View Full Version : Shels have been granted
24 hours extra time and are meeting the Licencing Commitee tomorrow afternoon.Looks like Ollie is stalling on the deal.
14/02/2007, 4:10 PM
Is that...is that... *sniff, sniff*... fudge, that I smell in the air......? :eek:
Maynard
14/02/2007, 4:12 PM
24 hours extra time and are meeting the Licencing Commitee tomorrow afternoon.Looks like Ollie is stalling on the deal.
Balls.
14/02/2007, 4:17 PM
Farce.
But somehow unsurprising.
Surely if the issue related to historic issues relating to the awarding of the license then 24 hours is meaningless?
Fudge-a-rama time.
I have heard its all or nothing now. If he signs they will stay in the premier and if he doesnt Shels are history.This is a shocking precedent to set on the launch of the super duper league.
Brigader
14/02/2007, 6:22 PM
Ah sure why not.. :rolleyes:... hope there's a method to the madness.
harpskid
14/02/2007, 6:27 PM
Let's be honest, is anyone really surprised?
Tis-smeee
14/02/2007, 6:29 PM
eh no
i said on another thread that i wouldnt be supporting the e.l anymore if there were many more fu*k ups and ye all told me to hang in there,that it will be different etc-but its the same old sh*te.they are coping out on this issue big time.it wont set an example either to other clubs about debt etc and falsifying information.
14/02/2007, 7:00 PM
i said on another thread that i wouldnt be supporting the e.l anymore if there were many more fu*k ups and ye all told me to hang in there,that it will be different etc-but its the same old sh*te.they are coping out on this issue big time.it wont set an example either to other clubs about debt etc and falsifying information.
I hear ya but to be honest its a critcal decision, if giving them 24 hours more to get it right then its worth it.
I hate saying this but if Shels dont get sorted then the league could lose face aswell, giving another example to point the finger. I'd rather they get it right.
I know if my club was in the same boat i'd love another 24 hours.
14/02/2007, 7:34 PM
I have heard its all or nothing now. If he signs they will stay in the premier and if he doesnt Shels are history.
What's Ollie being asked to sign ? :confused:
14/02/2007, 7:35 PM
i said on another thread that i wouldnt be supporting the e.l anymore ...
Who's the EL's manager and what division are they in this season...? ;)
Hang in there Eamo. All that is required for the FAI to succeed is for good people to do nothing...
As a Shels supporter of over 12 years, I must say this situation is a farce. A deadline is a fu**ing deadline at the end of the day. If Ollie stalled on the deal, he (Shels) should have been punished. Setting so many new deadlines is infuriating.
14/02/2007, 10:26 PM
if Shels dont get sorted then the league could lose face aswellAh A face, yer not gonna leave too are ya?:(
:p
I have no desire to see Shels go out of existence but there comes a time when deadlines have to be kept. Its time for the FAI to fix a deadline & make a decision for once as the lack of announced fixtures is now affecting other clubs.
:(
14/02/2007, 10:51 PM
i said on another thread that i wouldnt be supporting the e.l anymore
Get a grip man. I don't support the league, I support Pats. I presume you're the same. Chances are the Shelbourne thing makes little or no difference to your club so just get on with it...
14/02/2007, 10:57 PM
Get a grip man. I don't support the league, I support Pats. I presume you're the same. Chances are the Shelbourne thing makes little or no difference to your club so just get on with it...
Dont think he supports Pats, small mercies n'all !! :p
eamo1
14/02/2007, 11:13 PM
i support my home town club galway united but its the league that utd are in thats been pi**ing me off.run by a bunch of impotent,spineless guys.my first course of action will be a letter to the irish indo in the next few days(keep an eye out),another course will be to ask for a motion of no confidence in the current FAI admin to be passed at our supporters trust meeting.we have a rep on the executive of g.u and he in turn could ask for the same motion to be passed at board level and get the ball(pardon the pun) rolling.other clubs may hear of it and follow suit.somepeople may think its ironic that it might be galway utd asking/leading the way for the vote of no-confidence but we got to the premier with no help from the FAI,we earned our place fair and square.
14/02/2007, 11:16 PM
galway utd asking/leading the way for the vote of no-confidence but we got to the premier with no help from the FAI,we earned our place fair and square.Don't wanna bring the thread off topic but this was too good to miss...are you serious?:D.
"Earned our place fair and square"? Remind me, where did ye finish in the First Division last season?
"No help from the FAI"? Again, remind me, who invited ye to the league?
14/02/2007, 11:24 PM
Sligoman as always your contribution is flawed and clouded.
Eamo1 i'm sorry but as a person who's posted alot of tripe on foot.ie over the years it amazes me that your last few posts can really take the biscuit over anything i've ever said.
What are you looking for?A Blue Pter Badge for sticking with UTD?
Chryst almighty grow up.It's SHELS who gave false information about their Accounts.....how is that the FAI's fault?
Also no decision has been made yet either.I'm sorry but i had to say something....i don't post here as much but those posts are so cringing.Your making yourself some sort of hero for supporting GUFC in this league!:rolleyes:
14/02/2007, 11:28 PM
Sligoman as always your contribution is flawed and clouded.That's great, come on here and say what I said was "flawed and clouded" and yet make no comment on how it is so?:rolleyes:.
14/02/2007, 11:31 PM
Ok.
Flawed.........Where's your arguement for how we got help from the FAI considering it was the IAG who reccomended the teams with the FAI simply going..."ya grand."
Clouded...Your anti-Galway feelings have been onvious from day one."Fair and Square?"You said we didnt get up fairly?We met the Criteria to get an invite to the NEW league.Pretty fair to me.
14/02/2007, 11:35 PM
i support my home town club galway united but its the league that utd are in thats been pi**ing me off.run by a bunch of impotent,spineless guys.my first course of action will be a letter to the irish indo in the next few days(keep an eye out),another course will be to ask for a motion of no confidence in the current FAI admin to be passed at our supporters trust meeting.we have a rep on the executive of g.u and he in turn could ask for the same motion to be passed at board level and get the ball(pardon the pun) rolling.other clubs may hear of it and follow suit.somepeople may think its ironic that it might be galway utd asking/leading the way for the vote of no-confidence but we got to the premier with no help from the FAI,we earned our place fair and square.
In the extremely unlikely event that you manage to get a motion of no confidence in the FAI approved by your club's board with a view to taking it on from there, then you may prepare yourself for one hell of a bumpy ride at Galway United....
Welcome to the seedy politics of Irish football....
Fester
15/02/2007, 8:24 AM
Shels have been given untill 1.00pm today to come up with documents. But a decision is not expected until Monday.
Redzer
15/02/2007, 8:58 AM
we have a rep on the executive of g.u and he in turn could ask for the same motion to be passed at board level and get the ball(pardon the pun) rolling.
And JOHN BYRNE is gonna rock the boat, you must be out of your mind :rolleyes:
Tis-smeee
15/02/2007, 9:05 AM
we earned our place fair and square.
Sure ye did
christy
15/02/2007, 9:10 AM
I do not see Ollie gettin out of this mess.
At this stage I suspect the options are: Ollie accepts the deal and they will be allowed to play in the premier or Ollie bluffs for too long and they're gone completely.
15/02/2007, 9:16 AM
Shels have been given untill 1.00pm today to come up with documents. But a decision is not expected until Monday.
something dramatic and lunchtime and you dont find out what happens till monday
its just like watching home and away on a friday..it aint fair!
Ebmania
15/02/2007, 9:24 AM
The independent said that Shels will be playing Rovers first game of the Season. Also said a series of Dublin Derbies 1 games(Hopefully Pats vs Bohs) Waterford will play rovers if they go down today.
BrayUnknowns
15/02/2007, 9:46 AM
What do people actually what to happen to shels ?
Go out of Business ?
Relegation ?
Premier but points deduction ?
etc...
15/02/2007, 10:02 AM
Relegation and/or double figure points deduction. There's no sense to losing such a large chunk of Irish footballing tradition. A significant example can be made of them without seeing them dead. I suspect neither will happen though.
15/02/2007, 10:04 AM
What do people actually what to happen to shels ?From a selfish point of view, premier with a points deduction. They're very unlikely to put together a team capable of staying up it would be nice to get a few big wins against them. Relegation would probably be the fairest though.
finnpark
15/02/2007, 10:21 AM
What do people actually what to happen to shels ?
Go out of Business ?
Relegation ?
Premier but points deduction ?
etc...
No fans, No Players, No manager, E10m in debt. They are already out of business. If they got a license after that it would be an end to the licencing system . Its embarrasing that the FAI have given them another day. They think an extra day is going to sort out this mess for Shels.
Get them out of business. There are already too many teams from Dublin area in the league. Country supporters are better as demonstarted inr ecent seasons by Cork , Derry, Sligo etc
Its embarrasing that the FAI have given them another day.
Even the extra day is a sham get tough - with the decision not being made known till Monday, I'd say a very good chance they've effectively given Shels the weekend.
15/02/2007, 10:36 AM
Relegation and/or double figure points deduction. There's no sense to losing such a large chunk of Irish footballing tradition. A significant example can be made of them without seeing them dead. I suspect neither will happen though.
Agreed on all points.
A chance for the FAI to show they mean business. And doubtless a chance they will shy away from...
ciaraa
15/02/2007, 10:50 AM
something dramatic and lunchtime and you dont find out what happens till monday
its just like watching home and away on a friday..it aint fair!
Brilliant :D
15/02/2007, 11:16 AM
No fans, No Players, No manager, E10m in debt. They are already out of business. If they got a license after that it would be an end to the licencing system.
The Licencing system has been over since it started - our dual accounts farce, which we told them about; Seery's pathetic little excuse of a club's blatant lies in their licence application, which the licencing committee took at face value; and now the Shels debacle. And they're just the headline grabbers.
And the worst part is that the FAI have always been responsible for licenceing although Delaney brushes this awkward fact aside. I've asked it before but I'll ask it again - How does Bob Breen still have a job?
15/02/2007, 12:23 PM
Ok.
Flawed.........Where's your arguement for how we got help from the FAI considering it was the IAG who reccomended the teams with the FAI simply going..."ya grand."
Where do you think the IAG came from:confused::) We've all been through the arguements over whether it's a good or a bad thing but Galway being in the Premier is 100% down to the new league structures implemented by the FAI.:ball:
MyTown
15/02/2007, 1:18 PM
So fine - we got in under some kind of dubious process.
You'll all get the chance to shove our good fortune down our throats if the football ever starts & no doubt you'll revel in it too. That's what football rivalry is supposed to be about.
Meantime - we did what we and every other club was asked to do. We just happened - on a once off basis - to do a better off-field job than most others.
If our pre-season match on Tuesday is a sign of things to come, you can have a great laugh at our expense next November. Our job is to support our team enough to make sure you won't get that chance.
The Man Himself
15/02/2007, 2:16 PM
one thing i must say is that its very unfair on other teams like waterford and dundalk who have been working their arses off to get their houses in order over the last 5 years, in my view i think shels should be kicked into the 1st division and waterford put back in the premier.
if shels were a non dublin team they would have been kicked out long a go.
john delaney and the fai are all a farce.
Mark Breen
15/02/2007, 2:21 PM
And the worst part is that the FAI have always been responsible for licenceing although Delaney brushes this awkward fact aside. I've asked it before but I'll ask it again - How does Bob Breen still have a job?
Bob Breen is a great man doing a great job....
Only messin, and he's no relation of mine...
15/02/2007, 2:27 PM
Bob Breen is a great man doing a great job....
Only messin, and he's no relation of mine...
You and your Da can both go and #uck off.
Claret Murph
15/02/2007, 2:39 PM
It gets better every day in or out up or down , who knows but if I had to guess it will be a hat trick on Monday morning Drum , Home Farm and now Shels GONE .
corbyeire
15/02/2007, 2:43 PM
its a disgrace that the rules have been broken consistently for shels - yet limerick get the chop instantanaeously
the league licencing is now in question - one rule for them another for us etc.
as been mentioned before - not surprising with the impeccable precedents of the FAI!
Mark Breen
15/02/2007, 2:45 PM
You and your Da can both go and #uck off.
I'm gonna assume you takin the mick.. As i said we are not related and i think he's doin a **** job also..
15/02/2007, 2:54 PM
I'm gonna assume you takin the mick.. As i said we are not related and i think he's doin a **** job also..
There should have been a ';)' after that to avoid such confusion.
bohs til i die
15/02/2007, 2:55 PM
Am hearing Shels docked 10 points, in premier. Nothing confirmed or official but its kinda what I have been expecting to happen for a few weeks now.
Would be a shambles if its true. At the very least they should be fukked out of Europe, relegated and stripped of the title, then start in the First on -20 and allowed to die slowly in the graveyard division.
15/02/2007, 3:02 PM
It gets better every day in or out up or down , who knows but if I had to guess it will be a hat trick on Monday morning Drum , Home Farm and now Shels GONE .
Build apartments on Tolka NOW before it can kill any other clubs! :mad: :eek:
Am hearing Shels docked 10 points, in premier. Nothing confirmed or official but its kinda what I have been expecting to happen for a few weeks now.
Would be a shambles if its true. At the very least they should be fukked out of Europe, relegated and stripped of the title, then start in the First on -20 and allowed to die slowly in the graveyard division.
The UEFA license will/will not be granted in March.