View Full Version : Aiden McGeady

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

04/05/2014, 1:08 AM
He looked good. And he finally seems to have lost the excess pounds.

04/05/2014, 1:11 AM
I think he'd lost those a month ago to be honest. He just looks short of a bit of puff.

04/05/2014, 1:14 AM
I probably haven't seen an Everton game in a couple of weeks but didn't think he'd been playing regularly either. He's going to be a good premiership player.

04/05/2014, 1:17 AM
Yeah, he'll be terrific, especially with Everton having 6+ extra games next season so he'll get more opportunities. With Deulofeu likely to sign on again next season, they're probably sorted for wingers so they'll only be looking to recruit up front and in midfield so I think he'll get a chance to establish himself with a good pre-season behind him. That time he spent frozen out at Spartak didn't do him any favours at all.

04/05/2014, 11:27 AM
He just looks short of a bit of puff.
I know a guy who can get some. I suspect Crosby does too.

04/05/2014, 11:31 AM
Yeah, he'll be terrific, especially with Everton having 6+ extra games next season so he'll get more opportunities. With Deulofeu likely to sign on again next season, they're probably sorted for wingers so they'll only be looking to recruit up front and in midfield so I think he'll get a chance to establish himself with a good pre-season behind him. That time he spent frozen out at Spartak didn't do him any favours at all.
I think he only missed the last 2 games at Spartak before joining Everton. Up to those last 2 games before the winter break, he had been playing regularly.
If he has looked like a michelin man baby, unfit/out of puff, there would have to be some other explanations.

back of the net
06/08/2014, 7:09 PM
Just scored in friendly against celta vigo - nice finish from inside the box into the bottom corner

Colbert Report
16/08/2014, 2:21 PM
Great goal from McGeady, puts it in off the top right post.

back of the net
16/08/2014, 2:21 PM
absolute cracker of a goal

DannyInvincible
16/08/2014, 2:24 PM
'Twas a beauty. Controlled and composed. Lovely finish. Delighted to see him score as people often give him a hard time for his lack of goals.

Leicester have brought it back to 1-1.

Crosby87
16/08/2014, 2:25 PM
The goal of a cracker.

16/08/2014, 2:29 PM
BBC rather smitten with it:

Precision. Absolute precision!
Kasper Schmeichel makes a sprawling save to keep out Sylvain Distin, the ball coughs out to Aiden McGeady on the left-hand side of the penalty area but he has Schmeichel and three defenders between himself and the goal. He has a square foot or so of space in the very top corner available, and simply places the ball right there. Brilliant goal!

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/08/2014, 2:45 PM
http://thescore.thejournal.ie/aiden-mcgeady-everton-leicester-1623749-Aug2014/

Goal here.

seanfhear
16/08/2014, 9:02 PM
http://thescore.thejournal.ie/aiden-mcgeady-everton-leicester-1623749-Aug2014/

Goal here.Good final ball there from Aiden.

16/08/2014, 10:19 PM
Good final ball there from Aiden.

Dunno, he has made better crosses.

16/08/2014, 10:24 PM
I have it recorded in HD, the ball seems to move oddly in the air somehow.

DannyInvincible
17/08/2014, 10:04 PM
Martinez praises McGeady's performance: http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3938/irish-abroad/2014/08/17/5040086/everton-boss-martinez-hails-mcgeady-performance?ICID=SP

"McGeady has been very bright all through pre-season," Martinez told the club's official website afterwards.

"He has had a good period since joining in January to get his fitness up to the levels required of this league and I thought he was really sharp.

"He took the goal extremely well and he is someone, who is very difficult to stop when he is at his best.

"It was a really pleasing aspect to the game to see how Aiden adapted to the game so quickly and so well."

18/08/2014, 1:41 AM
Another view of the goal from a better angle I think, brilliant shot curled right into the top corner!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S7JfVI1-OZI

Actually it not quite the top, it hits the post a few inches below, the balls seems to more oddly after that
it was coming down but seemed to go more horizontal after.

DeLorean
08/09/2014, 4:47 PM
Bazza predicts more McGeady magic (http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2014/09/08/barry-predicts-more-mcgeady-magic)

Gareth Barry (http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/gareth-barry) is predicting more magic from Aiden McGeady (http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/aiden-mcgeady) in the coming weeks – this time in an Everton shirt.

The winger delivered a match-winning performance for the Republic of Ireland on Sunday, scoring a brace in the Green Army’s 2-1 Euro 2016 qualifying victory against Georgia in Tbilisi.

McGeady’s second strike in the final minute was a marvellous individual effort – a skilful pivot on the edge of the penalty area that was followed up with a precise left-foot shot. Such was the quality, Martin O’Neill later described the finish as a "touch of genius".

The former Celtic man opened his account for Everton on the first day of the season away at Leicester City and also released Steven Naismith (http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/steven-naismith) for the Scot’s goal against Chelsea last weekend.

Both instances were further flashes of McGeady’s ability – and Barry hopes his teammate’s contribution for Ireland at the weekend will trigger a regular run of assists and goals for Everton.

“We have come in this morning [Monday] talking about the games from yesterday," said Barry. "It was great to see Aiden McGeady (http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/aiden-mcgeady) score both goals in their win. It was a fantastic result for Ireland and it’s always good to see the lads not only playing but scoring.

“It’s something we have seen regularly in training from Aiden. He stuck one away against Leicester and it wasn’t a surprise for him to produce a bit of magic like that. Hopefully that will be brought back here now.

“Games and goals like that bring confidence.

"Last season, he was a bit frustrated coming in in January and not being 100 per cent fit. But we have seen the best of him in pre-season and yesterday’s result and finishes will help.”

DeLorean
12/09/2014, 9:32 AM
‘Magician’ McGeady can have best season yet - Martinez (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/english-soccer/magician-mcgeady-can-have-best-season-yet-martinez-1.1925870)

When I am on the pitch I know I have a responsibility to create chances and score goals (but) there were times last season when I was probably more concerned about not giving the ball away. They have been very vocal and positive with me about that – they have been saying it doesn’t matter how many times I give the ball away, if I create a chance and we score from it then that’s the main thing. It’s about being more expressive and positive with my play.

14/09/2014, 8:43 AM
This article by Stephen Hunt could fit neatly into several threads, but it's mainly about McGeady.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/liberated-display-gives-us-reasons-to-be-positive-30584704.html

I like his quip about there being 442 and Trap's 442.

14/09/2014, 12:02 PM
Some of us will always believe in our Aiden.

14/09/2014, 9:59 PM
If you're on twitter, tweet "@BBCMOTD #GOAL1" to vote for McGeady's goal on the opening day of the season as goal of the month for August

DannyInvincible
10/10/2014, 3:32 AM
I liked this little tidbit of info from a piece I was just having a read through (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/seamus-coleman-and-shay-given-to-miss-gibraltar-game-30637872.html):

Darron Gibson and Aiden McGeady have made the trip to Russia [for Everton to play Krasnodar], with the latter on familiar territory.

He received a round of applause at the pre-match press conference for answering questions in the local lingo, having made an effort to learn the language during his stint with Spartak Moscow.

liamoo11
10/10/2014, 6:35 AM
I liked this little tidbit of info from a piece I was just having a read through (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/seamus-coleman-and-shay-given-to-miss-gibraltar-game-30637872.html):

fair play to him great player and a good human

Deckydee
21/10/2014, 7:48 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scotland-boss-gordon-strachan-insists-4463384

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/strachan-insists-james-mccarthy-and-aiden-mcgeady-are-no-loss-to-scotland-30675723.html

DeLorean
21/10/2014, 8:01 AM
So...

Strachan insists James McCarthy and Aiden McGeady are no loss to Scotland

=

"They’re two terrific players who are at a great club. They’re lads who have got the most out of their ability. Those two have determined their own futures. Aiden did a great job for me at Celtic, he could win games. McCarthy is a lad I've also known for a long time. It would be great to have them but they’re not there, so that’s it. And if they’ve left spaces in our squad, I think we’ve filled them up nicely."

Ridiculous headlines like that really do my head in.

21/10/2014, 8:59 AM
Absolutely, he was nothing but flattering about the pair. Ridiculous.

Deckydee
21/10/2014, 10:11 AM
Me thinks its a ply from the Indo to raise the performance of the two on the night.

DeLorean
21/10/2014, 11:19 AM
Me thinks it's a ploy to make people click into the link.

21/10/2014, 11:46 AM
Me thinks it's a ploy to make people click into the link.
It's called click baiting, Buzzfeed and the Daily Mail are masters of the art, and it's working for them both - the mail is the highest trafficed newspaper website in the world, and Buzzfeed are looking to float on the stock exchange

DeLorean
21/10/2014, 1:11 PM
Fair enough... me thinks it's click baiting

21/10/2014, 9:38 PM
It's called click baiting, Buzzfeed and the Daily Mail are masters of the art, and it's working for them both - the mail is the highest trafficed newspaper website in the world, and Buzzfeed are looking to float on the stock exchange

Mail Online are still making negligible cash funnily enough. Read a great article recently. Will root it out.

Deckydee
08/11/2014, 8:50 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scotland-boss-gordon-strachan-urges-4569821

DannyInvincible
08/11/2014, 3:30 PM
The headline is slightly misleading. Strachan was saying that paying supporters can do what they want, so long as it's not nasty. He wasn't quite urging anyone to do anything in particular.

08/11/2014, 3:52 PM
*McGeady scores*

Scots crowd: "Oh no you didn't!"

Ireland win 1-0.

Works for me.

DannyInvincible
10/11/2014, 9:52 PM
I don't think there's any major new material here and that old myth about McCarthy making a promise to his dying grandfather is given another run-out, but an otherwise decent piece on "how Scottish-born McGeady and McCarthy ended up playing for Ireland": http://thescore.thejournal.ie/aiden-mcgeady-james-mccarthy-ireland-scotland-1772284-Nov2014/

Ex-Scotland defender Gordon McQueen has stoked the flames even further by insisting that the Everton duo deserve to be on the receiving end of a “horrible reception” for choosing the nation of their grandparents over the country they were raised in.

It’s far from a new phenomenon. Celtic’s Charlie Gallagher became the first Scottish-born player to don the green shirt of Ireland way back in 1967 and McGeady and McCarthy are the latest names in a list which includes Ray Houghton, Tommy Coyne, Owen Coyle and current women’s striker Ruesha Littlejohn.

But how did their decisions to commit to the Boys in Green come about?

Paisley-born McGeady had always felt a strong connection to Ireland largely thanks to the influence of his father John, an ex-footballer who would bring the family to holiday at his parent’s home in Gweedore, Co Donegal, every summer.

As the clip below shows, the talented youngster supported Ireland as a boy and recalls watching Ray Houghton lob Gianluca Pagliuca at the ’94 World Cup.

When a rule preventing young Celtic players from lining out for Scotland’s Schoolboys led Packie Bonner to invite him the train with Ireland’s U15s, it felt like a an easy decision.

“An awful lot of people in the Scottish media tried to say that Aiden’s decision was a pragmatic decision based on getting to the World Cup,” explains dad John.

“At the time, Ireland had a better team then Scotland and they seized upon this thinking this guy has seen his future playing with Ireland, maybe getting to the World Cup because Scotland were in the doldrums.

“It wasn’t based on that at all. The decision was based on a very rich heritage of Irish culture passed down from father to son and from aunts to uncles and Aiden spent every single summer in Ireland from a child as I did. So he is very much ensconced in Irish life and he had a real deep unerring love for Ireland.”

The winger impressed almost immediately and moved up through the ranks while also nearing a breakthrough at club level. He clearly made an impression on then Hoops boss Martin O’Neill and was given his first team debut at the age of 18 in April 2004.

Two months later, a senior international debut followed during a friendly against Jamaica at The Valley. The decision didn’t sit well with the Scottish FA or many of their fans, who knew they were losing a talented player with huge potential, and inevitably McGeady was often singled out for abuse during his six years in the Celtic team. The reception at Old Firm rivals Rangers was particularly nasty.

If nothing else then, he and McCarthy have heard it all before.

“We were talking about who would get more stick,” McGeady told the BBC earlier this year. “I said him and he said me. You learn to deal with it. I am old enough now to deal with it. When I was younger, it got on my nerves.”

At international level, McCarthy had been a regular in Ireland underage teams since the age of 16. It was the late Paddy Coyle’s dream for his grandson to represent Ireland and McCarthy made him a promise before his passing.

After being introduced to the player by St Patrick’s Athletic commercial officer Philip Nolan, Ireland youth team boss Sean McCaffrey helped him fulfill that wish.

“I have always wanted to play for Ireland and when the manager Sean McCaffrey picked me for these fixtures against Italy, I was delighted,” McCarthy said at the time.

“I know that I’ll have to work very hard to get a spot in the team because they are a good side. I was born in Scotland but my mother’s family are from Donegal. My grandfather, Paddy Coyle, was a big influence on me before he died and it was my intention to represent Ireland if I was lucky enough to be selected.

“I was a Glasgow Celtic supporter as a kid and my grandfather used to tell about the history of Celtic and the Irish International team.”

I was just looking for a full list of Scotland-born players who've represented Ireland and Bernie Slaven seems to complete the list (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_footballers_born_in_Scotland_who_have_play ed_for_other_international_teams#Republic_of_Irela nd) along with those mentioned in the piece:

Owen Coyle
Tommy Coyne
Charlie Gallagher
Ray Houghton
Ruesha Littlejohn
James McCarthy
Aiden McGeady
Bernie Slaven

Quite a few Scotland-born players have played for other national sides besides Scotland, such as Australia, Canada, New Zealand, NI and the US. Others have played for England, Italy, Uruguay and Wales, and even a few more for the IFA's pre-1950 Ireland team:

William Kennedy Gibson
William Leslie
Bob Milne
Bob Morrison
Joe Ponsonby
John Walker

If Gordon McQueen saw the full list of Scots who've represented other lands (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_footballers_born_in_Scotland_who_have_play ed_for_other_international_teams), he'd be so seething mad, he'd have a heart attack.

Fixer82
10/11/2014, 10:12 PM
It is a stupid comment from McQueen when you consider the influence the Irish have had on Glasgow and the extremely strong ties that still exist between Glasgow and Ireland (Donegal in particular)

15/12/2014, 8:30 PM
I just turned on Everton v QPR and almost immediately Aiden showed some lovely footwork followed by a sumptuous cross which Naismith finished very tidily. Dunne somewhat culpable in the build up, though the main error was Rob Green's duffed clearance.

He has just been subbed.

15/12/2014, 9:22 PM
Nice way to counter the Mirror article that had him statistically the worst crosser in the EPL this season. Because I am all about the stats now like tricky.

I love to see him get into the box and stand the ball up - it's one of his strengths and he doesn't get the chance to do it enough for Ireland when he's always stuck out on the wing.

16/12/2014, 2:14 AM
Nice way to counter the Mirror article that had him statistically the worst crosser in the EPL this season. Because I am all about the stats now like tricky.

I love to see him get into the box and stand the ball up - it's one of his strengths and he doesn't get the chance to do it enough for Ireland when he's always stuck out on the wing.

Yes it is all about the stats, as they say there are stats, dammed stats and statistics.
A good game for Aiden elevates him to 224th in the rankings.
A bad day at the office for Richard Dunne though, he seems to have dropped about 50 places to 59th. (Stuttgard mentions he was "culpable" for a goal)
James McCarthy is 30th and Coleman seems to have dropped down to 94th.

16/12/2014, 8:05 AM
Green ballooned a clearance into the air, Dunne tried to get it down but it ran to an Everyon guy who fed McGeady for the cross.

That should tell you more than any statistic!

DeLorean
16/12/2014, 8:24 AM
I saw about twenty minutes of the first half and McGeady lost possession the couple of times he got it, one with a really poor attempted pass with his left foot. I don't think he does his best work on the right but it was a lovely little assist for Naismith and it's was badly needed from his own point of view.

DeLorean
16/12/2014, 9:49 AM
I just read there that Mirallas was stretchered off and looked in a bit of distress. Hopefully he's not out for too long but if he is it might mean more game time for McGeady in his more favourable position. Well, I'm not sure if it's his own preferred position but I think it's where he's most effective.

18/12/2014, 2:35 AM
Green ballooned a clearance into the air, Dunne tried to get it down but it ran to an Everyon guy who fed McGeady for the cross.

That should tell you more than any statistic!

You can't tell much from a statistic of one, the margin of error is huge.
That is the trouble with highlights you might see a player do one thing either good or bad and think he is brilliant or rubbish.
Often the players who score spectacular goals are not so good because their 50 other attempts at the spectacular had a rather disappointing end.
Likewise a player you is consistently good but unspectacular may not make the highlights at all.

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/12/2014, 5:47 PM
http://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/aiden-mcgeady.25077/page-96

http://hereisthecity.com/en-gb/2014/12/28/everton-fans-react-to-ex-celtic-star-aiden-mcgeadys-performance/

McGeady on the receiving end of a lot of criticism these days.

29/12/2014, 5:52 PM
I thought McGeady, while poor, was one of their better players. Didn't see him bottling anything. Barry, Baines, McCarthy, Alcaraz, Distin, Eto'o were all worse. I'll give Garbutt a pass because he's young and shouldn't have been on the pitch in the first place.

11/01/2015, 5:26 PM
Heard from a friend that some Everton fans were on his back yesterday. Subbed again I see. Not sure how many games he has played the full 90 for Everton.

DannyInvincible
11/01/2015, 6:40 PM
Heard from a friend that some Everton fans were on his back yesterday. Subbed again I see. Not sure how many games he has played the full 90 for Everton.

Full details on all his appearances here: http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=38265

He has played 13 full games for Everton and has been either subbed on or off in another 17.

DeLorean
12/01/2015, 8:50 AM
That's actually more than I would have thought. He an obvious fall guy when things aren't going well. Fans tend to be more patient when things are going well otherwise, naturally enough. He's well used to fans vocalising their frustrations anyway from playing for us.