View Full Version : Best Fans?
Irish Fan
29/08/2006, 12:54 PM
Hi All
Everybody please give a non biased personal opinion on who they think are the best fans in the league. Since I started supporting the league I originally taught that St Pats were the best fans with regards to travelling number and displays but I then started to attend alot more matches and I did believe that the Shamrock Rovers Ultras were a class although in last year or so they seem to be a shadow of the former self to say the least!! I haven't seen a decent display from them in over a year! I strongly believe that Derry City now have the most passionate, loudest and most colourful support in the league they really are light years ahead of the rest at the moment of time. Well done Derry City! Although in saying that Cork, Pats & Bohs have the potential to win the title of best fans in our league!!
29/08/2006, 12:57 PM
Hi All
Everybody please give a non biased personal opinion on who they think are the best fans in the league. Since I started supporting the league I originally taught that St Pats were the best fans with regards to travelling number and displays but I then started to attend alot more matches and I did believe that the Shamrock Rovers Ultras were a class although in last year or so they seem to be a shadow of the former self to say the least!! I haven't seen a decent display from them in over a year! I strongly believe that Derry City now have the most passionate, loudest and most colourful support in the league they really are light years ahead of the rest at the moment of time. Well done Derry City! Although in saying that Cork, Pats & Bohs have the potential to win the title of best fans in our league!!
I would have to agree and say Derry. Passionate, colourful, always give great support to their team win or lose and a decent bunch too.
Lord Summerisle
29/08/2006, 12:58 PM
Probably Rovers, with maybe Derry in second
29/08/2006, 1:00 PM
I would say Bohs fans, but I shouldn't be allowed to. Not possible to judge Shams either, because they put in a special effort for our benefit.
Outside of that obvious choice, it would be Derry only for the constant din of that drum that, to southern ears, sounds like a dreary Orange band.
In the decency stakes, I'd have a lot of respect for Pats.
29/08/2006, 1:01 PM
Derry by far. Unlike other so called big club's fans who moan about coming to UCD, barely make a peep and blame it on anything from the ground to our lack of fans, Derry come and make noise the whole game and don't moan. They're easily the best bunch of fans by a mile who come by Belfield. Also had a great time on my first trip up there this season. Very decent bunch.
sonofstan
29/08/2006, 1:11 PM
Boringly, I have to agree with the Derry consensus - favourite away trip as well; think it's as much the fact that there's a proper city at the other end as anything else; would also have to say Pat's on the general decency tip
Definately Derry fans.
They won my total respect with the way they reacted in losing the title last year. Kept singing afterwards. Supported their players and even celebrated with us singing 'City til i Die' etc. Even came to sing in the shed.
The best night ever made even better by their reaction.
lofty9
29/08/2006, 1:18 PM
Derry by far. Unlike other so called big club's fans who moan about coming to UCD, barely make a peep and blame it on anything from the ground to our lack of fans, Derry come and make noise the whole game and don't moan. They're easily the best bunch of fans by a mile who come by Belfield. Also had a great time on my first trip up there this season. Very decent bunch.
Are you making the trip up on Sunday?
Best fans: When it comes to making trips to the Brandywell there hasn't been a lot of away support. Dundalk always used to bring a lot to the brandywell but now Dundalk, well, enough said. Waterford deserve a special mention - they brought about 20 one Saturday night a few years ago, went 1-0 up and then the floodlights went out:D . I heard they had a good night in the maiden city though.
29/08/2006, 1:20 PM
Are you making the trip up on Sunday?
I'll be flying home from Germany. Otherwise I'd be heading up again.
lofty9
29/08/2006, 1:37 PM
I'll be flying home from Germany. Otherwise I'd be heading up again.
Any chance of changing your name? Poor Student my arse!!!:D
Am I the only one bored to tears by Derry City fans? Don't get me wrong, I love going up there for matches and get on well with the Derry lads I know personally but after years and years of listening to the same drumming, singing and aaaaaarghing, I just wish they'd shut up. It's like someone pushes a big "PLAY" button and off they go every time. Apart from celebrating goals, they don't react to the match itself or opposing fans in any way. It's just drum drum drum aaaaaaaargh all the way through. I was up in Derry for their match against Linfield in the Santy Cup earlier this year and thought Linfield fans were in a different league in terms of singing - witty, spur of the moment, offensive, loud and well timed... they were everything a football crowd should be.
29/08/2006, 2:02 PM
Am I the only one bored to tears by Derry City fans? Don't get me wrong, I love going up there for matches and get on well with the Derry lads I know personally but after years and years of listening to the same drumming, singing and aaaaaarghing, I just wish they'd shut up. It's like someone pushes a big "PLAY" button and off they go every time. Apart from celebrating goals, they don't react to the match itself or opposing fans in any way. It's just drum drum drum aaaaaaaargh all the way through.
And what do you expect them to be doing?:rolleyes:
Derry's fans are the best in the league. Brought more fans to Belfield last year than any other team, and that was on a Tuesday night.
Shamrock Rovers fans seem only to turn out in big numbers on the big occassions now.
nshoop
29/08/2006, 2:06 PM
At the moment derry and cork probably have the biggest home and away support and derry fans bring a lot of colour and noise to games but I think that once we're back in the premier and things are going well we'll be the best again. I have a lot of respect for dundalk supporters who travel in huge numbers and support their team well at home aswell.
29/08/2006, 2:09 PM
Why don't you ask every team in the first division about our away support:rolleyes:
So you get the same amount of home support as you did on Friday at every game?:rolleyes:
hoops1
29/08/2006, 2:16 PM
I reckon I'd runamok in belfield too if I'd spent 5 hours on the gargle to get there.
:DTrue:D
Krstic
29/08/2006, 2:21 PM
Am I the only one bored to tears by Derry City fans? Don't get me wrong, I love going up there for matches and get on well with the Derry lads I know personally but after years and years of listening to the same drumming, singing and aaaaaarghing, I just wish they'd shut up. It's like someone pushes a big "PLAY" button and off they go every time. Apart from celebrating goals, they don't react to the match itself or opposing fans in any way. It's just drum drum drum aaaaaaaargh all the way through. I was up in Derry for their match against Linfield in the Santy Cup earlier this year and thought Linfield fans were in a different league in terms of singing - witty, spur of the moment, offensive, loud and well timed... they were everything a football crowd should be.
Ok, we'll all just sit on our hands and keep quiet at our next game.
Maybe we should ban any kind of noise at EL games in order to keep idiots like you happy.
There's no need to start crying. It's just one individual's personal opinion. I'm just bored of you doing the same thing over and over year after year. Is that so wrong? Go and cheer yourself up and read everyone else's posts because they all love you.:rolleyes:
As for the just wish they'd shut up - as a steward in Dalymount we can't hear any security information over the radios with the noice of the drums.
29/08/2006, 2:45 PM
I'm with Philo on this one. Bloody drum and whistle, drum and whistle, drum and whistle. It reminds me of the Raves they used to have at the campsite on the last night of Feile only without the drugs.
Try something different for a change will ye lads?
NavanBohs
29/08/2006, 2:46 PM
In Ultras terms, we never really got the opportunity to a proper display against youse due the the security **** that goes with this particular fixture.
True that, Bohs-Rovers matches would be some spectatcle if there wasn't all the sh1te that goes with it regarding security. Although I do realise the security is necessary and all. Still, would be something else with flares, flags etc at these matches. (I got a can of Lynx taken off me going into Tolka last Friday night, what hope s there of that...)
nshoop
29/08/2006, 2:50 PM
(I got a can of Lynx taken off me going into Tolka last Friday night, what hope s there of that...)
29/08/2006, 2:54 PM
I'm with Philo on this one. Bloody drum and whistle, drum and whistle, drum and whistle. It reminds me of the Raves they used to have at the campsite on the last night of Feile only without the drugs.
Try something different for a change will ye lads?Our mime act will be finished rehearsals in a few weeks time so maybe that might impress you?
Of course we could always try hanging our flags upside down..........
The moral of the story is if its getting to opposition fans its probably working okay!
Our visual display at the Gothenburg home game was excellent if any of you saw it on TV.
NavanBohs
29/08/2006, 2:56 PM
Don't worry about it ;)
29/08/2006, 3:04 PM
I'm with Philo...I hate drums and whistles at football matches. (apologies to Dr Nightdub but he knows how I feel)
nshoop
29/08/2006, 3:07 PM
I don't mind drums but whistles are very annoying to the fans and the referee and players
I'm with Philo on this one. Bloody drum and whistle, drum and whistle, drum and whistle.
Try something different for a change will ye lads?
Maybe it's a bohs thing - at the Bohs Derry game I was down around Block A and there was a lad behind us with his hands to his ears the whole game (no, no radio either) tutting as loudly as he could every so often.:D
There isn't really a contest. You have Cork City and Derry City and the rest are miles behind. Fact.
29/08/2006, 3:41 PM
Fact.
Stop talking Bohemian! :rolleyes:
29/08/2006, 3:42 PM
There isn't really a contest. You have Cork City and Derry City and the rest are miles behind. Fact.
That's just your opinion.
For CONSISTENT support it's Rovers. Very easy to come in numbers when you're doing well but try having no ground for 19 years and still having a good hardcore. Even having been relegated by our previous board our crowds have stayed the same. Not may other clubs would have the same support having been relegated to the graveyard.
For digging deep to take over your club again it's Rovers. Cant see too many other fans do that to be honest.
Derry fans are good yeah but they have a whole city to themselves and have been to games where there was no Derry support in the past.
Can see this thread going to dozens of pages:D
29/08/2006, 3:49 PM
For CONSISTENT support it's Rovers.
So you expect the same amount of Rovers fans that were in Tolka on Friday to show up at your next home game against Limerick?
29/08/2006, 3:52 PM
So you expect the same amount of Rovers fans that were in Tolka on Friday to show up at your next home game against Limerick?
The boez games were always going to bring out bigger crowds on both sides. What I meant was a consistent hardcore year in year out with no success on or off the field.
Roverstillidie
29/08/2006, 3:55 PM
no, but it will be the same drop off as it would have been in the prem.
4,500 v filth and then 1,500 v whoever not from dublin. thats remained constant.
according to the attendance thread our crowds are higher than half the premier. and look at the crowd spike when we play away....
29/08/2006, 4:05 PM
Everything NY said is FACT.....and I never stick up for him. ;)
29/08/2006, 4:42 PM
no, but it will be the same drop off as it would have been in the prem.
4,500 v filth and then 1,500 v whoever not from dublin. thats remained constant.
according to the attendance thread our crowds are higher than half the premier. and look at the crowd spike when we play away....
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1521 (1976; 2340)
Bray - 1118 (1550; 818 FD)
Cork - 2956 (3644; 4033)
Derry - 2399 (2698; 1672)
Drogheda - 1711 (1682; 1554)
Dublin City - 488 (175 FD; 592)
Longford - 742 (1004; 1131)
Pat's - 1416 (1599; 1882)
Shels - 1414 (1949; 2158)
Sligo - 1700 (1794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 533 (653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 831 (1513; 1753)
FIRST DIVISION....
....Rovers - 1084 (1539 PD; 1349 PD)
If being higher than 3 out of 12 is half the premier - fair play. Personally I'd disagree. Even yer last two seasons in the Premier, you were barely 6th on the list!!! And before you claim how great your attendance is for 1st division football...look at Sligos last year - nearly 1800 FFS.
29/08/2006, 4:56 PM
Derry have the best fans in the country.Cork have the best bandwagon supporters easily.
Rovers aren't half as goos as they think they are but still good.
Derry by far. Unlike other so called big club's fans who moan about coming to UCD, barely make a peep and blame it on anything from the ground to our lack of fans, Derry come and make noise the whole game and don't moan. They're easily the best bunch of fans by a mile who come by Belfield.Thats exactly what I would have said if I had thought of a statement to make. Derry, defo.
1 9 2 8
29/08/2006, 5:56 PM
The best fans in Irish football are the ones who turn out week in week out even though their club mightn't have won a game all season. It's very easy to support a club which top of the league. But supporting your club very week no matter how **** they are that's the best supporters
. It's very easy to support a club which top of the league.I wouldn't think Derry fans are fairweather supporters & they're certainly not sing when you're winning fans eithers. Out of all of us that turn out for games, even when they're sh1te, I still think the Derry fans are the best though credit has to go to a number of the UCD fans when we were 5-0 down to Shels; "We're gonna win 6-5, we're gonna win 6-5".
I wouldn't think Derry fans are fairweather supporters & they're certainly not sing when you're winning fans eithers. Out of all of us that turn out for games, even when they're sh1te, I still think the Derry fans are the best though credit has to go to a number of the UCD fans when we were 5-0 down to Shels; "We're gonna win 6-5, we're gonna win 6-5".
That was hilarious alright! :D
Derry fans, the best by miles.
cheifo
29/08/2006, 6:29 PM
Derry were struggling for crowds a couple of years ago .For loyalty and variety of songs etc I would say most Harps fans like myself would say Shamrock Rovers.
Sligo used to have a large passionate support but this years figures are disapointing.
adamcarr
29/08/2006, 7:05 PM
Derry easily although I do agree with what someone said earlier about them being repetitive. I much prefer the abusing chants/banter. Shels TBH have decent away support but Tolka is like a library. I agree with what Conor H said about us having bandwagon fans, last season we would fill at least two 52 seater buses to away games, we now rarely fill anything other than a mini bus and rarely get over 200 at away matches.
ccfcgirl
29/08/2006, 7:30 PM
Derry fans are the best in the league with Cork City a close second (excluding this season).Through the years Shamrock Rovers also had a great loyal following as well.
29/08/2006, 7:49 PM
I reckon I'd runamok in belfield too if I'd spent 5 hours on the gargle to get there.
Not taking anything away from Derry of course, but Belfield is a depressing place, always feels like a pre-season friendly.
Pretty much what I was saying. Derry fans don't have to make excuses. You're among the quietest fans who come our way. You'll offer some excuse, but if you were as great as you claim to be, none would be necessary.
29/08/2006, 7:58 PM
So landslide Derry then by the looks of things...for me other honourable mentions have to go to the Drogs fans....great bunch of lads who sing from begining to end. As for 1st division have to say the Galway lads for the fun and their personalised chants!! Looking forward to hosting Rovers this Friday nite to get the full flavour of them. This time the bar will defo b open and all fans home and away will be welcome....thank god I wont b workin tho coz its gonna be busy!!!
Paddyfield
29/08/2006, 8:51 PM
As for 1st division have to say the Galway lads for the fun and their personalised chants!!
Thanks Magicme.
It's easy to judge fans when they are doing well. I was at a game in Cork many moons ago and there were only about 300 there. Now that they are doing well, they are filling the place and bringing hundreds to all away games. Derry have been consistent over the years though.
So, the best fans when they are doing well award goes to....
(1) Derry City
(2) Cork City
(3) St Pat's
(4) Sligo Rovers
(5) Finn Harps
The overall best supporters even when they are doing crap award goes to...
(1) Shamrock Rovers
(2) Bohs
(3) Derry City
(4) St Pat's
(5) Galway United (I had to put our crew in some place :) )
29/08/2006, 8:59 PM
The overall best supporters even when they are doing crap award goes to...
(1) Shamrock Rovers
(2) Bohs
(3) Derry City
(4) St Pat's
(5) Galway United (I had to put our crew in some place :) )
If you aren't taking numbers into consideraton we'd easily get into top 5.
Wouldn't agree with Bohs in that top 5. When it's going bad for them they just get on the manager's back.
sonofstan
29/08/2006, 9:15 PM
When it's going bad for them they just get on the manager's back.
we still show up though
Dr.Nightdub
29/08/2006, 9:22 PM
We've pretty much gone to the dogs over the last couple of years. There was a bit of a mini-revival in the Shed at the start of this season but it's pretty much fizzled out. Richmond is appalling for the home fans - see the game from the Camac and have no roof for volume or make some noise in the Shed but see nada. Even away trips have been pretty poor - Drogheda away is the only one that springs to mind from this season as being worthy of mention.
Of other clubs, Derry have been consistently noisy over the years and seem to always travel in the same numbers. Rovers were very impressive in Tolka the other night but you'd expect that against Bohs so it doesn't really count; they weren't so hot the last time I saw them in the playoff v DCRIP last season.
After that, there's no-one I really rate, though Dundalk were fairly good the other night (dunno how they are for run of the mill League games though and you can't judge much by a cup game).
nshoop
29/08/2006, 10:14 PM
we still show up though
On the evidence of tonights match,no you don't.
29/08/2006, 10:22 PM
Derry easily....when they came to the Showgrounds they sang the whole match,even though they were bet.
Cant comment on all teams but of what ive seen,Drogheda's fans are good at home, and when Cork had the Shed they were good also.
29/08/2006, 10:23 PM
Derry fans are the best in the league with Cork City a close second (excluding this season)
Derry by a country mile.
Cork - I've gone off big style due to being hit by a flare casing (thankfully one that had been used) thrown at me by one of your lot last season.