View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers Tallaght
19/03/2007, 1:21 PM
The incident referred to by Humphries happened on a fans flight from Vilnius not on an FAI flight from Belfast. It got picked up and misused on the old usenet forums. i assume that is where Humphries heard about it.
I have spoken with people on the flight from Befast that night and it didn't happen.
Bigotry does not equate to incompetence. There is overwhelming evidence that the GAA has a significant rump of bigots. This case is clearly about bigotry. Even a FF minister from Kerry in an election year can ncriticise the bigots on this one.
Billy Lord
19/03/2007, 1:28 PM
is everyone in the country a bigot apart from those who support eL teams?
No one's saying that, but the inherent bigotry of the GAA is indeniable. Can you name any sporting body other than the GAA that has a constitutional ban on what they refer to as 'foreign' sports?
Besides, association football has been played in Ireland longer than GAA games, so what's 'foreign' about it?
wexfordclockend
19/03/2007, 9:13 PM
No one's saying that, but the inherent bigotry of the GAA is indeniable. Can you name any sporting body other than the GAA that has a constitutional ban on what they refer to as 'foreign' sports?
Besides, association football has been played in Ireland longer than GAA games, so what's 'foreign' about it?
Have you got ANY evidence for this? Hurling goes back 1000's of years for a start:rolleyes:
19/03/2007, 9:27 PM
Humphries managed to further blot his "defender of all things Irish" copybook by including Sunderland recent success in his "great week for Irish sport" start to today's column.
Why should we expect objectivity from someone who is heavily involved in under-age hurling and gives a ridiculous amount of column inches to a mediocre hurling county (Dublin), supplemented by a sideways look at an obscure sport/every other week.
Keith Duggan has left Humphries trailing in his wake in terms of weekly column writing and he's stuck banging the same old drum and not even bothering to do research on what he writes. Eg no mention of the 20 acres already allocated in Rathcoole or the offer for junior GAA to be played on the Tallaght site.
At least Emmet Malone keeps an interest in the domestic game, Humphries is simply a poster boy for the event junkie-barstooler generation.
wexfordclockend
19/03/2007, 9:28 PM
Quote:
The whispers are, though, that when the planning people get back this week the news will be that the stadium's proposed capacity will be whittled and the IRFU, a little surprised perhaps at the sweetheart of a deal the FAI were handed in the redevelopment master plan, will opt to cash in their chips in D4 and build elsewhere on their own steam (with, one hopes, appropriate Lotto funding to help). The Irish Glass Bottle Company in Ringsend would be the perfect site.
And so Irish professional soccer, a commercial enterprise which retails a genuinely beautiful game, but is domestically incapable of running its own business, will be homeless again "
Looks like the Rugger lot are getting ready to dump the FAI at the first chance if this is true.
Tom Humpries last paragraph sums this debate up for me, that shower the FAI have failed to achive anything substantial & blaming the GAA does nothing to change the fact!
Seems to me that the goverment as regards to the Eircom Park / Bertie Bowl has a lot to answer for as well :confused:
Billy Lord
19/03/2007, 9:40 PM
Have you got ANY evidence for this? Hurling goes back 1000's of years for a start:rolleyes:
When was the GAA formed? After the Irish Football Association. Ergo: association football predates GAA games. That's a historical fact.
Sam Savic
19/03/2007, 9:49 PM
I don't think there were any objections to the fully public funded Irishtown stadium being built. I wonder why? Maybe it's because there's an athletic track there and Crusaders AC are the tenants. Now they wouldn't be a threat to Clanna Gael CLG. After all, athletics is not a foreign sport and it's not a threat to the GAA.
new blue
19/03/2007, 9:55 PM
So you can't have games without an Association - weird?
Maybe it's time to move on from this contrived argument about national and non-national games. As far as I'm concerned they're all 'beautiful' in their own way. People will play whatever they like and best of luck to them. Some of the OTT remarks on this thread are regrettable.
Philly
19/03/2007, 9:58 PM
If they were trying to get government grants for a dog track in Tallaght, would this GAA club look to have it as a dog track / Gaa ground?
I highly doubt it.
All the GAA want here is to hamper Rover's getting a ground in Tallaght.
19/03/2007, 10:04 PM
When was the GAA formed? After the Irish Football Association. Ergo: association football predates GAA games. That's a historical fact.
Just because the GAA was formed in 1884 doesn't mean the games couldn't have been played before that. The GAA was in fact formed with a view to reviving and formalising the traditional Irish games - hurling being the main one, which, as noted, has been played in Ireland for centuries.
Same way as association football isn't just as old as the FA.
What's the next step for Rovers then? If they win tomorrow, is that the end of it? Or can there be further obstacles placed in their way? Or are they even going to win tomorrow?
khoop
19/03/2007, 10:38 PM
If they win tomorrow, is that the end of it? Or can there be further obstacles placed in their way?
Oh they'll find something, don't you worry. The GAA won't let something so trivial as the legal system get in the way of their quest for global domination.
HulaHoop
19/03/2007, 11:46 PM
Doubtful there will be a decision tomorrow. The judge will more than likely adjourn the case for 3-4 weeks to consider the arguments put to him and make a decision. If he rules against TD he also rules if TD can appeal or not.
wexfordclockend
19/03/2007, 11:58 PM
Just because the GAA was formed in 1884 doesn't mean the games couldn't have been played before that. The GAA was in fact formed with a view to reviving and formalising the traditional Irish games - hurling being the main one, which, as noted, has been played in Ireland for centuries.
Same way as association football isn't just as old as the FA.
Hurling has records of games going back to 1200BC in Irish legends. Various versions of football have been played all over the world before associations were formed . The Rugby clubs broke away from the English FA after a few years.
Australian Rules football is the oldest organised football code from the 1850's which has elements of older forms of Irish football amongst other influences.
was to €114m for croke parke alone?
how much was the overall cost of building the ground? more than €114m i would think
did the GAA put forward other funds they earned themselves? yes
are the gov. making any funds available for landsdowne? yes
what percentage?
is it right that the gov./national lottery provides funds in relation to sporting developments? yes
should these sporting bodies put up some of the costs themselves to match what they get in grants/aid? yes
I don't understand what your point is... :confused:
GAA get 114m (probably worth more in todays money after inflation) for their stadium. Other monies raised themselves.
FAI get 90-95m for their stadium. Other monies raised themselves.
IRFU get 90-95m for their stadium. Other monies raised themselves.
Government will own a stake in Lansdowne Road for their investment.
Billy Lord
20/03/2007, 7:13 AM
So you can't have games without an Association - weird?
Maybe it's time to move on from this contrived argument about national and non-national games. As far as I'm concerned they're all 'beautiful' in their own way. People will play whatever they like and best of luck to them. Some of the OTT remarks on this thread are regrettable.
And who contrived that situation? The GAA is the only sporting body in Ireland that has sporting apartheid as part of its constitution. Just because you ignore the reality that the GAA is a bigoted organisation doesn't prevent it from being a reality.
Read Tom Humphries' vile prejudice in yesterday's Irish Times. Replace 'soccer' with 'black person', 'GAA' with 'white person' and he'd be done for racism.
The GAA is filled with wonderful people who give up their time to help their communities, while football is full of clueless crooks only out to make a buck.
He should be kicked out of the NUJ for writing such poisonous lies about people who are involved in football. He's a disgrace.
20/03/2007, 9:52 AM
Humphries managed to further blot his "defender of all things Irish" copybook by including Sunderland recent success in his "great week for Irish sport" start to today's column.
At least Emmet Malone keeps an interest in the domestic game, Humphries is simply a poster boy for the event junkie-barstooler generation.
It's a strange attitude that a lot of people have to soccer - it's OK when it's over there. It's an English sport so there's no problem supporting English teams. :confused: Just don't let it get too big here.
Keith Duggan has left Humphries trailing in his wake in terms of weekly column writing and he's stuck banging the same old drum and not even bothering to do research on what he writes.
Don't like Duggan much either. The only LOI article I remember from him was a puff piece on Ollie Byrne before the house of cards collapsed - the typical "'Mr. Shelbourne', held back by jealousy from other clubs, everyone would love to have him working for them..." nonsense that kept Shels propped up for far too long.
20/03/2007, 10:16 AM
The Humphries piece illustrates perfectly the hegemony that GAA enjoys. It's also a good summation of the myopia of the GAA constituency, and the innate hostility that exists in this country toward football.
For 'commercial', used here as a dirty word in a newspaper that devotes much of its sports space to EPL, horse racing, golf, and rugby, read 'foreign'. Because the dogs in the street know that the GAA is run on a slick, commercial basis, albeit one that couldn't function without this type of support from state, church and media.
Odd that the Times would choose to run such a blatantly biased article, especially given that the matter is sub judice. Should Rovers lawyers raise it with the judge?
green-blood
20/03/2007, 10:17 AM
who's fault is it that the tallaght stadium had to be bailed out by the local council in the first place????
good question - I hope you are insinuating that the people stood in court today arguing for permission from GAA to complete stadium are responsible. Many people spent the guts of 5 years ousting the scumbag propertty developers from OUR club....
20/03/2007, 10:35 AM
This from Appendix 4, the GAA Official Guide, 2003 (http://www.gaa.ie/files/gaa_official_guide2003.pdf)
At the founding of the Association the following letter
was received from the Most Rev. T. W. Croke,
Archbishop of Cashel and Emly: -
The Palace, Thurles,
December 18th, 1884
... One of the most painful, let me assure you, and at
the same time, one of the most frequently recurring,
reflections that, as an Irishman, I am compelled to
make in connection with the present aspect of things
in this country, is derived from the ugly and irritating
fact, that we are daily importing from England, not
only her manufactured goods, which we cannot help
doing, since she has practically strangled our own
manufacturing appliances, but, together with her
fashions, her accents, her vicious literature, her music,
her dances and her manifold mannerisms, her games
also, and her pastimes, to the utter discredit of our
own grand national sports, and to the sore
humiliation, as I believe, of every genuine son and
daughter of the old land.
Ball-playing, hurling, football-kicking according to
Irish rules, ‘casting,’ leaping in various ways, wrestling,
handy-grips, top-pegging, leap-frog, rounders,
tip-in-the hat, and all such favourite exercises and
amusements amongst men and boys may now be said
to be not only dead and buried, but in several
159 localities to be entirely forgotten and unknown. And
what have we got in their stead? We have got such
foreign and fantastic field sports as lawn tennis, polo,
croquet, cricket, and the like - very excellent, I believe,
and health-giving exercises in their way, still not racy
of the soil, but rather alien, on the contrary, to it, as
are indeed, for the most part, the men and women
who first imported, and still continue to patronise
them.
galwayhoop
20/03/2007, 10:45 AM
I don't understand what your point is... :confused:
GAA get 114m (probably worth more in todays money after inflation) for their stadium. Other monies raised themselves.
FAI get 90-95m for their stadium. Other monies raised themselves.
IRFU get 90-95m for their stadium. Other monies raised themselves.
Government will own a stake in Lansdowne Road for their investment.
the point is that every sport gets government and national lottery funding if they show themselves to be capable of managing the funds and putting them into worthwhile developments.
people on here harp on about the public monies going into croke park and try use it as a stick to beat the GAA with. i.e. it has public funding gone into it therefore other sports MUST be played there. not so IMO. in fact one lunatic on here even stated that the GAA should be thrown out of croke park!!
the fact is that the FAI have shown themselves to be muppets when it comes to developing a stadium for themselves and moreover totally incapable of lobbying political backing and funds from successive governments.
people harp on about croke park as if it is some kind of national stadium. it is not. granted there is public money gone into it but so too has the vast majority (if not all) of sporting developments in the land. yes the GAA got the €114m but it was given unconditionally by the government. it is a blight on the FAI and those involved in football in this country that there is no national purpose built soccer stadium and only inferior antiquated stadiums throughout the country for a sport so popular.
the GAA has it's own games to protect and are in direct competition for people to play it's games with soccer. it is an amatuer sport and cannot offer the financial monies which soccer or rugby can. however it can offer prestiege to players and good stadiums for its participants and spectators - nationwide. soccer can offer money but not facilities. for these reasons the GAA do not want to just hand over the keys for their stadiums to the other sports who have made little effort to develop their own.. they are protecting their game. can people not see this??
i think it is great that the GAA has opened up the doors of croke park for soccer and rugby. it is a great and noble gesture. however, people involved in soccer have taken it with a shrug of their shoulders and as their right that they should be allowed to play their sport there. why? and then keep harping on about the bigotry of the GAA. get a grip lads. we have just come through 20 YEARS of good times for soccer in this country with full houses galore (for the international team) and a massive upsurge in the popularity of the sport yet the people who run the game in this country are homeless and looking to their competitors for a ground to play their games!!!
instead of pointing to the GAA and their bigotry why not ask the questions of the FAI, namely, why have YOU not provided us with a stadium for soccer? if ye say ye don't have the money then why haven't ye been capable of brokering a deal with the pro-sport FF governments over the last 10 years?? modern day sporting organisations must not only be adept in raising funds but must also have a political nous so as to garner support and funding from the political leaders of the day. sadly those involved in soccer in this country have neither - while the GAA have an abundance of both!
20/03/2007, 10:46 AM
Ball-playing, hurling, football-kicking according to
Irish rules, ‘casting,’ leaping in various ways, wrestling,
handy-grips, top-pegging, leap-frog, rounders,
tip-in-the hat
Typical. Croke Park opens its doors to foreign and fantastic field sports and yet Tallaght Municipal Stadium remains closed to handy-grips, top-pegging and, most worryingly, tip-in-the-hat. The fact that leaping in various ways will be allowed to take place in the ground is scant consolation. SCANT! :mad:
20/03/2007, 11:57 AM
Why is it one or the other?
galwayhoop
20/03/2007, 12:19 PM
Why is it one or the other?
soccer's problems are soccer's problems! end of story.
both associations are in competetion with each other for players, funding and spectators.
it is like any other business with limited resources and a limited marketplace, you try to be better than your competitor, not give him handouts!
if the GAA refused to let soccer into croke park because they felt that it might enhance their competitors popularity at their own expense then that would be acceptable. fact is they let them in and the FAI sould be very happy and grateful. they are COMPETETORS, in competition with each other. why do people associated with soccer in this country not see this?
what has the FAI ever done, or been asked to do, or even needed to be asked to do for the GAA? the GAA is self-sufficent while the FAI is like the poor neighbour looking for a hand-out.
the GAA is an infinately better run organisation nationwide than soccer. Fact!
in my eyes the people in this country who beat the GAA up and critise them are more than likely suffering from jealousy. the GAA is better run, better attended and has better facilities than soccer.
i am a soccer man first and foremost but am also a GAA supporter, i prefer soccer as a game but appreciate both GAA games also. the GAA is so superior an organisation than the FAI that they don't bear comparison. in this country, when it comes to organisation and facilities it is 1. GAA .... back a fair bit ... 2. IRFU .... and miles in the rear....... 3.FAI.
The FAI's problems are totally their own fault, how on earth can you point at their competetors? are Fine Gael's shortcomings the fault of Fianna Fail? are Aer Lingus's problems the fault of Ryan Air? do the makers of the xbox go to the makers of the playstation to use their spanking new factory because they cannot afford their own machinery?
chippie0001
20/03/2007, 12:24 PM
soccer's problems are soccer's problems! end of story.
both associations are in competetion with each other for players, funding and spectators.
it is like any other business with limited resources and a limited marketplace, you try to be better than your competitor, not give him handouts!
if the GAA refused to let soccer into croke park because they felt that it might enhance their competitors popularity at their own expense then that is fine and dandy. fact is they let them in and the FAI sould be very happy and grateful. they are COMPETETORS, in competition with each other. why do people associated with soccer in this country not see this?
what has the FAI ever done, or been asked to do, or even needed to be asked to do for the GAA? the GAA is self-sufficent while the FAI is like the poor neighbour looking for a hand-out.
the GAA is an infinately better run organisation nationwide than soccer. Fact!
in my eyes the people in this country who beat the GAA up and critise them are more than likely suffering from jealousy. the GAA is better run, better attended and has better facilities than soccer.
i am firstly a soccer man but am also a GAA man, i prefer soccer as a game but appreciate both GAA games also. the GAA is so superior an organisation than the FAI that they don't bear comparison. in this country, when it comes to organisation and facilities it is 1. GAA, 2. IRFU and miles in the rear....... 3.FAI.
The FAI's problem are totally their own fault how on earth can you point at their competetors?
While I hope Rovers win the case I do agree with the above 100%. Lotto funding will go to anyone who asks for it and can also use their own funds. The fact is senior football in Ireland has made a balls of it starting with the FAI. Rovers is a case in point but not the only example. I don't have much time for the GAA but the fact remains they are an example that we should be trying to achieve in running their sports and facilites.
Billy Lord
20/03/2007, 12:38 PM
The GAA is a far better run organisation than the FAI, that is undeniable. But what has that got to do with the GAA's attempted landgrab in Tallaght when clubs out there already have excellent facilities, while the county board has 26 undeveloped acres just down the road that Minister O'Donoghue has already offered to fund generously?
galwayhoop
20/03/2007, 12:46 PM
The GAA is a far better run organisation than the FAI, that is undeniable. But what has that got to do with the GAA's attempted landgrab in Tallaght when clubs out there already have excellent facilities, while the county board has 26 undeveloped acres just down the road that Minister O'Donoghue has already offered to fund generously?
i think everyone on this forum is backing Rovers on the Tallaght issue, myself included. i am just a bit píssed off at the bigotry, vile organisation hysteria which has accompanied the arguements. the fact is that if the 2 organisations are competitors of one another and as such why do people on here not understand that the GAA are not going to bend over backwards to help out the joke of an organisation which runs soccer in this country, and why should they?**
the tallaght issue an open and shut case IMO. tallaght is for Rovers, end of issue. however, the fact is that the people who have been in charge of running this great club for many years have been the real problem to the club and not the GAA. that is only a recent issue, i mean to say the rovers with no home issue is 20 years old! the problems with TD are only in the last few years. Also, you really have to wonder if the Tallaght stadium was an exclusively GAA stadium would it not have been finished years ago?
** not talking about tallaght here specifically but in general
20/03/2007, 12:51 PM
You seem to want to say that you are for football on this, but at the same time you want to discuss anything and everything other than Tallaght.
20/03/2007, 12:52 PM
Galwayhoop, you trot out the usual GAA bigotry concealer that somehow sport in Ireland is a zero sum gain, ie what benefits one is automatically bad for the other.
I've never seen any evidence to back this up, anywhere, never mind in Ireland (eg. high correlations between a rise in attendences in one sport and a fall in another). I have however seen evidence in Australia that a rising tide floats all boats, ie participation in one sport is actually more likely to induce participation in other sports.
Until I see evidence backing up that whats good for football is bad for rugby, GAA etc and vice versa, I'll continue to view this as thinly veiled bigotry from an organisation whose members, within a generation, spread glass on soccer pitches and formed vigilante committees to spy on people playing "foreign sports".
galwayhoop
20/03/2007, 1:08 PM
Galwayhoop, you trot out the usual GAA bigotry concealer that somehow sport in Ireland is a zero sum gain, ie what benefits one is automatically bad for the other.
I've never seen any evidence to back this up, anywhere, never mind in Ireland (eg. high correlations between a rise in attendences in one sport and a fall in another). I have however seen evidence in Australia that a rising tide floats all boats, ie participation in one sport is actually more likely to induce participation in other sports.
Until I see evidence backing up that whats good for football is bad for rugby, GAA etc and vice versa, I'll continue to view this as thinly veiled bigotry from an organisation whose members, within a generation, spread glass on soccer pitches and formed vigilante committees to spy on people playing "foreign sports".
it's not bigotry. i am a soccer supporter. i also enjoy GAA. read my posts above.
wikiipedia:
A bigot is a prejudiced person who is intolerant of opinions, lifestyles, or identities differing from his own
i never said that i agreed with the stand point of the GAA i merely pointed out their viewpoint, as i see it, to allow a more balance view of the debate. some of the uneducated hodge-podge on this thread is at best ill-informed. a lot of people who are involved in soccer, and yes i include some of the previous posters on this thread, feel that the GAA owe something to soccer/FAI. why? are you that blinkered that you can't see they are merely looking out for their own house?
as for one sport hurting another. most people i know involved in sport/supporters of sport, support their local soccer team and the national team (and more often than not a british team) but are just as avid supporters of their local GAA county teams. i see no problem with this. none whatsoever. but the people organising sport, be that at league, county or national levels are in the main protective of their sports and concerned at loosing players to another code. while at a young age it is good to play all sports, if you want to specialise in one (meaning at the highest level) the others must go by the wayside. and this is probably at around 14/15 years of age. it is only logical that people involved in the ruling bodies of sporting organisations are concerned about people choosing another sport at the expense of thier one.
bigmac
20/03/2007, 1:12 PM
Galway hoop,
My problem with the ban is not that it keeps competition out of Croke Park per se, it's that local communities are split and affected by this edict handed down from on high with which they must comply.
Firstly, GAA clubs saying that if they remove their rule then all GAA pitches will be overrun with soccer doesn't wash - there are many soccer clubs where only soccer is played, rugby clubs where it's only rugby, etc, etc. The sad fact is that there can be a situation such as a Munster rugby team that lots of Kerry people would love to see play in Killarney, yet this chance is denied them due to a rule imposed by Croke Park.
My second gripe with the rule is its blatant inconsistency. Boxing and American football are apparently fine for Croke Park, as are inummerable concerts that have nothing to do with the GAA's self appointed status as guardians of Irish culture and sport.
Thirdly, this view of other sports as competitors is hogwash and endemic of an inferiority complex. While there is faint argument to be made in relation to big events, when it comes to kids and the young populations, the various sports are not in competition with each other, but are rather in competition with Playstations, X-Boxes, underage drinking etc.. Interviews with all the rugby and soccer players to come to Croke Park all centre on how these players played GAA growing up and there is a long list of players who played everything growing up. However, I have never heard of any GAA player who gave the slightest nod to a "foreign" sport as helping his fitness/ball skills/positioning etc. To me, this smacks as I said of inferiority complex, which manifests itself in negative comments about other sports rather than positive comments about GAA (witness the countless references to how you wouldn't see Ronaldinho/Ronaldo/whoever take a shoulder/hit like that during games running concurrently with the World Cup).
Fourthly, while I'm at it, in relation to the opening up of GAA grounds, is the complete lack of acknowledgement that other sports have and do and will continue to allow GAA teams to use their facilities. Linfield in the North for example. Harking back to my first point, this is a gesture that cannot be reciprocated, irrespective of the wishes of the club facilitated, as the overriding instruction from "Headquarters" is that it is forbidden.
As a fifth and final point, again on the inferiority theme, it's the lionisation of the amateur status of GAA players. I competed in Track and Field at a fairly high level - Irish Universities team, national senior medals - and was completely amateur without being "looked after" to anything like the same extent as GAA players. The GAA does not have a monopoly on commitment to amateur sports and it is galling to hear them constantly praising themselves for efforts that frequently fall far short of players in other sports. I have had several discussions with inter-county players on their various training regimes and to be honest, what I've heard is not particularly impressive. I do admit that EL standards aren't much higher and I consistently bemoan the lack of professionalism amongst so-called professional players.
a lot of people who are involved in soccer, and yes i include some of the previous posters on this thread, feel that the GAA owe something to soccer/FAI. why?
no they DONT
they just want the GAA to fck off out of a stadium project that has nothing to do with them
green-blood
20/03/2007, 2:53 PM
after 5 1/2 years I can agree with WWS again
Well dont to the GAA in all its endeavours, they are making a tidy sum out of renting ONE of their grounds on 8 occassions. that a completely different story when demanding that Lansdowne be designed to allow Gah games or that Tallaght be partitioned...
20/03/2007, 3:38 PM
Galwayhoop makes quite a few good general points and maybe should start a seperate thread to discuss them but this thread is about the Tallaght case in particular.
The undeniable fact that the GAA are better organised than the FAI isn't really relevant to this thread, which involves the GAA seeking a judical review of an SDCC vote.
20/03/2007, 4:06 PM
Presumably the GAA don't object to Rovers getting equal access rights to the 20 acres in Rathcoole already provided by SDCC?
Any views on that Galwayhoop?
Presumably the GAA don't object to Rovers getting equal access rights to the 20 acres in Rathcoole already provided by SDCC?
Any views on that Galwayhoop?
the gaa dont have any access rights yet! isnt that the whole problem with that site!??!
new blue
20/03/2007, 5:02 PM
Galwayhoop you're a breath of fresh air.
It's embarrassing sometimes to be associated with a sport where people use such vitriolic language to describe those they don't agree with - a real haven for bigots if you ask me.
Shamrock R should get stadium - no question.
Gaa has done and continues to do great work - no question
Both codes have their fair share of bigots - no question!
It's embarrassing sometimes to be associated with a sport where people use such vitriolic language to describe those they don't agree with - a real haven for bigots if you ask me.
and what has this to do with anything?
The thread is about Shamrock Rovers in Tallaght - check the title.
Start a thread in off topic if you feel there hasnt been enough gaelic backslapping. Its totally irrelevant here and off topic. Braeth of fresh air?? a breath of irrelavance more like.
it's not bigotry. i am a soccer supporter. i also enjoy GAA. read my posts above.
wikiipedia:
A bigot is a prejudiced person who is intolerant of opinions, lifestyles, or identities differing from his own
SOUNDS LIKE A LOT OF THE GAA TOP BRASS AND APOLOGISTS THAT I'VE HEARD.
i never said that i agreed with the stand point of the GAA i merely pointed out their viewpoint, as i see it, to allow a more balance view of the debate. some of the uneducated hodge-podge on this thread is at best ill-informed. a lot of people who are involved in soccer, and yes i include some of the previous posters on this thread, feel that the GAA owe something to soccer/FAI. why? are you that blinkered that you can't see they are merely looking out for their own house?
I DON'T THINK ANY FOOTBALL SUPPORTER FEELS THE GAA OWES THEM ANYTHING. WHAT I, AND I SUSPECT A LOT OF FOOTBALL SUPPORTERS FEEL, IS THAT FOOTBALL IS OWED A FAIR DEAL BY THE GOVERNMENT IN RELATION TO THE GAA. IF POLITICAL GAMES HADN'T BEEN PLAYED IN RELATION TO EIRCOM PARK AND THE ABBOTSTOWN STADIUM THEN THE CHANCES ARE THAT THE FAI WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN IN THE POSITION OF HAVING TO GO TO THE GAA FOR CROKE PARK. as for one sport hurting another. most people i know involved in sport/supporters of sport, support their local soccer team and the national team (and more often than not a british team) but are just as avid supporters of their local GAA county teams. i see no problem with this. none whatsoever. but the people organising sport, be that at league, county or national levels are in the main protective of their sports and concerned at loosing players to another code. while at a young age it is good to play all sports, if you want to specialise in one (meaning at the highest level) the others must go by the wayside. and this is probably at around 14/15 years of age. it is only logical that people involved in the ruling bodies of sporting organisations are concerned about people choosing another sport at the expense of thier one. YET ONLY THE GAA SEEM TO FEEL THE NEED TO TRY AND DO DOWN ANOTHER SPORT "BY ANY MEANS NECCESSARY"
Let me ask you one question Galwayhoop, what do you think the GAA's agenda in Tallaght is?
Sam Savic
20/03/2007, 5:25 PM
Their agenda is to be "the last man standing".
I'll also just point out again to the few here who are still blinkered - rule 42 still exists. It hasn't gone away you know.
20/03/2007, 5:28 PM
This is simply insane.
How is it that, whenever the GAA try some outrageous stunt like this, it is those who object to it who are called bigots? What is that? :confused:
20/03/2007, 6:02 PM
Its like when someone objects to the IDF buldozing Palestinian settlements they are anti-semites.
Bald Student
20/03/2007, 6:05 PM
Was there a court case today? Anyone know how it went?
According to the Rovers forum the case was heard but the Judge has reserved judgment. The verdict will be known before Easter.
20/03/2007, 6:55 PM
Its like when someone objects to the IDF buldozing Palestinian settlements they are anti-semites.
Are we giving out prizes for most irrelevant posts:confused:
I think we should have a debate about which is better - Linfield or Derry City...
Billy Lord
20/03/2007, 7:33 PM
Nail on head.
20/03/2007, 9:02 PM
Both codes have their fair share of bigots - no question!Only one sport has rules that enforce it.
End of discussion.
Erstwhile Bóz
20/03/2007, 9:53 PM
I'll also just point out again to the few here who are still blinkered - rule 42 still exists. It hasn't gone away you know.
Which part of the text is troubling you? Or are you just invoking a bogeyman?
20/03/2007, 9:59 PM
Which part of the text is troubling you? Or are you just invoking a bogeyman?Without wanting to speak for Sam Savic, its the fact that it came out of the same book of rules as Rule 27, the only difference being thats rule 42 has since been given a new spin by the new improved non-bigoted, we really didn't spread glass on soccer pitches GAA. Now rule 42 is no longer in place for bigoted reasons, but simply to protect the GAA's competitive position.....
Purlease :rolleyes:
Leopard, spots etc.
Erstwhile Bóz
20/03/2007, 10:33 PM
Without wanting to speak for Sam Savic, its the fact that it came out of the same book of rules as Rule 27, the only difference being thats rule 42 has since been given a new spin by the new improved non-bigoted, we really didn't spread glass on soccer pitches GAA. Now rule 42 is no longer in place for bigoted reasons, but simply to protect the GAA's competitive position.....
Purlease :rolleyes:
Leopard, spots etc.
So the reason why it's bad that there's a rule that says GAA property and grounds are for GAA games and events or other games and events sanctioned by the Central Council, with a note that details the Association's volte face sanctioning of non-GAA games in Croke Park, is because a leopard can never change its spots? Curious.
20/03/2007, 10:57 PM
So the reason why it's bad that there's a rule that says GAA property and grounds are for GAA games and events or other games and events sanctioned by the Central Council, with a note that details the Association's volte face sanctioning of non-GAA games in Croke Park, is because a leopard can never change its spots? Curious.The leopard didn't change its spots.
Its saw that there was an opportunity to make a ****load of money so it temporarily covered its spots with stripes. Still spots underneath though.
You haven't addressed the point re rule 42, its an inherently anti-soccer and rugby rule, as it when rule 27 sat beside it.
BTW other sports were played in Croker (boxing and American football) without any kerfuffle.