View Full Version : Aiden McGeady
irishultra
27/07/2010, 2:54 AM
ye not really great but a lot better than stayin at celtic. i can't see any prem club going for him(one that could afford the luxury)
Junior
28/07/2010, 7:57 PM
Not named in squad for tonights CL qualifier (though he did travel with them). Hasnt played any pre-season games due to the injury he picked up, though Im sure the risk of injury / getting cup tied may also be a factor in scuppering any deal.
irishfan86
28/07/2010, 9:56 PM
Sounds like he was fit, and Lennon wanted to play him, but the men upstairs wouldn't let him. A deal must be close, surely.
Celtic sure could have used him tonight though -- they clearly lacked imagination or an outlet.
EDIT: Lennon has said he has a back injury, so who knows?
Sullivinho
29/07/2010, 1:16 AM
Lennon has said he has a back injury, so who knows?
Pulled a muscle trying to lift his game ;)
29/07/2010, 1:21 AM
Best post in this thread so far.
back of the net
29/07/2010, 3:50 PM
Pulled a muscle trying to lift his game ;)
lol lol - brilliant post
if only aidens performances in an Ireland shirt could put the same smile on my face ;)
29/07/2010, 5:17 PM
Villa would be a great move for him. He'd be playing against better full backs and if he does well then his confidence would be sky high which should benefit us.
If Villa sell Milner and get McGeady, Keane and Ireland in return then they should be over the moon.
aidinho
31/07/2010, 8:39 AM
Potential never beat anyone, and thats McGeady's problem. He suffers from wingers syndrome, aka poor end product, and as irishfan86 put it, Lawrence has produced as much in terms of output in a much more limited time.
A move away will hopefully do him the world of good, as he'd gone very stale at Celtic. I'd say by the end of the season we'll know if he has any international future.
Fair doos mate he has went stale at Celtic playing against the same teams 4 teams a year an 3 or 4 of the same players doubling up on you but to say he has no end product is just a myth that everybody thinks, he is always the top assist maker in the SPL every year and if we had some better strikers he would be into the 30 odd assist category. The problem I feel with Ireland is that yous usually play 1 up top and hes usually hitting the ball into an empty penalty area because hes the only one who has pace in your team if he gets selected to get up there with him.
I'm sick sick of defending McGeady on here to yous, but I will say again If you have have any chance of getting to Poland and Ukraine yous need to try and accommodate this guy. We missed him badly the other night when Lennon got told not to play him against Braga, he might not have set the heather alight if he played but he would sure as hell would have took the baw and ran 30-40yards with it to take the pressure of us which we badly needed.
Lets see what he can do against Lyon today in the Emirates Cup. Sky Sports 1 at 1:30 pm for yous EPL lovers by the way.
The Fly
31/07/2010, 12:01 PM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/celtic/189373-offer-tabled-for-celtics-mcgeady/
Offer tabled for Celtic's McGeady
A "big bid" has been tabled for Aiden McGeady, according to Neil Lennon, with Spartak Moscow believed to be the club behind the offer.
Neil Lennon has confirmed Celtic have received a “big bid” for winger Aiden McGeady, with Russian club Spartak Moscow believed to be the interested party. The Republic of Ireland international has been subject to recent interest from Spartak and has also been linked with a move to Aston Villa.
Speaking ahead of his team's participation in the Emirates Cup this weekend, Lennon was pressed on the future of McGeady, who sat out the 3-0 Champions League third qualifying round defeat to Braga earlier in the week through injury.
Spartak's technical director Evgeniy Smolencev is understood to have been in Glasgow during the week discussing an offer for the 24-year-old with Celtic officials. Whether Smolencev left having presented a formal bid for McGeady remains unclear but, in the meantime, McGeady is yet to be approached for his thoughts on moving away from Glasgow.
When asked whether there had been an offer from Spartak, Lennon replied: “You know he is, you know he is subject of a bid from Moscow,” before adding: “But he's here, he's still with us and he'll take part in this competition.
“I'm talking like he's gone, which is not the case at all. But there has been a big bid from a club on the table. There is strong interest, not just from Moscow. We believe there's interest from other clubs as well.
“He's a big player for us and he has been for a number of seasons now. He was very important to me in the run-in last season. He's a talented player, very talented player.
“But every player has his price, sometimes we can't stand in the way of that. If it's right for the club, the offer, and right for the player, then it's hard to stop these things going through.”
Whether McGeady would be tempted to switch to the Russian capital remains to be seen, with Aston Villa's potential interest likely to hold greater appeal. Nonetheless, his current manager believes he will flourish wherever he finds himself in the future.
“I think he would do well anywhere,” said Lennon. “He's a top quality player and has been for a number of years since he come onto the scene in 2005. He's a player who works really hard at his game and tries to get better at everything he does.”
Crosby87
31/07/2010, 12:20 PM
We've talked about this and i still cant believe he would want to go play in Russia.
The Fly
01/08/2010, 5:03 PM
Celtic winger Aiden McGeady says he does not fancy a switch to Spartak Moscow.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/celtic/189428-mcgeady-i-dont-want-to-go/
Gather round
01/08/2010, 5:57 PM
Govorit' po-Russki in 10 easy steps:
Left, Right- Nalyeva, Naprava
Yellow, Red- Zholtaya, Krasnaya
First time- Bistriy
Shoot- Pitiy
How many times?- Skolko?
It's over- Konyets
Do you know your history?- Panimayetye istoria?
Celtic Euro bid- Nyevski Prospekt
Crosby87
01/08/2010, 8:05 PM
How about: Help Ive been kidnapped!
Or: Now the whole team wants to stay at my house when we play Russia.
Junior
02/08/2010, 9:37 AM
Fair doos mate he has went stale at Celtic playing against the same teams 4 teams a year an 3 or 4 of the same players doubling up on you but to say he has no end product is just a myth that everybody thinks, he is always the top assist maker in the SPL every year and if we had some better strikers he would be into the 30 odd assist category. The problem I feel with Ireland is that yous usually play 1 up top and hes usually hitting the ball into an empty penalty area because hes the only one who has pace in your team if he gets selected to get up there with him.
I'm sick sick of defending McGeady on here to yous, but I will say again If you have have any chance of getting to Poland and Ukraine yous need to try and accommodate this guy. We missed him badly the other night when Lennon got told not to play him against Braga, he might not have set the heather alight if he played but he would sure as hell would have took the baw and ran 30-40yards with it to take the pressure of us which we badly needed.
Lets see what he can do against Lyon today in the Emirates Cup. Sky Sports 1 at 1:30 pm for yous EPL lovers by the way.
Seriously, get a grip. The stick Aiden gets amongst our own supporters (Celtic) either at Celtic Park or on the message boards makes the few gripes or generally disappointed type posts in this thread pale in to insignificance.
Aiden is an undoubtedly talented player (I would say 85%-90% of posters would agree with that on here) However in his 30 odd caps to date, hardly any of those performances stand out for me. Some of them were ok, some of them quite decent and many of them quickly forgettable.
I agree with you that the "no end product" line is to easy to trot out and that he does in fact create a hell of a lot of chances (not sure of his stats for Ireland) but he does waste alot also. His shooting is dyabolical and needs to drastically improve. McGeady should be scoring 10-12 goals a season in the SPL (hes been scoring an average of 5 or 6 including the odd pen).
I am a McGeady fan, he can have great vision but for whatever reason that only comes out on occasion. Partly due to the fact that for the last few seasons or so he has been Celtics talisman, the guy the other 10 players look to in order to create something, that type of pressure can make you change your game and not necessarily for the better.
Not sure if you actually watch Ireland games but we play 4-4-2, have done for as long as I can remember (apart from the odd away game). McGeady is not actually that fast, nothing that a Robbie or Duffer couldnt keep up with anyway. If you think McGeady is breaking away at electric pace with the rest of the team struggling to get up and support him you are deluding yourself.
The guy should be a great player for Ireland, it saddens me to say it but I think he should move this transfer window and try at a higher level (though there doesnt seem to be a massive amount of interest in him) he has gone stale at Celtic. He has now been given ample opportunity to settle in to the international squad, its time he started delivering a few MOTM peformances, assists and may be even the odd goal or two.
rebelmusic
02/08/2010, 10:37 AM
It pretty much depends on the milner move at this stage. If Milner goes, Villa will get him. And since AV aren't in the Champions League, there's no worry about him being cuptied there anyway.
He won't be going to Russia anyway. And the signs are that City will push through the Milner move this week, so Aiden could be leaving the bhoys fairly lively
ArdeeBhoy
02/08/2010, 11:00 AM
Celtic should just hold out for as much cash as possible for AMcG and take the money and run!
ORA summed it up at the top of this page.
As for his Ireland career, it could only improve by a change of scenery, probably to a better league.....
Closed Account 2
02/08/2010, 11:34 AM
We've talked about this and i still cant believe he would want to go play in Russia.
Well the alternative seems to be the Aston area of Birmingham, so can you blame him for picking the lesser of two evils :P
In all seriousness I think a lot of people on here are underestimating the strength and financial power of the Russian League. Russian clubs have won European competitions twice in the last 5 years (CSKA Moscow 05 and Zenit 08 in the UEFA Cup) only the Spanish (3 UEFAs, 2CLs) have won more in that time (although England and Italy have also had 2 European competition winners in that time), this is a far stronger record than other countries (esp. France, Portugal, Holland and to some extent Germany) despite having less clubs in each competition due to lower coefficients and playing a summer season.
Some big players from other European countries have started playing in the Russian Premier League - Fernando Mieria (Portgual), Danny (Portugal), Rosina (Italy), Lazovic (Serbia) all play at Zenit; Krasic (Serbia), Tosic (Serbia) and Honda (Japan) all play for CSKA Moscow; Martins (Nigeria) and Ansaldi (Argentina) play for Rubin; Jiranek (Czech) and Stranzl (Austria) play for Spartak and Wilkshire (Australia), Voronin (Ukraine) and Kuranyi (Germany) all play for Dinamo Moscow. All these players have played for their countries and all would command a place in a mid-table Premier League or La Liga squad at the very least.
Also Russian clubs can pay above and beyond the developed football markets, Kuranyi is earning €18 million over 3 years, and only has to pay around 5% on that.
irishultra
02/08/2010, 1:51 PM
yeah the russian league is defo not beneath mcgeady. good enough move for him
02/08/2010, 4:51 PM
It sounds more like a location issue and there is another offer, but a lesser one for Celtic.
The Fly
02/08/2010, 9:23 PM
;) (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/8876282.stm)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/8876282.stm
http://www.expressandstar.com/sport/2010/08/02/aiden-mcgeadys-plea-to-villa/
03/08/2010, 6:15 AM
http://cr4.globalspec.com/PostImages/200808/stubborn_mule_00CA548E-046C-698F-D4B8489DB3FA6A3F.gif
03/08/2010, 7:09 AM
I hope he has family that will accompany him. If not I'd be buying 'learn Russian in a week' and then heading to some nightclubs!!
Junior
03/08/2010, 9:52 AM
Looks like Celtic could really be pushing this one through because its the best offer on the table. From the few quotes we've read from McGeady this is obviously not a move he wants to make and could be disastrous for him if he doesnt settle. Wonder would he dig his heals in and stick with Celtic (he has a 1-2 years left on his contract) rather than go to Moscow? Gives Villa the opportunity to put in a reduced offer on deadline day I suppose.......
rebelmusic
03/08/2010, 10:54 AM
More on Spartak - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/spartak-offer-double-wages-to-mcgeady-in-pound95m-deal-2281812.html
Colbert Report
03/08/2010, 11:44 AM
"However, the Moscow club are prepared to double McGeady's salary into the region of €45,000 per week, with the added bonus that the personal tax rate in Russia is only 13pc."
"Spartak's wealthy owner Leonid Fedun -- believed to be the world's 122nd richest man -- has tasked transfer broker Evegeny Smolentsev with completing the deal, with reports in Russia suggesting that the latter faces the sack unless he gets his man."
rebelmusic
03/08/2010, 1:38 PM
"As far as I know he was travelling today to speak to Moscow and have a look at the club and the surroundings and take things from there," Lennon said.
"This has dragged on a bit longer than what we wanted. I would like to think that we would get a definitive idea after this."
Scooby Doo
03/08/2010, 4:40 PM
How can a move to Moscow be any worse than staying in the stagnant SPL. I assume Spartak will be competing in the Champions League this year? They have money behind them so playing in a competative team every week can only help him develop as a player. Sure, it may be a bit of a culture shock at first but the chance to play in on of the world's great capital cities doesn't come too often. Accepted, Villa would probably be a better move for him if he plays regularly but staying in Glasgow and competing with Rangers for a two-horse league and the Scottish Cup. With Neil Lennon in charge!!!! ffs that would be madness given McGeady's promise and the urgent need for him to develop his talent.
As for Sheridan, he shouldn't even think twice about this move if he's any ambition at all. Another loan move to St. Johnston or a spell in League 1 in England as opposed to a major European club in CSKA. The Bulgarian League is decent enough and he might just get a league winners medal out of it. Plus, Bulgarian women are super hot! ;)
I know both are quite young but I wish Irish players were a bit more open minded about where they play their football.
Junior
03/08/2010, 7:50 PM
How can a move to Moscow be any worse than staying in the stagnant SPL.
It could be, if the player doesnt actually want to be there? It will be interesting to hear the next quotes from Aiden after his visit to Moscow, I just dont get the impression he wants to go, despite the money on offer.
Moscow I would say would be one of, if not the most difficult city to adapt to, culturally, language, climate, its so far apart from what he knows. That isnt to say, I wouldnt like him to give it a go, I just dont get the impression he'd be all that comfortable with it. I suppose we should know within the next 24-48 hrs. He obviously wont feature in the CL qualifier tomorrow night.
fu1ham
03/08/2010, 9:27 PM
I would have said Moscow and Glasgow have a fair bit in common!
ped_ped
03/08/2010, 10:42 PM
I would have said Moscow and Glasgow have a fair bit in common!
Was just about to say that ;)
Crosby87
03/08/2010, 11:13 PM
Where is this coming from; (if to be believed) Spartaks obsession with acquiring him?
I can see two years ago but I dont understand why it is coming on now?
If the reason is that they think he had a down year and is going to come back on strong then I hope they are right, It just seems so...whats the word? Random.
irishfan86
04/08/2010, 12:00 AM
Where is this coming from; (if to be believed) Spartaks obsession with acquiring him?
I can see two years ago but I dont understand why it is coming on now?
If the reason is that they think he had a down year and is going to come back on strong then I hope they are right, It just seems so...whats the word? Random.
I think in this Internet era, scouts and teams are more aware of players than ever before. McGeady is highly rated all over the world -- the likes of Messi have been quoted as saying they know about him and admire his play.
If you go to a more basic level, I believe McGeady is the highest rated Irish player (or one of them) in the FIFA 2010 game. I know that sounds like a bit of a joke, but my point is that FIFA ratings generally dictate the reputation of a player, and McGeady is well known throughout Europe. Not as well known as the elite players, but I think if he ever plays in a World Cup, he could get the same sort of international reputation Robbie Keane or Damien Duff have (most football fans around the world know these two).
ArdeeBhoy
04/08/2010, 12:23 AM
If anyone wants to pay £10 mill for him at this stage, they must have a few quid they're looking to, er, offload.
Doubtless Celtic/NL won't spend it especially wisely but there's always the chance of 2 or 3-in-a-row once 'The Cardigan' exits stage right.....
Colbert Report
04/08/2010, 3:54 AM
McGeady is the highest rated LWM in FIFA 2010! That's got to count for something!
04/08/2010, 7:49 AM
This "saga" frustrates me greatly. First of all, the soundbytes Lennon comes out with can be disregarded as that tosser messed Leicester around himsel. But for Aiden, I dunno, he's an offer from a club with a pretty good history, regularily in European competition, fighting for domestic honours, in a league of a higher standard and a better calibre of player than in Scotland. Plus they're going to double his wages to some 50k a week (approx). To me it's a no-brainer, especially when there is no firm offer in from Villa, a place I don't think he'll be guarenteed a game.
I think I read an article when he was breaking through, that similar to John O'Shea his parents were strict in that his education wouldn't suffer should a professional career develop, and that he's quite an intelligent fella, so learning a second language shouldn't be that hard. I'm presuming it's either ignorance or stupidity that people are saying that moving there would be a culture shock - it doesn't seem to be a problem for the brazilians, portuguese, argentinians etc (non-eastern europeans) that play in the Russian League and prosper. I dare say the 50K pw would make life quite comfortable in Moscow. Go for it Aiden, you're going stagnant at Celtic.
Off-topic, I'd love to see Sheridan make the jump to Levski too,
aidinho
05/08/2010, 1:40 AM
First off I am no McGeady correspondent but if anybody could learn Russian and adapt to the culture I think Aiden could do it, his Mum and Dad made sure he stayed at school to earn grades and he pretty much got an A+ for every grade so he is more than capable of learning Russian. He's a very intelligent boy.
I went to the same school as Aiden in St Ninians in Giffnock. although he was a few years behind me but the whole talk of the town was this boy, then he played for us (Celtic) at 17 or something and he took Milan apart himself.
I saw him in the flesh a few times when he was younger and it was about the time when the real Ronaldo started doing stepovers to get past people and thats what he did on the playground basically.
The boy is pure class. Just hope MON comes back for him just to show the doubters, ma da couldnae believe me when I said I used to compete with McGeady to play for our High School team and that I was even up there to be picked along side him.
aidinho
05/08/2010, 2:03 AM
Seriously, get a grip. The stick Aiden gets amongst our own supporters (Celtic) either at Celtic Park or on the message boards makes the few gripes or generally disappointed type posts in this thread pale in to insignificance.
Aiden is an undoubtedly talented player (I would say 85%-90% of posters would agree with that on here) However in his 30 odd caps to date, hardly any of those performances stand out for me. Some of them were ok, some of them quite decent and many of them quickly forgettable.
I agree with you that the "no end product" line is to easy to trot out and that he does in fact create a hell of a lot of chances (not sure of his stats for Ireland) but he does waste alot also. His shooting is dyabolical and needs to drastically improve. McGeady should be scoring 10-12 goals a season in the SPL (hes been scoring an average of 5 or 6 including the odd pen).
I am a McGeady fan, he can have great vision but for whatever reason that only comes out on occasion. Partly due to the fact that for the last few seasons or so he has been Celtics talisman, the guy the other 10 players look to in order to create something, that type of pressure can make you change your game and not necessarily for the better.
Not sure if you actually watch Ireland games but we play 4-4-2, have done for as long as I can remember (apart from the odd away game). McGeady is not actually that fast, nothing that a Robbie or Duffer couldnt keep up with anyway. If you think McGeady is breaking away at electric pace with the rest of the team struggling to get up and support him you are deluding yourself.
The guy should be a great player for Ireland, it saddens me to say it but I think he should move this transfer window and try at a higher level (though there doesnt seem to be a massive amount of interest in him) he has gone stale at Celtic. He has now been given ample opportunity to settle in to the international squad, its time he started delivering a few MOTM peformances, assists and may be even the odd goal or two.
It saddens me the way you think. if you dont think Ireland will progress with Duff and co. Don't start slagging McGeady because he is the most technically gifted and skillfull player you have and he can play with either foot from what I have seen.
Im no Irish but as a Celtic fan I do follow yous like most in the crowd but it seems to me that Trap will not use 2 wingers and that is the Italian mentality.
The Fly
05/08/2010, 3:41 AM
Spartak Moscow fans have dubbed Aiden McGeady as ‘McGreedski’ :D, and threaten revolt over the vast sums being offered to the winger.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1300468/McGreedski-Russian-fans-turn-Celtic-star-Aiden-cash-offer.html
dr_peepee
05/08/2010, 9:53 AM
Why would Russian people use an English punn??
05/08/2010, 12:33 PM
Hmm, it wouldn't be like that rag to have a sly dig at McGeady at all. No agenda there whatsoever.
Junior
05/08/2010, 1:11 PM
It saddens me the way you think. if you dont think Ireland will progress with Duff and co. Don't start slagging McGeady because he is the most technically gifted and skillfull player you have and he can play with either foot from what I have seen.
Im no Irish but as a Celtic fan I do follow yous like most in the crowd but it seems to me that Trap will not use 2 wingers and that is the Italian mentality.
What saddens you specifically? I dont really understand the point you are making with regards to Duff?
I agree McGeady is two footed, an excellent attribute (you would think we could take that for granted with professional footballers but alas we can't so it is definitely a massive positive for him and Ireland).
What exactly is it ive said that you dispute?.
Trap plays 4-4-2 - That has been a mixture of Lawrence/Hunt/McGeady/Duffer as the wide midfielders - Yes Trap ensures they understand their defensive duties but its 2 wingers/wide midfielders is it not?
I'm not sure why Im even bothering to reply when you obviously dont read the posts people make. He may well be Irelands most technically gifted player at the moment (though thats debateable), that doesnt mean he hasnt got areas of his game that need dramatic improvement, worthy of discussion.
Junior
05/08/2010, 1:24 PM
This "saga" frustrates me greatly. First of all, the soundbytes Lennon comes out with can be disregarded as that tosser messed Leicester around himsel. But for Aiden, I dunno, he's an offer from a club with a pretty good history, regularily in European competition, fighting for domestic honours, in a league of a higher standard and a better calibre of player than in Scotland. Plus they're going to double his wages to some 50k a week (approx). To me it's a no-brainer, especially when there is no firm offer in from Villa, a place I don't think he'll be guarenteed a game.
I think I read an article when he was breaking through, that similar to John O'Shea his parents were strict in that his education wouldn't suffer should a professional career develop, and that he's quite an intelligent fella, so learning a second language shouldn't be that hard. I'm presuming it's either ignorance or stupidity that people are saying that moving there would be a culture shock - it doesn't seem to be a problem for the brazilians, portuguese, argentinians etc (non-eastern europeans) that play in the Russian League and prosper. I dare say the 50K pw would make life quite comfortable in Moscow. Go for it Aiden, you're going stagnant at Celtic.
Off-topic, I'd love to see Sheridan make the jump to Levski too,
Really? Because I would say its probably more ignorant or stupid to suggest otherwise. Thats not to say it isnt do-able, of course it is but to insinuate that it would be a walk in the park because of all the $$$$$ is simply ridiculous. I'm not sure how many of those brazilians, argentinians, etc... learn Russian (Im no expert on languages but Id imagine its a tad tricky bearing in my the crylic alphabet etc..) Perhaps, his girlfriend is not that keen, perhaps he has other family issues to consider, perhaps just doesnt fancy being holed up in some crib mansion with armed bodyguards and all the other crap that will probably come with a move such as this.
In my 2 (albeit very short) visits to Moscow its amazing at how different the place is. Amazing history and buildings and the likes but I bet it can be a bleak place and they can be right moody fcukers - In my opinion it most definitely would be a culture shock.
Brendan 82
05/08/2010, 1:41 PM
Really? Because I would say its probably more ignorant or stupid to suggest otherwise. Thats not to say it isnt do-able, of course it is but to insinuate that it would be a walk in the park because of all the $$$$$ is simply ridiculous. I'm not sure how many of those brazilians, argentinians, etc... learn Russian (Im no expert on languages but Id imagine its a tad tricky bearing in my the crylic alphabet etc..) Perhaps, his girlfriend is not that keen, perhaps he has other family issues to consider, perhaps just doesnt fancy being holed up in some crib mansion with armed bodyguards and all the other crap that will probably come with a move such as this.
In my 2 (albeit very short) visits to Moscow its amazing at how different the place is. Amazing history and buildings and the likes but I bet it can be a bleak place and they can be right moody fcukers - In my opinion it most definitely would be a culture shock.
Bringing a girlfriend to Moscow as a pro footballer would be like bringing sand to the beach
The Fly
05/08/2010, 2:06 PM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/celtic/190233-spartak-expect-imminent-mcgeady-decision/
Junior
05/08/2010, 2:13 PM
Bit bizarre that you wouldnt meet the coach prior to signing?
05/08/2010, 2:23 PM
Junior I suppose what I'm saying is that the fella is far from the dumbass that a lot of players would seem to be, so the inadequate education isn't the factor, and that for people to suggest is incorrect. I believe that if he wants to succeed badly enough, he will. I referenced those fellas as an example of people from a completely different culture with absolutely no idea perhaps of what Moscow is like.
I think he's gone as far as he can with Celtic, and that he should either shoot down the Muscovites or move,
Junior
05/08/2010, 2:36 PM
Fair enough but I dont think anyone (well not posters here that I am aware of) are suggesting he's too thick to make the move, more that its 'Moscow' Im sure plenty of well educated people have struggled to settle there in the past! If it was Spain, Germany or France or the like then the transition would appear to be much easier to make, I think the deal would have been sealed much quicker. England would be his first choice Im guessing and that seems to be the generally accepted view.
I'm a Celtic fan and I agree, he needs to move now. I am not convinced that Moscow would work out if thats where he goes but no matter what I want him to be a success wherever he ends up and prove, in an Ireland shirt, the great player he is and should be for us.
janeymac
05/08/2010, 3:21 PM
Moscow in November is about the last place anyone would want to be (and that is when I came across Roma in Red Square who were there for a Champions League game). I don't know how anyone could play in the conditions. It was painfully cold. Its not just learning a language - its also learning a new alphabet and even though I was really only in the main tourist area of Moscow, there were no roman signs on anything. I was also unable to buy a map to get around. Luckily I had a bit of a map from a magazine that I had taken off the plane. (I was only on a stop over). I've been in a lot of countries (including China), and I would rate it as being the most difficult to get around.
DannyInvincible
05/08/2010, 4:07 PM
Why would Russian people use an English punn??
Was wondering this myself. Plus, I don't even think the '-ski' suffix is of Russian origin. It's Polish.
Hopefully he can settle in if he does go and hopefully Celtic can spend the money well!