View Full Version : Aiden McGeady

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

aidinho
19/08/2010, 4:06 PM
The thoughts that you were an idiot had little to do with a perusal of the time of your posts.
The timing was merely a possible explanation for some of them, namely that you were as 'drunk as a skunk'.
Now that you claim sobriety when making posts here, could be interpreted as more disturbing.

I drink on the job mate, spend most of my nights winding yous guys up on here and walking around the grounds of a mansion every hour or so.

irishfan86
19/08/2010, 4:30 PM
Speaking as someone who currently works nights, the nightshift will make anybody mad. I'll get aidinho a pass on his lunacy...sober or not

19/08/2010, 4:48 PM
I drink on the job mate, spend most of my nights winding yous guys up on here and walking around the grounds of a mansion every hour or so.Are you Roy Keane c.2002?

Colbert Report
22/08/2010, 2:48 PM
I'm watching the Spartak match from yesterday right now. I assumed that Aiden would be making his debut but the commentator said at the start of the match that he wasn't even on the bench because he's not yet fit enough. We do get the odd Russian league match on Setanta Canada so I hope to see him play soon.

22/08/2010, 2:50 PM
Good article in today's Independent about McGeady's move to Moscow: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mcgeady-furthers-his-footballing-education-2307323.html

aidinho
22/08/2010, 5:45 PM
I'm watching the Spartak match from yesterday right now. I assumed that Aiden would be making his debut but the commentator said at the start of the match that he wasn't even on the bench because he's not yet fit enough. We do get the odd Russian league match on Setanta Canada so I hope to see him play soon.

watched the the game aswell mate expecting McGeady to play but how horrendous are their goalies.

Apparently his debut will be in Chechnya now and just like yourselves they have now declared peace and just stopped a war in the the last year or so.

bet365.com does all the Russian games and you don't need to make a deposit so you get it for nothing basically.

after watching a few of these on bet365 McGeady will tear them apart onced he gets up to full speed.

We have a new winger now in the name of James Forrest now, hope the Trap can get out of his sauna/bed to see if he can play for the Republic as this wee guy is some player and I hope to feck he doesn't play for Scotland.

aidinho
22/08/2010, 5:57 PM
Are you Roy Keane c.2002?

I fekin wish. not for for the money but just to come home to Claudine every night for a little playaround would make my nightshift job even better. I would even stick it in her ear TBH shes that nice

After watching Piranha 3D though I would dump her and cart Kelly Brook even though her English accent would do my nut in.

boovidge
22/08/2010, 6:28 PM
Apparently his debut will be in Chechnya now and just like yourselves they have now declared peace and just stopped a war in the the last year or so.

Yourselves?

aidinho
22/08/2010, 7:10 PM
Yourselves?

aye the ra ra the IRA.

kev mcq
22/08/2010, 7:21 PM
aye the ra ra the IRA.

You are a ****ing pathetic WUM. **** off.

Sullivinho
22/08/2010, 7:31 PM
aye...

Goodbye. Idiot.

aidinho
22/08/2010, 8:58 PM
Goodbye. Idiot.

Ive got good contacts from my Dads doo in the IRA and can get some RPG's in if you want but I would stay away from that stuff mate if I were you.

Razors left peg
22/08/2010, 9:23 PM
Ive got good contacts from my Dads doo in the IRA and can get some RPG's in if you want but I would stay away from that stuff mate if I were you.

u really are lookin to get banned from this site arent ya!

rebelmusic
22/08/2010, 9:28 PM
aye the ra ra the IRA.

Why is this man not already banned? Ra talk on this forum? please!

And can we get back on topic, was indeed a good article in the Indo. I dunno, despite Trap's comments i'm excited about his move there. To me it's great that we have a player in that league aswell considering they're our biggest rivals in the coming campaign.

Colbert Report
22/08/2010, 9:31 PM
Don't ban him, I quite enjoy his posts!

Razors left peg
22/08/2010, 9:35 PM

That doesnt surprise me at all

Colbert Report
22/08/2010, 9:36 PM
That doesnt surprise me at all

Careful now.

aidinho
22/08/2010, 9:42 PM

exactly, I'm giving it to you from a proper Celtic supporters point of view, none of this EPL p!sh with me.

Sullivinho
22/08/2010, 9:47 PM

http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/443/66889170.jpg

aidinho
22/08/2010, 10:05 PM
http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/443/66889170.jpg

just as I expected. just let the English run your team and TV and country then.

Noelys Guitar
22/08/2010, 10:50 PM
Let him say his piece. Interesting bloke.

youngirish
23/08/2010, 12:33 AM
I hate this mentality where you get these whingers trying to ban people when they say something they don't like or find mildly offensive. Join ourweecountry.com. You'd be more at home there as they ban anyone for not towing the party line.

If you don't like what he says you can click the ignore option on his profile and you won't see any of his messages again. No need to go whining for him to be banned even if he does talk rubbish most of the time.

aidinho
23/08/2010, 1:16 AM

ourweecountry.com

what a laugh coming from a Republic fan, most of your players in the last 2 decades have come from either Scotland or England matey. apart from Duff or Keane can you give me a half decent player from Ireland who is ACTUALLY Irish.

Colbert Report
23/08/2010, 1:25 AM
Shay Given? Best 'keeper in the Premiership over the past decade, in my humble opinion.

aidinho
23/08/2010, 1:37 AM
Shay Given? Best 'keeper in the Premiership over the past decade, in my humble opinion.

ok I'll give you that but that feckwit McArrrrrrry let him go from Celtic at 18 or so because he thought he was too small. probably our worst manager ever after Mowbray.

Supreme feet
23/08/2010, 1:58 AM
ourweecountry.com

what a laugh coming from a Republic fan, most of your players in the last 2 decades have come from either Scotland or England matey. apart from Duff or Keane can you give me a half decent player from Ireland who is ACTUALLY Irish.

Of our current squad, 18 out of 25 players were born in Ireland. This doesn't include the injured David Meyler, the overlooked Andy Reid, or the self-exiled Stephen Ireland, all of whom are Irish-born. Of the expected starting line-up in Armenia, only Liam Lawrence and, if selected, Kevin Kilbane will be English-born.

I don't have overall stats for every player that has represented Ireland in the last 20 years, but out of the better/more influential Irish players to have debuted in the last 20 years, I give you Roy Keane, Denis Irwin, Gary Kelly, Kenny Cunningham, Shay Given, Steve Finnan, Stephen Carr, Ian Harte, Richard Dunne, John O'Shea, Andy Reid, Glenn Whelan, Kevin Doyle. You might also consider Stephen Ireland. In short, the vast majority of our most important players have been Irish-born.

We had an Irish-born majority in our 2002 World Cup squad.

Out of our 1998 European Youth Championship-winning squad, Liam George was the only English-born player (apart from the London-born, Dublin raised Stephen McPhail).

Out of our last team to compete in the World Youth Cup in 2003, only Darren Potter and David Bell were English-born.

Of the current Irish U-21 team, only four players (Kiernan, Onyebanjo, McCarthy and Mason) out of eighteen are UK-born.

As we can see from the patterns in underage and senior teams, it's nonsense to say that 'most' of our players are English or Scottish-born.

It's not aidinho's opinions I have a problem with; we can argue the merits of McGeady vs. Lawrence all day, it's pretty subjective. It's the sweeping, prejudiced, narrow-minded generalisations, with no thought or resources whatsoever, that are clearly designed as wind-ups, that get my goat.

DannyInvincible
23/08/2010, 2:03 AM
I'm seriously beginning to doubt whether he's even a Celtic fan from Scotland at all.

Supreme feet
23/08/2010, 2:25 AM
Celtic's 'association' with Ireland owes itself to mass immigration to Glasgow in the 19th century.

Yet aidinho, who sees himself as being of this 'Irish' tradition, is completely unwilling (as seen on other threads) to accept the Irishness of 2nd or 3rd generation Irish people in England.

Bizarre logic.

aidinho
23/08/2010, 4:28 AM
Of our current squad, 18 out of 25 players were born in Ireland. This doesn't include the injured David Meyler, the overlooked Andy Reid, or the self-exiled Stephen Ireland, all of whom are Irish-born. Of the expected starting line-up in Armenia, only Liam Lawrence and, if selected, Kevin Kilbane will be English-born.

I don't have overall stats for every player that has represented Ireland in the last 20 years, but out of the better/more influential Irish players to have debuted in the last 20 years, I give you Roy Keane, Denis Irwin, Gary Kelly, Kenny Cunningham, Shay Given, Steve Finnan, Stephen Carr, Ian Harte, Richard Dunne, John O'Shea, Andy Reid, Glenn Whelan, Kevin Doyle. You might also consider Stephen Ireland. In short, the vast majority of our most important players have been Irish-born.

We had an Irish-born majority in our 2002 World Cup squad.

Out of our 1998 European Youth Championship-winning squad, Liam George was the only English-born player (apart from the London-born, Dublin raised Stephen McPhail).

Out of our last team to compete in the World Youth Cup in 2003, only Darren Potter and David Bell were English-born.

Of the current Irish U-21 team, only four players (Kiernan, Onyebanjo, McCarthy and Mason) out of eighteen are UK-born.

As we can see from the patterns in underage and senior teams, it's nonsense to say that 'most' of our players are English or Scottish-born.

It's not aidinho's opinions I have a problem with; we can argue the merits of McGeady vs. Lawrence all day, it's pretty subjective. It's the sweeping, prejudiced, narrow-minded generalisations, with no thought or resources whatsoever, that are clearly designed as wind-ups, that get my goat.

ok mate I think you made your point after 5 paragraphs.

aidinho
23/08/2010, 4:32 AM
Celtic's 'association' with Ireland owes itself to mass immigration to Glasgow in the 19th century.

Yet aidinho, who sees himself as being of this 'Irish' tradition, is completely unwilling (as seen on other threads) to accept the Irishness of 2nd or 3rd generation Irish people in England.

Bizarre logic.

I'm 2nd generation Irish so I don't like England full stop. nothing more to say on the matter.

amaccann
23/08/2010, 7:44 AM
ok mate I think you made your point after 5 paragraphs.

OK mate, maybe you then should think before you post and not try and wind people up with boring clichés about "ho, ho, shur your team's all English anyway har har". Frankly that's the kind of idiocy I'd expect from an Englishman really.

Junior
23/08/2010, 8:10 AM
So you'd like Forrest to represent Ireland if possible.....only to slate him for doing so in your next breath, for being and Scotsman?

23/08/2010, 8:22 AM
people on here seem to think I'm sort of an idiot because I only post late night

Foot.ie is open 24/7 365 days a year. You are free to post when you want.

ArdeeBhoy
23/08/2010, 8:37 AM
Aidan (The poster !)? Yer making yourself look silly.

Been there, done that. As in where you have/seem to be. Take a chill pill FFS.

Closed Account 2
23/08/2010, 11:46 AM
Spartak have just (last week) signed the Kombarov twins from Dinamo Moscow. Kirill and Dimitri both play as wingers (left and right) so I do wonder what this will mean for McGeady now, both are 23, and both will probably represent Russia in the not too distant future. I would imagine they could play Kirill at right back but they are both primarily wing players.

Gather round
23/08/2010, 12:22 PM
Spartak have just (last week) signed the Kombarov twins from Dinamo Moscow. Kirill and Dimitri both play as wingers (left and right) so I do wonder what this will mean for McGeady now, both are 23, and both will probably represent Russia in the not too distant future. I would imagine they could play Kirill at right back but they are both primarily wing players

I heard one of the twins was interesting Tottenham. They were going to welcome him by singing 'Nice one, Kiril'.

ArdeeBhoy
23/08/2010, 2:14 PM
With a joke nearly 40 years old???

You need to get out more....

23/08/2010, 4:27 PM
No need to go whining for him to be banned even if he does talk rubbish most of the time.I don't agree. His tone and content is outright offensive. If I was a newcomer browsing this forum and reading his contribution I'd never return. Let's try and get (at least this part) of the forum back to what it used to be & what it's supposed to be - a platform for people with something to say about the Irish national team, positive or negative, to exchange views. I don't care about toeing any "party line" - anything goes, but Aidinho's contribution is just unadulderated rubbish.

youngirish
23/08/2010, 4:49 PM
I don't agree. His tone and content is outright offensive. If I was a newcomer browsing this forum and reading his contribution I'd never return. Let's try and get (at least this part) of the forum back to what it used to be & what it's supposed to be - a platform for people with something to say about the Irish national team, positive or negative, to exchange views. I don't care about toeing any "party line" - anything goes, but Aidinho's contribution is just unadulderated rubbish.
The forum used to encourage people to come on and spout whatever opinions they liked about football without much fear of being banned or suspended. Eirebhoy was fairly forgiving with people's ramblings once they didn't become too offensive or agressive. You get much less leeway now.

Aidinho hasn't said anything particularly offensive or agressive. People spouting unmitigated garbage qualifies as neither and that's all he's guilty off yet you have members crawling out of the woodwork suggesting he should be banned. We've turned into a nation of militant politically correct lunatics just like our friends across the water.

As I said earlier just ignore his posts if he annoys you.

23/08/2010, 4:56 PM
Aidinho hasn't said anything particularly offensive or agressive.

aye the ra ra the IRA.I think there are plenty who find this talk, and talk of RPGs etc quite offensive and aggressive. It's supposed to be a thread about Aiden McGeady.

23/08/2010, 6:13 PM
The forum used to encourage people to come on and spout whatever opinions they liked about football without much fear of being banned or suspended. Eirebhoy was fairly forgiving with people's ramblings once they didn't become too offensive or agressive. You get much less leeway now.

Aidinho hasn't said anything particularly offensive or agressive. People spouting unmitigated garbage qualifies as neither and that's all he's guilty off yet you have members crawling out of the woodwork suggesting he should be banned. We've turned into a nation of militant politically correct lunatics just like our friends across the water.

As I said earlier just ignore his posts if he annoys you.
This thread has become cluttered with infantile garbage and the garbage is spreading out to other threads.
People answer his nonsense and it goes on for pages.
Diverse opinions are welcome. Aidinho does not even fulfill the minimum standard to hold or express opinions.
An opinion requires some (varying) degree of forethought before expression. Aidinho appears incapable of performing this basic function at this stage in his life.
Best not to reply to any of his posts, because he is also missing the capacity to understand what is written in a reply.

DannyInvincible
23/08/2010, 6:36 PM
It's subtle (maybe more bizarre?) but sweeping and provocative statements like the following that perplex/amuse me somewhat. I don't believe someone could really believe the nonsense he spouts. The following is a selection from the past three days alone:

I'm 2nd generation Irish so I don't like England full stop.

An integral aspect of being Irish is not liking England full stop then?

[Niall] McGinn is pals with [Kyle] Lafferty whats that all about?

Why McGinn should have a problem (beyond aidinho's sectarian and intolerant assumptions) with being pals with Lafferty, I'm not sure. They are international team-mates, after all.

On Mark Lawrenson's nationality, in spite of aidinho claiming himself to be second-generation Irish:

lawro is fecking english mate.

just as I expected. just let the English run your team and TV and country then.

When informed that Niall McGinn apparantly had no interest in playing for Ireland:

that's how [Niall McGinn] is being blackballed [by Neil Lennon] then, we have Neil Lennon as coach now, he hates the Rangers just as much as those wee guys you saw during the orange walk was on in Belfast hitting them with petrol bombs and that..... and worse.

On Aiden McGeady's impending debut for Spartak Moscow:

Apparently [McGeady's] debut will be in Chechnya now and just like yourselves they have now declared peace

Huh? :confused:

Then there was his original spell of typing solely in a Glaswegian accent; possibly an over-compensation? And he refers to us as "the Republic". Is this common for Scottish-born second-generation Irish? Or is it just a northern thing? Hmm...

Such comments don't really deserve a reaction because they're so daft and doing so only insinuates a certain level of credibility, although it would be somewhat embarrassing to encounter them and see them let go; a catch-22 situation certainly. I can see why someone might take offence if they thought he was of a serious persuasion, but I don't let myself get worked up by him as I don't think he's genuine at all. To be honest, I think he's a troll/Rangers fan from the north on a wind-up mission to draw sectarian and ignorant comments out of posters on here; possibly someone seeking to avenge the influx of Irish fans onto OWC in light of the whole eligibility saga. If that is the case, he's, as you'd expect, failing miserably. If my suspicions are incorrect, then he must be a 12-year-old kid from Glasgow and I don't know what he's doing working security at nights. Ignore him if he bothers you. Otherwise, just laugh at what he has to say.

23/08/2010, 7:43 PM
I've got a soft spot fae the wee radge.

youngirish
23/08/2010, 8:01 PM
I would simply question anybody's sanity that is even remotely offended by anything a member has posted who had previously claimed that Aiden McGeady's delivery was 'Beckamesque'. I kid you not.

ArdeeBhoy
23/08/2010, 11:42 PM
To be honest it's a relatively 'free' world, thus would tilt towards a, er, libertarian stance of 'free', er, speech for all.
Including yer man and his posts which are a little crazed.

24/08/2010, 9:42 PM
Good article in today's Independent about McGeady's move to Moscow: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mcgeady-furthers-his-footballing-education-2307323.html

I haven't read an Independent issued article in a long time, but that was enjoyable, honest and f-all bullsh*t. Pleasantly surprised. Thanks,

DannyInvincible
26/08/2010, 8:22 PM
Spartak Moscow were drawn in Group F with Chelsea, Marseille and MŠK Žilina in today's Champions League draw. Will be interesting to see how McGeady does against Chelsea. I'd imagine they'd have a very good chance of progressing in second position. Between them and Marseille really.

I notice that 'aidinho' has gone a bit quiet in recent nights. I wonder did he feel his cover was blown, or maybe it's just due to something perfectly understandable and he's no longer working security... :rolleyes:

26/08/2010, 8:34 PM
I notice that 'aidinho' has gone a bit quiet in recent nights. I wonder did he feel his cover was blown, or maybe it's just due to something perfectly understandable and he's no longer working security... :rolleyes:

weldoninho = aidinho always crossed my mind...

EastTerracer
27/08/2010, 12:42 PM
McGeady is expected to play some part in Terek Groznyi vs Spartak Moskow tomorrow. I believe kick-off is about 1pm Irish time. For those of you with a bet365 account they often show the Russian games online. There are usually plenty of other streams online as well.

EastTerracer
28/08/2010, 12:11 PM
Aiden isn't even on the bench for Spartak today. Hopefully it's not an injury and he'll be on his way to Dublin tonight to meet up with the squad.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?id=307392&cc=5901&league=RUS.1

btw Spartak have been well on top for the first 10 minutes and my Russian is coming along nicely. Близо́к локото́к, да не уку́сишь