View Full Version : Aiden McGeady
seanfhear
25/01/2009, 11:34 AM
Its a bit disappointing that there have been no(public) inquiries about Aiden considering that he probably would be sold for a reasonable price.
25/01/2009, 11:56 AM
No harm for McGeady's prospects to have worked his way back into the team, put all the controversy behind him, regain his form and see what the options are in the summer. So far, Strachan has not frozen him out of the first team and surely if he is deemed good enough there will be more interested clubs in the summer time.
co. down green
25/01/2009, 3:53 PM
Maybe the war is over!
Strachan on McGeady's display yesterday (http://sport.scotsman.com/celticfc/Strachan-singles-out-terrific-McGeady.4911137.jp).
"Aiden was terrific," he said. "Absolutely terrific. As an individual he was outstanding."
25/01/2009, 7:50 PM
Nice bit of skill from yesterday:
http://www.zshare.net/video/546560066d867c9d/
irishfan86
28/01/2009, 8:00 PM
Probably his best game this season I'd say. Hopefully he kicks on now and has a great second half, and translates some of that form over to international duty.
Disappointing to see O'Dea left on the bench, even after McManus got injured (Loovens came on).
So much for the right footed, left footed thing...
28/01/2009, 8:02 PM
Willo Flood playing as well, how's he doing?
Crosby87
28/01/2009, 8:02 PM
today?
Junior
28/01/2009, 9:34 PM
Willo Flood playing as well, how's he doing?
Flood had a great game, scored his peno in the shoutout as well.
McGeady had a very average game. In fairness the surface at Hampden was shocking and not great for any player who likes to run and dribble with the ball. He was substituted in the 2nd half.....
Its currently 10-10 on penalties both keepers just scored there.....
Junior
28/01/2009, 9:34 PM
McGeady had a very average game. In fairness the surface at Hampden was shocking and not great for any player who likes to run and dribble with the ball. He was substitted in the 2nd half.....
Flood just missed his second pen....
and Mcdonald scores the winning pen for celtic........ Rangers in the final 15th March.
Back to Flood. I thought he was excellent, loads of energy, created a few chances, some good defending as well. He was really out to prove himself to Strachan I think and certainly wont have done his chances of a move any harm at all.
I feel for Dundee Utd tho, just not sure how much he would feature in Celtics first 11.
28/01/2009, 10:26 PM
That was the worst I've seen McGeady in a long time. Pitch didn't do him any favours but it didn't seem to bother judge.
Scram
31/01/2009, 12:49 PM
:D Indeed!! I think you put the mockers on him! The way some of the reporting is going re. his move to Celtic, they are nearly questioning his penalty miss. Anything for a bit of controversy.
Junior
01/02/2009, 6:48 AM
I know!!you get that used to penalty shoot outs finishing 3-2 or the likes, never for a minute did I think theyd go to 2nd penos.....probably should have waited though to post!!!
Dr. Ogba
01/02/2009, 2:45 PM
McGeady looking very good today against Inverness, hope he carries that form on to the Georgia match....
Junior
01/02/2009, 3:53 PM
Celtics most creative player by a mile. Put in a least half a dozen balls just dying for someone to poke it in to goal. Unfortunately it wasnt to be today for Celtic. Looking good for the Georgia game. Celtic v Rangers on the following Sunday - So I hope no 'injuries' occur in training or next weekend.
01/02/2009, 4:22 PM
I don't know, I didn't think McGeady was great today. Obviously I'm looking for different things from him. Of course the whole team was poor though. I thought it was an easy game for McGeady. They backed off him a lot but he was very predictable. He should be scoring a goal in those types of games. He crosses way too often when he has the ability to get himself into the box and play a pass or shot.
Junior
01/02/2009, 4:37 PM
I don't know, I didn't think McGeady was great today. Obviously I'm looking for different things from him. Of course the whole team was poor though. I thought it was an easy game for McGeady. They backed off him a lot but he was very predictable. He should be scoring a goal in those types of games. He crosses way too often when he has the ability to get himself into the box and play a pass or shot.
Dont disagree with that. I dont think my comments contradict it, more a reflection on the rest of the team. His goalscoring and shooting in general need a lot of work.......
01/02/2009, 4:39 PM
Yeh I suppose. I'd still probably give him Celtic's motm but it's all relative.
13/02/2009, 9:53 AM
"After the first half, I said to him 'believe in yourself, believe in yourself, believe in yourself'. With more confidence he has the chance to grow. He needs encouragement because he is a sensitive player. His potential he very great and he has the quality that only two or three players in Europe have."
I think that says it all about how much McGeady needs our cheers rather than groans.
EAFC_rdfl
13/02/2009, 10:00 AM
"After the first half, I said to him 'believe in yourself, believe in yourself, believe in yourself'. With more confidence he has the chance to grow. He needs encouragement because he is a sensitive player. His potential he very great and he has the quality that only two or three players in Europe have."
I think that says it all about how much McGeady needs our cheers rather than groans.
exactly. If only Strachan would take this on board too, he seems very reluctant to ever give mcGeady the praise that some of his performances deserve. Hopefully the biggest majority of the Irish fans who had doubts about him are starting to appreciate how much he now brings to the team
Junior
13/02/2009, 12:13 PM
exactly. If only Strachan would take this on board too, he seems very reluctant to ever give mcGeady the praise that some of his performances deserve. Hopefully the biggest majority of the Irish fans who had doubts about him are starting to appreciate how much he now brings to the team
Im no Strachan lover but he did recently single out McGeady for praise, hopefully he is changing his approach after their recent bust up.
HE DIDN'T exactly labour the point but Gordon Strachan broke a habit of a lifetime and had some warm words of praise yesterday for Aiden McGeady. Previously, the manager has been painfully slow to single out his winger for special mention, normally uttering some perfunctory stuff regardless of the brilliance McGeady may have displayed. Last night was a little different.
http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/celticfc/Strachan-singles-out-39terrific39-McGeady.4911137.jp
Great 2nd half from Aiden on Weds....please god he takes that form in to the Bulgaria game.
Razors left peg
13/02/2009, 1:12 PM
I remember when Damien Duff came on the scene for Ireland he was very inconsistant and I think Mick McCarthy used him as a sub alot. But then there was one game, I think it was against Portugal, where Duffer was fantastic and he never looked back from that. He became undroppable in the team and his confidence was sky high.Im really hoping that Aidens performance on Wednesday is something like that. Im with Eirebhoy in thinking that he has been good in general for us recently but wednesday night he was outstanding and looked like a lad oozing with the confidence of knowing he could beat his man every time he got the ball. I just hope that it is a similar situation to Duffer and that he now kicks on to be one of most important players for us for years to come
great post - i was going to post something very similar and i think the Duff comparisons are valid. Duff was inconsistent and ineffective in his first 15-20 games for us but, as you said, after that one game (was it not Croatia or someone away?) he never looked back.
Great post.
BigmanCas
13/02/2009, 4:08 PM
great post - i was going to post something very similar and i think the Duff comparisons are valid. Duff was inconsistent and ineffective in his first 15-20 games for us but, as you said, after that one game (was it not Croatia or someone away?) he never looked back.
Great post.
I agree with everything. Well done
15/03/2009, 2:33 PM
Seems to be playing well today from waht I can see.
15/03/2009, 4:33 PM
He wins the penalty and then scores a grerat peno. Fair play
15/03/2009, 4:36 PM
He had a very good game alright.
In the most part but still ran up many blind alleys!
I think a lot of the problem is that the puts in huge effort and is knackered for the final ball!
ken foree
16/03/2009, 3:01 PM
In the most part but still ran up many blind alleys!
I think a lot of the problem is that the puts in huge effort and is knackered for the final ball!
interesting. i think the best dribblers have always modulated their speed, i.e. they slow down, show the full-back the ball, and accelerate away with drop of the shoulder, or turn, etc. zidane a perfect example. and kaka is a master at this too, he makes space with a good first touch, and shows the defender one direction with his shoulder, then accelerates away into the open space in the other direction. mcgeady does seem to operate at one (albeit very high) speed. ronaldo is similar, very upright and reliant upon pure pace rather than shoulder/body swerves of the giggs/g. best type.
Junior
16/03/2009, 3:07 PM
interesting. i think the best dribblers have always modulated their speed, i.e. they slow down, show the full-back the ball, and accelerate away with drop of the shoulder, or turn, etc. zidane a perfect example. and kaka is a master at this too, he makes space with a good first touch, and shows the defender one direction with his shoulder, then accelerates away into the open space in the other direction. mcgeady does seem to operate at one (albeit very high) speed. ronaldo is similar, very upright and reliant upon pure pace rather than shoulder/body swerves of the giggs/g. best type.
Disagree - McGeady is not that fast. certainly when compared to the likes of Ronaldo, more often than not in the SPL he will be tackled or the defender will make a block if he trys to go by them with speed. Im not saying hes slow but he is not electric. Its his tricky feet and great ball control that generally leave the fullbacks flumaxed or on their arses that allows him to get a cross/shot in. IMO.
EAFC_rdfl
16/03/2009, 3:35 PM
must have been some kind of shoulder/body swerve here!
ken foree
16/03/2009, 4:15 PM
well junior he's not that fast okay, he seems quick to me but anyway the point is rarely have i seen him "show" the defender the ball and then skin him, it's often his one-speed tricks as you say, his infamous cruyff-turn/dribble or stepovers.
16/03/2009, 5:20 PM
I'd still like to see McGeady take the ball at speed more. His preference has always seemed to be to take it standing, show the ball and do some trickery to make space and then he has a limited amount of time to do something. Being quick off the mark is the key here. However he looked to show a good turn of pace to get past Broadfoot for the penalty. I'd say he's quick enough to trouble most good defenders (I'm not saying anything about Broadfoot in this regard) but he clearly doesn't have a Walcott / Lennon / Young burst.
I think he's becoming an increasingly accomplished player and he looks like he's prepared to shoot more regularly. I thought he deserved better forwards than he was serving yesterday, or at least better performances.
Brendan 82
16/03/2009, 6:04 PM
Indeed. Pete Sampras should stick to tennis. He was desperate yesterday
Junior
16/03/2009, 8:07 PM
However he looked to show a good turn of pace to get past Broadfoot for the penalty. I'd say he's quick enough to trouble most good defenders (I'm not saying anything about Broadfoot in this regard) but he clearly doesn't have a Walcott / Lennon / Young burst.
I think he's becoming an increasingly accomplished player and he looks like he's prepared to shoot more regularly. I thought he deserved better forwards than he was serving yesterday, or at least better performances.
Some of his final balls werent great yesterday but Samaras was woeful when he came on, Mcdonald was his usual industrious self but against Weir and McGeady it was going to have to be something special to allow him to beat them in air, and Mcgeady himself was playing in a strikers role of sorts for the first half - so there werent any real benefactors of his good work.
Broadfoot - well where do I begin.....there is hope for us all yet..grey haired midthirtyism and beer belly will no longer be an excuse for anyone if this neanderthal can play professional football!! I thought Rangers looked dead on their feet in ET, McGeady showed great stamina and fitness to go on that run in the 120th minute and I was even more pleased with the singlemindeness to get the ball and stick the penalty in the back of the net (I havent seen him take a spot kick for us before that I can remember)
17/03/2009, 2:22 AM
I actually thought McGeady could have been much better yesterday. Again I'm looking for something like the performance in Old Trafford or the Nou Camp. A proper playmaking, intelligent role. Yesterday he really should have laid on a couple of goals. His ball for Brown was very poor. I'm being very harsh but he just has an instinct to cross the ball when it's not needed. A simple pass across the ground to McDonald and Brown could have set up 2 goals. Instead he played 2 crosses which resulted in first time snapped shots over the bar.
Scram
18/03/2009, 11:57 AM
And given that the final ball is the most important part! McGeady should look at some tapes of himself and compare to Zidane etc. and see when he needs to stop, look, listen, think and pass!
22/03/2009, 11:49 AM
Bayern Munich tracking McGeady according to some reports this morning.
from http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5085024,00.html
Trapattoni told the Scottish Daily Mail: "They asked me what I think about McGeady because they have followed him.
"They wanted to know my opinion and I said McGeady is one of our most important players."
With Ribery expected to leave this summer, McGeady could be his replacement. Would be some move.
Who is the last Irish international to play in the Bundesliga? I honestly have no idea.
Wexford Delboy
22/03/2009, 12:05 PM
was it patrick kholmann?(or was he just in the lower leagues?)
Irish_Praha
22/03/2009, 12:26 PM
was it patrick kholmann?(or was he just in the lower leagues?)
You could be right. He made one first team appearance for Dortmund in 2004 and was sometimes an unused sub. All his other games have been in the 2nd and 3rd league.
Back to McGeady, I would love for that move to come off. If it was a success it might encourage a few others to play in Germany. I think quite a few Irish players playing for top sides in the Championship or poor Premership sides would do quite well in the BL. Maybe even some of the young players would eventually consider starting out with a BL team if they had some Irish players in the squad. The language and cultural barrier would not be so big as for a young fella to move to Italy or Spain. Most educated people can speak good English in Germany and there is a decent-sized Irish community in most large cities.
irishultra
22/03/2009, 12:46 PM
You could be right. He made one first team appearance for Dortmund in 2004 and was sometimes an unused sub. All his other games have been in the 2nd and 3rd league.
Back to McGeady, I would love for that move to come off. If it was a success it might encourage a few others to play in Germany. I think quite a few Irish players playing for top sides in the Championship or poor Premership sides would do quite well in the BL. Maybe even some of the young players would eventually consider starting out with a BL team if they had some Irish players in the squad. The language and cultural barrier would not be so big as for a young fella to move to Italy or Spain. Most educated people can speak good English in Germany and there is a decent-sized Irish community in most large cities.
I agree. tbh if i was good enough i'd aspire to play in bundesliga...just the crowds would draw me there...i hope he joins bayern...i'd love if more middle rate players played there
Buller
22/03/2009, 5:42 PM
I agree. tbh if i was good enough i'd aspire to play in bundesliga...just the crowds would draw me there...
Is that you David Connolly?
The BL is no walk in the park. The standard of football is v. good over there and I dont think many Championship/lower EPL players would get there game at any of the top half BL sides...
Razors left peg
22/03/2009, 5:50 PM
Hes definately good enough for Bayern in my opinion and I think being surrounded by better players every week will bring his game on to the next level
22/03/2009, 7:32 PM
...Who is the last Irish international to play in the Bundesliga? I honestly have no idea.
Think it might have been Noel Campbell who got 11 caps back in the 70's between 1971 and 1977. He played for Fortuna Cologne in the Bundesliga in 1973/74.
Ribery to United, Ronaldo to Real Madrid and Mc Geady to Bayern this summer?
The Fly
23/03/2009, 4:45 AM
Ribery to United, Ronaldo to Real Madrid and Mc Geady to Bayern this summer?
Possibly, though I think it's increasingly likely that the whole 'Ronaldo to Real Madrid saga' is dead.
23/03/2009, 11:56 AM
Just as an aside I think the Bundesliga is a great league from what I see of it. I don't have Setanta so don't see it regularly but it has good players, good technique, a competitive league that usually goes down to the wire with different teams challenging, great stadia - proper football grounds but fully modern as well, and a real fan culture.
23/03/2009, 1:31 PM
Think it might have been Noel Campbell who got 11 caps back in the 70's between 1971 and 1977. He played for Fortuna Cologne in the Bundesliga in 1973/74.
He was a few years in Cologne. He was sent off in Sofia in 1977 after a mass brawl. 4 sent off that day.
but he would have smelt great.
Originally Posted by gspain
but he would have smelt great.
:D At least he didn't stink at the brawl in Mass.
Irish_Praha
23/03/2009, 9:08 PM
Is that you David Connolly?
The BL is no walk in the park. The standard of football is v. good over there and I dont think many Championship/lower EPL players would get there game at any of the top half BL sides...
I wasn't trying to belittle the BL I was just trying to say that if the likes of McGeady moved there and was a success it might open a few other players eyes to this option. There are defo some players who would get on well in the BL. I can't ever see it happening but it would be great to see a 1/4 to a 1/3 of Irish players playing outside of Britain and Ireland. By this I mean young lads being scouted by clubs on the continent. However, the cultural differences appear to be too great compared to moving to England or Scotland. The fact that there's more money to be earned in the UK is probably also a factor.