View Full Version : This Week's Playlist

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

07/11/2006, 7:50 AM
Must check out Up in Flames. I have Start Breaking My Heart and the Milk of Human Kindness.

ken foree
07/11/2006, 12:26 PM
Must check out Up in Flames. I have Start Breaking My Heart and the Milk of Human Kindness.

it's similar to milk of human kindness but with the ghost of kevin shields smearing the whole thing with great echoey globs of guitar goo :D Milk might be a better album but the the peaks on up in flames are ... peakier. what's Start Breaking My Heart like??

this week's shiz:

GHQ - cosmology of the eye
Can - Can Anthology 1968-1993*
Tower Recordings - Folk Scene
Charalambides - Our Bed is Green

*lots of droney folk, our german friends excepted of course ;)

07/11/2006, 1:02 PM
SBMH is less accessible than Milk, more straightforward Electronica but again I would say its peaks are above the peaks of Milk. Good soundtrack for commuting I find.

07/11/2006, 6:59 PM
albums I've been listening to this week

Leah and Chloe - Leah and Chloe
Ali Farke Toure - Radio Mali
Kraftwerk - Man Machine
Stevie Wonder - Music of my Mind
Garden State - Soundtrack
Madeline Peyroux - Half the World
Super Furry Animals - Radiator

08/11/2006, 6:33 AM
Hmm Albums this week:

Halcyon- Orbital.
Kasabian - Empire
Godskitchen - Global Gathering
Dirty Hits- Primal Scream
Highly Evolved - The Vines
Mutter _ Rammstein

Ps Jebus is the Ali Farkh Toure Album any good. I've heard good reports about some Malian dude.

08/11/2006, 6:51 AM
Miro Zbirka - Live
Laska Moja - A collection of Slovakian Artists
who are popular in the Czech Republc
Banket - Gold

Hmm Albums this week: Is the Ali Farkh Toure Album any good. I've heard good reports about some Malian dude.

I believe he died in the past few months can any one confirm this?

08/11/2006, 8:19 AM
Yeah he died alright. Thought it was last year though. One for Wiki I think. Anyone got the Martin Scorsese Blues DVD's? Excellent stuff.

Edit: According to Wiki he died March 6th this year.

stann
08/11/2006, 4:19 PM
Some tunes this week:

1. Ty - Ha Ha
2. N.W.A. - Respect Yourself
3. Tom Tom Club - Genius Of Love (Rhythm Scholar Funk Smoothie Remix)
4. The Charlatans - You're So Pretty, We're So Pretty
5. Faithless - Bombs
6. Carlos Adolfo Dominguez - B.O.O.B.I.E.S.
7. Tenacious D - The Pick Of Destiny
8. T-Rex - Laser Love
9. KISS - New York Groove
10. The Motorettes - I Am Blister I Am
11. The Wombats - Moving To New York
12. Athlete - Half Light (Losers Remix)

09/11/2006, 9:01 AM
The week I'm going for a political theme (well it is the 89th Anniversary of the October Revolution this month):
1. The Redskins - It Can Be Done

2. The Coup - My Favourite Mutiny

3. Public Enemy - Party for Your Right to Fight

4. The Style Council - Shout to the Top

5. The Jam - The Eton Rifles

6. Manic Street Preachers - Ifwhiteamericatoldthetruthforonedayitsworldwouldfa llapart

7. The Clash - Spanish Bombs

8. The Beat - Whine and Grine/Stand Down Margaret

9. Catch 22 - Decembrists' Song

10. The Redskins - Keep on Keepin' on

09/11/2006, 1:21 PM
I'm pretty sure it was the end of last year that Ali Farke died, not 100% on that though. The album Radio Mali is very good though, highly recommended. Its recordings he did between 1970 and 1972 that were broadcast live on Radio Mali, so its very stripped down (which is a good thing) and you can really hear how good his voice and guitar playing were

09/11/2006, 1:34 PM
Just had the Dub Side of the Moon and Radiodread albums delivered you guys been banging on about. Pretty Pretty Pretty Good.
Only got a brief listen to them as I'm at work but they sound great, I love their version of The Tourist

09/11/2006, 1:36 PM
Lost in the Plot - The Dears
And I'm Aching - BRMC
Love & Death - The Stills
Decomposing Trees - Galaxie 500
Milk - The Kings of Leon
Saturday Night - Suede
Once More - The Wedding Present
Levi Stubbs Tears - Billy Bragg

stann
16/11/2006, 4:18 PM
First off, can't now edit the last post for some reason. The NWA tune was Express Yourself of course. Just a typo, I swear, my secret shameful love of Bruce Willis' singing hasn't been cruelly exposed or anything like that. :o

This week...

1. DJ Shadow - Blood On The Motorway
2. DJ Shadow - Enuff
3. Cypress Hill - What's Your Number?
4. Thievery Corporation - Revolution Solution (TC Remix)
5. Can - Halleluhwah (Cheers Ken, God those Mondays are some cheeky little scamps, wha?)
6. Herculean - The Good, The Bad, and the Queen
7. The Flaming Lips - It Overtakes Me
8. The Motorettes - I Am Blister I Am (this is just feckin' brilliant!)
9. The Automatic - Monster
10. Flat Pack - Sweet Child O' Mine (Mylo Club Mix)
11. Faithless - Bombs (Benny Benassi Remix)
12. T Power - Mutant Jazz

Dr.Nightdub
16/11/2006, 10:10 PM
Just finished doing this Primal Scream compilation for a friend who had her eyes opened and saw the light last Saturday. Wipes the floor with "Dirty Hits" if I say so myself.

Noisy CD
Loaded
Come Together
Movin' On Up
Rocks
Jailbird
Burning Wheel
Medication
Swastika Eyes
Shoot Speed / Kill Light
Miss Lucifer
City
Country Girl
Dolls (Sweet Rock And Roll)
Hell's Comin' Down

Nicey CD
Higher Than The Sun
Damaged
I'm Comin' Down
(I'm Gonna) Cry Myself Blind
Star
Revolutionary
Living Dub
Keep Your Dreams
Some Velvet Morning
Autobahn 66
Space Blues # 2
Sometimes I Feel So Lonely

© 2006 Electric Leg Productions Unlimited. All rights trampled on. :D

17/11/2006, 7:51 AM
I like it. This week I've been mostly listening to Screamadelica!

stann
17/11/2006, 2:37 PM
Very nice Doc!
If you could squeeze Stuka on there it'd be well nigh perfect.

20/11/2006, 9:25 PM
Analyze - Thom Yorke
Open Your Eyes - Snow Patrol
Island in the Sun - Weezer
Legacy - Mansun
Mayonnaise - Smashing Pumpkins
Citizen Erased - Muse
Every Day is Exactly the Same - NIN
Recovery - Funeral for a Friend
Lamposts - Bell XI
No. 1 Zero - Audioslave

20/11/2006, 10:13 PM
Razorlight- America
Akon- Smack That
Arctic Monkeys- You Probably Couldn't See For The Lights But You Were Lookin
Arctic Monkeys- Fake Tales of San Francisco
Oasis- Let There Be Love
Bryan Adams- Summer of 69
Good Charlotte- Wondering
Mylo- Drop The Pressure

27/11/2006, 10:34 AM
Kasabian - British legion (dodgy title but great song...)
Doves - The Man Who Told Everything
The Killers - Read My Mind
U2 - One
Keane - A Bad Dream
Primal Scream - Keep your dreams
Chemical brothers - Close your eyes
Air - All I Need.

was feeling very chilled out...

stann
27/11/2006, 10:46 AM
Some new stuff this week, bit of a remix one...

1. Peter, Bjorn & John - Up Against The Wall
2. Futureheads - Hounds Of Love (Phones' Wolf At The Door Remix)
3. Coldplay - Talk (Thin White Duke Mix)
4. The Egg - Wall (Mylo Remix)
5. Adam Freeland - Mindkiller
6. Ivory - Blaze A Trail
7. Ils vs The Who - Baba O'Riley
8. A Skillz & Krafty Kuts - Tricka Technology (Ed Funk Vocal Mix)
9. Faithless - Bombs (Galaxy 21 Remix)
10. DJ Shadow feat Sergio Pizzorno - The Tiger
11. Kasabian - Empire
12. Maximo Park - Going Missing

27/11/2006, 10:47 AM
Paul Weller Playlist. One song from every album (Jam/TSC/Solo) avoiding singles no covers:
1. Away from the numbers
2. Life from a window
3. In the crowd
4. Thick as thieves
5. Set the house ablaze
6. Running on the spot
7.Headstart for happiness
8. The Paris match
9. Man of great promise
10. The cost of loving
11. Its a very deep sea
12. Sure is Sure
13. Cosmos
14. Shadow of the sun
15. Porcelein Gods
16. Up in Suzes room
17. Back in the fire
18. A bullet For Everyone
19. The pebble and the boy

02/12/2006, 1:12 PM
1. The Weakerthans - "Aside"
2. Armchair Martian - "Jessica's Suicide"
3. Puddle of Mudd - "Blurry" (embarrassing for sure but it's been that kinda week)
4. Soul Asylum - "Oxygen"
5. Feeder - "Just A Day"
6. Lit - "Next Time Around"
7. Rob Lamothe - "Misery"
8. Hoobastank - "Good Enough"
9. Cold - "Tell Me Why"
10. Goo Goo Dolls - "Up Yours"

NavanBohs
05/12/2006, 5:58 PM
I've got a Top 100 thingy on my mp3 player now...top 10 by different bands at the mo...

Deftones - Back To School
Slipknot - Vermillion
Evanescence - Sweet Sacrifice
Rage Against The Machine - Roll Right
Korn - When Will This End?
Stone Sour - Reborn
Metallica - The Unforgiven
Alice in Chains - Them Bones
Linkin Park - Qwerty (live)
Soundgarden - Black Hole Sun

stann
06/12/2006, 9:49 AM
This week I've only listened to the fevered pounding of blood through my head.

06/12/2006, 10:02 AM
A Strokesian non singles Playlist
1.Barely Legal
2.When It Started
3. Take it or Leave it
4. Whatever Happened
5. Under Control
6. Meet Me in the Bathroom
7. Red Light
8. Ize of the World
9. Razorblade

noby
06/12/2006, 10:09 AM
This week I've only listened to the fevered pounding of blood through my head.
Are they a Finnish death metal band?

Dexys Midnight Runners - One of those things
Dexys Midnight Runners - Tell me what she's like (that whole album, actually)
Kraftwerk - Neon lights
Laibach - Maggie May
Fall - L.A.
Belle & Sebastian - Meat & Potatoes
Bees - Chicken Payback
Wedding Present - Dalliance
Stone Roses - Standing here
Inspiral Carpets - Sackville

endabob1
06/12/2006, 10:11 AM
From the John Peel CD

What Do I Get - Buzzcocks
Alternative Ulster - Stiff Little Fingers
Forest - Cure
Another Girl Another Planet - Only Ones
Just Like Honey - Jesus & Mary Chain
In A Rut - Ruts
Down In The Tube Station At Midnight - Jam
Atmosphere - Joy Division
Musette And Drums - Cocteau Twins
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out - Smiths
Over The Wall - Echo & The Bunnymen
Message - Grandmaster Flash
Birthday - Sugarcubes
Everyone Thinks He Looks Daft - Wedding Present
You've Got My Number (Why Don't You Use It) - Undertones
Trumpton Riots - Half Man Half Biscuit

Billsthoughts
06/12/2006, 11:37 AM
Paul Weller Playlist. One song from every album (Jam/TSC/Solo) avoiding singles no covers:
1. Away from the numbers
2. Life from a window(id say that was a tought one)
3. In the crowd
4. Thick as thieves
5. Set the house ablaze
6. Running on the spot
7.Headstart for happiness
8. The Paris match
9. Man of great promise
10. The cost of loving
11. Its a very deep sea
12. Sure is Sure
13. Cosmos
14. Shadow of the sun
15. Porcelein Gods
16. Up in Suzes room
17. Back in the fire
18. A bullet For Everyone
19. The pebble and the boy

did you see that documentary on the beeb there a few weeks ago? quality. didnt spend to long on anything(really brushed over a few of the poorer solo albums) and nicely segued into different segments with weller playing instrumentals of major songs on the acoustic guitar. very nice. got me back listening to a load of his stuff I hadnt heard in years.

06/12/2006, 11:37 AM
Kasabian-Sun/Rise/Light/Flies
Primal Scream-Autobahn 66
Massive Attack-What Your Soul Sings
Foo Fighters-February Stars
Queens of the Stone Age-Another Love Song
My Chemical Romance-Helena

ken foree
07/12/2006, 2:28 PM
sunburned hand of the man - the secret in disguise
six organs of admittance - the sun awakens
the fall - 50,000 fall fans can't be wrong
ghq - cosmology of eye
fela kuti - confusion/gentleman
black dice - creature comforts
earth - earth 2
jackie-o motherf*cker - liberation
acid mothers temple and the melting paraiso u.f.o. - new geocentric world of the acid mothers temple
alice coltrane - universal consciousness
jandek - glasgow sunday

lotsa disco then :p ;)

First
15/12/2006, 9:40 AM
1. In a broken dream - Python Lee Jackson feat. Rod Stewart
2. Smoke on the water (Live) Deep Purple
3.Rape Me - Nirvana
4. All apologies - Nirvana
5. In the end - Linkin Park
6. Radar Love Golden Earrings
7. Sucker Train Blues - Velvet Revolver
8. The Saints are Coming - Greenday and U2
9. Loving the Alien - Velvet Revolver
10. Godsgonnacutyoudown - Johnny Cash
11. Ava Adore - Smashing Pumpkins

06/03/2007, 12:29 PM
Recent playlist for me
1.The Smiths -Hand in Glove
2. Kaiser Chiefs - Angry Mob
3. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Y Control
4. The Smiths - Girlfriend in a Coma
5. The Smiths - The Boy with the Thorn in his Side.

06/03/2007, 3:46 PM
Listening to albums straight through more than tracks but this week I'm listening to

Ali Farke Toure - Radio Mali
Nina Simone - Remixed and remastered
Vera Lynn - Greatest Hits
Daniel Johnston - Fun
Patti Smith - Horses
Gruff Rhys - Candylion

Lev Yashin
06/03/2007, 5:21 PM
this week i shall mostly be listening too
thom yorke-harrowdown hill
postal service-the district sleep alone tonight
bonnie prince billy-the way
the shins-phantom limb
the gossip-standing in the way of control
supergrass-moving

06/03/2007, 7:00 PM
ten most listened to songs in last week...

A Day in the Life - The Beatles
California Stars - Wilco/Billy Bragg
Beau - SuperJimenez
This Modern Love - Bloc Party
Henrietta - The Fratellis
Mollys Chambers - Kings of Leon
I am the Resurrection - Stone Roses
Elderly Woman... - Pearl Jam
Wires - Athlete
Harder Better Faster Stronger - Daft Punk (great tune even though i dont like dance)

07/03/2007, 8:18 AM
Good to see this thread getting resurected.

Off the top of my head:
1. Soul Salvation - The Beat
2. Tell me whats wrong - The Selecter
3. Nite Klub - The Specials
4. Good time tonight - The Soul Sisters
5. Right where you are - Amp Fiddler
6. Herculean - The good the bad and the queen
7. Chelsea Burns - Keran Ann
8. Here comes the sun king - The Beatles
9. Colin Zeal - Blur
10. Yer Bounda - Ali Farka Touré

07/03/2007, 1:13 PM
The Fray- Save A Life (only heard it last night for the first time- quality song)
Oasis- Rock N' Roll Star
Oasis- Morning Glory
Usher- How You Remind Me
Mario- Let Me Love You
The Fratellis- Chelsea Dagger
Feeder- Buck Rogers
Arctic Monkeys- Fake Tales of San Fransisco
Razorlight- Golden Touch
U2/Greenday- The Saints Are Coming

Wolfie
08/03/2007, 1:05 PM
Amazin the amount of tunes you get through when you're painting the gaff...........

All Ablaze - Ian Brown
Liberty Ship - The La's
Freakin Out - Graham Coxon
Come on Feel the Noise - Oasis (Slade Cover)
Who the F*&k are the Arctic Monkeys? - Arctic Monkeys
In the Morning - Razorlight
The Bucket - Kings of Leon
Hallellujah - Happy Mondays

stann
08/03/2007, 3:09 PM
Yaaaay!!

In me earholes this week:

1. David Holmes - Gritty Shaker (Richard Fearless Remix)
2. Basement Jaxx - Take Me Back To Your House
3. Whitey - Wrap It Up
4. Prodigy - Girls (Rex The Dog Remix)
5. New Young Pony Club - Ice Cream
6. CSS - Off The Hook
7. Mr Hudson & The Library - Too Late Too Late
8. Kaiser Chiefs - Everything Is Average Nowadays
9. Buzzcocks - Everybody's Happy Nowadays :)
10. Wire - I Am The Fly
11. B-52s - Private Idaho
12. Kasabian - Me Plus One (Jacques Lu Cont Mix)

10/03/2007, 8:11 PM
css album.

it is the shlt

10/03/2007, 9:19 PM
The Gustavo Music to get ready to go out to thread
1. Boston - More than a Feeling
2. Metallica - Enter Sandman
3. Nirvana - Territoral ****ings
4. Oasis - Morning Glory
5. Prodigy - Smack My Bitch Up
6. Mötorhead - Ace Of Spade
7. Guns N Roses - Mr Brownstone
8. The Strokes - Juicebox
9. The Sex Pistols - Bodies
10. Andrew WK - Party Hard

noby
13/03/2007, 12:20 PM
css album.

it is the shlt
Is it?
It's on my ever-increasing list of albums I must buy.

14/03/2007, 9:03 AM
The Gustavo Music to get ready to go out to thread
1. Boston - More than a Feeling

Ah yes the song you shouldn't like but we all secretly do. Thats a real sing into your hairbrush number.

noby
14/03/2007, 10:06 AM
Fitting in a way. The singer died this week.

stann
15/03/2007, 4:44 AM
CSS album is a little patchy but the good bits are goooooooood!

Anyway, knocking up a post punk / new wave comp this week so this has a retro flavour.

1. Dexy's Midnight Runners - Geno
2. The Selecter - Too Much Pressure
3. The Specials - Gangsters
4. Trio - Da Da Da
5. Talk Talk - Talk Talk
6. Shriekback - New Home
7. Altered Images - I Could Be Happy
8. Wire - Ex-Lion Tamer
9. Tenpole Tudor - Swords Of A Thousand Men
10. The Piranhas - Tom Hark (could be an unofficial forum anthem, this one)
11. Los Campesinos! - We Throw Parties, You Throw Knives (I was takin' a break!)
12. Maximo Park - Our Velocity

21/03/2007, 7:40 PM
Recommend this to everyone:

Bustin' Out-Rick James
Cold Blooded-Rick James
Ghetto Life-Rick James
Superfreak-Rick James

Ideal for a twenty minute walk.

22/03/2007, 8:02 AM
Ghetto Life-Rick James

Great track.

this week:
1. Tinariwen - Oualahila Ar Tesninam
2. The Good The Bad and the Queen - A Soldier's Tale
3. Keran Ann - Nolita
4. Leonard Cohen - The Partisan
5. blur - Caramel
6. Easy Star Allstars - Brain Damage
7. Pink Floyd - Eclipse
8. Syd Barrett - Baby Lemonade
9. The Small Faces - Get Yourself together
10. The Jam - And Your Bird Can Sing

The Good Son
22/03/2007, 8:59 AM
Cycle Of Violence - Gruff Rhys
Blues For Ceausescu - Fatima Mansions
The Bunting Song - The Good The Bad & The Queen
Sightsee MC - Big Audio Dynamite
Prophet - Carbon\Silicon
Get It On - Grinderman
Blues For Ceausescu - Fatima Mansions
The Glee Club - Five Go Down To The Sea?
St. Patrick - James Yorkston And The Athletes
Stereotype - The Specials

stann
23/03/2007, 3:14 PM
Jaysus Good Son, you're fond of that Fatima Mansions track. ;) :D

All new (ish) tunes all this week...

1. Whitey - Wrap It Up
2. Faithless - Music Matters
3. LCD Soundsystem - North American Scum
4. Union Of Knives - Evil Has Never
5. New Young Pony Club - Get Dancey
6. CSS - Let's Make Love And Listen To Death From Above (Spank Rock Remix)
7. Calvin Harris - Acceptable In The '80s (Glimmers Mix)
8. Charlotte Hatherley - I Want You To Know
9. Howling Bells - Low Happening
10. The Fratellis - Baby Fratelli
11. The Rumble Strips - Alarm Clock
12. Los Campesinos! - We Throw Parties, You Throw Knives

The Good Son
23/03/2007, 4:06 PM
Jaysus Good Son, you're fond of that Fatima Mansions track. ;) :D

So good they played it twice.