View Full Version : Best Fans?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

29/08/2006, 10:23 PM
This is not meant to be a cheap shot, but Boez' attendance tonight was dreadful.

29/08/2006, 10:25 PM
This is not meant to be a cheap shot, but Boez' attendance tonight was dreadful.

No offence taken d f x-

Haven't heard any figures as yet (due to being abroad) - but I would have thought it would have been due in some part of having that fat f' Farrelly in charge unleashing his usual brand of absolute garbage on us week in week out.

I expect to see crowds drop further if he's still in charge come next week

sonofstan
29/08/2006, 10:32 PM
Matched the football, so ...

Seriously, When you're in F orG in the Jodi and its full all around you, and then you look to your right along the rest of the stand it tends to look full too, because you see the people but not - obviously - the gaps; so how empty did it look from your side? BTW, Connaght St. was far from full either but if you were in the middle of it you might well have thought it was

29/08/2006, 10:41 PM
Blocks A and B were very empty - I actually seriously thoguht at the start of the game that there must be a delay or a queue outside which would've explained it, but no. Have the goals been on tv3? That might show the Jodi..

I was up at the back in the very far corner near where the Rovers flags were and there seemed to be a fair few seats. There were a couple of people counting the Rovers fans as they went in, so I'm sure that'll confirm it..

ger121
29/08/2006, 11:02 PM
Was in B tonight looked to me that it was over half full. I even had a good look at it when i was down at the front of the stand.A had the Rovers officials and lads in Rovers Tracksuits and a sprinkling of people.

Will be interesting to see the official attendance.

Bald Student
29/08/2006, 11:41 PM
credit has to go to a number of the UCD fans when we were 5-0 down to Shels; "We're gonna win 6-5, we're gonna win 6-5".To be fair, there was a precedent. When we were 6-0 down to a well managed Bohs side we were singing;

"All we Need is Seven"

to the tune of 'All we Need is Love' by the Beatles.

29/08/2006, 11:48 PM
Derry are way ahead of anyone else, without a doubt!

29/08/2006, 11:49 PM
To be fair, there was a precedent. When we were 6-0 down to a well managed Bohs side we were singing;

Farrelly is managing Boez very well indeed. ;)

I particularly liked the enthusiasm of just "we want one" from the UCD fans never mind 'we'll get six'..:D

Bald Student
30/08/2006, 12:21 AM
Farrelly is managing Boez very well indeed. ;)

I particularly liked the enthusiasm of just "we want one" from the UCD fans never mind 'we'll get six'..:DIf you do some research you'll find that Boez had a different manager at the time.

30/08/2006, 12:28 AM
In regards to numbers and singing,Derry fans by far

In regards to Tifo displays and the likes,it's definatly Shels,that might change when Rovers get promoted though!!

ConfusedBlue
30/08/2006, 12:47 AM
Are you making the trip up on Sunday?

Best fans:Waterford deserve a special mention - they brought about 20 one Saturday night a few years ago, went 1-0 up and then the floodlights went out:D . I heard they had a good night in the maiden city though.

Nice to know we're appreciated by some(haha)!!You're right about having a good night though,I remember chatting to some Derry fan in the River Inn and he telling us how Derry were gonna win the cup.The discussion ended with 20 of us doing our "United" chant and he in the middle of us singing "City" to his hearts content!!!
Turns out we drew ye away in the Cup semi 2 weeks later and had to do the trip all over again,this time though we did a round trip up and back in the 1 day.Ecstacy of winning the game and agony of travelling home,arriving in Waterford at 7.30 and into work for 9!!But it was worth it.

Surely we deserve a mention for having to put up with the tripe Kerley served up for the past few months!!!:D :D

30/08/2006, 11:06 AM
In regards to numbers and singing,Derry fans by far

In regards to Tifo displays and the likes,it's definatly Shels,that might change when Rovers get promoted though!!

Agreed 100%

Les Fluer
30/08/2006, 11:14 AM
Gotta say i am sick of Derry fans as well. Firstly, the cant say anything that isn't a chant, and then they feel they are invited into every conversation when away, because they are all such nice fellas. Personally they just annoy me.

That said, for their sheer numbers and noise inside the ground, not many come close.

The UCD 5 for their dedication. Shels for their patience with the on going rumours. Shams for keeping their club alive.

bluemovie
30/08/2006, 11:18 AM
The best fans in Irish football are the ones who turn out week in week out even though their club mightn't have won a game all season. It's very easy to support a club which top of the league. But supporting your club very week no matter how **** they are that's the best supporters

Thank you. I think we win that one so :D . Such a bullhit thread. You know it's bad when there's even a Shels fan claiming their supporters are best. Everyone thinks that about their own club.

If you want to talk about numbers of fans, then the thread should be called Most Fans (or just check the attendance thread). Of course, Cork and Derry will come out tops.

The truth is, EVERY club has terrific fans. Derry make a lot of noise, Rovers put on great displays and Drogheda were brilliant in the two European games. Generally, the smaller the club is, the more the supporters have to put into it. Look at what proportion of UCD fans have some role in the club or matchday involvement. I'd bet it was the same for Dublin City fans. I had a thread here a while back about Monaghan fans. How/why do they bother - fair play to them. Same for Kildare (whoever they are). They probably have to dig deeper into their pockets than anyone. Who's to say they're not the best fans in the country?

ColinR
30/08/2006, 11:39 AM
The truth is, EVERY club has terrific fans. Derry make a lot of noise, Rovers put on great displays and Drogheda were brilliant in the two European games. Generally, the smaller the club is, the more the supporters have to put into it. Look at what proportion of UCD fans have some role in the club or matchday involvement. I'd bet it was the same for Dublin City fans. I had a thread here a while back about Monaghan fans. How/why do they bother - fair play to them. Same for Kildare (whoever they are). They probably have to dig deeper into their pockets than anyone. Who's to say they're not the best fans in the country?

agree with every word, unfortunately every so often these threads come along, and certain fans want their ego's massaged by all the other clubs :rolleyes:

Krstic
30/08/2006, 1:16 PM
Gotta say i am sick of Derry fans as well. Firstly, the cant say anything that isn't a chant, and then they feel they are invited into every conversation when away, because they are all such nice fellas. Personally they just annoy me.

I am really puzzled:confused:

Speranza
30/08/2006, 1:17 PM
The real test for teams inside the pale is travelling to Derry, Cork, Waterford e.t.c. Bohs have always travelled in numbers to the Brandy.

Honourable mention to Longford fans who make no noise whatsoever but always have big numbers no matter what position their club is in.

30/08/2006, 1:23 PM
The real test for teams inside the pale is travelling to Derry, Cork, Waterford e.t.c. Bohs have always travelled in numbers to the Brandy.

Honourable mention to Longford fans who make no noise whatsoever but always have big numbers no matter what position their club is in.

I know you have an incredible hatred for Rovers but any normal Derry fan will tell you that we are the only ones who always brought support up there even when you had your games on those stupid thursday nights.

30/08/2006, 1:26 PM
They made plenty of noise when I was in Flancare.

Speranza
30/08/2006, 1:53 PM
NY, I do not hate Rovers and was just stating fact. I remember a few times when there were less than 50 Rovers fans at the Brandy. The last season you qualified for Europe there was a match towards the end of the season were there was a pitiful contingent of Hoops. The match were a few Rovers fans ran around the greyhound track with the tifo flags there were very few fans up.

When Rovers have travelled in numbers they have brought more than any other club but the volume hasn't been consistent. On the noise front, last season at the FAI cup match you were silent after going a goal down.

30/08/2006, 10:59 PM
Gotta say i am sick of Derry fans as well. Firstly, the cant say anything that isn't a chant, and then they feel they are invited into every conversation when away, because they are all such nice fellas. Personally

I've spent the last few minutes trying to cut and paste an image of 'the Old Farts' from Harry Enfield, sadly in vain.

'Football fans in speaking in chant shocker' : what are football fans meant to do - each have individual discussions at a game and somehow hope they harmonise inbto a coherent wall of sound...? :confused:

And what's this 'feel they are invited into every conversation when away' lark ? It's called being friendly, happy and sociable Fleur.

As they say in the Tayto ads, there's always one....... :rolleyes:

harpskid
30/08/2006, 11:14 PM
The people on about the Derry fans remind me of the people in Buckley Park and Oriel Park who complained about the noise being made by Harps supporters at games recently....

It's called creating an atmosphere. If ye don't like it, go take up chess or something!

Anyhow, Derry City and Shamrock Rovers get my vote for best supporters

Eoingull
30/08/2006, 11:15 PM
I love the trip up to Derry, and the fact that some of the supporters will come over and have a chat. As a collective, I reckon they're the "best" supporters, both home and away. There were plenty of Bray supporters secretly toe-tapping to Derry's rendition of "Whisky in the Jar" there a few weeks ago.
They might get on my wick sometimes, but I can't knock the passion of the Bohs or Rovers supporters.

Speranza
30/08/2006, 11:38 PM
I was up in Derry for their match against Linfield in the Santy Cup earlier this year and thought Linfield fans were in a different league in terms of singing - witty, spur of the moment, offensive, loud and well timed... they were everything a football crowd should be.

At this match Linfield fans were near silent about from a few blasts of disgusting sectarian songs e.g. the classy "If ye hate the ****in fenians clap your hands" and others which glorified Bloody Sunday. You are clearly a wind up merchant or at least I hope you are.

Why would anyone admire "offensive" chants? Obviously at BSC FC you revel in such occurances.

Philo
31/08/2006, 1:09 AM
Football crowds traditionally wind up opposing fans and players - that's part of the game. I don't remember Linfield being particularly sectarian or singing "if you hate the ****ing fenians...". I do remember most of their songs were ironically about being "All Ireland champions". They also sang in reaction to Derry fans and events in the match, which I appreciate as being spontaneous.

I am very far from having any connection to the BSC, as are the huge majority of Bohs fans but I do appreciate a bit of needle at matches. It's what separates football from other sports. Sorry for not being a fan of Derry's happy clappy approach to support but each to their own I suppose. Just go back over the thread and read everyone else's fawning posts and you'll soon have that self-esteem guage back at full! :ball:

David
31/08/2006, 7:30 AM
At this match Linfield fans were near silent about from a few blasts of disgusting sectarian songs e.g. the classy "If ye hate the ****in fenians clap your hands" and others which glorified Bloody Sunday. You are clearly a wind up merchant or at least I hope you are.

Why would anyone admire "offensive" chants? Obviously at BSC FC you revel in such occurances.

Very very few sectarian songs at the Brandywell from us and any that were attempted were quickly drowned out.

David
31/08/2006, 7:31 AM
From my limited experience of Eircom League supporters it would be Derry who create the best atmosphere. At Windsor they were a different class.

In other ways Bohs are superb. Have never been to one of their games but their welcome towards us when we are in Dublin is in a class of its own. Drogheda too deserve a mention in having good relationships with other supporters. The guys that visited us were superb and I am aware they have also some close links with Portadown fans.

31/08/2006, 8:28 AM
I am aware they have also some close links with Portadown fans.

Yeah they have a mutual love of drinking Bucky up the back of the stand... :D

David
31/08/2006, 9:04 AM
Yeah they have a mutual love of drinking Bucky up the back of the stand... :D

Never thought of it that way but now you mention it...........:D

Sam Savic
31/08/2006, 10:24 AM
NY, I do not hate Rovers and was just stating fact. I remember a few times when there were less than 50 Rovers fans at the Brandy. The last season you qualified for Europe there was a match towards the end of the season were there was a pitiful contingent of Hoops. The match were a few Rovers fans ran around the greyhound track with the tifo flags there were very few fans up.

When Rovers have travelled in numbers they have brought more than any other club but the volume hasn't been consistent. On the noise front, last season at the FAI cup match you were silent after going a goal down.

I also remember when there was less than a thousand up there. Also, at that cup game last season there were only just over 2000 ( about 150 of them were Rovers ).
Having said that, the Brandywell is my favourite league ground.

lofty9
31/08/2006, 10:40 AM
I also remember when there was less than a thousand up there. Also, at that cup game last season there were only just over 2000 ( about 150 of them were Rovers ).
Having said that, the Brandywell is my favourite league ground.

Was that the Saturday Night cup game televised on TG4? Don't forget - some of our ground had been closed by Derry City Council at that time, and the stand and a very small section of the lone moor road end (where I was) were the only option available to supporters. Also, it was one hell of a miserable night to stand in the lashing rain for anybody that might have gone to it, as the seats had been taken up. I don't think we did too badly getting over 2000 in all things considered.

Speranza
31/08/2006, 12:01 PM
Philo, would "appreciating a bit of needle" include your club allowing a flag in memorial to a dead child having "BSC Angel" on it? That is beyond comprehension and ****ing sick!

Sam, why is it shameful to have just over 2,000 at a home match, most EL teams are struglling to even reach 2,000 at this time.

On another note, we give Shels abuse for not even having a bandwagon and then give clubs abuse for having a massive bandwagon. What do we want for football in this country?

ndrog
31/08/2006, 12:03 PM
From my limited experience of Eircom League supporters it would be Derry who create the best atmosphere. At Windsor they were a different class.

In other ways Bohs are superb. Have never been to one of their games but their welcome towards us when we are in Dublin is in a class of its own. Drogheda too deserve a mention in having good relationships with other supporters. The guys that visited us were superb and I am aware they have also some close links with Portadown fans.

Thanks David ! Take note some of you Cork fans who think were scumbags :eek:

aido1895
31/08/2006, 12:12 PM
As for the just wish they'd shut up - as a steward in Dalymount we can't hear any security information over the radios with the noice of the drums.

Brilliant, I can just see the headlines now " Football fans told to keep the noise down because hard of hearing stewards can't hear their radios" :rolleyes:

Philo
31/08/2006, 12:51 PM
Philo, would "appreciating a bit of needle" include your club allowing a flag in memorial to a dead child having "BSC Angel" on it? That is beyond comprehension and ****ing sick!

No - that's not part of it for me. I have nothing to do with the BSC and I don't know the lad who owns that flag but I do understand that he was absolutely devastated to lose his infant son to meningitis last year and that flag is his tribute. I am not responsible for the BSC, their members or some of their members' actions. Shall I blame you for the Derry fan stood on the jungle at the Brandywell who'd brought a carrier bag full of empty glass bottles purely to throw at David Jeffery? Will I blame all Drogheda fans for the hail of bottles and rocks we were treated to on leaving United Park last time up there? Get a grip.

Sorry if I'm not massaging the collective Derry ego here but I'm not exactly having a go either and as I've said elsewhere I do have loads of time for the Derry fans I know and always enjoy trips up to the Brandywell.

Krstic
31/08/2006, 1:21 PM
. Shall I blame you for the Derry fan stood on the jungle at the Brandywell who'd brought a carrier bag full of empty glass bottles purely to throw at David Jeffery?

Not saying this didn't happen but care to tell us more?

Roverstillidie
31/08/2006, 1:24 PM
Philo, if you were concentrating on your job on Tuesday, maybe you might have thought it wise to take down a BSC flag, tribute or not.... ;)

Philo
31/08/2006, 1:29 PM
Kristic, there's no point in going over the incident as it's long over and nothing everntually happened. One bottle was thrown (vodka naggin) but Jeffery didn't react, he just moved so the dug out was between him and the thrower.

Rovers bloke, I didn't even notice that flag at the match. Why didn't you complain and demand its removal at the match? I suppose then you'd have nothing to moan about on the internet during the week. :rolleyes:

Roverstillidie
31/08/2006, 1:32 PM
Rovers bloke, I didn't even notice that flag at the match. Why didn't you complain and demand its removal at the match? I suppose then you'd have nothing to moan about on the internet during the week. :rolleyes:

from a man who made a show of his club trying to attack his manager (then hid behind a girl, see the video on the bohs official site, its true :D ), you don't get to lecture anyone about moaning!!

Krstic
31/08/2006, 1:36 PM
Kristic, there's no point in going over the incident as it's long over and nothing everntually happened. One bottle was thrown (vodka naggin) but Jeffery didn't react, he just moved so the dug out was between him and the thrower.

Thanks for clearing that up.:rolleyes:

31/08/2006, 1:36 PM
Saying Philo tried to attack Farrelly is a libelous comment. Giving him a piece of his mind is hardly trying to attack, which implies some sort of physical assault.

Roverstillidie
31/08/2006, 1:41 PM
Saying Philo tried to attack Farrelly is a libelous comment. Giving him a piece of his mind is hardly trying to attack, which implies some sort of physical assault.

he didnt verbally attack his manager? were his hands raised? libel my hole.

it implies he is a big girls blouse for hiding behind a girl. a girl.

Philo
31/08/2006, 1:45 PM
Thanks for clearing that up.:rolleyes:

Like I said, one glass bottle was thrown and Jeffery moved himself out of the line of fire. The lad who threw the bottle was with a girl and another young fella who were egging him on and they had plenty more bottles in a bag. If that had happened at Bohs, Rovers, Shels or Pats we'd be taken apart in the media and on the internet for our thuggish elements. :rolleyes:

Roverstillidie
31/08/2006, 1:47 PM
Like I said, one glass bottle was thrown and Jeffery moved himself out of the line of fire. The lad who threw the bottle was with a girl and another young fella who were egging him on and they had plenty more bottles in a bag. If that had happened at Bohs, Rovers, Shels or Pats we'd be taken apart in the media and on the internet for our thuggish elements.

I blame the lack of competent stewards :D :D :D

Philo
31/08/2006, 1:50 PM
he didnt verbally attack his manager? were his hands raised? libel my hole.

it implies he is a big girls blouse for hiding behind a girl. a girl.

How much do you pay for your acid? It must be good because you are obviously hallucinating. Hiding behind a girl? Post the time on the video where I do this "hiding".

A finger was pointed at Farrelly alright but there was no hand raised in a threatening manner and nothing was said that hinted at violence. I told him to get out of our club as he'd done more than enough damage.

You're a right laugh aren't you. :rolleyes:

Speranza
31/08/2006, 2:05 PM
You're the only laughing stock on here mate. We would have been completely torn to shreads had this incident occured during the Setanta Cup. It has never been mentioned before by or anyone else so care to mention why?

You response to the "BSC Angel" flag is typical Bohs. A flag like that would be ripped up if any City fan brought it to the Brandy so why don't supposedly sensible Bohs fans do the same thing? Why don't the board/members see it as the sickening glorification of casual culture that it is?

Philo
31/08/2006, 2:19 PM
I didn't mention it before because I didn't want to... what does it achieve once the moment has passed? I'm sure the lad with the bottles was just some local scummer out for Linfield only and not a regular DCFC fan. Most of those over on the terrace that day were not out and out City fans if they had been I'm sure someone nearby would have jumped in. One bottle thrown then the bag got put away as soon as Jeffery moved. That is FACT.

31/08/2006, 2:27 PM
You response to the "BSC Angel" flag is typical Bohs. A flag like that would be ripped up if any City fan brought it to the Brandy so why don't supposedly sensible Bohs fans do the same thing? Why don't the board/members see it as the sickening glorification of casual culture that it is?

Because we're not sick fcks who would trample on a man's grief for his dead child.

bigmac
31/08/2006, 2:33 PM
I blame the lack of competent stewards

They were told about it over the radio but the drums from the fans meant they couldn't hear anything! :D

31/08/2006, 2:51 PM
I didn't mention it before because I didn't want to... what does it achieve once the moment has passed? I'm sure the lad with the bottles was just some local scummer out for Linfield only and not a regular DCFC fan. Most of those over on the terrace that day were not out and out City fans if they had been I'm sure someone nearby would have jumped in. One bottle thrown then the bag got put away as soon as Jeffery moved. That is FACT.

Philo a question. Can you still see daylight from the hole you are digging to australia?