View Full Version : Aiden McGeady

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

16/10/2011, 10:48 AM
Actually factual? Actual Facts? OR did you just want to get it to rhyme :)

Fixer82
16/10/2011, 12:17 PM
Despite the criticism McGeady's had over the last few days, I felt he's been a solid contributor to the team over the course of the qualifiers. With this in mind, I did some research and this is what I came up with

Game Score Goalscorer Assist
Armenia(A) 1-0 Fahey Doyle, possibly Keane
Andorra(H) 3-1 Kilbane Lawrence
Doyle Lawrence
Keane McGeady
Russia(H) 3-2 Keane N/A - penalty
Long McGeady
Slovakia(A) 1-1 St Ledger Fahey
Macedonia(H) 2-1 Keane Gibson
McGeady
Macedonia(A) 2-0 Keane None
Keane None
Andorra(A) 2-0 Doyle Whelan
McGeady Whelan
Armenia(H) 2-1 OG Duff
Dunne McGeadySo, he finished the group with the most assists, and was directly involved in more goals (either scoring or assisting) than anyone else bar Robbie Keane.

There's no way he can be given the credit for assisting Long V Russia when his shot was saved and rebounded into Long's path

16/10/2011, 12:38 PM
There's no way he can be given the credit for assisting Long V Russia when his shot was saved and rebounded into Long's path
Probably not, but if McGeady's shot wasn't saved, it was a goal. At the very least, he played a major part in the goal
The same can be said for Keane's goal against Macedonia at home, Gibson's shot rebounded right into his path for the goal

Jaysus
17/10/2011, 5:16 AM
I still believe McGeady is a waste of space.

No. Our central midfielders usually perform like wastes of space, McGeady is one of our best players. Plus, we're painfully slow without him, he's just vital to Trap's system. If one of the wingers should be dropped it's Duff for Coleman, IMO.

17/10/2011, 12:26 PM
No. Our central midfielders usually perform like wastes of space, McGeady is one of our best players. Plus, we're painfully slow without him, he's just vital to Trap's system. If one of the wingers should be dropped it's Duff for Coleman, IMO.
Duff's still fantastic with the ball at his feet, but he's lost that half yard of pace that meant you could play the ball in front of him, and he would reach it before the opposition and control it. Now it's better for him to receive the ball to feet and let him dribble past the oppposition

17/10/2011, 1:41 PM
McGeady is one of our best players.
McGeady is nowhere near being one of our best players. Well behind Dunne, Duff, Given, Keane, O'Shea...

17/10/2011, 5:14 PM
McGeady is nowhere near being one of our best players. Well behind Dunne, Duff, Given, Keane, O'Shea...
Would you accept he might be our best player under 30?

17/10/2011, 11:42 PM
I don't think he's our best winger under 30.

DeLorean
18/10/2011, 9:37 AM
I don't think he's our best winger under 30.

This reminded me of the time when John Lennon was asked if Ringo Starr is the best drummer in the world, to which Lennon replied..."He's not even the best drummer in The Beatles".

18/10/2011, 1:12 PM
I don't think he's our best winger under 30.Don't leave us all in suspense, who is the mystery man?
Duff is 32, Hunt is 30, is it Treacy? Brady? Coleman?

18/10/2011, 1:27 PM
Don't leave us all in suspense, who is the mystery man?
Duff is 32, Hunt is 30, is it Treacy? Brady? Coleman?

Liam Lawrence, andy Reid, Wes Hoolahan!?

all 29 afaik

18/10/2011, 1:30 PM
It's Ronan Finn lads.

KK77
20/10/2011, 2:04 PM
Think it's well time to put Seamus Coleman in ahead of this fella and give him a run. He may not have as good a step over:D but imo an all round better footballer.

AlaskaFox
20/10/2011, 2:37 PM
Think it's well time to put Seamus Coleman in ahead of this fella and give him a run. He may not have as good a step over:D but imo an all round better footballer.

Eamon, is that you?

20/10/2011, 2:52 PM
How many goals has Coleman set up in the past couple of years? He's a good player but he doesn't match up to McGeady offensively or defensively.

KK77
21/10/2011, 8:50 AM
How many goals has Coleman set up in the past couple of years? He's a good player but he doesn't match up to McGeady offensively or defensively.

I am not sure as to the exact stats but just my opinion. I am not saying i am correct and you are not correct just my opinion that Coleman is a better football player.

KK77
21/10/2011, 8:50 AM
Eamon, is that you?

No sorry my name is not Eamon.

EastTerracer
23/10/2011, 2:56 PM
McGeady only a sub for Spartak today but just came on in the 78th minute. Spartak already 2-0 up on Tom Tomsk.

Update: McGeady helps set up Spartak's 4th goal in the 89th minute with a good run from midfield (evading two tackles).

mark12345
25/10/2011, 1:01 AM

They're both good players. Aiden is a bit ahead of Seamus. But both lads have a bright future for Ireland.

theworm2345
25/10/2011, 1:46 AM
They're both good players. Aiden is a bit ahead of Seamus. But both lads have a bright future for Ireland.
McGeady has a had a bright future for Ireland for about 6 years...I'm still waiting for that bright future to become a bright present.

The Legend
25/10/2011, 7:52 AM
Lads, this lovefest for McGeady is embarrassing. I'd rather have Eddie "the eagle" McGoldrick out there!

EastTerracer
29/10/2011, 3:52 PM
McGeady back in the first XI for Spartak today. 2-0 up on Lokomotiv in the first 15 minutes.

EastTerracer
05/11/2011, 1:34 PM
Moscow derby between Dynamo and Spartak just starting now. McGeady starts on the left as he did last week.

EastTerracer
05/11/2011, 3:01 PM
Moscow derby between Dynamo and Spartak just starting now. McGeady starts on the left as he did last week.

Update: McGeady scores an equaliser for Spartak in the 57th minute. Left foot shot from the edge of the penalty area curled into the corner of the net. 1-1

Sullivinho
05/11/2011, 3:53 PM
Good to hear. How's he playing in general?

I'm half afraid to open any of these threads named after specific players for fear of injury news!

05/11/2011, 8:24 PM
That was a grudge game today I'd imagine. He was sent off again them last season for a lunge.

06/11/2011, 11:13 AM
Tidy finish
5_IakDeImTs

06/11/2011, 11:59 AM
Tidy finish
5_IakDeImTs

That's a very very nice finish.

05/01/2012, 3:59 PM
There was an interview with Aiden by the news channel Russia Today asking him about football and life in Russia etc, Aiden was saying he missed the deep fired Mars bars which he could not get in Russia.

It was on at about 13 minutes to 5pm and should be on again at 13 minutes to 7pm if you want to see it. Freeview channel 85 in the UK.

05/01/2012, 4:11 PM
Good interview with him in today's Herald Scotland: http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/exclusive-interview-how-mother-russia-made-a-man-of-aiden-mcgeady.16359872

EastTerracer
25/01/2012, 8:24 PM
It seems that Spartak Moscow have agreed a fee with Everton for Bilyaletdinov. There are very few teams playing with two traditional wingers so any thoughts on what this might mean for McGeady? He is clearly very popular there (as I witnessed outside the ground in Moscow in September) but perhaps they are thinking of cashing in on him.

Spudulika, has there been any speculation in the Russian media?

25/01/2012, 10:05 PM
I'd have thought they were preparing to sell him to ease their financial pressures.

There's been a link to Liverpool but no credible source as far as I can see. Not sure what Liverpool need at the moment is another winger who doesn't score goals.

http://www.caughtoffside.com/2012/01/25/liverpool-plan-10m-bid-for-irish-winger-to-help-add-more-natural-width-to-anfield-attack/

26/01/2012, 9:29 AM
McGeady 5 goals and 20 assists in 45 games for Spartak

This season
Kuyt 19 games 1 assist 0 goals
Bellamy 16 games 2 assists 5 goals
Downing 22 games 0 assists 0 goals

The Fly
08/02/2012, 11:50 AM
McGeady injured in pre-season training (http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/mcgeady-now-a-concern-3012487.html)

Crosby87
08/02/2012, 11:57 AM
So what was the result of the MRI? The article basically says nothing.

Colbert Report
08/02/2012, 11:59 AM
was initially feared that McGeady had suffered the same injury which he picked up in June, a complaint which kept him out of action for two months, but Spartak said today that while they are still unsure of the extent of the setback, they hope that McGeady will not turn out to be as serious as was thought.

08/02/2012, 8:29 PM
I see the real Fly has returned - a post containing a mere link (albeit descriptive).
I wonder who that verbose FLY is, writing missives on the eligibility thread.

gastric
09/02/2012, 12:16 AM
I see the real Fly has returned - a post containing a mere link (albeit descriptive).
I wonder who that verbose FLY is, writing missives on the eligibility thread.

Ye, he had the audacity to dissect one of my posts on there. If he continues he will be the one to be dissected!
It would give me great pleasure to cut him up!

The Fly
09/02/2012, 1:02 AM
Ye, he had the audacity to dissect one of my posts on there. If he continues he will be the one to be dissected!
It would give me great pleasure to cut him up!

http://z5.ifrm.com/5902/57/0/e14535/e14535.gif

Bring it on my intestinal friend!!!

punkrocket
09/02/2012, 10:54 AM
You're full of sh1te.
(and so's McGeady if that mars bar stuff is true)

punkrocket
09/02/2012, 11:01 AM
Oops, forgot to add this:poo: which handiliy enough doubles as a piece of poo and a deep fried mars bar.

Carrigaline
05/03/2012, 2:40 PM
The Russian league restarts after the Winter break. Bilyaletdinov starting instead of McGeady.

Carrigaline
05/03/2012, 11:53 PM
Cheeky assist from McGeady to give Spartak a draw against Rubin Kazan in their important championship game. But yea, McGeady can't cross, and even if he could, he would never do it against a team of Champions League quality. No siree.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVhVfatD3n0

06/03/2012, 2:41 AM
Any time I've seen McGeady for Spartak his crossing's been terrific, particularly when he's inside the box. It definitely helps that the Spartak forwards make better runs for him. The instinct for Premier League players is to run to the back post which makes it very difficult for McGeady, so you end up with him chipping the ball into Cech's arms several times on Wednesday.

06/03/2012, 10:05 AM
I think that's 20 assists for McGeady at Spartak. It was very similar to his 'chipper' for Andrews to nod home in Estonia.
The same cross that the RTE panellists said was poor and left all the work for Andrews to score.

DeLorean
06/03/2012, 10:17 AM
The same cross that the RTE panellists said was poor and left all the work for Andrews to score.

In fairness they said the cross was okay but Andrews still had a lot of work to do, which he had. They certainly didn't say it was a poor cross.

06/03/2012, 11:18 AM
I'd call it damning with feint praise.
"It was an alright cross not a great cross, but the header was top top class, the ball was slow, etc..... as Eamon would say, (the cross) was okay"

"would you agree John it wasn't a great cross" "yeah it wasn't a great cross .... Andrews had to do most of the work" "McGeady's cross was okay".

Personally i would have said it was the perfect cross given the circumstances.

DannyInvincible
06/03/2012, 12:10 PM
"It was an alright cross not a great cross, but the header was top top class, the ball was slow, etc..... as Eamon would say, (the cross) was okay"

"would you agree John it wasn't a great cross" "yeah it wasn't a great cross .... Andrews had to do most of the work" "McGeady's cross was okay".

One can sense the pain such understated admissions caused to those uttering them.

06/03/2012, 2:07 PM
You'll note that Brady generally qualifies his praise in order to be agreeable to the other 2. He appears to be intimidated by them.
In general Brady argues, only when the anger and frustration gets the better of him. And when that point has been passed he lets it out but he gets emotionally flustered, so it doesn't sound coherent.
I wish he wouldn't be so agreeable and be the one looking for the common ground.

DeLorean
06/03/2012, 3:17 PM
I'd look at it differently. You seem to think that they were reluctant to praise McGeady, whereas I think they just wanted to emphasise how much Andrews still had to do. McGeady just lofted it into a good area, but it wasn't one of those crosses that just needed to be directed without generating any force.

I agree with you on Brady though, he will only stand his ground when he feels very passionately about something, usually Arsenal. He is in a semi-difficult position when discussing the current set up with Ireland in fairness.