View Full Version : FAI Seeking New League Member
From the FAI:
The new league will consist of the 21 clubs currently in membership and it is intended to vote a new club into membership to fill the gap left by the demise of Dublin City. Advertisements inviting applications to fill the vacancy will placed in the coming week.
It'll be interesting to see what clubs, if any, apply to join the league.
01/10/2006, 1:27 AM
I would hope and expect that the FAI have done their research on this already, and know of interest amongst potential suitors.
It'd be embarassing for them if they did advertise and nobody applied.
I would have to guess that it will be a team coming up from the u21 league?
geezer
01/10/2006, 8:59 AM
connections hope its not another thurles town
a kerry or mayo team should be given support and a chance
I would love to see a mayo team myself, Im guessing castlebar celtic would be the first in line there?
I think letterkenny rovers are interested too along with one of the mullingar teams?
Kildare Lad
01/10/2006, 9:21 AM
ye before we entered the league, it was between us and Mullingar Athletic (i think) to join the league. So it wouldnt suprise me if they did enter.
Mental Man
01/10/2006, 9:32 AM
Word around here is tha its either Carrick United or the Statoil FAI junior cup winners Waterford Crystal.;)
I doubt that,the FAI will be looking for a team that will represent a county thats not already in the league, but I could be wrong.
Mental Man
01/10/2006, 9:44 AM
Buts whats the craic lads on this promotion-relagation business, there was a debate here on local radio recently about it and a rep from our own club came on and they dont even know whats going on within the FAI and they havent gotten an answer from them either.
How is a manager going to prepare a team for the following season if he dont even know what division he is gonna be playing in, typical FAI.
Sorry for kinda going off topic a bit !
Does the league need another club? No disrespect to Kildare County but ye do not seem to be a success or maybe I am wrong.
Unless you going to bring a club from a new catchment area then no point. Mayo, Kerry would seem to be best options as they have done well in the U21 leagues.
geezer
01/10/2006, 10:50 AM
Buts whats the craic lads on this promotion-relagation business, there was a debate here on local radio recently about it and a rep from our own club came on and they dont even know whats going on within the FAI and they havent gotten an answer from them either.
How is a manager going to prepare a team for the following season if he dont even know what division he is gonna be playing in, typical FAI.
Sorry for kinda going off topic a bit !
for the last 2 years, this has been well flagged and i have seen the detail required and while their is no shortage of detail, i can understand some confusion but for a rep to say he doesnt know whats goin on is crazy.
wufc must not have attended any league or fai meetings in 2 years
Patrick Dunne
01/10/2006, 11:33 AM
Your rep must have stayed in pub with the Dundalk rep :rolleyes:
Mental Man
01/10/2006, 2:06 PM
Lads , with respect, our own manager even came out and said he wants clarification on whats happening at the end of the season, is there promotion and relagation??
DO YOU KNOW WHATS HAPPENING???
01/10/2006, 2:20 PM
for the last 2 years, this has been well flagged and i have seen the detail required and while their is no shortage of detail, i can understand some confusion but for a rep to say he doesnt know whats goin on is crazy.
wufc must not have attended any league or fai meetings in 2 years
So do you know the decision date of the teams who will comprise the new league then?
damien
01/10/2006, 2:49 PM
Would like to see a Kerry team entering in you massive catchment area and their league side has been getting decent crowds for league cup games.
i would agree with you there
01/10/2006, 3:06 PM
Does the league need another club? No disrespect to Kildare County but ye do not seem to be a success or maybe I am wrong.
Unless you going to bring a club from a new catchment area then no point. Mayo, Kerry would seem to be best options as they have done well in the U21 leagues.
Would love to see a team enter from a population area that doesn't already have an eL team, that would be good to see.
01/10/2006, 3:46 PM
Population centres (http://www.cso.ie/statistics/popofeachprovcountycity2002.htm)
Think there are enough teams from dublin and the midlands would prefer a team from the west or south of Ireland, so Mayo or Kerry
None taken, but we are only in existence four years having said that we have haemorrhaged support since then:( .
Kildare Lad
01/10/2006, 5:49 PM
just a suggestion, but would a team from wexford be any good for the League??? Has a population just as big as mayo, would be good for away support to travel to due to teams nearby (Waterford, Kilkenny, Dublin teams, Kildare, Bray, etc.), in the summer they could get even bigger crowds from all the holidayers, and their underage leagues are supposed to be good.
So theres a few reasons, what do yous think? its just a thought.........
Lads , with respect, our own manager even came out and said he wants clarification on whats happening at the end of the season, is there promotion and relagation??
DO YOU KNOW WHATS HAPPENING???
This question has been answered several time: At the end of this season the current eircom league will cease to exist. New league created by the FAI, 12 teams will be invited to the Premier division based on already announced criteria that the clubs have already voted in favour of.
anto eile
01/10/2006, 6:24 PM
a team shuldnt be allowed into the league siimpky o make up numbers.
a team should only be accepted if it has good enough facilities and would attract support.
letting some team in with mediocre facilities "as good" as those offerd by kildare/limerick etc should not be allowed. ie the argument that a club like castlebar etc might make that "if limerick can be in the league with the hogan park facilities then so should we" should not be accepted/
only let a team in if its a benefit to the league, not simply for a 22team cosmetic purpose
01/10/2006, 6:47 PM
New league created by the FAI, 12 teams will be invited to the Premier division based on already announced criteria that the clubs have already voted in favour of.
The criteria is significantly ambiguous enough as to leave clubs utterly confused as to where they stand. To the best of my knowledge there's no date set as to when clubs will know their fate. All this leaves it very difficult to plan.
corkharps
01/10/2006, 7:14 PM
Word around here is tha its either Carrick United or the Statoil FAI junior cup winners Waterford Crystal.;)
I can gaurentee you 100% that neither of these clubs will be seeking a place in the EL.
Mental Man
01/10/2006, 7:14 PM
Well i am only going on what i have heard locally lads, thats all, naturally with WUFC so close i could never see it happening either.
Back to the point about whats happening at the end of the season well were still in the dark really as Poor Student has said, what a way to prepare for the next season not knowing where ur gonna be .
just a suggestion, but would a team from wexford be any good for the League??? Has a population just as big as mayo, would be good for away support to travel to due to teams nearby (Waterford, Kilkenny, Dublin teams, Kildare, Bray, etc.), in the summer they could get even bigger crowds from all the holidayers, and their underage leagues are supposed to be good.
So theres a few reasons, what do yous think? its just a thought.........
Not bad place either. Has quiet a few towns.
eamoss
01/10/2006, 10:13 PM
My vote would be with Kerry or Mayo team!!!
01/10/2006, 10:48 PM
Clifonville?
I'd consider the chances of Cliftonville joining the EL next year to be extremly low.
Firstly, it'd create a massive fire-storm with the IFA, and doubtless UEFA/FIFA would get dragged into it as well. Why would the FAI bother getting itself into such a battle ? What will CVliftonville bring to the league that is worth a massive fall-out wirh their nearest footballing neighbours ? It could feasibly see IL clubs threaten to pull-out of the Setanta Cup, for example, which would be a price way too high in return for meeting the narrow desires of an extra-jursdicial club.
Secondly - I'm not convinced the existing EL clubs would want them in anyway.
Thirdly - why would the FAI accept them even if they did want to join ? The FAI's job is to promote football in the Republic, so they've no responsibility towards helping Cliftonville. Derry were a special case, there were clear reasons for voting us in, and it has served the LOI well to have us there. I can't see any of the above being valid for Cliftonville.
01/10/2006, 10:50 PM
Population centres (http://www.cso.ie/statistics/popofeachprovcountycity2002.htm)
Holy fcuk - the CSO can't even spell Laois !! :eek:
How seriously embarassing is that.......! :o
01/10/2006, 11:12 PM
I believe Laoighis is an alternative spelling
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laois
02/10/2006, 12:10 AM
I believe Laoighis is an alternative spelling
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laois
Well - in my 34 years as an Irishman with an interest in all things Irish, I can honestly say that's the first time I've seen it spelt like that !
Laoighis reads like a rather 'English' spelling, to aid pronounciation.
Seriously though - the County Council is called Laois, the Dail seta is called Laois, the GAA side is called Laois. Why can't the CSO use the accepted and official way of spelling the County's name....? :confused: Why not just called it Queen's County sure.......?
02/10/2006, 12:38 AM
Surely Laois is closer phonetically to leesh than Laoighis
Partizan
02/10/2006, 9:59 AM
Right back on track from our phoenetics;
Here's my forecast.
1. Castlebar Celtic
2. one of the Mullingar sides. (Athlone fans might care to comment on this)
3. team from Kerry (Tralee Dynamos) or a Kerry Co. team that would possibly entice all the GAA mullah-bandwagon brigade. Mounthawk Park in Tralee has better facilitites than many First Division clubs.
4. Outside chance - team from Wexford. Remember Mick Wallace has been investing substantially in underage football/facilities there.
02/10/2006, 10:13 AM
3. team from Kerry (Tralee Dynamos) or a Kerry Co. team that would possibly entice all the GAA mullah-bandwagon brigade. Mounthawk Park in Tralee has better facilitites than many First Division clubs. How about a Munster Rugby (football) team?
Perfect for all the Kerry and Tipp Munster Rugby bandwagon jumpers whose lack of knowing what a rugby ball looked like didn't stop them unearthing a previously undiscovered love for a foreign game and travelling Europe following their team.
Surely the same could be applied to football? Its not like they would know the difference in what they were watching.
02/10/2006, 10:20 AM
Surely Laois is closer phonetically to leesh than Laoighis
Only in modern English. Hence why places like Slough and Borough would be spelt and prounounced similarly to that wacky 'Laoighis' spelling.
God help us if there ever was an end to partition. They might put Derry down in it's medieval 'Derrie' form as well.....? :)
So do you know the decision date of the teams who will comprise the new league then?
In all fairness, it seems a bit mad for any club rep to be saying they don;t know whats happening at this stage.
its well documented that clubs will be invited to apply to the new body and will be scored in several categories to see who the top 12 for the Premier division will be.
50% (sort of) is for the last 4 seasons results in all competitions and this seasons finshed standings. Clubs already know where they stand on the last 4 years, and will be able to estimate or calculate exactly where they will come depending on where they finish this season and progress in cups.
The remaining 50% is for things like infrastructure, long term planning, youth development marketing etc. Clubs were all invited to a seminar on 7th September and were told the basis on which these marks were going to be allocated and what they would be expected to submit as a minimum.
They have till 31st October to make their case, including an 1 hour presetation to the IAG. Its a bit like the episode of Father Ted when they are on the plane which is going to crash and they have to write an essay saying why they should get a parachute! :p
The decision on the final make up is due to be issued to the FAI by the IAG in December, a couple of weeks after the playing season ends.
Like it or hate it all clubs know where they stand and should now be busy preparing their submission, not running round on the radio saying they don't know whats happening! If thats true the Waterford guy might as well submit a picture of himself in the nip, with a dog. :eek:
It would seem an exceptionally short space of time (ie about half-a-year) for any non-league club in Ireland to have to consider the possibility of joining the league. Whatever about getting a license, the extra budget and responsibilities would be a huge burden. As has been pointed out, Kildare's (while seemingly surviving) have not exactly thrived and interest there seems minimal.
02/10/2006, 11:58 AM
It would seem an exceptionally short space of time (ie about half-a-year) for any non-league club in Ireland to have to consider the possibility of joining the league. Whatever about getting a license, the extra budget and responsibilities would be a huge burden. As has been pointed out, Kildare's (while seemingly surviving) have not exactly thrived and interest there seems minimal.
Agree but you could say the same thing about monaghan. At least kildare have potential.
A Kerry, Mayo, Wexford or Tipp club would be welcome. A club entering from a county that already has a club would be ridiculous but then again they have previous. Woudl not be surprised if they let in another Dublin club:rolleyes:
Have they learned from the joke CHF experience?
02/10/2006, 12:05 PM
God I love u NYHoop. U r the most consistent poster in here. Thanks for always giving me a laugh.
02/10/2006, 12:11 PM
If they're looking for an even number is it not just as likely given the state of the first division that a team will withdraw :confused:
I can picture the scenario now: Club withdraws, FAI invites new member to bring the number back up to 21
They have till 31st October to make their case, including an 1 hour presetation to the IAG. Its a bit like the episode of Father Ted when they are on the plane which is going to crash and they have to write an essay saying why they should get a parachute! :p
And it'll end up with the Waterford rep showing a picture he drew of of himself
in the nude with a dog, claimed to have misunderstood what was going on :p
02/10/2006, 12:25 PM
Holy fcuk - the CSO can't even spell Laois !! :eek:
How seriously embarassing is that.......! :o
There was a spelling purge back towards the start of the 20th century, I think, which tidied up a lot of Irish spellings. Other examples include Caoimhghín, which is now Caoimhín, and Lúghbhadh, which is now Lú. So Laoighis is probably the older spelling. Though that doesn't explain why they still use it. Maybe it's the official spelling, but just never used.
Would like to see a Tipp or Kerry team join the league myself, purely for selfish travel reasons, I suppose!
Why are Cliftonville being mentioned?! Am I misisng something here?
Kildare, incidentally, aren't the failure they're being made out to be here. They're just a victim of the current league environment. They started out strongly and just missed out on the play-offs for the first three years. In doing so, they ran up big debts of close to E200,000. Last year, they made the biggest trading profit in the league - E60k - but paid the price with a reduced budget and a similar drop in team form. I assume their plan is to clear the debts, get back to solvency as quick as possible and then increase their playing budget so they're on a break-even level. Unfortunately, in this league, with the FAI's ineptitiude with regards UEFA Licencing, it can be very hard to succeed without trading recklessly, as many clubs have found out in the recent past.
bigmac
02/10/2006, 12:29 PM
The remaining 50% is for things like infrastructure, long term planning, youth development marketing etc. Clubs were all invited to a seminar on 7th September and were told the basis on which these marks were going to be allocated and what they would be expected to submit as a minimum.
Do you or anyone else have the details of this so? I've never heard of anything beyond the sketchiest outline of where the marks were going when related to these criteria. Why do the clubs need to present their case anyway, should the FAI not be aware of the situation in each club without allowing them to stand up and exaggerate their plans or their ability to execute those plans? Will there be any check on what the clubs present or will another club like Dublin City be allowed to get away with claiming that they'll average crowds of 1500 at their home matches?
For clubs towards the bottom of the Premier or the top of the First, it is by no means
a bit mad for any club rep to be saying they don't know whats happening at this stage
to say otherwise is akin to saying that a student sitting their leaving cert knows what they'll be doing next year. Yes there's a bunch that is fairly sure they're going to get the points they want, and there's a bunch that realise they haven't a hope in hell of getting into medicine, but there are a lot out there who will be on the verge of getting the points they need, but could equally end up repeating.
At the moment there are quite a few clubs in this position, and the lack of any crystal clear guidelines does not inspire confidence in the process. It is non-transparent and the (justifiable) worry is that the FAI will tailor the marking scheme to cherry-pick their preferred clubs. The point that the WUFC rep was making is that at the moment, the club has no idea what division they are going to be in next year. IMO that is a completely valid statement to make and it makes it very difficult to attempt to plan for next season (players, contracts etc) when nobody knows whether we'll be travelling to Derry or Ballybofey, (or both).
02/10/2006, 12:31 PM
I think they should add no members and retain the 11 team Premier Division. They'll be reducing it to a 10 team league the following season with three straight relegation places. The death of Dublin City could allow a less radical more incremental change.
02/10/2006, 12:34 PM
You can't have an 11-team Premier next season. Ollie would kick up a stink about whichever club is given the last day of the season off. Plus, you can't possibly have a club idle on the last day.
monkey magic
02/10/2006, 12:46 PM
going by the cso figures there mayo is by far and away the largest population center in the state without a loi presence.. having said that a kerry or tipp team would also be welcome.. mullingar is just stupid.. not only do you have athlone town already there from the same county but longford is as close or even closer to mullingar... and with the population of our two counties being what it is, sure ya might as well let in another dublin team as do that
02/10/2006, 1:18 PM
According to today's papers it looks like the 11 in the premier and the winners of the first (Rovers or Galway) will make up the new premier. Which is the way it should be.
Magicme you know I speak the truth!
02/10/2006, 1:22 PM
So all the fuss about next years changes are for what?That can't be wright.I can't see the premier not having both Rovers and Galway next year.
According to today's papers it looks like the 11 in the premier and the winners of the first (Rovers or Galway) will make up the new premier. Which is the way it should be.
No ****ing way should it be. Waterford and Bray have been down right awful this year and now they now they don’t have to improve we’re going to see disgraceful mismatches. At least one club must be relegated
02/10/2006, 1:25 PM
I'd be surpsied if Waterford and Bray we're in it next year.Rovers,Galway and Dundalk all offer more.