View Full Version : BB Croker letters
What we reckon?? Last I heard that there was approx 5,000 people on the waiting list. Average that at about 2/3 tickets per person, probably would make up the 12k the FAI are on about. Its just gonna be a case of wait and see now im afraid.
SuperDave
06/02/2007, 3:19 PM
I called the FAI ticket office and they said invoices for the lot had been posted on monday, including ALL block bookers and waiting listers. They said they were posted at the same time and all were due back for monday.
Frankly I think that stinks as the fans in san marino are probably all going to be bbs or waiting listers and the deadline is far too early. It should have been next friday. I mean, if you live down the country and are only getting back from san marino on friday, what chance have you of getting the form back by post for monday? an absolute joke.
I do need to add that this doesn't apply to me, even though i am going to san marino, as I will be back in dublin on sunday and will be able to drop the form around personally, but there are bound to people inconvenienced by ridiculous fai ineptitude once again.
06/02/2007, 4:06 PM
ya, how stupid are they in fairness, are they boxed up in a cave away from reality for 365 days of the year?
For the information of those of you who are on the waiting list and are getting qualifiers for the first time I would like to inform you that the girls in the ticket office are actually very competent and are very polite to speak to and deal with.
With regards to the application, it has always been like this. You always get about 7 days to return your application and in my mind its more than enough.
The ticket office staff have to sort through the applications and get the individual seats allocated. I can assure you that if you ring up the Ticket Office next tuesday and say you were in san marino they will accept your applications.
For the information of those of you who are on the waiting list and are getting qualifiers for the first time I would like to inform you that the girls in the ticket office are actually very competent and are very polite to speak to and deal with.
With regards to the application, it has always been like this. You always get about 7 days to return your application and in my mind its more than enough.
The ticket office staff have to sort through the applications and get the individual seats allocated. I can assure you that if you ring up the Ticket Office next tuesday and say you were in san marino they will accept your applications.
Agreed, i dont believe they will enforce the deadline that tightly, get the letter to them on Tuesday or Wednesday and you should be ok. Anyways lets get offered the tickets first. Christ a full house for each of the games is gonna be something else!!
galwayhoop
06/02/2007, 7:39 PM
if you don't think your letter will get there for monday then just get your proof of postage when you send it and ring the FAI office to let them know. would be very suprised if you didn't get them.
WexDec
07/02/2007, 12:37 AM
Just heard from the first of my lot that they've received the letter. He asked for a pair and was in the 5,000s on the BB waiting list and got his so that seems to be the proof of the pudding.
The only thing is and this will p1ss some off no end - he asked for upper cusack/hogan and got lower cusack BUT says it still says 50 euro a ticket on it ! The price probably a mistake that will be rectified when payment is being processed (you would think !) but transition from upper to lower is very strange. The presumption would be all upper tiers and Davin stand tickets were full when came to allocation of the dregs of the waiting list.
WexDec
07/02/2007, 12:49 AM
The rest of us went for lower and asked to be grouped so will hear back from 3 other applications tomorrow. Mine will be at my Wexford address (I work in Dublin) so will find out at the weekend and just bring it in myself on Monday. Whats the story can you pay with cash in Merrion Square at the ticket office or does it have to be done via the post or handed in with cheque/bank draft/postal order. Have 3 on mine so will get the cash off the lads not putting it on my CC, not enough credit. Sh1t myself at first thinking it'd be 280 each but remembered its just payment for the first two matches thank God.
If first mate, who was the only one out of 7 of us to go for upper, does get his lower seats for 20 euro cheaper than us a piece :eek: cos there were no 50 euro tickets left (which is the price he applied for) he'll do some laughing at us all year ! Am still open to the possibility he was taking the p1ss but he didn't sound like it to be honest. Least it should mean we've got our lower stand seats (two of the applications were from sub 2k list for 3 tickets each). 12 tickets all in if we get them. Have to admit am surprised at that, no wonder its completely sold out.
WexDec
07/02/2007, 12:53 AM
Christ a full house for each of the games is gonna be something else!!
The upper side tiers must've been the very first to sell out by the sounds of it. Jesus its gonna be cracking with a chocka stadium and no general salers even (ignoring corpos and GAA tourists.....they'd love that comment in their own stadium but its truly ours for the day given the rent demanded !.......still love them calling Hill 16 the "Northern Terrace", class)
reder
07/02/2007, 10:07 AM
Just heard from the first of my lot that they've received the letter. He asked for a pair and was in the 5,000s on the BB waiting list and got his so that seems to be the proof of the pudding.
The only thing is and this will p1ss some off no end - he asked for upper cusack/hogan and got lower cusack BUT says it still says 50 euro a ticket on it ! The price probably a mistake that will be rectified when payment is being processed (you would think !) but transition from upper to lower is very strange. The presumption would be all upper tiers and Davin stand tickets were full when came to allocation of the dregs of the waiting list.
Dont want to be a barer of bad news but maybe the FAI are actually pricing the blocks in the corner of the main stands lower as they will be outside the perimeter of the pitch. Your seat might be in the lower cusack but right down down beside the Davin or northern terrace. I reckon the centre blocks within the perimeter of the pitch are €70 and the ones in the main stand lower tiers outside the perimeter of the pitch are €50.
Still brings a smile to my face call it the northern terrace.
Bluetonic
07/02/2007, 10:30 AM
I reckon the centre blocks within the perimeter of the pitch are €75 and the ones in the main stand lower tiers outside the perimeter of the pitch are €50.
Have they changed the pricing?
The original pricing was 50 euro and 70 euro, no mention of 75 euro tickets.
Anyhow, surely none of the seat are within the perimeter of the pitch, if they were you'd be on the actual pitch.
Eire06
07/02/2007, 11:16 AM
Hey,
Did everyone\anyone who's on the BB Waiting list get offered tickets.
My friend asked for 2 he's in the waiting list and hasn't got any letter yet
Bluetonic
07/02/2007, 11:24 AM
Hey,
Did everyone\anyone who's on the BB Waiting list get offered tickets.
Post 57 of this thread (5 before yours :))
http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=618156&postcount=57
joe316
07/02/2007, 11:50 AM
hey,
just received my letter today, been on the waiting list for about 2/3 years asked for two lower hogan/cusack tickets, got lower cusack so very happy with that.
07/02/2007, 12:19 PM
eire06, just wondering but my mate and myself applied for the home address and never received it, wonder if its something to do with being from down the country!!
i have been on it for nearly 2 years or so, unless its going with highest entries posted first? though they told me at the ticket office everything was posted friday.
kev107
07/02/2007, 12:22 PM
SORTED.....I was approx 1,500 on the waiting list. Requested 3 Canal Lower tickets and got the letter confirming that I am sorted today. 3 x 50 euro
Milesmayhem24
07/02/2007, 12:53 PM
Just got letter there today. Was looking for upper cusack/hogan but got lower canal. Still a ticket's a ticket!
footballplease
07/02/2007, 12:55 PM
hey,
just received my letter today, been on the waiting list for about 2/3 years asked for two lower hogan/cusack tickets, got lower cusack so very happy with that.
ok - nothing against you joe, but this is what i was talking about earlier in this discussion. I've been getting my BB tickets for the past 8 years or so and am stuck up in the gods in the upper davin stand and someone on the waiting list gets prime seats in the lower cusack! :rolleyes: :mad:
FFS, makes you want to burst a certain little waherford man!!!
TheJamaicanP.M.
07/02/2007, 12:58 PM
I've been on the BB list for 9 years and had 2 tickets for all games. I requested 6 lower stand tickets and got my invoice last week saying I had 6 Lower Hogan tickets. I'd say those on the waiting list will receive their letters this week and there should be no problem accommodating everyone.
joe316
07/02/2007, 1:01 PM
hey,
ok - nothing against you joe, but this is what i was talking about earlier in this discussion. I've been getting my BB tickets for the past 8 years or so and am stuck up in the gods in the upper davin stand and someone on the waiting list gets prime seats in the lower cusack! :rolleyes: :mad:
FFS, makes you want to burst a certain little waherford man!!!
yeah totally agree with you, i thought that they would have accomadated the bbs first and then us, would have meant sense but you know the fai.
i suppose i wont mention that a mate who is on the list for six months got 7 for lower cusack. sorry
Bluetonic
07/02/2007, 1:01 PM
[I]
Hold on for a second, didn't you say that you asked for upper cusack/hogan as your first preference?
i asked for was 2 tickets for the Cusack or Hogan Upper stands and i got 2 Upper Davin (ya wha?!!!) tickets!!!
Your first preference wasn't available so you were offered upper canal. How are the FAI to know that your preference wasn't for an 'upper' view over a ticket in a section that is more expensive than your original preference.
I think you need to get a grip on the reality of the situation. I'm sure if they had given you tickets at a cost of 20 euro more than your first preference you'd have been giving out too.
What are the FAI to do, ring all the applicants until everyone is happy. :rolleyes:
Surely you can do the maths, at 17,000 upper hogan/cusack there was a possibility not everyone of the long standing block bookers (even over 8 years) could be satisfied if a majority of them were to go for this preference.
I'd say the FAI were right to offer you tickets of a equal price in an equal upper vantage point.
Eire06
07/02/2007, 1:10 PM
eire06, just wondering but my mate and myself applied for the home address and never received it, wonder if its something to do with being from down the country!!
i have been on it for nearly 2 years or so, unless its going with highest entries posted first? though they told me at the ticket office everything was posted friday.
He's on the list for 4 years or so, so he's bound to be high up on it..
Maybe there's a conspiracy against us, that all the Connaught letters are being stopped at athlone.
Its those pesky postmen I tell ya :rolleyes:
07/02/2007, 1:11 PM
in the preferences, was it lower cusack/lower hogan as one option to tick?
i cant remember what it was like, so am trying to figure out what i ticked!
footballplease
07/02/2007, 1:13 PM
Not so, bluetonic! I requested tickets in the stands at the side of the pitch (upper as i said), thinking that most of the lower stand tickets would go to suits but ended up behind the goal. Cost is not an issue as many other fans will agree. That was my moan.
Hey look, im just delighted to be there but my gripe was that surely the best seats should have been reserved for the BB fans who have been paying for tickets for years. Other than that - im delighted!!
Bluetonic
07/02/2007, 1:19 PM
I'm not having a grip at you, just I'm sure you can see things from the eyes of the FAI. If they automatically started shifting people to 70 euro seats from their 50 euro first preference people would have a field day.
Although you haven't, people often make decisions based on price alone and not vantage point.
Bluetonic
07/02/2007, 1:21 PM
in the preferences, was it lower cusack/lower hogan as one option to tick?
i cant remember what it was like, so am trying to figure out what i ticked!
I think there were 4 options
Lower Canal
Upper Canal
Lower Cusack/Hogan
Upper Cusack/Hogan
Newryrep
07/02/2007, 1:34 PM
I am sure somebody will post a Swap Shop topic for those looking to swap (minus Noel Edmunds, etc).
I havent recieved my letter yet although it may of came today:
07/02/2007, 1:46 PM
Lower Cusack/Hogan
ya thats what i think i ticked alright. cheers bluetonic.
WexDec
07/02/2007, 6:01 PM
Dont want to be a barer of bad news but maybe the FAI are actually pricing the blocks in the corner of the main stands lower as they will be outside the perimeter of the pitch. Your seat might be in the lower cusack but right down down beside the Davin or northern terrace. I reckon the centre blocks within the perimeter of the pitch are €70 and the ones in the main stand lower tiers outside the perimeter of the pitch are €50.
I asked for lower, i.e. 70e, tickets. We all did just one mate asked for upper but got lower at same cheaper price. Your corner block theory sounds plausible maybe even likely as I had been saying to the lads value wise its real hit and miss cos for 70e you could be a few yards away from 50e lower Davin. Same goes for getting back of lower stand (covered) if raining instead of p1ssed on for the same 70e at the front, or back of upper side stands miles from pitch or surely the value for money seat in the house is at the front of the upper. There was a risk of good and bad seats within the scope of whatever box you ticked.
I think most weighed up the view/atmosphere risks vs the price. For those that went for upper regardless of how long you've been a BB you can't expect the FAI to change you to a more expensive lower tier ticket as they reckon its better value or you'd like it more. They WOULD be crucified for that. I know half our group wanted upper purely because it was the best value for money. We just tipped them towards forking out that extra 20 euro because I thought everybody would go for upper and we'd end up in upper canal for the same price or at the back of the stand once BBs got their's.
WexDec
07/02/2007, 6:09 PM
We're waiting on 5 letters. 1 is for down the country (mine !) and other 4 are Dublin. Only heard from one guy that got his yesterday and 2 haven't got there's yet (including today's post) and haven't heard from last guy. I don't believe something could be posted to a Dublin address last Friday and not have arrived yet. I posted money for a club ticket to a Dublin address last week just before evening collection and he had it the next morning !
michaelguineys
07/02/2007, 6:21 PM
Got my letter today. Asked for 5 tickets and i actually got 5 tickets!! Cant believe it. They are for Lower Davin.
It is a bit ridiculous tho that i received the letter this evening and have to have the €500 to em for monday!!!!!
08/02/2007, 9:22 AM
mine didn't arrive yesterday so fingers crossed I have it when I get home.....
Anyone actually get a letter saying they didn't get tickets??
08/02/2007, 9:36 AM
Still no sign of mine, pretty much given up all hope now :(
Loadedscream
08/02/2007, 9:55 AM
I asked for 6, not got the letter yet but after last night I might not take any!!!
08/02/2007, 9:57 AM
I was blaming the longer postal time to get it to the UK but maybe I've missed out :(
08/02/2007, 10:18 AM
I got my letter yesterday. Applied for 4 tickets for the Lower Hogan. Was offered 4 tickets for Lower Cusack. I sent a letter asking to be offered tickets for any potential singing section. There was no reference to this in their offer. If there is a singing section I would be willing to trade my ticket for one in the Davin .
08/02/2007, 10:19 AM
still waiting on mine too test. :(
going to ring them today and notify them, so that they can send another form or a) assuming i get it tomorrow will wait for payment a bit longer.
michaelguineys
08/02/2007, 10:34 AM
Email them, I emailed a lady called Mary Byrne yesterday , MByrne@fai.ie , and she emailed me back straight away and told me I had received my allocation and that they went out in the post to me and they were at home when i got there.
She seems to be very good at her job adn very helpful so I wuold email her if i was you.
At least someone in the FAI seems to be competent!!!
Mary Byrne for Chief Exec!!! ha ha
beautifulrock
08/02/2007, 11:21 AM
Any UK based "waiting listers" received their letters yet? tight turnaround time for Monday as still not got mine. Although I am sure we will not be penalised if we are a few days late.
Newryrep
09/02/2007, 7:32 AM
I was blaming the longer postal time to get it to the UK but maybe I've missed out :(
shakermaker i only got my letter yesterday, will be posted today got 2 upper Davin as requested , phone or email them the ticket office quoting your customer reference. Mine is still WL XXXXX which i am assume still means waiting list. Are the block booker references BB XXXXX.
09/02/2007, 7:34 AM
Mine arrived yesterday - phew! Lower Cusack. Missus had a rant when she fount out it was 70 euro's a ticket but oh well!!!
Still havent got mine either, in fairness like if they posted the letters last week as they said, the letters would surely be out to everyone by now. Gonna give them a ring later today. Its a bit much asking people to have the money in on monday when they're only receiving the letters a day or two before hand.
RedMick
09/02/2007, 8:37 AM
Got my letter yesterday, asked for 4 (Upper Davin) offered four (Upper Davin), sent letter back in last post yesterday, cant see them being super strict on the Monday deadline though
Eire06
09/02/2007, 8:56 AM
My friend got his a bit late though..
FAI posted application letter to 185 XXXXXXX (correct address) and then posted offer to 158 xxxxxxx (Wrong addess) typical FAI, lucky for him that the post man knows him...
Bluetonic
09/02/2007, 9:18 AM
There were 'very few' returned yesterday when I dropped mine into reception.
RogerMilla
09/02/2007, 9:36 AM
lads its daftness , they send out the forms while we are in italy and you are expected to have paid up by monday!! still i got my allocation so happy days
joe_barry80
09/02/2007, 9:45 AM
I applied for 2 per game was 5000 and something on the list. surely they have some thing for me? Although I live in europe Irish Post and all a letter will be late.
09/02/2007, 10:19 AM
applied for 4, only got the letter today. i have been charged 280 for 4 tickets per game, so i am assuming lower cusack/lower hogan is what i got. can someone tell me where does it say it on the invoice ( your seats are ), as my mother couldn't spot it anywhere......
I emailed the FAI yesterday and they told me as long as it arrives next week you will be fine. to be fair to them, I can see why they did this, they wanted the payments and invoices back ASAP, so they just said monday to ensure as many people would get them in as quickly as possible and not do the irish thing, "ah sure it will be grand, ill send them in in a couple of days!"
highlight100
09/02/2007, 10:30 AM
FAI Allocates Tickets for Croke Park Matches
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Tuesday, 06 February 2007 Section: FAI News
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All existing FAI block bookers, clubs, supporter groups, leagues and affiliates are receiving confirmation of their ticket allocations this week. This follows a hugely increased demand for the home matches. Over 12,000 fans who had previously been on waiting lists for tickets have also had their ticket requests accommodated.
This is what the F.A.I posted on their website on Tuesday.
I did not recieve a letter so i rang today and was told that no tickets were avaliable.Was around 4000 on the WL.
boo hoo hoo!