View Full Version : Aiden McGeady
28/09/2010, 4:40 PM
Spartak-Zilina live on Sellotanta Ireland now. McGeady just had a half chance outside the box that he put over.
Interesting that the names on the shirts are in the Roman alphabet. I wonder if it's required by UEFA for the Champions League.
Noelys Guitar
28/09/2010, 4:40 PM
Almost scored there with a first time shot. Looks gangerous when he gets on the ball. Great to see.
Razors left peg
28/09/2010, 4:52 PM
He looks very confident, seems very comfortable in the team so far. Hes working very hard defensively too. Best player on the pitch in the opening 20 minutes
Noelys Guitar
28/09/2010, 5:06 PM
Could not believe that. Ball half way in the net and Hanson didn't give it straight away (goal for Spartak). Luckily the 4th official standing next to goal was there this time and he signalled the ball was well over the line. Spec savers have their next spokesman in Hanson. How the hell did he not see that ball was a mile over the line straight away.
28/09/2010, 5:10 PM
Never thought I'd say it but the behind-the-goal bloke has actually proved useful.
Looking at the Zilina team, only two of them made the most recent Slovakia squad: defender Pecalka and striker Oravec. Pecalka's just been booked for a rash challenge.
Noelys Guitar
28/09/2010, 5:18 PM
Spartak should be out of sight by now. Like the way they play football with two out and out wingers. McGeady seems to have license to go wherever he wants. He has skinned the Zilna left back a few times in this game.
Razors left peg
28/09/2010, 5:26 PM
Sky Sports been raving about him at half time. Really hope this is a sign of things to come and he will finally deliver on his potential
28/09/2010, 5:33 PM
Spartak should be out of sight by now. Like the way they play football with two out and out wingers. McGeady seems to have license to go wherever he wants. He has skinned the Zilna left back a few times in this game.
They should be, yeah, but they have created plenty of chances. Just some great last-ditch defending and a bit of luck on the handball/bad referee.
Noelys Guitar
28/09/2010, 5:36 PM
Another terrible decision from Hanson giving Zilnia a free kick on the edge of the Spartak box. Never a free kick. Spartak now deservedly 2-0 with as good a goal as anyone is likely to see from any game tonight. A few mins before the goal McGEady won the ball down at his own teams corner flag. Breaking all known football coaching advice from under 7's up, he shimmied by two Zilnia forwards into his own box and played a class ball up to the half way line which led to a quick breakaway and a corner for Spartak. Heart attack stuff for the Spartak manager but great to watch for a fan. 3-0 final score and another good game from mcGeady.
tommy_c12000
28/09/2010, 7:00 PM
Well lads, have ye all gone for a 5 course evening meal?! Wots de overall report on how Aiden did???
The Fly
28/09/2010, 7:02 PM
Almost scored there with a first time shot. Looks gangerous when he gets on the ball. Great to see.
Is that not fatal?
Razors left peg
28/09/2010, 7:09 PM
Well lads, have ye all gone for a 5 course evening meal?! Wots de overall report on how Aiden did???
I missed the last 15 minutes of the game but he wasnt as prominent in the 2nd half. He showed some nice bits of skill and worked hard though. Overall it was a very encouraging performance from him.If he continues like the way he played tonight we are gonna have a serious player on our hands
tommy_c12000
28/09/2010, 7:23 PM
Is that not fatal?
Not necessarily if you amputate in time
Sullivinho
28/09/2010, 8:07 PM
Pleasantly surprised he's started so well out there. Fair play to the guy. His career could well have turned gangerous without this kind of shot in the arm.
Razors left peg
28/09/2010, 8:17 PM
not every day ya get to invent a new word. Good work Noely
29/09/2010, 10:25 AM
lads dont be getting a premature horn, remember this is against the slovakian champions. pretty much the same or less as playing in scotland....
29/09/2010, 11:17 AM
lads dont be getting a premature horn, remember this is against the slovakian champions. pretty much the same or less as playing in scotland....
has played pretty well in all his games so far. not just last night
Razors left peg
29/09/2010, 12:16 PM
am I not right in saying that we want him to perform at this level when he comes up against the best Slovakia has to offer in the next couple of weeks?
AlaskaFox
29/09/2010, 12:36 PM
am I not right in saying that we want him to perform at this level when he comes up against the best Slovakia has to offer in the next couple of weeks?
:clap:
29/09/2010, 1:48 PM
yes but only 2 slovak players are currently in that team.....
29/09/2010, 1:51 PM
Go away Paul, you are a non believer.
Razors left peg
29/09/2010, 3:51 PM
yes but only 2 slovak players are currently in that team.....
Well if the 2 players u are talkin about are either the left back or left winger then they will prob be dropped after the roasting they were given last night :)
29/09/2010, 8:50 PM
geysir years of experience following the green army, i'm a realist ;) :D
Spudulika
30/09/2010, 7:26 AM
McGeady was voted 2nd best player in the game on Tuesday (Sovietsky Sport) behind the Brazilian Ari, who bagged 2 goals. The Slovakians weren't so bad but they came to get a draw and break quickly - like the International team, but Spartak were rampant in awful conditions and a pretty massive support on the night. McGeady is a firm favourite with the fans and talking to a few at the ground the other night they were really happy with his arrival. They'd lost a couple of good players (Pletikosa, Jiranek) and Karpin was under pressure, McGeady has really turned it around. Zenit will run away with the league, though getting into the knockout stage of the CL is what the locals want. Have to say though, horrific scenes at the stadium the other night. I was shocked to see stewards kicking lumps out of a fan lying unconscious on the ground, plus ticketing was a joke - people there put into whatever seats were free, and there were seriously dangerous crushes at the gates coming in. I hope they'll have it in order for the Ireland game (if they play it in the Luzhniki) but it's showing how crap the stadium is!
McGeady should start in the next Irish games, and let him wander from the right to left wings - he was brilliant on Tuesday.
Over Duff or Lawrence, no chance.
For years we have seen McGeady put in great performances for Celtic and it hasnt carried through to the green jersey. Whereas Duff and Lawrence have. I think he can be used as an impact sub, but he doesnt deserve a start over the other two above imo.
30/09/2010, 9:26 AM
The ante is being upped for positions.
Spudulika
30/09/2010, 11:33 AM
Over Duff or Lawrence, no chance.
For years we have seen McGeady put in great performances for Celtic and it hasnt carried through to the green jersey. Whereas Duff and Lawrence have. I think he can be used as an impact sub, but he doesnt deserve a start over the other two above imo.
I would agree with you on his past performances for Ireland, though he seems to be playing with complete confidence at the moment. I was really surprised how he fitted in so well with the one touch game. For the Russian game I'd start him, it would be something that could pay dividends as the Russian defence is awful!
Crosby87
30/09/2010, 12:18 PM
Now he is brilliant already!! LMFAO. This place is fun sometimes, A guy scores he is the second coming. No goals for a week and we should be trying to convince some Australian who plays on Mars to come over and replace him. :plane:
Junior
30/09/2010, 1:05 PM
There would be some added incentive as well, I'd think, playing against Russia!
30/09/2010, 1:44 PM
The ante is being upped for positions.
your ante? is she that good?
30/09/2010, 1:45 PM
crosby what does the airplane mean>
Crosby87
30/09/2010, 2:39 PM
I dont think it means anything.:bowl:
30/09/2010, 3:32 PM
Perhaps all that sheep shagging has taken its toll, as Paul has lost touch with the ability to perceive the obvious - which he has replaced by what he calls a realism, but the evidence of his perverse interpretations indeed point to a very sinister and bizarre process going on inside his head.
Spudulika
30/09/2010, 3:42 PM
Now he is brilliant already!! LMFAO. This place is fun sometimes, A guy scores he is the second coming. No goals for a week and we should be trying to convince some Australian who plays on Mars to come over and replace him. :plane:
Not quite, but on the night he was excellent and given our side is not exactly crawling with players operating at a good level he's needed. We were trying to figure whether the Russian players are just too slow (a common complaint) or whether McGeady is just very fast. All in all he's playing in a better league, with better players and operating with ease at a higher level. Maybe he'll just cop on and do the same for Ireland!
30/09/2010, 4:02 PM
McGeady was clocked at 8.8m/sec in one game for Spartak, that's pretty fast isn't it, no matter what the league?
30/09/2010, 4:18 PM
It's very fast, but I wonder whether it was clocked at altitude or closer to sea level.
Crosby87
30/09/2010, 5:32 PM
He's going to start vs Russia, play 76 minutes, touch the ball one time, his face is going to be on a milk carton and people on here are going to be saying he shouldn't start anymore or play. Then he will go back to Spark Stack and dominate like he did at Celtic and none of us will understand why especially Trap.
EastTerracer
03/10/2010, 4:17 PM
Another good 90 minutes for Aiden today away at Anzhi Makhachkala (a new team on me). Spartak won 1-0 but Aiden was prominent and had at least two good shots on target having cut in from the right wing. He popped up on the left wing a few times as well - it looks as if Karpin has given him the freedom to switch sides if he sees the opportunity.
Hopefully he'll be in Malahide for training tomorrow.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?id=308760&cc=5901
The Fly
03/10/2010, 4:29 PM
Trap will play 'twin terrors'
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/trap-will-play-twin-terrors-2361767.html
Sullivinho
03/10/2010, 5:04 PM
Trap will play 'twin terrors'
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/trap-will-play-twin-terrors-2361767.html
One Liam Lawrence would have reason to feel very hard done by should this come to pass. Very interesting comment from Trap there.
03/10/2010, 5:28 PM
It's a normal enough comment to make. Doesn't mean he is even thinking to play both of them. More a statement that he could (if he wanted to) play both, just as he has done so in the past - that it is not a matter of either/or. Trap won't let a Journo corner him. Though that doesn't stop the journalist doing a somersault.
I guess Noely did not wake up in time to watch the Spartak game.
One Liam Lawrence would have reason to feel very hard done by should this come to pass. Very interesting comment from Trap there.
Agreed. Lawro is one of the first names on my teamsheet these days. No way should he be dropped for McGeady.
Crosby87
03/10/2010, 9:15 PM
Wait I thought Duff was hurt. Does anyone know the factual extent of his injury?
03/10/2010, 9:37 PM
Wait I thought Duff was hurt. Does anyone know the factual extent of his injury?
No news is good news. Expected to report for duty.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2010/1003/1224280276847.html
03/10/2010, 10:48 PM
It's hard to tell - Duff always says he's fit even when he's not. I'm sure he believes it too. The fact Fulham don't seem to be protesting him travelling to Dublin is encouraging.
Crosby87
03/10/2010, 10:54 PM
Yeah didnt the manager say last year he would have to tie him up and put him in a cage to keep him from playing for his country?
Gotta love the Duffer.
tommy_c12000
19/10/2010, 10:30 AM
Anyone know what channels Chelsea game is on this evening? I presume it's on skysports but is it on any others?
19/10/2010, 10:33 AM
Anyone know what channels Chelsea game is on this evening? I presume it's on skysports but is it on any others?
from http://www.livesportontv.com/football/
Setanta Ireland (17:00-19:30 Ireland Only)
Sky Sports 2 (17:00-19:30)
Sky Sports HD2 (17:00-19:30)
19/10/2010, 11:04 AM
McGeady happy at Spartak: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_6453409,00.html
Didn't know he'd already reached 4 assists
Balanced bias
19/10/2010, 11:22 AM
Lads I was at the Russia game and I thought defensively he was shocking. Cost us two goals! I rate the man highly but he is certainly lacking defensive awareness