View Full Version : How far is your home ground?
less than 5 minutes in the car
:eek: Lazy!
have to drop the rugrat to the inlaws before the match, to small for terryland yet.
Bohs Belgie
15/10/2006, 7:12 PM
Time and distance
Time: 12h51 including 07h13 on motorways
Distance: 828km including 723km on motorways
Costs
- Toll costs: 6.66 EUR
- Petrol costs: 72.97 EUR
- Road tax cost: 0.00 EUR
Total costs: 79.63 EUR
If you want a more detailed response, it can be done :cool:
Well over an hour, but go from work (town) to 90% of games. :)
15 - 20 minute walk from where I'm currently living to Mels.
Just under 15 minute walk from my new house to the new stadium
(both of which I hope will be ready soon!)
dcfc_1928
16/10/2006, 9:22 AM
For home games, I have a 120 mile round-trip.
ALWAYS ON TOUR!
Just over a 100 miles each way door to turnstile.
16/10/2006, 9:36 AM
6km at home in the car for Oriel.
15 minute walk to Tolka when I'm in Dublin.
carrickharp
16/10/2006, 9:44 AM
45-50 mins from my home in Donegal.
Was brought up about 5 miles away from Ballybofey but bought a house up the road from Finn Park so 10 minute walk now.
One of the real diehard Harps lads built his house a few years ago, about 30 yards away from Finn Park. Like the Bohs fan at Dayler it is practically on his doorstep.
Dazzy
16/10/2006, 11:38 AM
11 miles away, inbetween Derry and letterkenny
Sheepsha*ger :D
You a Derryman living in Donegal or a Donegal man supporting Derry Dazzy?
oriel
16/10/2006, 12:25 PM
20 min drive or 13 miles, even have to cross the border !!!
bluemovie
16/10/2006, 12:37 PM
100 miles from Dublin to the RSC. Can be done in 2 and a half hours, but could take up to 4 hours on Fridays. Stay down with the family for the night - 8 miles from the RSC (often chauffeured by Stann). I've still only missed 2 home games in the last 2 seasons....[pats himself on back].
Calcio Jack
16/10/2006, 12:44 PM
Well for you having such short journeys.... as Rovers fan have spent the last 19 years "travelling" to a home game and still haven't arrived but expect to arrive sometime late 2007
16/10/2006, 1:05 PM
You're a Newry fan :confused:
:p
desaintsno.12
16/10/2006, 1:09 PM
an hour an half
About 450km Cork to Derry (7 hours by car). Dublin for away games definately easier (but still 3.5/4 hours).
or, 10 mins drive to Woodies car park near Turner's Cross, then 7/8 min walk to the ground.
Sheepsha*ger :D
You a Derryman living in Donegal or a Donegal man supporting Derry Dazzy?
Most of the Family is from Donegal, but me and my da is the only Derry men in Donegal:D
You're a Newry fan
No, just moved there from dundalk when i was extradited by marriage a few years ago.......................
16/10/2006, 2:26 PM
Used to be about 30 miles when we played in Kilcohan, and started in the RSC, now it's about 100.
Since my sister left for Australia, if I can cadge a lift (you'll be getting a text message shortly suirsider), it generally works out at a twenty minute cycle in Dublin traffic to the Dart, 30 minutes or so to Dun Laoighre or Shankill, for 4 o'clock, then the drive down takes something like 3 hours depending on how bad Gorey is. Then back that night too.
However, I can simply walk to either Tolka or Dalymount in about 15 to 20 minutes if I'm not watching the Blues.
Arrow Rovers
16/10/2006, 2:41 PM
15-20 Mins Drive....
Most of the Family is from Donegal, but me and my da is the only Derry men in Donegal:D
Sound. Quite a few Derry people have moved out into places like Moville, Buncrana, Carn and Newton lately.
Also, with Derry going so well lately, I've noticed a few Donegal people starting to "support" them from the comfort of the infamous barstools. Think a few of them do it to wind me up right enough - especially in Letterkenny :D
Sound. Quite a few Derry people have moved out into places like Moville, Buncrana, Carn and Newton lately.
Also, with Derry going so well lately, I've noticed a few Donegal people starting to "support" them from the comfort of the infamous barstools. Think a few of them do it to wind me up right enough - especially in Letterkenny :D
Alot have moved out to Newton and there is not many derry fans out there, only a few!
headtheball
16/10/2006, 9:02 PM
I live 14 miles from the Brandywell. About 25 mins from Strabane by car. Probably same distance as Finn Park, however my dad was born,bread and buttered 30 yards from the ground( Deanery Street) in the Brandywell, so when Derry got into League of ireland we used to go together. Been a fan ever since.
dublin15bohs
16/10/2006, 9:10 PM
50 mins on 2 buses
Snoop Drog
16/10/2006, 10:30 PM
A mere 26 hour flight from home in Sydney to United Park :p
17/10/2006, 9:29 AM
120 mph on average?!:eek:
Fair due if you can manage that!!!
Believe me he can :eek:
For me its just across the housing estate, through the railings and across the field, five minutes tops :)
Sonic
17/10/2006, 11:51 AM
5 minutes walk - I can see the floodlights from my upstairs back window. Not looking forward to the drive to Harristown.
Ah stop complaining you can hop on the 83 from p'boro for a euro fifty. If i had yer money i wouldnt be moaning about anything!:mad:
NavanBohs
17/10/2006, 2:27 PM
Navan to Dublin on a Friday evening can take around an hour or so on the bus, though I'm working about 5 mins walk away from Dalymount now so I go straight to matches from there unless I have to collect my little cousin and bring him or something. I used to have to leave every match early to get the bus, the amount of goals I've missed over the last few years...
A lovely 40 minute walk down to St Lukes, down Summer Hill, across the river and up Anglesea St, from there its only a short hop up Capwell and into the Evergreen for pre match mouth wash.
Or 10 minutes in the car.
17/10/2006, 3:42 PM
about 9 miles. 20 min drive up the navan road
17/10/2006, 3:44 PM
50 mins on 2 buses
Jaysus I remeber the day's (start of the season actually)
PM me you're no. and if I'm driving to a game I'll give you a lift
17/10/2006, 3:46 PM
Don't ask.
Let me see..............
Narita to Heathrow,
Heathrow to Shannon,
Shannon to Limerick.
Hmmmm. I just dont think that season ticket was a good investment.
Up The Town
17/10/2006, 3:48 PM
Just like myself about 15 mins drive and have to cross the border
17/10/2006, 3:49 PM
then the drive down takes something like 3 hours depending on how bad Gorey is. Then back that night too.
Would you not be better off going via Kilkenny? keeping well away frm gorey
17/10/2006, 4:25 PM
I live a couple of miles from Belfield Park. I'm usually coming from somewhere on the campus though, so it's fairly handy for me overall.
18/10/2006, 11:44 AM
Would you not be better off going via Kilkenny? keeping well away frm gorey
My lift (for which I am regularly most grateful, by the way) leaves from the South Eastern side of the city, and I would imagine that being on one of the main routes out of the city into Kildare ANY time on a Friday isn't too pleasant, anyway.
Dassa
18/10/2006, 12:44 PM
When living in belfast for university takes about 1 hour to get to the ground. if at home in Loughgall 5 minute walk. I have it so lucky:) really feel for those who have to travel longer than an hour for a home match good on you.
18/10/2006, 3:00 PM
My lift (for which I am regularly most grateful, by the way) leaves from the South Eastern side of the city, and I would imagine that being on one of the main routes out of the city into Kildare ANY time on a Friday isn't too pleasant, anyway.
The N7/M7 is grand once you get past the Greenisle hotel. M50 to kilkenny city in 1hr 45. another maybe 40 mins to an hour to waterford. tell your lift he's WRONG so so WRONG
Drumcondra Red
18/10/2006, 4:06 PM
listen to Block G there, 5 mins owning a car and he knows every route possible!!! :D
CuanaD
18/10/2006, 4:30 PM
I live a couple of miles from Belfield Park. I'm usually coming from somewhere on the campus though, so it's fairly handy for me overall.
So, thats HOW FAR from the BAR then? :D
dcfc_dee
19/10/2006, 8:51 AM
about a 15 minute walk
21/10/2006, 6:31 PM
i am three miles down the road from the ground!
21/10/2006, 7:55 PM
M50 to kilkenny city in 1hr 45. another maybe 40 mins to an hour to waterford. tell your lift he's WRONG so so WRONG
Depends when you're leaving Dublin. Last time I was in Kilkenny, it took three hours to get down, and that was only because we gave up on the M50. Would have been longer if we's stuck with it.
From the south east of Dublin, the best way to Waterford (especially on a Friday evening) is the coast road down the N11/M11, avoiding the M50 entirely. You get stuck at Gorey, but it's worth it to avoid the M50.
BobtheDrog
22/10/2006, 8:04 AM
roughly 6000 miles
Battery Rover
22/10/2006, 11:42 AM
From my house in Athlone about a 20 minute walk
From my house in County Limerick, 30 minute drive to the Bus Station, 2 hours and 10 minutes of a bus journey to Athlone and then 10 minute walk down to the ground
From my place of employment in Tullamore, 30 minute train journey and a 10 minute walk to the ground. So my usual Friday when I am working is finish work and go straight to the game.
24/10/2006, 9:54 AM
12 miles...20 minutes in car. 1hr 4mins in tractor...its been done :D