View Full Version : Aiden McGeady
01/02/2014, 4:28 PM
how did he do overall sir
All here: http://epl.squawka.com/everton-vs-aston-villa/01-02-2014/english-barclays-premier-league/matches
To see an player's stats, click "Full Stats", then select their name from the drop down box
I've had a few problems with that site in Firefox, works best in Chrome
liamoo11
01/02/2014, 6:06 PM
Did he move central when they hooked barkley at half time for pienaar?
how did he do overall sir
Did he move central when they hooked barkley at half time for pienaar?
Sorry for the delay Mr Liamoo. It's a tough question to answer. His performance was a mix of great touches, some good passes and passages of play with some general sloppiness, over complication and ineffectiveness. Probably a touch more of the latter. 6.5/10.
He certainly played more centrally after the change but I wouldn't say he was switched to a central role.
04/02/2014, 1:14 AM
Just say he lacked end product. Go on Stu, you know you want to.
gastric
04/02/2014, 2:59 AM
Despite much effort and graft, an impotent performance then?
04/02/2014, 4:02 PM
Why not let the wee man speak for himself? he's not shy to give a fair appraisal of his efforts.
Getting up to full speed. (http://myevertonnews.com/mcgeady-i-want-to-get-fit-and-get-up-to-full-speed/)
“I was obviously a little bit apprehensive at the start, a little bit nervous,” McGeady told evertontv. “In the first half I thought I did okay and the second half I probably let myself down a couple of times. But I kept going to the end and I’m just happy that we won.
“It was a great first game for me – not because I played great, because I didn’t – but because the team ultimately won and that’s the main thing.
“There were a few little things I was disappointed with. If I was on my game I know I wouldn’t have done those things, but I can’t be too harsh on myself because I need to bide my time and be patient. Hopefully in the coming months I can get up to full speed.”
DeLorean
04/02/2014, 4:17 PM
“I was obviously a little bit apprehensive at the start, a little bit nervous because I have no end product,” McGeady told evertontv. “In the first half I thought I did okay (except for my end product) and the second half I probably let myself down a couple of times because of my end product. But I kept going to the end and I’m just happy that we won despite my lack of end product.
“It was a great first game for me – not because of my end product, because that was poor – but because the team ultimately won and that’s the main thing.
“There were a few little things I was disappointed with, namely my end product. If I was on my game I know I still wouldn’t have any end product, but I can’t be too harsh on myself because it's not my fault I have no end product. Hopefully in the coming months I can get some end product.”
Fixed.
TheOneWhoKnocks
04/02/2014, 4:35 PM
A pity Duff is retired. He was like an oasis of calm in a chaotic world with his ability to retain possession and win free kicks. He was also an excellent crosser and could find gaps McGeady is incapable of seeing.
If I was an opposition fan, Duff would definitely be the Irish player that would have me screaming at the TV.
TheOneWhoKnocks
15/02/2014, 1:14 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/everton-new-boy-mcgeady-must-become-delivery-man-30011886.html
"Failing to take chances, however, has been a recurring theme of the 27-year-old's career whose return of just three goals from 63 internationals has left a succession of Irish managers, from Brian Kerr (http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Brian_Kerr) to Giovanni Trapattoni (http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Giovanni_Trapattoni), scratching their heads in frustration.
If only this was their sole concern, but other shortcomings, namely his dubious decision-making and substandard crossing, have left him at a stage in his career where instead of reaching his peak, he is still trying to convince."
15/02/2014, 1:21 PM
I find all these articles funny, as if some move is going to change his game or realise his potential. He hasn't changed in anyway or improved on his shortcomings thus far and he is 27, why would anyone think that can change with a move to Everton. Perhaps martinez has a magic wand to banish these weaknesses.
15/02/2014, 4:54 PM
McGeady is by far our most creative player and yet he will never be creative enough for some people. Agree his goals tally is very low by his standards.
15/02/2014, 5:09 PM
I thought he was well regarded in Russia. No?
15/02/2014, 5:35 PM
I thought he was well regarded in Russia. No?
Certainly seems so
http://i1187.photobucket.com/albums/z386/Barrabhoy/aidan.png
15/02/2014, 5:47 PM
There must be a higher tolerance of no end product over there. Or maybe they were thanking him for leaving.
DannyInvincible
15/02/2014, 6:17 PM
McGeady's "end product" record at Spartak was pretty decent. According to this (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2515794/Everton-want-sign-Aiden-McGeady-Irish-winger-suspended-Spartak-Moscow.html) article, he managed 13 goals and 28 assists in 92 games for the club. Perhaps the problem is unreasonable expectation from some supporters rather than unfulfilled potential?
15/02/2014, 6:34 PM
Although Paul and TOWK don't believe that anything a manager can say can affect a player's output, I think it's very feasible that the new Irish management might tell McGeady to play without fear and to express himself. I doubt this is what Trap was telling him. I'm not saying it will happen, but it is feasible. It has happened with other players.
I expect the same could apply under Martinez. I know from experience just how much of a spring in your step it gives you to play under someone who rates you rather than someone who gladly highlights your weaknesses rather than strengths.
Let's see what happens. I personally think there's more to be got from McGeady and good management and coaching could be the catalyst.
15/02/2014, 6:37 PM
Spartak for the most part were set up to maximise McGeady's talents. He was part of a three man attack and was constantly getting into the box, and a large number of his assists came from inside the box, and presumably it helped his own goal tally too. Ireland have never played him like that, and we've only seen glimpses of what he can create around the box (Keane v Andorra, Andrews v Estonia, which Chippy called a "bad cross"). He's always been stuck out on the touchline for us, whereas for Spartak Kombarov is a more orthodox winger who could stay out wider and stretch the play. I'd like to see Ireland try something similar with McClean the strong Kombarov figure on the opposite side.
15/02/2014, 10:10 PM
There must be a higher tolerance of no end product over there. Or maybe they were thanking him for leaving.
Thanks, Aiden!
Note the exclamation mark, that's a definite slogan of gratitude.
15/02/2014, 10:17 PM
Thanks, Aiden!
Note the exclamation mark, that's a definite slogan of gratitude.
Or it could be sarcasm. Their choice of the shamrock over the tricolour is a clear sop to the unionist. We made need Paul O'Shea to adjudicate on this one.
16/02/2014, 10:57 AM
I find all these articles funny, as if some move is going to change his game or realise his potential. He hasn't changed in anyway or improved on his shortcomings thus far and he is 27, why would anyone think that can change with a move to Everton. Perhaps martinez has a magic wand to banish these weaknesses.
"It was amazing. Martinez just waved a magic wand and all of a sudden I started venturing forward and even started scoring goals" said Seamus Coleman. "Now all I need to do is to stop nearly giving away penalties and I might even become an excellent player. You know what I mean by excellent. Not excellent as in excellent but excellent as in excellent, like".
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/everton-new-boy-mcgeady-must-become-delivery-man-30011886.html
Garry Doyle of The Indo also cites McCarthy as a player who has benefitted from Martinez approach and also quotes McGeady confirming Charlie D's point about learning to be a 433 player rather than an orthodox wide man in a British 442. Basically he says "some move changed my game" which has been hitherto thought to be impossible. Mad stuff from McGeady.
So, I guess we have two competing camps here: those who think McGeady just doesn't have it and that he has reached his potential, and those who think it's just possible - but not certain - that he can still improve at 27 or that a different role might suit him more.
I'm in the latter camp.
16/02/2014, 12:45 PM
Disappointing to see him back on the bench today as he was named in the starting XI for the postponed game on Wednesday.
DeLorean
16/02/2014, 2:07 PM
Was even more disheartening and somewhat bemusing to see Naismith & Osman coming on Traore & Barkley, but Naismith has scored and won a penalty to settle it. Touche Mr. Martinez!
DeLorean
16/02/2014, 2:16 PM
Deulofeu on now so no action for McGeady.
TheOneWhoKnocks
16/02/2014, 2:18 PM
Is it any wonder McGeady's hair is thinning at an alarming rate?
TheOneWhoKnocks
26/02/2014, 3:15 PM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/9185821/premier-league-roberto-martinez-says-aiden-mcgeady-is-phenomenal
McGeady being eased in slowly.
DannyInvincible
13/03/2014, 8:38 AM
"I expect 'stick' from Scotland fans, admits McGeady": http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2014/03/13/4680998/i-expect-stick-from-scotland-fans-admits-mcgeady
"It'll be strange playing against Scotland at Celtic Park," McGeady was quoted as saying by RTE.
"Although if it's at Celtic Park it might give Ireland the advantage because there will probably be a lot of fans there in the Scotland end who are actually Ireland fans.
The former Celtic midfielder admitted that he expected to be the target of abuse at the game, but shrugged the possibility off and insisted that it was part of the game. Nevertheless, the 27-year-old said that he has "no regrets" about his decision to play for Ireland.
"Do I expect to get stick? Yeah, probably, because you still get the odd bit when you're out and about, but that's football for you," explained McGeady.
"When I was a little bit younger it used to get on my nerves," he continued. "But people can say what they want at grounds and they're entitled to because they've paid their money.
"It's a shame but it's too far down the line to change people's opinion now. I've tried to tell people my story, how I ended up playing for Ireland, but that's it.
"I have no regrets because I've played a lot of games for Ireland, I've got a lot of caps and I'm still only 27," he said. "I've played at the Euros and I can say I played at a major finals.
"To be fair, the SFA did try hard to get me to change my mind, but it was too far down the line
"I'd already been playing for Ireland for three years up to the 17s and then they tried but my mind was already made up. I knew the players and the set-up, but they did try so I can't really fault them for that."
13/03/2014, 9:04 AM
"To be fair, the SFA did try hard to get me to change my mind, but it was too far down the line"
"but"-- so he probably would have changed his mind had they asked before it was made up? And why would he say "but they did try so I can't really fault them for that.", would he have found fault with them for not trying? I hate it when these dualists are so ambiguous. Had the SFA asked him around the same time the FAI did, he probably would have sided with Scotland. By the time the SFA finally tracked him down, he probably was with us for so long he couldn't plot out an exit strategy, he had burned his bridge.:rolleyes:
TheOneWhoKnocks
13/03/2014, 10:20 AM
Just like Ray Houghton, we can be thankful for negligence and short-sightedness on the part of the SFA for Aiden McGeady declaring. Fair play to Aiden for sticking by us after we integrated him into our set up and done right by him. It's also clear that Scotland's lack of competitiveness helped in Aiden's decision, hence the reference to Euro 2012 qualification.
Hopefully Grealish will do the same but it's his prerogative.
I take a hard line on Granny rule players but someone (Bungle I think) brought up the fact that we simply don't have the young players coming through so perhaps I should be more relaxed about that.
I said it didn't sit well that Grealish gets special treatment but Grealish, Murray, Carruthers and Mason are probably some of the best young players coming through so the special treatment (maybe too strong a term but too tired to find the right one) and desire to nail them down is in our best interests.
Don't know what geysir is trying to prove there; maybe he's confused?
McGeady's decision to declare wasn't cut and dry as I want to play for Ireland. He clearly says that Scotland's ambivalence towards him when he was younger and a lack of competitiveness with Scotland contributed to his decision to declare, so I suppose you would say there were ambiguities there.
Anyways, he stuck to his decision at a young age, so no complaints about that.
It would be interesting to see what would happen if Grealish was called up for a competitive game in the Autumn. He says he is satisfied playing in the Under-21s and is relaxed about his long-term future. Would he want to nail his colors to the mast at 18?
Interesting few months anyways if he stays injury free and continues his progression at club level.
DannyInvincible
13/03/2014, 10:32 AM
Don't know what geysir is trying to prove there; maybe he's confused?
I think he's parodying a certain someone. :p
But at least you've acknowledged the subtleties of these cases.
13/03/2014, 10:50 AM
It's also clear that Scotland's lack of competitiveness helped in Aiden's decision...
He clearly says...a lack of competitiveness contributed to his decision to declare
It's not clear at all, not from his quotes above! From that quote I'd say Scotland's lack of competitiveness vindicated his decision rather than influenced it. That's what the Euros reference was about. No regrets...
He didn't even say above that it was Scotland's ambivalance that made up his mind, whereas you say he clearly says it. Maybe he said all this in the past, I don't know.
He said the story is well known. That story, as far as I can remember, is indeed Scotland's ambivalence, I think at Schoolboy level. But that's not the point: I get narked at your occasional sophism. Whether it's intended or not in this instance I don't know but you do tend to muddle clarity and ambiguity quite a bit, and always towards the slant " it's clear he's a mercenary".
I hope you and Paul see that as a fair point, not a baying mob.
DeLorean
13/03/2014, 12:27 PM
It will be strange playing against Scotland at Celtic Park with a lot of the stadium probably booing you
Slightly presumptuous that he'll be selected. Hopefully he'll be flying at Everton by then.
TheOneWhoKnocks
13/03/2014, 5:13 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/aiden-one-of-the-best-in-league-martinez-30090216.html
"This league is crying out for intelligent wingers like him. He is an out and out winger who can control his space, take people on and find space. He's exciting in one-versus-one situations with a very unpredictable quality," said Martinez. "That's the type of player you need in this league to exploit spaces in the wide areas and in transition periods.
"I actually think we've been fortunate to have him before the end of the season," he said. "It took a little while to get his fitness levels and physicality ready but now he's ready and I think we'll see the best of him over the next eight weeks.
13/03/2014, 5:18 PM
Hopefully.
Anyway, you've dodged the issue of McGeady not being clear about what you were clear he was clear about :)
TheOneWhoKnocks
13/03/2014, 5:21 PM
Hopefully.
Anyway, you've dodged the issue of McGeady not being clear about what you were clear he was clear about :)
My apologies if I am too abrasive and assertive in my opinion, Stutts. At the end of the day I am just a fan. It is wrong for me to make assumptions on behalf of other people.
13/03/2014, 5:39 PM
I actually don't find your style abrasive or overly assertive per se. It's the spurious making clarity from ambiguity, the above being a good example. It's only on occasion and it's no big deal in itself. Paul's the one who's really narking me today! I find your opinions interesting and based on good knowledge but on occasion you draw firm conclusions from flimsy evidence and when this gets pointed out you either persist with the argument or ignore it.
We all wish we had great domestically produced players to choose from and that any non-Irish born players can recite the Proclamation of Independence backwards, but life's not that simple. Some players are obvious p1ss takes, others like McGeady aren't. When you say he clearly said something he clearly didn't say, well, I'll point it out.
If I may speak on behalf of Tets, I don't think he was accusing you of attacking the poster, he was just rattling off one of the obvious forum rules. One of those unwritten rules, in my opinion, is respecting a fair line of argument even if you don't agree with it. I think at times you have used a disingenuous line of argument or failed to respect fair criticism of your argument. Paul thinks I should get a life for letting that irk me, but so be it.
Keep on posting, don't be afraid to post unpopular opinions and ignore Geysir's more pointed remarks, but keep your supporting arguments "honest" (for want of a better word).
Anyway, I apologise for letting this topic dominate my posts in recent days. This is about the last place left on the planet to have a proper yap about Irish football, let's keep it alive with good debate.
13/03/2014, 5:45 PM
This is about the last place left on the planet to have a proper yap about Irish football, let's keep it alive with good debate.
I've heard good things about YBIG. Apparently the lads at away matches are mad into it.
13/03/2014, 5:51 PM
They must know their stuff and always be right.
13/03/2014, 6:00 PM
No just know that mostly on here ye are wrong :P
SwanVsDalton
13/03/2014, 6:58 PM
Away matches are for schmucks. Sure how are you supposed to know what happened if you can't hear the RTE panel tell you?
13/03/2014, 10:19 PM
Away matches are for schmucks. Sure how are you supposed to know what happened if you can't hear the RTE panel tell you?
The next post on this topic is exclusively reserved for Owls Fan....
14/03/2014, 2:22 AM
Now that I'm somewhat settled in this snowy wasteland; wasn't Aiden's mind made up loooooong ago...
http://youtu.be/RSS61Deu8t8?t=1m21s
Go to 1min 22sec
14/03/2014, 11:40 AM
Now that I'm somewhat settled in this snowy wasteland; wasn't Aiden's mind made up loooooong ago...
Go to 1min 22sec
Why let first hand evidence obscure a revision of McGeady's thoughts on the matter?
Surely that cannot beat going into hidden areas of McGeady's mind and be guided by what we imagine him to be thinking at any given moment in time, re his irish nationality?
Commiserations Bonnie on Ottawa, either you're in search of true love or missed the transportation boat to Van Diemen's Land.
TheOneWhoKnocks
14/03/2014, 11:43 AM
Why let first hand evidence obscure a revision of McGeady's thoughts on the matter?
Surely that cannot beat going into hidden areas of McGeady's mind and be guided by what we imagine him to be thinking at any given moment in time, re his irish nationality?
Commiserations Bonnie on Ottawa, either you're in search of true love or missed the transportation boat to Van Diemen's Land.
Did I ever make assumptions about McGeady's cultural identity? I merely said that Ireland's speed in capping him at underage level and Scotland's reticence in including him in underage age groups factored in his decision.
But you keep making things up as you go along and going for the narky soundbites anyways, geysir.
Calling me fraudulent and throwing around accusatory nonsense again.. :rolleyes:
14/03/2014, 12:52 PM
You will grow to love Geysir. He will grow to tolerate you.
22/04/2014, 4:13 AM
Mirallas is out for the rest of the season with a torn muscle. McEddie's chance to establish himself in the team, although Deolofeu is probably still ahead of him.
22/04/2014, 9:12 AM
Mirallas is out for the rest of the season with a torn muscle. McEddie's chance to establish himself in the team, although Deolofeu is probably still ahead of him.
You mean Макгиди surely?
22/04/2014, 9:29 AM
Cd he is building his fitness would ye stop.
As you and geysir said he will more than hold his own and do well under martinez.
Patience, let him build up his fitness.
TheOneWhoKnocks
22/04/2014, 10:50 AM
He was on fire. Pity.
03/05/2014, 7:01 PM
Came on late for Everton v City today. Flashes of real class and one moment of total carelessness.