View Full Version : Best Fans?
No but through the office window I can see Thomas Davis' half built stadium.
31/08/2006, 3:12 PM
No but through the office window I can see Thomas Davis' half built stadium.
Maybe you should apply for the Head Steward position there so. From what I saw the other night your objectivity and professionalism are perfectly suited to the GAA.
31/08/2006, 3:18 PM
I think Rovers fans are the best.
Not sure how many Shels, Pats, Bohs or Derry fans would turn out to watch their team in Division 1.
Drogs would collapse!
Maybe you should apply for the Head Steward position there so. From what I saw the other night your objectivity and professionalism are perfectly suited to the GAA.
Just as that stadium is perfectly suited to the GAA.
ColinR
31/08/2006, 3:24 PM
Drogs would collapse!
yawn peader, your wumming is getting even more childish.
we've had decent div 1 crowds before and if we are there again, we will again, i'm sure.
31/08/2006, 3:25 PM
Of course Cork would still get 20,000,000 for every home game even if they were in the Munster senior league
31/08/2006, 3:42 PM
we've had decent div 1 crowds before and if we are there again, we will again, i'm sure.
What was your wage bill in those days?
Not a WU, just a prayer.
ColinR
31/08/2006, 3:50 PM
What was your wage bill in those days?
and you think we'd get relegated with the current wage bill
come on peader your wum's are getting weaker and weaker, surely you can try harder
31/08/2006, 4:01 PM
and you think we'd get relegated with the current wage bill
Welcome back from outter space!
There's no relegation this season.
Just the FAI deciding that you don't meet the criteria to be in the new "Premiership" and dumping you back down where you belong.
ColinR
31/08/2006, 4:11 PM
Welcome back from outter space!
There's no relegation this season.
Just the FAI deciding that you don't meet the criteria to be in the new "Premiership" and dumping you back down where you belong.
ok lets all play peader's imaginery and unrealistic division one game.
considering cork could only get a couple of hundred fans when the fickle fans didn't travel as far as bishopstown, and their recent tax dodging/money problems and also their current high wage bill for a squad, and also a very highly paid no-longer playing member of the squad, do you agree that should cork city be in division 1, they would follow every other senior team in cork and go bust?
of course there is no way you'll be put in division 1, so all the above is clearly make belief, a bit like your own original wum :rolleyes:
Not sure how many Shels, Pats, Bohs or Derry fans would turn out to watch their team in Division 1.
Drogs would collapse!
we got quite good home gates in divsion one actually .How do fcuk would you know did you come to united park for many drogs games when we where in the division . Bohs or Derry fans would still get decent crowds if they were relegated imho .
Roverstillidie
31/08/2006, 6:13 PM
Because we're not sick fcks who would trample on a man's grief for his dead child.
the flag shouldnt be there for 2 reasons:
1: its downright wrong to associate the pool little fella with a group of hooligans in that manner. why not simply 'bohs angel'.
2: in the context of the game in hand, there should be no BSC flags flying. full stop.
yet again bohs as a club are soft on hooliganism and their fans will defend the BSC's right to mark their turf and provoke opposition fans, even if they have to abuse a childs memory to do it.
pathetic, but hey, thats bohs for you....
31/08/2006, 6:56 PM
the flag shouldnt be there for 2 reasons:
1: its downright wrong to associate the pool little fella with a group of hooligans in that manner. why not simply 'bohs angel'.
2: in the context of the game in hand, there should be no BSC flags flying. full stop.
yet again bohs as a club are soft on hooliganism and their fans will defend the BSC's right to mark their turf and provoke opposition fans, even if they have to abuse a childs memory to do it.
pathetic, but hey, thats bohs for you....
On number one I don't disagree, yes Bohs Angel would be better and I'd rather it didn't say BSC. However the flag belongs to the father. I very much doubt abusing his child's memory is his intention and the matter should be dealt with sensitively, not by ripping it down. On number two I agree in general but as I've said this is a sensitive case. Its not the same as say the display of the old BSC flag your Hoolies knicked.
On us being soft on Hooliganism - thats a joke. There are many hoolies in your 400 club, ones who are quite open about their activities too. I know a Rovers fan and 400 club member quite well who confirmed this and told me that this will never be sorted as long as they are putting money into the club.
In contrast, I think we've been dealing quite well with our hooligan problem. There have been bannings of known troublemakers on an ongoing basis. What are Rovers doing?
Roverstillidie
31/08/2006, 7:09 PM
On number one I don't disagree, yes Bohs Angel would be better and I'd rather it didn't say BSC. However the flag belongs to the father. I very much doubt abusing his child's memory is his intention and the matter should be dealt with sensitively, not by ripping it down. On number two I agree in general but as I've said this is a sensitive case. Its not the same as say the display of the old BSC flag your Hoolies knicked.
On us being soft on Hooliganism - thats a joke. There are many hoolies in your 400 club, ones who are quite open about their activities too. I know a Rovers fan and 400 club member quite well who confirmed this and told me that this will never be sorted as long as they are putting money into the club.
In contrast, I think we've been dealing quite well with our hooligan problem. There have been bannings of known troublemakers on an ongoing basis. What are Rovers doing?
the point is not who is doing most or least. you are the only club in the land that officially sanction hooliganism by allowing these flags. despite the BSC being 'banned' in dalymount, the repeatedly and openly get to fly banners and flags. it is the exact same as the stroked tricolour, in fact more offensive because we are being asked to tolerate it by violins and heartstrings. i have every sympathy for the guy, but the flag is quite frankly sick.
its an innapropriate way of commemorating your child.we dont tolerate violent or self injurious responses to tragedy. i believe the headstone is the same story as the flag. you dont have to be a psychologist to read into that.
lofty9
31/08/2006, 8:58 PM
Drogs would collapse!
we regularly got 10,000 at our first division games, FACT;)
1 9 2 8
31/08/2006, 9:18 PM
Drogs would collapse!
I remember been up in United park when they were in the first division a few times and there was even 200 people at the game
nshoop
31/08/2006, 9:22 PM
Never mind in the 400 club,some of the directors are scumbags and give a bad name to those who do great work and behave properly. Our director who got in trouble in limerick is as far away from a hooligan as you'll ever see but some of them are pure scumbags who talk about community spirit in tallaght and all the family initiatives at rovers and yet these c*nts have been giving rovers a bad name for years. I don't expect agreement from a lot of hoops on here but it's the harsh reality that these *****rs represent us,koh
01/09/2006, 2:50 AM
Never mind in the 400 club,some of the directors are scumbags and give a bad name to those who do great work and behave properly. some of them are pure scumbags who talk about community spirit in tallaght and all the family initiatives at rovers and yet these c*nts have been giving rovers a bad name for years. I don't expect agreement from a lot of hoops on here but it's the harsh reality that these *****rs represent us
That post is Ignore List material. :o
Never mind in the 400 club,some of the directors are scumbags and give a bad name to those who do great work and behave properly. Our director who got in trouble in limerick is as far away from a hooligan as you'll ever see but some of them are pure scumbags who talk about community spirit in tallaght and all the family initiatives at rovers and yet these c*nts have been giving rovers a bad name for years. I don't expect agreement from a lot of hoops on here but it's the harsh reality that these *****rs represent us,koh
Are you a member?
I seriously doubt if he's a hoop at all tbh, most of his ramblings tend to be misinformed rants that seem intent on baiting genuine rovers supporters, throwing in the odd 'i expect to be condemned by most hoops' phrase or similar does little to deflect attention in the direction he'd no doubt hope to.
If however he is of the green & white hooped persuasion i'd suggest he 'inform' himself of the true goings on at our club though as his innaccuracies are tiresome at best. If indeed he is a member he has the same access as us all to bring to the clubs attention any problems he may have in relation to the running of SRFC, no doubt any proposed solutions he may have to address these shortcomings would also be welcome for discussion.
Koh
Roverstillidie
01/09/2006, 10:38 AM
much as i dont want to get dragged into a discussion with a mong like you, what exactly does posting this (wild) theory that out directors are scumbags on an open forum the tabloids read achieve?
you need to cop on to fúck, or come out as the bohs fan on a wind up you are
01/09/2006, 11:14 AM
nshoop - make yourself known to some of us this evening in Monaghan and we can have a full and frank exchange of views. You're either a WUM or a petty, bitter "Friend of Rovers" either way you need to put up or shut up. See you later.....
01/09/2006, 11:27 AM
Are there many of you coming up to CHP this evening?? Hopefully the rain eases off....
Well the hoops sc bus is full, however with alot of 'away game' regulars are in Germany for the Ireland game or at the Electric Picnic, i'd imagine our numbers will be down on the amount that travelled up earlier in the season!
Btw will the bar be open before/during the game or at HT? As we hope to be up there by 7 to sample the Monaghan United hospitality!
Koh
Jaime
01/09/2006, 11:49 AM
Some amount of back-slapping going on here, why do we all have to just get along? :(
01/09/2006, 11:56 AM
yeah bar will b open from bout 7....thats a pity that there will only be a few of you.
CharlesThompson
01/09/2006, 12:10 PM
Probably a bit late for this, but I really don't think you should be able to speak up for your own clubs supporters as 'the best in the league' on this thread.
While I think that most people who didn't mention there own, would obviously consider their own club to have the best supporters the posts should reflect your opinion on the 'best supporters in the league' not including your own club.
The answer at the moment surely has to be Derry in my opinion, but then as Philo pointed out, it depends on your definition of what being a good supporter is about, etc.
01/09/2006, 12:12 PM
yeah bar will b open from bout 7....thats a pity that there will only be a few of you.
Don't worry, there'll still be well over 100 of us I'd imagine. You'll make a few shekels in the bar. ;)
Jaime - If it makes you feel better, I despise Bohs, think that Derry's away support is just 30 drunks with a drum and that ns hoop is a disgrace and he's allegedly one of ours. How's that for a start? :D
Bang on, I'd say:D
think that Derry's away support is just 30 drunks with a drum and that ns hoop is a disgrace and he's allegedly one of ours. How's that for a start? :D
Well were not all drunk and its 3/4 drums:p remember that;) Hopefully we draw you in the cup!
Cruising for a ban I'd say.
01/09/2006, 1:31 PM
Hopefully we draw you in the cup!
No thanks. See you in the final, we've unfinished business.........
anto eile
01/09/2006, 2:32 PM
Drogs would collapse!
the gypos were managing a few hundred at their games in the late nineties pre-roddy, i rememebr them bringin about 250 to tolka for a derby at the end of the 1996/97 season
and they managed to only get a few hundred for their relegation play off against cobh in 1998. god knows how desolate dalymount would have been the following season had cobh actually beaten them
even gareth the Hoop hero farrelly commented on how fickle/sad/****e bohez fans are
01/09/2006, 4:52 PM
Derry City have the best fans by a mile. After that its tough to tell who's second. Most of the Dublin clubs take a large support with them to the Carlisle, as youd expect with the DART station being 30 seconds from our ground. For long distance, Cork, Sligo and Waterford have all given a good account of themselves when coming to the Carlisle.
For the record I think that Shels brought the greatest numbers on the opening day.
EireBadBoy
01/09/2006, 7:30 PM
For the record I think that Shels brought the greatest numbers on the opening day.
Summer holidays, heady days for the kids.
Drumcondra Red
02/09/2006, 9:21 AM
Summer holidays, heady days for the kids.
Jaysus, they're funny up North! :rolleyes: Gob****e!
EireBadBoy
02/09/2006, 10:28 AM
Jaysus, they're funny up North! :rolleyes: Gob****e!
*Takes a bow* :p
02/09/2006, 11:47 AM
Had a bit of craic with some of the Rovers contingent last nite....had to laugh at their "champion milk ur havin a laugh" chant....the cows were so upset they left the field!
manic da hoop
02/09/2006, 4:24 PM
Were you the one selling the programme's from the little table just inside the entrance last night?
gotaroundbetter
02/09/2006, 6:49 PM
Are you making the trip up on Sunday?
Best fans: When it comes to making trips to the Brandywell there hasn't been a lot of away support. Dundalk always used to bring a lot to the brandywell but now Dundalk, well, enough said. Waterford deserve a special mention - they brought about 20 one Saturday night a few years ago, went 1-0 up and then the floodlights went out:D . I heard they had a good night in the maiden city though.
Cheers and don't forget us blues supporters were back for a cup semi less than 2 weeks later.
1 win all season and still getting names for away trips. Blues fan's best by far.
Always admired the rovers supporters!
Nice bit of wumming by Peadar again! Most overrated is the l@ngers. A couple of years ago in united park, they created a good bit of noise and had big numbers (was one of the best atmospheres in united park, credit where its due) but apart from that theyve always been sh!te in united park and always brutal in turners cross when we play them. Take out their supporters that travel to united park from dublin (and that goes for derry supporters too)and they'd have even less than we bring to cork (and we usually bring fcuk all to cork) - probably the most fickle lot ever. When we used play on sundays they wouldnt even have 20 or 30 there and its only in recent years theyve started bringing more - and thats a fact, so to be thinking they're 'up there' is pretty cringing. Remember going to see cork V shels in bishopstown and there was a few hundred at it - got me thinking how many of them would follow them if they got relegated.
Seen as linfield and portadown were brought up. The Linfield supporters created some atmosphere when we played them up there -would kick the @rse out of any atmosphere at Eircom League matches - and are a sound bunch of lads.
Atmosphere in Portadown was sh!te but since we've played them a group of them have been coming to all our matches (even our away matches!!) and are getting a 'Portadown Drogs' banner done up :) - sound lads!
03/09/2006, 6:19 PM
Well - last time we were in the First Division we had crowds of 10,000 at home and up to 4,000 away..... :D
04/09/2006, 7:55 AM
Were you the one selling the programme's from the little table just inside the entrance last night?
No I was the one on crutches sitting by the wall near the wheelchair & beer garden area near the bar.
You left one of your fans behind....a Tom geezer who had won loads of money in a bookies in Monaghan earlier in the day...I think he spent most of it at the bar and had us in no doubt about how much he loved Robbie Horgan by hugging him and telling us what a legend he is! Good laugh.
The Linfield supporters created some atmosphere when we played them up there -would kick the @rse out of any atmosphere at Eircom League matches - and are a sound bunch of lads.
Our support are only like this for big games, usually pretty quiet for normal matches but for the big ones I would say we are hard to beat.
04/09/2006, 11:09 AM
You left one of your fans behind....a Tom geezer who had won loads of money in a bookies in Monaghan earlier in the day...I think he spent most of it at the bar and had us in no doubt about how much he loved Robbie Horgan by hugging him and telling us what a legend he is! Good laugh.
We left him behind on purpose. He showed me his winnings at half-time and I had a feeling that it'd be a long night for him.
Cheers for the hospitality BTW, much appreciated.
04/09/2006, 11:28 AM
Also, cheers to the Rovers fans who we bumped into at Tara Street Dart station on our way home from Bray and supplying us with vodka and orange ;) :D :cool:
04/09/2006, 11:41 AM
We left him behind on purpose. He showed me his winnings at half-time and I had a feeling that it'd be a long night for him.
Cheers for the hospitality BTW, much appreciated.
Ha ha....poor guy! I was grateful for the bottle of beer he bought me!
Aw ur welcome for the hospitality. Monaghan is known for its friendliness.
joema
04/09/2006, 11:51 AM
Drogs would collapse!
This is coming from a Cork City fan :eek: Cork fans in general - (not you in particular, Peadar) are incredibly fickle - just look at their forum - always moaning over something - if Cork City were in the First Div the attendances would be shocking
The Dynamo
04/09/2006, 1:17 PM
We've ( cork city) have been fairly poor this season with the shed been knocked and having temporary home, and with all thats gone on this season numbers are down. When the New Shed End is back next season we will be back to our very best. In terms of other supporters, I would have to shels briogaid dearg have been exellent. As much as I hate the club, they've put on a good few tifo displays this season.
04/09/2006, 1:24 PM
This is coming from a Cork City fan :eek: Cork fans in general - (not you in particular, Peadar) are incredibly fickle
This thread is about other fans so I can't discuss City fans.
By the way, we've never been in the 1st Division so there's no point speculating on something so ridiculous! :D