View Full Version : Rice Krispie Quandary

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

18/08/2006, 9:59 AM
Listening to the Ray D'Arcy show this morning and they had a huge debate about whether or not those lovely things are known as:

a). Rice Krispie Buns
b). Rice Krispie Cakes.

To me they're buns....always have been, always will be. But a lot of people think they're cakes.....

What do you think??

18/08/2006, 10:05 AM
Oh cakes for sure. For me a bun is like sponge :)

18/08/2006, 10:09 AM
Bun.....that is what they are called so no need to complicate the situation.

18/08/2006, 10:10 AM
Definitely cakes. Now you've made me think of them, I want one:).

Gonna add a poll to get a true reflection.

$Leon$
18/08/2006, 10:11 AM
They are buns, always have been always will

18/08/2006, 10:12 AM
Bun.....that is what they are called so no need to complicate the situation.

You get 5 times as many results with cakes on google :p

We need a poll for this btw!

18/08/2006, 10:16 AM
Rice Krispie Buns.

They're served in those little bun cases/wrappers so they're buns

FACT ;)

18/08/2006, 10:16 AM
The dictionary doesn't help, with its two definitions;

A). a solid food made by baking a mixture of flour, fat, eggs, sugar, etc.

B). a solid block of a particular substance, eg soap, chocolate, etc.

A would mean its a bun, but B would mean its a cake.

Of course the fookers at Rice Krispies only complicate matters even more....they call them 'Treats' (http://www.ricekrispies.com/brand/rk/index.shtml)

18/08/2006, 10:24 AM
It's always been a "cake" for me. Bun just sounds wrong...

babydol
18/08/2006, 10:31 AM
definately a bun!

noby
18/08/2006, 10:36 AM
Bun, surely. If someone offered me a Rice Krispie cake, I would expect something with at least an 8" diamater, and would be very disappointed at only getting a bun.

For me, cakes are big, buns are small (with the exception of queen cakes, and jaffa cakes).

18/08/2006, 10:37 AM
I can honestly say that before that ad, I had never heard of a Rice Crispy Bun. The entire idea of it being anything other than a Rice Crispy Cake is simply preposterous.

18/08/2006, 10:44 AM
alway has been a bun and always will be

18/08/2006, 10:46 AM
Always called them cakes.

Of course Kellogg’s call them Treats.

Real ale Madrid
18/08/2006, 10:47 AM
Whats a rice Krispie cake could anyone tell me. Really lads its bun and ye all know it.

noby
18/08/2006, 10:53 AM
Whats a rice Krispie cake could anyone tell me.

This:
http://www.pimpthatsnack.com/project.php?projectID=154

18/08/2006, 11:28 AM
Definitely a bun, it's blasphemy to insult them with the term 'cake'..

Dricky
18/08/2006, 11:33 AM
ohhhh this is a can of worms!! cake or bun could have huge ramifications right across the treat world.

Is it a fairy cake, fairy bun or a fairy cake bun???

See if they had only been around a few years the copyright would help decided..

18/08/2006, 12:31 PM
Never heard the phrase "Rice Krispie Cake" in my life! Definitely a bun.

carrickharp
18/08/2006, 12:34 PM
Its called a bun I tells ya, a BUN!!! never heard of a "Rise Crispy Cake" until it was discused on Today FM this morning.

18/08/2006, 1:23 PM
Never heard the phrase "Rice Krispie Bun" in my life! Definitely a Cake.

18/08/2006, 1:45 PM
I think this is probably a lot to do with how old people are,and heir geographical location.

I know people in Limerick of my age (35+) all call them buns...

18/08/2006, 1:54 PM
Cakes are big buns are small and my ma always made rice crispy buns and never rice crispy cakes. Therefore they are buns.

My geographical age profile is thus - 30 yrs old, grew up in Navan.

18/08/2006, 2:07 PM
Buns obviously. 26 grew up in Dublin if this is considered important.

Is it a fairy cake, fairy bun or a fairy cake bun???
It's Fairy Cake which is a type of bun. :D

18/08/2006, 2:11 PM
Cake, 18 and Sligo if that helps:D.

18/08/2006, 2:21 PM
My asl is :p 19, Cake, Dublin

18/08/2006, 2:42 PM
Your s is cake? :eek:
Weird.

Anyway we've been talking here at work and decided that only English people and west brits call Buns "cakes".

steno
18/08/2006, 6:16 PM
Buns always and forever and I'm 24

cakes just sound wrong!

18/08/2006, 6:30 PM
A bun is confectionery & you do not bake rice krispie cakes.

18/08/2006, 7:37 PM
I have never heard rice krispie bun until this thread.

aberharp
18/08/2006, 8:34 PM
i've always called them Rice Krispie buns

19/08/2006, 2:34 AM
I have never heard rice krispie bun until this thread.
F***ing jackeen!!!!

If age and location are important, than I (who say bun) am 26, grew up in Dublin (though from Kerry originally) but with a strong Tipp background.

Any sort of trend developing there?

19/08/2006, 3:05 AM
*loses patience*

There's no need for profiling of the answers - it's simple. Nineteen of us are right and ten of us are wrong.:p

(22, Dublin incidentally)

19/08/2006, 10:55 AM
Is it as clear as a rural-urban divide.

Urbanistes have cakes & boggers have buns :D

19/08/2006, 12:35 PM
I think it's more of a social divide pete. I can't decide whether buns or cakes or more pretentious though. I'm leaning towards buns at the moment, but then I really like buns. And cakes.

UPDATE: My gf agrees with pete, although she's brought it down a level -- "culshies call cakes buns".

So there you have it bun-lovers: you're all culshies.

19/08/2006, 1:53 PM
The only buns i can remember are sticky buns, other than you have fairy cakes...

ccfcman
19/08/2006, 2:05 PM
Cake, bun sounds too close to bum, so as i in nibble this chockie bun ¬_¬

Jon'o
20/08/2006, 10:06 AM
noooooo its like the jaffa cake thing all over again

Aberdonian Stu
20/08/2006, 10:36 AM
It's cakes obviously although I have heard the odd person refer to them as buns.

Oh and I'm 25, from Dublin.

If age and location are important, than I (who say bun) am 26, grew up in Dublin (though from Kerry originally) but with a strong Tipp background.

So you've narrowed it down to two counties then have you?

soccerc
20/08/2006, 12:36 PM
They're 'bleedin' cakes and have been for more years than I care to remember.

20/08/2006, 5:12 PM
BUNS BUNS BUNS.....Old Monaghan Person.....

Jaysus its the dubs that confuse things with their "Jockey Backs" instead of Piggy Backs, their "Presses" instead of cupboards etc......god am glad am a nordy who calls it Boxing Day and not St Stephens day.

stann
20/08/2006, 6:07 PM
Its called a bun I tells ya, a BUN!!! never heard of a "Rise Crispy Cake" until it was discused on Today FM this morning.

That's it exactly!!! That's what D'Arcy does, and that's the main reason why I hate him so much.
He takes a stone-wall, buttoned-down, known-by-all concept like the Rice Krispie Bun, and whether through his own ****wittery or a more devious desire to create more inane 'debate', introduces this dilemma that has half the easily-led gob****es in the country suddenly always remembering things that never were.

There is not, nor ever was, any such thing as a Rice Krispy Cake!!!!
I effing HATE HIM!!!!!!!!!!!

20/08/2006, 6:12 PM
Bit of calm there stann, it's not the end of the world. And besides, they're called Rice Crispy Cakes. This whole "bun" malarkey is a figment of your imagination.

stann
20/08/2006, 6:21 PM
Never! Will never give in. Buns! Buns! Buns!!!!!!!!
All the way 'til Judgement Day.

But, on a side note, just noticed you said Crispy. I also always thought it was Crispy, am convinced of it. On the Kellogg's website though it's Krispy!
Has there been a quiet Ulay-Olay-type switch in recent years?
This is a more profitable direction for enquiring minds, rather than sticking to an argument ye can't win!

Aberdonian Stu
20/08/2006, 10:51 PM
It's always had a K

21/08/2006, 12:27 PM
has anyone noticed those of us from the west of ireland think its a BUN!!!!!

therefore we must be right. that link posted by joesoap, are we not on about the chocolate rice krispies i.e.
rice krispie buns?

god am glad am a nordy who calls it Boxing Day and not St Stephens day.

had a big argument with the missus over this, it didnt help when i called her a nordie prodie ( derry border ), but its FCUKEN ST STEPHENS DAY!!!!!! dont even think of bringing that one in.........

21/08/2006, 12:37 PM
god am glad am a nordy who calls it Boxing Day and not St Stephens day.
Boxing Day is English/British and Stephen's Day is Irish. No debate over that!

21/08/2006, 1:25 PM
They're served in those little bun cases/wrappers so they're buns
Like fairy cakes? :confused:

It's Rice Krispie Cakes, and it is a FACT. And I used to work for Kellogg's in the factory that makes Rice Krispies, obviously lending weight to my view point. :D

And btw Stann, D'Arcy was actually not doing the show last week, so a bit of an uncalled for rant!

21/08/2006, 1:31 PM
Like fairy cakes? :confused:

As said above, fairy cakes are a type of bun.

21/08/2006, 1:57 PM
As said above, fairy cakes are a type of bun.
But I thought if they were baked they were a cake not a bun?

It's cake not bun, just as it's barm not muffin.