View Full Version : Aiden McGeady

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92

McGeady10
19/12/2007, 8:59 PM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=rXCn4mdKOHo < McGeady Video

22/12/2007, 7:40 PM
Did you make that video? If so I apologise for robbing all the clips and making the video more "neutral friendly". :) A few of the clips are mine anyway.

v/21xmzSgwpPo

Junior
23/12/2007, 10:38 AM
Celtic were very poor yesterday. McGeady had a fairly quiet game apart from 1 or 2 pieces of skill. He did 'his' turn in the first half (prob on about 30 mins) leaving the Hibs RB standing still.

Unfortunately that was the only highlight of a poor day. He had a few chances as well that he should have done better with but failed to hit the target.

Mayo_Bhoy
26/12/2007, 6:55 PM
Had another blinder today and prob should have got MOTM. Was particularly good tracking back and has greatly improved defensively
.l

29/12/2007, 4:08 PM
McGeady set up McDonald's goal today with a pass and scored himself with a typical cut inside from the left. He also set up 2 chances which both hit the post, one a cross to Hartley and one a through ball to McDonald.

kingdomkerry
29/12/2007, 4:35 PM

Very good. Had to add that one to my favourites on you tube.

kingdomkerry
29/12/2007, 4:35 PM
Did you make that video? If so I apologise for robbing all the clips and making the video more "neutral friendly". :) A few of the clips are mine anyway.

v/21xmzSgwpPo

How can i add this one to my favourites on youtube?

25/01/2008, 11:58 PM
Aiden McGeady thanks Gordon Strachan for ironing out flaws in his game

For those of us who love football, it has been fascinating to watch Aiden McGeady. Still just 21, the Celtic winger appears to have been bobbing and weaving in our midst for years and has already played over 100 matches in his young career. Yesterday, McGeady also offered a revealing insight into his continual striving to improve his game.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/scotland/article3254300.ece

As a Celtic fan I was a huge Strachan fan until recently. When I look back and see he hasn't really improved Celtic since his first season. I always believe he's a world class coach though and wouldn't want anyone else coaching McGeady. Robbie Keane said again recently that Strachan was the best manager he worked under.

Coaching is crucial for McGeady. There are some managers that would let McGeady just run at players week in week out whipping in crosses. Strachan is turning him into an all round intelligent player. When he's in his late 20's, early 30's he'll be controlling games. It's a long time yet but we've really never had a player of the type I believe McGeady will be.

Sven has really given me confidence in S.Ireland's ability and then there's a few others like Garvan and McCarthy coming through. We could potentially have an excellent midfield. I don't think it's like potential we've known for years with Ireland, good at a young age and fail. McGeady, Ireland, Garvan and McCarthy won't fail imo. I really believe they'll all be top level standard, just a matter of how good after that. I'm really guessing on McCarthy but if he's as intelligent as I think he is then he'll make it.

livehead1
26/01/2008, 10:30 AM
Sven has impressed me so much with the way he has treated the youngster's at Man City. He has shown them respect and has been patient enough to allow them bad games in the hope that they will come through and it seems to be paying dividends.

26/01/2008, 11:54 AM
My big worry about the future midfield is that it could be incredibly lightweight. If we were to play McGeady, Duff and Ireland in the same midfield, there wouldn't be a decent tackle between them. We would be relying on a player like Carsley, or Hamann at City, or Butt at Newcastle, to do all the fetching and carrying by themselves. Are the likes of McCann, Whelan, Garvan, etc up to that job, or should we start thinking about a 5 man midfield with two of those players and one up front?

26/01/2008, 12:18 PM
That's the problem, lots of talent but little physicality. If the new coach is a proper football thinker then maybe he can do something. A fit Steven Reid ought to be the key in some capacity. I've been really impressed by Spurs under ramos. They don't have any great physicality in midfield but they close down at high speed and attack in bunches. Fitness rather than physicality is more the recipe.

That's a brilliant collage of McGeady. My 2 year old was fascinated too, hopefully he was taking it all in!

26/01/2008, 12:22 PM
My big worry about the future midfield is that it could be incredibly lightweight. If we were to play McGeady, Duff and Ireland in the same midfield, there wouldn't be a decent tackle between them. We would be relying on a player like Carsley, or Hamann at City, or Butt at Newcastle, to do all the fetching and carrying by themselves. Are the likes of McCann, Whelan, Garvan, etc up to that job, or should we start thinking about a 5 man midfield with two of those players and one up front?
Yeh I think playing Duff, Ireland and McGeady in the same team we'd have no option but to go 4-5-1 with Carsley atm as the defensive midfielder. It's great that we have quite a few attacking players now that will have to do with a spot on the bench.

That's a brilliant collage. My 2 year old was fascinated too, hopefully he was taking it all in!
I've had my nephew dug into youtube this morning too. :D

Carrigaline
28/01/2008, 6:29 PM
Giovanni Trapattoni is now being linked with the job. Rumour has it that he has expressed an interest in the role

28/01/2008, 7:26 PM
Giovanni Trapattoni is now being linked with the job. Rumour has it that he has expressed an interest in the role

born on St Patricks day. A good omen?:D

stojkovic
28/01/2008, 8:13 PM
Some blogger has already entered it on wikipedia that Trap is expected to be Irelands new manager.

28/01/2008, 8:20 PM
Some blogger has already entered it on wikipedia that Trap is expected to be Irelands new manager.
Easily could have been anyone who saw the previous post.

I think it would be a great appointment but I doubt it's true. Do the three amigos have it in them to pull one out of the bag like that?

28/01/2008, 8:33 PM
Maybe Trapatoni with Brady as his assistant. They worked together at Juventus.

stojkovic
28/01/2008, 8:33 PM
Easily could have been anyone who saw the previous post.

I think it would be a great appointment but I doubt it's true. Do the three amigos have it in them to pull one out of the bag like that?

Hopefully he's got a paisan called Cafolla, Borza or Macari.

Off topic, watching the repeats of The Sopranos at the mo ;

Phil Leotardo - "Is your son here?"
Christopher Moltosanti's mother - "Who are you?"
Phil - "We're from Alcoholics Anonymous"
CM's mother - "What's your name?"
Phil - "We're anonymous"

macdermesser
29/01/2008, 7:34 AM
Maybe Trapatoni with Brady as his assistant. They worked together at Juventus.

"Ich habe fertig". He's struggling in Austria with Salzburg even though they are bankrolled by Red Bull. Don't think he is the man for us.

29/01/2008, 2:13 PM
Trapattoni is the flavour of the week 14, he has had about £10,000 staked on him today with Betfair.
Will he live longer than the process takes?

macdermesser
29/01/2008, 3:28 PM
would be an awful appointment in my opinion. I don't think the guy even speaks English. Would look ridiculous .. the English appoint an Italian and we ape them again.

followers of Bayern Munich remember his attempts at German .. just google "Ich habe fertig"

colster
29/01/2008, 3:34 PM
Trapattoni along with Brady may not be too bad. But it kind of reminds me of Vogts and Scotland

Noelys Guitar
29/01/2008, 3:44 PM
Trapattoni is also under contract. Another good day for the bookies.

Carrigaline
29/01/2008, 5:06 PM
Thanks to Trapattoni, my huge green on the betfair market has now gotten bigger :) I think the FAI should string this process out for at least another year, I'll be a millionaire :D

zenokelly
29/01/2008, 5:22 PM
Think he deserves his own thread by now.

Sky sources say he's "deep in talks with the FAI" just announced there on SSN.

Seems as if this could be the man

zenokelly
29/01/2008, 5:33 PM
I don't know about this guy, had a poor enough record in the championships with Italy, and known for being over-defensive. His time with Stuttgart as well was fairly poor. His recent record has not been great, and considering he is now working in Austria.....

Well better than El Tel anyway:D

DaveyCakes
29/01/2008, 5:37 PM
His press conferences would be more entertaining than Stan's, that's for sure ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bqp64q7kHmw

eekers
29/01/2008, 5:38 PM
Think he deserves his own thread by now.

Sky sources say he's "deep in talks with the FAI" just announced there on SSN.

Seems as if this could be the man

i dont believe a word of any of the bull**** rumours that are on ssn, any other source is more reliable than them. look at this from last week:
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_3078916,00.html

29/01/2008, 5:39 PM
just in from football and not only has my Brazil tickets arrived but Sky sports had this as breaking news and it looks possible. I'm excited at the news - at least the panel are thinking outside the box. At 68 though is he too old?

Hibernian
29/01/2008, 5:41 PM
here his record spot the league of ireland club he managed!!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giovanni_Trapattoni

SUB of the day
29/01/2008, 6:01 PM
just read his profile, won a trophy with every team he managed:ball:

kingdomkerry
29/01/2008, 6:06 PM
Well he certainly has more experience than stan. Tell ye lads, after reading up on him i would be happy with him and Liam Brady. I was saying id like Brady if he had experience anyway

Hibs4Ever
29/01/2008, 6:06 PM
Gone 4/7 on paddypower.com

Was 13/8 about half hour ago

29/01/2008, 6:09 PM
He hasn't won anything with the only international team he managed.

I think he would be a very good appointment but a stumbling block may be his salary. He is currently on €4.6m p/a at Salzburg.

Noelys Guitar
29/01/2008, 6:10 PM
This looks good. Great managerial record. I'd be very happy if this comes off.

eekers
29/01/2008, 6:11 PM

You should read again then!
Won nothing with AC Milan, Caglari, Fiorentina, Italy and Stuttgart.
Thats five outta ten of the clubs he managed. But dont let that get in the way of a bit of hyperbole.

Hibs4Ever
29/01/2008, 6:19 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_3090862,00.html

Carrigaline
29/01/2008, 6:22 PM
Not sure why everyone is convinced this will be a great appointment.

I just don't see our players adapting to an ultra-defensive mindset.

Carrigaline
29/01/2008, 6:23 PM
Latest News

Trapattoni drifting out to 17/10 on betfair.
Dalglish being heavily backed to 5/1 now.

eekers
29/01/2008, 6:27 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_3090862,00.html

ssn are clueless! my bull**** detector has gone off because of this

Having engaged in discussions with key figures within the Football Association of Ireland (FAI) hierarchy, Trapattoni is believed to be warming to the idea of becoming Steve Staunton's successor.if he was having discussions it would be with non fai figures, ie. the panel.

and this

The FAI remain hopeful that a new boss will be in place before the friendly with Brazil on 6th February, but for the time being team affairs are being handled by Don Givens, Don Howe and Ray Houghton.thats actually would be comical:
houghton co commentating on rte:

ray - "i think i'm going bring on long now for doyle."
george - "yes the change looks like its gonna be made, well predicted ray."

Hibs4Ever
29/01/2008, 6:35 PM
here his record spot the league of ireland club he managed!!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giovanni_Trapattoni

Already the Ireland manager I see :D

"Trapattoni who is the new Republic of Ireland manager was born in Cusano Milanino, in the province of Milan"

29/01/2008, 7:09 PM
ssn are clueless!
That's the sky sports website. SSN is a TV channel which would be about on par with the BBC website in terms of accuracy. ie. very accurate.

"Sky Sports News sources understand Giovanni Trapattoni is in talks with the Republic of Ireland over becoming their new coach"

That's about all from the above article that can be associated with Sky Sports News.

29/01/2008, 7:28 PM
looks like we are replacing Bobby and Stan with Giovanni and Liam.

eekers
29/01/2008, 7:34 PM
That's the sky sports website. SSN is a TV channel which would be about on par with the BBC website in terms of accuracy. ie. very accurate.

well you dont expect me to tape ssn, throw it up to youtube, and link it?

SSN read out unsubstaniated rumours, with no grain of truth or respectablity to them, on air as news. FACT

29/01/2008, 7:43 PM
SSN read out unsubstaniated rumours, with no grain of truth or respectablity to them, on air as news. FACT
How do you know they're "unsubstantiated rumours with no grain of truth or respectability"? When SSN say that Trapattoni is having talks about the Ireland job then you can be sure he is having talks about the Ireland job.

Billy Lord
29/01/2008, 7:49 PM
Who's the next tip for the Ireland job - Helenio Herrera? Vittorio Pozzo?

eekers
29/01/2008, 7:52 PM
How do you know they're "unsubstantiated rumours with no grain of truth or respectability"? When SSN say that Trapattoni is having talks about the Ireland job then you can be sure he is having talks about the Ireland job.

Just their past recording for making things up and saying them on air. for constantly being the only source for stories.
I mean on friday they said on air that Carlos Puyol, the captain of Barcalona and one club man, was in talks to join Tottenham :eek:
The difference is of course sometimes you can spot the fabricated bull**** and sometimes, like with trapattoni, its sounds semi realistic.

29/01/2008, 7:55 PM
Just their past recording for making things up and saying them on air.
I just can't agree with that. It's on in my house regularly in the mornings and early afternoons so I've seen more than enough of it.

According to the link you posted.

"Sky Sports News understands that Tottenham want to sign Barcelona defender Carlos Puyol."

One man team my arse btw. He'd probably be gone from Barca if it wouldn't get Rijkaard the sack. I don't understand the reputation the channel has. I've never known it to get anything wrong that they claim as fact. The Houllier thing last week being the closest but they obviously got that from the FFF.

Maybe you're right and they're not as reliable as before though. I'm just overly biased towards the channel because of the reputation it has for being linked with the website and the rumour mill.

Carrigaline
29/01/2008, 8:05 PM
Thanks to Trapattoni, my huge green on the betfair market has now gotten bigger :) I think the FAI should string this process out for at least another year, I'll be a millionaire :D
Thank you betfair mugs :D

eekers
29/01/2008, 8:11 PM
Thank you betfair mugs :D

are you ssn's source ? ;)