View Full Version : Aiden McGeady
Billsthoughts
02/05/2008, 1:06 PM
Cardiff are in the Cup Final so therefore they must be better than every other team in it. By your logic. :rolleyes: And Stuttgart88 said much the same thing. Why not qoute his post?
youngirish
02/05/2008, 1:26 PM
eh, have a look at celtics recent record in euro competition against english teams and come back to us if you stand by that claim
also, how many of the english teams in the uefa cup got to the final this year and how many scottish?
usual anti SPL V EPL propaganda
Yeah good one. How many SPL teams made it to the semi-finals of the Champions League again? Let's put it this way every English team in the Champions League did better than Celtic and that's usually the case every year.
Aren't Rangers only in the UEFA Cup again because they weren't good enough to progress through the qualification stages of the Chamoions League? The Uefa Cup is the Carling Cup of Europe. Even Bolton didn't take it seriously, they'd probably have won it if they did.
The SPL is a rubbish league just have a look at the quality of players that ply their trade in it. Even the outstanding players in the SPL (Petrov, Maloney) are at best average EPL footballers. The good players often are shown to be Championship standard only.
02/05/2008, 2:39 PM
Yeah good one. How many SPL teams made it to the semi-finals of the Champions League again? Let's put it this way every English team in the Champions League did better than Celtic and that's usually the case every year.
Aren't Rangers only in the UEFA Cup again because they weren't good enough to progress through the qualification stages of the Chamoions League? The Uefa Cup is the Carling Cup of Europe. Even Bolton didn't take it seriously, they'd probably have won it if they did.
The SPL is a rubbish league just have a look at the quality of players that ply their trade in it. Even the outstanding players in the SPL (Petrov, Maloney) are at best average EPL footballers. The good players often are shown to be Championship standard only.
the comparison being made by billsthoughts was "An also ran EPL team would still be a few steps up from Scotlands second team". there was no reference to the the huge spending top of the table EPL teams who reached the champions lge semis. only a fool would say that the top scottish clubs are as the top EPL teams but they are at least on a par with most of the others.
maloney was never seen as "an outstanding" SPL player. sure he left celtic due to lack of opportunity to play there
02/05/2008, 2:43 PM
Cardiff are in the Cup Final so therefore they must be better than every other team in it. By your logic. :rolleyes: And Stuttgart88 said much the same thing. Why not qoute his post?
not at all. all it means is that they are better than the teams they beat. by beating man utd, blackburn and liverpool in european football over the last few years celtic have shown that they can / could live with much of the EPL. different thing entirely
Pike B
02/05/2008, 2:57 PM
He will stay at Celtic for another season and will then move to a top four premiership club. Mark my words!!!!!
Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal or Liverpool wouldn't touch him. Your dillusional.
Billsthoughts
02/05/2008, 3:04 PM
. only a fool would say that the top scottish clubs are as the top EPL teams but they are at least on a par with most of the others.
not at all. all it means is that they are better than the teams they beat. by beating man utd, blackburn and liverpool in european football over the last few years celtic have shown that they can / could live with much of the EPL. different thing entirely
contradicting yourself there?
Easy get your team up for one off games. Which was my point. Doubt they would do it on a consistant basis. They dont have the financial muscle to compete with any of even the second tier of English clubs. They dont even have the financial clout that sunderland who narrowly missed out on relegation would have. Would be interesting to see what a few years of mid table mediocrity (at best) in the premiership would do for a support raised on regularly competing for honours.
jmurphyc
02/05/2008, 3:10 PM
I agree that the UEFA Cup is generally an afterthought for most teams who are looking to progress to aq high level but it can act as the catalyst for greater things sometimes and to say Bolton would have won it had they wanted to is ridiculous. Everton and Tottenham who have far more talented players than Bolton both went out, and they were both taking it quite seriously and did their best to win their ties. Bolton took a 0-0 draw to Lisbon before fielding a weakened side, so they might not have even got past that round with their full team. The UEFA Cup can be an important competition for the lesser lights of the bigger nations and for the second tier of nations in Europe.
irishfan86
02/05/2008, 3:44 PM
contradicting yourself there?
Easy get your team up for one off games. Which was my point. Doubt they would do it on a consistant basis. They dont have the financial muscle to compete with any of even the second tier of English clubs. They dont even have the financial clout that sunderland who narrowly missed out on relegation would have. Would be interesting to see what a few years of mid table mediocrity (at best) in the premiership would do for a support raised on regularly competing for honours.
The reason they are financially worse off than many Premier League teams is TV rights.
As a result of TV rights, the Scottish Champions receive around a million pounds for winning the league. In the Premiership, the team that places last receives 20 million pounds...
A few years in the Premiership with that kind of money, and their massive home crowds, and they'd be one of the richest clubs in Europe.
Razors left peg
02/05/2008, 4:01 PM
Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal or Liverpool wouldn't touch him. Your dillusional.
Why????
Do you think Eboue, Pennant,Benayoun,Park, Nani,Kalou are all that much better than McGeady?
Speakthetruth
02/05/2008, 4:04 PM
Do you think Eboue, Pennant,Benayoun,Park, Nani,Kalou are all that much better than McGeady?
You're forgeting that most potent of right wingers, Dirk Kuyt! McGeady wouldnt be fit to lace his clogs, or I mean boots...
Pike B
02/05/2008, 4:05 PM
Why????
Yes, yes I do.
Razors left peg
02/05/2008, 4:32 PM
Yes, yes I do.
Well I think most people would disagree with you
Pike B
02/05/2008, 4:36 PM
Well I think most people would disagree with you
Based on what I've seen in Ireland games and a dozen or so games with Celtic I can see him in the Premiership alright, but to say top 4 teams will sign him is wishful thinking. More likely Villa, Blackburn or Newcastle.
Razors left peg
02/05/2008, 4:42 PM
Based on what I've seen in Ireland games and a dozen or so games with Celtic I can see him in the Premiership alright, but to say top 4 teams will sign him is wishful thinking. More likely Villa, Blackburn or Newcastle.
Out of the top 4 teams I think Liverpool would be probably the most realistic option at the moment.They go between Kuyt, Babel, Pennant and Benayoun for the 2 wing positions and I think they are crying out for a player like McGeady,I personally think hes better than all 4 of those players
Pike B
02/05/2008, 4:51 PM
Out of the top 4 teams I think Liverpool would be probably the most realistic option at the moment.They go between Kuyt, Babel, Pennant and Benayoun for the 2 wing positions and I think they are crying out for a player like McGeady,I personally think hes better than all 4 of those players
Intresting point, and as a Liverpool fan I've seen a lot of those players you mentioned. I'd put him level with Pennant, but poorer than Babel and Benayoun. Kuyt is not an actual winger and it's not fair to compare them to each other. We almost signed Duff awhile back and didn't. McGeady isn't better than Duff was back then so again, I don't see us signing him. Just my opinion.
Razors left peg
02/05/2008, 4:57 PM
Intresting point, and as a Liverpool fan I've seen a lot of those players you mentioned. I'd put him level with Pennant, but poorer than Babel and Benayoun. Kuyt is not an actual winger and it's not fair to compare them to each other. We almost signed Duff awhile back and didn't. McGeady isn't better than Duff was back then so again, I don't see us signing him. Just my opinion.
I know Kuyt isnt a winger but Liverpool play him there alot so there is a fair chance that they will be trying to buy a regular winger for that position. McGeadys performances in the last couple of seasons in the champions league and winning the player of the year award in Scotland this season would put him high on the list of candidates I think
Pike B
02/05/2008, 5:00 PM
I know Kuyt isnt a winger but Liverpool play him there alot so there is a fair chance that they will be trying to buy a regular winger for that position. McGeadys performances in the last couple of seasons in the champions league and winning the player of the year award in Scotland this season would put him high on the list of candidates I think
Hey, if we sign him great. I would love an Irishman to sign for us, it's been awhile since we had a few in our squad. The fact remains for me though, I just can't see it happening. I don't think he is held in high enough regard in England, or Europe for that matter. But who knows.
Razors left peg
02/05/2008, 5:04 PM
Hey, if we sign him great. I would love an Irishman to sign for us, it's been awhile since we had a few in our squad. The fact remains for me though, I just can't see it happening. I don't think he is held in high enough regard in England, or Europe for that matter. But who knows.
I actually think he will stay at Celtic this summer but after that I wouldnt rule it out that he could go to a top club, he definately has the talent
Pike B
02/05/2008, 5:05 PM
I actually think he will stay at Celtic this summer but after that I wouldnt rule it out that he could go to a top club, he definately has the talent
For Ireland's World Cup qualifiying sake, I hope your right!! We need a new hero..
Razors left peg
02/05/2008, 5:06 PM
For Ireland's World Cup qualifiying sake, I hope your right!! We need a new hero..
Think we can both agree on that!
dr_peepee
02/05/2008, 5:29 PM
makes little sense for either newcastle or sunderland to buy him, neither of them need a left winger. newcastle have duff and nzogbia. sunderland spend a fortune on richardson last summer. its crap based on keegan living in glasgow (he didnt go to any celtic games during that time) and keane being irish. i can see him ending up at spurs if they dont get capel.
Richardson hasn't been used as a wideman as such. Keane plays a 4-3-3/4-5-1 formation and he doesn't play Richardson flanking Jones in the way that McGeady would be used... That said I can't see him going to Sunderland.
02/05/2008, 8:08 PM
The Herald got some interesting quotes from Trap this morning. He said that after watching the DVD's of Ireland games, McGeady is the player that impressed him the most. The main reason he gave was because he was young and determined. He said he was an old fashioned player. I came on the internet (which is rare for me these days) expecting to find the quotes but maybe someone could post them?
/edit, he gets asked the same question in the last part of this interview:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHzHTeVgK1s
He names the players he already knew about and said that the surprise was McGeady. Pity he's now out of the training camp and Serbia game after Rangers winning last night. He said a couple of months ago that he'd pull out of the Celtic squad if they had a post season friendly in Japan because he wanted to play join up with the Ireland squad.
Billsthoughts
03/05/2008, 8:06 PM
A few years in the Premiership with that kind of money, and their massive home crowds, and they'd be one of the richest clubs in Europe.
ha ha
04/05/2008, 7:45 PM
ha ha
In terms of income Celtic would certainly be in the top 10 clubs in Europe after a season in the premiership.
04/05/2008, 8:14 PM
In terms of income Celtic would certainly be in the top 10 clubs in Europe after a season in the premiership.
:confused: Cork City would be loaded if we managed to get a franchise for it too. So would Forrest Green. Top 10? I don't know about that. What would they do without the Champions League?
04/05/2008, 8:58 PM
:confused: Cork City would be loaded if we managed to get a franchise for it too.
I thought Billsthoughts was laughing because he thinks what irishfan86 said is false. Maybe he's laughing because irishfan86 is stating the obvious.
What would they do without the Champions League?
The winners of the SPL get £2m in prize money (includes TV money). £35m is the minimum a premiership team can get from TV money alone afaik. Spurs get £8.5m a year from Mansion sponsorship. Celtic get £3.6m a year from Carling. Ticket prices/demand would go up, etc, etc.
eekers
04/05/2008, 8:59 PM
why do want celtic to join the premier league? to flush after all their tradition and hertiage for some big bucks and the chance to watch them play united on grand slam sunday.
Yippee Celtic being one of the richest 10 clubs in Europe if that happened but they wouldnt be allowed to qualify for europe thought the english route no doubt. and theyd need both the premiership and the champions league money to compete with united and chelsea anyway no doubt.
its never gonna happen anyway
04/05/2008, 9:02 PM
I'm just replying to Billsthoughts "ha ha" comment. Nothing more. I don't think Bill realises that he has an anti-Celtic bias. ;)
Billsthoughts
06/05/2008, 8:28 AM
I'm just replying to Billsthoughts "ha ha" comment. Nothing more. I don't think Bill realises that he has an anti-Celtic bias. ;)
I dont have an anti celtic bias. I dont know where you think they would be one of the richest clubs in the premiership. They have exploited all potential support as is and wouldnt get much support outside of their current base. Look at Newcastle ,Man City or Leeds. All big clubs with big support. None of whom are dominating the premiership. Two of whom have big money backing. My HAHA was just laughing at the delusional nature of some of their fans. Fact is they are hard pushed to win a league were their resources far outstrip all the other teams bar one.
06/05/2008, 9:35 AM
Fact is they are hard pushed to win a league were their resources far outstrip all the other teams bar one.
Which goes to prove that the 2 teams with the financial resources in that league get to play for the prizes. What is the point here?
Who cares what anyones opinions are about delusional Celtic fans or anyones opinions about how good the club they follow is, whatever it is called.
If a player is good enough then he will adapt to playing on the Irish team.
McGeady is certainly playing at a high enough league standard of coaching and games, that if he is good enough he can play a part in the Irish team and if not then he will be a 10 minute sub in some games.
Any Irish fan would want him to succeed.
06/05/2008, 11:55 AM
I dont have an anti celtic bias. I dont know where you think they would be one of the richest clubs in the premiership. They have exploited all potential support as is and wouldnt get much support outside of their current base.
What's the current base? Celtic fans are everywhere. An estimated 80,000 Celtic fans went to Seville for the UEFA cup final. Anyway, I'm way off topic..
Billsthoughts
06/05/2008, 12:39 PM
Who cares what anyones opinions are about delusional Celtic fans or anyones opinions about how good the club they follow is, whatever it is called.
You obviously if you felt the need to reply.
Billsthoughts
06/05/2008, 1:50 PM
Ya better not look here EB if you think I have "anti Celtic bias"
http://www.saintsforum.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2714
06/05/2008, 4:38 PM
You obviously if you felt the need to reply.
I care that he performs well in an Irish shirt first and foremost.
Do you?
If you don't think he is up to it, then fine, time will tell.
I want him to play well like any Ireland fan who wants him to play well.
Is there some difficulty to understand this?
If he isn't up to it then try somebody else.
If that somebody else isn't good enough, then we can always go back to plan A, because sure as anything we can't go out and buy players.
EAFC_rdfl
14/05/2008, 3:32 PM
from www.celticfc.net (http://www.celticfc.net/)
WHEN the time arrived for Scotland’s professional footballers to name their Player of the Year, there was one overwhelming choice.
In the past there may have been controversial decisions when it comes to the announcement of Scotland’s most prestigious personal award, but this year it was unanimous, with Aiden McGeady claiming both the Player and Young Player gongs.Fair play to him, deserves it after the season he's had
seanog2001
14/05/2008, 3:39 PM
from www.celticfc.net (http://www.celticfc.net/)
Fair play to him, deserves it after the season he's had
the lad has come on in leaps and bounds this season finally there is an end product rejoice a superstar is born!!! :D:D:D
seanog2001
14/05/2008, 3:40 PM
I care that he performs well in an Irish shirt first and foremost.
Do you?
If you don't think he is up to it, then fine, time will tell.
I want him to play well like any Ireland fan who wants him to play well.
Is there some difficulty to understand this?
If he isn't up to it then try somebody else.
If that somebody else isn't good enough, then we can always go back to plan A, because sure as anything we can't go out and buy players.
We can nick them off the north though :p
15/05/2008, 10:34 AM
Yesterday, I listened to a Rangers fan explain to me in chapter and verse why he hates McGeady, and he is booed at every game when he gets on the ball. Have whole new levels of respect for young Aidan now.
Billsthoughts
15/05/2008, 11:45 AM
Yesterday, I listened to a Rangers fan explain to me in chapter and verse why he hates McGeady, and he is booed at every game when he gets on the ball. Have whole new levels of respect for young Aidan now.
YEah he suffers awful booing at Ireland games alrite:rolleyes:
15/05/2008, 1:06 PM
YEah he suffers awful booing at Ireland games alrite:rolleyes:I meant SPL games.
EAFC_rdfl
15/05/2008, 1:25 PM
i think almost everyone knew that tets.
he has spoken about the amount of abuse he has been getting&how he finds it tough at times. he seems to have good strength of mind though, and realises that it is sheer jealousy from the majority, a lot of which is based on their belief that he turned his back on scotland
15/05/2008, 1:35 PM
i think almost everyone knew that tets.
he has spoken about the amount of abuse he has been getting&how he finds it tough at times. he seems to have good strength of mind though, and realises that it is sheer jealousy from the majority, a lot of which is based on their belief that he turned his back on scotland
Jealous of what ?
seanog2001
15/05/2008, 1:47 PM
Jealous of what ?
Of his sheer brilliance
EAFC_rdfl
15/05/2008, 2:12 PM
Jealous of what ?
Have you watched any SPL matches? I don't care what people here think of mcgeadys abilities, but, every single team in the SPL would give anything to have him, hence their fans are jealous that he plays for Celtic not their club, and to a lesser extent, for Ireland not their country.
15/05/2008, 2:33 PM
Have you watched any SPL matches? I don't care what people here think of mcgeadys abilities, but, every single team in the SPL would give anything to have him, hence their fans are jealous that he plays for Celtic not their club, and to a lesser extent, for Ireland not their country.
Actually the guy I was talking to (and his Dad) went out of his way to point out he cared absolutely nothing for Scotland, it was Rangers or nothing for him. But he still regarded McGeady as a traitor.
livehead1
15/05/2008, 2:43 PM
Jealous of what ?
I would imagine his ability. Although I don't think he's a great player, he is head and shoulders above nearly every player in Scotland and as a result many of them are inevitably jealous. Witness Canning & Murray who were both sent off as a result of challenges on McGeady last week.
FarBeag
15/05/2008, 3:45 PM
I would imagine his ability. Although I don't think he's a great player, he is head and shoulders above nearly every player in Scotland and as a result many of them are inevitably jealous. Witness Canning & Murray who were both sent off as a result of challenges on McGeady last week.
Not having a go,its your view but why do you think he is not a great player?
Colbert Report
15/05/2008, 5:24 PM
The lad has a bit of skill but look at who he is playing against. Not that hard to impress. I saw him play against Barcelona and though he was damn near man of the match is was evident that he was no great shakes. If he goes somewhere like Newcastle he won't last more than three seasons the way tackles get handed out in the premiership. I'd love to see him go to somewhere like a mid-table team in Spain or Italy and see how he does.
To be fair, he hasn't really impressed me at all whenever I've seen him play for Ireland.
Razors left peg
15/05/2008, 5:57 PM
The lad has a bit of skill but look at who he is playing against. Not that hard to impress. I saw him play against Barcelona and though he was damn near man of the match is was evident that he was no great shakes. If he goes somewhere like Newcastle he won't last more than three seasons the way tackles get handed out in the premiership. I'd love to see him go to somewhere like a mid-table team in Spain or Italy and see how he does.
To be fair, he hasn't really impressed me at all whenever I've seen him play for Ireland.
So even though u seen him as man of the match against Barce you still think hes no great shakes...How do you work that one out??? Seems to me that if he has the quality to stand out against a team of that calibre he must be pretty good
And as for the way tackles are handed out in the Premiership I think the SPL doesnt have too many lads that are afraid of a tackle and he seems to be able to handle being targeted there every week
Colbert Report
15/05/2008, 6:02 PM
Razor - just look at what happened to Duff playing in the Premiership every week. His career was over by the age of 26.
McGeady was damn near man of the match against Barcelona in the first leg at home because he set up both Celtic goals. He did little else and it was very very evident that he was way out of his depth - nothing to be ashamed of when you're playing against the world's best team, or one of them anyway. My point is, I'd like to see him go to Spain or Italy because I think he's so skillful he might have a better chance of an extended career playing there rather than putting up with hack-job right backs in England and Scotland.