View Full Version : Squad announced for Czechs and Cyprus
theworm2345
25/09/2006, 11:45 PM
Must be the worst Irish squad EVER (since the last one of course)
Agreed
Cyprus:
179 26.03.1980 Nicosia Cyprus 3-2 WCq
185 19.11.1980 Dublin Cyprus 6-0 WCq
362 24.03.2001 Lefkosia Cyprus 4-0 WCq*
369 06.10.2001 Dublin Cyprus 4-0 WCq*
403 04.09.2004 Dublin Cyprus 3-0 WCq*
415 08.10.2005 Nicosia Cyprus 1-0 WCq*
6 matches, 6 wins
Czechs
298 05.06.1994 Dublin Czech Republic 1-3
316 24.04.1996 Prague Czech Republic 0-2
336 25.03.1998 Olomouc Czech Republic 1-2
352 23.02.2000 Dublin Czech Republic 3-2
396 31.03.2004 Dublin Czech Republic 2-1
5 matches, 2 wins, 3 losses
I wont dwell on it like usual, but Connolly was Elliott's partner up front, and he is expected back this weekend, so why wouldnt he be picked in Elliott's place? Why is Shane Long suspended?
*vids available from these games, PM me
I dunno why a few of ye are saying ye'll be happy with four points from these two games. If we are serious about qualification we need six, an away game against a minnow and a home game-six points and nothing else!
If Kerr had got more points from his home games we wouldve qualified, so its essential we win at home. From a Czech perspective they would be happy with a draw in Dublin, therefore we def cant be.
26/09/2006, 11:12 AM
I'd take a wild card too Donal. I'm that desperate. But I do think there's a pairing that'll work to the extent required to make us competitive, even if it's inculding someone like the unsung Jonathon Douglas putting himself about.
Whilst I'm quite a fan of Steven Reid, realistically he'll be in no shape to do himself justice in October. He's played **** all this season & is still out with a back injury. We can't count on him in these games.
If we're eliminated with an imaginative selection giving youth a chance to prove itself then that'd be far more palatable. But as the Dutch match proved, if you've got relative rookies in the team then bog standard 4-4-2 has to be adhered to.
theworm2345
26/09/2006, 12:26 PM
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=10591
Kavanagh appears to be hurting
26/09/2006, 12:42 PM
Picking up on Donal's belief, look at the Ryder Cup. One team was hungry & closely bound by a common target. One was a collection of individuals who deep down preferred to focus on their more lucrative "solo careers" & rumour has it many of them didn't like each other. One of these used also refer to the Irish football team. Which one does now?
If nothing else, Staunton at least seems to know the merits of the European approach.
26/09/2006, 3:41 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/euro2008/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=24614
It's depressing but I don't see what team we can put out that will take on the Czechs and Germans in the big games. The world class players we have just haven't done it for us since 2002, with the exception of the wonderful Shay Given. Where has Duff been? Robbie Keane Yep - spot on there. No leadership whatsoever from any of the so-called better players (with the exception of Given who perhaps should have been made captain). I said before that the substitution of Duff against the Germans was great because perhaps - just perhaps - he will begin to see that he can't coast through Ireland matches and expect to play the full 90 based on his reputation alone. Duff is probably our most gifted player but if you were to look exclusively at his performances over the last two or three years you'd never be able to tell that.
Our conclusion was that history shows a long line of successful teams who didn't have much spectacular talent to draw on. The Nottingham Forest and Aston Villa teams who won European Cups; Wigan last season; Portsmouth this season; Greece in 2004; Ireland in 1988 and 1990 ; McCarthy's 2002 team. If you have a squad of organised and motivated professional players, you can achieve so much in football.
Yep - with the exception of your reference to Ireland in 1988 (watch the game against the USSR especially ... we played them off the park!) I think that is 100% correct. That is one of the things Charlton did so well - he had the team playing as a team. It's a lot harder to do at international level than people realise but it can be done. And like you say, when it does happen teams that are - on paper - inferior, often get very good results!
I've posted this before; I'm so sick of the listless performances that I'd gladly take a wildcard at this point. We've tried out the same players so many times, and we haven't seen a great performance in so long. Something like Steven Ireland/Stephen McPhail beside Steven Reid, with McGeady on one wing and Duff on the other, with Keano and Doyle upfront.Yep - the players do look lethergic and bereft of new ideas. Players like McGeady and Alan O'Brien should be included because they will freshen things up and offer different options to the team. I saw a couple of posts earlier mocking O'Brien's pace but if you ask any coach what one single attritbute they would value above all the others in a player and most will say pace. He had a couple of good runs against the Dutch when he came on there and one against the Germans ... now that is not much I know but then it was significantly better than Duff's overall contribution in both matches!! And players don't need to be playing regularly for their clubs to come in and do a job for us (thinking particularly about McAteer V. Holland in 2001). He's shown drive energy and enthusiasm. Perhaps Duff and Keane should sit near him on the team bus - hopefully some of it will rub off on them!!
26/09/2006, 4:59 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/euro2008/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=24614
Absolutely ridiculous decision imo.
Paddy Garcia
26/09/2006, 5:07 PM
Central midfield, our weakest position, and playing very well for the 4th placed team in the premiership - unbelievable. No lessons learnt from the last few games.
Still he has the experience of Kavanagh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
26/09/2006, 5:18 PM
The only possible reason for it is that he feels it would be a kick in the teeth for Miller Douglas etc. but I would put it to him dont drop them drop Kilbane possibly from the squad for Carsley. Why not swap experience for experience rather than Carsley in instead of one of the young players.
26/09/2006, 5:35 PM
Exactly. Kilbane certainly wouldn't have made the Everton midfield ahead of Carsley.
macdermesser
27/09/2006, 8:13 AM
hate to even contemplate the prospect of getting 1 point from our next two games... but the FAI are going to look pretty stupid when it comes to the Croke Park games and the stadium is half empty because we are already out of contention and supposedly concentrating on World Cup 2010... where at this rate we'll be 6th seeds for the qualifiers (slight exagerration).
They've gone about this the total wrong way .. we needed some experienced wise cute hoor of a manager .. like a younger fitter Bobby Robson .. or Rehegel .. or Kuhn (not actually these guys but someone in this ilk).
We don't have the quality of player as we did in the 80's and early 90s .. but we have team that should be finishing second and pushing a very ordinary German side for first place in a pretty poor group.
27/09/2006, 8:50 AM
if (god forbid) we don't beat Cyprus and then get a walloping from the Czech's would Stan get the push? I know its a knee jerk reaction but it would surely be an option don't you think?
27/09/2006, 9:30 AM
Kavanagh could be a doubt now too, he's been carrying a knock for Sunderland and is a doubt for the weekend's game against the Owls, from http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=10591
Graham Kavanagh is a doubt for Sunderland's game against Sheffield Wednesday on Saturday.
"He could be struggling for the weekend and if there's any doubt he won't play. He's got internationals after that so that's the stuff we've got to look at."
27/09/2006, 10:47 AM
Clinton's goal from the weekend, mods feel free to move if it's not appropriate to this forum
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBMKqK2hMBc
27/09/2006, 2:17 PM
Well KK is now at Wigan (ahead of Kav) and apparantly playing well.
With both Reids and Kav injured, I would not be surprised to see O"Shea and Kilbane selected again. I don't know if there is anything to read into as regards O'Shea being listed alongside the defenders in the squad.
I'd support Stan's reasoning for excluding what he called the easy option of recalling Carsley and Holland. He has thought about it and for the short term and the long term he has given a vote of confidence to the current squad.
He holds that as having greater value.
27/09/2006, 2:32 PM
Kilbane is not good enough to play in central midfield. Its got nothing to do with form with him. He does not have the basic attributes of a central midfielder. He gives away possession time and time again. YOu cannot afford to do that at any level but especially at international.
27/09/2006, 3:12 PM
Also, Kilbane just can't pick a pass to get the forwards in. In fairness, he did well at home to Brazil & Cyprus and away in France. OK away to Faroes too I suppose. But the more he's picked in CM the more likely it is that his failings will be exposed. He will have the odd good game but that's all it'll be - odd.
27/09/2006, 10:10 PM
Just on RTE2 news tonight KAv is out of the squad because of the knee injury. It reported that Carsley will be called up.
highlight100
27/09/2006, 10:13 PM
Just heard Lee Carsley to return for injured Graham Kavanagh,any thoughts?
theworm2345
27/09/2006, 10:21 PM
Just heard Lee Carsley to return for injured Graham Kavanagh,any thoughts?
from who?
theworm2345
27/09/2006, 10:23 PM
Just on RTE2 news tonight KAv is out of the squad because of the knee injury. It reported that Carsley will be called up.
Perhaps someone knocked some sense into him :rolleyes: You'd think someone who played for Jack Charlton for so long would have some sense
27/09/2006, 10:51 PM
He hasn't been called up yet but this suggests he might be:
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0927/carsleyl.html
27/09/2006, 11:22 PM
Good to see him back if it is true
28/09/2006, 7:24 AM
common sense at last.
DeNiro
28/09/2006, 7:52 AM
so can we expect a midfield of McGeady, Carsley, Reid. S, Duff? Will he really drop Kilbane? How will he accomodate O'Shea? Hopefully he won't but I suspect he will. I hope he's not thinking of dropping Finnan for O'Shea. Jaysus, I'd love to be back in the predictable times of Charlton era. Team picked itself and was full of quality.
28/09/2006, 7:55 AM
Steven Reid is struggling for fitness so I don't see how it's assumed he'll start. He hasn't played one minute's football since Stuttgart.
28/09/2006, 8:40 AM
What he does with Kilbane & O'Shea will indellibly mark my opinion of Staunton in my brain.
Kilbane was a wild-card CM selection in Stuttgart, presumably as he had the physique & running power to try & unsettle Frings. It didn't work, but I can accept the logic. I'll be very surprised if he's picked here for Cyprus as they don't have a player of Frings' ability that needs a man-marking job. We should take the game to them, not look to contain them.
O'Shea has been earmarked for the, dare I mention the term, holding role over the long term so I'm half expecting him to remain there. I was hoping Carrick's arrival at MUFC would force O'Shea out of CM, so the illusion that he's a midfielder can no longer be sustained. Sadly, this hasn't happened.
BradyIsMyHero
28/09/2006, 8:55 AM
With Kavanagh out and Reid doubtful, Carsley mus tbe called up. Should have been in from the beginning.
See Actim Stats - 10th best player in the Premiership on current form
Reddladd
28/09/2006, 9:20 AM
Regarding O'Shea I can't understand why he seems to work harder and, in my opinion, look alot better when he's playing for Man U as opposed to Ireland. It has to be because competition is greater and there is a fear or pressure that if he doesn't perform he will be gone. He has a lazy style and doesn't always stayed focused for the whole game. Although he doesn't do a whole lot he never seems to make as many mistakes with Man U as he does internationally.
Maybe the love of playing for your country isn't enough and it's the paymaster and club profile that keeps him more focused.
Even if Carsley does get involved it's unlikely that O'Shea will be dropped and thus he still won't have the same level of pressure. Same for Keano, competition for places at Spurs is pressure to perform, with Ireland he's a shoe-in!
28/09/2006, 10:17 AM
Glad to see to the Lee Carsley rehabilitation bandwagon rolling at full speed. Almost canonization material by now.
I have always rated Carsley, thought he was very hard done by not getting any playing time at WC 02.
With the talk about holding midfielders. I never thought he blended in with Keane in midfield, whenever they played together he ended up like Roy's kid brother, always following in his shadow around midfield ready to receive the 2m pass.
In a fantasy world, if Carsley made it onto the first eleven, then it would be a temptation to go with Ireland or Miller at CM with McGeady and Duff wide. Shove O'Shea out to LB.
28/09/2006, 10:57 AM
I dont think Carsley is the big solution that a few people are suggesting. However, he is the type of player that we are arguably missing in midfield. One thing for sure is he will battle hard in midfield for us. If we could put someone along side him who can pass the ball well then it would be a decent midfield.
The problem at the moment is that neither OS or KK are comfortable on the ball and pretty much as soon as they receive the ball they look to release.
28/09/2006, 11:07 AM
if Carsley made it onto the first eleven, then it would be a temptation to go with Ireland or Miller at CM with McGeady and Duff wide. Shove O'Shea out to LB.Largely agree.
I said ealier I'd be inclined to go with any two of Kav, Miller & Douglas. Now for Kav, insert Carsley. Ireland is a risk as he's barely played. I'd have Miller ahead of him.
I think Douglas has unsung merits.
Which Miller would show up? The swashbuckling hero of games against Lyon/Anderlecht/Leeds/Sweden, or the utterly anonymous figure that was bypassed in Villareal, 90% of his United career & the game after the Leeds win? I do like him though, talented player.
RogerMilla
28/09/2006, 11:12 AM
carsely and miller would be great , wonder if we will ever see that pairing though
Billsthoughts
28/09/2006, 11:39 AM
I think Douglas has unsung merits.
Have to say I liked what I saw of him agaisnt Holland but never seen him play much in last couple a years. would deffo give him a go agaisnt the weaker teams in the groupl.
RogerMilla
28/09/2006, 12:51 PM
not withstanding stans statement about 2010 , i'm sure he is gunning for the 6 points , anything less than this will leave us seriously behind the leaders..
ken foree
28/09/2006, 1:41 PM
a little off topic but to the last comment: it sounds as if he's expecting to be here through 2010 - understanding every manager would expect the same thing and have confidence in himself - but i get the sense that he's been given the green light to stay even if we fail to qualify for this tournament. i wonder what kerr supporters would think of that. imagine, if you will, a deplorable qualifying campaign with us finishing equal to or worse than when we started, seeding-wise. if staunton didn't go, well it would be rather harsh on bk, no?
on a side note: are the groups about equal in difficulty? difficult to rate wales yet of course (it'll be a derby against them) but they might occupy the israel spot this time around. france = germany, czech = swiss, perhaps the inverse/opposite? only making these comparisons in light of the above paragraph and IF stan stays if we fail to make it.
There was a fairly sizable contingent of fans as well as media 'experts' calling for him to be sacked before we had played a competitive match under him (!!) ... if this campaign goes badly, and by that I mean we end up with a worse seeding than the one we had for this group, there is no way he will keep his job - regardless of what it says in his contract!!
Billsthoughts
28/09/2006, 4:12 PM
I think its pretty obvious he will be given this campaign and the next one. I cannot see any situation other than Delaney being ousted in a coup that would lead to him being fired before well into the next campaign.
If we finished bottom of the group he'd go for sure. Second bottom, again, he'd go for sure. To be honest, he could only be really confident of keeping his job beyond this campaign by finishing in the top three - even fourth place would be no guarentee: too many fickle 'supporters' calling for him to be sacked after one competitive match ... they aren't going to stop complaining because of Delaney or a clause in Stan's contract!!!
Qwerty
28/09/2006, 9:57 PM
a little off topic but to the last comment: it sounds as if he's expecting to be here through 2010 - understanding every manager would expect the same thing and have confidence in himself - but i get the sense that he's been given the green light to stay even if we fail to qualify for this tournament. i wonder what kerr supporters would think of that. imagine, if you will, a deplorable qualifying campaign with us finishing equal to or worse than when we started, seeding-wise. if staunton didn't go, well it would be rather harsh on bk, no?
on a side note: are the groups about equal in difficulty? difficult to rate wales yet of course (it'll be a derby against them) but they might occupy the israel spot this time around. france = germany, czech = swiss, perhaps the inverse/opposite? only making these comparisons in light of the above paragraph and IF stan stays if we fail to make it.
bk got a fair crack of the whip, he finished 3rd inthe Euro group our worst finish for 20 years, he was allowed to continue and beat his own record by finishing 4th. It wouldn't shock me if we finished 5th with Stan but I hope not. Stan has played 1 and lost 1. Long way to go.
theworm2345
30/09/2006, 1:03 AM
Connolly (I wont give up hope till he retires from Domestic Football) and Murphy are back in training as of yesterday, but I think only Murphy has a chance of playing--which is good as Elliott wont even start jogging until next week. Delap is ready for the game tomorrow, while, as you know, Kavanagh is out for 4-6 weeks. Andy Reid is very doubtful for tomorrow, but tomorrow is his expected return date, Steven Reid's return date is the 14th of October (too late) and Paddy Kenny is very doubtful for tomorrow. Joey O'Brien expected back October 7th (could be a late call up), while Shay is still out until his expected return date (October 28th...which I'm not sure about)
Updates from
www.safc.co.uk
www.physioroom.com
30/09/2006, 10:34 AM
Paddy Kenny looks like the type of chubby kid who always got picked last and ended up in goals.
With the two goalkeepers out, then it's Henderson. I'm starting to twitch.
30/09/2006, 2:09 PM
Andy Reid has started Charlton's game against Arsenal. From looking at the teamsheet it seems he's part of a 4-3-3 in midfield with Faye and Hughes. Hopefully his days as a left winger are over.
Stephen Ireland started for City.
theworm2345
30/09/2006, 2:27 PM
Connolly (I wont give up hope till he retires from Domestic Football) and Murphy are back in training as of yesterday, but I think only Murphy has a chance of playing--which is good as Elliott wont even start jogging until next week.
Murphy started, Connolly on the bench---Roy claimed Connolly's injury as his fault last time, I doubt he'd like to do that again, so I dont think hell get on
30/09/2006, 4:35 PM
Paddy Kenny (Sheffield United) Started
Wayne Henderson (Brighton & HA) Started - Conceded 2
Nicky Colgan (Barnsley) Not in Squad
Andy O’Brien (Portsmouth) Sunday
Richard Dunne (Manchester City) Started - Conceded 1
John O’Shea (Manchester United) Sunday
Steve Finnan (Liverpool) Started - Conceded 2
Stephen Carr (Newcastle United) Sunday
Sean St Ledger (Preston North End) Started - Conceded 1
Paul McShane (West Bromwich Albion) Started - Sent off 32' Professional Foul
Jonathan Douglas (Leeds United) Started
Steven Reid (Blackburn Rovers) Injured
Kevin Kilbane (Wigan Athletics) Sunday
Aiden McGeady (Celtic) Sunday
Stephen Ireland (Manchester City) Started - Off 57'
Liam Miller (Sunderland) Substitute - On 74'
Graham Kavanagh (Sunderland) Injured
Andy Reid (Charlton Athletic) Started - Off 78'
Stephen Elliott (Sunderland) Injured
Damien Duff (Newcastle United) Sunday
Alan Lee (Ipswich Town) Started
Robbie Keane (Tottenham Hotspur) Sunday
Kevin Doyle (Reading) Sunday
Clinton Morrison (Crystal Palace) Started - Yellow Off 45'
Alan O’Brien (Newcastle United) Sunday
30/09/2006, 7:13 PM
Sky ratings for midfield.
A. Reid - In need of games 5 - 5.2
Ireland - Disappointing 5 - 5.7
Meanwhile...
Carsley - Fine first half 7 - 6.7
30/09/2006, 7:18 PM
Richard Dunne got 9 out of 10 from the Manchester Evening News
Great squah eh? When you removed injured left with:
Paddy Kenny (Sheffield United) Started
Wayne Henderson (Brighton & HA) Started - Conceded 2
Nicky Colgan (Barnsley) Not in Squad
Andy O’Brien (Portsmouth) Sunday
Richard Dunne (Manchester City) Started - Conceded 1
John O’Shea (Manchester United) Sunday
Steve Finnan (Liverpool) Started - Conceded 2
Stephen Carr (Newcastle United) Sunday
Sean St Ledger (Preston North End) Started - Conceded 1
Paul McShane (West Bromwich Albion) Started - Sent off 32' Professional Foul
Jonathan Douglas (Leeds United) Started
Kevin Kilbane (Wigan Athletics) Sunday
Aiden McGeady (Celtic) Sunday
Stephen Ireland (Manchester City) Started - Off 57'
Liam Miller (Sunderland) Substitute - On 74'
Andy Reid (Charlton Athletic) Started - Off 78'
Damien Duff (Newcastle United) Sunday
Alan O’Brien (Newcastle United) Sunday
Alan Lee (Ipswich Town) Started
Robbie Keane (Tottenham Hotspur) Sunday
Kevin Doyle (Reading) Sunday
Clinton Morrison (Crystal Palace) Started - Yellow Off 45'
Likely Team:
Kenny
Carr O'Brien Dunne Finnan
Reid/McGeady O'Shea Kilbane Duff
Keane Doyle
Bench: St Ledger, Miller, Ireland, O'Brien, Reid/McGeady, Morrisson, Lee.
theworm2345
01/10/2006, 8:58 PM
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1191
Alan Quinn has been called up.
It is becoming more and more apparent that Staunton doenst give a **** about Euro 08, but just cares about the 2010 World Cup