View Full Version : San Marino v Ireland match thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]

dcfc1985
08/02/2007, 12:09 PM
Should have gave the MOM award to the san man fan who ran onto the pitch! or maybe he was one of their subs or coaching staff looking to get on tv?! :D :D

08/02/2007, 12:20 PM
Should have given it to a San Marino player, at least they earned it

tippex
08/02/2007, 12:29 PM
Just Read Ed Leahy on RTE.ie.

Very good read and quite interesting to see he is sying exactly what we are.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer//features/irelandsanmarino_leahy.html

Istabraq
08/02/2007, 12:41 PM
"Go back to Walsall". Dream on. They wouldnt touch him with a barge pole!

EalingGreen
08/02/2007, 12:52 PM
Just Read Ed Leahy on RTE.ie.

Very good read and quite interesting to see he is sying exactly what we are.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer//features/irelandsanmarino_leahy.html

EL's closing comment:

"Otherwise, we're all off to merge with the IFA and jump on the Norn Iron bandwagon!"

Er, thanks, Ed - but no need to call us, we'll get back to you on that...:cool:

08/02/2007, 1:00 PM
Have to agree with Garry Doyle in the mirror Hunt and Duff did well the rest
were awful.
The mirror? Is that still sold over here? Worst paper there is.

Mine'sABulmers
08/02/2007, 1:13 PM
To me Staunton's interview after was worse than the match - here is a man completely in denial.
Found this article which compares Staunton to Comical Ali - I think it's spot on - http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A19640568

Armando
08/02/2007, 3:31 PM
Should have gave the MOM award to the san man fan who ran onto the pitch! or maybe he was one of their subs or coaching staff looking to get on tv?! :D :D

I'm afraid that drunk buffoon was Irish:(

On a totally unrelated and pointless note: TV3's match clock was wrong - it was about 45 seconds too fast. This happened when the clock and scoreline left the screen for about 10 minutes. Ireland actually scored 8 seconds before the 4 mins injury time was up. Before I discovered this I was amazed that the ref hadn't blown for full time just before we got the throw in that led to the goal.

The Legend
08/02/2007, 4:04 PM
I know must will say, Staunton is to blame for getting into the players to perform well, I am very sure he did this all managers say to their players not to take it easy. Also, Staunton is not an experienced manager, what do people expect of him, to be like Alex Ferguson after 1 year of management. I think he should be judged after the Qualifiers, whether Ireland fail or do it. There is still a good 7 games to go.

You know what? Everything you say here might be right if Staunton was a normal person and ex-footballer.... but you have to say (and i even thought this when he was a player).... the guy can't even talk and if he's not the forrest gump of football, i am not sure who is!.

Wolfie
08/02/2007, 4:22 PM
..........the guy can't even talk and if he's not the forrest gump of football, i am not sure who is!.

Football is like a box of chocolates.............................

Armando
08/02/2007, 4:52 PM
First off, I am as bewildered as everybody about last nights debacle and this is in no way a justification of that shambles:

I decided to do a little research on San Marinos last World Cup qualifying campaign to see if any other teams have almost come unstuck away to them. I was quite surprised at some of their results.......perhaps that Germany 13-0 clouded our expectations? Maybe we we're a little presumptious to expect to get at least 4 goals when teams like Bosnia, Serbia, Lithuania and Belgium(all at least around our level of quality, if not better) also struggled?

San Marino - Spain 0:6

San Marino - Bosnia-Herzegovina 1:3

San Marino - Belgium 1:2

San Marino - Lithuania 0:1

San Marino - Serbia and Montenegro 0:3

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/t/match/index.html?zone=eur&ym=all&grp=WC2006PRLCTrpn1stSG7

Wolfie
08/02/2007, 4:56 PM
First off, I am as bewildered as everybody about last nights debacle and this is in no way a justification of that shambles:

I decided to do a little research on San Marinos last World Cup qualifying campaign to see if any other teams have almost come unstuck away to them. I was quite surprised at some of their results.......perhaps that Germany 13-0 clouded our expectations? Maybe we we're a little presumptious to expect to get at least 4 goals when teams like Bosnia, Serbia, Lithuania and Belgium(all at least around our level of quality, if not better) also struggled?

San Marino - Spain 0:6

San Marino - Bosnia-Herzegovina 1:3

San Marino - Belgium 1:2

San Marino - Lithuania 0:1

San Marino - Serbia and Montenegro 0:3

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/t/match/index.html?zone=eur&ym=all&grp=WC2006PRLCTrpn1stSG7

The number of goals / margin of victory is now a side issue.

It was the team performance that was so bad.

Armando
08/02/2007, 5:08 PM
Ye, I'm in total agreement with you there.
I suppose those stats are for all the people who are harping on about how Germany beat them 13-0, as if this is the norm, when it quite obviously is not.

Clipper
08/02/2007, 6:29 PM
It's all about how bad the performance was, and boy was it shocking. Did we create one really good chance in the first half? Robbie's miss aside I can't really remember their keeper having to make a save.
It's not like their keeper had a Tomashevsky (no no idea how to spell it!!) 90 minutes, there was no pressure put on their goal at all.

TommyT
09/02/2007, 12:34 AM
Why do the glory-hunting Micks support Ireland? They follow British clubs because Irish football isn't 'good enough' for them, yet they folly deh boyz in gree-in when England and even Cyprus and the Vatican are far better. Is it because follying Oireland gets them away from their ugly wives and gurlfriends now and again to drink themselves sick while dressed as leprechauns?

Fair point, but your addressing the wrong people, Shels and Longford embarrassing themselves and the nation against teams from Malta and Liechtenstein respectively didn't put me off the LOI and this and the Cyprus result won't put me off the national team.

BTW how come this thread is full of the usual heads from the EL section ? Where are the usual gob****es who post ''should so-and-so be considered for Ireland now he's swapped the UEFA Cup for League One'' type threads this section? Have they jumped off the bandwagon already ?

Will go to Croker wish it was in Dalyer/Tolka !

09/02/2007, 7:35 AM
Stan will or cannot go for the obvious reason than for some strange reason he was given a 4 year contract. The FAI cannot afford to sack him and shell out to Robson as well.

That was the main mistake in my opinion. I wasn't in favour of the appointment but who knows, it might have worked. The trouble is with a 4 year appointment there is no Plan B.

By the way, the support at the game was crap. Even early on before the true nature of the performance became apparent.

Bad night all round at the office. Amusing aside: the chant "Delaney must go!!" started after the equaliser. Then when Ireland scored the winner, some wags chanted "Delaney must stay, Delaney must stay!"

He got some stick from one fan in particular and he gave that fan some stick back when Ireland scored the winner. Thought it was unprofessional to be honest. He should have ignored it.

Come on you poison greens ;)

PaulB
09/02/2007, 8:02 AM
Going to matches for nigh on 30 years, and cyprus and san marino are probably the worst 2 ever, and stan has to take the blame, the man is not up to the job. We were misisng leadership on Wednesday, and Keane was nowhere to be found. The build up was so slow it was unreal, to quick passing, movement, I'd love to see an Ireland training session to see exactly what they do.

Also, Mick Byrne at the end of the Game, trying to get the crowd going, give me a break.

For the first time, I'd consider not renewing my BB, it's a shambles, something is seriously wrong here, and Delaney needs to get his finger out quick. In Robbie Keane's defence he was 1 out of 3 players who came over to applaud the fans at the end, even though he got dogs abuse. Duffer went half way they chagned his mind, and legged it down the tunnel.

09/02/2007, 8:13 AM
Why do the glory-hunting Micks support Ireland? They follow British clubs because Irish football isn't 'good enough' for them, yet they folly deh boyz in gree-in when England and even Cyprus and the Vatican are far better. Is it because follying Oireland gets them away from their ugly wives and gurlfriends now and again to drink themselves sick while dressed as leprechauns?
No it's because we have an affinity with our country but not with an Eircom league club. How in the name of God is that our fault? I follow the Eircom league but I'll never be able to support a team as there's just no EL team in my heart. Will people ever get this into your heads? Very few people just decide in their 20's "Ah Jaysus I'll support Bohs today".

Soper
09/02/2007, 10:14 AM
I have no affinity with Cardiff City eirebhoy, but I just go to watch them.It's live football at the end of the day.

Billsthoughts
09/02/2007, 10:38 AM
No it's because we have an affinity with our country but not with an Eircom league club. How in the name of God is that our fault? I follow the Eircom league but I'll never be able to support a team as there's just no EL team in my heart. Will people ever get this into your heads? Very few people just decide in their 20's "Ah Jaysus I'll support Bohs today".

If you dont care when your neighbours house is robbed dont be surprised if he laughs when your expensive mansion gets burned down....

have to say stans incompetance was obvious from the holland game....he should have went then.....but he got support from the very same people shaking their heads now and wondering where it all went wrong......:rolleyes:

09/02/2007, 11:10 AM
I have no affinity with Cardiff City eirebhoy, but I just go to watch them.It's live football at the end of the day.
http://www.stpatsfc.com/report.php?report=93

Attendance: 1,077

That was a night when noone else was playing.

Soper
09/02/2007, 11:21 AM
Sorry, but I don't see what you're getting at...?

09/02/2007, 11:37 AM
Sorry, but I don't see what you're getting at...?
I'm just showing that even EL die hearts don't seem to go and watch an EL game not involving their own team. A tiny percentage of games is made up by neutrals. I'm a neutral but I've been to Richmond Park plenty of times.

Soper
09/02/2007, 11:49 AM
Yeah, but I wouldn't really expect a Bohs fan to do that, just like I wouldn't expect a Rangers fan to see Celtic.

cavan_fan
09/02/2007, 12:05 PM

Because it's the only team I can support, which El team should I support Longford, Monaghan? I have no link to these places.

09/02/2007, 12:11 PM
True but what he was getting at is that while you may have no links to these places and thats fair enough but other people saying that as a reason and then turn round and support teams in Liverpool Manchester and Glasgow is absurd really

as_i_say
09/02/2007, 12:24 PM
True but what he was getting at is that while you may have no links to these places and thats fair enough but other people saying that as a reason and then turn round and support teams in Liverpool Manchester and Glasgow is absurd really

indeed it is. will never understand it. irish season ticket holders for man u or celtic or whatever.

danonion
09/02/2007, 12:52 PM
I don't think that EL supporters have a divine right to support Ireland and everyone else is a glory hunting fraud. Hypothetically, a fella from Cavan (probably too cheap to go to away games anyway) who is he supposed to support? Cavan people aren't to pushed about Monaghan, so thhhat is United out of the question, everyone who's not a dub hates the dubs, so that rules out Pat's, Boh's, Shamrock Rovers. Realistically, this hypothetical Cavan man is more likely to support the five time European champions Liverpool or the well marketed, sectarianspoitating Celtic than any Eircom club.

Personally, I am an American, I spent 3 months out of every year in Monaghan since I was born and I'm fairly fond of making a few trips to Century Homes, but at the end of the day, Ireland is the only team in my heart because of the stories the old boy told me about Giles, Bonner, Hughton and other players he watched. United were elected to the league the year he left Ireland for new york, so he could give a toss about them

cooee
09/02/2007, 12:55 PM
As kids a lot of people take up an interest in various sports, association football being one of the more popular ones in Ireland.
These kids play, train, win, lose etc. with their local club and build an affinity to that club (it could be anything from Rivervalley Rangers to Tooreendohenybeg Utd), most of these clubs are in Junior soccer.

Fact: There is no real link between the Junior clubs and the commercial senior eL association football teams in Ireland. In contrast the GAA allows seamless progress of support from club to county and players play with multiple teams so a kid has thru, their local GAA team an immediate link and thus affinity with the larger, higher level county teams.

At the same time the kids like to watch football on television, have posters on their walls - this means MOTD, Super Sunday etc., that's what's on TV, what's in the newsagents and so they build an affinity with an association football team that they see regularly and start to hope that team wins games, thus building into a supporter of that team. The fact that this team happens to be in England or Scotland is just a fact. When the promotion of the eL is better this may change, but it's an uphill battle. Hearts and Minds! This is the same reason there are many ManU supporters in London, Plymouth etc. the power of the media. It's not just the eL that have this problem.

Anyway back to the discussion and the "right" of non-eL supporting people to attend Irish games. Many of these people play, watch and support association football teams, albeit at a Junior level. I find it insulting and quite narrow minded that you feel in order to be a supporter of the Irish association football team you must be a supporter of an eL team. Many of the supporters are in fact actively involved in Junior association football. Can we attend? Do we have to bring our Bohs membership cards? Do you have to support a senior football team to attend Irish games?

Unless their paents are eL supporters and brring them to games or they happen to live close to a eL club or ground they are unlikely to progress to supporting an eL team.

Metrostars
09/02/2007, 1:44 PM
How much time did the 4th official hold up for injury time? I heard 2 minutes but the second goal came after 4 and a half.

Irish_Praha
09/02/2007, 1:49 PM
How much time did the 4th official hold up for injury time? I heard 2 minutes but the second goal came after 4 and a half.

I'm not sure but I hope against all hope that they are the 2 points that get us qualified. We lost out on qualifaction a few times in the past due to dodgy ref decisions so it's the least we deserve :p

cavan_fan
09/02/2007, 1:50 PM
I don't think that EL supporters have a divine right to support Ireland and everyone else is a glory hunting fraud. Hypothetically, a fella from Cavan (probably too cheap to go to away games anyway) who is he supposed to support? Cavan people aren't to pushed about Monaghan, so thhhat is United out of the question, everyone who's not a dub hates the dubs, so that rules out Pat's, Boh's, Shamrock Rovers. Realistically, this hypothetical Cavan man is more likely to support the five time European champions Liverpool or the well marketed, sectarianspoitating Celtic than any Eircom club.

By the way I dont support any clubs, can't create a feeling of attachment. Have to say I don't understand how people adopt teams to support, if it's not in your heart then you can't make yourself support someone.

cavan_fan
09/02/2007, 1:51 PM
I'm not sure but I hope against all hope that they are the 2 points that get us qualified. We lost out on qualifaction a few times in the past due to dodgy ref decisions so it's the least we deserve :p

Sadly there were 4 minutes time added on, guess the other 30 secs was for stoppages in stoppage time. No conspiracy there.

irishfan86
09/02/2007, 1:58 PM

You might have heard something about the TV feed clock freezing at one point.

The clock ran incorrectly and it was a minute fast so it threw people off a bit and I've heard some discussion about it on other boards.

Basically 4 minutes were added on, and Ireland's goal came before that 4 minutes ran out, but the TV feed showed that it was into the 5th minute due to their TV clock error.

Prof Hoffman
09/02/2007, 2:28 PM
The groundsman at Croke Park is worried about the state of the pitch after the Rugby match "I'll need to fertilise this pitch to get it up to standard!".
Steve Staunton replies "Don't worry, I'll be putting a pile of crap on it in March"

as_i_say
09/02/2007, 2:57 PM
tv3 muppets. tv3 out!

monutdfc
12/02/2007, 10:53 PM
I don't think that EL supporters have a divine right to support Ireland and everyone else is a glory hunting fraud. Hypothetically, a fella from Cavan (probably too cheap to go to away games anyway) who is he supposed to support? Cavan people aren't to pushed about Monaghan, so thhhat is United out of the question
Ah now, we've got rising stars Cian Mackey and Khalid Hussain who are both from Cavan in our squad this season, all Cavanmen are welcome at CHP.

fergalr
15/02/2007, 5:05 PM
Sorry folks, but I cannot get last week's fiasco out of my head.

I read this news story about Vanuatu (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/6363843.stm)today and immediately thought "where are they in the FIFA rankings (http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statistics/index/0,2548,All-Feb-2007,00.html)".

Believe it or not they are 26 places higher than San Marino.

If San Marino are a "handful" then Stan probably thinks a away point against Vanuatu would be a good result.

cavan_fan
15/02/2007, 6:00 PM
In case you havent seen the glory that is our defence yet

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aBdf7ANvs4s

Can anyone translate what the commentator is saying

15/02/2007, 6:44 PM
Oh Holy mother of God, that's far worse than the view I had of it (from the far end).

The commentator says something like "With four minutes to go, Murani found himself up against keeper Henderson, who screwed up badly, and Murani hit it in the direction of the net, and it was in. The first goal for San Marino in the campaign; 1-1 in the 86th minute. So close to their first ever point in a qualification game. Shocking error from Henderson; in total, the fifth goal for San Marino..."

It's in German, for some reason. :confused:

Are the Irish goals up anywhere?

Edit - tell you what, though - good finish. (That video's like a car wreck...can't stop watching it...)

cavan_fan
15/02/2007, 7:17 PM
Oh Holy mother of God, that's far worse than the view I had of it (from the far end).

Edit - tell you what, though - good finish. (That video's like a car wreck...can't stop watching it...)

As I said elsewhere if O'Shea had done what McShane did we'd have had him hung out to dry

15/02/2007, 7:20 PM
It's clearly Henderson's fault though. All he had to do was stay on his six yard box and McShane would probably have cleared back to him.

But yeah, O'Shea's different. :)

Edit - in fact, McShane is clearly pushed by Murani. Free out, it should have been.

15/02/2007, 8:03 PM
Photos (http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v239/SchumiUCD/San%20Marino/). The Delaney Out one didn't come out too well unfortunately.

SuperDave
16/02/2007, 10:16 AM
does anybody else think the ref in that video looks like the one from that episode of father ted?