View Full Version : Game on TG4 last nite was a credit

geezer
01/10/2006, 9:12 AM
to Athlone and rovers. great saves, crossbars uprights being hit, 110% effort from both sets of players and supporters. it was a great advert for our league congrats to Athlone, rovers and TG4.
white hoody from rovers should be pounced on and rovers committee should ahve a word with him for trying to goad athlone supporters. In all fairness you could see some rovers fans doing their best to prevent an incident after the match on the pitch. ROVERS FANS are about the best in the league, and i think most clubs recognise this. exciting game

01/10/2006, 10:31 AM
I thought the standard was fairly poor. Lot of hoofball, hard to watch.

SPXcyan
01/10/2006, 10:56 AM
I watched the chelsea v Villa game earlier yesterday!! and found the cup game much more enteratinin!! was fantastic :D

hoops1
01/10/2006, 12:19 PM
to Athlone and rovers. great saves, crossbars uprights being hit, 110% effort from both sets of players and supporters. it was a great advert for our league congrats to Athlone, rovers and TG4.
white hoody from rovers should be pounced on and rovers committee should ahve a word with him for trying to goad athlone supporters. In all fairness you could see some rovers fans doing their best to prevent an incident after the match on the pitch. ROVERS FANS are about the best in the league, and i think most clubs recognise this. exciting game

Lets call a spade a spade, it was desperate ****e with an exciting finish.
Not that I care because the result is all that matters. But just because we won doesnt mean it was great football. To the neutral or knowledgeable footaball fan it was dissapointing but to us it was heaven.

Aaron
01/10/2006, 12:26 PM
I kniow we should be grateful they show games but anyone else think TG4's coverage is ****e. Nothin to do with Irish Language but a camera breaking during coverage, Charlie McGeever running up to analyse on games. Surely there is someone who speaks fluent Irish that knows about football.

01/10/2006, 6:37 PM
Would be an idea to tell TnaG ...

sport@tnag.ie

Larry 'da' Wyse
01/10/2006, 7:27 PM
Really ejoyed it and was delighted to see two teams really trying to go for the win. Just hope ATFC don't get fined for Rovers 'fans' coming on the pitch. See the state of yer man with the black eye giving the 'wan**er' signs over to the Athlone fans. Soone these lads cop on the better. Dragged up.

LukeO
01/10/2006, 7:43 PM
Would be an idea to tell TnaG ...

sport@tnag.ie

Or maybe we could tell TG4 instead... :rolleyes:

LukeO
01/10/2006, 7:46 PM
I kniow we should be grateful they show games but anyone else think TG4's coverage is ****e. Nothin to do with Irish Language but a camera breaking during coverage, Charlie McGeever running up to analyse on games. Surely there is someone who speaks fluent Irish that knows about football.

Gareth Farrelly?? Oh wait... he knows nothing about football... :D

hoops1
01/10/2006, 7:48 PM
Surely there is someone who speaks fluent Irish that knows about football.

Terry Eviston.

01/10/2006, 7:50 PM
Or maybe we could tell TG4 instead... :rolleyes:

So you knew what i meant yeah ?? ;)

01/10/2006, 8:20 PM
ROVERS FANS are about the best in the league, and i think most clubs recognise this.

Don't want to start a flame war with Rovers fans - who by and large have been a credit to their club over 20 very difficult years - but best in the league and everyone knows it ?? :confused:

That's certainly not the view of the vast majority of posters on foot.ie, as a number of recent threads have shown.

Again - not looking to start something, just correcting a statement that goes against previous evidence on this board.

geezer
01/10/2006, 9:02 PM
but their is a lot of rovers begrudgers on here too who seem to think rovers are tyhe only ones who ever had a few gurriers coming to some of their high profile games. I know...maybe its an irish thing but irish supporters club and country always on the lookout for someone to say "the best supporters ever"
Derry started in the southern league with massive support and it disappeared heavily over a no of years and is back now and they are craving for people to say they are the best, lovliest,prettiest etc and they are good and they did go a long way resurrecting their club but no one has been to hell and back like rovers fans and they are still there and objectively thats why i think they are the no1, no2, derry

01/10/2006, 9:07 PM
but their is a lot of rovers begrudgers on here too who seem to think rovers are tyhe only ones who ever had a few gurriers coming to some of their high profile games. I know...maybe its an irish thing but irish supporters club and country always on the lookout for someone to say "the best supporters ever"
Derry started in the southern league with massive support and it disappeared heavily over a no of years and is back now and they are craving for people to say they are the best, lovliest,prettiest etc and they are good and they did go a long way resurrecting their club but no one has been to hell and back like rovers fans and they are still there and objectively thats why i think they are the no1, no2, derry

Well, when Rovers actually get pushed out of existence for 13 years for dubious political/sectarian reasons, after suffering years of dodgy decisions from the supposed reps of Northern Irish football because of the demographic make-up of their town/fanbase, and they still manage to make it back from the grave - then they'll hve known what hell was really like, and I might be inclined to agree with you....... :D :p

:ball:

Aaron
01/10/2006, 9:13 PM
Not forgetting Cork of course who have great fans........and shels!!:p

LukeO
01/10/2006, 9:30 PM
Well, when Rovers actually get pushed out of existence for 13 years for dubious political/sectarian reasons, after suffering years of dodgy decisions from the supposed reps of Northern Irish football because of the demographic make-up of their town/fanbase, and they still manage to make it back from the grave - then they'll hve known what hell was really like, and I might be inclined to agree with you....... :D :p

Cry me a river... ;)

01/10/2006, 9:35 PM
Cry me a river... ;)

There's no tears involved in making one hell of a come-back !:D

Jaime
01/10/2006, 10:43 PM
[popcorn smiley].....

02/10/2006, 3:14 AM
Well, when Rovers actually get pushed out of existence for 13 years for dubious political/sectarian reasons, after suffering years of dodgy decisions from the supposed reps of Northern Irish football because of the demographic make-up of their town/fanbase, and they still manage to make it back from the grave - then they'll hve known what hell was really like, and I might be inclined to agree with you.......:ball:

And this affected LOI football in what way?? :confused:

In the last 20 years:

Was your ground taken from you, in a cold and callous fashion?
Was your existence threatened more than once?
Were you homeless during that time?
Did you not win a league title/cup?
Did you enter examinership?
Were you relegated?

Don't think so.

It happened to us, and we still go. So who's the best fans in the country?

02/10/2006, 4:00 AM
In the last 20 years:
Were you relegated?
Don't think so.

Mypost the more posts of yours I read the more I become convinced you are a complete wind up merchant.

How can you place a time frame on it? The only reason you do so is to suit your own argument FFS. I especially love your "Did you not win a league title/cup" in the last 20 years argument: Rovers won the league in 87, 94, Runners Up 02. They won the cup in 86, 87 Runners Up 91, 02. Even the League Cup ye were Runners Up 87, 88, and 99. Basically Rovers have more to show for the last 20 years than the vast majority of teams in the league.

Oh and by the way, how has Rovers predicaments ever affected the LOI? Coz if Rovers went out of existence tomorrow what do you think would happen? From what i can see the Premier is doing just fine without you, and the 1st Division done just fine beforeyou got relegated.

harpskid
02/10/2006, 9:32 AM

Finn Harps have been in the First Division for all bar six (or thereabouts)of the last 20years.

In that time we've suffered five play-off defeats (two of those on penalties), lost a cup final after two replays and have come within a whisker of going bust and are currently experiencing quite a difficult time in terms of finance.

We've also had a massive turnover in managers in that time and our ground is a tip yet we still go. And all we have to show for this is one First Division title, a First Division Cup and a buckin Irish News Cup....

We still go though - mypost, Rovers aren't the only ones to have gone through a tight spell. Come off that high horse of your's there like a good lad

02/10/2006, 9:39 AM
Finn Harps have been in the First Division for all bar six (or thereabouts)of the last 20years.

We've also had a massive turnover in managers in that time and our ground is a tip yet we still go. And all we have to show for this is one First Division title, a First Division Cup and a buckin Irish News Cup....

Been in the First so long I can't even remember off the top of my head

Oh, and our ground (assuming we have a ground from one season to the next) is a bigger tip than yours so there! :p

02/10/2006, 9:42 AM
In the last 20 years:

As Dancingpants has pointed out, you only use 20 years because it suits your purposes. So I'll do likewise with a 35 year time frame, and answer your questions in that light :

- Yes. We were prevented from using it on the supposed security expertise of the Irish League Management Committee, even though their opinions were in direct contrast to the professional security experts (army and police).

- Yes. As recently as only a few years ago as well.
- And unlike Rovers, we were actually forced out of existence, and actively prevented from coming back by the IFA/Irish league. Yet we still came back undeterred.
- If Rovers do disappear for 13 years and the FAI consistently stops you from returning, let's see if you still manage to make it back anyway....

- Yes. But unlike Rovers, we didn't have the luxury of numerous other grounds within a 5-10mile radius that we could use (Dalymount, Tolka, Richmond, Morton) and invariably fall-out with the owners of (Dalymount, Richmond). We had to travel 40 miles away for our home games at one stage.

- Not sure what this question is meant to be saying. We've won plenty of trophies in the last 35 years thanks - even though we were out of existence for 13 of them... .
- If you're saying that you can only be good fans if your team has been crap, then I make no apologies for the fact that my team has by-and-large avoided such mediocrity. Winning nothing makes you neither a good team nor good fans.

- Different procedures north of the border, so no.
- We did come very close to ending in receivership, but our fans rallied around and saved us. Which is what good fans do.
- Having ended-up in receivership is far from a thing to celebrate, even if your fans did come to the rescue afterwards.

Were you relegated?
- No. So fcuk ?
- We came within an extra time goal of it though.
- Being crap is nothing to celebrate. Does a team now need to drop to a medicore level before its fans can be considered any good...? :confused: Have you been having therapeutic chats with Man City fans again or something...?

So who's the best fans in the country?

Don't ask me - I just conveyed the opinion of the majority of foot.ie posters in the last few threads we've had on this. Why don't you rant at them then ?

Though to help guide us both to an answer on your question, let's consider the following with regards to both our teams :

- Is there a dramatically increased Garda presence when your team visits grounds in the Republic?
- Does your team have a wannabe holligan element ?
- Do your team's fans tend to receive primarily positive, neutral or negative coverage in the media ?
- Do the fans of your team ahve a reputation for causing trouble when they visit the other's ground ?

Cuz causing trouble at games makes you great fans, just so long as you've had to suffer relegation.... :rolleyes:

Partizan
02/10/2006, 10:04 AM
girls, girls, please, less of the shrieking and hand bag stuff.

Back on topic. Game was rubbish on Saturday night. The hoofball made it near unbearable but a credit to TG4, Athlone and Rovers fans.

On the Irish language; well there is bound to be a few ex or current eL players who would be able to do the analysis tri mhean Gaeilge.

Any ex Irish internationals maybe?

02/10/2006, 10:06 AM

In the last 20 years:

Were you relegated?

Don't think so.

SNAP! To all of the above except the examinership part!

Billy Lord
02/10/2006, 10:08 AM
This is like the EL equivalent of the Monty Python "We were so poor . . ." sketch.
Every set of fans think they're great. Even the muppet Ireland fans, who call themselves the best in the world when they're probably the exact opposite.

02/10/2006, 10:08 AM
On the Irish language; well there is bound to be a few ex or current eL players
who would be able to do the analysis tri mhean Gaeilge.

Any ex Irish internationals maybe?

Garreth Farrelly has a cupla focail

02/10/2006, 10:15 AM
This is like the EL equivalent of the Monty Python "We were so poor . . ." sketch.
Every set of fans think they're great. Even the muppet Ireland fans, who call themselves the best in the world when they're probably the exact opposite.

But the real comedy is the ones who have the worst hooligan reputation thinking that they're somehow still the best fans regardless of that ! :eek:

I'm sure Milwall and Lazio fans think they're great as well...

Billy Lord
02/10/2006, 10:30 AM
dfccsteve: that reputation bears no relation to the reality. But, of course, never let the truth get in the way of a prejudice.

02/10/2006, 11:41 AM
Mypost the more posts of yours I read the more I become convinced you are a complete wind up merchant.

You're only realising that now??

BTW my scarf is cleaner than yours.

DCFCsteve give it a rest. Comparing us to nazio is a new low.

Jaime
02/10/2006, 12:04 PM
Comparing us to nazio is a new low.

Let's ask irishwisper what he thinks :)

02/10/2006, 12:30 PM
How was the game a credit to the league? Am I the only one who thinks those pitch invasions would actually deter the average viewer from changing their mind and attending an eL game?

02/10/2006, 12:33 PM
Saw the first-half analysis/highlights and watched the second half in the Oak Grove up in Derry and, while having a few pints and talking away, I thought it was a very entertaining game. Which, I think, demonstrates just how valuable a proper highlights show is to the league.

hoops1
02/10/2006, 12:39 PM
How was the game a credit to the league? Am I the only one who thinks those pitch invasions would actually deter the average viewer from changing their mind and attending an eL game?

Yes you are!

02/10/2006, 12:40 PM
Yes you are!

No he isn't ;)

02/10/2006, 12:43 PM

Wrong.

The only reason you do so is to suit your own argument

Wrong again.

How can you place a time frame on it?

The poster I replied to, put a timeframe in his own post.

I especially love your "Did you not win a league title/cup" in the last 20 years argument: Rovers won the league in 87, 94, Runners Up 02. They won the cup in 86, 87 Runners Up 91, 02. Even the League Cup ye were Runners Up 87, 88, and 99. Basically Rovers have more to show for the last 20 years than the vast majority of teams in the league.

:o

Since losing our ground, we have won 1 league title, and no FAI/League Cups. Coming second doesn't count.

From what i can see the Premier is doing just fine without you, and the 1st Division done just fine beforeyou got relegated.

Since leaving the Premier, carnage has resulted. Amongst other things, A club has folded, clubs have no game some weeks, games are postponed regularly, crowds have shrunk.

Doing fine without us alright. :rolleyes:

hoops1
02/10/2006, 12:43 PM
Then you wonder why you play in empty grounds every week

02/10/2006, 12:47 PM
Then you wonder why you play in empty grounds every week
What, because our fans don't act the scumbag every week?:confused:

02/10/2006, 12:52 PM
Since leaving the Premier, carnage has resulted. Amongst other things, A club has folded, clubs have no game some weeks, games are postponed regularly, crowds have shrunk.

I didn't realise all that was down to Shamrock Rovers being relegated :eek: :rolleyes:

hoops1
02/10/2006, 1:02 PM
Because if you mix up over exuberance with being a scumbag your
obviously not used to that level of passion or excitement.
When you equalise in the cup with 5 mins to go or score the winner
in the last min sometimes you lose control of your emotions.
Athlone should have won, but we didnt only get a replay we won
There was nothing untoward went on no one was injured or hit the only
thing that was hurt we ATFC's feelings

02/10/2006, 1:07 PM
We scored twice late on in the quarter-final last year to nearly bring it back from 3-0 down, and were then denied the most blatant penalty you've ever seen in injury time. We still managed to avoid running onto the pitch, throwing flares, making gestures to opposition fans and generally acting the scumbag.

02/10/2006, 1:14 PM
Pitch invasions, as a rule, are ridiculous. There are however exceptions. Winning the league on the last day of the season, coming from 2-0 down to win 3-2 with last minute winner against big rivals and one or tow more.

The worst examples of idiotic over exuberance have been Bohs fans throwing till rolls on the pitch when a Pats goal was disallowed and Rovers fans jumping on the pitch in TOlka when they scored to halve Pats lead to 1-2. To borrow a phrase from our gypsy friends, Minnowism at its lowest.

02/10/2006, 1:15 PM
Because if you mix up over exuberance with being a scumbag your
obviously not used to that level of passion or excitement.
When you equalise in the cup with 5 mins to go or score the winner
in the last min sometimes you lose control of your emotions.
Athlone should have won, but we didnt only get a replay we won
There was nothing untoward went on no one was injured or hit the only
thing that was hurt we ATFC's feelings

You looked like total gob****es. There's overexuberance and there's looking like scumbags. You managed to pull off the latter pretty well. Pitch invasions during a game are not on, no matter what the circumstances. Not only that but it's the manner in which you did it. People will not want to go to games if they think that's the norm.

hoops1
02/10/2006, 1:19 PM
We scored twice late on in the quarter-final last year to nearly bring it back from 3-0 down, and were then denied the most blatant penalty you've ever seen in injury time. We still managed to avoid running onto the pitch, throwing flares, making gestures to opposition fans and generally acting the scumbag.

Students!
UCD play in front of nobody Rovers play in front of the biggest crowds
in the league sometimes.
Make your own mind up about what people want

02/10/2006, 1:21 PM
We scored twice late on in the quarter-final last year to nearly bring it back from 3-0 down, and were then denied the most blatant penalty you've ever seen in injury time. We still managed to avoid running onto the pitch...

Your attendance at that was between 10-20 fans.

...throwing flares, making gestures to opposition fans and generally acting the scumbag

:D :D

02/10/2006, 1:22 PM
Your attendance at that was between 10-20 fans.

10-20 fans doing what you did on the pitch would be enough to show up the league and ourselves as total ****s.

02/10/2006, 1:30 PM

Jesus it was over exuberance at best. To go from 1-0 down with 5 minutes left to winning the game means a passionate repsonse from the supporters. Hardly scumbag behaviour. Reign it in will you?

02/10/2006, 1:31 PM
Don't turn this into a matter of passion. What are you? Children? Can you not contain yourselves and refrain from entering the field of play for a few minutes?

02/10/2006, 1:32 PM
Eh, no - they were scumbags. Pure and simple. THrowing flares onto the pitch? Or are you ignoring this part?

The number of fans for either club is irrelevant.

BohsFans
02/10/2006, 1:33 PM
There was nothing untoward went on no

lol :D