View Full Version : Aiden McGeady M Ayr Utd b.1986

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

aidinho
05/06/2010, 4:07 PM
The news today is that Spartak's official bid of €10m has been turned down by Celtic.

Spartak bid (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/scottishpremier/celtic/7804455/Spartak-Moscows-millions-tempt-Celtic-to-sell-Aiden-McGeady.html)

there would be uproar at Celtic if we sold McGeady and thats why its been booted out.

wrestler313
05/06/2010, 4:13 PM
i'm fairly sure he said about a year ago he wants to concentrate on becoming a "celtic legend", unfortunately that has yet to help his prospects under trap

WexCar
06/06/2010, 1:10 AM
Big Eck wants him down at Brum but from what im hearing McGeady would never play in the same team as Barry Ferguson in his lifetime, so that only leaves Sevilla and Valencia who are seriously interested and I think that would be the best move for him IF he does go which I seriously hope he doesn't.

Really!!!! Hadn't heard about their interest in him. Have always wanted McGeady to ply his trade in La Liga.

06/06/2010, 2:21 AM
On the Spanish note, I watched the Ireland-Italy Croker match in a pub in town with a lot of tourists. Two Spanish lads were sitting beside us and they leaned over to me at some point in the second half and asked "who is the Irish number 7," who, of course, was McGeady. Maybe they only asked because he was the only non-EPL player in the team, but I'd hazard a guess it was because he was the only players whose technical skill really stood out.

seanfhear
06/06/2010, 6:07 AM
Unless the next Celtic manager can get Aiden to step up his game particularly crosssing/shooting/final ball then Aiden himself would be better to leave Celtic.

He is pretty much the same player that he was 3 years ago. For a full time professional footballer not too improve certain parts of his game in this time suggests that he is in a comfort zone with no reason/need to stimulate improvements.

aidinho
06/06/2010, 12:34 PM
Really!!!! Hadn't heard about their interest in him. Have always wanted McGeady to ply his trade in La Liga.

Yeah its been doing rounds up here for ages mate and I think it would suit his game better obviously I don't want him to leave. period.

Maybe if Sky stopped throwing ****loads of money at the English leagues and hitting us with derisory bids we would have a strong SPL again and the kid would not have to leave.

Crosby87
06/06/2010, 12:49 PM
He just hasn't taken the next step...he got to a certain point and that was it. Some players are like that.

Drumcondra 69er
06/06/2010, 3:43 PM
Yeah its been doing rounds up here for ages mate and I think it would suit his game better obviously I don't want him to leave. period.

Maybe if Sky stopped throwing ****loads of money at the English leagues and hitting us with derisory bids we would have a strong SPL again and the kid would not have to leave.

That's economics bud. Maybe if the Scottish League wasn't so lopsided even with a poor Old Firm there'd be more interest.

And even though the EPL is going the same way there's a far bigger worldwide audience. I'd love Celtic to be competitive in Europe but can't see it. Mind you the fans hounded out the only manager to get them out of a Champions League group (twice) who'd also delivered the first 3 in a row since the 70's if I'm not mistaking....

DannyInvincible
06/06/2010, 11:16 PM
A bit on McGeady and the possible move to Russia from former Celtic player Rudi Vata here (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=792979&sec=transfers&cc=5739).

Former Hoops' defender Vata specialises in the Eastern European market and was involved in the deals which saw former Hibernian striker Garry O'Connor both join and leave Lokomotiv Moscow.

Vata told Press Association Sport: "He will get anything between £1.5 million to £2 million net in Russia, I can guarantee that.

"He will be able to make much more money than he would get at say, Birmingham or any team at that level in the Premier League.

"I know the mentality of the Russians, I have a lot of contacts over there. They rarely buy star players over 25 or 26. They look to bring players who are around 25 or younger and then sell them on.

"If you have a star player in countries like Belgium or France - or Scotland - who is an international then that will attract the Russian clubs and McGeady fits in to that category.

"It is a good league in Russia and it will make him a better player. If he stays two years he will be stronger physically and mentally.

"They will think that they can then sell him to a Premier League club for £15 million, they have done that in the past. They know what they are doing, they know they will get the fee back.''

Despite the financial attractions, Vata, who played for Celtic between 1993 and 1996, understands why some players are reluctant to make the move to Russia even for a short spell.

He said: "Moscow is a beautiful city, a great city but it it takes a strong personality, someone with a strong mentality to survive over there.

"It is not easy to make new friends and you travel long journeys to games. I don't think he will go. If he has one or two options down south then I think he will go there.''

Crosby87
06/06/2010, 11:59 PM
Does anyone think there is any chance he would want to go play in Russia?

DannyInvincible
07/06/2010, 12:04 AM
It would be a strange move alright, although I wasn't aware Garry O'Connor went from the SPL to Lokomotiv Moscow, so there is a bit of a precedent there, if you could call it that.

DannyInvincible
07/06/2010, 12:06 AM
In saying that, the reason is returned to the UK was allegedly due to him struggling to settle into the Russian lifestyle.

Sullivinho
07/06/2010, 12:36 AM
Does anyone think there is any chance he would want to go play in Russia?

I reckon he'd balk at the prospect. The only temptation would be money. It'l take an offer from England, Spain and the like to tempt him out of his comfort zone.

seanfhear
07/06/2010, 4:10 AM
I reckon he'd balk at the prospect. The only temptation would be money. It'l take an offer from England, Spain and the like to tempt him out of his comfort zone.Comfort Zone, Celtic, McGeady will be words that Aiden will be remembered for if he does not open new horizons for himself. I suppose it depends on if a good opportunity is offered. Russia would be a brave step but I for one would like Aiden to challenge himself somewhere bar Celtic. Does Aiden himself think he is good enough to accept such a challenge.

07/06/2010, 1:38 PM
Aiden is the Irish/Scottish Theo Walcott. He is quick, no denying his skill level, but his end product on numerous occasions is just way off the mark.
I can think of many charging runs McGeady did for us up the field but very little end product. The cross for Doyles goal against Georgia away is one, he also had a good game at home to Georgia but other than that very little. In the few games Lawrence played for us, he offered more, was stronger defensively and an all round better performer imo. Have heard Celtic fans rave about McG for a long time and I've yet to see the reason why (in an Ireland shirt, couldnt care less what he does in a celtic shirt).

Sullivinho
07/06/2010, 1:57 PM
Aiden is the Irish/Scottish Theo Walcott. He is quick, no denying his skill level, but his end product on numerous occasions is just way off the mark.
I can think of many charging runs McGeady did for us up the field but very little end product. The cross for Doyles goal against Georgia away is one, he also had a good game at home to Georgia but other than that very little. In the few games Lawrence played for us, he offered more, was stronger defensively and an all round better performer imo. Have heard Celtic fans rave about McG for a long time and I've yet to see the reason why (in an Ireland shirt, couldnt care less what he does in a celtic shirt).

Good call on Walcott.

McGeady is utterly frustrating because of what he could be. That's my gripe with him. He's got phenomenal talent but if he had a more consistent end product he'd be up there with the best. It's one of those 'so close and yet so far' scenarios.

Den Perry
08/06/2010, 9:17 AM
Aye thats when he tore them apart the whole game but we just kept missing sitter after sitter, also they just sold Vladimir Bystrov to Zenit so this one is a definite goer but would McGeady leave to stay in Moscow? I doubt it but it and if he does go Lenny better get a Di Canio like figure in to replace him or there will be uproar.

Big Eck wants him down at Brum but from what im hearing McGeady would never play in the same team as Barry Ferguson in his lifetime, so that only leaves Sevilla and Valencia who are seriously interested and I think that would be the best move for him IF he does go which I seriously hope he doesn't.

excuse my ignorance, but what is the story between him and Ferguson?

kev mcq
08/06/2010, 9:37 AM
Has nowhere near the pace of Theo Walcott and is probably less effective.

Brendan 82
08/06/2010, 2:30 PM
He played well against Arsenal in Champs League. I think that was the best I've seen him play but I must admit I don't watch the SPL. I think in a competitive match we'd be better off with Duff & Lawrence out wide. At this stage I'd probably go for Hunt over him and possibly even McCarthy (I've seen him perform well in a left midfield role for Wigan and I like his style). Anyway I've always been frustrated with McGready for not moving from the SPL after he had that season where he won best player and best young player; he had achieved it all in that league, it was time to move on and I think his development has stalled since.

Junior
08/06/2010, 2:42 PM
It seems to get forgotten or perhaps ignored that it is not solely down to McGeady that he still plys his trade in the SPL.

1) Celtic have an asset, little argument that he is probably our main asset and have never shown a willingness to sell, knocking back an offer from Birmingham only last summer/January. McGeady is under contract (must be 3 years or so left I would say, so he signed it around the time he was starting to play well).

2) Have there been any concrete offers for McGeadys services over the last 3 or 4 years? I cant think of anything other than Birminghams offer and pages and pages of red top speculation / gossiping. Perhaps all these teams in the EPL or La Liga also have the same concerns that many posters on here have and are not willing to table a serious offer?

This summer seems the most likely of all summers that he will actually leave (along with Boruc I expect) but I wouldnt say its a certainty. Neil Lennon may also have an input assuming he has a good relationship with McGeady.

Sullivinho
09/06/2010, 10:17 PM
Neil Lennon confirmed as Celtic boss:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/co-armagh-man-lennon-confirmed-as-new-celtic-boss-2213242.html

Stated on SSN that he wants Robbie to stay/return but concedes "it's up to him". He'll no doubt want to keep hold of McGeady too.

10/06/2010, 1:46 PM
It looks like Spartak made the offer of the wrong type of millions.
£10m would surely have a better chance of Lennon and the Board feeling more positive about the proposed transfer.

wrestler313
10/06/2010, 4:06 PM
lennon has stated he wants mcgeady to stay and it would take a crazy amount of money for him to leave. its now up to him; if he really wants to leave, put in a request, or lounge in the spl

Junior
11/06/2010, 9:00 AM
An article from a couple of months ago.

I just did a google after I was reminded that Lennon and McGeady had a bit of a slanging match on the pitch 3 or 4 years ago after Celtic conceded a late goal.

The article covers that incident and how it is definitely long buried in the past. Additionally he reaffirms his wish to play outside of the SPL at some point in his career but whilst he is under contract, he is a Celtic player unless the club get an offer they want to accept.

http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/sport/Aiden-McGeady-says-spat-firmly.6201823.jp

Colbert Report
11/06/2010, 11:50 AM
I'd love to see him leave. The SPL is poor quality and he'll never contend for any European honours with Celtic. They money just isn't there, sorry SPL fans.

Colbert Report
12/06/2010, 2:28 PM
Spartak Moscow deny any interest

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=795398&sec=transfers&cc=5901

Predator
14/06/2010, 12:43 AM
Spartak Moscow deny any interest

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=795398&sec=transfers&cc=5901Surprise, surprise.

25/06/2010, 3:11 PM
McGeady conscripts Keane's agent to get Premier League move: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/scottishpremier/celtic/7852406/Celtic-winger-Aiden-McGeady-changes-agent-to-land-move-to-the-Premier-League.html

irishfan86
26/06/2010, 7:45 AM
McGeady conscripts Keane's agent to get Premier League move: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/scottishpremier/celtic/7852406/Celtic-winger-Aiden-McGeady-changes-agent-to-land-move-to-the-Premier-League.html

Is he looking for one move or ten? :D

Junior
13/07/2010, 7:11 AM
Aiden McGeady close to Celtic departure after sitting out US tour / GUARDIAN

Aiden McGeady's departure from Celtic has edged closer, with the Republic of Ireland player not part of the squad which departed for a pre-season tour of the United States today.

Celtic claim McGeady has a thigh injury but are aware of interest from Aston Villa in the winger's services.

McGeady is keen to test his ability on a higher stage than the SPL and would be agreeable to being reunited with Martin O'Neill, the Villa manager who handed the then teenager his Celtic debut in 2004.

Birmingham City made a bid for McGeady in January but are now understood to have cooled their interest.

Emile Heskey has been suggested as a potential makeweight in any Villa move for McGeady but Celtic are likely to demand a cash payment – possibly as much as £8m – for the 24-year-old.

Neil Lennon, Celtic's newly appointed manager, would benefit from such funds as he oversees a squad overhaul.

McGeady, Stephen McManus, Georgios Samaras and Artur Boruc are the players whose departures are set to raise money for Lennon.

Fiorentina tonight announced they had agreed terms on a €2m (£1.6m) move for Boruc, subject to a medical for the Polish goalkeeper.

Celtic confirmed the arrival of Joe Ledley on a four-year contract from Cardiff City earlier today but Lennon is virtually resigned to missing out on a loan move for Jimmy Bullard.

The manager is close, however, to completing a deal for the Mexico international midfielder Efraín Juárez.

Looking ever more likely that Aiden will be plying his trade elsewhere this season. The only player that Celtic have that will bring in serious cash and whilst Lennon doesnt want to lose him, I think the cash he needs to fund further signings plus Aidens own desire to try the Premiership (or elsewhere but less likely) means he will be off. Amazing to think that getting rid of Boruc/McManus/Samaras will probably net Celtic around £5m - Probably 2-3 seasons ago Boruc was getting linked with the likes of Arsenal and AC Milan for £10m+ (I appreciate his contract nearer the end now but still some drop off).

13/07/2010, 10:45 AM
Boruc's standards of excellence certainly dropped in the last year, GBP3m, with one year of contract left, is good enough.
I look forward to seeing McGeady meet a new challenge, he needs it. Might suggest that the Spartak Moscow bid was high enough but wasn't McGeady's personal preference.

Colbert Report
13/07/2010, 11:02 AM
I'd love to see McGeady at VILLA. Absolutely love it.

It might be hard to get into the team on a regular basis, unless O'Neill keeps Milner in the middle of the park instead of out wide. Ashley Young is a definite starter when fit.

13/07/2010, 11:07 AM
I think you mean at Villa ;)

Good news for Ireland that he's moving albeit it seems in slightly acrimonious circumstances.

Boruc won't be much of a loss at this stage - his form over the past couple of years has been poor and your man Zaluska looks a better player at this point. Can't see Fiorentina being a good move for him - Frey will mop the floor with him.

Colbert Report
13/07/2010, 11:09 AM
I think Villa is the perfect fit for him. Good manager and good team that plays attacking football and has the bankroll to put decent players on the pitch next to him.

Crosby87
13/07/2010, 11:28 AM
Yeah this is good news, he needs a change of scenery.

Brendan 82
13/07/2010, 12:59 PM
I think Villa is the perfect fit for him. Good manager and good team that plays attacking football and has the bankroll to put decent players on the pitch next to him.

Err, not really. They were very defensive last season and sat back waiting to counter attack when they played anyone near the top four. They opened up a bit against worse opposition; I can see McGeady fitting into their system pretty well as it is or if they decide to change it.

rebelmusic
16/07/2010, 9:14 AM
I'd say it's looking very likely he'll end up at villa. Petrov has come out saying it would be a great signing. If you go back a year, he came out around the same time going on about Dunne. Would be a great move in my opinion.

16/07/2010, 12:38 PM
Definitely a good move for him, finally might see what all the fuss is about. Because for sure we havent seen any reason to believe it based on his performances in the green.

DeLorean
16/07/2010, 2:36 PM
I really hope this happens. He has a better chance of improving coming off the bench for Villa, than starting for Celtic. He's rotting up there at this stage.

Razors left peg
16/07/2010, 4:17 PM
His performances in the 2 games against Arsenal convinced me of 2 things last season. number 1 he was definately good enough at that level, he was top class in both games. But also I think in those games he grew visably disillusioned with the players around him. He was a few classes above them and he really looked like he got p1ssed off, which I think in turn led to him not trying as hard and having a poor season. I think a change of scenery and a new challenge will bring out the best in him again....... I hope so anyway

Sullivinho
16/07/2010, 4:26 PM
Flourish or flounder, I wouldn't have a strong inclination either way as to how he'd do but one thing's for sure, I'd be looking forward to not having to wonder about it anymore.

Razors left peg
16/07/2010, 4:50 PM
Flourish or flounder, I wouldn't have a strong inclination either way as to how he'd do but one thing's for sure, I'd be looking forward to not having to wonder about it anymore.

I think that sums it up perfectly

aidinho
17/07/2010, 3:31 AM

its as if you want the boy to flounder mate with that comment, don't see why all you Irish guys are on his back all the time when he is clearly your best player....... just ask my brazillian mate in college who was raving about him after that game last year against Brazil and said he was the only player with any technique in your full team.

Me thinks yous have been watching too much of the hussle and bussle of the Premiership too much and your teams are Wolves and Stoke and **** like that.

Sullivinho
17/07/2010, 5:27 AM
its as if you want the boy to flounder mate with that comment

Then we have a misunderstanding because I'd be more than delighted to see Aiden fulfill his potential and succeed at a higher level. I think the guy has a fantastic talent and I'd greatly enjoy seeing him make the most of it. I'm not about to let goodwill and wishful thinking rule my opinion though, not least when it comes to the matter of how he would/will cope in the premier league, which represents a strict test of any player's mettle.

don't see why all you Irish guys are on his back all the time

How did you arrive at this broad conclusion and what exactly constitutes 'on his back'? Criticism? A lack of reverence? No one is beyond an honest assessment. The fact is, he's been underwhelming in an Irish shirt and there are valid doubts/concerns about certain aspects of his game in general. There's neither sense nor credibility in mounting knee-jerk defences when a hint of criticism comes his way.

when he is clearly your best player

I suspect we don't share the same criteria when defining 'best' but...nope, he's not. I'd identify him as Celtic's best player sure enough though.

Me thinks yous have been watching too much of the hussle and bussle of the Premiership too much and your teams are Wolves and Stoke and **** like that.

Me thinks you make too many assumptions and draw some faulty conclusions!

Listen, I think we can both agree on one thing and hope that Aiden has a cracking season, wherever that may be.

If he should prove equally impressive for Ireland when given the chance, then all the better.

17/07/2010, 4:26 PM
its as if you want the boy to flounder mate with that comment, don't see why all you Irish guys are on his back all the time when he is clearly your best player....... just ask my brazillian mate in college who was raving about him after that game last year against Brazil and said he was the only player with any technique in your full team.

why does the fact that your mate is Brazilian need mentioning? Does that make his opinion more valid? It doesnt. And you as a football man should realise that. I think most people, Irish, Scots or Brazilian can see the technique and potential that Aiden has ahead of most of the players in our squad. Its just that for the most part he hasnt produced for us. And even still most people support him and wish him success in an Irish jersey. Stop basing your assumptions on the posts of a couple of posters on this forum.

irishfan86
17/07/2010, 8:40 PM
Aidinho, the reason we "get on his back" at times is because we know he's got so much more to offer than we've seen.

We have high expectations for McGeady, and he hasn't been able to replicate the best of his Celtic form for Ireland -- that's simply a fact.

Our high expectations should be taken as a compliment. I don't think most Irish supporters think Aiden is no good. We just know he can be much better than he's shown us, and any true fan of the team wants to see his best.

Being technically gifted is only part of the equation -- you need the intelligence and the execution to be a top player. Aiden is only one step away from being a very very good player, if he can just get his consistency and final ball up to the standards of an elite player.

I for one hope he'll begin to show his best in this qualifying campaign.

aidinho
22/07/2010, 1:32 AM
Aidinho, the reason we "get on his back" at times is because we know he's got so much more to offer than we've seen.

We have high expectations for McGeady, and he hasn't been able to replicate the best of his Celtic form for Ireland -- that's simply a fact.

Our high expectations should be taken as a compliment. I don't think most Irish supporters think Aiden is no good. We just know he can be much better than he's shown us, and any true fan of the team wants to see his best.

Being technically gifted is only part of the equation -- you need the intelligence and the execution to be a top player. Aiden is only one step away from being a very very good player, if he can just get his consistency and final ball up to the standards of an elite player.

I for one hope he'll begin to show his best in this qualifying campaign.

fair enough mate but did McGeady not take on the whole Georgian team on his self to win yous that game. so hes not been that bad for yous its just yous need to give him a license to roam which Trapp will not do as he insists on 2 holding midfielders and Lawrence because of his physique basically means 3 holding midfielders.

I know McGeadys limitations but if you are going to choose Lawrence ahead of him because the hes a bigger physical specimen than him I would say yous need to change manager, and that the guy stays in Italy is just nonsense.

Fabio MK2

irishfan86
22/07/2010, 2:03 AM
Aidinho, he had a great game against Georgia, but one match does not a great player make. He's lacked consistency for us, end of story.

Liam Lawrence is not world class, but he's been effective in defending, as well as in attack. It would be a lie to say his physicality and size doesn't factor into his selection -- it does, and he's been very effective at using those attributes to bulk up a midfield that was horribly lightweight during the Stan era.

Everybody loves Samba football, but the reality is that against the best sides, we're going to have less of the ball, so having a certain number of players who can defend and impose themselves on the opposition is essential, given our situation.

He also adds other attributes, in that he has a knack for scoring goals, and looks impressive from free kicks. I think Andy Reid has that free kick ability, but given his absence from the squad, Liam brings that in his toolkit.

So let's weigh up the key things the two players bring (albeit in an overly simplified manner):

McGeady:
- ability to beat players
- good outlet when under pressure

Lawrence:
- goal threat
- free kick threat
- physical/defensive attributes

In terms of level of player, I don't actually think they're that far apart in terms of their practical contribution today. McGeady has a far higher ceiling, if he can make supporters use their hands for cheering rather than to cradle their head after another botched cross or ill advised shot.

Ireland supporters don't give a damn what McGeady has or has not done for Celtic. We care about what players do for Ireland, and in his few appearances to date, Lawrence has made more of a meaningful contribution than McGeady has in his 32 matches.

McGeady is still young and there is time for him to become a real star for us, but Trap doesn't play players based on potential, he plays them on their ability to contribute on the day, and McGeady still needs to prove that for Ireland.

22/07/2010, 8:10 AM
Potential never beat anyone, and thats McGeady's problem. He suffers from wingers syndrome, aka poor end product, and as irishfan86 put it, Lawrence has produced as much in terms of output in a much more limited time.

A move away will hopefully do him the world of good, as he'd gone very stale at Celtic. I'd say by the end of the season we'll know if he has any international future.

irishfan86
27/07/2010, 12:36 AM
Spartak apparently in for McGeady again (although I remember them denying interest before, so who knows?). Sky says Spartak are the only team with concrete interest in him:

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11787_6280739,00.html