View Full Version : This Week's Playlist

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

SaucyJack
30/05/2007, 4:15 PM
ha, took them long enough. they were VERY reluctant to talk about it on the dvd i watched of them. at the time i put it down to them being from utah (mormon state) where bush still enjoys his most popular support. perhaps they didn't want to pi$$ off their local fans at the time.. not sure.

supposed to be excellent, good review on pitchforkmedia if you can find it.

seen bill a few years ago. what a strange cat. completely zonked he looked while dirging his way through these bizarre underwater/world songs. he's on his own alright, not crazy for his stuff but 'nuff respect ;)

Ken, Low are more or less a Minnesota band, one of the most progressive states in the U.S., and as far as I know, Alan sparhawk is the only Mormon in the band, Mimi, his wife might be too, which doesnt' mean they're pro-Bush.(They might just be nominally Mormon)....I can't imagine many Low fans being for the war in Iraq or pro-Bush....you'll be heartened to know that students came out in good numbers last month at Brigham Young University( of all places) to protest Dick Cheney being announced as the graduation commencement speaker,(because of his pro-war stance)

anyhow, thanks for the Elliot Smith review link, I don't buy or rent a c.d. or dvd without a decent review, be it pitchfork, metacritic etc....

Bill Callaghan is dating Joana Newsom and in the past dated the beautiful Chan Marshall,aka Cat power...not bad.

stann
31/05/2007, 3:04 PM
These last few days...

1. The Psychotic Reaction - Overdraft Blues
2. The Mary Onettes - Lost
3. The Pigeon Detectives - I'm Not Sorry
4. Dinosaur Jr - Been There All The Time
5. The Rapture - Pieces Of The People We Love
6. Happy Mondays - Jellybean
7. A Skillz & Krafty Kuts - Bring Back The Funk
8. Krafty Kuts - Basketball Jam
9. Tom Tom Club - Genius Of Love (Rhythm Scholar Funk Smoothie Remix)
10. Talking Heads - Once In A Lifetime (Masters At Work Remix)
11. Roxy Music - Ladytron
12. The Small Faces - Itchycoo Park :D

Those first 2 hidden gems can be d/led from last month's blog-type thing on the C86 site that was posted on here a while back. Haven't the URL at work though, sorry.

Edit: Doh! It was in this thread! First one is at this site (http://www.last.fm/music/The+Psychotic+Reaction/A+Moment+of+Clarity), and the second about a quarter of the way down here (http://www.indie-mp3.co.uk/archive/2007_04_01_archive.html). And cheers again BP! :)

monzo
04/06/2007, 10:27 PM
Playlist of the Week (week ending 02/06/07) #3

The Patti Smith Band - Horses
The Stooges - Penetration
The Stooges - I Need Somebody
The Stooges - Shake Appeal
The Stooges - Search And Destroy
Radiohead - Paranoid Andriod
Radiohead - Subterranean Homesick Alien
Radiohead - Exit Music (For A Film)
Radiohead - Let Down
The Stone Roses - This Is The One
The Ramones - Blitzkrieg Bop
The New York Dolls - Jet Boy
Kings of Leon - The Bucket
Bob Dylan - The Man In Me

04/06/2007, 10:35 PM
Maroon 5- Makes Me Wonder
Hellogoodbye- Here
Calvin Harris- Acceptable in the 80s
The Blizzards- Fantasy
Gym Class Heroes- Cupid's Chokehold
Neyo- Because of You
Akon- Don't Matter
The Rasmus- In The Shadows
Justin Timberlake- What Goes Around Comes Back Around
Jackson 5- I Wan't You Back

05/06/2007, 2:33 PM
No songs in particular this week, but I've been listening to records by

Ali Farke Toure - Savannah and Radio Mali
Robert Johnson - Greatest Hits
The Shins - Wincing The Night Away
Bright Eyes - Cassadaga
The Clash - Combat Rock
Mazzy Star - She Hangs Brightly
The Kinks - Village Green Preservation Society (my indicator that summer has arrived)
Badly Drawn Boy - Hour of the Bewilderbeast and About a Boy
The Herbaliser - Their Fabrilclive mix CD
LCD Soundsystem -Sound of Silver

stann
06/06/2007, 9:50 AM
On heavy rotation this week...

1. Thin White Rope - It's OK
2. Roxy Music - Virginia Plain
3. The Bravery - Time Won't Let Me Go
4. Band Of Horses - The Funeral
5. Dan le Sac vs Scroobius Pip - Thou Shalt Always Kill
6. Mirwais - Miss You (Thin White Duke Remix)
7. Calvin Harris - Girls
8. Crazy Penis - Give It Up (Laid Vocal Mix)
9. The Loose Cannons - Got It All Wrong (Krafty Kuts Mix)
10. Whitey - Wrap It Up
11. Los Campesinos! - You! Me! Dancing!
12. The Holloways - Generator

What's that Herbaliser mix CD like then Jebus? The whole series goes from the pretty good to the fantastic I think, how does that one match up to the the best of them (Adam Freeland, Scratch Perverts, Jacques lu Cont if you've got those)?

Edit: as I can't now edit my previous one, should have said cheers for the C86 link to noby, not BP!

06/06/2007, 11:34 AM
What's that Herbaliser mix CD like then Jebus? The whole series goes from the pretty good to the fantastic I think, how does that one match up to the the best of them (Adam Freeland, Scratch Perverts, Jacques lu Cont if you've got those)?

Don't have the Freeland or luCont mixes, but I'd put the Herbaliser's one up there with the Scratch Perverts, thats how good it is. Only two dodgyish tracks on it, and even they aren't too bad, so it's well worth the purchase. I picked mine from HMV for 10 euro a while back so they might still be floating around for that price

06/06/2007, 9:23 PM
Maroon 5- Makes Me Wonder
Hellogoodbye- Here
Calvin Harris- Acceptable in the 80s
The Blizzards- Fantasy
Gym Class Heroes- Cupid's Chokehold
Neyo- Because of You
Akon- Don't Matter
The Rasmus- In The Shadows
Justin Timberlake- What Goes Around Comes Back Around
Jackson 5- I Wan't You Back

Yuve got to be kidding. Weeks and weeks of greta lists and then this, this, tosh. Good God.

06/06/2007, 9:26 PM
Hold Tight London - Chemical Brothers

Pauro, is that a b-side or is it from the Push the Button? Have you heard the new single? Top notch it is.

06/06/2007, 11:08 PM
Yuve got to be kidding. Weeks and weeks of greta lists and then this, this, tosh. Good God.
Sorry for not liking the same sort of music as everybody else.:rolleyes:

07/06/2007, 3:05 AM

Ah no fair is fair, diversity is good, just think yours are shyte. but each to their own. Fair play to ya.

07/06/2007, 8:38 AM
Ah no fair is fair, diversity is good, just think yours are shyte. but each to their own. Fair play to ya.

I want you back is a classic tune!

The Good Son
07/06/2007, 1:53 PM
Stereotype-The Specials
Slghtsee MC-Big Audio Dynamite
Henry A Matilda Supermarketsuper-Euros Childs
I Love You (Listen to This)-Dexy’s Midnight Runners
Ahimana-Tinariwen
Willesden to Cricklewood-Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros
My Foolish Heart-The Bhundu Boys
Vapour Trail- Ride
Cycle Of Violence- Gruff Rhys
We're In Yr Corner-Cornershop
Prague – Mega City 4

07/06/2007, 1:57 PM

I thought you had some good stuff in there!

stann
07/06/2007, 2:34 PM
Don't have the Freeland or luCont mixes, but I'd put the Herbaliser's one up there with the Scratch Perverts, thats how good it is. Only two dodgyish tracks on it, and even they aren't too bad, so it's well worth the purchase. I picked mine from HMV for 10 euro a while back so they might still be floating around for that price

Wow, high praise. I'll be getting that then! :)
Would hugely recommend the Freeland one, my favourite of them all, but only if you like that slightly dark moody broody Evil Nine-type Marine Parade sound. Scratch Perverts me second fave so am looking forward to the Herbaliser one now, cheers!

stann
07/06/2007, 2:49 PM

Yep, good to have the full spectrum in the thread.
Also means I can get me beloved All Saints CDs out again, it's been far too long! :)

ollie
07/06/2007, 8:12 PM
This week i've mostly been listening to Ocean Colour Scene, Tiesto and Oasis.

08/06/2007, 11:03 PM
Manic Street Preachers - Archives of Pain
Manic Street Preachers - Autumnsong
Bloc Party - Helicopter
The Killers - Mr Brightside
Arcade Fire - Keep the Car Running
Pixies - Gigantic
Interpol - Heinrich Maneuver
Kanye West - Cant Tell Me Nothing

09/06/2007, 11:45 AM
The Sugar Cubes - Hetero Scum
Dengue Fever - Sui Bong
Accoustic Ladyland - Remember
The Blue Rondos - Little Baby
The Kinks - I'm not like everybody else
Mary McCarthy - You know he did
John Holt - Ali Baba
Jimmy Cliff - The Man
Lee Perry - Kimble the nimble
Marvyn Gaye - Heard it through the grape vine

Calcio Jack
12/06/2007, 2:04 PM
The Travelling Wilburys, Vol 1 & 3

noby
12/06/2007, 2:32 PM
Edit: as I can't now edit my previous one, should have said cheers for the C86 link to noby, not BP!

I said I'd let that one go.

As for Dman, the presence of I want you back is enough to redeem any list.

My purchases this week (all to be filed under "finally got round to getting") include albums by the Blue Nile, Red House Painters, Grandaddy, Smashing Pumpkins, and the Moog soundtrack. I'm too lazy to make a playlist.

12/06/2007, 2:59 PM
The Maccabees - Mary
The Pigeon Detectives - I'm Not Sorry
We Are Scientists - Inaction
Cocteau Twins - Pearly Dewdrops' Drop
The Fatima Mansions - Only Losers Take The Bus
Jeff Buckley - Lilac Wine
Maximo Park - Nosebleed
The Twang - Love It Like This
Pavement - Elevate Me Later

15/06/2007, 1:21 PM
my smiths playlist

1 panic
2 hand in glove
3 this charming man
4 the schoolmaster ritual
5 some girls are bigger than others
6 the queen is dead
7 i know it's over
8 girlfriend in a coma
9 bigmouth strikes again
10 there is a light that never goes out

with honourable mentions to vicar in a tutu , what difference does it make , ask , how soon is now? .

15/06/2007, 1:26 PM
I would have included Cemetary Gates

15/06/2007, 1:28 PM
I would have included Cemetary Gates

Havent gotten into that one , I am a recent convert so discovering songs at the moment :cool:

15/06/2007, 5:35 PM
Pauro, is that a b-side or is it from the Push the Button? Have you heard the new single? Top notch it is.

It's fourth track on Push the Button. Awesome track. Bit disappointed in the new track but itll definitely grow on me...

Second listen. Bang. It's got me. It's pretty cool!

15/06/2007, 5:38 PM
White Stripes - Icky Thump. What a track!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Queens of the Stone Age - 3 & 7's
Prodigy - Girls
Hash Pipe - Weezer
Let's Follow the Cops Back Home - Placebo
Kings of Leon - The Runner
Gossip - listen up

18/06/2007, 8:19 PM
Havent gotten into that one , I am a recent convert so discovering songs at the moment :cool:

The Boy With The Thorn In His Side. one of my Smiths favourites.

I've just got the latest Belle & Sebastian album - The Life Pursuit. Very good. Standout tracks - Another Sunny Day, White Collar Boy, The Blues Are Still Blue, Funny Little Frog. Also just got Surf by Roddy Frame. one absolute classic track - Small World (Used as the title music to the sitcom "Early Doors" if anyones seen it.)

stann
18/06/2007, 10:03 PM
As for Dman, the presence of I want you back is enough to redeem any list.

Dunno about that, think you're expecting too much of it noby.
What if it was number 12 in a list where the first 11 all came from 'The Very Best Of Michael Bolton'? Eh? EH? EHHHH? :D

This week, been caning me Fabriclives in anticipation...

1. Plan B - No New Styles
2. Rodney P - The Nice Up
3. MIA - Sunshowers
4. Scratch Perverts - Stand By
5. Riton - Anger Man (Riton Re-Rub)
6. Daft Punk - Technologic (Digitalism Highway To Paris Remix)
7. Alter Ego - Rocker
8. Freestylers - Boom Blast (Deekline & Wizard Remix)
9. The Nextmen feat Dynamite MC - High Score (Stanton Warriors Remix)
10. Justice vs Gambit - Steamulation
11. Wings - Coming Up
12. Wings - Let 'Em In

Maybe the last two belong in the Secret Shame thread. :o

Jebus, BTW would recommend the Joe Ransom Fabriclive (#20) if you've not already got it - along the same lines as the Scratch Perverts one, if not quite as good. Nice bit of UK hip hop first half and a tidy breakbeat / d 'n' b wig out at the end.

19/06/2007, 12:39 PM
My secret shame playlist
1. Ozone - Dragostea Din Tei
2. Kelly Clarkson - Since U Been Gone
3. A1 - Same Old Brand New You
4. NSync - Girlfriend
5. Westlife -Flying Without Wings
6. 50 Cent - In Da Club
7. Usher - Yeah
8. Special D - Come with Me
9. Justin Timberlake - SexyBack
10. Christina Aguilera - Beautiful

19/06/2007, 10:34 PM
Meass Samoun - Dondung Goan Gay (The Engagement)
Dengue Fever - New Years Eve
The Syndicats - Leave My Kitten Alone
Howlin' Wolf - Backdoor Man
The Moody Five - Blue Tail Fly
Andy Williams - House of Bamboo
Gloria Jones - Tainted Love
Toots and the Maytals - Funky Kingston
Keith Hudson and the Soul Syndicate - Nuh Skin Up Dub
Tyrone Taylor - Delilah

noby
20/06/2007, 7:16 AM
I've just got the latest Belle & Sebastian album - The Life Pursuit. Very good. Standout tracks - Another Sunny Day, White Collar Boy, The Blues Are Still Blue, Funny Little Frog.

It's a great album alright. I agree with your stand-out tracks, but the whole album is very strong. If you see the Funny Little Frog single in a bargain bin, it's worth picking up for the comedic value of one of the b-sides, Meat and Potatoes.

The Good Son
20/06/2007, 10:47 AM
Reward - Teardrop Explodes
V. Thirteen - Big Audio Dynamite
Shine On - The House Of Love
Too Nice To Talk To – The Beat
Reasons To Be Cheerful Pt.3 – Ian Dury & The Blockheads
Kill The Poor – Dead Kennedys
People Power In The Disco Hour – Clinton
I Can See For Miles – The Who
Up-Wards at 45° - Julian Cope
Animal Nitrate – Suede

noby
20/06/2007, 12:14 PM
Reward - Teardrop Explodes
V. Thirteen - Big Audio Dynamite
Shine On - The House Of Love
Too Nice To Talk To – The Beat
Reasons To Be Cheerful Pt.3 – Ian Dury & The Blockheads
Kill The Poor – Dead Kennedys
People Power In The Disco Hour – Clinton
I Can See For Miles – The Who
Up-Wards at 45° - Julian Cope
Animal Nitrate – Suede
Stop coming to my house and downloading my playlists! (Although I'd only have one Julian Cope song)

The Good Son
20/06/2007, 12:36 PM
Stop coming to my house and downloading my playlists! (Although I'd only have one Julian Cope song)

Transferring a lot of old vinyl and cassettes to MP3's at the moment so big time nostalgia.

27/06/2007, 11:51 AM
The Len Price 3 - The Last Hotel
The Byrds - Have you seen her face
Love - Alone again or
Captain Beefheart - Zigzag
R.L. Burnside - Shake 'Em on Down
John Spenser Blues Explosion - F'ck Sh't Up
Primal Scream - Medication
Paul Weller - From the floorboards up
The Stabilisers - 100 year old riff
The Len Price 3 - Julia Jones

28/06/2007, 10:04 AM
Kinda forgot about this lately........

Duke Ellington - Things Aint What They Used To Be
Nas - Black Republican
Nappy Roots - My Ride
Redman - Wrong 4 Dat
Royksopp - Poor Leno
Sly & The Family Stone - Poet
Angie Stone - Lovers' Ghetto
Basement Jaxx - Rendez Vu
Dungeon Family - What is Rap?
Jurassic 5 - End Up Like This

30/06/2007, 11:08 AM
As a follow on to my Smiths playlist heres the gustavo Pixies playlist
1. Monkey Gone to Heaven
2. Debaser
3. Tame
4. Dead
5. Something Against You
6. Velouria
7. Hey
8. Holiday Song
9. Gigantic
10. Where is my Mind?

30/06/2007, 7:00 PM
My secret shame playlist
2. Kelly Clarkson - Since U Been Gone

A quality song and don't let anyone tell you otherwise :)

7. Usher - Yeah

That, on the otherhand, is irretrievably shameful :eek:

stann
30/06/2007, 7:19 PM
On heavy rotation this past week...

1. Million Dan - Dogz 'N' Sledgez
2. James Brown - Talkin' Loud And Sayin' Nothing
3. Lefties Soul Connection - Welly Wanging
4. Switch - A Bit Patchy
5. CSS - Let's Make Love And Listen To Death From Above (Spank Rock Remix)
6. Mylo - Drop The Pressure
7. Dogtown Clash - Freak (2006 Mix)
8. The Doors - Hello I Love You (Adam Freeland Remix)
9. The Bravery - Unconditional (Benny Benassi Remix)
10. Deekline & Wizard - Woah
11. Roxy Music - Re-Make / Re-Model
12. Mark Ronson ft Kasabian - L.S.F.

04/07/2007, 5:01 PM
Ash - Polaris
Chemical Brothers - Do it Again
Klaxons - Not Over Yet
Smashing Pumpkins - 33
Thom Yorke - And It Rained All Night
Depeche Mode - Its No Good

04/07/2007, 5:08 PM
Into the Mystic-Van Morrisson

God Only Knows - The Beach Boys

All My Loving - The Small Faces

There Goes the Fear - Doves

Race for the Prize - The Flaming Lips

Narc- Interpol

Communication Breakdown - Led Zeppelin

Float On - Modest Mouse.

Boxers - Morrissey

A Man Needs a Maid - Neil Young.

18/07/2007, 12:40 AM
Kanye West- Stronger
Akon- I Tried
Shaggy- Angel
Timbaland- The Way I Are
P Diddy- Missing You
U2- Where The Streets Have No Name
Coldplay- Fix You
Arctic Monkeys- Fluorescent Adolescent
Morrissey- First of the Gang To Die
Fall Out Boy- Thanks For The Memories

19/07/2007, 8:45 AM
Heavy playing of ABC's Lexicon of Love at my gaff this week. Been youtubing the videos as wallpaper to the week at work.

stann
19/07/2007, 10:08 AM
Got another one for ya...

1. The B-52s - Private Idaho
2. The Sugarcubes - Delicious Demon
3. The Wedding Present - Kennedy
4. The Smiths - You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby
5. The Wombats - Kill The Director
6. The Go! Team - Grip Like A Vice
7. Hybrid feat Perry Farrell - Dogstar
8. Justice - D.A.N.C.E.
9. Dizzee Rascal - Pussy'ole (Old Skool)
10. Dub Pistols feat Terry Hall - Gangsters
11. The Human League - Things That Dreams Are Made Of
12. Kristin Hersh & Michael Stipe - Your Ghost

Bit of a mix of ancient and new this week, and nary a remix in sight.

19/07/2007, 10:18 AM
The Hold Steady - Citrus
Cherry Ghost - Mathematics
Maximo Park - Our Velocity
The Strokes - Heart in a Cage
Arcade Fire - "Neon Bible"
Manic Street Preachers - "Send Away the Tigers"
Justin Timberlake - LoveStoned/She knows

The Good Son
19/07/2007, 10:35 AM
Trash City - Joe Strummer & The Latino Rockabilly War
Bloodsport For All - Carter USM
Twist & Squeeze - A House
In The Name Of The Father - Black Grape
Get Outta London - Aztec Camera
Gepetto - Belly
Thinking Of You - The Colourfield
Over And Done With - The Proclaimers
Impossible - Paul Cleary & The Partisans
Get-A-Job - The Beat

21/07/2007, 2:42 PM
Arcade Fire. Intervention
Snow Patrol. Signal Fire
Counting Crows. Sulivan St
and all of instant karma (for Darfur)

The Optimist
22/07/2007, 7:43 PM
My Top Ten this week(in no particular order)

1. Pace To The Trick - Interpol
2. Be Safe - The Cribs
3.Smokers At The Hospital Doors - The Editors
4.Stop - Delorentos
5.Intervention - Arcade Fire
6.Either Way - the Twang
7.Bodies - Velvet Revolver
8.Disturbance At The Heron House - REM
9.Tarantula - Smashing Pumpkins
10.The Seeker - The Who

23/07/2007, 11:13 AM