View Full Version : Stephen Kenny to Dunfermline?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

lofty9
08/11/2006, 2:16 PM
dcfcSteve Clear your PM's.

cheech
08/11/2006, 2:30 PM
You can have Anthony Gorman if you want lads ;)

Just heard there on Radio Foyle that an announcement is to be made shortly. Doesn't sound good for Derry.

Await the return of Felix.

It will effect Harps as well as we've been hearing very strong rumours of Higgsy and/or Pizza taking over us. I'd say Higgsy will definitely be Kenny's replacement.

Krstic
08/11/2006, 2:36 PM
kristic why is it likely?

as in does this rumour have legs?

If you'd heard the radio Foyle interview this morning, you'd be left with no other option but to feel that kenny's at the very least been talking to Dunfermline.

Although i'll be gutted if it happens, i do however wish him all the best.

As for a replacement, I'd go with (and i know this will not be popular with all Derry fans) Felix Healy:eek:

08/11/2006, 2:40 PM
well thats a long way from getting the job

several higher profile candidates have been linked publicly - cant see it happening for kenny

08/11/2006, 2:45 PM

several higher profile candidates have been linked publicly - cant see it happening for kennyBBC have just changed their headline to "Kenny to be named as Pars boss".

08/11/2006, 2:46 PM
If you'd heard the radio Foyle interview this morning, you'd be left with no other option but to feel that kenny's at the very least been talking to Dunfermline.

Although i'll be gutted if it happens, i do however wish him all the best.

As for a replacement, I'd go with (and i know this will not be popular with all Derry fans) Felix Healy:eek:Tony Doc Director of Football with Higgsy Manager/COach. The dream team!

Krstic
08/11/2006, 2:47 PM

several higher profile candidates have been linked publicly - cant see it happening for kenny

Why??

08/11/2006, 2:59 PM
Rading that BBC Scotland article it sounds like a done deal. Expect to see a trail of talented young Eircom league players following Kenny over in the transfer window. He seems to be a good man manager and expects professionalism from his players, they seem to have huge respect for him, from talking to a player who played for him at Bohs and nearly followed him to Derry.

08/11/2006, 3:02 PM
Rading that BBC Scotland article it sounds like a done deal. Expect to see a trail of talented young Eircom league players following Kenny over in the transfer window. He seems to be a good man manager and expects professionalism from his players, they seem to have huge respect for him, from talking to a player who played for him at Bohs and nearly followed him to Derry.

Like everything - some of them do some of them dont - I know a couple who wouldnt be so complimentary

learned his trade at pats of course so best wishes King Kenny

08/11/2006, 3:05 PM
Rading that BBC Scotland article it sounds like a done deal. Expect to see a trail of talented young Eircom league players following Kenny over in the transfer window. He seems to be a good man manager and expects professionalism from his players, they seem to have huge respect for him, from talking to a player who played for him at Bohs and nearly followed him to Derry.Not sure on that.
Many of the Derry players have families and have been to the UK before and had negative experiences.

I'd say he'll take a one or two but hopefully we'll get a few bob for them.

cheech
08/11/2006, 3:10 PM
Does this mess up Pizza to manage Harps?

Do Derry fans honestly think that is the end of that if Kenny moves? Surely Kenny will take Kelly with him leaving Pizza with his guarenteed start once again.

08/11/2006, 3:26 PM
Expect the national team forum to be inundated with "Kenny for Ireland" threads as soon as he steers Dunfermline to that vital 0-0 draw with Amalgamated Thistlebank Caledonians in the preliminary qualifying round of the Tesco Jockrot Trophy.

08/11/2006, 3:27 PM
Terrible for the league if he goes.Big loss as he is a future Ireland manager IMO. Derry have a great chance of repeating or even bettering their European exploits again next season. However without Kenny I don't think progress will be made next year. He will surely bring players with him as well. On the other hand can you blame a manager with the talent he has to get out of a league like this?

08/11/2006, 3:30 PM
if he doesnt bring players he's on hiding to nothing - dunfermeline are rock bottom

would be good to see a stephen kenny ex-eircom league select walk the SPL

will set back aiden mcgeadys rise to obscurity back another two years

08/11/2006, 3:33 PM
Terrible for the league if he goes.Big loss as he is a future Ireland manager IMO.

Yeah he certainly has the pedigree to bottle big play off games which seems to be a pre-requisite for the Ireland manager's job. Though they've moved the goalposts with Staunton. Now it seems complete incompetance is required, in which case Gareth Farrelly is next in line.

08/11/2006, 5:40 PM
Does this mess up Pizza to manage Harps?

Do Derry fans honestly think that is the end of that if Kenny moves? Surely Kenny will take Kelly with him leaving Pizza with his guarenteed start once again.

Oman is the new Pizza in the centre of defence, and at Pizza's age any extension to his playing career would be merely temporary.

Red&White
08/11/2006, 5:50 PM
Expect the national team forum to be inundated with "Kenny for Ireland" threads as soon as he steers Dunfermline to that vital 0-0 draw with Amalgamated Thistlebank Caledonians in the preliminary qualifying round of the Tesco Jockrot Trophy.

Very true.

The Sheliban
08/11/2006, 5:57 PM
Yeah he certainly has the pedigree to bottle big play off games.

What is it about Bohs fans and Kenny that they cannot admit they made one of the biggest mistakes in recent football history by sacking the chap for getting knocked out of the first round of Europe? They always feel the need to get little digs in to absolve themselves of any blame for that decision.

sonofstan
08/11/2006, 6:04 PM
This certainly throws the whole management merry go round open again - Sean Connor could go to Derry, we could get Nutsy and Shels could replace him with, oh, I don't know, Keeley or someone suited to their reduced circumstances

Aaron
08/11/2006, 6:20 PM
This certainly throws the whole management merry go round open again - Sean Connor could go to Derry, we could get Nutsy and Shels could replace him with, oh, I don't know, Keeley or someone suited to their reduced circumstances

My view is that if Stephen Kenny does leave then we should look to England or Scotland for a manager. There are not many managers who could carry on wot Kenny has acheived in Ireland if any. Some say Pat Fenlon, no ****in chance, some say Pat Dolan, Maybe but i think we should look outside of Ireland for a new manager

lofty9
08/11/2006, 6:24 PM
My view is that if Stephen Kenny does leave then we should look to England or Scotland for a manager. There are not many managers who could carry on wot Kenny has acheived in Ireland if any. Some say Pat Fenlon, no ****in chance, some say Pat Dolan, Maybe but i think we should look outside of Ireland for a new manager

I hope Declan Devine is given the job. But he will probably go with Kenny as I couldn't possibly believe that any Scotsman could understand a word from Paul Hegarty's gob.

sonofstan
08/11/2006, 6:40 PM

Even with pots of money, its not that easy attracting anyone from Britain to a job over here, as we have found, and Dublin is a lot handier than Derry - they are condemning themselves to invisibilty, and for young managers, that's unacceptable; you might get someone at the end of his career but you don't want that

SwanVsDalton
08/11/2006, 6:44 PM
Looks inevitable- a complete shame but no hard feelings towards a superb manager. Reckon Higgsy's going to get the nod, perhaps with someone with him. Bring back Buggsy I say! The -sy Dream Team!

headtheball
08/11/2006, 6:55 PM
I Doubt Higgsy will give up his job. I would like to see Brain Kerr be approached. He has the same precision to detail which SK had. I know he has said in the past he wont be managing in Eircom league again, but he been umemployed for a year now and the Brandywell is an excited place at the minute for any manager.

bohs til i die
08/11/2006, 8:08 PM
What is it about Bohs fans and Kenny that they cannot admit they made one of the biggest mistakes in recent football history by sacking the chap for getting knocked out of the first round of Europe? They always feel the need to get little digs in to absolve themselves of any blame for that decision.

Because at the time it wasnt the wrong decision and he wasnt just sacked for losing to Levadia Tallinn.

Aaron
08/11/2006, 8:28 PM
Because at the time it wasnt the wrong decision and he wasnt just sacked for losing to Levadia Tallinn.

Sure Shels had a bad patch last season after winning the league the previous two years and you didnt exactly see Ollie jumping to sack Fenlon. The fact is the Bohs board cocked up and all Bohs fans know this only they're too narrow minded to say so. Every manager goes through a bad patch, its football, they're only human, dosnt mean they deserve the sack

08/11/2006, 8:39 PM

The stadium issue will probably prevent us from getting a decent manager from outside Ireland. Few ambitious people would join a club with the facilities we have, and only vague hopes of improving on them.

Take a bow Derry City Council.... :mad:

bohs til i die
08/11/2006, 8:43 PM
Sure Shels had a bad patch last season after winning the league the previous two years and you didnt exactly see Ollie jumping to sack Fenlon. The fact is the Bohs board cocked up and all Bohs fans know this only they're too narrow minded to say so. Every manager goes through a bad patch, its football, they're only human, dosnt mean they deserve the sack

At the time we wwere replacing some of our better players with players who werent so good becauase Kenny had fallen out with them. Robbie Doyle was started ahead of Keegan and then allowed to leave so Kenny could sign Grant. Derek Coughlan forced out of the club.

Our results/form had been very inconsistant for well over a year and we had a dozen players out of contract and Kenny was stalling on the re-negotiatons because he wanted his contract sorted first.

The FACT is the board cocked up by giving Gareth Farrelly the job. Kenny's time at Bohs had come to an end, things were on a slide and there was no sign of a turnaround. Things were much different in 2004 as Derry & Drogheda were off the pace and Cork were only just catching ourselves and Shels.

In 2003 we took 7 points from 4 games with Shels [who took 4] yet we finished 5 points behind them. It was much the same in 2004.

If we had replaced Kenny with a football manager and were still title contenders and in the mix for other trophies, sacking Kenny wouldnt be seen as a mistake. We replaced him with a spoofer and all this reminiscing comes out.

08/11/2006, 9:08 PM
Radio reports from BBC Scotland have said its done and dusted. Kenny is manager of Dunfirmline. :(

08/11/2006, 9:23 PM
Get out clause if a UK club came in for him apperently. Can't blame him really, brought Derry as far as he can and probably being offered a much better contract. Sad to see a good manager leave the league though, but i'm sure most eL people would wish him good luck.

chippie0001
08/11/2006, 9:36 PM
Get out clause if a UK club came in for him apperently. Can't blame him really, brought Derry as far as he can and probably being offered a much better contract. Sad to see a good manager leave the league though, but i'm sure most eL people would wish him good luck.

Agree 100%, I hope he is a good success over there. Always a nice chap and was delighted when we appointed him manager. He can't be any worse than the last EL manager to try his luck in the UK.:rolleyes:

LukeO
08/11/2006, 10:05 PM
I'm sick of this fúcking bóllox. Kenny lost the plot at Bohs and was NOT going to turn it around. I couldn't be bothered going through everything again, here's something I posted a month or so ago on this very issue:

I'm sick of this nonsense that we were wrong to get rid of Kenny.

- We had the biggest budget in the league (or if wasn't the biggest, the difference between ours and Shels was marginal).

- Kenny bottled the title in 2003. Having beaten Shelbourne 3-1 and gone on to be six points clear (I think it was six, but I'm open to correction), poor defeats in November; 1-0 to Shelbourne (50/50 game, fair enough), 1-0 to Derry and 2-0 to Drogheda who were both poor sides back then, finishing ninth and eight respectively in a ten-team league.
Coupled with disappointing draws with Rovers (finished 7th) and UCD (finished bottom), we took only 4 points from 15 in the title run-in at the end of the season and only 2 points from 12 against the bottom four teams at the end of the season.

- Ignored players' pleas to play five in midfield against Rosenborg in the first leg with the net result being that we we were slaughtered in midfield an extremely lucky not to be beaten more than 1-0 before going on to lose the second leg 4-0.

- Replaced Gary O'Neill who has since gone on to prove himself to be one of the best strikers in the league with the stocking of **** that is Robbie Doyle.

- God rid of Derek Coughlan, one of our star performers from the league win in 02/03, while somehow believing Paul McNally was good enough to pick up a wage of €1000+ per week for doing sweet f.a.

- We were ten points behind Shelbourne at the time of Kenny's dismissal, having lost twice to the mighty Dublin City and were incapable of winning games we dominated resulting in nine league draws by the time Kenny got the chop in August 04.

- Kenny won only three out of 17 of his last home games at Bohs.

- We lost 3-1 in the UEFA Cup to a team that Pete Mahon managed to beat comprehensively 3-0 only a few years previously. (The first time we had been knocked out at the first hurdle since 1997). We had drawn the first leg 0-0 with Ken Oman winning motm, yet Kenny replaced him with the injured and well out of form Colin Hawkins for the return leg. As far as I can remember Hawkins was directly responsible for two, if not three of the goals we conceded.

- He had lost the respect of many senior players who were bitching about him behind his back.

- Got paranoid and prevented players from speaking to the media and accused people of having an agenda against him.

- Prevented players from renegotiating contracts with Bohs until he was given an extension to his own, with the net effect being that nine players including Glen Crowe and Simon Webb were allowed leave the club at the end of the season.

- Replaced one useless, arsehole assistant (Liam O'Brien) with another (Gary Howlett).

__________________________________________________ _______

I could go on, but you get the drift. I'm glad Kenny's doing so well at Derry as he's someone I admire both as a person and a manager and was sad that his spell at Bohs had to end the way it did. But the reality is that it HAD to end as things were simply going from bad to worse and in reality his tenure probably should have ended earlier, after our second defeat to Dublin City so that another manager could have come in and steadied the ship for the UEFA Cup games.

I think he has learnt from his time at Bohs and his short break from the game did him good as he had time to look back objectively at mistakes and errors of judgement he made with us and he's unlikely to make the same mistakes again at Derry. He's doing a great job with Derry in what is a much harder league to do well in than the league was when he was in charge at Bohs as there are now at least five clubs (Drogheda, Shels, Bohs, Cork and Derry) with budgets of way over €1m p/a while when he was at Bohs, there was only ourselves and Shels with such budgets

Bohs were not mistaken in sacking Kenny, they just made a massive blunder in who they appointed as his successor.

You have delusions of grandeur big time and sacked the best manager in the country which has to go down as the biggest howler of this decade.

Only by idiots who haven't a clue about Kenny's record at Bohs.

By the way you have replaced a spoofer with a super spoofer. ;)

We know...

08/11/2006, 10:17 PM
Good stuff Luke...any chance you could send that to the Dunfirmline chairman...and quickly? ;)

Dr.Nightdub
09/11/2006, 12:12 AM
Says a lot about the state of the League that the managers of three of the top five clubs either have walked or look like they're about to do so.

09/11/2006, 1:00 AM
Says a lot about the state of the League that the managers of three of the top five clubs either have walked or look like they're about to do so.

Are you including Farrelly in that...? :confused:

09/11/2006, 1:05 AM
Are you including Farrelly in that...? :confused:

Kenny, Connor, and Fenlon?

09/11/2006, 1:32 AM
Kenny, Connor, and Fenlon?

Who's the other 2 then ?

09/11/2006, 1:38 AM
Who's the other 2 then ?

He said managers of 3 of the top 5 clubs. I named 3 managers. Cork and Drogs seem OK managerially right now. :confused:

The Sheliban
09/11/2006, 6:16 AM
I'm sick of this fúcking bóllox. Kenny lost the plot at Bohs and was NOT going to turn it around.

Okay, you're right, he was a useless manager. You were only second in the table at the time with a good third of the season left. If he'd have been any good, you'd have been out in front by 18 points.

If he has gone to Dunfermline, does anyone not think the timing of it is pretty dreadful, though?

EireBadBoy
09/11/2006, 7:01 AM
If he has gone to Dunfermline, does anyone not think the timing of it is pretty dreadful, though?

Yip, I think it's dreadful timing meself.

sonofstan
09/11/2006, 7:45 AM
According to Morning Ireland, he's staying at Derry till after the cup final

09/11/2006, 8:06 AM
just heard on Today FM that he is goint to Dunfermline after the Cup Final.

Good luck to him but he is a big loss to Irish football.

bohs til i die
09/11/2006, 8:41 AM
Okay, you're right, he was a useless manager. You were only second in the table at the time with a good third of the season left. If he'd have been any good, you'd have been out in front by 18 points.

We were 2nd in a two horse race with Cork only catching us both up in 2004.

bohs til i die
09/11/2006, 8:44 AM
You have delusions of grandeur big time and sacked the best manager in the country which has to go down as the biggest howler of this decade. By the way you have replaced a spoofer with a super spoofer. ;)

Kenny was not the best manager in the country in 2004. The best manager was Fenlon and possibly still is Fenlon. Kenny and Fenlon would have had similar budgets in 2002-03, 2003 and 2004 and Fenlon won 2 league titles, Kenny still only has 1.

Just because he has improved as a manager at a new club doesnt mean he would have improved had he stayed at Bohs.

09/11/2006, 8:49 AM
And how much has he improved. The league was Derry's for the taking and he's bottled it again.

09/11/2006, 9:24 AM
Today's Irish Times :

National League: There was a growing sense in both Scotland and on Foyleside last night that Stephen Kenny will leave Derry City to become manager of Scottish Premier Division strugglers Dunfermline after the FAI Cup final next month.

The Dubliner insists that nothing has been agreed but sources close to Dunfermline suggest that they believe Kenny will take over early next month while there were reports yesterday in Derry that he had met directors of the Brandywell outfit to confirm his desire to leave.

"There's been an offer and I have a decision to make," Kenny confirmed last night, "but nothing's been done, there's no agreement in place."

The 36-year-old former Longford Town and Bohemians boss insisted that he would remain in charge of City for the team's remaining league games this season and that he would still be at the club for the FAI Cup final against St Patrick's Athletic on December 3rd. Although he declined to elaborate on what would happen then, however, it looks increasingly as if his future might lie elsewhere.

It is believed that he travelled to Scotland at the weekend to meet Dunfermline officials and that they have made it clear to the local media that they believe they have found their man. It is also widely believed that he will bring his first-team coach Declan Devine, a former goalkeeper at Derry, Glentoran and Hull City, with him to his new job.

Dunfermline certainly appear willing too to wait until the second week in December to get Kenny despite the fact that they currently lie at the bottom of the Premier Division with just nine points, two less than Dundee United, from the 13 games they have played so far. With two years left on their manager's contract Derry would, of course, be hoping to receive compensation in the event that Kenny departs but he is believed to have a clause in his deal that allows him to depart in circumstances such as these. It is not clear, though, precisely what terms it specifies.

There are said to have been indirect contact between the two clubs yesterday and so ultimately it seems that a disagreement over money will not scupper any move assuming Kenny wants to go.

Before then, he has the opportunity to finish the season here on a relative high even if the league title does look to be beyond his side in the wake of Tuesday's disappointing 3-1 defeat in Drogheda. "I'm determined that we finish the season as strongly as we can over the last three games," he said. "The league's not in our hands anymore but the least we can do is to make sure we qualify for Europe and then see what happens elsewhere."

Shelbourne, he realises, would now have to more or less collapse for Derry's title aspirations to be revived and the championship could be settled as early as tomorrow night when Derry visit their cup final opponents in Inchicore and Pat Fenlon's side travels to Cork.

Understandably, however, he refuses to concede defeat and is determined that his side do their best to keep the pressure on their rivals.

Even if Derry fail to add to the League Cup they have already won this season, his already strong reputation has been hugely enhanced during his almost two and a half years or so at the Brandywell. He arrived at the club - in the wake of Bohemians' hasty decision to sack him - at a time when they were struggling and morale within the squad was low. Since then the team has won two league cups, missed out on a championship title on the last day of last season and made it to a cup final.

Dunfermline clearly hope that he can work a similar sort of transformation at East End Park and it is not entirely surprising that Kenny, though he insists he loves his current job, appears to be tempted by the challenge himself.

cheech
09/11/2006, 9:38 AM
It is believed that he travelled to Scotland at the weekend to meet Dunfermline officials

I'd be fecking fuming if I was a Derry fan. That means he was in talks about another job a day or two before the massive game against Drogs on Tuesday night, a game which ultimately may cost them the title.

Whether Harps like to admit it or not, this is going to have a profound effect on our own destiny. New manager comes in - Higgsy comes to us, McHugh coming back, Pizza manages us other Derry players released etc etc. Will be very interesting to see and although he will be very very difficult to replace, he still only won one league cup.

He could have been (still could) an all time hero and legend in Derry had he went on and won the treble, or even the league for that matter.

09/11/2006, 9:49 AM
And how much has he improved. The league was Derry's for the taking and he's bottled it again.You've said that a few times now without any shred of evidence.

Define bottling and justify why he's bottled it.

As a hint, I'd be fairly certain our wages are 4th highest in the League.

We finished 2nd last season and will hopefully better 4th this season. So he performed better than expected.

Krstic
09/11/2006, 9:49 AM
I'd be fecking fuming if I was a Derry fan. That means he was in talks about another job a day or two before the massive game against Drogs on Tuesday night, a game which ultimately may cost them the title.

Whether Harps like to admit it or not, this is going to have a profound effect on our own destiny. New manager comes in - Higgsy comes to us, McHugh coming back, Pizza manages us other Derry players released etc etc. Will be very interesting to see and although he will be very very difficult to replace, he still only won one league cup.

He could have been (still could) an all time hero and legend in Derry had he went on and won the treble, or even the league for that matter.

Firstly, he's won 2 league cups to date with Derry.
Secondly, why would any of the current Derry set-up want to join Finn Harps?

sonofstan
09/11/2006, 9:52 AM
Looking at as Pars message board last night - they're so depressed they make Bohs look like 14 year old Shels fans. All they want out of this season is not to be relegated, so if he can manage that he has all of next season to build. Some of them are wondering what they are doing recruiting from a league that they perceive as well below the SPL but they respect the Euro run