View Full Version : San Marino v Ireland match thread
07/02/2007, 7:45 PM
Looks like the 4 year plan is coming to a premature end
Have we ever won a game on TV3:confused: Kiss of Death - "it surely can't get any worse in the second half"
Not looking good at all. :( New manager might be the only thing to get some interest going before the Croker games - disastrous timing for all concerned. New Chief Executive is surely too much to hope for.
Remember when Keane and Duff were among the best young players in Europe? Hard to imagine.
What is it with balls, you just have to wallop them don't you? :rolleyes:
finnpark
07/02/2007, 7:46 PM
Does any1 know if there is any in play beeting on this. I layed Ireland at 1/50 before the match on Betfair and was hoping to back them off at high odds during play. Betfair have no in play betting though:confused:
lofty9
They have had more possession than us?:eek:
The players have got to take some abuse then.
Cant see Staunton getting the sack no matter what. Delaney would have to go then as he was responsible for hiring im.
Match Stats:Possession; SMR 54% - 46% IRL
:eek: Jaysus!!
07/02/2007, 7:47 PM
Looks like the 4 year plan is coming to a premature end.
Well, if losing 5 goals in Cyprus didn't...
He doesn't have a plan, full stop. The HAHA boss, in the HAHA job.
cavan_fan
07/02/2007, 7:47 PM
Match Stats:
(San Marino - Ireland)
Possession; SMR 54% - 46% IRL
I'm only listening but I find that hard to believe
disaster.. should throw hunt on now. at least he'll try a bit.
No wonder they got booed off.
Fergie's Son
07/02/2007, 7:48 PM
He won't get fired no matter what the result.
O'Shea is off and McShane is on.
Not exactly attack minded is he...
Come on Ireland!!!
07/02/2007, 7:49 PM
O'Shea off, McShane on.:confused:
07/02/2007, 7:50 PM
He doesn't have a plan, full stop. .
You spoke too soon!
PAUL McSHANE to the rescue! Take that San Marino! Just try getting past our mighty defence now...
He won't get fired no matter what the result.
O'Shea is off and McShane is on.
Not exactly attack minded is he...
Come on Ireland!!!
Too big off a pay off to hand out even if we are to be well beat.
07/02/2007, 7:51 PM
Have we ever won a game on TV3:confused:
3-2 v Malta (a) 1999. Staunton scored the winner. :rolleyes:
07/02/2007, 7:52 PM
1-0...'Bout time
cavan_fan
07/02/2007, 7:53 PM
It had to be Kilbane!
Fergie's Son
1-0.
My favourite, Kilbane :rolleyes:
A result is a result.
Now let's get another goal or 2.
Irish_Praha
That's kilbane a shoo-in for the next game then :rolleyes:
lofty9
07/02/2007, 7:55 PM
I missed the goal. damn bladder!
republicofwhite
07/02/2007, 7:55 PM
Originally posted by DUNPHY: I'm ashamed to be Irish.
You know you're in dire straits when you need Kev Kilbane to bail you out...
07/02/2007, 7:56 PM
Is the match in Belfield? Sounds like it.
Lads a result is a result. It was bound to be a scrappy game it being San Marino. I'm not worried about the performance, just as long as we win.
republicofwhite
07/02/2007, 8:02 PM
You are way too optimistic. Are you actually watching it? Its embarrassing and shameful, its basically shows us how woefully inept we actually are under this "manager" Its a reality check. McShane is dying to get on the score sheet. Whats the bets Alan O'Brien comes on for Duffer... That would be the cherry on my cake:rolleyes:
cavan_fan
07/02/2007, 8:03 PM
On a lighter note from bbc.co.uk
2052: The action resumes in San Marino. A win, or even a point, would see the Republic of Ireland climb above Latvia into fourth spot in Group F.
That would be some achievement
cavan_fan
07/02/2007, 8:04 PM
You are way too optimistic. Are you actually watching it? Its embarrassing and shameful, its basically shows us how woefully inept we actually are under this "manager" Its a reality check. McShane is dying to get on the score sheet. Whats the bets Alan O'Brien comes on for Duffer... That would be the cherry on my cake:rolleyes:
Fortunately he's not on the bench
You obviously havtn given Stan enough time. OK a year might seem a lot but considering we havnt played too many games under him we need to give him time. What good is it getting on his back, we all know the FAI wont sack him. Do you really expect a top performance with the team thats out. No Given, O'Brien, Kavanagh, Doyle etc. There are players to come back who will make the side better. Also theyoung players on tonight will get a bit of experience for them in the future
Adrianovic
07/02/2007, 8:15 PM
I'm not watching tonight, but I am listening and I have seen most of the games under Stan's reign.
In a nutshell, I think he is an adequate to mediocre manager in charge of a derth of talent. We're awful, but I don't think any other manager on the shortlist would have got any other points barring the Cyprus disaster.
Ade
Metrostars
07/02/2007, 8:17 PM
You obviously havtn given Stan enough time. OK a year might seem a lot but considering we havnt played too many games under him we need to give him time. What good is it getting on his back, we all know the FAI wont sack him. Do you really expect a top performance with the team thats out. No Given, O'Brien, Kavanagh, Doyle etc. There are players to come back who will make the side better. Also theyoung players on tonight will get a bit of experience for them in the future
Wow, you are really a glass-half-full kind of person...
The Legend
07/02/2007, 8:20 PM
Could someone tell me any of Staunton's redeeming factors? A retarded monkey could do better than that fool!
07/02/2007, 8:25 PM
This'll go down as one of San Marino's best results EVER, just second behind their 1-0 win over the mighty Liechtenstein.
Fergie's Son
07/02/2007, 8:26 PM
Staunton has been very, very poor. I have yet to see anything that impresses.
Walk me through what he has done right?
07/02/2007, 8:30 PM
SWEET FANCY MOSES!:eek:
Please leave Stan.
Fergie's Son
Oh no.
This is unreal.
He HAS TO BE SACKED. HE MUST GO.
Enough is enough.
Jebus wept !! :eek:
What a joke:mad:
Adrianovic
I'll never live this one down.
Ade
07/02/2007, 8:31 PM
Mortified absolutely mortified. Thank fck I'm in the states nobody knows any better.
sickened, just sickened.
Stan - go.
cavan_fan
07/02/2007, 8:31 PM
I just hope he has the self respect to go straight after the match
07/02/2007, 8:32 PM
has to get the sack now
07/02/2007, 8:33 PM
bbc.co.uk:
2129: GOAL San Marino 1-1 Republic of Ireland
If you thought England were doing badly check out that scoreline.
Take Delaney with ye Stan
Fergie's Son
He won't resign.
He should but he won't.
I am flying back for the first match in Croker but why bother now.
This is depressing.
Irish_Praha
Sweet Jesus :o
I don't take much notice of FIFA World rankings but that has to be us down 10 to 20 places.
Delaney can sod off as well
I'll never live this one down.
With Spain beating Inger-land, I had been looking forward to goading my English mate. Clearly that ain't going to happen now. I'll be making myself very scarce for the next while.
Damn you Stan. PFO. :(
daithi
07/02/2007, 8:34 PM
I hope Delaney is happy now.............. Go Stan...
lofty9
07/02/2007, 8:34 PM
Are San Marino the worst team in Europe?
No we are:mad: