View Full Version : Why do Ireland fans....

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

13/02/2007, 9:33 PM
I don't agree with you, NY Hoop.
England has some of the best supporters in the world and they're entitled to go to the games of other countries. Ireland fans are always at it. We even had a guy on here who hung his flag a various games in the last World Cup. I have no problem with that.
Chelsea does not belong on an Irish flag though!

really, are you sure about that?

13/02/2007, 9:35 PM
lived in london for 6 years in the late 80's to mid 90's. went to most grounds in london and i can honestly say that chelsea and millwall were disgusting places to go. you couldn't open your mouth as an irish person without serious risk to your health. chelsea's hardcore support is linked with both combat 18 and the BNP and the notorious headhunters are still a menace to many cities in euroipe when chelsea play away.

there may be many johnny come lately's at stamford bridge but their 'real' supporters are similar to the hardcore elements of their 'blues brothers' linfield and rangers.

but i suppose you cant see that from kark watchin on sky like

da brother who lives in London was drinking with a few Millwall fans over the weekend, he says they didnt have a problem with the Irish at all, i wonder with Muslims the new terrorists that they have just a new target for their hate, as he said they were extremely racist, and hardcore
still havent heard from him since though!

Jamjar
13/02/2007, 10:14 PM
hmmm....suppose I better not bring my Rangers tricolour to the wales match then.

Bottle of Tonic
13/02/2007, 10:50 PM
Hardcore Chelsea are scum. Apparently majorly involved in lansdowne '95 too. At the Chelsea-Celtic pre-season game the 'blues brothers' element certainly made their presence felt with Linfield, Rangers flags etc, as well as a well organised ambush on visiting supporters at Fulham broadway tube before and after the game.Intimidating place to be Irish on that particular night.

As for the flag defacing, an initial reaction on seeing a Chelsea tricolour would be 'what?!?!?' but thinking about it and reading the accounts above of the chelsea guy who owns it I see it a little differently. I lived in England too and met many 2nd and 3rd gen Ireland fans. If I saw some of them at a game with say, 'Coventry Irish' or 'Northampton' across a tricolour I would look upon it as the lads going 'This is our club, this is our country, on one flag. We may not be born in Ireland but we are as much Ireland supporters as you are' They are a reflection of the Irish diaspora. I think EL supporters are a little too quick to think 'hey these are the idiots neglecting our league'. Not all of us were born into an EL club heartland or were brought up in one of its clubs traditions. As I once heard (albeit in the context of a club vs country debate) - your club could be like your wife, you choose it and it's passionate, your country is like your mother, its a different love, unconditional. Football supporters are all different, different aspects of the game make them tick. Chill out a little and let someone scrawl the name of place outside of Ireland on a tricolour if they feel they are getting something from it.:)

billybunter
13/02/2007, 11:04 PM
thank you bottle of tonic - someone is finally making sense.

reder
13/02/2007, 11:31 PM

England probably do have the best fans in the world in terms of visible support at games. I know a few guys who go to every England game. These guys are genuine football fans. It is clear that the majority of England fans are well behaved nowadays. The are under constant media scrutiny and according to the lads i know they get incredible levels of provocation at away games. The police are generally very aggressive towards them.

Look at the incidents that happened at the San Marino game last week with a small section of our fans throwing bottles and cans at our own fans, if that happened at an England game it would be all over the media.

I think many here are looking at england fans and football fans in england through rose-tinted spectacles. I can tell you that fans of british clubs teams are pussies compared to their european counterparts. A spurs fan I know very very well from london was at Cardiff in January and they needed the protection of 800 riot police due to the level of attack for Cardiff city (welsh) fans.

I have travelled to alot of the away grounds in england and have to concur that Chelsea hardcore fans, west hardcore ham fans, man united hardcore fans are by far the most troublesome. I have been p1ssed on from the upper tier in old trafford. We (Liverpool) were bad bad b st rds in the 70's and 80's but have calmed down alot in the last 10 years. You rarely see bother at liverpool games (far less than i have seen at the few EL games I have attended).

As for flags at games. I can tell you know that you can bring or buy a tri-colour at any PL ground in england and have no worries.

I am astonished at those suggesting that a flag saying Chelsea is out of place in Croke Park, Wolfie. I hope everyone who owns a club based flag brings it to Croke Park for the game and we have the names of the clubs for Ireland, England, Scotland, Wales and europe lining the stands around the ground. This shows just how far and wide the love for the team is spread.

Whether you like it or not the vast majority of british cities have sizeable irish communities and these people have as much right to hang a flag at any Ireland game home or away as a Rovers, Bohs, Shels or Cork City etc fan.

14/02/2007, 8:40 AM

Yes, quite sure! Having spent almost 5 years in England, I've mixed with some of the best football supporters, I've seen anywhere in the world, on my travels.
Your name suggests that you're alligned to a certain Glasgow bigot franchise so I'll spare my words, because I'm worn out from trying to talk sense to your lot.

RogerMilla
14/02/2007, 8:51 AM
Reder were you in san marino? nobody threw bottles at each other !!
You have got to be fcuking kidding me !!
This needs to be knocked on the head right now
Some drunk muppet threw a half full can out onto the running track.
That and the altercation between two lads was the height of it.

reder
14/02/2007, 9:00 AM
I was told by this 2 guys I have sat beside at ireland home games for the past 10 years. I didnt attend the game as I am sick to the eye teeth of being shafted by the FAI for away tickets when it comes to "big" away games. For years I have been to 90% and constantly missing out when it comes to the Germany, Switzerland away situations.

RogerMilla
14/02/2007, 9:18 AM
well i dont know what those two guys agenda is but neither did i or anyone i spoke to see bottles thrown and its well out of order to be saying things like that, also the cops checked everyone and there were no bottles in the ground , lots of cans though..

14/02/2007, 11:07 AM
A spurs fan I know very very well from london was at Cardiff in January and they needed the protection of 800 riot police due to the level of attack for Cardiff city (welsh) fans.

Waht a crock. I was at that game and Spurs brought a huge mob of hundreds intent on having a pop at Cardiff. Fair play to them as no-one else has had the balls in years. But to say that the cops were there to protect the Spurs fans is utter nonsense.

BTW Totally agree that English fans are the best in the world. No other country in the world can sustain 4 1/2 professional leagues. By and large English people follow their local teams.

galwayhoop
14/02/2007, 11:14 AM
By and large English people follow their local teams.

your right of course, but to be fair football is the only real spectator sport in england. i know you have both rugby's aswell but they are shorter seasons and fewer teams.

here we also have the GAA and at most championship games you get full houses - although even here there are the hangers on who only go to games with final in the name (1/4, semi ...etc). the majority of irish soccer 'supporters' are much happier watching from their living rooms or in the pub and moaning about how crap the eL is.

14/02/2007, 11:43 AM
We may not be born in Ireland but we are as much Ireland supporters as you are' They are a reflection of the Irish diaspora. I think EL supporters are a little too quick to think 'hey these are the idiots neglecting our league'. Not all of us were born into an EL club heartland or were brought up in one of its clubs traditions.

Not what I'm saying at all. Anybody who supports the national team and lives abroad I have a lot of time for. The only idiots who are neglecting our league are the idiots living in Ireland.

Still wrong to put an english club on a tricolour and then complain about being abused.

Something like coventry Irish is harmless because they are stating that they are Irish based in coventry.

galwayhoop
14/02/2007, 12:10 PM
Not what I'm saying at all. Anybody who supports the national team and lives abroad I have a lot of time for. The only idiots who are neglecting our league are the idiots living in Ireland.

Still wrong to put an english club on a tricolour and then complain about being abused.

Something like coventry Irish is harmless because they are stating that they are Irish based in coventry.

totally agree with you here.

southampton / london / liverpool irish = ok.
southampton fc / arsenal fc / liverpool fc / man united = get a life

endabob1
14/02/2007, 12:36 PM
Because of economic problems I was forced to emigrate to England in the early 90's now I support my local team but if I put it on my national flag (I am still an Irish citizen and passport holder and have never taken nationality of another country) I need to "get a life".

My local team is no longer Athlone Town I haven't been to a town game in 15 years, I still follow thier results but they are no longer my team, exactly what is the problem with me putting my local English club that I go to week in week out on an Irish flag? My kids will grow up in England (unless I get a chance to move somewhere hotter) but will still be Irish citizens, will they be told to get a life with their foreign clubs and foreign accents thinking they can follow Ireland?
This is an old argument and divides people roughly into those who have never had to deal with emigration and those who have.

Wolfie
14/02/2007, 12:37 PM
I am astonished at those suggesting that a flag saying Chelsea is out of place in Croke Park, Wolfie. I hope everyone who owns a club based flag brings it to Croke Park for the game and we have the names of the clubs for Ireland, England, Scotland, Wales and europe lining the stands around the ground. This shows just how far and wide the love for the team is spread.

Whether you like it or not the vast majority of british cities have sizeable irish communities and these people have as much right to hang a flag at any Ireland game home or away as a Rovers, Bohs, Shels or Cork City etc fan.

It was more a throwaway comment on how it will be an unusual sight to potentially see the names of English Premiership clubs appearing on Tricolours in Croke Park - the heartland of the GAA and sporting nationalism. Normally all that's written on them at GAA matches is "HOWYA!" or "We'll Flush the Jacks!!"

Don't want to meander the debate onto Croker as has been discussed at length on previous threads.

My point was that it will re-inforce the historical element of soccer and all attached to it at Croker.

If Anglo Irish lads want to display their customised Irish flag - knock yourself out, Man.

14/02/2007, 1:05 PM
Because of economic problems I was forced to emigrate to England in the early 90's now I support my local team but if I put it on my national flag (I am still an Irish citizen and passport holder and have never taken nationality of another country) I need to "get a life".

My local team is no longer Athlone Town I haven't been to a town game in 15 years, I still follow thier results but they are no longer my team, exactly what is the problem with me putting my local English club that I go to week in week out on an Irish flag? My kids will grow up in England (unless I get a chance to move somewhere hotter) but will still be Irish citizens, will they be told to get a life with their foreign clubs and foreign accents thinking they can follow Ireland?

Why do you want to put the name of an English club on an Irish flag? Stop trying to turn this into some diaspora debate when it isn't one!
If you want to support Ireland, why do you feel that sticking something like Chelsea or Spurs or whatever, on your flag, will enhance your support?
Don't give me some rubbish about eircom League teams on Irish flags because it just doesn't wash with me. If we didn't have a National League, we couldn't have a National team. All that aside, if you go to any eircom League game, you'll see a wonderful display of creativity & colour, where flags were designed & are unique to the clubs. Very few, if any, Irish flags.
Having a foreign team name on an Irish flag, is not a sign of support for Irish football. You're only fooling yourself if you think otherwise.
Don't get me started on the supporters of that Irish team in Glasgow!

14/02/2007, 1:41 PM

This is an old argument and divides people roughly into those who have never had to deal with emigration and those who have.

Rubbish. Rovers have fans who are members all over europe and in the states. Yet they dont feel the need to put their local sides on a tricolour.

Why not put Athlone Town on your flag? You cant say they are no longer your team just because you live abroad. A club is for life no matter what the circumstances.

endabob1
14/02/2007, 1:42 PM
Peader

This has been debated on here several times and the split is always the same, which is what really bugs me.
I have no issue with people putting whatever they want on the flag as long they are supporting Ireland, it doesn't bother me in the slightest.
Personally I wouldn't put anything on the flag (actually I wouldn't bring a flag full stop) but I don't see the logic in saying it's ok to have Cork City or Derry City but not Tranmere Rovers (as was the cause celeb of the debate after Germany).
You appear to be unable to differntiate support for the Irish National Team and supporting Irish Football as a whole entity, I agree that they are intertwined but they it's possible to do one without the other, there are lots of EL supporters who don't care about the national team.

Dublin12
14/02/2007, 2:03 PM
A club is for life no matter what the circumstances.

Exactly,so you can't start knocking Irish supporters who have followed an English team and Ireland all their life and are maybe in an Irish branch of the teams supporters club and want to put thier club name on a tricolour.It's been going on for years and it will go on for years because it's no big deal except for a small minority of people who like a good ol whinge,and theres plenty of them knocking around Ireland these days.

14/02/2007, 2:18 PM
You appear to be unable to differntiate support for the Irish National Team and supporting Irish Football as a whole entity, I agree that they are intertwined but they it's possible to do one without the other, there are lots of EL supporters who don't care about the national team.

That seems to only exist in Ireland, where the culture of football support is understood by few but purported by many.
This is evident nowhere more than at International games, when sterile atmosphere emanates from the thousands who've gone there to be entertained, Sky Sports style.

I've already said to you that very few eircom League fans stick their club name on an Ireland flag. Having said that, Cork City FC has supplied more players to Ireland teams, in recent times, than Chelsea, that's for sure! We don't strive to imply some tenuous link between our clubs and our country. We don't need to. Everyone know's we're Irish.

galwayhoop
14/02/2007, 2:20 PM

Búllshít. lived in london for 6 years and in the states too. never would i write the name of any british team on an irish tricolour. if you want to show you are irish just bring a tricolour to the match but why do you want to do that anyway? you are going there to support your favoured club not to support ireland or as a promotion of your own irishness!

chelsea or spurs or any of these lads do not represent ireland and therefore why do you want their names on our flag?

how ridiculous would a union jack with cobh ramblers written on it look!

14/02/2007, 2:22 PM
how ridiculous would a union jack with cobh ramblers written on it look!

They'd get away with their traditional name though, Queenstown Ramblers! :D

galwayhoop
14/02/2007, 2:27 PM
Exactly,so you can't start knocking Irish supporters who have followed an English team and Ireland all their life and are maybe in an Irish branch of the teams supporters club and want to put thier club name on a tricolour.It's been going on for years and it will go on for years because it's no big deal except for a small minority of people who like a good ol whinge,and theres plenty of them knocking around Ireland these days.

fair enough dublin12 but i found it embarassing that keith wood stated he had 3 dreams as a boy; to play rugby for ireland, play in croke park and score in the FA CUP FINAL!!! why not play for ireland or score for ireland?

our most senior politican (a dub) is a man utd supporter and a portion of our internarional supporters have british clubs sprawled all over our national flag.

do you not see a problem with any of these?? are we irish?? is our national team representing Ireland or is it representing Britain??

ainsie
14/02/2007, 2:36 PM
You cant say they are no longer your team just because you live abroad. A club is for life no matter what the circumstances.

You seriously need to get a life.

You have some nerve , just because you support some farty little club with no ground (hopes to get one from the County Council) does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs. I have lived away from this country and am now back and have travelled the world supporting the Irish Team( the team where most of the players play in real leagues) and will continue to follow them, but your assumption seems to be that if a person does not have any interest in second rate soccer and decides not to pay his hard earned money to watch a second rate product he is not a true supporter.
Your probably one of those who hangs your flag from the railings in your holiday apartment in the costa to make you more irish.

As someone said above you not have to support the EL to support ireland, thanks god because I dont know what I'd do then. I suppose I'd try as I know you have to take s**ty medicine to get better.

As for the flag issue, each to their own as long as they dont cause trouble.
I dont even wear a scarf, I go I shout I support, thats it.

Ahh feck it why am I getting so riled up...

14/02/2007, 2:41 PM
You have some nerve ,does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs. I have lived away from this country and am now back and have travelled the world supporting the Irish Team( the team where most of the players play in real leagues) and will continue to follow them, but your assumption seems to be that if a person does not have any interest in second rate soccer and decides not to pay his hard earned money to watch a second rate product he is not a true supporter.

As someone said above you not have to support the EL to support ireland, thanks god because I dont know what I'd do then. I suppose I'd try as I know you have to take s**ty medicine to get better.

Agree with this except the bold part. Eircom leagus is a real league, not a great one, but a real one.

14/02/2007, 2:44 PM
ainsie thinks that by following a foreign club and sticking their name on an Irish flag, that he's somehow a better supporter. The truth is, you and your ilk don't understand football and can't follow the National League because it's not spelled out for you on Sky Sports or on the back pages of a tabloid.
We don't care who you "support" because it's your life to waste, but don't think that displaying the name of some foreign club, at International games, will get you any respect from the people who drive the game in Ireland.
Thankfully, my travels around the world have given me the ability to see just how good I have it at home.

14/02/2007, 2:46 PM
ainsie thinks that by following a foreign club and sticking their name on an Irish flag, that he's somehow a better supporter.

I disagree. I think his opinion is that it doesnt make you a worse supporter.

Dublin12
14/02/2007, 2:48 PM
Your probably one of those who hangs your flag from the railings in your holiday apartment in the costa to make you more irish.

Actually he hangs his SRFC flag at the World Cup:rolleyes: with his real English football following mate:D

You have some nerve , just because you support some farty little club with no ground (hopes to get one from the County Council) does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs. I have lived away from this country and am now back and have travelled the world supporting the Irish Team( the team where most of the players play in real leagues) and will continue to follow them, but your assumption seems to be that if a person does not have any interest in second rate soccer and decides not to pay his hard earned money to watch a second rate product he is not a true supporter.

On that basis then have you given up supporting Ireland.Because what the produced in San Marino was some way off even being second rate

I disagree. I think his opinion is that it doesnt make you a worse supporter.

Back to the original argument, what's the point having Chelsea on an Irish flag? Looks like someone just trying to draw attention to themselves, if you ask me.

Nailer77
14/02/2007, 2:51 PM
fair enough dublin12 but i found it embarassing that keith wood stated he had 3 dreams as a boy; to play rugby for ireland, play in croke park and score in the FA CUP FINAL!!! why not play for ireland or score for ireland?

our most senior politican (a dub) is a man utd supporter and a portion of our internarional supporters have british clubs sprawled all over our national flag.

do you not see a problem with any of these?? are we irish?? is our national team representing Ireland or is it representing Britain??

Its not really any of you business what Keith Woods dreams were as a kid!

Football in England had more exposure and as such football in England has a greater presence even in Ireland. The faults of the EL are of the FAI's own making so tough ****e really. And although the team is supposed to be representing Ireland the fact is that nearly all of our players come from British clubs and as such to a degree we are representing Britain, like it or not. In an ideal world our own league would be good enough but the FAI have managed to **** it up for so long that unfortunately people are turned right off and now they have SKY to switch their minds off to. Its a pity but thats life. And I'm an EL supporter but I don't think anyone supporting a British club is any less of an Irish fan, I can understand why they do it but they could still make the effort at home in my opinion.

14/02/2007, 2:56 PM
Its not really any of you business what Keith Woods dreams were as a kid!

He shouldn't have gone on national television, telling everyone about it so then. :rolleyes:

In an ideal world our own league would be good enough but the FAI have managed to **** it up for so long that unfortunately people are turned right off and now they have SKY to switch their minds off to.

Not an ounce of fact in your little rant.
The FAI have only just taken over the running of the league, for the first time in its history. You'd have known that if it was on Sky Sports though, I suppose.

endabob1
14/02/2007, 2:57 PM
That seems to only exist in Ireland, where the culture of football support is understood by few but purported by many.
This is evident nowhere more than at International games, when sterile atmosphere emanates from the thousands who've gone there to be entertained, Sky Sports style.
I've already said to you that very few eircom League fans stick their club name on an Ireland flag. Having said that, Cork City FC has supplied more players to Ireland teams, in recent times, than Chelsea, that's for sure! We don't strive to imply some tenuous link between our clubs and our country. We don't need to. Everyone know's we're Irish.

I have always watched local football wherever I've been, jesus I even went to a game in South Africa which is not for the faint hearted I 100% agree that supporting your local team is the best and most enjoyable way of supporting football.
I disagree that the differentiation bettwen supporting a national team and supporting an entire footballing structure is unique to Ireland,
Australia was virtually identical until they repackaged their local league. I know loads of club fans in England who felt no affiliation to the national side(especially during the Sven years) they consider themselves supporters of football but not England.

14/02/2007, 2:57 PM
You have some nerve , just because you support some farty little club with no ground (hopes to get one from the County Council) does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs.

Ah, the glorious sight of of that not-so-rare species the olé olér throwing his leprachaun-shaped rattle out of his Italia 90-themed pram. I salute you. :D

14/02/2007, 3:08 PM
I disagree that the differentiation bettwen supporting a national team and supporting an entire footballing structure is unique to Ireland,
Australia was virtually identical until they repackaged their local league. I know loads of club fans in England who felt no affiliation to the national side(especially during the Sven years) they consider themselves supporters of football but not England.

I'm talking about the reverse. There are plenty National League fans who don't throw away money on the National Team. What I'm talking about is people who run down their National League, while throwing money at foreign teams and claiming to be love the game.

Here's the difference. They're Ireland Fans and I'm a Fan of Irish Football!

14/02/2007, 3:14 PM
I'm talking about the reverse. There are plenty National League fans who don't throw away money on the National Team. What I'm talking about is people who run down their National League, while throwing money at foreign teams and claiming to be love the game.

Here's the difference. They're Ireland Fans and I'm a Fan of Irish Football!

That doesn't make either of ye more, or better, of a football fan. Both are fans of the game, both choose to display their allegiance in different ways. One is not necessarily better than the other.
Live and let live.

ainsie
14/02/2007, 3:16 PM
ainsie thinks that by following a foreign club and sticking their name on an Irish flag

Can you read, on the flag issue I said

I dont care about flags, I just care that the team I support wins.

Back to the original argument, what's the point having Chelsea on an Irish flag? Looks like someone just trying to draw attention to themselves, if you ask me.

First of all why would I want to bring myself to your attention.??
Secondly its not me that brought up the whole "if you dont support Eircom league " your not a supporter issue.
And my last point was on the original argurment, that as long as they dont cause trouble then who cares how they support.

The truth is, you and your ilk don't understand football and can't follow the National League because it's not spelled out for you on Sky Sports or on the back pages of a tabloid.

Read my mail, I cant be bothered, dont care, dont give a s*it, dont care if its shoved down my neck. and your ILK are too narrow minded to let other people have any other opinion than yourself. I respect people who support the EL because aint got much to support and they keep on doing it.

We don't care who you "support" because it's your life to waste, but don't think that displaying the name of some foreign club, at International games, will get you any respect from the people who drive the game in Ireland

I dont!!, read my post...geeezz

Thankfully, my travels around the world have given me the ability to see just how good I have it at home.

But not made you less norrow minded.

Lastly, this is a forum, a forum is a place by defenition where people can voice their opinion, and that is mine above, good luck with yours.

Sligo Hornet
14/02/2007, 3:17 PM
how ridiculous would a union jack with cobh ramblers written on it look![/QUOTE]

Wouldn't ANY flag with "Cobh Ramblers" on look ridiculous?;)

14/02/2007, 3:23 PM
I dont care about flags, I just care that the team I support wins.

Then perhaps you shouldn't have posted in this thread. After all, that's what it's about.

ainsie
14/02/2007, 3:28 PM
Your selective arent you, the line before stated that as long as a person does not cause trouble then each to his own.

Are you just reading bits of the post and then using it to debate, are you a politician cause you seem like one using the parts that support your arguements and disgarding the rest?

endabob1
14/02/2007, 3:28 PM
That doesn't make either of ye more, or better, of a football fan. Both are fans of the game, both choose to display their allegiance in different ways. One is not necessarily better than the other.
Live and let live.

Woo Hoo The truth is out there :D

galwayhoop
14/02/2007, 3:35 PM
Your selective arent you, you politician. you like arguements

:D :D

i think you'll find a lot of people on here act like politicans - who said the art of discussion was dead!!

14/02/2007, 3:37 PM
Your selective arent you, the line before stated that as long as a person does not cause trouble then each to his own.

Are you just reading bits of the post and then using it to debate, are you a politician cause you seem like one using the parts that support your arguements and disgarding the rest?

I can't quote what you've quoted in your post.

Woo Hoo The truth is out there :D

Take no notice of Tets. He's just in a weird place, ever since his team collapsed.

14/02/2007, 3:42 PM

Quality stuff and I need to get a life?:D This post invalidates everything you will ever say in future. Go back to sky sports sonny.

You probably are one of those knobs who brings his leprechaun suit and plastic hammer to the costa.

Thanks for coming.

ainsie
14/02/2007, 3:59 PM
Ouch, an intelligent answer, oh come on surely you could do better than that. Calling me a knob.

What do you mean

This post invalidates everything you will ever say in future

I gave an opinion. Yours was a well worn out rant,that we'll see in the next arguement and the next and the next. Why dont you just cut and paste. At least I tried to back up my opinion up.

Nailer77
14/02/2007, 4:06 PM
He shouldn't have gone on national television, telling everyone about it so then. :rolleyes:

Not an ounce of fact in your little rant.
The FAI have only just taken over the running of the league, for the first time in its history. You'd have known that if it was on Sky Sports though, I suppose.

Rubbish and blind rubbish at that. The FAI are the Football Association of Ireland, thats what it stands for son see. They are the administrators of the game in this country, thats their job. If the merge is only happening now then thats their problem. They've managed to make a balls of this game for 50 years now. If you think that the administrative body for football in this country is free from blame then you're deluded boy. Its their job, they haven't done it.

And it doesn't matter who Keith Wood told its still none of your business as to what you think 'his' dreams should be, thats why they're his not yours, can you get your head around that.

14/02/2007, 4:08 PM
Ouch, an intelligent answer, oh come on surely you could do better than that. Calling me a knob.

What do you mean

I gave an opinion. Yours was a well worn out rant,that we'll see in the next arguement and the next and the next. Why dont you just cut and paste. At least I tried to back up my opinion up.

Read the topic of this thread. It is about flags. You came on and started a rant about "second rate soccer" and Rovers being "a farty little club" which is pathetic.

And I need to get a life? So yes your original rubbish invalidates everything you will come up with because you are a WUM who cannot debate.

Found your rattle yet?

galwayhoop
14/02/2007, 7:40 PM
And it doesn't matter who Keith Wood told its still none of your business as to what you think 'his' dreams should be, thats why they're his not yours, can you get your head around that.

keith wood, in his capacity as a pundit on television, stated his 3 sporting dreams as a youngster. it is brought into the public domain. not a secret little dream or secret that is being 'outed' on this forum.

grow up.

it is embarassing, that an irish man would rather score for an english team in their national cup final than score a goal or represent his own country. he had 3 dreams - one for rugby, one for soccer and one for GAA. the 3 biggest team sports played on this island. one of them involved representing a team from another country - why not his own. BTW i'm not having a dig at wood here just the general impression given off by a lot of people in this country who seem to bow down to those accross the water when it comes to soccer and then profess undying love of their own in the international arena.

can YOU get your head around that?

14/02/2007, 10:27 PM
would every one calm down...we'll be grand...we're good in march anyway.....