I thought the standard was fairly poor. Lot of hoofball, hard to watch.
to Athlone and rovers. great saves, crossbars uprights being hit, 110% effort from both sets of players and supporters. it was a great advert for our league congrats to Athlone, rovers and TG4.
white hoody from rovers should be pounced on and rovers committee should ahve a word with him for trying to goad athlone supporters. In all fairness you could see some rovers fans doing their best to prevent an incident after the match on the pitch. ROVERS FANS are about the best in the league, and i think most clubs recognise this. exciting game
I thought the standard was fairly poor. Lot of hoofball, hard to watch.
I watched the chelsea v Villa game earlier yesterday!! and found the cup game much more enteratinin!! was fantastic![]()
Lets call a spade a spade, it was desperate ****e with an exciting finish.
Not that I care because the result is all that matters. But just because we won doesnt mean it was great football. To the neutral or knowledgeable footaball fan it was dissapointing but to us it was heaven.
I kniow we should be grateful they show games but anyone else think TG4's coverage is ****e. Nothin to do with Irish Language but a camera breaking during coverage, Charlie McGeever running up to analyse on games. Surely there is someone who speaks fluent Irish that knows about football.
Would be an idea to tell TnaG ...
sport@tnag.ie
Really ejoyed it and was delighted to see two teams really trying to go for the win. Just hope ATFC don't get fined for Rovers 'fans' coming on the pitch. See the state of yer man with the black eye giving the 'wan**er' signs over to the Athlone fans. Soone these lads cop on the better. Dragged up.
"oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie
Don't want to start a flame war with Rovers fans - who by and large have been a credit to their club over 20 very difficult years - but best in the league and everyone knows it ??![]()
That's certainly not the view of the vast majority of posters on foot.ie, as a number of recent threads have shown.
Again - not looking to start something, just correcting a statement that goes against previous evidence on this board.
but their is a lot of rovers begrudgers on here too who seem to think rovers are tyhe only ones who ever had a few gurriers coming to some of their high profile games. I know...maybe its an irish thing but irish supporters club and country always on the lookout for someone to say "the best supporters ever"
Derry started in the southern league with massive support and it disappeared heavily over a no of years and is back now and they are craving for people to say they are the best, lovliest,prettiest etc and they are good and they did go a long way resurrecting their club but no one has been to hell and back like rovers fans and they are still there and objectively thats why i think they are the no1, no2, derry
Well, when Rovers actually get pushed out of existence for 13 years for dubious political/sectarian reasons, after suffering years of dodgy decisions from the supposed reps of Northern Irish football because of the demographic make-up of their town/fanbase, and they still manage to make it back from the grave - then they'll hve known what hell was really like, and I might be inclined to agree with you.......![]()
Not forgetting Cork of course who have great fans........and shels!!![]()
[popcorn smiley].....
ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.
And this affected LOI football in what way??Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
In the last 20 years:
Was your ground taken from you, in a cold and callous fashion?
Was your existence threatened more than once?
Were you homeless during that time?
Did you not win a league title/cup?
Did you enter examinership?
Were you relegated?
Don't think so.
It happened to us, and we still go. So who's the best fans in the country?
Last edited by mypost; 02/10/2006 at 3:26 AM.
NL 1st Division Champions 2006
NL Premier Division Champions 2010
NL Premier Division Champions 2011
Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi
Ten Years Not Out
Mypost the more posts of yours I read the more I become convinced you are a complete wind up merchant.
How can you place a time frame on it? The only reason you do so is to suit your own argument FFS. I especially love your "Did you not win a league title/cup" in the last 20 years argument: Rovers won the league in 87, 94, Runners Up 02. They won the cup in 86, 87 Runners Up 91, 02. Even the League Cup ye were Runners Up 87, 88, and 99. Basically Rovers have more to show for the last 20 years than the vast majority of teams in the league.
Oh and by the way, how has Rovers predicaments ever affected the LOI? Coz if Rovers went out of existence tomorrow what do you think would happen? From what i can see the Premier is doing just fine without you, and the 1st Division done just fine beforeyou got relegated.