View Full Version : Squad announced for Czechs and Cyprus
25/09/2006, 11:08 AM
no Shay Given, Colgan is brought in as 3rd keeper, still no Paddy McCarthy.
Andy Reid, Duff in despite being injured at the moment. Paul McShane promoted from the U-21s
Republic of Ireland Squad to play
Cyprus (October 7) & Czech Republic (October 11)
Paddy Kenny (Sheffield United)
Wayne Henderson (Brighton & HA)
Nicky Colgan (Barnsley)
Andy O’Brien (Portsmouth)
Richard Dunne (Manchester City)
John O’Shea (Manchester United)
Steve Finnan (Liverpool)
Stephen Carr (Newcastle United)
Sean St Ledger (Preston North End)
Paul McShane (West Bromwich Albion)
Jonathan Douglas (Leeds United)
Steven Reid (Blackburn Rovers)
Kevin Kilbane (Wigan Athletics)
Aiden McGeady (Celtic)
Stephen Ireland (Manchester City)
Liam Miller (Sunderland)
Graham Kavanagh (Sunderland)
Andy Reid (Charlton Athletic)
Stephen Elliott (Sunderland)
Damien Duff (Newcastle United)
Alan Lee (Ipswich Town)
Robbie Keane (Tottenham Hotspur)
Kevin Doyle (Reading)
Clinton Morrison (Crystal Palace)
Alan O’Brien (Newcastle United)
25/09/2006, 11:09 AM
Interesting quote from Staunton:
"We are developing a team for the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign and I want players like Paul battling to be part of that. While we want to win every game and will be trying hard to qualify for Euro 2008, the main priority is building a squad capable of mounting a serious challenge in two years time."
Emmet
25/09/2006, 11:31 AM
Do you reckon that's because he wants to tone down people's expectations so that if we do qualify / look good it'll reflect well on him ... or because he genuinely believes we haven't really got a chance of getting out of this group?
25/09/2006, 11:46 AM
You can interpret Staunton's remarks in a number of ways, but I'm prepared to take it as follows: the immediate objective is qualification but a further objective is morphing the squad.* Having the likes of Henderson, McShane, St. Ledger, Ireland & O'Brien included is more part of the second objective.
However, I wouldn't be at all disappointed to see Ireland making an appearance and I scared to death of us having Henderson involved. Please God may Paddy Kenny resume fitness asap.
Andy Reid is an odd one. Left out when fit, included when injured. Bizarre.
Very disappointed there's no Carsley.
Preston were on TV on Friday. Anyone get a glimpse of St. Ledger?
Edit: maybe not, sorry, just read it again. "main priority" is 2010. That's a bit scary. Main objective should be 6 points in October, secondary objective 2010 rebuilding. Taking some risks with youth in your squads isn't incompatible with winning now anyway.
25/09/2006, 11:57 AM
Just taking the heat off himself incase we do crap , Its like what Don O Riordan used to do with us , always using youngsters so that if we played crap he could say its a team for the future thus removing himself from blame for farcical performances
DotTV
25/09/2006, 11:58 AM
I though Carsley would get in there.
Alan Lee couldn't have scored two goals at a better time though.
25/09/2006, 11:59 AM
Tets, you'd think he'd name a squad for Cyprus at the same time too :)
25/09/2006, 12:23 PM
disappointed not to see Carsley called up.
theworm2345
25/09/2006, 12:28 PM
What a ****ing joke, Stephen Elliott is in there and he wont even be able to play for a month or two. Reid is also supposed to be out till after these games. No Carsley, McCarthy, Shane Long. :( Not good
Duffman
25/09/2006, 12:32 PM
Preston were on TV on Friday. Anyone get a glimpse of St. Ledger?
I have only seen a little of SSL on that Sky show where Ron Atkinson goes in at the end of last season to Peterborough, fly on the wall documentary thingie. SSL features a bit on it, seemed to have an attitude TBH in the clips that I saw. Obviously good enough to jump 2 divisions and put in quality performances though :eek:
Its an old chestnut but surely there are some boys at Derry,Cork or Shelbourne that could do an equally good job:confused:
25/09/2006, 12:37 PM
geez just noticed Elliott got called up (listed as a MF in list), like the worm states that is stupid. We have 4 strikers already why not call up McCarthy?!
BobbySands
25/09/2006, 12:40 PM
Staunton knows he's out of his depth, hence the time buying 2010 strategy. A proper manager would be talking up our chances and our desire even if he knew we were going to get tonked. Obviously, psychology is not Steve's strong point.
25/09/2006, 12:42 PM
Bit ridiculous including elliott in fairness.
Alan OB stays in the squad, dont get me wrong, the guy has done well but hes not getting any first team football, although he could be very useful against Cyprus.
Agree that Carsley should be there, did a good defensive role in midfield for Everton yesterday.
25/09/2006, 12:59 PM
Biggest joke is no Carsley in my view. Should be in the squad no doubt
25/09/2006, 1:02 PM
Andy Reid is an odd one. Left out when fit, included when injured. Bizarre.
I'm resigned to the fact that Staunton is clueless now and I have no doubt that someone is having a big input into his decisions as well.
Having St Ledger in there is a joke and a slap in the face for McCarthy. Unfortunately I fell Stan will dig his heels in in that regard. Having basically said that he is not ready for it he'd look pretty stupid (or more stupid depending on your regard for Stan) to include him now so it could be along wait for Paddy.
SUB of the day
25/09/2006, 1:04 PM
The worldclass replacement for Brian Kerr is a spoofer.If he makes the fans feel he picks the team by putting the names in a hat, think how the players feel, RESPECT?...I don't think so.I know its early days, but this appointment stinks.Granted the players aren't available as before, but when I think of Staunton, I see the rabbit in the headlights look[ V Holland] acting the langer while Houghton is being interviewed[ V Germany] totally dilusional re Stuttgart performance in post match comments, and getting excuses in early after one game in the group.5th in the group is where this man is taking us, just great for subsequent seedings.:(
Dr. Ogba
25/09/2006, 1:05 PM
No McPhail?? :confused: Watched a bit of the Cardiff match on Sunday and he looked very comfortable on the ball. Defo think himself and Carsley should be in there.
Also agree on Elliott, isn't he out for at least a couple of months???
25/09/2006, 1:11 PM
I'm worried - our target should not be 2010 it should be 2008. With Robbie Keane, Given, Dunne, Finnan, Duff and Doyle in a full strength 11 without injuries then Staunton must get us results. If he starts with O'Shea and Kilbane again then I really have lost all faith in him.
finnpark
25/09/2006, 1:15 PM
Must be the worst Irish squad EVER (since the last one of course)
25/09/2006, 1:19 PM
I think we can go over the top on this. But I think Carsley shoudl have been in as our midfield of Kilbane and O Shea needs to go. Who do we replace it with. I think for now we should go with Carsley and Stephen Reid with Mc Geady and Duff on the wings. Over time as he gets fitter etc Andy Reid can come in either as a central player or on the wing. I fear that he is going to go with O Shea and Kilbane again or at best O Shea and S. Reid.
youngirish
25/09/2006, 1:24 PM
Draft Holland in for one of the injured (Andy Reid) and play him in midfield with Stephen Reid. He's made himself available in an emergency and if the alternative is to play O'Shea in midfield then the next few matches are emergencies.
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=24599
That quote proves to me beyond all doubt that Staunton's a mongo. What makes him think we'll have a better chance of qualifying for anything in 2 years with some of our best players already coming into the twilight years of their careers? He's an international manager not a club manager. The build for the future statement is ludicrous.
I'm all for sacking him if we don't get at least 4 points from the next two games and starting again.
25/09/2006, 1:25 PM
I'd rather play 4-3-3 or 4-5-1 than have Kilbane and O'Shea as the central pairing.
A Reid Kavanagh and S Reid as a 3 man midfield with Duff and MacGeady on the wings would get my vote. Will it happen? Will it balls because Kilbane and O'Shea must have some gossip on old Stan because he is infatuated with em!!!
Noelys Guitar
25/09/2006, 1:32 PM
I just knew Staunton would come out with the 2010 chestnut as I have already mentioned. Elliot is out for another 4 weeks at least. No Carsley who is playing at the top of his game and could at least offer something different even as a sub. Other posts have already mentioned the very strange Andy Reid non-selection for Germany game (when fit) and now inclusion when injured? I have a real fear about this upcoming Cyprus game. I would expect this current group of players to win 2-0. With Stan at the helm I'm not so sure.
25/09/2006, 1:37 PM
Dropping who? Doyle or Robbie?
4-2-3-1 makes sense to me:
--Kav---Reid
Doyle--McGeady--Duff
----Robbie----
I agree with the premise that our central midfield is so weak that adding an extra body in there is a very viable solution. Even against Cyprus.
For McGeady you could have Miller, but an attacking trio of Duff, Doyle & Robbie is essential, and a creative advanced midfield player. Kav & reid ought to provide the foundation. I'd have Carsley in there but obviously Stan wouldn't. Our full backs can cover any gaps.
billybunter
25/09/2006, 1:40 PM
agree that carsley deserves a spot (if available). very solid so far this season. no approach to dean kiely I take it?. Is harte still hurt? mcgeady has to start against cyprus. O'shea is going to start no matter what - whatever about staunton, but how the fook does alex ferguson keep picking him at man utd? With duff out, i think its morrison and doyle up to with robbie behind them 4-3-3. we need a good 2-3 goal victory to set us up for czech game.
25/09/2006, 1:41 PM
Duff wont be out will he. It was just a dead leg and he is expected back for the Uefa Cup game.
Noelys Guitar
25/09/2006, 1:54 PM
Staunton is going to play the exact team he started with against Germany (with Kenny replacing Given) barring injuries. No McGeady and definetely no Kavanagh ( Stan will not bring on Kav even as a sub) in starting line-up. Duff will probably be substituted at some stage and O'Brien brought on for his "pace"! And I am not jesting here. Watch what happens.
25/09/2006, 2:00 PM
If he starts with O'Shea & Kilbane in CM I'll be steaming livid.
25/09/2006, 2:02 PM
If he does that, he should be sacked and I am not a knee jerk(phrase of the week) person.
25/09/2006, 2:02 PM
Staunton is going to play the exact team he started with against Germany (with Kenny replacing Given) barring injuries. No McGeady and definetely no Kavanagh ( Stan will not bring on Kav even as a sub) in starting line-up. Duff will probably be substituted at some stage and O'Brien brought on for his "pace"! And I am not jesting here. Watch what happens.
I think that will happen as well. Kilbane and O'Shea will be clueless when it comes to picking up Rosicky's runs and it will be Holland all over again if we are not careful.
I'm not the biggest fan of Kav but I'd have him in with the two Reid's and two very attacking wingers. If he isn't 100% sure on MacGeady then get Doyle to play on the right hand side.
---------Keane
Duff ----------------- Doyle/MacGeady
A Reid ----Kav------S Reid
endabob1
25/09/2006, 2:03 PM
Spot on, Stan thinks we did well in Germany and they were 'lucky' to win.
Over the post
25/09/2006, 2:23 PM
Disappointed not to see McCarthy, McPhail or Carsley in there although with so many injured players named, they might be called up as others drop out.
Still, hardly inspiring stuff.
Harte made himself available for selection although he only returned to training with Levante last week. They're planning to name him in the squad to play Zaragoza next weekend.
blobbyblob
25/09/2006, 2:50 PM
very very scary business
Sad fact but we no longer have a strong 11. Theres not a lot Stan can do about that but he could at least pick the strongest he has available. We have about 6 players that you could class as consistant premiership performers. The rest will generally make up numbers. Apart from the absence of Given and the ommision of Carsley, (give or take a few arguments), this is our strongest side.
Based on that, this would be my team ( ) denote selected if available
GK - Kenny (Given)
LB - Stephen Carr
RB - Steve Finnan
CH - Richard Dunne
CH - Paul McShane
LM - Damien Duff
CM - Stephen Reid
CM - Graham Kavanagh (Lee Carsley)
RM - Aiden McGeady
F - Kevin Doyle
F - Robbie Keane
R1 - Wayne Henderson
R2 - John O Shea
R3 - Andy O Brien
R4 - Stephen Ireland
R5 - Clinton Morrison
R6 - Andy Ried
We have to stop thinking that we are better than we are and start playing ugly again. We need to start kicking people and the likes of O Shea and Kilbane are either too lethargic, too exposed or too headless to get away with it at this level. Lets play ugly, get physical and get me in the box for balls from out wide.
Carsley said he would like to return but not keen on sitting on the bench, With an attitude like that he can feck off.
The continued inclusion of Alan O'Brien continues to baffle me.
25/09/2006, 3:06 PM
Ahh sure he's quick Pete
Hes quick too. (http://www.irish-national-stud.ie/images/inivincspiritpics/invincspiritposedsm.jpg) call him up!
Carsley would be an excellent addition to the team but since he retired and few years ago and wont come back unless he is in the starting XI, he is not going to be coming back.
Watched Mc Phail yesterday and I thought he looked good, very good, granted he got alot of time on the ball but still he should be in on current form.
If he plays 4-5-1, I personally would pick Doyle up front, he is the form striker, he is scoring goals in the PL. Morrison is starting to come back into form for Palace over the past few weeks and scored at the weekend. Lee seems to be finding form as well. Robbie Keane was very poor on sat and I would put him on the bench in Cyprus to wake him up. He has not been up to scratch so far this season except for Sheffield Utd at home according to a few spurs I was talking to on sat.
All in all, I am very worried looking at the squad. 6 points from these 2 games is a must if we want to get 2nd.
Can someone please explain why so many people have McGeady in their team??? I have watched him play on a number of occassions and taking the opposition into account can see no reason why he should be in our first.
25/09/2006, 3:34 PM
Lads thats not what Carsley said. I posted the interview with Carsley here somewhere else. Anyway Carsley gave up international football to look after his mentally handicapped child. He felt he did not have the time or motivation to give to international football and to be away from his child at the vital early stage for him and his wife.
He has been willing to come back into the fold for a while now. What he did say was that in every squad there are 11 people who start and 5 subs and then there are about 6 or 7 others who are no where near the team. He said these slots are better off going to the young players than someone like him. However he is willing to come back if he is playing or in with a chance of playing i.e. on the bench etc.
25/09/2006, 3:37 PM
Robbie Keane was very poor on sat and I would put him on the bench in Cyprus to wake him up. I'd pick him myself, but that's neither here nor there. The fact is that, like Beckham for England, his form is almost irrelevant. As captain he can hardly be dropped.
Yesterday's Observer had a fan rant that absolutely slated Robbie on Saturday, 3/10 and laziness was cited. Can't comment on whether it's fair but he seems a fair bit off the form he showed from Christmas onwrads last season.
25/09/2006, 3:45 PM
He was not that bad but he was not great either. Thing is with Berbatov he looks great and with Defoe on Saturday he did not look great.
Can someone please explain why so many people have McGeady in their team??? I have watched him play on a number of occassions and taking the opposition into account can see no reason why he should be in our first.
Agree to a certain extent. our options are limited and while i think he should be involved i do not think he is anywhere near International standard yet but saying that i wouldn't be against starting him at home to the Czechs, we've nothing to lose.
And additionally I'd keep John O'Shea in the midfield, he may not be the best in the world but i think he was one of our better players in Stuttgart to be honest, get kilbane out of there. O'Shea will try hard, some other guys, in particular, Duff are spending too much time on their arse throwing their hands up to the ref looking for free kicks for nothing.
DeNiro
25/09/2006, 4:20 PM
I'm suprised McShane has come in ahead of McCarthy, who's captain at Leicester. We need leaders (be they young or old), so surely McCarthy would be a better option. I don't really see the benefit of Alan Lee in the squad. How many of us really feel he will score an important goal in a competitive match? He has yet to score an international goal. McPhail most defo should be in there! The FAI have hired a monkey. But that's no suprise really. He can shove the 2010 idea, we could be even worse by then.
Billsthoughts
25/09/2006, 4:23 PM
I think mageady is a class player and way better than most of the players we have..there is no point in bemoaning lack of quality if you dont play the only quality players you have.
youngirish
25/09/2006, 5:20 PM
I think it's nostalgic, defeatist nonsense to suggest the players we have are not good enough to get out of this group. Mc Carthy had poorer players in a more difficult group but still got us to WC 2002 and let's be honest - he was no Brian Clough.
For most of the qualifiers for 2002 we had the following players in our first 11 as far as I can recollect:
Given
Carr
Breen
Cunningham
Harte
Kilbane
Roy Keane
Kinsella
Mc Ateer
Robbie Keane
Connolly/Quinn
Of those mentioned we've lost Cunningham, Breen, Roy Keane, McAteer, Kinsella and Quinn. Besides Cunningham and Keane I don't see any of the others walking into the current team (Quinn was old at this time and past his best - he rarely lasted the full match). Of the current team Finnan, Dunne, Duff and Doyle should all walk into that 2002 team while S Reid and Mc Geady would be viable alternatives to McAteer and Kinsella.
Also take into account that Robbie Keane at the time spent the majority of his time on the Leeds sub's bench and is now playing regularly.
I believe on paper our current team should be stronger if we played our best players and not persisted with tried and tested sh*te like Kilbane and O'Shea.
25/09/2006, 5:46 PM
Interesting post YoungIrish, makes a nice change from SPL bashing :)
All of those players you mention have been more or less replaced except Roy Keane.
After Giles we had Brady, when Brady left we were relativly flush.
Without Roy now and whenever he wasn't playing in the past, for the most part we have been desperately lacking leadership and midfield stability even stooping to headless chicken standard.
I can't see where the enthusiasm is coming from some for Steven Reid in midfield on this season's form and not likely to play before the Intl. games.
He might be the best available but he's not much more than adequate atm.
For the 2 games
i'd say 4 points incl. a good performance against the Czechs would be a good haul. 6 points would be a miracle - our best performance in 8 years.
Billsthoughts
25/09/2006, 5:52 PM
Without Roy now and whenever he wasn't playing in the past, for the most part we have been desperately lacking leadership and midfield stability even stooping to headless chicken standard.
why do you think that is?????????
25/09/2006, 8:32 PM
why do you think that is?????????
The endless row of Qm's as in, its so feckin' obvious that the selection of O'Shea and Kilbane is a dead duck not to mention a headless chicken.
I couldn't say anything much more than the obvious 'None are good enough'. Right now, overwhelmed by a Dodge size dose of realism, I'd consider selling 5% of my soul for another Keane but 10% for a Giles :)
I had thought that someone like Kav could have imposed his personality and his type of game in the qual games. Now I'd assume that being let go by Wigan is another sign that it's not going to happen.
S. Reid on form is talented but even on form there are unanswered questions yet about leadership and personality (does one exist?) needed to lead an Irish midfield.
Had a look at Cardiff's game for McPhail, he did well in poor enough standard of a game, it was no indicator if he could do a midfield job for us.
We have other decent skilled midfielders in Andy Reid and Ireland but leaders they aren't.
Donal81
25/09/2006, 10:29 PM
It's depressing but I don't see what team we can put out that will take on the Czechs and Germans in the big games. The world class players we have just haven't done it for us since 2002, with the exception of the wonderful Shay Given. Where has Duff been? Robbie Keane?
What's even worse is that no one is coming forward to replace Keane. We won't produce a player like that for some time but where's the organiser in the middle of the pitch? Where's the leader, the pro? We have O'Shea and Kilbane. And although we will not do anything if we start with those two in the middle, who else does he bring in? There are alternatives but they have as many flaws as O'Shea and Kilbane.
Carsley would give us a bit of bite but I saw the bloke play enough times for us and I'm not sure what he has to offer going forward. So let's say Stan drops O'Shea and plays Carsley with Kilbane. Would we be any better off? If Carsley and O'Shea start in the middle, would we look any stronger?
Steven Reid needs to step up to the plate and accept what's more or less on offer - be at the centre of our midfield for the forseeable future. This has been there for him since he started playing regularly with Blackburn and Keano retired. But yet he goes missing in games, which is something you can only put down to attitude and mentality, as opposed to some physical flaw.
Holland is finished as an international footballer. Bringing him in would be a stopgap measure and an awful indictment of Kilbane and O'Shea. I can't see Stan doing that. But who the hell knows what's going on in there.
I've posted this before; I'm so sick of the listless performances that I'd gladly take a wildcard at this point. We've tried out the same players so many times, and we haven't seen a great performance in so long. Something like Steven Ireland/Stephen McPhail beside Steven Reid, with McGeady on one wing and Duff on the other, with Keano and Doyle upfront.
Stan is only a few games in and I think any manager deserves a fair go of it. I don't think we're good enough to qualify. Or, more importantly, I don't think we're cohesive enough to get close to the Germans or the Czechs. But we have players to at least give them a run for it and not make it easy for them. That's all I'm expecting from these games.
I was talking to a friend recently who was amazed at the success of Martin O'Neill's teams, as O'Neill never struck him as a genius with tactics. Our conclusion was that history shows a long line of successful teams who didn't have much spectacular talent to draw on. The Nottingham Forest and Aston Villa teams who won European Cups; Wigan last season; Portsmouth this season; Greece in 2004; Ireland in 1988 and 1990 ; McCarthy's 2002 team. If you have a squad of organised and motivated professional players, you can achieve so much in football.
Billsthoughts
25/09/2006, 10:29 PM
no I didnt know the answer either but fully agree wiht you.
I think give lads like macphail a go.
kilbane does not offer anything as a midfielder.
John o shea could offer something if he got his act together.
I would say having rooney and ronaldo in front of you covers a multitude.
The main thing is to try other options.
Qwerty
25/09/2006, 11:00 PM
I have to say that Stan isn't giving me the warm fuzzy. As a player he struck me as being mature but from the interviews he has given ( where he throws back questions to the interviewer with the mornoic 'what do you think?' line, does he think this is cute or something? ) and the junvenile behavior pitch side while Houghton was being interviewed before the Germany game and his bottle kicking fit ) seem to show that Stan is still more of a lad than a manger. It has also been written about Stan that when he was injured he didn't go to or watch games unlike Keane who watched and studied the same maniacially and worked on getting his coaching badges. I think Stan falls into the Charlton school of management but the difference is that Jack had a solid gameplan and stuck with it no matter what. I think Stan will get there eventually, but I have a feeling this will be his first and last management job. Is he even qualified to manage a professional club side?
As for the players, it's a matter of tweedledum and tweedledee, there really isn't much between them. As the last poster said in effect what we need is a system which works for us. We have some good players but we need the other with less talent to neutralize the negative by working their socks off.
Carsley is 32 and when he left people weren't crying in the streets, I don't think he has anything to offer us nor does Kavanagh whom I would dump immediately.