View Full Version : Why do Ireland fans....

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

youngirish
09/02/2007, 2:37 PM
The word Chelsea on an Irish flag? Devo would turn in his grave. Surely this should be a capital offence.

I'm going to get some Union Jacks and write the Mun, the Bock, Tallah and the Queen's German on them and fly them at the next England game.

09/02/2007, 2:38 PM
There are legitimate grounds to burn that flag!
Disgusting lack of respect!
Liverpool fans are some of the worst offenders...

Yeah that's awful alright. Why do numbnuts like that do it to our flag. Shameful... Once saw an Irish flag at a game advertising a sandwich bar in Galway! Do you see the say, Spanish flag advertising a pub on it? No..

RogerMilla
09/02/2007, 2:53 PM
well lads i have read some tripe on some forums in my time but this beats all.
Davy Keogh goes to every ireland game home and away and has done so for years , as irish supporters go he is a legend. This is a very poor thread started by psuedo-patriots.

These flags add to the colour and atmosphere at the games. Anyone who would insult the people who bring them is a begrudger of ther highest order.

as for the chelsea fella , in fairness i thought that was a bit daft and I cannot accept his premises that it is the area not the team as he has the club crest on the flag.

09/02/2007, 2:59 PM
Davy Keogh goes to every ireland game home and away and has done so for years , as irish supporters go he is a legend.

:D :D :D

Post of the bleedin' decade. The rest of the post is brilliant too but this bit takes some beating.

cheifo
09/02/2007, 3:03 PM
Its very disappointing to see so few flags with EL teams on them.From now on we should have an independent arbitrator to decide which team has the most flags at Ireland matches.My monies on The mighty Harps :p

RogerMilla
09/02/2007, 3:20 PM
we are rovers , i'm sure you are happy there in your "anyone who isnt an EL supporter is irrelevant" ivory tower .

i accept your nomination for post of the decade as it says more about you than all your 1500 posts before

magic moments
09/02/2007, 3:33 PM
has anyone noticed now at chelsea games some **** can be seen waving the irish falg behind the goals

i think no british teams should be on the flag, its ireland your should be supporting, not some bloody british team that you have no connections with

are u sure? is it not the ivory cost flag??

09/02/2007, 3:35 PM
Its very disappointing to see so few flags with EL teams on them.

eL fans make up flags with their clubs colours.
We don't need to deface the national flag.

09/02/2007, 3:35 PM
Davy Keogh goes to every ireland game home and away and has done so for years , as irish supporters go he is a legend. This is a very poor thread started by psuedo-patriots.

These flags add to the colour and atmosphere at the games. Anyone who would insult the people who bring them is a begrudger of ther highest order.

as for the chelsea fella , in fairness i thought that was a bit daft and I cannot accept his premises that it is the area not the team as he has the club crest on the flag.

Post of the decade?? That's post of the millennium. My good christ on a bike. If that's a legend I need to lie down.:D Legendary muppet more like.

He goes to every Ireland game. WOW

Fingal hoop
09/02/2007, 3:39 PM
I think we should all chip in for a "davey keogh is a muppet" flag

Billsthoughts
09/02/2007, 3:41 PM

I think it is. The guy who puts it up is a legend tho. A dyslexic legend but a legend none the less.

09/02/2007, 3:41 PM
I reckon you should stick it on a tricolour, then watch as some arteries pop :rolleyes:

RogerMilla
09/02/2007, 3:42 PM
both of your senses of exclusionism amaze me. I will bow out of this one as i have no reserves of vitriol and bitterness that you lads obviously posess in bucketfuls.

RogerMilla
09/02/2007, 3:44 PM
"I think we should all chip in for a "davey keogh is a muppet" flag "

"I reckon you should stick it on a tricolour, then watch as some arteries pop"

ah feck , you made me laugh there !!

Soper
Next time I'm at an international, I'll deface a few tricolours for the sake of the league

What next? A foot.ie flag? Oh wait:rolleyes: :D

And while I'm at Mick Byrne is just as much a national embarrassment.

Billsthoughts
09/02/2007, 3:46 PM
What next? A foot.ie flag? Oh wait

And while I'm at Mick Byrne is just as much a national embarrassment.

You scoff but unfortunately you never leave.....:( :D

09/02/2007, 3:48 PM
Guy I know went to the Kop in his Ireland jersey, couldn't understand for the life of him why people were giving him abuse. :rolleyes: Got into loads of rows but lucky not to be on the receiving end of a few beatings I reckon. :)

Jaime
09/02/2007, 4:04 PM
There was some idiotic bird trying to find the Chelsea flag at the match, being directed by some mates back home in the boozer. Don't know who's worse. Suppose now isn't the time to admit to nicking an Everton tricolour in Basle a few years back and dumping it in a bin. :ball:

09/02/2007, 4:13 PM
Flag with "Davy Keogh says give us a lift from San Marino"
heh heh :D

09/02/2007, 4:28 PM
There was some idiotic bird trying to find the Chelsea flag at the match, being directed by some mates back home in the boozer. Don't know who's worse. Suppose now isn't the time to admit to nicking an Everton tricolour in Basle a few years back and dumping it in a bin. :ball:

Now this man is a legend! Brilliant. Hope you had a vicious dump on top of it too:D

supasparx
09/02/2007, 7:27 PM
The word Chelsea on an Irish flag? Devo would turn in his grave. Surely this should be a capital offence.

I'm going to get some Union Jacks and write the Mun, the Bock, Tallah and the Queen's German on them and fly them at the next England game.

Youngirish, just how young are you? 'Coz I feel your showing your age.
But with your attitude you should probably fit in with the contingent of England fans you're trying to upset!

galwayhoop
09/02/2007, 8:19 PM
Davy Keogh goes to every ireland game home and away and has done so for years , as irish supporters go he is a legend.

are YOU davy keogh?

i thought he himself was the only person on the planet who thought he was a legend!!

anyway,

as for names on flags, english club supporters were the first to do it in the 70's, AFAIK, when supporting their club. liverpool fans would write 'Liverpool' on a jack...etc. then the supporters would bring these flags to the international games. started a kind of fashion.

why or why does someone need to write an english club name on an irish flag? what is the purpose?
why even bring a tricolour to stamford bridge, old trafford, highbury...etc the clubs are in no way irish and do not identify themselves with irishness.

and as for bringing a flag with an english club crest or name to an irish international?? :o

i personally don't agree with the tricolour being defaced at all but i can understand it when an eL club is represented or if the place you are from is identified. but as for the chelsea,l'pool, man u tricolours :rolleyes:

lopez
09/02/2007, 10:14 PM
Not advocating that either but it's easier to comprehend.
I've always believed that the lack of an emblem on the Irish flag, was facilitating the problem.
If the state crest was on it, it would be more unique and less likely to be defaced.
The Spanish (http://www.donquijote.org/culture/spain/history/images/spanish_flag2.jpg) and Portuguese flags (http://www.allstates-flag.com/images/full-size/flags/international/portugal.gif) are classic examples.
You never see them defaced!With Spain, they put the same stuff on but do it to flags without the crest. Best one of the World Cup was the big Spanish badgeless flag with 'Bilbao' on it. It's like the tricolour at Euro 88 with 'Coleraine'. :D

has anyone noticed now at chelsea games some **** can be seen waving the irish falg behind the goals

i think no british teams should be on the flag, its ireland your should be supporting, not some bloody british team that you have no connections withI think it's an Ivory Coast flag too. Makes some sense. Bit dangerous bringing either to a Chelsea game I'd have thought.

Davy Keogh goes to every ireland game home and away and has done so for years...B*ll*cks. He wasn't in the Faroes. :D

are YOU davy keogh?

i thought he himself was the only person on the planet who thought he was a legend!!...I've heard he has a little clique goes around with him. In Macedonia '99 - a game he did make - someone interuppted him, and his bodyguard said: 'Shuddoop....Davy's tarkin''.

Kildare Lad
09/02/2007, 11:05 PM
I didnt read all of the thread, but im sure its just for the craic lads, having your own flag made, and it looks better on the irish flag than on a plain white one.......

But yes, i do agree it is disrespectful.

10/02/2007, 8:28 AM

ha, actually never thought of that! just wouldnt be surprised if it was a thick paddie though:)

Soper
10/02/2007, 11:40 AM
Whatever about Chelsea, there is always an Irish flag at Spuds matches.

Saint Tom
11/02/2007, 5:05 PM

he he, whats it with you with flags and away trips?? first erverton then Delaney out??

12/02/2007, 9:59 AM

What, Moi??? :eek: :p

12/02/2007, 11:29 AM
B*ll*cks. He wasn't in the Faroes. :D

Or Finland.

I've heard he has a little clique goes around with him. In Macedonia '99 - a game he did make - someone interuppted him, and his bodyguard said: 'Shuddoop....Davy's tarkin''.

And the clique he has are as bad as him if thats possible. Direct qoute from the clique in Liechtenstein the first time to Cliftonville fans there: "Lads why dont ye support northern Ireland?":eek:

Royfor
12/02/2007, 3:54 PM
Aside from Writing on The Tricolour..any one notice how many upside down tricolours /Ivory Coast flags were being waved at Croke Park yesterday...

galwayhoop
12/02/2007, 6:52 PM
for those of you with a penchant for writing chelsea on a tricolour i saw a flag at stamford bridge on telly yesterday:
union jack with:
........L
........O
........Y
........A
C.H.E.L.S.E.A
........I
........S
........T

written on the st. georgie cross section.
sums up majority of chelsea supporters too

Royfor
13/02/2007, 7:59 AM
Oh like you know what the average Chelsea fan is like..when was the last time you took a visit to the Bridge? ever?

If you looked you would also see American Flags, Canadian flags, Cypriot Chelsea flags and many more...

galwayhoop
13/02/2007, 9:28 AM
Oh like you know what the average Chelsea fan is like..when was the last time you took a visit to the Bridge? ever?

If you looked you would also see American Flags, Canadian flags, Cypriot Chelsea flags and many more...

lived in london for 6 years in the late 80's to mid 90's. went to most grounds in london and i can honestly say that chelsea and millwall were disgusting places to go. you couldn't open your mouth as an irish person without serious risk to your health. chelsea's hardcore support is linked with both combat 18 and the BNP and the notorious headhunters are still a menace to many cities in euroipe when chelsea play away.

there may be many johnny come lately's at stamford bridge but their 'real' supporters are similar to the hardcore elements of their 'blues brothers' linfield and rangers.

but i suppose you cant see that from kark watchin on sky like

Royfor
13/02/2007, 10:28 AM
No But I saw quite of Cross section of Chelsea fans at The Bridge at the 4 Chelsea games at the Bridge so far this year I will keep you posted What I see in Porto Away next Wednesday and in Cardiff for the Final on the following Sunday and the rest of the season. Et Tu Brute?

13/02/2007, 12:23 PM
I'd take galwayhoop's word over any johnny come lately. You would want be incredibly naive not to believe that there is a significant anti Irish feel amongst the chelsea support.

I asked the owner of the chelsea tricolour would he bring it to the bridge. The silence said it all. There is no defense for writing any english club on an Irish tricolour. End of.

13/02/2007, 12:41 PM
if I see a Chelsea flag at Croke park next month I'll probably burn it :) !!!

Royfor
13/02/2007, 1:35 PM
Quite incredible when you can buy Irish Flags Tshirts & Badges with Chelsea logo on the stalls outside Stamford Bridge.

Royfor
13/02/2007, 1:40 PM
I remember Seeing a few Chelsea Flags/Tricolours back in WC 94 In Giants Stadium for Ireland V Italy & Norway games both in Stadium and on TV. Suprisingly not mentioned back then...but seems to be issue now...Perhaps they were not following Ireland or soccer back then...

13/02/2007, 1:57 PM
I think most Irish football fans would agree that having Chelsea on an Irish flag is very offensive! It's the height of naievity and quite frankly, I find it disgusting!
With the mood so low, amongst Ireland supporters, at the moment and with tensions running high, something like this could spark a very serious situation.

13/02/2007, 2:08 PM
I remember Seeing a few Chelsea Flags/Tricolours back in WC 94 In Giants Stadium for Ireland V Italy & Norway games both in Stadium and on TV. Suprisingly not mentioned back then...but seems to be issue now...Perhaps they were not following Ireland or soccer back then...

Oh it was;) No internet back then didnt mean those idiots didnt get abuse.

That was a great WC because the brits werent there but on the other hand they thought it was okay to hang their flags at our games. This happened again at the Saudi Arabia when some genius decided to hang a butchers apron. He was soon ran out of it.

13/02/2007, 2:12 PM
I don't agree with you, NY Hoop.
England has some of the best supporters in the world and they're entitled to go to the games of other countries. Ireland fans are always at it. We even had a guy on here who hung his flag a various games in the last World Cup. I have no problem with that.
Chelsea does not belong on an Irish flag though!

13/02/2007, 2:15 PM
I don't agree with you, NY Hoop.
England has some of the best supporters in the world and they're entitled to go to the games of other countries. Ireland fans are always at it. We even had a guy on here who hung his flag a various games in the last World Cup. I have no problem with that.
Chelsea does not belong on an Irish flag though!

England have probably the best fans in the world. But you're asking for it by hanging a butchers apron at an Ireland game. St georges cross no problem.

I, along with others, hung Rovers flags last summer in Germany but werent stupid enough to do it an ingerland game.

Dublin12
13/02/2007, 3:18 PM
I, along with others, hung Rovers flags last summer in Germany but werent stupid enough to do it an ingerland game.

As a matter of interest why did you feel the need to hang a flag from a LOI club at the World Cup?,seems a bit daft to me,an I wouldn't think England supporters would be bothered if you hung it at an England World Cup game,depending on what was on it of course,most wouldn't even know anything about Shamrock Rovers.

13/02/2007, 3:22 PM
...most wouldn't even know anything about Shamrock Rovers.

Anyone with Sky Sports would have Sky Sports News and in the same way that I know who Altrincham & Tamworth are, many English football fans will recognise the Irish clubs.

13/02/2007, 3:44 PM
most wouldn't even know anything about Shamrock Rovers.

Certainly not my experience in England or elsewhere. Most hardcore football fans are well aware of Rovers and Irish football in general. Like us they follow football obsessively. It's just our olé olérs and barstoolers who haven't a clue.

13/02/2007, 3:49 PM
I think most Irish football fans would agree that having Chelsea on an Irish flag is very offensive! It's the height of naievity and quite frankly, I find it disgusting!
With the mood so low, amongst Ireland supporters, at the moment and with tensions running high, something like this could spark a very serious situation.

if I see a Chelsea flag at Croke park next month I'll probably burn it :) !!!

Would you really?
Given Peadar's (and other's) comments above, there's starting to be a real sense of a riot breaking out at a game, would you really want to be remembered for that?

13/02/2007, 3:51 PM
As a matter of interest why did you feel the need to hang a flag from a LOI club at the World Cup?,seems a bit daft to me,an I wouldn't think England supporters would be bothered if you hung it at an England World Cup game,depending on what was on it of course,most wouldn't even know anything about Shamrock Rovers.

Only daft to you. At one of the games I was sitting beside a man city fan (a real one from manchester not some knob paddy) and he had his flag next to mine and ingerland werent playing.

To me its free advertising and the WC is the ideal time to do it with the mass coverage.

WAR is 1000% correct. Barstoolers are clueless about football culture.

13/02/2007, 3:59 PM
Given Peadar's (and other's) comments above, there's starting to be a real sense of a riot breaking out at a game, would you really want to be remembered for that?

If someone was involved in a row because they had Chelsea on an Irish flag, I would not defend them or try to intervene.

Wolfie
13/02/2007, 4:30 PM
If someone was involved in a row because they had Chelsea on an Irish flag, I would not defend them or try to intervene.

It'd be a surreal sight to see "Chelsea" emblazoned on the tricolour at Croke Park in fairness.

Its well known, as posted above, that Chelsea's hardcore support are involved with Combat 18 and BNP - both with an anti-irish bias.