View Full Version : Aiden McGeady
DannyInvincible
12/01/2015, 11:55 AM
That's actually more than I would have thought.
It did seem too generous, so I've had a re-check and it turns out I misinterpreted those figures. Sorry about that. He's started 13 Premier League games since he joined Everton last January. Since then, he's also made 17 appearances as a substitute. Not sure why I interpreted it otherwise as that format - x(x) - conventionally signifies games started and then games in which a player has been brought on in brackets, doesn't it? Having gone through the Premier League fixtures in which he has started since January last - don't think I missed any, but open to correction - it looks like he finished none of them, so he has actually never played a full 90 minutes for Everton in the Premier League. He has played a few up until the 85+ minute mark.
12/01/2015, 2:57 PM
Full details on all his appearances here: http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=38265
He has played 13 full games for Everton and has been either subbed on or off in another 17.
ahem: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=38265&seasonID=144
DannyInvincible
31/01/2015, 4:53 PM
McGeady played his first full 90 minutes for Everton in a Premier League game today. Everton beat Palace 1-0 away.
01/02/2015, 2:04 AM
It did seem too generous, so I've had a re-check and it turns out I misinterpreted those figures. Sorry about that. He's started 13 Premier League games since he joined Everton last January. Since then, he's also made 17 appearances as a substitute. Not sure why I interpreted it otherwise as that format - x(x) - conventionally signifies games started and then games in which a player has been brought on in brackets, doesn't it? Having gone through the Premier League fixtures in which he has started since January last - don't think I missed any, but open to correction - it looks like he finished none of them, so he has actually never played a full 90 minutes for Everton in the Premier League. He has played a few up until the 85+ minute mark.
I am always confused by the x(x) format, is the first x all games played in or only the ones started in?
I think it must be all game he has played in as I don't see recall any where the second x is greater that the first.
Actually Drogba has 2(15) so the first x must be games started and the 15 must be when brought on as sub.
Incidentally McGeady got his highest rating so far this season for his last game
Yard of Pace
01/02/2015, 10:50 PM
Looked good yesterday, hopefully it's the beginning of a rich vein of form that last to the Poland game...
DeLorean
02/02/2015, 8:45 PM
Looks like Aaron Lennon is going to Everton on loan. McGeady could probably do without the extra competition!
02/02/2015, 9:25 PM
I think McGeady's a better player than Lennon, he has more ability on the ball, however they are similar with quality of delivery, even if one had an opinion that Lennon was better, would he be that much better to justify all that expenditure for a loan deal?
No doubt this is further proof of the Martinez decline, as his lucky streak is exposed for what it really was, a glorious "spoof" (to quote John Giles).
03/02/2015, 8:00 AM
Phil Neville was just on R5 Live saying it was a good move, taking pressure off Coleman to be the main threat on the right flank, leaving Mirallas and McGeady as options on the left.
DeLorean
03/02/2015, 8:44 AM
It's definitely a good move for Everton, especially if they have a decent run in the Europa knockouts. There is no question that it is extra competition for McGeady though. I'm a big McGeady fan but would have to accept that Mirallas is a better player overall, so the right hand side is the more likely position that McGeady could occupy, despite the fact that I'd prefer him on the left. McGeady is definitely a technically superior footballer to Lennon, but Everton's lack of tempo and pace compared to last season has been well documented, which is the kind of football Lennon excels in. Hopefully McGeady starts the majority of the games, with Lennon held in reserve as an impact sub, to come on when the games are more stretched.
DeLorean
03/02/2015, 1:16 PM
If Lennon's enthusiasm on the pitch matches his unveiling photos, McGeady has nothing to worry about :)
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/02/03/254C592C00000578-2937717-image-m-4_1422962654876.jpg
03/02/2015, 2:44 PM
If Lennon's enthusiasm on the pitch matches his unveiling photos, McGeady has nothing to worry about :)
honesty believe that lennon is a dreadful player. zero end product
DeLorean
03/02/2015, 2:58 PM
He doesn't have the greatest football brain, that's for sure, but his pace can cause no end of damage at times. Patrice Evra always struggled to deal with him.
punkrocket
03/02/2015, 3:57 PM
I like the sound of the new Lennon-McGeady combo up on Merseyside. I've always been more of a Kinks man myself.
03/02/2015, 5:48 PM
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/02/03/254C592C00000578-2937717-image-m-4_1422962654876.jpg
A former colleague was Lennon's financial advisor. He said he was a charmless drip.
punkrocket
05/02/2015, 8:26 AM
To be fair to the man I often adopt that particular pose myself.
There's usually a bar counter under my elbow at the time though.
seanfhear
07/02/2015, 4:47 PM
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/02/03/254C592C00000578-2937717-image-m-4_1422962654876.jpgI have heard of being sent to Coventry but Lennon looks like he thinks being sent to Everton is worse !
02/05/2015, 1:35 PM
Back on the bench today for Everton.
McCarthy and Coleman start, Gibson still injured
Deckydee
12/06/2015, 11:59 AM
Injured? http://sport.stv.tv/football/1322846-aiden-mcgeady-sits-out-republic-of-ireland-training-with-hamstring-issue/
12/06/2015, 12:01 PM
Martin O'Neill said in Press Conference that it's up to McGeady essentially whether he feels he can start or not.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/06/2015, 12:08 PM
Of course he's going to say yes.
O'Neill has to make the decision. Start McClean. He's better anyway. Walters was going to start no matter what so that makes the decision a bit easier.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/06/2015, 12:22 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/jun/12/aiden-mcgeady-ireland-scotland
Enigma of Aiden McGeady to tease Ireland fans once more against Scotland
Deckydee
12/06/2015, 12:30 PM
Just watched it on the news: http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/live/7/
He has been left out as a precaution
Bottle of Tonic
12/06/2015, 12:47 PM
Woeful article.
seanfhear
12/06/2015, 1:12 PM
If McGeady could frustrate opposing Teams as much as he frustrates a lot of Irish Fans then we would be a lot happier.
SwanVsDalton
12/06/2015, 2:34 PM
Quite liked that article, minus one or two lines - kind of hits at why he's so simultaneously frustrating but endearing.
Sometimes I think our attacker(s) don't do another to read what he's doing. For instance, he nearly always stands the ball up to the penalty spot/back post when he hits the by-line close in. He did that against England on Sunday - beautiful ball across goal - but Murphy and McGoldrick had both drifted to the near post.
They're not the only ones. A decent McGeady delivery to a space no one is attacking is a regular feature of our games.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/06/2015, 5:11 PM
Anyone else think McGeady could stand to lose some weight?
12/06/2015, 6:07 PM
He's just stocky
seanfhear
12/06/2015, 7:35 PM
Anyone else think McGeady could stand to lose some weight?
2295I though he could do with a bit of Bulk but I think he may have taken things a bit far.
DeLorean
12/06/2015, 8:02 PM
I know he packed on the pounds after things went pear shaped at Spartak, that comfort eating's a killer! He didn't look particularly out of shape to me on Sunday so maybe it's just an unfortunate photo. He really shouldn't allow himself to put on weight like that if it's not.
DannyInvincible
12/06/2015, 10:01 PM
It's just a bad photo. You can see that the jersey is hovering or superficially raised at the back by his movement/body position, which makes him look much wider or bulkier than he actually is. It's also a bad angle and reminds me of that photo of overweight Andy Reid in a stride for Sunderland. Andy Reid was actually overweight in the photo, but the angle and his body position just made it look so much worse.
If McGeady was actually that bloated, his head/neck should be a bit bigger and stockier as well, but as it is, it looks disproportionately small and lean compared to the exaggerated frame. There's no excess puppyfat around his face or neck which can be a good indicator as to whether or not someone's carrying a few excess pounds overall. Robbie notoriously had facial puppyfat in his younger days but has much less now, which is a sign of his overall superior condition.
I certainly didn't notice that McGeady looked overweight or even out of shape on Sunday either.
12/06/2015, 11:32 PM
He's not fat, he's just really close to the camera.
13/06/2015, 12:06 PM
His bones have grown in size.
14/06/2015, 7:12 PM
Big boned.
14/06/2015, 7:12 PM
Must be in the Andy Reid dining club.
On the plus side it's not easy to push him off the ball any more.
TheOneWhoKnocks
02/07/2015, 4:52 PM
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/13362993.Celtic_may_be_tempted_to_attempt_to_lure_ back_Aiden_McGeady/
Frustrated McGeady linked with a return to Celtic.
TheOneWhoKnocks
06/07/2015, 1:34 AM
McGeady linked with Sunderland.
http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/everton-fc-transfer-rumours-blues-9589001
GypsyBlackCat
06/07/2015, 8:09 AM
McGeady linked with Sunderland.
http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/everton-fc-transfer-rumours-blues-9589001
The local press and SSN Keith Downes have both rubbished that report.
06/07/2015, 2:12 PM
He shouldn't have come back to the Uk.
06/07/2015, 5:50 PM
Duff for Sunderland, McGeady for Rovers?
TheOneWhoKnocks
06/07/2015, 6:31 PM
This article is 4 weeks old and I'm sorry if ye have seen it already/been posted but... :bashed:
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/mark-wilson-lifts-lid-aiden-5855625
“I was there, I was inside when it all kicked off. To be fair to Aiden that wasn’t his fault that time – it was the other psychopath’s fault!
“Something happened outside. Artur ran at him and tried to punch Aiden but he ducked out of the way. The pair were split up and headed for the changing room.
“Aiden was sitting at his locker and Artur came over to say sorry. He held out his hand, Aiden went to shake it, and then Artur whacked him!
“It was completely out of order, terrible, but that was the kind of fella Artur was. You never knew what to say to him. He was always on the edge.”
“We went on a night out in Denver during a pre-season tour in the USA but we were told to stay together.
“For the most part we did but Aiden was one of three lads who didn’t remain with the group. He stayed out and ended up getting involved with guys at a hotdog stand believe it or not.
“He woke up the next day with a black eye and obviously Gordon wasn’t happy. We flew to Chicago and Aiden was told to wear dark sunglasses and wasn’t allowed to train. He had a few run-ins, that’s for sure.”
GypsyBlackCat
14/07/2015, 8:33 AM
McGeady to Sunderland might not be a bogus story after all. Despite likelihood of Jermain Lens signing McGeady might be added as back-up if Downing doesn't move to Sunderland. It's believed that he could be an option as the club are in limbo over the Adam Johnson situation.
TheOneWhoKnocks
18/07/2015, 2:12 PM
Martinez values McGeady and wants to get to the bottom of his niggling injury woes.
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/13420650.Everton_boss_Roberto_Martinez_rules_out_C eltic_return_for_Aiden_McGeady/
19/08/2015, 12:06 PM
O'Neill getting frustrated at McGeady and even has a pop at him http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/o-neill-s-frustration-over-mcgeady-s-lingering-hamstring-injury-1.2321279
26/08/2015, 5:51 PM
McEddy back in the Everton team for the league cup match in Barnsley tonight, McCarthy on the bench.
DeLorean
26/08/2015, 10:23 PM
Missed a bit of a sitter to put Everton 1-0 up and was substituted at half time, not sure if he was a injured or what but his replacement, Deulofeu, set up three goals!
i don't think he was injured... i'd say martinez let rip. everton were 2-0 down at HT.
05/01/2016, 12:38 AM
Also I notice Aiden McGeady is not the Everton squad, he is on his way to Celtic apparently
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-need-show-fans-mean-7103886
DeLorean
05/01/2016, 8:25 AM
Also I notice Aiden McGeady is not the Everton squad, he is on his way to Celtic apparently
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-need-show-fans-mean-7103886
Kind of sad the way this seems to be working out for him but game time anywhere would do for now ahead of the summer. I can see why Celtic would be reluctant to break the bank, they'll win the league with or without him barring a disaster.
Olé Olé
05/01/2016, 1:27 PM
Kind of sad the way this seems to be working out for him but game time anywhere would do for now ahead of the summer. I can see why Celtic would be reluctant to break the bank, they'll win the league with or without him barring a disaster.
That's probably why Delia wants to sign him only on the basis that he'd be signing on for next season also. Makes sense as McGeady has good pedigree in Europe, which can't be said for all of the players currently at Celtic.
05/01/2016, 1:44 PM
Kind of sad the way this seems to be working out for him but game time anywhere would do for now ahead of the summer
I find it hard to understand how lennon gets in the team / bench ahead of mcgeady at everton. where mcgeadys everton performances really that bad??