View Full Version : Aiden McGeady
05/03/2008, 1:51 PM
jimmyc, i think that mcgeady is too good a crosser for playing the hole role. Id say bigmancas would like to play in the hole role though, well at least mcgeadys.
I see that crept in right at the end of an otherwise serious post!:D
05/03/2008, 2:03 PM
Last nights game showed he didnt shine, there were 2 others who shined ahead of this so called world class player
World class? :D
BigmanCas
05/03/2008, 2:10 PM
EB - whats sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Torn-Ado
05/03/2008, 2:30 PM
I felt McGeady tried too hard last night to live up to the hype. He tried to beat his man on many ocassions and failed when a pass might be the easier option.
He tends to do that in an Ireland shirt too. He's got his name as an attacking dribbling winger who takes on defenders and I think mentally he believes he needs to live up to this. Slovakia at home is prime example.
Hopefully soon, he will get a bit smarter in that respect but all in all I'm happy with his progress.
05/03/2008, 2:47 PM
Paul I am at a loss with your last comments. Are you suggesting that Mc Geady cannot defend - surely if you had any knowledge of the beautiful game you can recognise that the main reason he has improved considerablely as a player of late is because he has become an all-round winger with a hunger to track back. You make no sense.
ah thats it, :lightbulb:, i dont have any knowledge of the beautiful game, thanks for enlightening me BMC. I'm not anything of a singer, but even if I were, i would still be singing off a completely different sheet than you. Where did he defend last night?! If a winger cant get back and "actually defend", do you know the easiest way for him to defend is?! Its to come look for the ball off the defense and relieve the pressure off them by holding the ball up, taking a pass, going on a run, setting up a run, making a forward pass etc the simplest thing a winger can do if they cant actually defend is to attack. Mcgeady did one of those last night on a few too many occassions and lost possession ( which one do you think I am on about ?!?! ). BMS, please dont try and tell me he was class last night.
EB, what do you mean, the way you do be going on about him, sounds like you think he is world class or very nearly there....
Osarusan, i like the use of the word "crept" though I dont think you meant it in any particular way there :D
Torn-Ado, a sensible galway man, easy knowing you dont live in galway ( theres 2 jokes in there ) :D, jokin, but seriouslly I think you are right there, and its very much related to what I said above, that in these kind of games, at present, he isn't a starting option for us - read what i wrote previously.
BigmanCas
05/03/2008, 3:06 PM
ah thats it, :lightbulb:, i dont have any knowledge of the beautiful game, thanks for enlightening me BMC. I'm not anything of a singer, but even if I were, i would still be singing off a completely different sheet than you. Where did he defend last night?! If a winger cant get back and "actually defend", do you know the easiest way for him to defend is?! Its to come look for the ball off the defense and relieve the pressure off them by holding the ball up, taking a pass, going on a run, setting up a run, making a forward pass etc the simplest thing a winger can do if they cant actually defend is to attack. Mcgeady did one of those last night on a few too many occassions and lost possession ( which one do you think I am on about ?!?! ). BMS, please dont try and tell me he was class last night.
EB, what do you mean, the way you do be going on about him, sounds like you think he is world class or very nearly there....
Osarusan, i like the use of the word "crept" though I dont think you meant it in any particular way there :D
Torn-Ado, a sensible galway man, easy knowing you dont live in galway ( theres 2 jokes in there ) :D, jokin, but seriouslly I think you are right there, and its very much related to what I said above, that in these kind of games, at present, he isn't a starting option for us - read what i wrote previously.
Well done Paul - You would not play our most in form player. I rest my case. You are beyond comprehension. Please enlighten those (including me) to the benefits of playing someone other than Mc Geady - wide on the right? Who would you play instead??????? I cannot believe that we are debating a no brainer.
Billsthoughts
05/03/2008, 3:12 PM
Does he play on the right or left for Celtic? Did he not cut in from the left to set up the goal v Barca? Very good post there POS. First time I have learnt something about football on this forum. Will be putting it into action tonite.BigmanCas who'd win in a race between Mageady and the Flash?
05/03/2008, 3:14 PM
No wonder you think I'm blinkered so. I certainly don't think he's anywhere near world class.
Torn-Ado
05/03/2008, 3:17 PM
Does he play on the right or left for Celtic? Did he not cut in from the left to set up the goal v Barca? Very good post there POS. First time I have learnt something about football on this forum. Will be putting it into action tonite.BigmanCas who'd win in a race between Mageady and the Flash?
He plays on the left for Celtic.
Billsthoughts
05/03/2008, 3:22 PM
Is he right or left footed?
05/03/2008, 3:24 PM
Right footed but is capable of taking corners with his left.
Guidedbyvoices
05/03/2008, 3:25 PM
You are talking rubbish Mr O' Shea and also jumping on the 'lets find faults with Mcgeady' brigade. What does this chap have to do to get appreciated? It just appears some people want him to fail and then say 'I told you so'. How sad is this
Celtic were bad last night against a good Barcelona team and no player got the chance to shine. Mcgeady had to play deep, therefore only got one cross in but he got the Duff treatment in observation and was marked by 2 to 3 Barsa players each time he got the ball. By the way ,he did his fair share of defending. Next thing ye guys will be criticising him cause of the brand of boots he wears or the length of his shorts
Anyhow what would a bogman from Roscommon know about Football?:D
BigmanCas
05/03/2008, 3:29 PM
You are talking rubbish Mr O' Shea and also jumping on the 'lets find faults with Mcgeady' brigade. What does this chap have to do to get appreciated? It just appears some people want him to fail and then say 'I told you so'. How sad is this
Celtic were bad last night against a good Barcelona team and no player got the chance to shine. Mcgeady had to play deep, therefore only got one cross in but he got the Duff treatment in observation and was marked by 2 to 3 Barsa players each time he got the ball. By the way ,he did his fair share of defending. Next thing ye guys will be criticising him cause of the brand of boots he wears or the length of his shorts
Anyhow what would a bogman from Roscommon know about Football?:D
well said. would anyone offer me an alternative to Mc Geady??????
05/03/2008, 3:32 PM
Well done Paul - You would not play our most in form player. I rest my case. You are beyond comprehension. Please enlighten those (including me) to the benefits of playing someone other than Mc Geady - wide on the right? Who would you play instead??????? I cannot believe that we are debating a no brainer.
BMC, i dont know if i said it or not, but I meant away from home in a game like Ireland v Georgia or Ireland v Italy where we we will be under more pressure, in an attacking game i.e. at home against less formidable opponents, I would definitely have mcgeady in there as he is good at getting the crosses in, its just where we need to be more defensive minded in big games away from home, I dont think he should start, thats not to say if we are in complete control and the full back is fine without any cover then mcgeady should definitely start. I probably didnt make that clear, but I thats what I meant.
Also, BMC, my original point was about how good mcgeady actually is, I got sidetracked a little, I am saying I have seen nothing to show that he is as good as some are actually saying, and doing it in CL matches and Ireland matches is a metric for me personally,maybe not for you, but it is for me, and I have seen nothing "spectacular" in any of these games.
GBV, why did ye bold all that?! Naka shined, I thought he as class for Celtic last night, but that is probably partly down to the fact that Mcgeady was flanked. I amn't on any brigade, I am a realist, based on what I have read and seen, and how I have got my hopes up in the past for players only for them to dwindle away. We hype up players the whole time to be better than they are. Thats all I am saying.
BigmanCas
05/03/2008, 3:39 PM
BMC, i dont know if i said it or not, but I meant away from home in a game like Ireland v Georgia or Ireland v Italy where we we will be under more pressure, in an attacking game i.e. at home against less formidable opponents, I would definitely have mcgeady in there as he is good at getting the crosses in, its just where we need to be more defensive minded in big games away from home, I dont think he should start, thats not to say if we are in complete control and the full back is fine without any cover then mcgeady should definitely start. I probably didnt make that clear, but I thats what I meant.
Also, BMC, my original point was about how good mcgeady actually is, I got sidetracked a little, I am saying I have seen nothing to show that he is as good as some are actually saying, and doing it in CL matches and Ireland matches is a metric for me personally,maybe not for you, but it is for me, and I have seen nothing "spectacular" in any of these games.
GBV, why did ye bold all that?! Naka shined, I thought he as class for Celtic last night, but that is probably partly down to the fact that Mcgeady was flanked. I amn't on any brigade, I am a realist, based on what I have read and seen, and how I have got my hopes up in the past for players only for them to dwindle away. We hype up players the whole time to be better than they are. Thats all I am saying.
Offer an alternative and less of the rant..... So when we play away to Georgia we should shut up shop? Are you implying that Mc Geady can't defend?? Offer an alternative!!!
Billsthoughts
05/03/2008, 3:44 PM
Stephen Ireland.
05/03/2008, 3:45 PM
Stephen Hunt.
BigmanCas
05/03/2008, 3:53 PM
Stephen Hunt.
You cannot be serious. The guy is not only a terrible defender but has no ability whatsoever. I am not doubting his heart but I am, his ability. It is frivilious to suggest Hunt over Mc Geady on current form - in fact ever. Why do you think Hunt is better defensively than Mc Geady?
I hope Trapp reconises that Hunt has zero ability therefore limiting any involvement. He is nothing but a liability - evidence = Prague. Ability = zero. Can you imagine Nesta clapping Hunt or Messi praising him? He will be back where he belongs next season - in the championship. Please be credible. Stephan Ireland certainly cannot defend. Evidence - Cyprus Away - Slovakia - Away.
Billsthoughts
05/03/2008, 3:56 PM
You cannot be serious. The guy is not only a terrible defender but has no ability whatsoever. I am not doubting his heart but I am, his ability. It is frivilious to suggest Hunt over Mc Geady on current form - in fact ever. Why do you think Hunt is better defensively than Mc Geady?
I hope Trapp reconises that Hunt has zero ability therefore limiting any involvement. He is nothing but a liability - evidence = Prague. Ability = zero. Can you imagine Nesta clapping Hunt or Messi praising him? He will be back where he belongs next season - in the championship. Please be credible.
so do you rate him or not? Its unclear from your post.
Id also have Hunt in ahead of Mageady. Add to that Stephen Reid and Andy Reid.
05/03/2008, 3:59 PM
I hope Trapp reconises that Hunt has zero ability therefore limiting any involvement. He is nothing but a liability - evidence = Prague. Ability = zero. Can you imagine Nesta clapping Hunt or Messi praising him? He will be back where he belongs next season - in the championship. Please be credible. Stephan Ireland certainly cannot defend. Evidence - Cyprus Away - Slovakia - Away.
I would agree that hunt has limited ability and the way he ran around in czech certainly annoyed me, but he takes the ball off the defense and runs and gets stuck in which is more than mcgeady does in that sort of a game.
IF its not a straight swap, then I would prefer to have a reid in there or stephen reid too. Certainly more options than just "definitely Mcgeady", cos he shimmied by a few superstars of the aberdeen team.
IF finnan comes back and mcgeady plays out on the right I would be okay with that, but at the moment we would be too weak with mcgeady on the right/left with kelly or to a lesser extent kilbane.
BigmanCas
05/03/2008, 4:00 PM
so do you rate him or not? Its unclear from your post.
Id also have Hunt in ahead of Mageady. Add to that Stephen Reid and Andy Reid.
Well done Billy - clinical thinking as usual.
Billsthoughts
05/03/2008, 4:08 PM
Well done Billy - clinical thinking as usual.
ya asked me who I would pick ahead of him. so I named some.
Supreme feet
05/03/2008, 5:01 PM
I think that one of the interesting issues that McGeady raises is that of 'flair' players, and whether or not they can be 'trusted' in an Irish team. As Sean Ryan noted in 'The Boys in Green', when 'the beautiful game' has been attempted by Irish teams in the past, it has inevitably ended in failure. Charlton succeeded by playing defenders like Staunton, Lawrenson and McGrath in midfield, by picking battlers like Townsend and McCarthy ahead of the more cultured Whelan and O'Leary. McCarthy's best football was played with tidy, hard-working footballers like McAteer, Gary Kelly and Kilbane on the flanks. The logic was, by making us hard to beat, we would always be in with a chance. That may be a negative mantra, but as a small country, it suited us, particularly against the bigger teams.
This is the first period in Irish footballing history that we have a relative abundance of creative talent, while struggling desperately for defensive midfielders and defenders (how Charlton would have loved to have the options of Duff, Keane and McGeady!). It's a strange time for the Irish team - on paper, the only way we can play to our strengths is by playing attacking, expansive football, yet, because we don't have that tradition, we're just not sure if we're capable of it. Just as we're not sure if McGeady can transmit his excellent CL form to the international stage. Flair just isn't part of our culture, and maybe this is why McGeady stirs up such heated debate.
Junior
05/03/2008, 5:07 PM
Right footed but is capable of taking corners with his left.
He's two footed, his rigt might be his favourite but you only hasve to look at his crosses/assists to see he is more than competent with both. (EB -I know you know this, I just think your comment undersells his two footedness a bit!)
He plays on the left for Celtic, but quite often will switch with Nakamura to the right. Personally he has stated he would prefer to play in the middle/hole.
05/03/2008, 5:12 PM
I think that one of the interesting issues that McGeady raises is that of 'flair' players, and whether or not they can be 'trusted' in an Irish team. As Sean Ryan noted in 'The Boys in Green', when 'the beautiful game' has been attempted by Irish teams in the past, it has inevitably ended in failure. Charlton succeeded by playing defenders like Staunton, Lawrenson and McGrath in midfield, by picking battlers like Townsend and McCarthy ahead of the more cultured Whelan and O'Leary. McCarthy's best football was played with tidy, hard-working footballers like McAteer, Gary Kelly and Kilbane on the flanks. The logic was, by making us hard to beat, we would always be in with a chance. That may be a negative mantra, but as a small country, it suited us, particularly against the bigger teams.
This is the first period in Irish footballing history that we have a relative abundance of creative talent, while struggling desperately for defensive midfielders and defenders (how Charlton would have loved to have the options of Duff, Keane and McGeady!). It's a strange time for the Irish team - on paper, the only way we can play to our strengths is by playing attacking, expansive football, yet, because we don't have that tradition, we're just not sure if we're capable of it. Just as we're not sure if McGeady can transmit his excellent CL form to the international stage. Flair just isn't part of our culture, and maybe this is why McGeady stirs up such heated debate.
Very good post.
Junior
05/03/2008, 5:24 PM
I would agree that hunt has limited ability and the way he ran around in czech certainly annoyed me, but he takes the ball off the defense and runs and gets stuck in which is more than mcgeady does in that sort of a game.
Paul, you've made this type of point in a few posts, I dont think its entirely fair. Yes he would not be your number one choice as a wide midfielder with defensibe qualities, but even last night against Barca, when celtic did little in the opposition half, the number of 70 yard runs he made from deep in his own half relieving periods of pressure was significant. He certainly doesnt hide from his defenders when they need an outlet and more often than not, like Nakamura he will find a member of his own team with a pass (unfortunately the same cant be said of celtics defenders).
When he makes a run, it is inevitable he will lose the ball on occasion, especially against one of the top sides in europe. He has been criticised in this thread for not doing the simple things more often and Id agree o some extent, though lets not forget Celtic needed a three goals, we were only going to make any sort of dent in that tally if McGeady was direct - unfortunately for us, Zambrotta largely had the better of him (no shame in that).
BCM - You obviously love the bones of McGeady, but I think you will be taken more seriously if you dont portray him as MOTM in every game he plays and without fault. For example against Hibs last week he was average, great cros for the goal but not that much else - he was no where near Scott Browns performance on the day.
05/03/2008, 5:48 PM
You can't take McGeady performance in the first half out of the context say of having Donati gift possession away time and time again.
McGeady's best defensive work I thought was in the home game against Spartak, then he could trap quite a few balls, hoofed out of defense his way, onto his little toe, wait to get clattered and win the free, relieved all the pressure.
05/03/2008, 8:58 PM
Very good post.
No its not, its a simple case, of we would love him starting if he were defensive minded as well. Duff almost came full circle and defends almost too much as opposed to how he used to play for us, all out attack.
Once mcgeady does what we have stated earlier FOR IRELAND, then everyone will want him starting no matter what.
Geysir, good point, this is what I am getting at, if its a case that he cant actually tackle and get back then thats his best form of defense, and he doesn't seem to be able do that in the bigger matches, why? because he isn't world class, good but not world class. He can get better though so who knows. But when people look at him showboating against aberdeen and starting blowing aiden mcgeady farts then they need to be brought back down to reality.
05/03/2008, 9:04 PM
Yeah very good post I think. I think in addition to that McGeadys two performances were so shockingly bad that people are having trouble ignoring them rightly or wrongly
05/03/2008, 9:05 PM
Paul, you've made this type of point in a few posts, I dont think its entirely fair. Yes he would not be your number one choice as a wide midfielder with defensibe qualities, but even last night against Barca, when celtic did little in the opposition half, the number of 70 yard runs he made from deep in his own half relieving periods of pressure was significant. He certainly doesnt hide from his defenders when they need an outlet and more often than not, like Nakamura he will find a member of his own team with a pass (unfortunately the same cant be said of celtics defenders).
When he makes a run, it is inevitable he will lose the ball on occasion, especially against one of the top sides in europe. He has been criticised in this thread for not doing the simple things more often and Id agree o some extent, though lets not forget Celtic needed a three goals, we were only going to make any sort of dent in that tally if McGeady was direct - unfortunately for us, Zambrotta largely had the better of him (no shame in that).
BCM - You obviously love the bones of McGeady, but I think you will be taken more seriously if you dont portray him as MOTM in every game he plays and without fault. For example against Hibs last week he was average, great cros for the goal but not that much else - he was no where near Scott Browns performance on the day.
great post. certain people put him up on a pedastel in terms of how good he actually is.
05/03/2008, 9:08 PM
Yeah very balanced post fair play
irishfan86
05/03/2008, 9:16 PM
Regardless of how good or bad he actually is, and I do believe he's a very good young player (not world class yet), he is a dangerous man to have on the field.
Rightly or wrongly he has a reputation as a dangerous player, and is becoming a world name if not a world star.
He will be one of the more recognizable names on a team sheet, and by simply having him in our lineup, teams may actually talk about stopping him specifically, thus perhaps giving some of our other players more space to operate.
As for the Barca matches, it was easy to see that Barca had isolated McGeady and Naka as Celtic's main danger men, and proceeded to double mark both of them, thus making them look worse than they are to the untrained eye.
Going one on one with a defender from Barca is bad enough, but getting double marked by world class defensive players?
Any player will struggle with this kind of marking, especially because as mentioned it's a huge jump from facing SPL defenders to facing double marking from the world's best.
I am fine with him staying at Celtic for the short term to get games and get comfortable playing a key role for his team, something he'll need to do for us eventually.
That said, if he truly wants to make the step up he will probably have to move to one of Europe's premier leagues eventually, which is sad on some level seeing as Celtic seem to be his favourite club.
Hard to say how far he'll go, but he's a tremendous talent and to write him off as many of you are doing is a mistake and unfair on the player at this early stage in his career.
05/03/2008, 9:36 PM
irishfan no one is writing him off, nor are we saying he hasn't got potential, but we are saying that he is definitely not as good as people make him out to be. When he starts doing it consistently in a green shirt and on the bigger occasions then yes we will all say, he is THAT good.
05/03/2008, 9:39 PM
No its not, its a simple case, of we would love him starting if he were defensive minded as well. Duff almost came full circle and defends almost too much as opposed to how he used to play for us, all out attack.
To be perfectly honest I wasn't really thinking of it in relation to McGeady and therefore probably overlooked him main point. Overall though the points he made are accurate. When Ireland have tried to play a really good game style of football in the past it has failed. The football we've been successful with has contained mainly hard working, combative type players. Now we're lacking those type of players and for the first time we've an abundance of creative attacking players. Obviously we now have to play a style of football that is a bit of an unkown quantity with Irish players.
You probably just looked at the post in relation to why some people haven't taken to McGeady. If that's the case I agree with you, Irish people would be more than happy to have McGeady, Duff, Reid, etc. in the same team. I was just picking up on different points of Supreme feet's post.
great post. certain people put him up on a pedastel in terms of how good he actually is.
It's the same with every player. You just have to realise that some posters are going to exaggerate and you should try not to treat their opinion as the opinion of every Aiden McGeady fan.
irishfan86
05/03/2008, 9:41 PM
irishfan no one is writing him off, nor are we saying he hasn't got potential, but we are saying that he is definitely not as good as people make him out to be. When he starts doing it consistently in a green shirt and on the bigger occasions then yes we will all say, he is THAT good.
He does it in a green shirt every week. ;)
You may not be writing him off specifically, but there are a number of posters that seemingly hate the player and almost want him to fail.
Seems bizarre to be so critical of one of our young talents.
That said, there are people on the other side who make posts about him bordering on obsessive sexual desire.
I'm just trying to give a balanced viewpoint, and there are even fewer of those floating around here in regards to McGeady.
05/03/2008, 9:46 PM
To be perfectly honest I wasn't really thinking of it in relation to McGeady and therefore probably overlooked him main point. Overall though the points he made are accurate. When Ireland have tried to play a really good game style of football in the past it has failed. The football we've been succesful with has contained mainly hard working, combative type players. Now we're lacking those type of players and for the first time we've an abundance of creative attacking players. Obviously that isn't the traditional Irish
its obvious though EB, its not something we didn't know already, your summation would be a good history and a conclusion of Irish football. The point that it relates to mcgeady I don't think has much relevance. The whole post was accurate alright but its something we all knew, thats no offense to supreme_feet though. I thought you meant its a great post in how it brings our thinking round to mcgeady which is incorrect.
That said, there are people on the other side who make posts about him bordering on obsessive sexual desire.
haha great one :D but the scary thing is it might be true :D
05/03/2008, 9:50 PM
(my) Above post edited paul.
Billsthoughts
06/03/2008, 8:58 AM
You may not be writing him off specifically, but there are a number of posters that seemingly hate the player and almost want him to fail.
Like who? I havent seen anyone want him to fail. YoungIrish just made the same point he always makes. Thats its stupid to build young players up into something they are not.
BigmanCas
06/03/2008, 9:06 AM
You implicit write him off every time you make a comment.
'but we are saying that he is definitely not as good as people make him out to be' - Please just speak for yourself.
I am of the opinion that he is potentially our most talented player - sorry if people are offended. Paul and Bill prefer Stephan Hunt. It just proves that some people are 'player haters'!!!!!!!
Billsthoughts
06/03/2008, 9:26 AM
You implicit write him off every time you make a comment.
'but we are saying that he is definitely not as good as people make him out to be' - Please just speak for yourself.
I am of the opinion that he is potentially our most talented player - sorry if people are offended. Paul and Bill prefer Stephan Hunt. It just proves that some people are 'player haters'!!!!!!!
Actually I prefer Mageady....but I would play hunt as he has earned a place whereas Mageady hasnt.
BigmanCas
06/03/2008, 9:34 AM
Actually I prefer Mageady....but I would play hunt as he has earned a place whereas Mageady hasnt.
Please inform me as to how S Hunt has earned his place. He came off the bench against Slovakia at home and played well. It was then that his peak was reached. It has been downhill since - wasn't too bad (I suppose) when he came off the bench against Wales at Croke Park. He is a poor excuse for a player and should not be considered. He was tripping over the ball at home to Cyprus. Come on Billy - talk some sense. Please just a little bit of cop on.
06/03/2008, 9:40 AM
Please inform me as to how S Hunt has earned his place. He came off the bench against Slovakia at home and played well. It was then that his peak was reached. It has been downhill since - wasn't too bad (I suppose) when he came off the bench against Wales at Croke Park. He is a poor excuse for a player and should not be considered. He was tripping over the ball at home to Cyprus. Come on Billy - talk some sense. Please just a little bit of cop on.
By the same token that Billsthoughts, youngirish, etc can't write off McGeady, you can't write off Hunt. He's proven as a decent player to come off the bench when the opposition is tiring, but I wouldn't have him as a starter. He was in good form at the start of the season, but has faded in recent months, althought the same criticism could be leveled at the entire Reading squad.
BigmanCas
06/03/2008, 9:49 AM
[quote=tetsujin1979;892019]By the same token that Billsthoughts, youngirish, etc can't write off McGeady, you can't write off Hunt. He's proven as a decent player to come off the bench when the opposition is tiring, but I wouldn't have him as a starter. He was in good form at the start of the season, but has faded in recent months, althought the same criticism could be leveled at the entire Reading squad.[/quote
I believe that the guy has no ability whatsoever. I am sorry for this.
Billsthoughts
06/03/2008, 10:23 AM
Hes not the greatest player ever but he has some ability. I think he causes a lot of panic in opposition. He has had a major impact in the majority of games he has played so far.
irishfan86
08/03/2008, 2:47 AM
To be honest I'm glad we have both of them.
Hunt's tenacity mixed with a decent amount of talent, and McGeady's flair and pace are both decent options.
I think they're around a similar level, and it may be a case of who we are playing or the recent form which determines which player is used.
or just as importantly which player is used in which part of the game...
Paddy Garcia
08/03/2008, 8:17 AM
McGeady is a vastly superior player to Hunt.
Accept Hunt can make an impression when he comes on - uusually positive, occasionally rash.
irishfan86
08/03/2008, 8:44 AM
McGeady has greater potential than Hunt, I'll give you that, but right now it's hard to say which player I'd pick.
I'd think about dropping Duff and playing with Hunt and McGeady on the wings...*awaits the onslaught*
Razors left peg
10/03/2008, 8:51 PM
Kevin Keegan today saying that in the summer he will look to Scotland for players as there are 5 or 6 players there that have excellent talent.... hope to god McGeady avoids Newcastle like the plague. Nothing club going nowhere and is a graveyard for players.
Billsthoughts
11/03/2008, 11:53 AM
After Robbie Keane, Hunt is our second highest goalscorer of our premiership players this season.