View Full Version : Aiden McGeady

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

Junior
11/01/2010, 10:58 AM
Spiers touches on a few of these points in his Times column. He Reckons £13m will seal a deal for McGeady to go to the Premiership. Somewhere between £10m and £13m should do the trick I reckon.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/columnists/graham_spiers/article6982946.ece

12/01/2010, 11:38 PM
.......McGeady is a fantastic talent who will have an outstanding career with Ireland.......

Where have you been for the last 5 years??? :confused: 31 caps, 0 goals and only a couple of half decent performances. The most over-hyped player for Ireland in decades.

seanfhear
13/01/2010, 6:24 AM
Spiers touches on a few of these points in his Times column. He Reckons £13m will seal a deal for McGeady to go to the Premiership. Somewhere between £10m and £13m should do the trick I reckon.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/columnists/graham_spiers/article6982946.ece
Look Aiden has ability and I will honestly admit that when Damian Duff first started to play for Ireland I could not see his potential.

Ah but £13m should be enough money to seal a deal for Aiden to play on the moon.

Duff was playing in the premier league with Blackburn and Aiden is playing in a sadly deteriorating SPL.

Anyone that paid more than £8 million(approx) is taking some sort of medication they should'nt be.

Now that is not too say he will not be worth more in the future as was the case with Duff.

If his shooting and most of all his final ball improved then he would be some player.

It would be great to see him play for Wenger at Arsenal but sure Wenger has an embargo(;))against Irish or British players.

Why Wenger did not buy Given for relative buttons is beyond me but thats another story.

Junior
13/01/2010, 8:50 AM
Look Aiden has ability and I will honestly admit that when Damian Duff first started to play for Ireland I could not see his potential.

Ah but £13m should be enough money to seal a deal for Aiden to play on the moon.

Duff was playing in the premier league with Blackburn and Aiden is playing in a sadly deteriorating SPL.

Anyone that paid more than £8 million(approx) is taking some sort of medication they should'nt be.

Now that is not too say he will not be worth more in the future as was the case with Duff.

If his shooting and most of all his final ball improved then he would be some player.

It would be great to see him play for Wenger at Arsenal but sure Wenger has an embargo(;))against Irish or British players.

Why Wenger did not buy Given for relative buttons is beyond me but thats another story.

Listen, no players are worth what they go for these days but in the current market he is a £10m player. Added to that, he is only 18mths in to a 5 yr contract, 23 yrs of age and Celtic dont need to sell - then its going to be a £10m+ offer that gets him.

13/01/2010, 9:38 AM
if Aiden could shoot and his final ball delivery improved to the half way mark of his ability, he would be worth £25- 30m.

seanfhear
13/01/2010, 10:11 AM
Just out of curiousity what was the fee paid for the last big name to be bought from the SPL.

I think it would be good for Aiden to go but it would not do him any favours arriving at some club for an inflated fee and the fans expecting the next Ronaldo.

It would be great if he could get a move to one of the top clubs and eased into it against the weaker teams.

But what is the likelihood of that happening.

Some kind of fee with add ons for appearances and performances would be the best.

He has done nearly all he can do in Scotland but a lot depends on Aidens personality. Is he up for the chalenge of playing in a foreign:p country (he is already)

How could he cope if it did not work out (It could happen for many reasons)

I really hope he goes to a gret club and does well. It would leave a few posters on here and myself included with red faces and sure that would'nt be any harm.

Junior
13/01/2010, 10:30 AM
Off the top of my head.

Petrov went to Aston Villa from Celtic for £6.5m possibly rising to £8m.
Boumsong went to Newcastle from Rangers for £8m.

I am not convinced Aiden has the inner strength to deal with a move to the EPL or further afield but I hope one day it happens and he makes a success of it.

Wangball
13/01/2010, 11:58 AM
Off the top of my head.

I am not convinced Aiden has the inner strength to deal with a move to the EPL or further afield but I hope one day it happens and he makes a success of it.

Craig Gordon cost Sunderland £9million & Spurs paid the same for Alan Hutton

seanfhear
13/01/2010, 11:59 AM
Off the top of my head.

Well if somebody is willing to pay £8m for Boumsong then maybe people are right about Aiden being worth £10m or more.

Mind you the precedent of Boumsong would not encourage anyone to pay that kind of money for a player from the SPL.

Petrov has justified his fee I would say. After a shaky start.

Junior
13/01/2010, 12:40 PM
Craig Gordon cost Sunderland £9million & Spurs paid the same for Alan Hutton

Of course! How could I forget the 'white cafu' as he was modestly labelled by his knuckledragging followers on the southside of Glasgow:p

Craig Gordon = £9m. Roy Keane + Lots of available Sunderland cash = vastly inflated fee.

The Boumsong transfer was a great bit of business by Rangers. Signed on a bosman free in the summer, sold to the Geordies in January for £8m, turning out to be a dud. Bizarrely has 27 caps for France though.

Junior
13/01/2010, 12:54 PM
Petrov has justified his fee I would say. After a shaky start.

Off topic I know but.....Absolutely. Voted player of the season last year by both the fans and his fellow team mates. Captain as well now I believe.

It took him a season or so to get in to the swing of things but I think that is to be expected and he has flourished since then.

Interestingly, he scored some crackers for Celtic and was a great 'goalscoring' midfielder for us. That seems to be missing from his game these days. I know the arguments for weaker league etc.. but still....

Stats from wiki

Celtic 228apps 55gls 0.24gls per game
Villa 113apps 4gls 0.04gls per game

EAFC_rdfl
13/01/2010, 4:04 PM
Off topic I know but.....Absolutely. Voted player of the season last year by both the fans and his fellow team mates. Captain as well now I believe.

It took him a season or so to get in to the swing of things but I think that is to be expected and he has flourished since then.

Interestingly, he scored some crackers for Celtic and was a great 'goalscoring' midfielder for us. That seems to be missing from his game these days. I know the arguments for weaker league etc.. but still....

Stats from wiki

Some of it would be down to the relative roles hes playing, most of those celtic apps would have been in a 3 man midfield where lennon and lambert were happy to sit and let him go forward. Hes a lot more disciplined in the Villa side, especially with Barry gone. Hes playing a bit deeper. But he should still be scoring a bit more

Larssonisghod
14/01/2010, 11:01 AM
Just out of curiousity what was the fee paid for the last big name to be bought from the SPL.

I think it would be good for Aiden to go but it would not do him any favours arriving at some club for an inflated fee and the fans expecting the next Ronaldo.

It would be great if he could get a move to one of the top clubs and eased into it against the weaker teams.

But what is the likelihood of that happening.

Some kind of fee with add ons for appearances and performances would be the best.

He has done nearly all he can do in Scotland but a lot depends on Aidens personality. Is he up for the chalenge of playing in a foreign:p country (he is already)

How could he cope if it did not work out (It could happen for many reasons)

I really hope he goes to a gret club and does well. It would leave a few posters on here and myself included with red faces and sure that would'nt be any harm.

first post lads so be gentle but felt had to reply to this remark. Alan Hutton went to spurs for £9Mstg and Craig Gordon went to S'land for something similar. Its crazy to suggest Aiden is worth anything less. Yes, the market has softened recently but mcgeady is worth more to any team than those 2 combined.

Seanfhear - you mak a point about Aiden going to play for a "great club". Im sorry, what is a great club? He is already playing at one. If you are talking about a team as opposed to a club then for his career he may be advised to travel south. But why settle for mid-table EPL mediocrity? Celtic play plenty of tough oppostion which stands him well, that coupled with decent european football every season stands him well. There are some good footballing sides in the SPL. Agreed not the standard of the 4(or top 6) EPL teams but unless he is signed up by one of those he would be mad to leave. Matches such as B'ham v Burnely doesnt exactly set the pulse racing does it? Or a half empty DW stadium or Ewood Park? Rubbish teams and rubbish clubs with a defeatist attitude - not what he needs

I peronally hope he doesnt leave 'tic. Not just yet anyway. He's having his best season for some time and a chance could get captaincy ( or vice captain ) If a top EPL 6 comes in for him, then fine. Otherwise Aiden - stay put!!

14/01/2010, 11:28 AM
13 million is a lot of money for a wide player who cannot cross a ball.

6 or 7 million I could understand but 13 is way OTT.

seanfhear
14/01/2010, 1:43 PM
first post lads so be gentle but felt had to reply to this remark. Alan Hutton went to spurs for £9Mstg and Craig Gordon went to S'land for something similar. Its crazy to suggest Aiden is worth anything less. Yes, the market has softened recently but mcgeady is worth more to any team than those 2 combined.

Seanfhear - you mak a point about Aiden going to play for a "great club". Im sorry, what is a great club? He is already playing at one. If you are talking about a team as opposed to a club then for his career he may be advised to travel south. But why settle for mid-table EPL mediocrity? Celtic play plenty of tough oppostion which stands him well, that coupled with decent european football every season stands him well. There are some good footballing sides in the SPL. Agreed not the standard of the 4(or top 6) EPL teams but unless he is signed up by one of those he would be mad to leave. Matches such as B'ham v Burnely doesnt exactly set the pulse racing does it? Or a half empty DW stadium or Ewood Park? Rubbish teams and rubbish clubs with a defeatist attitude - not what he needs

I peronally hope he doesnt leave 'tic. Not just yet anyway. He's having his best season for some time and a chance could get captaincy ( or vice captain ) If a top EPL 6 comes in for him, then fine. Otherwise Aiden - stay put!!To be honest when ye lads show me some of the players that have been transfered from the SPL and the money then I am begining to believe that Aiden is worth £10m.

With regard to Celtic being a great club. Well they certainly were but with the state of the SPL are they now. You have to be at least in a good league to be great club (great in the present tense)

Yes if Celtic and Rangers could get into the premier league then they have the potential to be a great club in the "present"

Larssonisghod
14/01/2010, 2:32 PM
To be honest when ye lads show me some of the players that have been transfered from the SPL and the money then I am begining to believe that Aiden is worth £10m.

thats the thing. prices have been so inflated my money-men in the EPL that £10Mstg really isnt hard to believe.
what player is REALLY worth that amount of money

With regard to Celtic being a great club. Well they certainly were but with the state of the SPL are they now. You have to be at least in a good league to be great club (great in the present tense)

I have to say i disagree with that. Yes celtic cant compeat on the transfer market with the big hitters in the EPL but look at the state of some of the clubs down south. Even Man-Ure have resorted to a bond issue to try raise some cash. liverpool are in serious trouble and if any of the arab or american lads pull out well then the you know what will hit the fan. Yes, the brand of the SPL has suffered badly recently but Celtic are in fact quite financially secure with very little debt, excellent youth set up and training facilities. Still manage to appear in annual "rich list", all this without ruperts millions. I think the current state of some of the EPL teams will become more and more widespread and we might, hopefully, get our sport back!!

Yes if Celtic and Rangers could get into the premier league then they have the potential to be a great club in the "present"

I think you missed my point - Being a great club is exactly that - tradition, values, histroy, legacy. All of those things ARE what makes a great club. Buying success is exactly the opposite which i think is what you equate being a great club to. I for one would dread the day IF celtic ever leave the scottish league. They are from glasgow and winning a league title in soctland is more important to fans than selling their soul and moving south.

seanfhear
14/01/2010, 3:45 PM
]
Scotland is not big enough for Celtic and Rangers.

Its a credit too Celtic and Rangers that they have such big clubs(historical reasons) but and it is probably happening already , I am sure that a lot of young fellas in Scotland support some of the top teams in the English PL. If Rangers and Celtic are not careful they will end up like league of Ireland clubs which are second best to a lot of Irish football fans.

This may be an exaggeration for effect but there is definitely some truth in that scenario.

Larssonisghod
14/01/2010, 4:08 PM
]
Scotland is not big enough for Celtic and Rangers.

dont agree. would you say the same for Ajax, Porto etc and their respective leagues? Its not all about the EPL.

] I am sure that a lot of young fellas in Scotland support some of the top teams in the English PL.
If Rangers and Celtic are not careful they will end up like league of Ireland clubs which are second best to a lot of Irish football fans.

Dont agree. Most scottish ppl support theit scottish club. the ironic thing is, its the complete opposite. England has more celtic supporters clubs than scottish lads supporting english teams.

] his may be an exaggeration for effect but there is definitely some truth in that scenario.

i do take your point and some changes are required in the SPL to ensure its continued survival. I am certainly no supporter of the SFA but they are very pro-active in looking at far reacing restructuring programmes such as summer football, 2 tiered 18team premier league, re-amaterising some of the clubs as there are too many professional clubs in scortland. You have to remember scottish football attendance are amongst the highest in the world (per capita) and I dont think its a fair comparison with the Eircom league ( which is quite the opposite ). On the other hand the EPL has its head buried in the sand thinking this flow of foreign investment is never-ending.

14/01/2010, 4:29 PM

Stats from wiki

So he was getting bits of goals during a game

14/01/2010, 6:28 PM
I have to say i disagree with that. Yes celtic cant compeat on the transfer market with the big hitters in the EPL but look at the state of some of the clubs down south. Even Man-Ure have resorted to a bond issue to try raise some cash. liverpool are in serious trouble and if any of the arab or american lads pull out well then the you know what will hit the fan.
To be fair, Utd and Liverpool are still massively profitable clubs, much more so than Celtic is or is likely to be. The issue with both is that their current owners bought the clubs and saddled the clubs with the debt - they essentially used the clubs' own money to buy them. The Premier League will have massive questions to answer if either of those clubs becomes really hard up, because by its own rules it's not entirely clear whether the Glazers or Hicks/Gillette should have been able to take over.

Larssonisghod
15/01/2010, 8:29 AM
To be fair, Utd and Liverpool are still massively profitable clubs, much more so than Celtic is or is likely to be. The issue with both is that their current owners bought the clubs and saddled the clubs with the debt - they essentially used the clubs' own money to buy them. The Premier League will have massive questions to answer if either of those clubs becomes really hard up, because by its own rules it's not entirely clear whether the Glazers or Hicks/Gillette should have been able to take over.

point taken and actually agree with you but i honestly dont think celtic moving south is a positive thing, and as for Mcgeady - moving south just for the sake of it, is wrong. If a top club comes along, then ok. But b'ham, s'land etc would be a step down, imho.

Junior
15/01/2010, 10:43 AM
To be honest when ye lads show me some of the players that have been transfered from the SPL and the money then I am begining to believe that Aiden is worth £10m.

I forgot Carlos Cuellar as well. He went to Villa last season for £7.8m

A Great club has much more to it, than the league it plays in.

Though Scottish clubs across the board are suffering at the moment from a lack of funds, driven by media revenue/ tv exposure and the current economic cycle. This filters its way down to poorer quality on the park and attendances at the stadiums. Unfortunatley.:(

Larssonisghod
15/01/2010, 12:10 PM
A Great club has much more to it, than the league it plays in.

Though Scottish clubs across the board are suffering at the moment from a lack of funds, driven by media revenue/ tv exposure and the current economic cycle. This filters its way down to poorer quality on the park and attendances at the stadiums. Unfortunatley.:(

some folks regretably believe the sky and "so called irish" press hype here that they think that the EPL is the be-all and end all of football. as i previously said in this fred - football has lost its soul. Hopefully though, we might get our sport back!

15/01/2010, 2:14 PM
telegraph say briminghim are tabling a bid of £14mil for him. Looks like it could be done by monday.

Junior
15/01/2010, 2:29 PM
telegraph say briminghim are tabling a bid of £14mil for him. Looks like it could be done by monday.

RTE says £8m?? (per the other forum - feedposter)Which would be a bit weird seeing as a £10m bid was knocked back last week.:confused:

£14m would be too hard for Celtic to say no to.

15/01/2010, 2:45 PM
ya but mowbray then said he doesn't need it, that celtic aren't dictated by the need to sell.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/scottishpremier/celtic/6991334/Birmingham-City-to-offer-Celtic-14m-for-Republic-of-Ireland-winger-Aiden-McGeady.html

Junior
15/01/2010, 3:53 PM
ya but mowbray then said he doesn't need it, that celtic aren't dictated by the need to sell.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/scottishpremier/celtic/6991334/Birmingham-City-to-offer-Celtic-14m-for-Republic-of-Ireland-winger-Aiden-McGeady.html

We dont need to sell but £14m would be difficult (perhaps downright stupid) to turn down.

I love watching him at Celtic but appreciate that he will need to move on at some stage to develop further and who knows what Premiership clubs will be offering for the 'McGeadys' of this world in a year or twos time - Id say its a fair chance it will be much less rather than much more than £14m......

15/01/2010, 5:22 PM
A £14m package might even get the Keane to Celtic rumour (episode 10) up and running.
What are the odds that Birmingham are trying to offload McSheffrey in the package?
When you have a look at EPL club finances, there appears to be only one club (Birmingham) who can actually afford to make a bid.
Liverpool could use McGeady but I guess they have a bigger financial fish to fry, servicing a £450m debt with no surplus income.

boovidge
15/01/2010, 5:44 PM
I don't know much about Celtic but they seem to have a few good young wingers at the club that could fill McGeady's shoes. 14m would give them a massive advantage over Rangers.

Larssonisghod
15/01/2010, 6:50 PM
I don't know much about Celtic but they seem to have a few good young wingers at the club that could fill McGeady's shoes. 14m would give them a massive advantage over Rangers.

£14mil is a fair price i think but really hope he doesnt go to birmingham., Just hope he McGeady (and celtic)dont get blinded by the cash...

altho big eck does knows him well, should know how to best utilise his skill. good irish contingent there currently too which should help

WexCar
15/01/2010, 9:28 PM
At the end of the day the EPL is a different kettle of fish to the SPL. I wouldn't mind seeing McGeady go to Birmingham. Its about the bigger picture and he would need to prove himself in the EPL and if he goes there and plays well for 12/18 months a better club will come along.

While I wouldn't mind him signing for Birmingham, personally I'd prefer to see him go to a Spanish or German club.

Larssonisghod
15/01/2010, 11:45 PM
McGeady is a one trick pony

here, fishy fishy

Irish_Praha
15/01/2010, 11:51 PM

which trick is the one you are speaking of?

I'd say he's more of a 5 trick pony with little end product.
Who knows maybe a move the th EPL will help improve this aspect of his game.

irishfan86
15/01/2010, 11:56 PM

Hilarious coming from you. :D

irishultra
16/01/2010, 3:05 PM
mcgeady is ok, i like him, but moving to birmingham is a bit uninspiring. I guess it's good coz he will be playing in a different environment and more likely to see him on highlights but i expected more. cant believe anyone would invest so much for him. he's decent but that would be a rip off.

Razors left peg
16/01/2010, 4:46 PM
mcgeady is ok, i like him, but moving to birmingham is a bit uninspiring. I guess it's good coz he will be playing in a different environment and more likely to see him on highlights but i expected more. cant believe anyone would invest so much for him. he's decent but that would be a rip off.

When Nani cost 17million, anything less than that would be a bargan for McGeady :)

16/01/2010, 5:28 PM
I only keep a passing interest in Celtic, watching their odd game but they seem to be going backwards under Mowbray??? Rangers are well clear now with a very very average looking team. Cant see McG getting much CL football with Celtic at this rate.

16/01/2010, 9:31 PM
Nani has much more skill than McGeady but no way worth 17mil but better than than the one trick pony. Like Nani Mcgeady was over hyped.

what has Aiden's paternal granny got to do with anything?

Irish_Praha
16/01/2010, 10:46 PM
what has aiden's paternal granny got to do with anything?

lol :D

irishultra
17/01/2010, 9:52 PM
what has Aiden's paternal granny got to do with anything?

damn this forum cracks me up at times. lmao

The Fly
18/01/2010, 3:36 AM
I take it Yapster's a troll then? :rolleyes:

18/01/2010, 8:33 PM
Just as expected, Celtic assistant manager states the obvious, as reported by the
BBC (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/8466381.stm)

"Every footballer has a price, I would suggest at any club," said Venus.
"So it would be folly of me to sit here and say that there's no way Aiden McGeady's leaving. But I would suggest it would probably take a lot of money."
McGeady is being tracked by a number of clubs in England and abroad, with Birmingham City being one known to have made a firm inquiry.
Blues manager Alex McLeish is thought to be considering a fresh move for McGeady, with Celtic likely to be looking for about £10m.

19/01/2010, 7:52 AM
It sounded like a COME AND GET HIM statement to me.

19/01/2010, 9:28 AM
and as for Mcgeady - moving south just for the sake of it, is wrong. If a top club comes along, then ok. But b'ham, s'land etc would be a step down, imho.
Maybe the club he'd be playing for would be a step down, but the clubs he'd be testing himself against would certainly be a step up.

Personally whether Celtic win or lose every game means nothing to me, I'm only interested in how McGeady does for Ireland. I think a move to a league which sees him up against better players would do something to show us his true level.

rebelmusic
19/01/2010, 10:35 AM
A move to Birmingham is a step up imo. So he wont play in the champions league for a while. He'll be up against decent oppositon most weekends and will have to up his game to get his place. At the mo he walks into the celtic side, don't think the same would happen in brum if he wasn't playing well.

Murfinator
19/01/2010, 12:15 PM
The champions league was the only platform for Aidean to really test himself at Celtic and with the new qualifying rules and Celtic no longer assured of winning the SPL every year I don't think he can bank on getting that every year.

as_i_say
19/01/2010, 12:20 PM

Agreed re price tag, but when we still see clubs spending 25m on donkeys like joleon (rubbish name as well) lescott then inflated player prices are still alive and well in the soon to be bankrupt Premier League.

Leeside Swagger
19/01/2010, 1:37 PM
He's not worth anything near 10mil imo, I would say about 5mil would be more realistic. The Premier League will be a massive step up for him, Its going to be sink or swim for Aiden.
I hope im wrong but I can see him back on loan in Scotland within a year or two.

Re: Comparing his valuation to the crazy money spent on Lescott etc, Man City are competing in a different market to Birmingham, its completely skewed by the blank cheque they have at their disposal and Everton didnt want to sell him so they had to pay a premium.

19/01/2010, 1:46 PM
Re: Comparing his valuation to the crazy money spent on Lescott etc, Man City are competing in a different market to Birmingham, its completely skewed by the blank cheque they have at their disposal and Everton didnt want to sell him so they had to pay a premium.
True, but comparing him to the transfers of the better players from the SPL over the last few seasons (Craig Gordon, Alan Hutton, etc) gives a better idea of the cost of buying the top players from the SPL.
Whether or not he's worth £10million+ is a different argument to what he'll cost to buy

As a different example, is Shay Given really worth 6 million? Probably double that and you're closer to his true value, but that's what Newcastle were willing to sell him for.

Brendan 82
19/01/2010, 1:57 PM
I think the whole concept of "worth" can be thrown out the window. What matters is how much it will cost to buy him, eloquently described by numerous posters above.