View Full Version : Why do Ireland fans....
14/02/2007, 10:33 PM
would every one calm down...we'll be grand...we're good in march anyway.....It's actually in todays paper giving the statistics of when we get the most wins and March was actually the highest with a 58% success rate.
What's sad is that Staunton must have actually researched that before saying it in an interview...he really was clutching at straws:o
14/02/2007, 10:37 PM
thats an understatment! had to laugh but also felt a bit sorry for him when he made that comment!
15/02/2007, 12:55 AM
Take no notice of Tets. He's just in a weird place, ever since his team collapsed.
I've been in a weird place a lot longer than that boyo
Looking forward to hating CCFC again and a few trips to the Cross this year. In fairness the Kilcoyne Our Hero banner was good.
The finest creation my backgarden ever did produce ;)
Very much looking forward to hating Rovers again too, all that clapping ye off to the first division love in stuff is so passé :D
I can handle 2nd G fans putting their local club on a tri-colour (around our trips in Europe some English City fans even had St. George's flags with Cork City FC written on them) but companies doing it is shockingly poor taste IMO.
Billy Lord
15/02/2007, 10:10 AM
ainsie: if you're not a follower of 'second rate soccer' (sic) why do you support the Republic of Ireland? How could that bunch of useless micks ever be worthy of your fantastic support?
Nailer77
15/02/2007, 10:55 AM
keith wood, in his capacity as a pundit on television, stated his 3 sporting dreams as a youngster. it is brought into the public domain. not a secret little dream or secret that is being 'outed' on this forum.
grow up.
it is embarassing, that an irish man would rather score for an english team in their national cup final than score a goal or represent his own country. he had 3 dreams - one for rugby, one for soccer and one for GAA. the 3 biggest team sports played on this island. one of them involved representing a team from another country - why not his own. BTW i'm not having a dig at wood here just the general impression given off by a lot of people in this country who seem to bow down to those accross the water when it comes to soccer and then profess undying love of their own in the international arena.
can YOU get your head around that?
What are you? The thought police? It might be embarassing for you, its not for me and not for most reasonabily minded individuals. Thats what Keith Wood wanted, he's entitled to think as such not how you want him to!
And if someone wants to support and English club let them, it doesn't make them any less of an Irish fan, especially given that the vast majority of those representing the international teams ply their trade for those very same english clubs. Would it better if they went to their local teams? Yes course it would, doesn't make them any less of a national team supporter, despite what you'd like to think. The game in this country is in dissaray, I still go out of principal but to say otherwise is blind and therefore I can understand the negative attitude towards the game here.
Billy Lord
15/02/2007, 1:46 PM
What are you? The thought police? It might be embarassing for you, its not for me and not for most reasonabily minded individuals. Thats what Keith Wood wanted, he's entitled to think as such not how you want him to!
And if someone wants to support and English club let them, it doesn't make them any less of an Irish fan, especially given that the vast majority of those representing the international teams ply their trade for those very same english clubs. Would it better if they went to their local teams? Yes course it would, doesn't make them any less of a national team supporter, despite what you'd like to think. The game in this country is in dissaray, I still go out of principal but to say otherwise is blind and therefore I can understand the negative attitude towards the game here.
The reasons people put forward for not supporting Irish clubs all exist in relation to the national side - so why do people support Ireland but turn their noses up at the notion of supporting Irish clubs?
As for Keith Wood, well he's entitled to his dreams. The simple fact is that Irish football is off the radar for most Irish people, and his choice merely reflects that reality.
EalingGreen
15/02/2007, 1:54 PM
keith wood, in his capacity as a pundit on television, stated his 3 sporting dreams as a youngster. it is brought into the public domain. not a secret little dream or secret that is being 'outed' on this forum.
grow up.
it is embarassing, that an irish man would rather score for an english team in their national cup final than score a goal or represent his own country. he had 3 dreams - one for rugby, one for soccer and one for GAA. the 3 biggest team sports played on this island. one of them involved representing a team from another country - why not his own.
If Wood had said he'd dreamed of e.g. winning the Wimbledon final, would you be embarrassed at his not preferring to represent Ireland in the Davis Cup?
He was a kid who dreamed of playing in an FA Cup Final, just like kids from all over the world. I think it's you needs to "grow up". :rolleyes:
Nailer77
15/02/2007, 2:16 PM
The reasons people put forward for not supporting Irish clubs all exist in relation to the national side - so why do people support Ireland but turn their noses up at the notion of supporting Irish clubs?
As for Keith Wood, well he's entitled to his dreams. The simple fact is that Irish football is off the radar for most Irish people, and his choice merely reflects that reality.
Yeh thats fair enough and its a damn shame that people turn their noses up at domestic Irish football but thats the way it is and its been that way for some time largely through the fault of the administrators of the game in this country. Now they have to make it attractive again, its their job, they ballsed it up and now they need to get it right. You can't just expect people to go 'oh well I'll stop supporting United/Liverpool/Leeds etc and watch Rovers/Shels/Bohs because you or I think its right. People have seen how badly things have been screwed around and lets be honest, this business with Shels isn't exactly good press now is it?
I'd love nothing more than to see 15,000 at games around Ireland each week, it'd benefit the country as a whole in so many ways but I'm not going to admonish people who choose not to support it because frankly its not difficult to become dissillusioned with how the game is run in this country.
15/02/2007, 2:30 PM
You can't just expect people to go 'oh well I'll stop supporting United/Liverpool/Leeds etc and watch Rovers/Shels/Bohs because you or I think its right.
Fair enough point but if these same people support Ireland that makes them hypocrites.
Nailer77
15/02/2007, 3:35 PM
Fair enough point but if these same people support Ireland that makes them hypocrites.
No it doesn't, not for one minute. Given that the team itself is made up of players from those clubs I don't see how it makes them hypocrites, are the players hypocrites? There's no hard and fast rule that determines or links club support to national team support. You support who you support, its a shame more Irish clubs don't get support but there's reasons for that, the challenge is to turn it around.
ainsie
15/02/2007, 3:47 PM
ainsie: if you're not a follower of 'second rate soccer' (sic) why do you support the Republic of Ireland? How could that bunch of useless micks ever be worthy of your fantastic support?
Because at least they once were good and maybe someday will be again.The same cant be said for Rovers and the likes.
And I'm not going to answer that other bigoted twit, because all he does is insult, without the cop to debate. He should take his place alongside the GAA bigots that did not want to share. This debate was changed to another Eircom League rant long before my post. I was replying, read back.
Come on Ireland in the Rugby!!! and I wont be going to AIB league games either just because I support my country.
I wont be going to Santry to watch Interprovincial Athletics but will support Ireland at the big Championships.
So the people on here that support Ireland at anything and dont support the grass roots of the same sport are all Hypoctites in the eyes of people on here. Correct??? Well as long as they apply that to themselves when they are shouting for Ireland at any sport then they can preach to me about not giving a sh*t about the EL.
15/02/2007, 3:57 PM
Because at least they once were good and maybe someday will be again.The same cant be said for Rovers and the likes.
How would you know ? An honour to take abuse off someone of your knowledge.
And by the way it's the height of hypocrisy to support Ireland whilst supporting an english club.
Ireland v england and you would support Ireland yet if an Irish club plays mankpool or the like you would support the english club. That is hypocrisy.
15/02/2007, 3:59 PM
Come on Ireland in the Rugby!!! and I wont be going to AIB league games either just because I support my country.
I wont be going to Santry to watch Interprovincial Athletics but will support Ireland at the big Championships.
Well that makes you a big-game bandwagon jumper and not a hypocrite. I'll let the readers decide which is worse......
ainsie
15/02/2007, 4:00 PM
Dig deep, if thats your arguement why are you even supporting an English game?? Just support the GAA
ainsie
15/02/2007, 4:03 PM
Well that makes you a big-game bandwagon jumper and not a hypocrite. I'll let the readers decide which is worse......
I do try to explain myself, will you just stop spouting off the first crap that come out, and explain why supporting my country all my life in different sports, when they are losing or winning is a band wagon jumper, please
Billy Lord
15/02/2007, 4:40 PM
ainsie: thanks for your response. At least you are honest enough to admit that you follow Ireland because they were once good, and not because they're Irish.
But if that's your sole criterion for supporting Ireland, why don't you support a better national team instead? After all, the same logic prevents you from supporting an Irish club.
I have followed your advice and now support Italy. They're far better than Ireland ever will be, and are the reigning world champions. No more substandard international 'soccer' for me! Venuto su voi ragazzi in azzurro!!!
I never understand this devotion to English teams. Fair enough, follow teams with Irish players and once they get rid of them follow the next club with most. Otherwise, as His Lord-ship says, follow a team worthy of gloryhunting. It's basically the same.
You can normally tell the year of birth of certain Irish followers of the more (now) crappy English teams. Nott'm Forest and Ipswich (between 1968 and 1970). Brighton (1970-74). Blackburn (1985-1989). I'm sure you can add a couple of others (Wimbledon? Coventry?). If this rings true with anyone here, you are sadder than the sad. :D
15/02/2007, 5:22 PM
Yes, quite sure! Having spent almost 5 years in England, I've mixed with some of the best football supporters, I've seen anywhere in the world, on my travels.
Your name suggests that you're alligned to a certain Glasgow bigot franchise so I'll spare my words, because I'm worn out from trying to talk sense to your lot.
fair enough
15/02/2007, 5:33 PM
You have some nerve , just because you support some farty little club with no ground (hopes to get one from the County Council) does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs. I have lived away from this country and am now back and have travelled the world supporting the Irish Team( the team where most of the players play in real leagues) and will continue to follow them, but your assumption seems to be that if a person does not have any interest in second rate soccer and decides not to pay his hard earned money to watch a second rate product he is not a true supporter.
second rate product? have you seen it lately? i presume not. why do you support ireland then? why not support brazil, they produce a consistantly good product.
ainsie
16/02/2007, 10:02 AM
ainsie: thanks for your response. At least you are honest enough to admit that you follow Ireland because they were once good, and not because they're Irish.
Read the post above
I said
explain why supporting my country all my life in different sports, when they are losing or winning is a band wagon jumper, please
I support them NOW, in the past, and even further back than that. But I give up. OK I'll start supporting the EL if it makes me more Irish which seems to be the point.
Later
16/02/2007, 10:32 AM
The worst one is the Tricolour with Ashbourne says Howya. Now thats embarrasing. ;)
I never understand this devotion to English teams. Fair enough, follow teams with Irish players and once they get rid of them follow the next club with most. Otherwise, as His Lord-ship says, follow a team worthy of gloryhunting. It's basically the same.
You can normally tell the year of birth of certain Irish followers of the more (now) crappy English teams. Nott'm Forest and Ipswich (between 1968 and 1970). Brighton (1970-74). Blackburn (1985-1989). I'm sure you can add a couple of others (Wimbledon? Coventry?). If this rings true with anyone here, you are sadder than the sad. :D
with you there man... Ive seen fights starting over people supporting rival clubs in towns they have never set foot in... madness.
Sunderland bandwagon pulling out of the station... ALL ABOARD!
i have read the majority of posts in this thread. I genuinely cannot understand how anybody can defend a person who defaces the flag with the name of a club from England. It really is a pathetic state of affairs that people have more pride in foreign clubs than in their local clubs. There is no excuse whatsoever for 'CHELSEA' to be sprawled across a tri-colour. Anybody who thinks this is normal is not worth talking to. Reading this thread just reminded me why I couldn't be bothered supporting the national team. Give me Shels playing in the LSL any day. Sad.
17/02/2007, 9:52 PM
.... I genuinely cannot understand how anybody can defend a person who defaces the flag with the name of a club from England.....
What about 'defacing' the flag with the name of a team from Scotland, Wales or Northern Irleand or any other country? or is it only teams from England?
Personally, I have no issue with anyone who takes an Irish flag with the name of their favourite club on it to a game which that club are playing in, whether in be in England or anywhere else. But at Ireland games, as much as I hate to see people wearing club shirts, I hate seeing Ireland flags with club names plastered all over, regardless of from wherever those clubs are from.
Irish_Praha
18/02/2007, 11:26 AM
Read the post above
I said
I support them NOW, in the past, and even further back than that. But I give up. OK I'll start supporting the EL if it makes me more Irish which seems to be the point.
Later
Is that so far back that it's like garlic bread (the future)? :p
18/02/2007, 1:05 PM
What about 'defacing' the flag with the name of a team from Scotland, Wales or Northern Irleand or any other country? or is it only teams from England?
Damn Derry City fans! :mad:
Personally, I have no issue with anyone who takes an Irish flag with the name of their favourite club on it to a game which that club are playing in, whether in be in England or anywhere else. But at Ireland games, as much as I hate to see people wearing club shirts, I hate seeing Ireland flags with club names plastered all over, regardless of from wherever those clubs are from.
I have nothing at all against England for a start. My point is - it's embarrassing that people are so fanatical about clubs across the water that they feel the need to declare this at an Ireland game. Can you really not see that? Tell me this...where else would you see this carry on?
citizenerased
19/02/2007, 8:17 PM
Its against the constitution to deface a tricolour, guinness logos and day keogh included
Qwerty
19/02/2007, 11:03 PM
Its against the constitution to deface a tricolour, guinness logos and day keogh included
There is no provision in the constitution for defacing the tricolour. However you may remember that Guinness was criticized by the government during the 2002 WC for selling Irish flags with the Guinness logo. But there is no law or constitutional bar to defacing the flag.
The Dept of the Taoiseach has specificed protocols for respectful usage of the flag: these include:
17 The National Flag should never be defaced by placing slogans, logos, lettering or pictures of any kind on it, for example at sporting events.
18 The National Flag should not be draped on cars, trains, boats or other modes of transport; it should not be carried flat, but should always be carried aloft and free.
Qwerty
19/02/2007, 11:04 PM
And to answer the original poster's question; ignorance.
19/02/2007, 11:13 PM
18 The National Flag should not be draped on cars, trains, boats or other modes of transport; it should not be carried flat, but should always be carried aloft and free.
does carting some want-to-be republican around in a coffin count as a mode of transport?
Wolfie
20/02/2007, 8:04 AM
I can remember Andy Townsend, during his playing days, referring to the Tricolour as "the good old Orange, White and Green" !!!
cavan_fan
20/02/2007, 8:16 AM
I can remember Andy Townsend, during his playing days, referring to the Tricolour as "the good old Orange, White and Green" !!!
and in the Ivory Coast they still remember him well!
Wolfie
20/02/2007, 8:37 AM
Niall Quinn also recounts how Charlie Haughey dropped into the Irish dressing room after defeat to the Italians in 1990.
When Haughey left - Townsend asked "Who was that old Geezer?"
Cascarino replied - "F*ck knows. But Quinny says he owns a "Tea Shop".