Levadia Tallinn v NEWCASTLE
Molde FK v RANGERS
DERRY CITY v Paris St Germain
Sparta Prague v HEARTS
FC Salzburg v BLACKBURN
WEST HAM v Palermo

From bbc.co.uk

Think they do it to be irritating

at least they call them DERRY! that is progress since my days!

26/08/2006, 8:51 AM
Am I the only one to find it amusing to see fans of certain dublin clubs complaining about Derry being referred to as a British club? "What's it like to serve a queen?" and "You're Brits and you know you are" are regular taunts from the self same fans.

Don't worry anyway guys as they'll be Irish again if the lose

26/08/2006, 9:18 AM
That's just banter ;) all about winding up the oppostion, just ask Stue Byrne*

*Though I still don't know what he did?

26/08/2006, 11:34 AM
As posted above Turners Cross was good enough for the Uefa 1st round last year although I do not think the Brandywell lights as good.

I think Derry would maybe get 10-12k at Lansdowne whoch would probably mean making a loss on rent v gate receipts. However french tv would be much more likely to want to show the game at Lansdowne as facilities better for media & cameras...

higgins
26/08/2006, 6:56 PM
Well the two most recent meetings against French sides by Irish clubs have not resulted in any hidings. Cork lost 4-2 on agg to Nantes in the QF of the Intertoto drawing 1-1 at home and Shels lost 4-2 to Lille on agg in the 1st round of the UEFA cup also drawing at home 2-2.

PSG are far better than both those teams but a draw could be possible at home. You never know.

Why are PSG better than Lille ??

Think your wrong there

Speranza
26/08/2006, 8:47 PM
I think Derry would maybe get 10-12k at Lansdowne whoch would probably mean making a loss on rent v gate receipts. However french tv would be much more likely to want to show the game at Lansdowne as facilities better for media & cameras...

As time goes on it is becoming clear that the Brandywell is where the match will be played if the club can bring it up to spec on time. Most City fans don't want to take something like this to places like Dublin or Belfast, we are a proud people and the Brandy is our home. I support City because of my immense pride in Derry and although I would understand the decision I would be saddened if we had to take it away from the Randy Brandy. Lawernson and Dixon agreed with this view on Football Focus today!

nshoop
26/08/2006, 9:22 PM
Am I the only one to find it amusing to see fans of certain dublin clubs complaining about Derry being referred to as a British club? "What's it like to serve a queen?" and "You're Brits and you know you are" are regular taunts from the self same fans.

Don't forget maggie thatcher's red and white army

26/08/2006, 9:45 PM
Am I the only one to find it amusing to see fans of certain dublin clubs complaining about Derry being referred to as a British club? "What's it like to serve a queen?" and "You're Brits and you know you are" are regular taunts from the self same fans.I find its even funnier when they are sung by those dressed head to toe in Stone Island and Burberry looking like regular Jonny Englishman the football hooligan.

Irony not their strongpoint.

nshoop
26/08/2006, 9:52 PM
I find its even funnier when they are sung by those dressed head to toe in Stone Island and Burberry looking like regular Jonny Englishman the football hooligan.

Irony not their strongpoint.

Ah it's all in good spirit

27/08/2006, 12:13 AM
As time goes on it is becoming clear that the Brandywell is where the match will be played if the club can bring it up to spec on time. Most City fans don't want to take something like this to places like Dublin or Belfast, we are a proud people and the Brandy is our home. I support City because of my immense pride in Derry and although I would understand the decision I would be saddened if we had to take it away from the Randy Brandy. Lawernson and Dixon agreed with this view on Football Focus today!

man missed that on football focus, bloody typical..my electricity fcukin went off for one hour.yeah from 12 to 1....so missed football focus,,was hoping to see them talk about Roy
so what did they say about derry city then?

27/08/2006, 1:04 AM
Fair dues to Football Focus today - not one mention of Derry being a Brisith side, but when they put up the selected UEFA Cup ties and asked what one sprung out, Lawro jumped in and said the Derry game and how it was great for them to draw PSG and that the game should be in the Bradywell.

higgins
27/08/2006, 1:51 AM
I dont understand how the game going ahead in the Brandywell is best...

You wont fit in all the Derry fans nevermind all the people who would like to see this match. Its not about pride its about common sense. Lots of teams the world over move their games when their own stadium doesnt meet the needs.

To play a UEFA Cup 1st Round game against PSG in the Brandywell would be very very wrong in my opinion. I just dont think Lansdowne or even Tolka/Dalymount would lose you anything????

You'd have the lions share of support in any of them venues and all the crowd would get behind Derry.

I dont see 3,000 people putting the frighteners on PSG, sorry !

nshoop
27/08/2006, 1:53 AM
I said it before,Dalymount is the best option for profit and acoustically.

27/08/2006, 5:36 AM
Possible choices?

Brandywell
Dalymount
Longford
Lansdowne
Belfast

27/08/2006, 8:31 AM
From a selfish point of view it would be nice to have the game in Dublin however I think it should be played in Derry.

Derry do have a chance of going through and the Brandywell is definitely the best from a football point of view. I think the home fans would be happy to pay another tenner a head to keep the game in Derry and save on the expense of a trip to Dublin.

27/08/2006, 9:57 AM

You wont fit in all the Derry fans nevermind all the people who would like to see this match. Its not about pride its about common sense. Lots of teams the world over move their games when their own stadium doesnt meet the needs.

To play a UEFA Cup 1st Round game against PSG in the Brandywell would be very very wrong in my opinion. I just dont think Lansdowne or even Tolka/Dalymount would lose you anything????

You'd have the lions share of support in any of them venues and all the crowd would get behind Derry.

I dont see 3,000 people putting the frighteners on PSG, sorry !Tolka & Dalymount are a no no. Why incur the extra cost & annoyance of moving the game 150 miles for an extra 3 or 4k seats.
Conversely, I`m sure if we were guaranteed 20,000 we`d stage it in Lansdowne, but remember Lille! We will likely get a small six figure amount for TV rights anyway so the gate money becomes less important.
We have a slim chance of going through & that chance is dependent on us playing in the Brandywell.

Red&White
27/08/2006, 10:34 AM
As long as Irish teams move games like this they are not going to progress. We'll enjoy the game by all means, but make no mistake- Stephen Kenny is committed to winning this tie. I'm sure if he had the power, he'd abolish phrases like, "big day out for the players and fans," from being allowed in the media for the next month. If the Brandywell gives us our best shot, then so be it. The more unfamiliar it is for PSG, the better. If walking from the changing rooms across a field to get to the players 'tunnel,' makes them even the slightest bit more complacent, then so be.

27/08/2006, 10:25 PM

I dont see 3,000 people putting the frighteners on PSG, sorry !

I was initially in favour of moving the game to Dublin, but the more I think of it the more I reckon the Brandy is the right decision.

The Brandywell is a bizarrely intimidating stadium in every way. Firtsly - the facilities are prehistoric. Our players are well used to it, but the dimaond-earring wearing pampered premadonna's of PSG won't know what the feck has happened when they turn up at the away changing rooms in the Brandywell ! There's not even enough room for a full team in them. That'll make their pre-match preparations as spartan and uncomfortable as possible = an advantage.

Secondly, even with large chunks of one side of the ground empty, the Brandy is an intimidating atmosphere. The topography of the place (in a valley/hollow) means it'll genuinely sound and feel like there's 10,000 in there.

Thirdly, there'll be feck all PSG fans at it, and they won't get a song in edge-ways with the Derry crowd.

Finally - Stephen Kenny wants it there, and that's enough for me. He has worked miracles at our club, and is undoubtedly the best manager in Irish football - north and south. I'm glad that he's viewing this as just another game for us to look to win, and isn't being fazed by the stature of his opponents.

I fancy us to get a draw at the Brandy, though I fear it'll be 2 or 3:0 away. But one thing's for sure - it'll be one hell of a night in Derry !! :D

27/08/2006, 11:22 PM
reminds of the time then that the fancy dans from italy, went to athone
funny

BohsFans
27/08/2006, 11:26 PM
Possible choices?

Brandywell
Dalymount
Longford
Lansdowne
Belfast

RDS

28/08/2006, 12:26 AM
As long as Irish teams move games like this they are not going to progress. We'll enjoy the game by all means, but make no mistake- Stephen Kenny is committed to winning this tie. I'm sure if he had the power, he'd abolish phrases like, "big day out for the players and fans," from being allowed in the media for the next month.

Agreed totally.

Ye should play it on your own turf.

My dad still speaks bitterly about Limericks decision to move the European Cup game against Real Madrid to Landsdowne Road. The result : Large amounts of Limerick people turn their back on the club and just 6,000 (many of them neutrals by all accounts) witness the greatest night in our history :ball:

higgins
28/08/2006, 12:36 AM
I said it before,Dalymount is the best option for profit and acoustically.

Why would Dalymount rate above Tolka for making a profit ?

Id say the ground with the highest amount of seats would be best, no ??

nshoop
28/08/2006, 1:28 AM
Why would Dalymount rate above Tolka for making a profit ?

Id say the ground with the highest amount of seats would be best, no ??

So would I but seen as they both hold around 6-7000,I think the jodi stand is the place for the derry fans

28/08/2006, 7:57 AM
I agree with the decision to play the game at the brandywell. Shels tried playing games in lansdowne but unless its a massive sell out there is more point in trying to get a result out of the leg. Derry have a chance to get a draw or even a shock win at the brandywell.

28/08/2006, 2:47 PM
I think the only disadvantage of holding in the Brandywell is that french tv may not be as keen to show? This is not slur on the Brandywell its just Lansdowne or Windsor would have much better access. The again with 1 side of the ground empty maybe more room than usual.

I think 0-0 at home would be great result in advance. Must stop them scoring in Derry at all costs.

28/08/2006, 2:52 PM
Must stop them scoring in Derry at all costs.
I don't really agree with that. I think if Derry play for 0-0 PSG will eventually break them down with the quality they have. I'm a believer that you should play to your own strengths regardless of the opposition. Derry's best chance of getting something out of the tie in the Brandywell is to play the attacking football that they always play.

Also PSG will be expecting Derry to just roll over and defend for 180 minutes. They won't know what hit them if Derry start to attack them.

finnpark
28/08/2006, 2:58 PM
Brandywell confirmed. Tickets only £25 which is a giveaway. Will be on ebay for £1000+:eek:

Dazzy
28/08/2006, 3:52 PM
I don't really agree with that. I think if Derry play for 0-0 PSG will eventually break them down with the quality they have. I'm a believer that you should play to your own strengths regardless of the opposition. Derry's best chance of getting something out of the tie in the Brandywell is to play the attacking football that they always play.

Also PSG will be expecting Derry to just roll over and defend for 180 minutes. They won't know what hit them if Derry start to attack them.

If Europe we play 2 formations a game 4-5-1(without ball)4-3-3(with) we start with 3 strikers. its a good tactic as you defend in numbers and have a good counter attack! We will attack PSG!

I think French TV will offer alot for this match as not many French people will see it and a demand will be there for it.

28/08/2006, 4:07 PM
I think Derry 4-5-1 formation is wise when have attacking players in midfield. I still believe a score draw or win while conceding a goal will reduce chance of progressing. 0-0 would be good as puts pressure on PSG so 1-0 or 1-1 away would win the tie.

ger121
28/08/2006, 4:57 PM
Would have loved to gone and seen the game if it was played in Dublin but you did make the right decision to play in the Brandywell from the point of trying to get something out of the match. Hope the game will be on tv.

28/08/2006, 5:12 PM
Would have loved to gone and seen the game if it was played in Dublin but you did make the right decision to play in the Brandywell from the point of trying to get something out of the match. Hope the game will be on tv.
If no Irish station is showing the game it will still be shown in the clubhouse of Templeogue FC as they are able to get the French station Canal+, which is the French station that shows football.

28/08/2006, 6:23 PM
If RTE don't show it, the French stations can't.

28/08/2006, 6:25 PM
If RTE don't show it, the French stations can't.
The kick-off has yet to be confirmed due to French TV so that would suggest that RTÉ will be showing the match.

CuanaD
28/08/2006, 6:25 PM
Fair play to Derry - they are looking at the long term - a chance to actually compete to win the tie & progress - rather than the short term 20,000+ people in Lansdowne. Like all the others I'm dissapointed that this game won't be there on my doorstep to go & watch, but I'll be shouting for Derry at the big screenn in some pub in Dublin anyway (thats my way of promoting the eL!).

I know PSG are a quality team, but you have to believe you have a chance against anyone, & you always have a better chance in your own ground - so fingers crossed

28/08/2006, 7:04 PM
If RTE don't show it, the French stations can't.Correct me if I'm wrong but we can offer rights for sale in any country , separately if required?