View Full Version : Three Cheers
10/10/2006, 3:31 PM
No joke pal. They are an embarrassment.
Japan? What's someone like you doing in such a nice country?!
cavan_fan
10/10/2006, 3:37 PM
Let's be honest here, this entire thread is based on a view that something a lot of people enjoy is less worthy than something few people enjoy.
You get the same in literature, film, tv, music etc etc etc
Because the national team attracts a wider section of the population than the league you will get a 'different' type of fan. These people do not have the same rules as the hardcore fan.
As for fans supporting English teams (I notice no-one ever criticises people for supporting Real Madrid) around the world people support more succesful teams. Are Maltese people supporting Man U not allowed support Malta??
The thing that p*sses me off about this is the fact that some of the people telling us how to be real fans are delighted that our national team was humiliated, not because it will improve the national team, or the league but because they find some of the other fans embarassing.
papa-j
10/10/2006, 3:43 PM
All you EL league supporters get off your high horses. Supporting an EL team does not make you more knowledgeable or passionate about football.
I play for and support my local junior team and also have an interest in the premiership. The majority of people on this site and at International matches are similar.
The rest of the world think that the craic, fun & colour brought to the Internationals by Ireland supporters is great so i'm not worried what a few EL supporters with a superiority complex think. Its all about creating an athmoshere and getting behind the team. Who cares if you are wearing a EL jersey or a green wig?? Do you think if we all wear EL league jerseys tomorrow night that we will get the right result?
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 3:46 PM
All you EL league supporters get off your high horses. Supporting an EL team does not make you more knowledgeable or passionate about football.
I play for and support my local junior team and also have an interest in the premiership. The majority of people on this site and at International matches are similar.
The rest of the world think that the craic, fun & colour brought to the Internationals by Ireland supporters is great so i'm not worried what a few EL supporters with a superiority complex think. Its all about creating an athmoshere and getting behind the team. Who cares if you are wearing a EL jersey or a green wig?? Do you think if we all wear EL league jerseys tomorrow night that we will get the right result?
yes. but only if the lads in the leprechaun outfits aren't there:D :D :D
At least EL fans contribute to OUR domestic league, which if more so called Irish fans did, then maybe we would have BETTER players and not get thrashed by Cyprus
10/10/2006, 3:50 PM
At least EL fans contribute to OUR domestic league, which if more so called Irish fans did, then maybe we would have BETTER players and not get thrashed by Cyprus
Ireland got beaten because some of the people at the games wear leprechaun costumes and dont go to el games?
No, don't be stupid.My post is clear.
Billsthoughts
10/10/2006, 4:01 PM
Who is licking his arse?
People have either agreed with him or disagreed with him,thats it!!
Do you wear a jester hat? Do you think it's acceptable for people supporting Ireland to dress up as Leprechauns? Did you think it was funny when Ray Houghton done it?
em read back on some of the posts and feel the billy love in goin on....the only comparable responses are when dahamsta posts and you get all that " good point adam" ****.
I dont care what anyone else does says thinks or wears as long as it doesnt effect me. and wearing leprechaun suits has no bearing on my life whatsover. and that houghton thing you refer to. It didnt bother me at all cause "how we are perceived in England" doesnt hold much interest to me. And I have to say have been going to Ireland matches for a while now and have yet to see a leprechaun suit.
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 4:07 PM
unfortunaltely the fact is that it is now vital that the game at home (ie the eL, underage set-ups, introduction of elite academy's etc) has to be radically overhauled, improved and implemented. we must now look after our own boat. for the last 30 years we could rely on the cream of the crop going over to england to ply their trade and therefore developing into world class performers. however in the last few years with the premiership ditching the amount of 'foreign' players and non-assimilated players allowed combined with less restrictions between the EU and freedom of movement leglislation etc. there are now multiple countries where youngsters are picked up from ... eastern europe, south america, africa and even asia. this in turn means that the closest fully professional league to us no longer relys on us, scotland, wales and indeed itslef for it's playing pool.
the upshot to this is we must now get ourselves into a position where we can develop players here and keep them here until such a time that they are able to go straight into premiership or championship teams and challenge for a first team place (example: kevin doyle) and not send them over as kids where they may be totally neglected or discarded after a couple of years (example: thousands!!).
i think what most eL fans are saying (including myself) is that more time and effort has to go into our own product so we can look out for our own future players and in turn our own international team. as long as this is done then no one will have a problem with anyone supporting a team from overseas in tandum.
the fact is that we can no longer rely on english (or scotish) teams developing our young players while we sit back and wait for them to be successiful 1st team players and then we select them for international duty.
the problem not only lies with the FAI, although they do shoulder a lot of responsibility, but on everyone who claims to be an irish soccer supporter! if all of our money keeps going to overseas multi-national brand names (so called football teams) and nothing stays at home how are the above changes ever going to happen.
10/10/2006, 4:11 PM
No, don't be stupid.My post is clear.
My point is that you call fans who dont watch el games "so-called fans", therefore implying that if you dont support the el you cant be a real fan, or that Ireland fans who also support el teams are somehow 'better' or more 'worthy' fans. This I disagree with.
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 4:12 PM
BTW nearly 4,000 supporters at Terryland to see GUFC and SRFC were a credit to their league and themselves. the atmosphere at LR will not come close to that in Terryland last Friday. FACT
10/10/2006, 4:12 PM
em read back on some of the posts and feel the billy love in goin on....the only comparable responses are when dahamsta posts and you get all that " good point adam" ****.
But wouldnt the latter be sycophantic and the former just stupid?
Surely if you really cared about a team, then you would do what is in the teams best interests - suppoting our domestic league is, if we want to start developing good players again.
papa-j
10/10/2006, 4:14 PM
you're missing my point. Junior football players/supporters contribute just as much and its not your domestic league its ALL OF OURS.You might watch the games but we feed it with players.
EL will not give us better players as most players in the EL have been through the system and failed to make the grade( with a few exceptions) Supporting junior clubs and their schoolboy set ups will improve the standard.
You are missing the point yet again.If the EL had more money from fans actually supporting their own, then they'd have money to develop youth players, so then the League would be made up of quality youth players instead of 'failures'.
10/10/2006, 4:20 PM
you're missing my point. Junior football players/supporters contribute just as much and its not your domestic league its ALL OF OURS.You might watch the games but we feed it with players.
EL will not give us better players as most players in the EL have been through the system and failed to make the grade( with a few exceptions) Supporting junior clubs and their schoolboy set ups will improve the standard.
You might feed the EL with some players but we pay their wages.
Bottom line is people do not see the irony of spending thousands supporting their country around the world without contributing a farthing towards their own domestic league. Or worse the muppets who fly to england every week to cheer on a foreign club without spending a penny on their own league. And then have the cheek to slag off their own league. :rolleyes:
oh ffs will you wake up
has derry/shels and corks consistent performances in europe not told you whats happening ??? - the grades have changed
10/10/2006, 4:24 PM
What about someone who supports Ireland and supports the EL but does not support Juniour football and sometimes dresses up with a curly green wig and wears a jersey and sometimes gets ****ed and sings most of the time but not between the 40th and 42nd minute of a friendly V China.
Are they a good fan or where to they stand
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 4:24 PM
the point is to support the domestic product from grassroots up - but physically and financially and this in turn will improve the quality and standards of both the leaguers and players.
think about this, espically everyone who doesn't follow/attend or support the eL:
if you put even a quarter of the annual amount of euro you put into your favourite premiership team (from jerseys, trips over, posters, hats, mugs, bedsheets....whatever) into your local eL team do you not think that the league and also the quality of players would improve?
has the EPL done enough to produce the next Paul McGraths, Roy Keanes, Ronnie Whelans or Packie Bonners in the last 10 years for us to continue to follow it blindly and just blame successive Irish managers for our falling proess on the international field, or do we need to start doing something about it ourselves?
Billsthoughts
10/10/2006, 4:25 PM
But wouldnt the latter be sycophantic and the former just stupid?
I think you will find both are being sycophantic...
Fair enough if you have invested a lot of time/energy and money in to something only to see the apathy and derision of so called Irish fans mean you are constantly flirting with extinction. Its understandable that a certain amount of resentment would build up. "you dont care if my club exists or not so why should I care if your team gets trounced by some euro no hopers". i get that. But this ole ole leprechaun suit crap is just pure simplistic elitist ****e and I dont buy it at all. and **** anyone who tries to guilt trip me by telling me otherwise.
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 4:28 PM
EL will not give us better players as most players in the EL have been through the system and failed to make the grade...........( Supporting junior clubs and their schoolboy set ups will improve the standard.
ok so let me get this straight:
eL players are failures who have failed to make it and junior players are going to improve the standard of the national team!
open the doors and let this man loose!!!!
Billy Lord
10/10/2006, 4:28 PM
I'm not slagging people off for supporting British clubs, I'm slagging them for looking like village idiots and behaving like Westlife fans.
Ireland fans are under an illusion that they're the best in the world - where's the basis for that, and what makes them better than, say, Mexico fans, South Koreans or the Italians?
I'd reckon that English football fans are the best because they turn out in huge numbers week after week, supporting clubs as diverse as Manchester United and Halifax Town. Small clubs in England get incredible support considering the counter-attractions. Respect.
All many Ireland fans want is a good day out on the beer now and again. Big deal.
10/10/2006, 4:30 PM
think about this, espically everyone who doesn't follow/attend or support the eL:
if you put even a quarter of the annual amount of euro you put into your favourite premiership team (from jerseys, trips over, posters, hats, mugs, bedsheets....whatever) into your local eL team do you not think that the league and also the quality of players would improve?
Everyone?
There is a difference between those who don't follow the el, and those who don't follow the el and also support a premiership side.
Apart from that, I agree with the post.
Billsthoughts
10/10/2006, 4:33 PM
who said they were the best supporters in the world? Maybe 10 or 15 years ago when we just didnt have a rep for hooliganism but nobody has said it in a while.
There is no real culture in this country of going to anything on a regular basis.
And are you tryin to tell me that nobody goes on the beer at an EL game?
10/10/2006, 4:34 PM
Dont know about that Bill, attendances for the LOI during the 60s were up to the 30 or 40 thousand for games.
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 4:35 PM
Everyone?
There is a difference between those who don't follow the el, and those who don't follow the el and also support a premiership side.
Apart from that, I agree with the post.
okay osarusan what you pay supporting the J-League team of your choice:D
10/10/2006, 4:39 PM
okay osarusan what you pay supporting the J-League team of your choice:D
2,000 yen a ticket, about...........12 euros?
Maybe I should post it home!:D
But seriously I think that there is a false assumption that people who dont support the el are all wasting their money on the premiership.
I will admit there are a lot of people who do this, but I'm sure there are other reasons some people dont watch el.
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 4:44 PM
i don't know - looking at our back 4 for tomorrow i'm sure there's a few eL players who may feel that with the lads coming in that they might of been given a shout - after all look at the progress eL teams are starting to make in europe. jusy because mcshane plays in england (never heard of him until very recently) is he better than the lads at derry or drogheda
Billy Lord
10/10/2006, 5:20 PM
I'm sorry I opened me big gob now! Anyway, here's to an Ireland win tomorrow. It would certainly make things very interesting.
Pat O' Banton
10/10/2006, 5:22 PM
Anyone watched Ingerland lately? Surely there's a nation doing their best to prove that having a league with the income of a medium size country has feck all to do with producing quality football.:eek: :)
My point is that you call fans who dont watch el games "so-called fans", therefore implying that if you dont support the el you cant be a real fan, or that Ireland fans who also support el teams are somehow 'better' or more 'worthy' fans. This I disagree with.
And I strongly disagree with you. Not going over why again but just thought I'd mention it
The Legend
10/10/2006, 5:54 PM
Agree with Billy Lord on this one.
I dont go to Ireland matches because I dont feel the team is a proper reflection on the Island of Ireland,as in no Eircom League players in the team.
Also,the fact that most "Ireland fans" pledge themselfs to English clubs is the biggest contradiction ever.
This is kinda ignorant.... if you're so irish, why dont you just follow GAA and not watch any soccer!
Billsthoughts
10/10/2006, 9:00 PM
Thats like that old joke..."not too communist to wear shoes I see..."
Maybe he does follow the GAA as well. Its only 2 games a year for Sligo people anyways...
10/10/2006, 10:40 PM
Fair enough if you have invested a lot of time/energy and money in to something only to see the apathy and derision of so called Irish fans mean you are constantly flirting with extinction. Its understandable that a certain amount of resentment would build up. "you dont care if my club exists or not so why should I care if your team gets trounced by some euro no hopers". i get that.
That kind of sums it up alright Bill. What disappoints me is not so much that people don't support their local teams more (after all, it's such hard work isn't it ? Watching ManWho in the pub is so much easier, let's face it.) It's the contempt and sneering at our league by so many people that annoys me. Was it you who said earlier in the thread that you didn't support the league as you wanted a "better product" ? (Forgive me if I'm wrong, and I'm not saying you were sneering) surely the logical extension of that is to go and support Brazil, or France, or anyone of the many international teams who could currently offer you a much better product than the Ireland team ?
(BTW - like the sig, a Billy Bragg fan. Respect! You can't be all bad:p )
Is there any likelihood that some Irish multi-millionaire would ever stump up megabucks and plough it into an eL team? People like JP McManus and John Magnier have turned the Irish thoroughbred world into world beaters. Surely there are some rich Irishmen out there who would like to take an eL club and make it amazing? Or are they just interested in investing where ever Roy Keane goes?
No chance, and it doesn't have to be billions either, A small amount of money spent (in premiership terms) spent on renovating every ground in ireland would go a long way but while the FAi continue to put so much resources into the national team, it won't happen.
Calcio Jack
11/10/2006, 8:23 AM
I started going to watch the Irish team in 1970...have missed only a hanful of homes games since then and have attended loads of away games. I have followed Rovers for 40 years as well. The common thread between following the two is that when you have good times (my personal highlight was Roy Keanes one man destruction of the Dutch in 2001 and 3-0 victory over USSR 1974) enjoy them because there are plenty of awful time...(Cyprus away, McCarthy sending home Roy and of course the losing of Milltown).
So you can moan on about the ole bigade, sure they are plonkers but IMO they are harmless, they'll be gone soon enough if our current form continues. That's the nature of success, it always brings out the "hangers on" "event junkies" etc . Sure when Rovers regain their righful position and start winning things in Tallaght no doubt you won't be able to get a taxi when we play at home as all the drivers will be watching us !!
So my point is that it's time IMO that Eircom fans dropped this fixation they have about the ole crowd not being "proper" fans.Just because you support the local league doesn't make you any better or worse a fan than someone who chooses to support Man U, Celtic, Liverpool etc. All that shows is that there are a lot of people living here (including our poor Tshock) who exercise their democratic right to follow any dam team they want. I agree that their choice is not one I'd choose and supporting a British club team shows a certain desperate failure of identity for those concerned. That failure IMO can be put down to the fact that we as a nation despite our recently found wealth still suffer from a debilitating inferiority complex and to put it mildly a sheer lack of style,class and respect for ourselves. To put it as plainly as I can I believe are almost unique culture that allows the majority of fans to feel comfortable supporting British teams and allows them to slag off thier own local club teams is down to the fact that we as a nation have no idea of what a "social conscience is" and that is why our TShock can get away with taking "loans"/"gifts" , why developers have been able to get a stangelhold on land and screw people by making ordinary houses so expensive that 40 year mortgages are required.
We've lost all sense of community is this country and thus we have lost our perspective on decency and thus the ole brigade can't see the sheer stupidity/shallowness of supporting a team from England... no doubt tonight we'll see at Lansowne Road the first outing for a number of Sunderland shirts... so to all the Eircom supporters annoyed by this if you think that
Bertie was right not to resign then you are just as culpable as the olers as you are endorsing a society where nothing counts expect the next quick personal gratification and of course not geting caught...
I'll be there tonight, watching and waiting to see how the Celtic Gob****es respond.... I suspect it will be sickening.
galwayhoop
11/10/2006, 9:05 AM
fairly good post calico but as a GUFC season ticket holder, irish supporter who will be at landsdowne this evening (hoping for a good result BTW, and someone who was horrified at the reaction at the end of last swiss game) and a season ticket holder at celtic i take offense at the final sentence!
is it impossible to support all three, be involved in soccer at a local level and have a decent knowledege of the game and not be a gobsh1te?
or are we all resorting to painting each other with the one brush?
11/10/2006, 9:28 AM
Good post lads, I think this tarnishing people is not helful. It is always easy to slag others off rather than do something positive. I rather concentrate on positives and entice people to games rather than slag people off. If people in pubs or work etc slag you off about the EL, just walk away and have nothing to do with them Thats what I do with stupid people and it usually works. Get rid of them from your life and I dont mean that in an AL Pacino way.
Calcio Jack
11/10/2006, 9:39 AM
fairly good post calico but as a GUFC season ticket holder, irish supporter who will be at landsdowne this evening (hoping for a good result BTW, and someone who was horrified at the reaction at the end of last swiss game) and a season ticket holder at celtic i take offense at the final sentence!
is it impossible to support all three, be involved in soccer at a local level and have a decent knowledege of the game and not be a gobsh1te?
or are we all resorting to painting each other with the one brush?
The term 'Celtic Gob***tes' was a play on the term 'Celtic Tiger' , nothing to do with Celtic FC...
I'm surprised that you were horrified at the reaction at the end of the last Swiss game... all I remember was the total silence and stange kind of bewilderment in the ground... or are you refering to the reaction that IMO McCarthy received at the end of his last game which was against the Swiss.
Re your owning up to being a Celtic season ticket holder... how long have we got...all I can say is that IMO I have heard all the reasons over the years by which Irish residents (I assume you are one) justify such support for British, English, scotish teams etc.... and when it comes to Celtic they always seem to express the added justification that they are an "Irish" team blah blah... IMO that doesn't stack up but if it makes people happy so be it... I guess it goes back to what i said earlier, many people here seem to suffer from some sort of inferiority complex etc... why don't people who want to support foreign teams just say that's what they want to do and stop the b###s##t justifications... as the bard said "..thou doth protest too much.."
Roadend
11/10/2006, 9:51 AM
Speaking of Leprechaun suited green wig wearing fans, I'll bet the likes of Brazillan fans ar embarrassed to high heaven when they see scantilly clad, big breasted, tanned beauties, attending their internationls. Its absolutely embarrasing to think they spend the majority of the 90 minutes jiggling their ample bristols to the beat of some other eejit's samba drum. No bloody self respect.
Billy Lord
11/10/2006, 10:02 AM
It's amazing that people are more upset about Steve Staunton than Bertie Ahern, but that's because Bertie is one of de peepul and isn't stoppin' us havin' deh craic, like.
I despise barstoolers, green wig wearers, and all of that lame, SKY Sports 'football is fun' nonsense. Some foot.ie PC police ain't gonna change my attitude.
Neil: I agree. After nearly 40 years supporting Ireland, I walked away and will have nothing to do with the Lansdowne muppets. They are welcome to their lame atmosphere, everyone-sit-down attitude, plastic hats, green wigs, the same couple of chants year after year, that awful 'Ole' nonsense and the rest of it.
I'm sorry I started this thread, there really was no point to it because people have entrenched views that won't change overnight; but that's life.
AS JP Sartre said: 'Hell is other people'.
Billy Lord
11/10/2006, 10:06 AM
Roadend: I think most males (even homosexuals, I'd imagine) would agree that buxom and under-dressed Brazilian women are rather more attractive than drunken Paddies in leprechaun suits or green wigs.
Roadend
11/10/2006, 10:14 AM
So abhorance of the casual fan should be weighted by the attractiveness of the fan. I see..........
galwayhoop
11/10/2006, 10:15 AM
i was in the south terrace last game and there were a fair few boos and whistles.... definately not as bad as mcCarthy's last stand but depressed me all the same.
regards celtic, yes technically i do support a foreign football team but i view it - as many others do - as a vehicle for the irish diaspora. i am an irish resident but recently returned after living in britain for a number of years. there are many books about celtic fc and it's affinity with the irish emigrant population in scotland ('celtic minded' to name one, which is a series of letters from supporters about what celtic means to them) and the fact is that not alone do people in ireland have that feeling of irishness for celtic but also the 2nd 3rd and 4th generation irish peoples of scotland also feel that the club is an irish club and feel that celtic is the vehicle for showing their irishness. (BTW celtic park is the only ground in mainland britain where the union jack is not flown as a tri-colour proudly fills that spot.) the point here is that the belief that celtic is an irish club in britain was not invented in this country it is infact the belief of the people of glasgow (and scotland) that it is an irish club.
Contary to popular opinion a large majority of Scots are anti-irish (and anti-catholic) and in particular in glasgow. when people in this country count the scots as percieved 'allies' or comrades they are usually wrong as most scots harbour anti-irish feelings. in fact nowadays irish people are made feel more welcome in england than in scotland - except in the strong irish ex-pat communities of which celtic fc is the main torch bearer.
rant over - but to answer your question / statement. in others views i may support a foreign club but to me (and the local people who support them) it is an irish club.
BTW i personally bear no grudge toward people who support EPL clubs or other clubs but i think that they should also suport their local eL club and should ever the twain meet then obviously their vocal support should be entirely for their local side. i know i'd be wearing maroon if we met celtic.
anyhow, this is an irish soccer forum (not celtic or eL) so i will leave it at that and you may agree or disagree with me but thats my opinion and you are entitled to yours.
Calcio Jack
11/10/2006, 10:23 AM
regards celtic, yes technically i do support a foreign football team but i view it - as many others do - as a vehicle for the irish diaspora. i am an irish resident but recently returned after living in britain for a number of years. there are many books about celtic fc and it's affinity with the irish emigrant population in scotland ('celtic minded' to name one, which is a series of letters from supporters about what celtic means to them) and the fact is that not alone do people in ireland have that feeling of irishness for celtic but also the 2nd 3rd and 4th generation irish peoples of scotland also feel that the club is an irish club and feel that celtic is the vehicle for showing their irishness. (BTW celtic park is the only ground in mainland britain where the union jack is not flown as a tri-colour proudly fills that spot.) the point here is that the belief that celtic is an irish club in britain was not invented in this country it is infact the belief of the people of glasgow (and scotland) that it is an irish club.
Contary to popular opinion a large majority of Scots are anti-irish (and anti-catholic) and in particular in glasgow. when people in this country count the scots as percieved 'allies' or comrades they are usually wrong as most scots harbour anti-irish feelings. in fact nowadays irish people are made feel more welcome in england than in scotland - except in the strong irish ex-pat communities of which celtic fc is the main torch bearer.
rant over - but to answer your question / statement. in others views i may support a foreign club but to me (and the local people who support them) it is an irish club.
---------------------------------------------------------------
As I saidpeople living here more often than not justify supporting Celtic on the grounds that they are "an Irish club".... eh no they are not... they are a Scottish Club. I've no objection to people choosing to suport any club they wish... I do however have strong objections to people trying to sell me some crap that a Scottish club is in some way "Irish", it's not , never was and never will be. Guess we'll agree to disagree on that.
ps... when Dermot Desmond tries to get Celtic into the Eircom League instead of the Premiership in Englan... then I might re-consider !!
kingp35
11/10/2006, 10:56 AM
I think this thread is absolutely hilarious. The EL fans on here really do have some kind of superiority complex and they dont realise that the attitude thye have actually turns people away from the EL. I am a season ticket holder at Bray and have been for 5 years but I am also a Leeds United fan and go to Elland Road quite a bit as well. It annoys the hell out of me when EL fans look down on you for supporting an English or Scottish side. The fact that EL fans only support EL teams does not make them any better or more knowledgable about football than an Irish person who doesnt support an EL team.
I understand the points being made about money not coming into the EL because fans are staying away but to call people poor Irish fans because they choose to wear a wig and dont go to EL games is just totally ridiculous and a huge generalisation. Yes those fans exist and I know some of them that go to the pub dressed in their Irish gear but know nothing about football. This doesnt give anyone the right to broadly generalise fans that wear wigs because an extreme minority know nothing about football.
If im honest I would prefer to see a fan dressed in a wig and face painted at an Irish game than someone in a Bray jersey. It is an Irish match afterall.
hoops1
11/10/2006, 11:10 AM
Your missing the main points being made by EL fans
1 There is a gap growing between Irish football on the Island of Ireland
and the International team
2 Alot of people dont fell a connection with the national team anymore
3 Fans feel the International team is no longer reflective of the Irish people
4 The fact that people are getting in such a snot over the result against
Cyprus yet the biggest thing holding back the international team is
the neglect of the domestic game mainly the EL
galwayhoop
11/10/2006, 11:20 AM
well said kingp35. some people who support eL clubs (just eL clubs and no foreign club) begin to sound like the old timers at GAA games who give out about the supporters who go to championship games and 'where were ye when we played wexford in the national league in january'. is there not room to support both eL and EPL/SPL?
the only axe i personally have to grind is with the lads who have absolutely no interest in the league of ireland and complain venehemently about our national team's performances without realising that we must begin to rectify the game here which will in turn improve the national side (albeit it may take 10 - 15 years before any wholesale improvements) and our nations football in general. can we do this while still watching or attending the EPL/SPL teams? obviously. and if you still don't want to support the eL but follow the national team then fair enough. i won't look down my nose but there will be enough hurlers on the ditch who will!
the 'wigs' conversation is bordering on the ludicrous!
hoops1
11/10/2006, 11:23 AM
Answer me this than not that i give a sh1t?
Why do people only wear these ridiculous outfits at International matches?
Billsthoughts
11/10/2006, 11:29 AM
Was it you who said earlier in the thread that you didn't support the league as you wanted a "better product" ? (Forgive me if I'm wrong, and I'm not saying you were sneering) surely the logical extension of that is to go and support Brazil, or France, or anyone of the many international teams who could currently offer you a much better product than the Ireland team ?
deffo wasnt me as I deffo wouldnt even close to think that. I did say people in this country are too f*ckin lazy to go watch anything on a regular basis. and I did resent bein painted as some leprechaun suited moron cause I dont know much about the eircom league. but apart from that I agree totally with people pointing out the irony of not supporting the league and then bemoaning the lack of depth in our squad.