View Full Version : Aiden McGeady
Sullivinho
05/08/2010, 7:45 PM
Liam Lawrence waiting in the wings to replace him if Aiden does decide to go Russian. Apparently.
Razors left peg
05/08/2010, 8:10 PM
must admit from personal point of view I dont really want to see him sign for Moscow simply because he is one of my fav players and I enjoy watching him.Would much prefer to see him in the Premiership.
The last player that I remember going from the SPL to Russia was Gary O Connor and that it didnt work out too well from him, dont think he settled there at all.
Maroon 7
05/08/2010, 11:28 PM
must admit from personal point of view I dont really want to see him sign for Moscow simply because he is one of my fav players and I enjoy watching him.Would much prefer to see him in the Premiership.
The last player that I remember going from the SPL to Russia was Gary O Connor and that it didnt work out too well from him, dont think he settled there at all.
I don't think McGeady really wants to go to Moscow at all but he's being pushed out the door by Celtic as the money on offer is too good to turn down. I'm sure he would prefer a move to England but nobody is really spending in England this Summer apart from Man City and Villa obviously will only come in for him if the Milner transfer goes through.
He might decide to take the money on offer for a season in Moscow and then hope to get a move to England next Summer a la Gary O'Connor.
Crosby87
06/08/2010, 12:11 AM
I cant believe there aren't any Prem teams with a little cash that would take a run at him and make it work for both sides....
What about Sunderland or something like that. Wolves even.
06/08/2010, 12:27 AM
i honestly dont think the money is in the Premiership this season Crosby. Not enough to take a chance on a player who is, though clearly talented, a relatively untested luxury.
Colbert Report
06/08/2010, 2:29 AM
If any Premiership were offering anything close to 9.5 million pounds, which is the figure I've been reading, he'd be gone in a flash, even on half the wages Spartak Moscow are offering him. That's just a fact.
I highly doubt the likes of Sunderland or Wolves would be offering any more than four or five million. Lads, face it, he's got great skill but it would be a huge gamble - I've watched him play lots and he has never looked the finished product.
irishfan86
06/08/2010, 2:55 AM
Gotta love Trap's quotes on the possible McGeady move:
“I think Russia is too far and the championship is not easy. I want to ask him if he is ready psychologically, because McGeady is a very sensitive man and he is very young. Maybe it is a great opportunity, though, and I will be happy for him if he is sure he wants to go. If he is convinced, then okay.”
06/08/2010, 10:20 AM
from today's rumours on football365.com: http://football365.com/story/0,17033,8671_6296921,00.html
Aston Villa have launched a move for Aiden McGeady as they finally prepare to sell James Milner. Negotiations with Manchester City will see them get around £20million plus midfielder Stephen Ireland
rebelmusic
06/08/2010, 11:32 AM
What a fecking deal like. The overrated milner for Ireland, McGeady and 10 million left over! Which could of course go for robbie since he's priced at 6.
Crosby87
06/08/2010, 11:43 AM
Gotta love Trap's quotes on the possible McGeady move:
“I want to ask him if he is ready psychologically, because McGeady is a very sensitive man and he is very young. Maybe it is a great opportunity, though, and I will be happy for him if he is sure he wants to go. If he is convinced, then okay.”
Huh. not exactly a glowing report on the psyche of Aiden.
amaccann
06/08/2010, 12:22 PM
Really? I read it as wise council from a man who knows the mindset of his players & knows that a move to Russia could be a disaster. Can't say I like the idea myself; he might as well move to Japan for all the culture shock he'll likely experience. It could really damage his confidence if it didn't work out, dangerous stuff for a "tricky" midfielder.
Also, the raging cynic in me wonders whether the FAI would be willing to pay for a player to be flown to/from Russia for every international game. It must be a real money saver that all our squad plays in England / Scotland.
06/08/2010, 2:09 PM
Basically Trap regards anybody under 40 as young:)
But if that report is true that the Spartak coach denies even caring about McGeady one way or the other, then Trap could well be spot on.
I fail to see how McGeady could be convinced to sign for Spartak for football reasons and that would be the main reason he would look for to go there.
Trap may well have it right that it is a tough place where even the coach doesn't give a sh'it about a £10m price tagged player coming around looking for a reason to sign, wondering about how the coach sees him or his potential.
seanfhear
06/08/2010, 6:16 PM
I'd be happier if he went to Villa. Though it would be a big step up in football terms at least he should not have too many difficulties settling in there.
Man City are just being a bunch of cheapskates:D.
Fancy not just tossing 30 mill to Villa for Milner.
aidinho
08/08/2010, 1:35 AM
Basically Trap regards anybody under 40 as young:)
But if that report is true that the Spartak coach denies even caring about McGeady one way or the other, then Trap could well be spot on.
I fail to see how McGeady could be convinced to sign for Spartak for football reasons and that would be the main reason he would look for to go there.
Trap may well have it right that it is a tough place where even the coach doesn't give a sh'it about a £10m price tagged player coming around looking for a reason to sign, wondering about how the coach sees him or his potential.
McGeady is very confident in his abilty/ego so he would not give an eff about what Trap thinks as this guy prefers Lawrence over him who is clearly not as good as Aiden, My Dad drinks in the same quarters as McGeadys father and he is totally astounded that Lawrence gets picked ahead of McGeady and most other Irish punters in that pub think the same way and are questioning why Trappatoni got another stint for yous.
Maybe the FAI can't afford to pay him off but the guy is nearly 80 noo, so why did he get another contract after failing to get yous to the world cup and by all accounts the **** still lives in Italy.
aidinho
08/08/2010, 1:43 AM
I cant believe there aren't any Prem teams with a little cash that would take a run at him and make it work for both sides....
What about Sunderland or something like that. Wolves even.
did Wolves no just buy the Irish dumber than pig **** Stephen Hunt wae the permed hair who thinks hes ****ing Ronaldinho when stepping up to a free kick?
aidinho
08/08/2010, 1:48 AM
McGeady is gash though
Makes Gareth Farrelly look like Ronaldinho
McGeady is quality mate and has mer skill in his right or left toe than your lot combined.
Russia will canter this EURO 2012 qualifying campaign any.
irishfan86
08/08/2010, 1:51 AM
1. Trap turned a group of fairly average players into a very difficult team to beat. Not get
2. Lawrence has delivered more in terms of product than McGeady has. This doesn't change the fact that McGeady has a much higher ceiling.
3. The people who hang out with McGeady's dad are probably not the best people to evaluate his abilites. Of course they'd side with McGeady over a Stoke squad player...
08/08/2010, 2:00 AM
McGeady is quality mate and has mer skill in his right or left toe than your lot combined.
How come he can't get a cross past the first defender then? Skill is about more than parlour tricks, which is why Duff is technically a far better player than McG.
The Fly
08/08/2010, 3:48 AM
My Dad drinks in the same quarters as McGeadys father and he is totally astounded that Lawrence gets picked ahead of McGeady and most other Irish punters in that pub think the same way and are questioning why Trappatoni got another stint for yous.
Leaving aside the merits of McGeady over Lawrence, I'd suggest those 'punters' should lay off the Scotch if they're questioning why Trapattoni got another stint as our national manager.
Maybe the FAI can't afford to pay him off but the guy is nearly 80 noo, so why did he get another contract after failing to get yous to the world cup and by all accounts the **** still lives in Italy.
So.....our manager is now a ****.
Ye cannae come in 'ere talkin' shampoo like that pal!
Away ye go ya bampot ye!
Junior
08/08/2010, 7:58 AM
Brilliant aidinho..hows the head?
Those Buckie / WKD fuelled hangovers can be a killer cant they? Me thinks you still hold a torch for young Aiden after years at gazing at him from the other side of the classroom. How will you ever cope if he's plying his trade in coldest siberia.............
08/08/2010, 11:06 AM
There is virtual stink of something rotten all right.
On the positive side, his obsession with Aiden kept him sober enough to get home, log on and spout something.
The Fly
08/08/2010, 12:14 PM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/celtic/villa-s-interest-in-mcgeady-is-dropped-1.1046701
Villa's interest in McGeady dropped
Richard Wilson
8 Aug 2010
Aiden McGeady’s hopes of moving to the Barclays Premier League with Aston Villa appear to be over.
It is understood that Martin O’Neill, who gave the player his Celtic debut in 2004, will not be pursuing his long-standing interest in him.
Villa are on the verge of completing the sale of James Milner to Manchester City, with the deal thought to be worth £27.5 million. Around £15m will be paid up front, another £5m in add-ons, and Stephen Ireland will move to Villa Park in exchange.
Although it was expected that as soon as Milner was sold, McGeady would move to Villa, it now seems that the deal will not happen. This leaves Spartak Moscow as the only club to make a bid, of £9m, for the Republic of Ireland international. McGeady spent several days in Moscow last week with his girlfriend and the 24-year-old is thought to regard the potential move to a new country as exciting, where once his only interest was in joining an English Premier League side. Spartak have reportedly offered the winger a four-year contract worth £60,000 a week.
Neil Lennon, the Celtic manager, and the club, are known to be keen to sell McGeady in order to recoup transfer funds, while the player is looking for a new challenge. The collapse of his potential move to Villa is a setback, though. The capture of Ireland will provide O’Neill’s team with the additional creativity he is seeking and although other transfer moves might be possible once the wage bill is reduced, with Luke Young and Steve Sidwell both available, it seems that McGeady’s hopes of moving to the Midlands have been ended.
The Fly
08/08/2010, 12:29 PM
http://sport.scotsman.com/football/McGeady39s-Villa-hopes-are-dashed.6463151.jp
McGeady's Villa hopes are dashed.
08 August 2010
Andrew Smith
Any hopes Aiden McGeady had of moving to England rather than Moscow appeared to evaporate last night when Aston Villa ruled out a move for the Celtic winger. Villa are close to completing a deal to sell England midfielder James Milner to Manchester City but any prospect of some of the money being used to finance a move for McGeady has been scotched.
"We'd love to have done a deal but it's just not possible at this time," said a Villa source.
The structuring of the proposed Milner transfer, believed to be worth £27m once the value attached to makeweight Stephen Ireland is included, is believed to preclude Villa manager Martin O'Neill going for a player he gave his senior debut to at Celtic and whom he recently talked up as being good enough for the English Premier League.
It leaves Spartak Moscow as McGeady's only option as he seeks a move away from Celtic Park. The Russian club are now seeking an immediate response on their £9.5m offer for the 24-year-old who was in Moscow earlier this week for a look around the club and the city.
Spartak's manager, Valery Karpin, yesterday denied claims that McGeady will earn £50,000 a week if he signs this week. "This is just another baseless rumour," said Karpin. "There cannot be such salaries for players at Spartak."
Spartak have a reputation similar to Arsenal's in England – keeping a tight pay structure which does not bend even for top stars. Karpin signalled that any deal will not risk jealousy in his camp by upsetting existing stars. Karpin refused to reveal the weekly wages on offer to the Celtic man but informed Moscow sources estimated it is around £30,000 a week.
He also denied McGeady had made a string of demands in return for signing for the club, now languishing mid-table in Russia.
"Believe me, if I had a player who came to me and said that he needed a personal interpreter, a cook of his own and bodyguards, I simply would not even talk to him."
However, Spartak will provide a driver for the player to take him from his planned penthouse home in leafy Sokolniki to the club's out-of-town training base.
08/08/2010, 7:34 PM
According to Neil Lennon, he's all but accepted Spartak's offer and will move there unless there's a last minute hijack.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2010/0808/1224276414237.html
ArdeeBhoy
08/08/2010, 8:11 PM
However there is a twist. According to that rag The Record, via the BBC's Gossip page, AMcG's not going to Moscow, 'due to the smog factor', which would be a first??
The Fly
08/08/2010, 9:10 PM
http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/sport/football/901740/MILNER-MOVE-WILL-KICKSTART-THE-MARKET.html
Qwerty
08/08/2010, 9:12 PM
I really can't see this move working out - but if it does it could be the making of him.
I'm sure Lennon will spend the money on 4-5 will-never-be's. Do Celtic have a single decent player left?
Sullivinho
08/08/2010, 9:55 PM
http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/sport/football/901740/MILNER-MOVE-WILL-KICKSTART-THE-MARKET.html
Crazy money, but I do hope Milner gets his move this week. I do enjoy a lil' transfer drama as a prelude to a new season.
irishultra
08/08/2010, 11:51 PM
mcgeadys not even relaly irish but out of principal delighted hes goin moscow.
The Fly
09/08/2010, 12:14 AM
mcgeadys not even relaly irish but out of principal delighted hes goin moscow.
Thanks for that relaly amazing insight. Top marks!!!
Colbert Report
09/08/2010, 12:25 AM
Why are English clubs so willing to overpay for English players? Did they not see how Milner performed during the World Cup? One good season does not make a good player. Just ask Stephen Ireland.
DannyInvincible
09/08/2010, 2:33 AM
mcgeadys not even relaly irish
What's not "relaly [sic] Irish" about him?
On the Moscow move itself, this from the Guardian (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/aug/08/aiden-mcgeady-celtic-spartak-moscow-transfer):
Aiden McGeady, Celtic's "best player", is set to complete his £9.5m move to Spartak Moscow within 48 hours. Neil Lennon confirmed the winger's imminent departure after the 2-1 friendly defeat to Blackburn Rovers at Parkhead today.
"He was in yesterday and more or less said his goodbyes really, so we'll see how that develops over the next one or two days," the Celtic manager said. "I would probably think it will be Moscow.
"He's going there in the next few days to get the deal finalised and that will be a relief in terms of putting the deal to bed because the sooner it's done the better. I'll get all the money."
I believe he just has to take a medical when he returns to Moscow and it's a done deal.
DannyInvincible
09/08/2010, 2:35 AM
Why are English clubs so willing to overpay for English players?
I imagine it's because they sell shirts. Or something like that.
Den Perry
09/08/2010, 9:59 AM
I imagine it's because they sell shirts. Or something like that.
That is crazy money for Milner.However, I do think he is a very good player,despite the World Cup. Good signing.But I take your point on English players...now it seems like Given is going to be dropped for Harte. Now that would be an absolute joke
09/08/2010, 10:05 AM
I presume the value of young English players like Milner is only enhanced now by the new rules on homegrown players in the EPL.
I think he's a good player actually but not 27m good. Being young, being English, being in the middle of a contract, being a target for City: all factors that lead to a high value. Ozil is only likely to be sold for 11m and he's a better player. He's of less value to an English club because of the homegrown rule, and his club can't ask too much for him because he's out of contract.
The Fly
09/08/2010, 11:40 AM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1301459/Celtic-star-Aiden-McGeady-set-seal-9-5m-Spartak-Moscow-move.html
The Fly
09/08/2010, 11:43 AM
.....and interesting rumours regarding McGeady's possible replacement at Celtic.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/08/09/transfer-talk-monday-august-9-lawrence-close-to-celts-deal-jambos-go-toto-dee-look-at-sansara-86908-22475502/
http://sport.scotsman.com/football/The-Rumour-Mill-Monday39s-football.6464023.jp
09/08/2010, 12:46 PM
Liam has been 1/3 for some time to join Celtic before the end of the transfer deadline.
Lennon is having a hard time. probably akin to watching a close but rich family member slowly die and you are wondering will it happen before the next quarterly mortgage bill hits your postbox.
DannyInvincible
09/08/2010, 12:55 PM
That is crazy money for Milner.However, I do think he is a very good player,despite the World Cup. Good signing.But I take your point on English players...now it seems like Given is going to be dropped for Harte. Now that would be an absolute joke
Crazy money for Milner indeed, but I'm sure clubs are well aware of Manchester City's financial clout when dealing with them. If they think Manchester City can and will pay a lot more for a player than an other club might, they will inevitably push their asking price up to try and scrape as much as possible from any deal. If Manchester City want a player bad enough, they'll be prepared to splash outrageous amounts of money around.
As for Given potentially losing his place to Hart, where did you hear this? Last I heard, Hart was contemplating going on loan again for the season. I don't think there's any realistic chance of him claiming Given's number one spot at the minute. Besides, Mancini rates Given very highly.
Edit: Just seeing the Mirror story in the Given thread. Sounds like complete speculation - "Hart looks set to...", "if Given loses his place" - nor are there any quotes from either Wenger or Arsenal about a possible loan-move for Given at all.
aidinho
09/08/2010, 3:24 PM
You've got to admire McGeadys balls in signing for the Moscowvites on this one, he wanted to move to Villa but MON couldnae match the transfer fee and apparently MON is kicking up **** that Lerner wont stump up the extra few million for McGeady.
Hope it all goes well for you Aiden ma man and you will be sorely missed at CP this season.
09/08/2010, 3:30 PM
apparently MON is kicking up **** that Lerner wont stump up the extra few million for McGeady.
Certainly kicked up something.
TrapAPony
09/08/2010, 3:32 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/aston_villa/8898993.stm
Martin O'Neill is just after quitting as Villa Boss.
09/08/2010, 3:33 PM
official statement from Villa: http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/ClubNewsDetail/0,,10265~2116445,00.html
aidinho
09/08/2010, 4:41 PM
Certainly kicked up something.
what did I tell you troops. probably be back at Celtic wae Lennon in the next few days.
09/08/2010, 5:35 PM
Rubin Kazan also had a bid accepted, according to Spartak's sporting director.
“Celtic midfielder Aiden McGeady will sign a contract in the next two days with Spartak,” Popov said to Bobsoccer.
"McGeady also had a proposal from Rubin Kazan but the player chose Spartak. This means that our brand means something in football. Tomorrow or the day after everything will be concluded."
http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2932/spl/2010/08/09/2062975/spartak-moscow-reveal-they-are-close-to-aiden-mcgeady-deal
certainly one of the most interesting Irish transfers in a long time. Hope it works out well for him and if nothing else he gets to leave that sh1thole in Scotland.
aidinho
10/08/2010, 1:15 AM
certainly one of the most interesting Irish transfers in a long time. Hope it works out well for him and if nothing else he gets to leave that sh1thole in Scotland.
Here Im not one for sticking up for Scotland but come on tae feck mate, how can anybody fae Ireland call Glasgow a sh!thole. it beggars belief.
Apart from the odd hun tap you see kicking about the place, Glasgow is one of the best cities to live in in the whole of the UK.
Colbert Report
10/08/2010, 1:32 AM
Ewan McGregor thinks so too! That's why he lives in Los Angeles.
aidinho
10/08/2010, 2:36 AM
Ewan McGregor thinks so too! That's why he lives in Los Angeles.
Ewan McGregor is from Edinburgh mate, hes a chookter.
Colbert Report
10/08/2010, 2:37 AM
Ewan McGregor is from Edinburgh mate, hes a chookter.
I was talking about his view of Scotland in the film "Trainspotting".