View Full Version : Aiden McGeady

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

RogerMilla
08/02/2008, 2:54 PM
the lads are praying it wont be trap becuase they might not have such an easy time of it with him as they would with el tel , imo

Sonic
08/02/2008, 3:29 PM
the lads are praying it wont be trap becuase they might not have such an easy time of it with him as they would with el tel , imo

Exactly cr@p like I think the manager should speak fluent english from Dunne made me laugh even if the man has won almost everything there is to win in the game!!??

kingdomkerry
09/02/2008, 1:25 PM
If the FAI want to qualify for the world cup they should do whatever it takes to get Trap in the job. IMO we have the players all we need is a capable manager

09/02/2008, 3:22 PM
Just watched the RTE panel's discussion on Trap. I particularly agree with Dunphy's description of some parts of the media's "campaign to impose Venables on Irish football".

Bar the usual hyperbole ("it'd be the greatest thing to happen Irish soccer ever" / "we WILL qualify for 2010) I've got to say they're right to endorse Trap.

09/02/2008, 4:17 PM
A source of mine let me know the latest on the Ireland managers job.

Billy Davies reckons his interview went very well and he was told a decision would be made "in the next five days". That was yesterday, so it looks like Wednesday is the day. I've also heard that one last ditch approach will be made to Coppell.

There is absolutely nothing coming from Trap's people and but an Italian source said that this is a good sign. He also says it's a job that is very attractive, part of the attraction being that he would be playing Italy twice.

The bottom line is that IF the FAI appoint Venables, they will have done so purely because they couldn't get choice A (Trap), B (Coppell) or C (Houllier).

Bonovox
09/02/2008, 7:07 PM
A source of mine let me know the latest on the Ireland managers job.

Billy Davies reckons his interview went very well and he was told a decision would be made "in the next five days". That was yesterday, so it looks like Wednesday is the day. I've also heard that one last ditch approach will be made to Coppell.

There is absolutely nothing coming from Trap's people and but an Italian source said that this is a good sign. He also says it's a job that is very attractive, part of the attraction being that he would be playing Italy twice.

The bottom line is that IF the FAI appoint Venables, they will have done so purely because they couldn't get choice A (Trap), B (Coppell) or C (Houllier).

I don't think Trap was choice A. He only entered the race two weeks ago.

soccerc
09/02/2008, 7:14 PM
I don't think Trap was choice A. He only entered the race two weeks ago.

He wasn't, but that man did not make himself available, nor did choice b, so as it stands Neil is correct

09/02/2008, 10:19 PM
The clue is in the name, Red Bull Salzburg are being run as an offshoot of the Red Bull world and are attempting to buy success. A good way of doing this is buying a top manager as it is probably tough to attract players.

International managers should be old, we dont want someone who'll p*ss off to a club whenever an offer comes in.

and one way of doing the world domination thing is to qualify for the CL groups stages which they did.......oh wait, no they didnt actually.....bit of a **** up what with all the millions spent

10/02/2008, 3:01 PM
I thought Aiden McGeady was outstanding today for Celtic. It was the first time he really stood out in a game that I saw. He did excellently for both goals he set up and his own was very good too.

10/02/2008, 3:21 PM
It was the first time he really stood out in a game that I saw.

I know you probably haven't watched Celtic regularly but he's been doing that for most of this season.

Scram
10/02/2008, 4:07 PM
Trappatoni made and offer he can't refuse!!

http://www.chatsoccer.eu/news/index.php/It-s-an-Italian-job-for-Ireland.html

Done Deal ???????:eek: Please be so.

10/02/2008, 4:10 PM
1st Assist (http://media.putfile.com/naka-v-aberdeen)
Goal (http://media.putfile.com/mcgeady-v-aberdeen)
2nd Assist (http://media.putfile.com/scottys-second-goal)
Interview (http://youtube.com/watch?v=oqElSZZ6K0w)

Strachan couldn't have praised him any more after the match. I'm really looking forward to the Barca match with McGeady in this form.

Scram
10/02/2008, 4:39 PM
Poor quality vids.

1st Assist (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIrf1Xv9nKo)
Goal (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozR3N5K1_Wg)
2nd Assist (http://youtube.com/watch?v=R3Hxg6T0F5I)
Interview (http://youtube.com/watch?v=oqElSZZ6K0w)

Strachan couldn't have praised him any more after the match. I'm really looking forward to the Barca match with McGeady in this form.

The 2nd assist...pure quality :D

ps. did you ever see such a blatant penalty shout not awarded as when Venegoor was wrestled to the ground ? So what if it was 0-4 at the time.

10/02/2008, 5:02 PM
Above posted edited with better quality videos.

10/02/2008, 5:17 PM
So what did toodays Sunday Independent say?

10/02/2008, 5:33 PM
Did I say he'd have a spring in his step after the Brazil match? ;) The Americans were impressed:

Magnificent Aiden McGeady was Celtic's chief tormentor against Aberdeen, running the desperate Dons ragged to help secure a stunning 5-1 victory in the Clydesdale Bank Premier League for Gordon Strachan's rampant side.

McGeady crossed for Shunsuke Nakamura's opener and added a second through a sumptuous low shot, before Scott McDonald converted a penalty just before the break having been fouled by Josh Walker.

A sensational turn from McGeady in the 47th minute then allowed McDonald to net with a close-range header

However, Aberdeen's new-look defence was ripped apart with McGeady at the heart of Celtic's brilliant performance.

Just as with Nakamura's goal, Aberdeen were soon made to pay for missing a goalscoring opportunity as Celtic doubled their advantage through McGeady.

The midfield maestro showed great composure to cut inside from the right, shift the ball on to his favoured foot and curl an exquisite low shot past Langfield from 25 yards out.

However, a sumptuous pirouette on the ball saw McGeady once again bemuse the beleaguered Aberdeen back line and from the playmaker's chip McDonald nodded the ball past Langfield from barely a couple of yards out.

http://soccernet-akamai.espn.go.com/report?id=233944&cc=5739

Strachan:

"He was just terrific. I hope when there's highlights shown of this later on that you do it credit because he was absolutely first class. It's OK having skill but to have the energy and fitness that he's got, which he's worked on... he really is on fire.

He's been working on his upper body for the last couple of years and that's helped him. We've spoke about one or two things that might help someone with his physique. He's taken that on board, he's worked very hard and because of that you're seeing displays like you saw today."

10/02/2008, 6:04 PM
Any chance of him ever doing it for us?

therock67
10/02/2008, 6:05 PM
Slightly better quality match highlights: (10 mins long and the highlights are of the whole game but it's mostly Aiden).

y1yCKKh7TY4

10/02/2008, 6:07 PM
After seeing him play with full confidence in front of 70,000 Irish against the best team in the world I'm sure he'll be producing his club form for us from now on. No excuses any more if he's in good form for Celtic.

Cheers therock. Much appreciated.

Qwerty
10/02/2008, 7:09 PM
I think the FAI is going to end up making a real gamble if it appoint's Trappatoni - he's an excellent coach and I guess his time in Austria will have equipped him to work with average players - but the cost to the FAI in euros is going to be very high, I don't understand how it can't afford it .

They don't make much money as it is and if they pay 3-4 million euro a year to the manager of the senior team that will have a significant knock on effect on grass roots football in Ireland.

They'll have to play more friendlies to try and make some money and they have the cose of the new stadium.

10/02/2008, 7:18 PM
But who says they have to pay him 3 to 4 million a year. Its all just speculation.

amaccann
10/02/2008, 7:42 PM
One word: Bonus.

All the FAI have to do is promise some princely sums if they hit certain milestones, which they'll be covered with assuming they hit them; World Cup qualification, qualification to knock out rounds etc..

10/02/2008, 7:49 PM

All the FAI have to do is promise some princely sums if they hit certain milestones, which they'll be covered with assuming they hit them; World Cup qualification, qualification to knock out rounds etc..

Exactly. Pay him a huge amount IF we qualify. A simple incentive.

Tribune says the 3 amigos are interviewing Trap tommorrow but say it's more or less a done deal.

His contract with Salzburg runs out in April so he'll be in for the Serbia game.

Have to say I was a bit ****ed off with Richard Dunne saying he'd prefer El Tel to Trap. Doesn't say much about the players attitude if that's their thinking. Surely they should be looking forward to working with such an experienced and successful manager.

10/02/2008, 7:56 PM
Have to say I was a bit ****ed off with Richard Dunne saying he'd prefer El Tel to Trap. Doesn't say much about the players attitude if that's their thinking. Surely they should be looking forward to working with such an experienced and successful manager.

"Ah, but we're different, aren't we??" You have to make allowances for that. :D

"Winning games, what's that about?" :confused: Sure, our lads only turn up for the craic, like. :rolleyes:

Bondvillain
10/02/2008, 8:00 PM

That's the problem with this interview process. Informed speculation has been replaced with chinese whispers.

Even if one were to acknowledge that its a two horse race between Trapattoni & Venables (which I don't) Dunne didn't say "I'd certainly prefer Venables to Trapattoni". or anything like it.

What he said was (When he was cornered by a journalist at an awards ceremony and pushed for an immediate answer ) was that he would have a preference for someone like Venables, someone who was available right now and had no precieved communication barriers. That wasn't a ringing endorsement of Venables, it was a simplistic overview from a man who clearly, for whatever reason, is fed up with the FAI's fumbling on the matter.

And in fairness, he may just have access to more information on how the process is proceeding than anyone here does...

10/02/2008, 8:05 PM
Dunne said he thought an English speaking manager would integrate a lot quicker, not that he preferred Venables to Trappatoni

Scram
10/02/2008, 8:24 PM
After seeing him play with full confidence in front of 70,000 Irish against the best team in the world I'm sure he'll be producing his club form for us from now on. No excuses any more if he's in good form for Celtic.

Cheers therock. Much appreciated.

Yeah, thanks therock...except it's not fceking there anymore ! :( :o

10/02/2008, 8:28 PM

I think he's getting there. If we have a full flying Duff (don't know if that'll ever happen) on one flank and McGeady on the other the width that both of them give should allow us to stretch the opposition and let both of them play.

10/02/2008, 8:41 PM
His crosses today.

ZImt-ToxpOg

Scram
10/02/2008, 8:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superhoops

I think he's getting there. If we have a full flying Duff (don't know if that'll ever happen) on one flank and McGeady on the other the width that both of them give should allow us to stretch the opposition and let both of them play.

Look at the highlights below, 2, 3 and 4 Celtic players in the box or running in to the box, when was the last time you saw Irish midfielders going forward like that?

No point in having Kilbane, Duff and McGeady crossing great ball in when there's nobody home.

McGeady10
10/02/2008, 9:02 PM
Utter class today from Aideninho... Wit a player!

therock67
10/02/2008, 9:03 PM
Yeah, thanks therock...except it's not fceking there anymore ! :( :o

Think they took it down for a while but it's back now.

Qwerty
10/02/2008, 9:57 PM

You don't think that such an offfer would be an insult to a manger like Trappatoni? That is what they should have offered Stan The Man but not Trappatoni or Venables either for that matter.

10/02/2008, 10:02 PM
Must have been about €200k put on Trap today on Betfair. Not bad for a Sunday. :)

amaccann
10/02/2008, 10:39 PM
You don't think that such an offfer would be an insult to a manger like Trappatoni? That is what they should have offered Stan The Man but not Trappatoni or Venables either for that matter.
I wouldn't think so; Hiddenk at Russia apparently has a number of bonuses to claim, pending success at Russia. It's a fair enough incentive for any manager to succeed, rather than simply "punch the clock" and claim a set wage.

RivaldoBabb
11/02/2008, 4:22 AM
Ok, so it was against opposition only slightly better than league of Ireland standard but great display of attacking wing play from McGeady yesterday nonetheless, you can only play whats in front of you and he was on top form.

Maybe Boruc's comments that McGeady has the potential to be a better player than Cristiano Ronaldo wasn't the daftest thing I ever heard after all.

11/02/2008, 7:11 AM
Poor Alan Maybury was his opponent. :) Bayern Munich up next for Aberdeen on Thursday.

11/02/2008, 8:41 AM
Examiner says Trap is a done deal!

http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=54959-qqqx=1.asp

Deckydee
11/02/2008, 8:54 AM
Fingers, toes and everything else that I have is crossed!!

11/02/2008, 8:56 AM
They don't make much money as it is and if they pay 3-4 million euro a year to the manager of the senior team that will have a significant knock on effect on grass roots football in Ireland.

The FAI is richer than it ever has been!! I think the highest figure quoted to be paid to trapp is €2m and id say thats about right. Cant see the FAI going any more than that plus i doubt it will be longer than a two year contract.

Billsthoughts
11/02/2008, 8:57 AM
Great news if true.

aidz1
11/02/2008, 9:01 AM
I think Trapattoni is a huge coup if the fai pull it off. A manager with a most impressive cv.

There will be no hiding place for under-performaning players now. Cant hide behind poor results with the excuses of a poor manager etc. Sincerly hope they can perform to their ability and qualify for afri-ca..ca.ca..ca:ball:

EAFC_rdfl
11/02/2008, 9:04 AM
brilliant display, I hope he never leaves Celtic!

11/02/2008, 9:16 AM
This really is the best news one can get as an Ireland fan on a Monday morning. Trap with Brady and possibly Gentille. Gentile coached the Italy Under-21 National Team from October 2000 to July 2006. He won the UEFA 2004 tournament finals

Billsthoughts
11/02/2008, 9:42 AM
He was also one of the dirtiest players ever....FACT!

11/02/2008, 9:46 AM
Before my time but yeah I heard he was and I saw the job he did on Maradona in 1982 but he has a good coaching pedigree along with Trap and Brady so it looks good. A lot better than Stan and McDonald.

The could bring in Gerry Peyton in as Goalkeeping coach too.

lopez
11/02/2008, 10:00 AM
Gentile was class. Reminded me of the stroppy Sergeant Belker off Hill Street Blues

Claudio Gentile (http://www.geocities.com/seriestv2001/hill3-t.jpg)

Sergeant Mick Belker (http://www.solocalcio.com/gallery/azzurri/photo/GENTILE.jpg)

Bondvillain
11/02/2008, 10:01 AM
Touch of the Boycies (http://www.ofah.net/images/boycie.jpg) about him too

BigmanCas
11/02/2008, 10:21 AM
Look at this kid!!! Come on - you got to love it.. You can only beat what is put in front of you - in this case POOR ALAN MAYBURY - an ex Irish International????

Have a wee look:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1yCKKh7TY4

as_i_say
11/02/2008, 10:25 AM
yeah starting to have very high hopes for him now. thought he was great against brazil except for the final killer ball