View Full Version : Aiden McGeady
Razors left peg
26/03/2008, 4:15 PM
Can't believe Mc Geady has a thread.. What an over rated player... Ye may aswell open an Andy Reid thread.. Wait a minute...
what a stupid comment
jmurphyc
26/03/2008, 4:18 PM
Can't believe Mc Geady has a thread.. What an over rated player... Ye may aswell open an Andy Reid thread.. Wait a minute...
Are you serious?
Pike B
26/03/2008, 4:18 PM
what a stupid comment
Really? So he is deserving of all this praise ya? Give me a break. Every time I watch him I am told of his ability and I really can't see what the fuss is about.. He's as good as Andy Reid.. Fair premier league, good Championship. No more..
26/03/2008, 4:19 PM
Remember Billy - you're only as good as your last game!!!
That cliche is used to critisise fickle fans.
Where did you see that?
I don't remember any Ireland MOTM being announced. I seem to remember in the following day's papers various journalists rating him between 6 and 8. In fact I believe the official MOTM was the Brazil full back Mauro who, athough McGeady went past him 3 or 4 times, regularly exploited the space down the wing that McGeady had vacated by his inability?/unwillingness? to track back, often chosing to just tuck inside.
McGeady tracked back an awful lot against Brazil. He actually had to play as a wing back off the ball because Kilbane tucked in so much.
jmurphyc
26/03/2008, 4:20 PM
Really? So he is deserving of all this praise ya? Give me a break. Every time I watch him I am told of his ability and I really can't see what the fuss is about.. He's as good as Andy Reid.. Fair premier league, good Championship. No more..
Who would you pick in the team ahead of them then? Unfortunately, we don't have a population of 100 million so not all of our players are going to superstars.
jmurphyc
26/03/2008, 4:22 PM
McGeady tracked back an awful lot against Brazil. He actually had to play as a wing back off the ball because Kilbane tucked in so much.
Yeah that's true. Brazil's right back constantly getting space down the right wing was not McGeady's fault. He generally works hard to protect his full back from what I've seen of him. I worry if we have to play him at left back in the qualifiers.
26/03/2008, 4:24 PM
Since Reid left Spurs he has been above average by premiership standards. He really has. Anyway, as you say there's already a thread to talk about Reid.
Pike B
26/03/2008, 4:27 PM
Who would you pick in the team ahead of them then? Unfortunately, we don't have a population of 100 million so not all of our players are going to superstars.
I would have him in our team. We don't have anyone better. We are blessed with no superstars. A few good quality premiership players but Mc Geady aint even that. He's Bolton, Birmingham, or Middlesborough at best..
jmurphyc
26/03/2008, 4:28 PM
I would have him in our team. We don't have anyone better. We are blessed with no superstars. A few good quality premiership players but Mc Geady aint even that. He's Bolton, Birmingham, or Middlesborough at best..
But if he should be in our team shouldn't there be a thread on him? This is an Ireland forum after all. How someone can essentially say Reid isn't great is beyond me though. I think some people just can't see past his weight.
Pike B
26/03/2008, 4:28 PM
But if he should be in our team shouldn't there be a thread on him? This is an Ireland forum after all.
Hmmm,,, good point. Carry on lads :) ;)
Razors left peg
26/03/2008, 4:31 PM
How many Bolton, Birmingham or Boro players have performed as well as he has in Champions League. For anyone that says that SPL players arent good enough for Premiership have a look at Alan Hutton at Spurs, top quality defender. The same arguement was said about Henrik Larsson for years that he was only performing in a crap league and that was no indication of how good he was....Turns out he was pretty good after all!
Pike B
26/03/2008, 4:32 PM
I watched Reid in the Chile friendly a few years back and to see him in the flesh was amazing. He was huge. A junior international player from our club was next to me and disgusted that a pro could look like that. I realise we're dragging Reid into this thread, but I had to respond to that message..
Pike B
26/03/2008, 4:34 PM
How many Bolton, Birmingham or Boro players have performed as well as he has in Champions League. For anyone that says that SPL players arent good enough for Premiership have a look at Alan Hutton at Spurs, top quality defender. The same arguement was said about Henrik Larsson for years that he was only performing in a crap league and that was no indication of how good he was....Turns out he was pretty good after all!
Oh dear God.. Are you seriously comparing Mc Geady to Henrik the Great?? I'm outta here, this thread is nuts.....
Billsthoughts
26/03/2008, 4:34 PM
Sub at Barcelona and one goal for Utd....yeah he proved everyone wrong there....In fairness he was a top striker before he went to Celtic. Last 4 at the WC as far as I remember.
Razors left peg
26/03/2008, 4:36 PM
Oh dear God.. Are you seriously comparing Mc Geady to Henrik the Great?? I'm outta here, this thread is nuts.....
Im just making the point that there are good players in the SPL and they just cant be dismissed because of the league they play in.... and McGeady will probably win the player of the season up there this season
Pike B
26/03/2008, 4:38 PM
Im just making the point that there are good players in the SPL and they just cant be dismissed because of the league they play in.... and McGeady will probably win the player of the season up there this season
I have nothing against the Scots Prem. If he gets player of the season, fair play. As an Irish man I will be delighted for him. But I DON'T RATE HIM.. I'll say no more..
Razors left peg
26/03/2008, 4:38 PM
Sub at Barcelona and one goal for Utd....yeah he proved everyone wrong there....In fairness he was a top striker before he went to Celtic. Last 4 at the WC as far as I remember.
The fans at Barcelona loved Larsson and he was a success there, he had Eto ahead of him in pecking order in a team that played 1 out and out striker
Pike B
26/03/2008, 4:41 PM
You are obviously a very young and silly boy.. Larsson is one of the greats of all time. He is up there with Bergkamp, Cantona and Zola as great strikers with more than just goals to their game. They had guile, skill, a touch of magic.. Silly boy...
26/03/2008, 5:02 PM
Actually, it was 3 goals at United.
He was the sub at Barcelona that came on and won the Champions' League for them, Henry said after the game he didn't remember Eto'o doing anything, he didn't remember Ronaldinho doing anything, but Larsson came on and set up 2 goals.
carloz
26/03/2008, 5:04 PM
Are you for serious!!!! Go back and watch the Barcelona and Arsenal Champions League final and note when the turning point in the game was. Ill give you a clue, it was the minute Larsson came on. He was excellent for Man Utd and has such an excellent football brain.
26/03/2008, 5:33 PM
We know that your memory isn't in tune with real events.:D
McGeady has achieved much more in football life and playing at much higher levels than Larsson had at the same age.
Larsson is a classic example of a late developer.
Pike B
26/03/2008, 5:33 PM
Ah so you see my young silly boy. HENRIK = LEGEND...... ;)
26/03/2008, 6:34 PM
I said Irish MOTM!! ....How many times during the game did Mc Geady make 50/60 yard dribbles with the ball in croker that night? ...
And the end product of these 50/60 yard dribbles was exactly what?
livehead1
26/03/2008, 7:53 PM
Since you've been a member on this bored you've said some stupid things; but this beauty beats the lot of em!
27/03/2008, 8:04 AM
As much end product as anyone that night really.
Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 8:32 AM
Are you for serious!!!! Go back and watch the Barcelona and Arsenal Champions League final and note when the turning point in the game was. Ill give you a clue, it was the minute Larsson came on. He was excellent for Man Utd and has such an excellent football brain.
One twenty minute cameo in a cup game against ten men. He is a good player but his post Celtic career far from proved anyone wrong.
We know that your memory isn't in tune with real events.:D
McGeady has achieved much more in football life and playing at much higher levels than Larsson had at the same age.
Larsson is a classic example of a late developer.
Rubbish. 50 goals in 56 appearances for Helsinborgs 92-93. He played in World Cup in 1994 where Sweden finished 3rd. He was also signed by Feyenoord. A bigger European club than Celtic who at the time hadnt won anything of note in a good few years.
Where did I say he wasnt. You can read cant you?
No end product against a non interested Brazilian 3rd team. John Barnes waltzed round a whole Brazilian team in Brazil that had bigger names than the one that played at Lansdowne yet if he is asked about it he is embarressed.
Since you've been a member on this bored you've said some stupid things; but this beauty beats the lot of em!
Well tell me what I said then? Two years on the bench at Barcelona and 1 premiership goal at Man Utd hardly rank as proving everyone wrong? Interesting that this personal abuse rule only applies to some people on this board. Its not like the moderator doesnt read and post on this thread extensively.
Pike B
27/03/2008, 8:40 AM
One twenty minute cameo in a cup game against ten men. He is a good player but his post Celtic career far from proved anyone wrong.
Rubbish. He played in World Cup in 1994 where Sweden finished 3rd. He was also signed by Feyenoord. A bigger European club than Celtic who at the time hadnt won anything of note in a good few years.
Where did I say he wasnt. You can read cant you?
No end product against a non interested Brazilian 3rd team. John Barnes waltzed round a whole Brazilian team in Brazil that had bigger names than the one that played at Lansdowne yet if he is asked about it he is embarressed.
Well tell me what I said then? Two years on the bench at Barcelona and 1 premiership goal at Man Utd hardly rank as proving everyone wrong? Interesting that this personal abuse rule only applies to some people on this board. Its not like the moderator doesnt read and post on this thread extensively.
Touchy touchy... Keep your knickers on pal...
Wolfie
27/03/2008, 8:51 AM
Good God Almighty!!! Are you suggesting that Bill is contemplating posting "Commando"!!!! :eek: :D
Pike B
27/03/2008, 8:53 AM
Good God Almighty!!! Are you suggesting that Bill is contemplating posting "Commando"!!!! :eek: :D
Perhaps. A bit more circulation may help him think clearly before posting silly things...
EAFC_rdfl
27/03/2008, 9:11 AM
I have nothing against the Scots Prem. If he gets player of the season, fair play. As an Irish man I will be delighted for him. But I DON'T RATE HIM.. I'll say no more..
You are obviously a very young and silly boy.. Larsson is one of the greats of all time. He is up there with Bergkamp, Cantona and Zola as great strikers with more than just goals to their game. They had guile, skill, a touch of magic.. Silly boy...
Perhaps. A bit more circulation may help him think clearly before posting silly things...
so much for your first quote above!! Try and stay on topic as well! There seems to be a lot of irrelevant posts on this thread in the last day mostly about henrik larsson etc.
As for comparing McGeady to premiership players, IMO there isnt an irish player in the EPL as entertaining as McGeady, this season. Robbie Keane may be at the same level but I don't think he's any more entertaining than mcgeady. And when i watch football I like to be entertained not bored!
Pike B
27/03/2008, 9:16 AM
so much for your first quote above!! Try and stay on topic as well! There seems to be a lot of irrelevant posts on this thread in the last day mostly about henrik larsson etc.
As for comparing McGeady to premiership players, IMO there isnt an irish player in the EPL as entertaining as McGeady, this season. Robbie Keane may be at the same level but I don't think he's any more entertaining than mcgeady. And when i watch football I like to be entertained not bored!
Well I just couldn't leave without backing up Larsson my friend. But I've given my opinion on that and Mc Geady so I'll let you Aiden fans to it. I do hope he becomes half the player you guys say he will. For Ireland and Celtics sake. Peace..
27/03/2008, 9:18 AM
Rubbish. 50 goals in 56 appearances for Helsinborgs 92-93. He played in World Cup in 1994 where Sweden finished 3rd. He was also signed by Feyenoord. A bigger European club than Celtic who at the time hadnt won anything of note in a good few years.
Rubbish ? :D
Division 2 in Sweden :eek:
Yes 50 goals in a low standard league at the age of 21 - 22, won nothing except promotion.
No European games against Barca / Ac Milan. Same age as McGeady.
WC '94 age 23. played good, very raw by his standards.
Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 9:19 AM
:D:o
In fairness. There was a post saying nobody rated Henrik Larsson when he was at Celtic and he proved them all wrong when he left. I merely pointed out that his post-Celtic record hardly proved anyone wrong. I never disputed that he was a very good player.
27/03/2008, 9:21 AM
Actually, it was 3 goals at United.
He was the sub at Barcelona that came on and won the Champions' League for them, Henry said after the game he didn't remember Eto'o doing anything, he didn't remember Ronaldinho doing anything, but Larsson came on and set up 2 goals.
See above
Rubbish. 50 goals in 56 appearances for Helsinborgs 92-93. He played in World Cup in 1994 where Sweden finished 3rd. He was also signed by Feyenoord. A bigger European club than Celtic who at the time hadnt won anything of note in a good few years.Feyenoord played him as a winger, same as Henry at Juventus, he didn't play as an out and out striker again until he moved to Celtic
Well tell me what I said then? Two years on the bench at Barcelona and 1 premiership goal at Man Utd hardly rank as proving everyone wrong?
See above (again)
Interesting that this personal abuse rule only applies to some people on this board. Its not like the moderator doesnt read and post on this thread extensively.
Where did I say he wasnt. You can read cant you?Interesting that you complain about person abuse and then question Pike B's literacy
livehead1
27/03/2008, 9:22 AM
But I'm not personally abusing you...I'm making a comment that you have said a stupid thing. Larsson was outstanding in his time at Manchester United. So much so that they wanted to get him back a year later under a similar deal. You don't get a second chance there unless you have impressed; and it appears clear to myself, and most others that he did indeed impress.
His time at Barcelona was difficult but he showed that he was a top class player. IIRC he broke his leg soon after arriving and was out of contract that summer but Barca offered him a new contract as they wanted to hold onto him when he regained fitness.
If your judgement of players is similar to your judgement of the ability and performances of Henrik Larsson during his time at Barcelona and Celtic then your opinion carries no weight with me.
Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 9:23 AM
Rubbish ? :D
Division 2 in Sweden :eek:
Yes 50 goals in a low standard league at the age of 21 - 22, won nothing except promotion.
No European games against Barca / Ac Milan. Same age as McGeady.
WC '94 age 23. played good, very raw by his standards.
Hardly the classic late developer. One world cup and 50 goals in 56 games. Oh and now you are throwing out the "he can still be a great player in a poor league" argument you had for mageady in order to prove your Larsson argument.
Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 9:27 AM
But I'm not personally abusing you...I'm making a comment that you have said a stupid thing. Larsson was outstanding in his time at Manchester United. So much so that they wanted to get him back a year later under a similar deal. You don't get a second chance there unless you have impressed; and it appears clear to myself, and most others that he did indeed impress.
His time at Barcelona was difficult but he showed that he was a top class player. IIRC he broke his leg soon after arriving and was out of contract that summer but Barca offered him a new contract as they wanted to hold onto him when he regained fitness.
If your judgement of players is similar to your judgement of the ability and performances of Henrik Larsson during his time at Barcelona and Celtic then your opinion carries no weight with me.
Of course they wanted him back. He would have been a quality player on the cheap. I never said anything about his Celtic career? I stand by the point that his time at Man U and Barcelona far from proved anyone wrong.
livehead1
27/03/2008, 9:29 AM
Of course they wanted him back. He would have been a quality player on the cheap. I never said anything about his Celtic career? I stand by the point that his time at Man U and Barcelona far from proved anyone wrong.
You've just summed it up perfectly there. Do you really believe that the likes of Man Utd and Barcelona sacrifice quality for financial reasons? They wanted him as he was good enough for that level, simple as that.
(Also, not once in that post did I mention Celtic)
Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 9:32 AM
I put the bit were you not once in your post mentioned Celtic in bold. So you wouldnt have too much time finding it. God if you are that eagle eyed when you are watching footballers then your opinion carries no weight with me.;)
27/03/2008, 9:40 AM
Hardly the classic late developer. One world cup and 50 goals in 56 games. Oh and now you are throwing out the "he can still be a great player in a poor league" argument you had for mageady in order to prove your Larsson argument.
No just rubbishing your claims/insinuation that Larssonīs 50 goals in Division 2 was anywhere near the standard that McGeady is playing against at the same age.
And anyone who thinks the raw sub used by Sweden in WC '94 bears comparison to the Larsson of later years needs his head examined.
livehead1
27/03/2008, 9:41 AM
I put the bit were you not once in your post mentioned Celtic in bold. So you wouldnt have too much time finding it. God if you are that eagle eyed when you are watching footballers then your opinion carries no weight with me.;)
So I didn't re-read my post...My point stands, you've just conveniently ignored it.
Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 9:48 AM
No just rubbishing your claims/insinuation that Larssonīs 50 goals in Division 2 was anywhere near the standard that McGeady is playing against at the same age.
And anyone who thinks the raw sub used by Sweden in WC '94 bears comparison to the Larsson of later years needs his head examined.
classic late developer to me does not equal a nearly a goal a game scoring record and representing your country at the World Cup in which they finished 3rd. Oh and are you now saying that in fact there is no comparison with Mageady? when before you were arguing there was? will you just admit you were wrong. :D
Livehead - I never ever said he wasnt a good player. I always thought he was a brilliant player. Am just pointing out that he didnt go on from Celtic to have a great career. He did alrite at Barcelona and his time at Man U was totally blown out of proportion. In fact I would say his champions league final cameo put a bit of a gloss on his Barcelona time as well. Probably more people would see the logic in that statement if this forum wasnt populated by rabid Celtic fans.
27/03/2008, 10:06 AM
classic late developer to me does not equal a nearly a goal a game scoring record and representing your country at the World Cup in which they finished 3rd. Oh and are you now saying that in fact there is no comparison with Mageady? when before you were arguing there was? will you just admit you were wrong. :D
Facts Bill:D
50 goals in Swedish div 2 at the same age as McGeady bears no comparison
to the standard McGeady has experienced.
An older Larsson at WC 1994
Only started one game in which he was subbed on the hour.
didn't play at all in 2.
Very late sub in 2 - running down the clock :)
Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 10:30 AM
Facts Bill:D
50 goals in Swedish div 2 at the same age as McGeady bears no comparison
to the standard McGeady has experienced.
An older Larsson at WC 1994
Only started one game in which he was subbed on the hour.
didn't play at all in 2.
Very late sub in 2 - running down the clock :)
So five appearances and a goal at a World Cup finals pre Celtic is an example of a player developing late then? 50 goals in 56 appearances is not a good strike ratio? The fact that he was playing with poorer players and therefore poorer service only makes the acheivement more remakable.;)
So what you are saying is that there is actually no valid comparison to be made between Mageady and Larsson apart form the fact they both at one stage played for Celtic? Then we agree.
27/03/2008, 11:00 AM
In fact I would say his champions league final cameo put a bit of a gloss on his Barcelona time as well.
There was only 2 or 3 players at Barca with a better reputation than Larsson with the Barca fans. They adored him. The noise whenever he came on from the bench was incredible. There was a huge crowd in the Nou Camp for Larsson's goodbye celebrations and everyone tried to convince him to stay. Since he left Ronaldinho and Eto'o said he was their idol.
27/03/2008, 11:08 AM
So five appearances and a goal at a World Cup finals
Larsson appeared on the pitch 3 times (2 times as a late sub) and scored no goals in play.
He did better than David Connolly;)
50 goals in 56 appearances is not a good strike ratio? The fact that he was playing with poorer players and therefore poorer service only makes the acheivement more remakable.;)
Not quite Bill, Helsinborg were the "too big of a team to go down" by Swedish standards and had good players, along with Larsson they had Mats Magnusson, Anders Jonsson and Lino Boriero who was a class partner for Larsson.
So what you are saying is that there is actually no valid comparison to be made between Mageady and Larsson apart form the fact they both at one stage played for Celtic? Then we agree.
Comparison - both far from their prime at the age of 21
Difference - McGeady playing at a far superior higher standard at age 21.
McGeady demonstrating that he is an improving player.
That's it.
McGeady is in the squad and could be very usefull in our bid to qualify for the WC.
Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 11:24 AM
Should he be in the team based on his performances so far?
EB not going to respond to your post as saying he was the most popular with fans is a bit difficult to prove either way.
27/03/2008, 11:43 AM
Should he be in the team based on his performances so far?
He is in the squad, I'd imagine there will be some games he could start, some as a sub and some where he will not be used.
It's up to Trap to rule over that, to decide if he is ready and get the midfield/front balance.
29/03/2008, 8:19 PM
I have no interest in Celtic and have never seen them play in SPL or CL. If, as you seem to be suggesting he has given outstanding performances in the CL, the fact that he hasn't done it for Ireland is even more disappointing. I have only ever seen him play for Ireland and from what I have seen so far I consider him overrated.
.....My point about his Celtic performances was that it shows the potential of the lad and I think most people would agree that he is probably one of our most naturally talented footballers at the moment....
Specifically to have a look at the guy in the environment where people are raving about his performances, I watched my first (and probably last!) SPL game today to have a look at McGeady.
I hope someone who watches SPL regularly will confirm (and not just because Celtic lost) that this was a poor game because I thought the standard was woeful for what are, if the league table is anything to go by, by some way the two best teams in the SPL.
From what I saw McGeady had a couple of runs which ended up with crosses in the first half but when Rangers sussed him out and tightened up on him he disappeared. There were a few times when he had 2 or 3 Rangers players around him which meant that there was 1 or 2 free Celtic players about but instead of looking for them McGeady just put his head down, tried to run through and ended up getting knocked off the ball, a bit too easily at times.
Maybe he had an off-day but he looked like a bit of a one trick pony and didn't impress. That said, the rest of Celtic midfield didn't help much, I only remember Celtic having one shot on goal, from Hinkel, a full back?.
Although Samaras looked OK, as did Hinkel, IMO the only really decent player on view was Barry Ferguson.
Razors left peg
30/03/2008, 4:48 AM
Specifically to have a look at the guy in the environment where people are raving about his performances, I watched my first (and probably last!) SPL game today to have a look at McGeady.
I hope someone who watches SPL regularly will confirm (and not just because Celtic lost) that this was a poor game because I thought the standard was woeful for what are, if the league table is anything to go by, by some way the two best teams in the SPL.
From what I saw McGeady had a couple of runs which ended up with crosses in the first half but when Rangers sussed him out and tightened up on him he disappeared. There were a few times when he had 2 or 3 Rangers players around him which meant that there was 1 or 2 free Celtic players about but instead of looking for them McGeady just put his head down, tried to run through and ended up getting knocked off the ball, a bit too easily at times.
Maybe he had an off-day but he looked like a bit of a one trick pony and didn't impress. That said, the rest of Celtic midfield didn't help much, I only remember Celtic having one shot on goal, from Hinkel, a full back?.
Although Samaras looked OK, as did Hinkel, IMO the only really decent player on view was Barry Ferguson.
yeah I do have to admit that the quality of the game today was poor, and Aiden wasnt at his best. Glad though that u did have an open mind to have a look at the lad. It was a terrible game and both teams have played alot better all year.Rangers are a decent side, proved by the fact that they are further in UEFA cup than any Premiership team and they did a decent job on McGeady. But today was one game and he has played well all season and he showed flashes of good things but at the end of the day he is still a young lad learning all the time and still a shoe in for player of the year.... and I still think he is better than any other option for us in his position