 2nd for the play off final (v 11th in premier) this year so everything to play for.

Genuinely all comes down to July for us :ball:

don ramo
23/04/2007, 12:40 PM
Genuinely all comes down to July for us :ball:

why what is happenin in july, ye lot keep sayin it, that only a hlaf way marker