View Full Version : Three Cheers
nedder
09/10/2006, 3:22 PM
the point has been made, those ajax and fc copenhagen fans look down on the jumpsuit and viking fans in the exact same way EL fans do to the ole ole brigade.
its about self respect.
how do you know??
Roadend
09/10/2006, 3:27 PM
its about self respect.
Nobody denies that they look like utter morons, but that's their choice.
EalingGreen
09/10/2006, 3:29 PM
the point has been made, those ajax and fc copenhagen fans look down on the jumpsuit and viking fans in the exact same way EL fans do to the ole ole brigade.
its about self respect.
I would have said it's about enjoying yourself, actually. I've never bothered with it myself*, but I don't feel it's for me to look down on others, so long as they're not harming anyone else.
What's more important to me is how the "ole ole brigade" react when things go wrong. If they stick with the team regardless, then fair play to them, but if they drift off somewhere else to get their "fun", then they're no loss.
But I guess the same principle applies to the more "soberly" dressed fans, especially those who like to sneer at their fellow fans.
* - I have other ways of looking a prat, usually, but not always, involving alcohol ;)
blobbyblob
09/10/2006, 3:30 PM
by only going to landsdowne road you meet monkeys.
Daft Dave for Ireland Manager
Rules to being hardcore
1) Go to a minimum of 32 of your teams games a season.
2) Don't look like an arsehole
nedder
09/10/2006, 3:38 PM
by going to club games you meet some interesting people. guys who will follow a local side wherever they end up.
by only going to landsdowne road you meet monkeys.
Agree on first count.
On second, I think you can meet intersting people in the places you least expect!
09/10/2006, 3:43 PM
I don't think what you wear makes much of a difference. I know people who only go to International games but have a brilliant knowledge and understanding of the game. I also know people who go to English Premiership games and International games but don't understand tactics, can't read games and don't know how to rate players.
These are the people who will be first off the bandwagon.
09/10/2006, 4:12 PM
i've been known to wear a leprechaun suit, does that mean I'm just softcore?
09/10/2006, 4:23 PM
i've been known to wear a leprechaun suit, does that mean I'm just softcore?
No, that means you're fetish! :D
09/10/2006, 7:42 PM
The following is a post taken from the Reds Independent forum. (http://www.redsindependent.com/forum/) It is by a poster called Lord Summerisle and is possible the best post i have ever read on a football forum,it's certainly the best post i've read,on any website,since the game on Saturday night. This certainly seems like the best thread to post it in
It's been years since I enjoyed an International as much as Saturday- actually thats a lie, I really enjoyed the last days of that junky Kerr's reign too. But last Saturday was brilliant. My favourite moments were a) the gob****e in the stadium with 'Stan Out' written on the back of a cereal box, and b) the knobend, with some sort of tricolour on him as a scarf, who was giving out about his beloved boys in green being beaten by a bunch of "factory workers"- ignoring the fact that the chap Konstantinou is a regular in the Champions League for the Olympiakos
This was for every pr*ck in Lansdowne in September 04 at the Cyprus game who BOOED when ticket information was announced over the tannoy for the upcoming Shels-Lille game.
This was for the keltic-shirted scum who so cowardly assaulted a regular poster here and good friend of mine with a bottle to the head for wearing his Reds shirt in Stutgart last month.
This was for every leprachained up to f*ck moron who parades and patronises his "culture" by wearng all kinds of quasi-racist paddywhackery.
This is for all the arseholes who feel the need to emblazon obscure pub names across tricolours. Tri-bytes, take a bow, you goon.
This is for all the 'Ole ole ole ole'/ 'Fields of athenry'/ 'You'll never beat the Irish' false sentimentality that underpins the very sad existence of supporters of the national team.
Celtic Shirts. Jester hats. Leprachain outfits.
For every bell-cheese munching tool merchant who thinks that following a Scottish football team is essential to supporting Irish football.
Michael O' Leary, Darby O' Gill, Jackie Healy Rae, Davy Keogh...... Your Boys took one hell of a beating!
Billsthoughts
09/10/2006, 8:56 PM
Yeah cause shelbourne have done so much for Irish Football.:rolleyes: Ollie Byrne on a one man mission to turn the league into a farce. he spends more time in the courts then at football games. if following shelbourne is your idea of a real Irish football fan you can keep it.
beautifulrock
09/10/2006, 9:29 PM
The following is a post taken from the Reds Independent forum. (http://www.redsindependent.com/forum/) It is by a poster called Lord Summerisle and is possible the best post i have ever read on a football forum,it's certainly the best post i've read,on any website,since the game on Saturday night. This certainly seems like the best thread to post it in
Anto, I guess you dont read very much.
09/10/2006, 9:33 PM
And i guess you're one of the Lepregoons talked about?
Billthoughts,you bitter little man,what has Ollie got to do with anything?
Billsthoughts
09/10/2006, 9:51 PM
Why would I be a bitter little man?
Your going on about some shels fan saying how great it is we got hammered as the people who support Ireland are nothing to do with Irish Football when someone associated with Shels does more damage to the leagues image in this country than anyone in a leprechaun suit. Its a fair point to make as far as I am concerned. he was all set to throw in his lot with some north european league when it was mentioned a few years ago. so am I supposed to bow to your superiority as a supporter cause ya follow shelbourne? If there is a football club equivalent of wearing a leprechaun suit its ollie byrnes shelbourne.
DotTV
10/10/2006, 11:49 AM
It's funny to hear an earlier poster berate fans for wearing Celtic or manyoo jerseys and then proudly tells us he wears his Eircom league jersey.
You're at an Ireland match bud not the EL. The only jersey anyone should wear is the green of Ireland.
Also the idea that if someone puts on a wig or brings a bit of colour to the match means they know nothing about football is bull****.
What would you rather see on the terraces a bunch of grim faced ******* bitching about everything that's wrong with irish football or a few lads with flags, wigs and whatever else creating a good atmosphere in the stands?
It's funny to hear an earlier poster berate fans for wearing Celtic or manyoo jerseys and then proudly tells us he wears his Eircom league jersey.
You're at an Ireland match bud not the EL. The only jersey anyone should wear is the green of Ireland.
Also the idea that if someone puts on a wig or brings a bit of colour to the match means they know nothing about football is bull****.
What would you rather see on the terraces a bunch of grim faced ******* bitching about everything that's wrong with irish football or a few lads with flags, wigs and whatever else creating a good atmosphere in the stands?
wigs dont create an atmosphere
Billsthoughts
10/10/2006, 11:53 AM
you obviously have never seen telly bingo...
DotTV
10/10/2006, 11:59 AM
Of course wigs don't create an atmosphere but the combination of headgear, flags, same colour jerseys etc all add to the occasion.
10/10/2006, 12:06 PM
Interesting thoughts from the lord there and agree with most of it. However dontlike to see my country beaten for any reason. Also Tribites was a chip shop and he is a Galway United fan.
Dottv you are missing the point. Wearing an EL jersey at Ireland games, which I always do, means you support that club. Wearing an english club jersey at an Ireland game means you are a complete and utter muppet who knows nothing about the game.
Leprechaun suits and wigs and inflatable hammers are for saddos who only want to be photgraphed or to wave at the cameras.
BTW davy keogh should be put down.
10/10/2006, 12:06 PM
What people wear has got nothing to do with the major issues of Irish football. If only the problmes could be solved by changing what the Irish football fan wears. I agree a strong league should produce a stronger international team but its funny that as the EL is getting stronger and stronger the national team is getting weaker and weaker. In my view there are people who dont have a clue who go to the games in LR but there are also people who dont have a clue who go week in week out to EL games or EPL games.
What Ireland needs is a strong league that produces players for the national team. If some of these players become exceptional talents and they move abroad at 21 or 23 and play in a foreign country I dont think anybody would bear any grudge the the player or the system that produced them. But I think our players remaining longer in Ireland with proper coaching structures rather than going to England at an early age only to be thrown on the footballing scrap heap at 19 is not the way forward. Some of our best ever players remained in Ireland until late on i.e. Roy Keane and Paul Mc Grath. For clubs to keep the players until they are 21 -23, they need people going in week in week out and supporting their team. They also need a strong Football Association who knows how to organise and market the league properly. In addition they need to support clubs setting up academys and set up their own football acadmey also so that the best players can get top class coaching here in Ireland.
All this looking down on fans for what they wear to a game does not solve any of the problems of Irish football and it is just a way for people to behave in a superior fashion to others (pardon the pun)
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 12:08 PM
what the hell did michael o'leary ever do wrong on you anto???
or for that matter davey keogh - at most (possibly all) matches for as long as i can remember!
personally i don't agree with writing on the tri-colour but each to his own and it certainly won't have me cheering for cyprus against ireland or any other team for that matter.
to say that it's the best post you've read is shocking. i know you didn't write it but you seem to agree with it fairly strongly. there are enough muppets going to games in their grey suits so why not let the odd lad (most definately not me) go in his paddywhackery, green wig or leprechaun suit. each to his bloddy own and lets stop looking down our noses at each other on the back of one bad result! horrendous as it may be!
oh and by the way try-bytes isn't a pub for all of your knowledge!!!
............... it's a chipper:D :D
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 12:14 PM
further more without some of the green wig brigade how many ~TRUE SHELS fans would of been in Landsdowne for yer european adventure. i'm surprised ye even have enough fans to submit a post never mind have a thread or a forum!!!
for a shelbourne supporter to comment on how anyone should support any team is laughable considering how large (cough, cough) yer support is even after all of yer success
10/10/2006, 12:15 PM
Of course wigs don't create an atmosphere but the combination of headgear, flags, same colour jerseys etc all add to the occasion.
thats an outrageous claim....
10/10/2006, 12:20 PM
It's certainly full of paranoia, I know that. A Shels fan was beaten just for wearing a Shels jersey while supporting Ireland? Don't give me that bull. Shels v Lille ticket info was booed at an Ireland match? Eh, why? It certainly the first time I heard anything of that. If it actually was the case then it was certainly fans of other EL clubs.
You should read this forum more often as you'd be suprised as to how many actual knowledgable fans we have. I couldn't care less if they support Shels, Cork, Celtic, Man Utd or Boca Juniors as long as they support Ireland. The vast majority that post here are Ireland supporters so if you want to have a rant about event junkies and Celtic supporters then you're in the wrong place.
I find the Irish people that don't support Ireland are just not very patriotic. That's fair enough.
What would you do if Shels got €100m pumped into them, became really succesful and started to attract 20,000 regularly? There may be only 2,000 "real fans" in the stadium but so what? Will you stop supporting them?
DotTV
10/10/2006, 12:29 PM
Interesting thoughts from the lord there and agree with most of it. However dontlike to see my country beaten for any reason. Also Tribites was a chip shop and he is a Galway United fan.
Dottv you are missing the point. Wearing an EL jersey at Ireland games, which I always do, means you support that club. Wearing an english club jersey at an Ireland game means you are a complete and utter muppet who knows nothing about the game.
Leprechaun suits and wigs and inflatable hammers are for saddos who only want to be photgraphed or to wave at the cameras.
BTW davy keogh should be put down.
You're missing my point.You're there to support Ireland so thats the only jersey to wear.I've seen plenty of lads on away trips wear their EL jerseys the day before match day and I think thats the way to go.
I'd agree with you about the English club jerseys though
10/10/2006, 12:43 PM
If there is a football club equivalent of wearing a leprechaun suit its ollie byrnes shelbourne.
What in the name of jaysus are you talking about!!
I agree with that post almost 100% and i must add a lot of you are missing the point!!
Billsthoughts
10/10/2006, 1:07 PM
we arent missing the point. we just wont be talked down to by the likes of yourself.
oh and btw the incessant arse licking of billy lord on this thread is making me vomit.
hoops1
10/10/2006, 1:12 PM
Mr Billy Lord to you
He knows what hes talking about
10/10/2006, 1:14 PM
A Shels fan was beaten just for wearing a Shels jersey while supporting Ireland?
http://www.redsindependent.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=5413&highlight=#5413
Read the first post in that thread, I doubt very much if he would make it up!
Billsthoughts
10/10/2006, 1:18 PM
well if he was "true" hardcore he would have had them...:D
10/10/2006, 1:35 PM
we arent missing the point. we just wont be talked down to by the likes of yourself.
oh and btw the incessant arse licking of billy lord on this thread is making me vomit.
Who is licking his arse?
People have either agreed with him or disagreed with him,thats it!!
Do you wear a jester hat? Do you think it's acceptable for people supporting Ireland to dress up as Leprechauns? Did you think it was funny when Ray Houghton done it?
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 1:51 PM
read the whole damn thread and it includes many muppets and includes the following quotes:
'remind me never to travel abroad to see Ireland play'
'Cant we get a modern day Cromwell back to this country for a bit of a lepra-caust? I'd support England over Éire now anyway, out of spite.'
'The best fans in the world are English fans'
'and I mean NEVER AGAIN will I travel to an Ireland away game'
i'm sure i speak for many here when i say we're better off without ye!
hoops1
10/10/2006, 1:54 PM
'Cant we get a modern day Cromwell back to this country for a bit of a lepra-caust?
Brilliant :D
10/10/2006, 1:57 PM
Lord Summerisle made out he was beaten up by Celtic supporters. If he was beaten up for being a Shels supporter then again, it was surely fellow EL fans that did it. There's no other reason I can see him being beaten up other than club rivalry. I don't see why these things are being brought up as a reason to slate Irish football fans.
10/10/2006, 2:00 PM
The full quote is " The best fans in the world are English fans. They travel in great numbers supporting their country AND club, week in, week out"
And i won't travel to Landowne Road(a 10 minute walk from my house) to watch Ireland play,let alone abroad!
I take it you are a sel-thick fan Eirebhoy?
cavan_fan
10/10/2006, 2:01 PM
Can we move this thread to either the bin or the Eircom league area are it appears nothing to do with the International Team
10/10/2006, 2:03 PM
Can we move this thread to either the bin or the Eircom league area are it appears nothing to do with the International Team
It's all to do with the national team and the "fans"!
cavan_fan
10/10/2006, 2:10 PM
No it's not.
It's an attempt to gloat at our national teams performance.
It's an attempt to divide the world into real Irish fans and fake Irish fans.
There is surely an assumption on this baord that everyone wants to see Ireland succeed. We can disagree about how but if you start with the assumption that you are happy when they are beaten then dont use this forum?
Docboy
10/10/2006, 2:30 PM
I for one don't think that any of this negative/spiteful/patronising contingent will be missed at Ireland games. People have the right to go to games as they wish, I'm not saying it wouldn't raise a grin, but really does it matter?
The most pressing issue is the fact that we've tumbled so low and now can't even play with a bit of pride.
There seems to be a real lack of proper men playing ball these days, people say it might be a societal issue, but Shay Given aside I have very little respect for the battling qualities of our side!
Never have I less looked forward to going to an Ireland game in 20 years!
10/10/2006, 2:44 PM
Lord Summerisle made out he was beaten up by Celtic supporters. If he was beaten up for being a Shels supporter then again, it was surely fellow EL fans that did it. There's no other reason I can see him being beaten up other than club rivalry. I don't see why these things are being brought up as a reason to slate Irish football fans.
Maybe that is the case but I only brought that thread up as evidence that a Shels fans was hit with something as a previous poster felt LS was lying.
Billy Lord
10/10/2006, 2:47 PM
The real pressing matter is why we've slumped so low internationally, and what can be done to remedy it for the positive, long-term development of the game in Ireland. Oh, I forgot! We shouldn't mention Irish football on an Ireland football forum.:confused:
Getting rid of Staunton is pure scapegoating and won't solve anything. If people care about football they need to start thinking about the good of the game rather than an excuse for a good day out.
10/10/2006, 2:51 PM
Billy I agree with your last point but Look at my post earlier in the thread, I put forward ways that I feel with improve the game in Ireland but wishing to improve the game does not go hand in hand with dismissing people for enjoying an Ireland match. YOu can care about football and how it is run and also go on the last on match day and dress up as you like.
10/10/2006, 3:09 PM
Billy I agree with your last point but Look at my post earlier in the thread, I put forward ways that I feel with improve the game in Ireland but wishing to improve the game does not go hand in hand with dismissing people for enjoying an Ireland match. YOu can care about football and how it is run and also go on the last on match day and dress up as you like.
If you turn up in a leprechaun outfit you are not there to care about football. You are there as human waste.
Billy Lord
10/10/2006, 3:10 PM
Neil: of course people can dress as they choose. Just as I have the right to cast aspersions when they dress like extras from Darby O'Gill & The Little People, or act like they took the wrong turn on their way to a Westlife concert and ended-up at a football match.
10/10/2006, 3:16 PM
If you turn up in a leprechaun outfit you are not there to care about football. You are there as human waste.
Are we allowed to cheer if we score? Or is that too much 'fun'?
10/10/2006, 3:20 PM
Are we allowed to cheer if we score? Or is that too much 'fun'?
Dont be so childish. You know exactly what I was referring to.
Didnt hear much cheering when your team scored last night.
10/10/2006, 3:21 PM
I dont personally wear them, just my jersey and a scarf but I dont have a problem with people dressing up and adding colour to the occasion. It may be impossible for you to grasp the concept that someone can know and care about football and also enjoy themselves in a silly manner. People dont have to be serious and righteous and earnest 24/7.
I would like to add I do wear more than just a jersey and a scarf as that would be pretty cold and not a great sight for the ladies. But that is the only football paraphanalia (Spelling) that I wear.
10/10/2006, 3:27 PM
As long as people cheer and don't bring prawn sandwiches you can wear what you want IMO. Green afro's, jester hats I couldn't give a monkey.
If you decide to wear a suit and talk all through the game about your portfolio and stock options without cheering the boys on then I'd rather these folk stayed at home or in the boardroom!!!
10/10/2006, 3:28 PM
Dont be so childish. You know exactly what I was referring to.
Didnt hear much cheering when your team scored last night.
You did say human waste, which is a pretty serious statement, or, if it a joke, a pretty childish one.
And thanks for the sly dig referring to the Limerick game, very mature. Sadly as I live in Japan, I could only hear a faint echo of the roar.
10/10/2006, 3:31 PM
It may be impossible for you to grasp the concept that someone can know and care about football and also enjoy themselves in a silly manner.
Exactly. Assuming certain characteristics or limitations based on how somebody dresses is ridiculous.
You dont need to like it, but to say that it shows they are incapable of understanding a football game is ludicrous.